The document provides an overview of process planning. It begins with product selection, which involves strategic decisions about technology, capacity, location, and other factors. Process planning then determines how the product will be manufactured through make-or-buy decisions, process selection, capacity planning, and assembly charts. It discusses different types of processes like projects, batch production, and mass production. Process analysis tools like flow charts and operation process charts are used to improve processes. The document emphasizes that process planning is key to converting product designs into manufacturing instructions.
Production Planning and Control (Operations Management)Manu Alias
A presentation on operations management. The contents are, Production management and control - Meaning, Definition, functions, Objectives, Stages, Importance and limitations; Master Production Schedule (MPS) - Meaning, Objectives and fuctions.
method study is the branch of an industrial Engg. specially the sub branch of mechanical engg.
those who r the college students of engg. specially mechamnical 8mechanical can download this .it is very helpful for presentation purpose
Production Planning and Control (Operations Management)Manu Alias
A presentation on operations management. The contents are, Production management and control - Meaning, Definition, functions, Objectives, Stages, Importance and limitations; Master Production Schedule (MPS) - Meaning, Objectives and fuctions.
method study is the branch of an industrial Engg. specially the sub branch of mechanical engg.
those who r the college students of engg. specially mechamnical 8mechanical can download this .it is very helpful for presentation purpose
The Master Production Schedule (MPS) is a plan for the production of individual final items. The MPS breaks down the production plan to show, in each period, the quantity to produce of each final article.
#masterproduction #mps #mrp #erp #manufacturing #manufacturingsoftware #erpsoftware #mrpeasy
Production Planning and Control
Objective of PPC
Classification/Functions of PPC
Levels of PPC
Factors determining Production Planning Procedures
Production Planning System
Factors Determining PC procedures
Production planning, routing, scheduling, Activating, MonitoringDarshan Shah
First Plan Your Work and then Work on Your Plan.
1. Planning is deciding in advance what to do, how to do it, when to do it and who is to do it.
Planning bridges the gap from where we are, to where we want to go. It makes it possible for things to occur which would not otherwise happen.
2. Routing may be defined as the selection of path which each part of the product will follow, which being transformed from raw material to finished products.
Routing determines the most advantageous path to be followed from department to department and machine to machine till raw material gets its final shape.
3. Scheduling determines the program for the operations. Scheduling may be defined as ‘the fixation of time and date for each operation’ as well as it determines the sequence of operations to be followed.
4. Activating is concerned with the starting the processes. Activating is ‘release of orders and instruction for the starting of production for any item in acceptance with the route sheet and schedule charts’.
5. Monitoring is related to report daily the progress of work in each shop in a prescribed proforma and to investigate the causes of deviations from the planned performance.
Principles of Plant layout
Types of Plant layout
Process layout
Product layout
Cellular Manufacturing layout
fixed Position layout
Hybrid Layout
and their Advantages & disadvantages
Production Planning and Control
Objective of PPC
There are three stages in PPC
Classification/Functions of PPC
Benefits of PPC
Limitations of PPC
Production Planning / Operations Planning
Factors determining Production Planning Procedures
Production Planning System
Production Control
Factors Determining PC procedures
Main Functions of Production Planning
& Control Department
Plant Planning & Facility Planning
A Capability Maturity Model for Corporate Performance Management, an Empirica...Mika Aho
Presents a Capability Maturity Model (CMM) for assessing the maturity of Corporate Performance Management (CPM) within an organization.
The CPM maturity development process was studied in five case companies where the author participated into CPM projects in a various consultation roles. Through a literature study and the development process in each company, the author has made observations, and has identified the key components, factors, and levels of a CPM maturity.
The findings of this study further extend the CPM research providing a deeper understanding of the process, components, and levels of CPM maturity. The conference paper also provides organizations with an understanding about CPM and its potential value. The model provides a quick way for organizations to gauge where their CPM initiative is now and where it needs to go next.
The Master Production Schedule (MPS) is a plan for the production of individual final items. The MPS breaks down the production plan to show, in each period, the quantity to produce of each final article.
