Secrets of Social Media Marketing

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Paul Gillin's presentation from the Sept. 22, 2010 meeting of the AAF West Michigan. Please feel free to download

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Secrets of Social Media Marketing

  1. 1. 10 Secrets of Social Media Marketing<br />Paul Gillin, Author<br />The New Influencers<br />Secrets of Social Media Marketing<br />Social Marketing to the Business Customer<br />
  2. 2. Objectives <br />Create awareness for new mainframe value proposition <br />Increase mainframe awareness with college students <br />Results<br />>250,000 views of first episode <br />Blog traffic increased 25x<br />Analyst, press, blogger coverage <br />
  3. 3. The Media in Collapse<br />Average age of US daily newspaper reader: 57<br />Reduction in US newsroom staffs since 2001: 45%<br />US Magazine Circulation<br />Growth in NBC prime time audience, 2008: -14.3%<br />Age of average network evening news viewer: 63<br />
  4. 4. The Way We Were<br /><ul><li>Message
  5. 5. Impressions
  6. 6. Reach & Frequency
  7. 7. Retention
  8. 8. CPM
  9. 9. Recall
  10. 10. Share of Voice
  11. 11. Coverage
  12. 12. Rate Base</li></li></ul><li>New Media Facts<br />Half of Facebook members log on every day, after which, they they:<br /><ul><li>Post 60 million status updates
  13. 13. Upload 3 million photos
  14. 14. Stay for 55 minutes</li></ul>Over on YouTube:<br /><ul><li>2 billion viewers stop by every day
  15. 15. And upload 24 hours of video each minute
  16. 16. While using as much bandwidth as the entire Internet used in 2000</li></ul>On Twitter:<br /><ul><li>There are 600 million searches daily
  17. 17. 300,000 new members sign up each day
  18. 18. 50,000 third-party applications ahve been developedGoogle</li></ul>Survey of 105 Marketers, April, 2010<br />
  19. 19. Influence<br />Inversion<br />
  20. 20. The New Media Landscape<br />Marathon schedule http://bit.ly/waCMc<br />I can't find my good black pants.<br />Shared bread pudding w/ @skydiver at Mother's. My life is now complete.<br />I'm at Palm Beach International Airport (PBI, West Palm Beach). http://4sq.com/4GeLz0<br />Best press photos of 2009 http://om.ly/fNhW<br />How to Write a 1 Minute Video Marketing Script http://ow.ly/17xJE<br />Comparing Top Chef Masters Restaurants #topchef http://is.gd/8q4hN<br />How To Get Well Prepared For The Website Creation. http://bit.ly/aTitVC<br />
  21. 21. 1: Small Is the<br />New Big<br />Secrets of Social Media Marketing<br />
  22. 22. Just One Guy<br />Estimated monthly traffic: 73,000<br />Google Indexed pages: 6,490<br />Alexis ranking: Top .12%<br />Inbound links: 850,771<br />Del.icio.us bookmarks: 1,776<br />New York Times citations: 115<br />Computerworld citations: 146<br />InformationWeek citations: 89<br />Newsletter subscribers: 150,000<br />
  23. 23. Where Would You Rather Stay?<br />It’s now cheap and easy to consult peers for advice<br />Things will never be the same again as a result<br />
  24. 24. No One Has to Listen Anymore<br />
  25. 25. 2: You Are <br />the Media<br />Secrets of Social Media Marketing<br />
  26. 26. Be Useful – Or Invisible<br />A Google Search for “Personal Computer” Gives You…<br />Not a single computer dealer appears in the top 1,000 search results!<br />
  27. 27. Thought Leadership<br />
  28. 28. Link Love<br />HubSpot Analysis of 1,500 Websites<br />
  29. 29.
