Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Politics of Russia


Published on

The Government and Politics of Russia

Published in: News & Politics
  • Be the first to comment

Politics of Russia

  1. 1. By: Benedict Gombocz
  2. 2. Government of Russia Government (правительство): Federal semi-presidential republic and (in theory) “multi- party democracy” President (Президент Российской Федерации): Vladimir Putin (United Russia) Prime Minister (Председатель Правительства Российской Федерации): Dmitry Medvedev (United Russia) Chairman of the Federation Council: Valentina Matviyenko (United Russia) Chairman of the State Duma: Boris Gryzlov (United Russia)
  3. 3. State Duma represented parties United Russia (Единая Россия) Communist Party of the Russian Federation (Коммунистическая партия Российской Федерации) Liberal Democratic Party of Russia (Либерально- Демократическая Партия России) A Just Russia (Справедливая Россия)
  4. 4. Years of Russian presidential elections andthe winning party 1991: Independent (Boris Yeltsin) 1996: Independent (Boris Yeltsin) 2000: Independent (Vladimir Putin) 2004: Independent Supported by United Russia (Vladimir Putin) 2008: Independent Supported by United Russia (Dmitry Medvedev) 2012: United Russia (Vladimir Putin)
  5. 5. Other registered parties Patriots of Russia (Патриоты России, Patrioty Rossii) Right Cause (Правое дело, Pravoye Delo) The Russian United Democratic Party of Yabloko (Российская Объединённая Демократическая Партия "Яблоко", Rossiyskaya Obedinyonnaya Demokraticheskaya Partiya "Yabloko“)
  6. 6. United Russia Centrist party and currently the largest party Founded on 1 December 2001 with a merger of Unity and Fatherland- All Russia parties Identifies itself ideologically as a “Russian conservative” party and supports the policies of current president Dmitry Medvedev Its association with [President and current Prime Minister ] Vladimir Putin has been the prominent key to its success Its popularity declined from its 64.4% peak in 2007 Duma elections down to 41% in May 2011
  7. 7. Communist Party of the Russian Federation Communist, Marxist-Leninst, left-wing, Stalinist party and second largest party behind United Russia Founded on 14 February 1993 Its youth organization is Komsomol Russia Considers itself the successor of the dissolved Communist Party of the Soviet Union
  8. 8. Liberal Democratic Party of Russia Regarded as a far-right party identified with Russian ultra nationalism and right-wing populism Founded in 1991 In spite of its name, it is often not described as liberal or democratic Received a plurality vote in 1993 State Duma elections Received 8.14% of the vote in 2007 legislative election
  9. 9. A Just Russia Social Democratic, neo- Socialist party Founded on 28 October 2006 as merger of Rodina, the Russian Party of Life and the Russian Pensioners’ Party Its platform is based on the principles of fairness, freedom and solidarity Calls for “New Socialism of the 21st Century” for rights and freedoms of the individual and ensures proper functioning of a welfare state
  10. 10. Patriots of Russia Left-wing nationalist and socialist party Founded in April 2005 Opposes influence of NATO and the United States on foreign policy issues Won 0.89% and 0.97% of the vote in 2007 and 2011 Duma elections, respectively, but won no seats in either election
  11. 11. Right Cause Liberal, democratic, and liberal conservative party Founded on 18 February 2009 as merger of Union of Right Forces, Civilian Power and Democratic Party of Russia Its main policy stances include free marker economy, democracy and protecting middle class rights Widely considered to be a pro- Kremlin party, but has already found itself part of the opposition to the presidential administration on many occasions
  12. 12. Russian United Democratic Party“Yabloko” Social liberal party Founded in 1993 Stands for greater freedom and civil liberties in Russia, greater integration with the West, closer ties with the United States and membership in the European Union Opposed the policies of Boris Yeltsin and similarly oppose Vladimir Putin for what they view as his increasing authoritarian rule and have demanded the removal of his government by “constitutional means”
  13. 13. Dmitry Medvedev Current PM of Russia; also current leader of United Russia and leader of United Russia in Duma Born on 14 September 1965 Previously served as President of Russia from 2008-2012 and First Deputy PM (2005-2008). Graduated from Law Department of Leningrad State University in 1987 Defended his thesis in 1990, working as docent at alma mater (now renamed back to Saint Petersburg State University), where he was instructor of civil and Roman law until 1999 His political career started as election campaign manager and later adviser of St. Petersburg Mayor Anatoly Sobchak Was employed in Russian presidential administration in November 1999, working as deputy chief of staff Was Vladimir Putin’s campaign manager in 2000 presidential election Also served as Chairman of Gazprom’s board of directors, a position he held until 2008
  14. 14. Gennady Zyuganov First Secretary of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation Born on 26 June 1944 in Mymrino, Oryol Oblast Also serves as Chairman of the Union of Communist Parties – Communist Party of the Soviet Union, Deputy of the State Dumna, and member of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe
  15. 15. Vladimir Zhirinovsky Founder and leader of the Liberal Democratic Party of Russia Born Vladimir Eidelstein on 25 April 1946 in Almaty, Kazakh SSR Also serves as Vice-Chairman of the State Duma and a member of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe His first political breakthrough was in June 1991 when he came in third at the first Russian presidential elections in which he gathered over six million votes, or 7.81%
  16. 16. Nikolai Levichev Leader of A Just Russia Born on 28 May 1953 in Pushkin, Leningrad (now St. Petersburg) Was elected party leader on 16 April 2011 at the 5th party congress in Moscow
  17. 17. Gennady Semigin Leader of Patriots of Russia Born on March 23, 1961 in Khmelnitsky, Ukrainian SSR Studied history in Riga and at the Moscow Institute of Jurisprudence Also a member of the Russian Academy of Science Founded the Patriots of Russia party after failure in a power struggle with political opponent Gennady Zuganov
  18. 18. Andrey Dunaev Leader of Right Cause
  19. 19. Sergey Mitrokhin Leader of the Russian United Democratic Party “Yabloko” Born on 20 May 1963 in Moscow Also served as Deputy of the State Duma (1993- 2003) and the Moscow City Hall (2005-2009)
  20. 20. Results of 2008 presidential election - Map
  21. 21. Results of 2008 presidential election United Russia: 71.25% Communist Party of the Russian Federation: 17.96% Liberal Democratic Party of Russia: 9.48% Democratic Party of Russia: 1.31%
  22. 22. Results of 2012 presidential election - Map
  23. 23. Results of 2012 presidential election United Russia: 63.64% Communist Party: 17.18% Independent: 7.94% Liberal Democratic Party: 6.22% A Just Russia: 3.85%
  24. 24. Конец (The End)