#masterproduction #mps #mrp #erp #manufacturing #manufacturingsoftware #erpsoftware #mrpeasy
Production Planning and Control
Objective of PPC
Classification/Functions of PPC
Levels of PPC
Factors determining Production Planning Procedures
Production Planning System
Factors Determining PC procedures
Production planning, routing, scheduling, Activating, MonitoringDarshan Shah
First Plan Your Work and then Work on Your Plan.
1. Planning is deciding in advance what to do, how to do it, when to do it and who is to do it.
Planning bridges the gap from where we are, to where we want to go. It makes it possible for things to occur which would not otherwise happen.
2. Routing may be defined as the selection of path which each part of the product will follow, which being transformed from raw material to finished products.
Routing determines the most advantageous path to be followed from department to department and machine to machine till raw material gets its final shape.
3. Scheduling determines the program for the operations. Scheduling may be defined as ‘the fixation of time and date for each operation’ as well as it determines the sequence of operations to be followed.
4. Activating is concerned with the starting the processes. Activating is ‘release of orders and instruction for the starting of production for any item in acceptance with the route sheet and schedule charts’.
5. Monitoring is related to report daily the progress of work in each shop in a prescribed proforma and to investigate the causes of deviations from the planned performance.
Principles of Plant layout
Types of Plant layout
Process layout
Product layout
Cellular Manufacturing layout
fixed Position layout
Hybrid Layout
and their Advantages & disadvantages
Production Planning and Control
Objective of PPC
There are three stages in PPC
Classification/Functions of PPC
Benefits of PPC
Limitations of PPC
Production Planning / Operations Planning
Factors determining Production Planning Procedures
Production Planning System
Production Control
Factors Determining PC procedures
Main Functions of Production Planning
& Control Department
Plant Planning & Facility Planning
A Capability Maturity Model for Corporate Performance Management, an Empirica...Mika Aho
Presents a Capability Maturity Model (CMM) for assessing the maturity of Corporate Performance Management (CPM) within an organization.
The CPM maturity development process was studied in five case companies where the author participated into CPM projects in a various consultation roles. Through a literature study and the development process in each company, the author has made observations, and has identified the key components, factors, and levels of a CPM maturity.
The findings of this study further extend the CPM research providing a deeper understanding of the process, components, and levels of CPM maturity. The conference paper also provides organizations with an understanding about CPM and its potential value. The model provides a quick way for organizations to gauge where their CPM initiative is now and where it needs to go next.
Objectives of Planning in Management, The essential objectives of planning in business organization can be described as follows, management study online MSO
Nature and Process of Planning, Strategic Planning
Visit the Author's Site at http://wenmi01.tumblr.com
Other Site You might be interested in: http://www.mrfitandrich.com
The fundamentals in this slide presentation are important in understanding the concept of planning, the various types of plans, and the strategic management process
This report is a research on how to use DFM (Design For Manufacturing) engineering method to reduce the cost and time of manufacturing. Additionally it is describing (how to choose/which is the best) production(manufacturing) technology.
In this presentation, we will discuss the concept and interrelation between product and process design and product life cycle. We will also talk about key decisions required in process design and evaluation of process design.
To know more about Welingkar School’s Distance Learning Program and courses offered, visit: http://www.welingkaronline.org/distance-learning/online-mba.html
Implicitly or explicitly all competing businesses employ a strategy to select a mix
of marketing resources. Formulating such competitive strategies fundamentally
involves recognizing relationships between elements of the marketing mix (e.g.,
price and product quality), as well as assessing competitive and market conditions
(i.e., industry structure in the language of economics).
Digital Transformation and IT Strategy Toolkit and TemplatesAurelien Domont, MBA
This Digital Transformation and IT Strategy Toolkit was created by ex-McKinsey, Deloitte and BCG Management Consultants, after more than 5,000 hours of work. It is considered the world's best & most comprehensive Digital Transformation and IT Strategy Toolkit. It includes all the Frameworks, Best Practices & Templates required to successfully undertake the Digital Transformation of your organization and define a robust IT Strategy.