  30. 30. Blogging for Business<br />73 blogs<br />17 bloggers<br />600% jump in leads<br />Top quality<br />“Get engineers talking to engineers and get everyone else out of the middle.”<br />Rick Short, Marcom Director<br />
  31. 31. 3: Be Helpful<br />Secrets of Social Media Marketing<br />
  32. 32. No Middleman<br />Today, you can take your message directly to your constituents without relying upon media intermediaries<br />And why would you not want to do that?<br />
  33. 33. Share Everywhere: Clickable Gurus<br />
  34. 34. Advise and Inform<br />
  35. 35. 4: Tools Don’t <br />Matter<br />Secrets of Social Media Marketing<br />
  36. 36. Start With the Business<br />Tactics<br />Tools<br />Measurement<br />Business Goal<br /><ul><li>Hire Tech Freelancers
  37. 37. List Rentals
  38. 38. Create CoTweet Account
  39. 39. Increase PR Budget
  40. 40. Hire E-mail Marketing Firm
  41. 41. Initiate Blogger Relations Program</li></ul>Generate 30% More Leads<br /><ul><li>Publish Six New White Papers
  42. 42. Initiate Monthly Webcasts
  43. 43. Sponsor Microsite on TechTarget
  44. 44. Build Targeted Twitter List (500)
  45. 45. Dedicated Monthly E-mail Blast
  46. 46. Promote To Trade Publications
  47. 47. List in Tech Directories
  48. 48. Increase Webcast/White Paper Reg’s by 60%
  49. 49. Increase Traffic to WP Landing Pages 120%
  50. 50. Increase 800-Number Calls by 80%</li></ul>Review and Revise<br />
  51. 51. Mainstays of Social Media<br />BtoB Magazine Survey of 387 Marketers, April, 2010<br />
  52. 52. 5: Tools Are Easy; Execution Isn’t<br />Secrets of Social Media Marketing<br />
  53. 53. 6: Know the <br />Power of 130<br />Secrets of Social Media Marketing<br />
  54. 54. The Power of 130<br />The average Facebook member has 130 friends, who each receive notifications of their network’s Facebook activities<br />
  55. 55. 7: Match Voice <br />To Platform<br />Secrets of Social Media Marketing<br />
  56. 56. Customize the Message<br />Hey, Bobby:<br />Dear Robert:<br />Duuuuude!<br />@bob:<br />
  57. 57. 8: Amplify<br />Secrets of Social Media Marketing<br />
  58. 58. Social Media Adoption by Year, All Platforms <br />Survey of 105 Marketers, April, 2010<br />
  59. 59. Spread the Message<br />Corporate website<br />Feed Aggregator<br />Partner website<br />Email Newsletter<br />
  60. 60. AskPatty’s Syndication Wizardry<br /><ul><li>Syndication partners include TwitterMoms, BlogHer, Parenthood.com, SheKnows
  61. 61. Articles automatically posted to bookmarking sites, multiple Facebook fan pages
  62. 62. 10M quarterly impressions
  63. 63. 100-fold amplification of blog/Web content
  64. 64. CEO developing side business as automotive social media consultant</li></ul>“My inbox is overflowing every day with people who want speakers, partnerships, training and certifications.”<br />-Jody DeVere, CEO<br />
  65. 65. 9: Measure<br />Secrets of Social Media Marketing<br />
  66. 66. You CAN Calculate ROI<br /><ul><li>The lifetime value of a customer is $5,000
  67. 67. You send 50 tweets a month
  68. 68. This generates 1,000 visitors to your website
  69. 69. 2% of your website visitors become leads
  70. 70. 5% of your leads become customers
  71. 71. Therefore, the value of a tweet is: (1,000 * .02 * .05 * 5000)/50 = $100</li></li></ul><li>10: Have Fun<br />Secrets of Social Media Marketing<br />
  72. 72.
  73. 73. Thank you!<br />Site: gillin.com<br />Blog: paulgillin.com<br />Twitter: pgillin<br />Paul Gillin<br />508-656-0734<br />paul@gillin.com<br />

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