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Facebook
Purpose
Facebook is a social media website where you can invite people to be your friends. Once you are friends you can
access each others photos, statuses, locations and some details like school, birthday and work. It offers a very
effective and quickly accessible service. This is because you can log on to Facebook on any device including a
computer, phone or tablet. It offers a service allowing consumers to connect with friends from across the world
only using the internet.
Facebooks ethos consists of blue, grey and white colour and also seems to display bold writing. Additionally, icon
in the shape of humans are used frequently throughout the site.
The denotation of Facebooks slogan is ‘Be connected. Be Discovered. Be on Facebook’. The connotations of this
are to connect with your friends and discover new things, which Facebook will encourage.
Facebook is a social media website where you can invite people to be your friends. Once you are friends you can
access each others photos, statuses, locations and some details like school, birthday and work. It offers a very
effective and quickly accessible service. This is because you can log on to Facebook on any device including a
computer, phone or tablet. It offers a service allowing consumers to connect with friends from across the world
only using the internet.
A 19 year old man named Mark Zuckerburg launched Facebook in February 2004. Zuckerberg launched “The
Facebook”, as it was originally known; the name taken from the sheets of paper distributed to freshmen,
profiling students and staff. Within 24 hours, 1200 Harvard students had signed up, and after one month, over
half of the undergraduate population had a profile. His intentions were to just keep it for students and staff
within the university. This means it is private and safe as everyone knows each other.
Source: https://www.facebook.com/login/
http://www.businessinsider.com/how-facebook-was-founded-2010-3?IR=T
Content
The colour scheme of Facebook is predominantly blue,
white and grey. I know this because there home page,
logo and advertisements demonstrate these colours. I
think these colours work very well together and look
very professional. The image to the right demonstrates
these colours.
The image on the right displays the home page after
logging on to your account. As you can see there are
many different aspects such as the navigation bar, side
bar and main content.
Firstly, the navigation bar is located at the top of the
page. It is very clear as it is coloured in blue which is
very clear for the user to find. You can use this to go to
your profile, view friend requests, search the sight and
manage settings.
Next is the side bar, this is located on the left hand side
of the page and does not move. This is very good as it
means you get constant access to things such as news
feed, photos and games.
Finally is the main content also known as news feed.
This is where you can view peoples statuses, images
and location. This usually ascends in an order. For
example the newest content appears first and as you
scroll down the content gets older.
Target User / Membership
To sign up to facebook, you must go on the website and click on ‘sign up’. This takes
you to the page on the right where you must type in your details such as Full Name,
Email, Password, Sex and Birthday. It does not cost anything to sign up to Facebook
however there are purchases you can make once in the website but these are not
necessary. For example on games.
I used the internet to find out some information on the users of Facebook. My results
are shown in the image on the right. As you can see more women use facebook than
men and there is a trend in the younger generations using facebook. This is that the
younger the generation, the most people using facebook. This is proven as 88% of
people use Facebook between the ages of 18-29 and only 62% over the age of 65.
This is also known as ‘Early Adopters’ which means people are signing up to social
media younger and younger.
The target audience of Facebook would be younger people, in particularly women,
also people that live in urban and rural areas as shown in the graph on the right. They
attain their audience by displaying current things that target the interests of these
people.
The socio – economic needs would be a D or E because they are stereotypically casual
workers, semi and unskilled workers. This is because these people so not tend to earn
that much money and therefore can afford to go on a free website such as Facebook.
Katz Uses & Gratification Theory would be diversion or personal relationships, this is
because the sit allows you to escape from everyday life problems and using media for
emotional and other interaction.
There are 7 parts to Hartley's Subjectivities . One main aspect includes the example
that I would give age 18-29. This is because its mainly younger women who work
every day in the lower classes. Additionally, these people have a UK ethnicity as white
and perhaps have lots of friends and family to connect with.
Source: http://sproutsocial.com/insights/new-social-media-demographics/#facebook
Sources Of Revenue
The top image on the right is a real life demonstration of the 30th March 2015 and the bottom image is
for the 30th March 2017.
As you can see the value of Facebook has risen from 24.53m to 33.24m in the last 2 years.
Additionally the share price has rose by £31.50 between March 30th 2015 and 2016. This is because
the company is growing and the amount of people buying shares is increasing.
Facebook make there money through games. This is because you can buy in – game purchases for the
games.
They also make their money through advertisements. This is because the advertising company have to
pay Facebook to advertise their products on their website. The more advertisements, the more
revenue being made. However, a lot of users do not like to many advertisements covering up the page
so it is important that they create a good balance.