Editable Toolkit to help you reuse our content: 700 Powerpoint slides | 35 Excel sheets | 84 minutes of Video training
This PowerPoint presentation is only a small preview of our Toolkits. For more details, visit www.domontconsulting.com
The key differences between the MDR and IVDR in the EUAllensmith572606
In the European Union (EU), two significant regulations have been introduced to enhance the safety and effectiveness of medical devices – the In Vitro Diagnostic Regulation (IVDR) and the Medical Device Regulation (MDR).
https://mavenprofserv.com/comparison-and-highlighting-of-the-key-differences-between-the-mdr-and-ivdr-in-the-eu/
Recruiting in the Digital Age: A Social Media MasterclassLuanWise
In this masterclass, presented at the Global HR Summit on 5th June 2024, Luan Wise explored the essential features of social media platforms that support talent acquisition, including LinkedIn, Facebook, Instagram, X (formerly Twitter) and TikTok.
[Note: This is a partial preview. To download this presentation, visit:
https://www.oeconsulting.com.sg/training-presentations]
Sustainability has become an increasingly critical topic as the world recognizes the need to protect our planet and its resources for future generations. Sustainability means meeting our current needs without compromising the ability of future generations to meet theirs. It involves long-term planning and consideration of the consequences of our actions. The goal is to create strategies that ensure the long-term viability of People, Planet, and Profit.
Leading companies such as Nike, Toyota, and Siemens are prioritizing sustainable innovation in their business models, setting an example for others to follow. In this Sustainability training presentation, you will learn key concepts, principles, and practices of sustainability applicable across industries. This training aims to create awareness and educate employees, senior executives, consultants, and other key stakeholders, including investors, policymakers, and supply chain partners, on the importance and implementation of sustainability.
LEARNING OBJECTIVES
1. Develop a comprehensive understanding of the fundamental principles and concepts that form the foundation of sustainability within corporate environments.
2. Explore the sustainability implementation model, focusing on effective measures and reporting strategies to track and communicate sustainability efforts.
3. Identify and define best practices and critical success factors essential for achieving sustainability goals within organizations.
CONTENTS
1. Introduction and Key Concepts of Sustainability
2. Principles and Practices of Sustainability
3. Measures and Reporting in Sustainability
4. Sustainability Implementation & Best Practices
To download the complete presentation, visit: https://www.oeconsulting.com.sg/training-presentations
Kseniya Leshchenko: Shared development support service model as the way to ma...Lviv Startup Club
Kseniya Leshchenko: Shared development support service model as the way to make small projects with small budgets profitable for the company (UA)
Kyiv PMDay 2024 Summer
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The world of search engine optimization (SEO) is buzzing with discussions after Google confirmed that around 2,500 leaked internal documents related to its Search feature are indeed authentic. The revelation has sparked significant concerns within the SEO community. The leaked documents were initially reported by SEO experts Rand Fishkin and Mike King, igniting widespread analysis and discourse. For More Info:- https://news.arihantwebtech.com/search-disrupted-googles-leaked-documents-rock-the-seo-world/
RMD24 | Debunking the non-endemic revenue myth Marvin Vacquier Droop | First ...BBPMedia1
Marvin neemt je in deze presentatie mee in de voordelen van non-endemic advertising op retail media netwerken. Hij brengt ook de uitdagingen in beeld die de markt op dit moment heeft op het gebied van retail media voor niet-leveranciers.
Retail media wordt gezien als het nieuwe advertising-medium en ook mediabureaus richten massaal retail media-afdelingen op. Merken die niet in de betreffende winkel liggen staan ook nog niet in de rij om op de retail media netwerken te adverteren. Marvin belicht de uitdagingen die er zijn om echt aansluiting te vinden op die markt van non-endemic advertising.
At Techbox Square, in Singapore, we're not just creative web designers and developers, we're the driving force behind your brand identity. Contact us today.
Improving profitability for small businessBen Wann
In this comprehensive presentation, we will explore strategies and practical tips for enhancing profitability in small businesses. Tailored to meet the unique challenges faced by small enterprises, this session covers various aspects that directly impact the bottom line. Attendees will learn how to optimize operational efficiency, manage expenses, and increase revenue through innovative marketing and customer engagement techniques.
"𝑩𝑬𝑮𝑼𝑵 𝑾𝑰𝑻𝑯 𝑻𝑱 𝑰𝑺 𝑯𝑨𝑳𝑭 𝑫𝑶𝑵𝑬"
𝐓𝐉 𝐂𝐨𝐦𝐬 (𝐓𝐉 𝐂𝐨𝐦𝐦𝐮𝐧𝐢𝐜𝐚𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐬) is a professional event agency that includes experts in the event-organizing market in Vietnam, Korea, and ASEAN countries. We provide unlimited types of events from Music concerts, Fan meetings, and Culture festivals to Corporate events, Internal company events, Golf tournaments, MICE events, and Exhibitions.
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"𝐄𝐯𝐞𝐫𝐲 𝐞𝐯𝐞𝐧𝐭 𝐢𝐬 𝐚 𝐬𝐭𝐨𝐫𝐲, 𝐚 𝐬𝐩𝐞𝐜𝐢𝐚𝐥 𝐣𝐨𝐮𝐫𝐧𝐞𝐲. 𝐖𝐞 𝐚𝐥𝐰𝐚𝐲𝐬 𝐛𝐞𝐥𝐢𝐞𝐯𝐞 𝐭𝐡𝐚𝐭 𝐬𝐡𝐨𝐫𝐭𝐥𝐲 𝐲𝐨𝐮 𝐰𝐢𝐥𝐥 𝐛𝐞 𝐚 𝐩𝐚𝐫𝐭 𝐨𝐟 𝐨𝐮𝐫 𝐬𝐭𝐨𝐫𝐢𝐞𝐬."
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Company Valuation webinar series - Tuesday, 4 June 2024FelixPerez547899
This session provided an update as to the latest valuation data in the UK and then delved into a discussion on the upcoming election and the impacts on valuation. We finished, as always with a Q&A
What is the TDS Return Filing Due Date for FY 2024-25.pdfseoforlegalpillers
It is crucial for the taxpayers to understand about the TDS Return Filing Due Date, so that they can fulfill your TDS obligations efficiently. Taxpayers can avoid penalties by sticking to the deadlines and by accurate filing of TDS. Timely filing of TDS will make sure about the availability of tax credits. You can also seek the professional guidance of experts like Legal Pillers for timely filing of the TDS Return.
3. Product Selection
• is a strategic decision i.e. long term decisions
• decisions like technology to be used, capacity
of the production system, location of the
facility, organization of the production
function, planning, and control systems depend
on this
3
4. Product Selection
involves
other functional areas like
marketing, research and development,
and the top management
4
5. Product Selection
• The process of selecting a product is highly
integrative
• Product function, cost, quality and reliability
are other inputs to product selection
5
6. Product Selection
Organizations try to get synergistic results
by exploiting the following factors:
1. Familiarity with similar products / services
2. Familiarity with the same or similar
production process
3. Familiarity with the same or similar market
segments
4. Familiarity with the same or similar
6
distribution channels
7. Product Development
Development effort improves the performance of
the product, adds options and additional features
Also adds variants to the basic product
Development starts after research has established
an idea that has been examined, evaluated and
refined
7
9. Product Variety
There are two distinctly different priorities
that can affect the design of a product or
service
1. Standardization
2. Modularization
9
10. Standardization
Higher the standardization, the greater will be the
ease in producing
It reduces variety in the product
Ensures better use of productive facilities
It reduces unit costs
10
11. Advantages of Standardization
Simplifies operational procedures
Raw materials can be purchased in bulk at
reduced price
Enables steady flow of materials through
work centres
Reduces the number of production set-ups
11
12. Advantages of Standardization
Reduces the total inventory of raw materials,
work-in-process, and finished goods
Provides economies of scales due to high
volume of production
12
13. Modularization
Used to obtain variety and yet hold down the
cost
Modules are interchangeable and each different
combination gives a new variety of the product
Design simplification without compromise on
quality can reduce production costs
13
14. Key Elements in Product Design
Function
Cost
Quality
Reliability
Appearance
Environmental impact
14
16. Process – Meaning
Processes
are the essence of operations
management.
They transform inputs into outputs.