Facebook advertising cost can be anywhere from $0.16 to $1.00+ per click, depending on your
industry, the size of your audience, and the quality of your ad.
Source: http://www.nasdaq.com/symbol/fb
2015 2016
Ethical & Legal Issues
Ethical and Legal Issues are if there is a problem or situation which requires a person or group to choose whether the
alternatives are right (ethical) or wrong (unethical).
When producing media such as web pages, companies must follow rules so they do not offend or harm any type of
readership once being publicized.
One of them is that “particular care must be taken to avoid causing offence on the grounds of race, religion, gender,
sexuality, disability or age. Compliance will be judged on the standards”.
Some people have abused the purpose of Facebook by creating pages as a way to cyber bully people they know.
However, the victim can see this page but cannot see who has created it.
Data Protection Act (1998)
The data protection act controls how your personal information is used by organizations, businesses or the
government. Everyone responsible for using data has to follow strict rules called ‘data protection principles’.
There is stronger legal protection for more sensitive information, such as:
ethnic background
political opinions
religious beliefs
Health
sexual health
criminal records
An ethical issue which was established was that the website can be used as a form of cyber bullying. This can be done
by creating pages, posting photos, posting statuses or simply talking on Facebook messenger.
Source: https://www.gov.uk/data-protection/the-data-protection-act
Ethical & Legal Issues
The Editors’ Code of Practice sets out
the many rules that are regulated by
IPSO have agreed to follow. To the left
are three examples of the rules;
Accuracy, Discrimination and
Confidential Sources.
This relates to Facebook as they must
follow these rules before publishing
anything online. For example, number
12, Discrimination. Facebook must
double check the content they provide
including images and texts to ensure
there is no prejudice against ‘race,
colour, religion, sex, gender, sexual
orientation or any physical or mental
illness or disability.
Copyright
Copyright is a legal right which protects the use of
your work once your idea has been physically
expressed.
Copyright law lays out a framework of rules around
how that work can be used.
This links to Facebook as they must ensure they are
not breaching these rules or they will be heavily
fined.
Source:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/copyrightaware/what-is
According to Noam Chomsky, social media “erodes normal social behavior”. I agree with this as social media causes
people to stay in and be less interactive face to face.
This is evident in an article I found on the internet as it stats “by now, we are all aware that social media has had a
tremendous impact on out culture, in business, on the world-at-large. Social media websites are some of the most
popular haunts of the internet. They have revolutionized the way people communicate and socialize on the web.”
In particularly, Facebook has changed the definition of a ‘friend’. This is now a verb and unlike real life when ending
a friendship can be deeply traumatic, it is easy to ‘de-friend’, a word invented to describe ditching a casual
acquaintance when that no longer enhancing your Facebook newsfeed.
3 positives associated with Facebook are that you can create groups and events to organize occasions, connect with
new and old friends and update your status to let others know what your doing.
Convergence offers users “the kinds of entertainment experiences they want” (Jenkins – 2006) – this maps a new
territory where old and new media intersect, where grass roots and corporate media collide, where the power of
the media producer and the power of the consumer interact in unpredictable ways. The main examples of
convergence on Facebook are images, videos and memes. An example of a page that shares a humerous kind of
content is ‘The LadBible’. They have 25,081,008 likes.
Even though Facebook is one of the most popular sites in the world, it is not a secure platform to communicate with
your friends. This is because security problems are being discovered regularly and it is not as secure as people
realize when they log on every day.
Source: http://readersupportednews.org/opinion2/277-75/30011-noam-chomsky-social-media-have-not-eroded-
the-power-of-corporate-media
Noam Chomsky: Social Media Have Not
Eroded the Power of Corporate Media
Snapchat
Purpose
Snapchat is a social media app where you can invite people to be your friends. Once
you are friends you can send each other photos, messages and upload stories top
show what you are up to to all your friends. It offers a very effective and quickly
accessible service. This is because you can log on to Snapchat on a phone or tablet. It
offers a service allowing consumers to connect with friends from across the world only
using the internet.
There were three original creators of Snapchat who launched the app in 2011; Evan
Spiegel, Bobby Murphy and Reggie Brown. They invented Snapchat for the main
purpose which was so you could send someone a picture that would disappear after a
certain amount of time (up to 10 seconds).
The slogan for Snapchat is ‘Life’s more fun when you live in the moment’. The
connotations of this are that taking pictures is like capturing a moment, then sending
it is like the other person can live those memories with you.
Snapchat's ethos consists of yellow and white colour and also seems to display an
image of a white ghost. This ghost is well known for and associated with Snapchat.