More than products or technologies, the
ability to do things well- processes –
constitutes a firm’s competitive advantage.
16
17. Process Planning - Definition
Planning in which the conditions necessary for
transforming material from one state to another are
determined.
It determines how a work is to be done.
Itconverts designs into workable instructions for
manufacture, along with associated decisions on
component purchase or fabrication and process and
equipment selection.
17
18. Types of Processes
Projects:
It is one-of-a kind production of a
product to customer order.
BatchProduction: Batch production systems
process many different jobs through the system
in groups (or batches).
Mass production(Line processes) : It produces
large volumes of a standard product for a mass
market.
Continuousproduction: They are used for very
high volume commodity products. 18
19. Project Batch Mass Continuous
Product Unique Made to order Made to stock Commodity
Customer Singly Few individuals Mass market Mass market
Demand Infrequent Fluctuates Stable Very stable
Volume Very low Low to med High Very high
Variety Infinite Many, high Low Very low
System Long-term Intermittent Flow lines Process industry
Equipment Varied General Special Highly automated
Type of work Contracts Fabrication Assembly Mix, treat, refine
Skills Experts, Wide range Limited range Equipment
craftspeople monitors
Advantages Custom work, Flexibility, Efficiency, Highly efficient
quality speed, low cost large capacity
Disadv. Nonrepeating Costly, slow Capital invest. Difficult to change
Example Construction Printing, bakery Autos, TV’s Paint, oil, food
19
21. Process Planning
• Process planning is a key element in project
management that focuses on selecting resources
for use in the execution and completion of a
project
• In a manufacturing setting, this aspect of
planning also includes establishing the general
sequence of steps that begin with the acquisition
of materials and end with the creation of a
finished product.
21
22. DECISION ON WHAT TO MAKE
DEMAND FORECAST
FUNCTIONAL DESIGN
PRODUCT
PRODUCTION DESIGN
DESIGN
DRAWING & SPECIFICATION
OF WHAT TO MAKE
PRODUCT ANALYSIS & ASSEMBLY CHARTS
MAKE (OR) BUY DECISION
PROCESS
DESIGN
PROCESS DECISION, SELECTION FROM
ALTERNATIVE PROCESSES
ROUTE / SPECIFICATION WORK PLACE &
SHEET TOOL DESIGN
22
MANUFACTURE MODIFICATION OF PROCESS PLANSDUE TO LAYOUT,
PLANING QUALITY PERFORMANCE AND M/C AVAILABILITY
23. Process Planning
Make-or-buy decisions
Process selection
Capacity Planning
Assembly Chart
23
24. Make-Or-Buy Decisions
A firm’s Make-or-Buy choices should be
based on the following considerations:
1. Cost (fixed cost + variable cost) make = Cost
(fixed cost + Variable cost) buy
2. Available capacity
3. Quality considerations
4. Speed
5. Reliability
6. Expertise
24
25. Make-Or-Buy Decisions
• Determination whether to produce a
component part internally or to buy
it from an outside supplier. This
decision involves both qualitative
and quantitative factors. Qualitative
considerations include product
quality and the necessity for long-
run business relationships with
subcontractors. Quantitative factors
deal with cost. The quantitative
effects of the make-or-buy decision
are best seen through the Relevant
Cost Approach
• For example, assume a firm has
prepared the following cost
estimates for the manufacture of a
subassembly component based on
an annual production of 8000 units:
25
25
26. Contd….
• The supplier has offered the subassembly at a
price of $16 each. Two-thirds of fixed factory
overhead, which represents executive salaries,
rent, depreciation, and taxes, continue regardless
of the decision. Should the company buy or make
the product? The key to the decision lies in the
investigation of those relevant costs that change
between the make or buy alternatives.
Assuming that the productive capacity
will be idle if not used to produce the
subassembly, we can make the
following analysis
• he make-or-buy decision must be
investigated in the broader perspective
of available facilities. The alternatives
are: (1) leaving facilities idle; (2)
buying the parts and renting out idle
facilities; or (3) buying the parts and
using unused facilities for other
products.
26
26
27. Make-Or-Buy Process
•Stage 1 refers to the
preparations phase, which entails
creating a multi-disciplinary
team, selecting the part,
assembly or family of parts for
analysis and briefing the team.
•Stage 2 is concerned with data
collection.
27
28. Contd….
Stage 3
• consists of data analysis using a spreadsheet which
provides the following:
• Final scores for in-house and for the supplier. The
highest score indicates the best option.
• Weighted gaps for each factor area, highlighting the
strengths and weaknesses of this option.
• A sensitivity analysis which tests the robustness of the
final outcome.
Stage 4 28
• consists of feeding back the results to the team.
29. CROSSOVER CHARTS
It is a chart of costs at the possible volumes for more than one
process.
Fixed cost Variable cost
Rs
Rs R
. s
Process A Process B Process C
R
110000
80,000 Fixed cost –
Fixed cost –
75,000 Fixed cost – Process C
Process B 29
V1(5000) V2 (15,000) Process A
Volume
30. Break Even Analysis
For a company to produce a new product, the initial
investment in plant & equipment is estd. to be
Rs.2000. Labour & material cost is approx. Rs.5
per unit. If the rafts can be sold at Rs.10 per unit,
what volume of demand would be necessary to
break-even?
Fixed cost: Rs. 2000; variable cost: Rs.5 per unit;
selling price: Rs.10 per unit.
Then BEP is 2000/ 10-5 = 400 rafts.
30
31. Now the company believes that the demand for their
product will far exceed the break-even point. They are
now contemplating a larger investment of Rs. 10,000 for
more automated equipment that would reduce the variable
cost of manufacture to Rs.2 per unit.
what is the BEP for this new process?
Compare the earlier process with the process proposed
here. For what volume of demand should each process be
chosen?
Soln:
a. The BEP for the new process is: 10000/ 10-2 = 1250 rafts.
b. Lets consider the earlier process as process A and this
desired process as process B;
2000 + 5V = 10000 + 2V, V=2667 units 31
32. The solution procedure for process selection consists of
4 steps:
Formulate a total cost equation for each process
considered.
Calculate the point of indifference bet 2 alternatives by
equating the total cost of each alternative and solve for
V, which is the demand volume.
Above the point of indifference, choose the alternative
with the lowest variable cost.
Below the point of indifference, choose the alternative
with the lowest fixed cost.
32
33. Capacity Planning
• Capacity planning is the process of determining the
production capacity needed by an organization to meet
the demands for its products.
• A discrepancy between the capacity of an organization
and the demands of its customers results in unfulfilled
customers.
33
34. Process Analysis
Itis the systematic examination of all aspects
of a process to improve its operation.
A basic tool for process analysis is the
flowchart.
34
35. Flow Chart
• Flow charts are easy-to-understand diagrams showing how steps in a process
fit together. This makes them useful tools for communicating how processes
work, and for clearly documenting how a particular job is done. Furthermore,
the act of mapping a process out in flow chart format helps you clarify your
understanding of the process, and helps you think about where the process
can be improved.
• A flow chart can therefore be used to:
• (i)Define and analyze processes
• (ii)Build a step-by-step picture of the process for analysis,
• discussion, or communication and
• (iii)Define, standardize or find areas for improvement in a process
35
36. Assembly Chart
Assembly charts :gives pictorially step by
step assembly sequence and what items to be
assembled till finished product is produced.
36
37. Assembly Chart
• Assembly chart gives a
macro view of how
materials and sub
assembly are united to
form a finished product.
It is a starting point to
understand the factory
layout needs,
equipments needs,
training needs for any
company to deliver a
finished product /
service
37
42. Operation process chart
• Operation Process chart represents the
sequence of steps or tasks needed to complete a
product and details how to build a product at
each process. It includes what materials are
needed, type of processes, product flow, time
taken to process product through each step of
flow and thus serves as a basis for examining
and possibly improving the way the operation
is carried out.
42
43. Process Re-engineering
Process Re-engineering is a structured
approach to process flow analysis used when
major business changes are required as a
result of:
Major new products
Quality improvement needed
Better competitors
Inadequate performance
In short, it is the total redesign of a process.
43