Source: https://techcrunch.com/gallery/a-brief-history-of-snapchat/slide/73/
Content
The colour scheme of Snapchat is
predominantly yellow. I know this because
the app on the phone is yellow. Also the main
house style of the app is yellow. There are
many positive connotations of the colour
yellow. Yellow is the color of sunshine. It's
associated with joy, happiness, intellect, and
energy.
The app has three main features. Spiegel says
"It's three screens: Snap, Chat, and Watch,"
he said about the app, four years after it
launched. You can send our friends videos
and pictures of you and your friends. This is
has a light hearted, humorous element to it as
these images usually have a funny element to
it.
Source:
http://www.businessinsider.com/snapchat-
company-mission-ipo-2016-10?IR=T
Target User / Membership
To sign up to snap chat you must download the app and click on ‘sign up’. This will then take
you to a new page which allows you to create a username and password that is personal to you.
There are no costs involved which is good as this will attract a wide range of users.
More than 100 million people use snap chat every day. These people spend an average of 30
minutes on the app every day. In total, there are 200 million active users worldwide.
Demographics
60% of users are under the age of 25. This is also known as ‘Early Adopters’ which means
people are signing up to social media younger and younger.
There are not many older people that use snap chat. This is evident as only 2% of users are over
the age of 55. snap chat have not officially released this statistic but a rough estimate has been
made that 70% of snap chat users are female. This may be because taking photos and especially
selfies can be seen and recognized as more of a girly thing to do.
Therefore the main target audience for snap chat would be younger girls under the age of 24.
The socio – economic needs would be a D or E because they are stereotypically casual workers,
semi and unskilled workers. This is because these people so not tend to earn that much money
and therefore can afford to go on a free applications such as Snapchat.
Katz Uses & Gratification Theory would be diversion or personal relationships, this is because
the sit allows you to escape from everyday life problems and using media for emotional and
other interaction.
There are 7 parts to Hartley's Subjectivities . One main aspect includes the example that I would
give age of under 24. This is because its mainly younger women who work every day in the
lower classes. Additionally, these people have a UK ethnicity as white and perhaps have lots of
friends and family to connect with through the app.
Source: https://blog.hootsuite.com/snapchat-demographics/
Sources Of Revenue
There are a few main ways snapchat make their money. Firstly, you can get sponsored
ads on the screen when you take a photo which will then be sent to your friend.
Secondly, there is a news page where companies, channels and newspapers get
promoted. They will have had to pay snapchat to feature their news on the app.
Last but not least, Snapchat also allows users to purchase sponsored filters covering
smaller geographic areas. For example, you can create a filter and pay a certain
amount of money for that filter to be used on any photo taken within that area.
Buying ads through Snapchat's Ads application programming interface (API) is now
rumoured to cost at a minimum of $100,000 per ad, down from the $500,000 asking
price that Snapchat asked of advertisers when it first opened the platform to brands in
late 2014.
Snapchat are now worth £26bn.
Source: https://www.fool.com/investing/2016/06/03/how-does-snapchat-make-
money.aspx
Ethical & Legal Issues
Ethical and Legal Issues are if there is a problem or situation which requires a person or group to choose whether
the alternatives are right (ethical) or wrong (unethical).
When producing media such as apps, companies must follow rules so they do not offend or harm any type of
readership once being publicized.
One of them is that “particular care must be taken to avoid causing offence on the grounds of race, religion,
gender, sexuality, disability or age. Compliance will be judged on the standards”.
Some people have abused the main purpose of snapchat. This is because you can create accounts that send
explicit images to others. Also you can use this technique as a form of cyber bullying.
Data Protection Act (1998)
The data protection act controls how your personal information is used by organizations, businesses or the
government. Everyone responsible for using data has to follow strict rules called ‘data protection principles’.
There is stronger legal protection for more sensitive information, such as:
ethnic background
political opinions
religious beliefs
Health
sexual health
criminal records
An ethical issue which was established was that the app can be used to send photos to others as a way of cyber
bullying. Alternatively, the app can be used to send explicit photos which people can screenshot.
Source: https://www.gov.uk/data-protection/the-data-protection-act
Ethical & Legal Issues
The Editors’ Code of Practice sets out
the many rules that are regulated by
IPSO have agreed to follow. To the left
are three examples of the rules;
Accuracy, Discrimination and
Confidential Sources.
This relates to Snapchat must follow
these rules before publishing anything
on their app. For example, number 12,
Discrimination. Snapchat must double
check the content they provide
including images and texts to ensure
there is no prejudice against ‘race,
colour, religion, sex, gender, sexual
orientation or any physical or mental
illness or disability.
According to Noam Chomsky, social media “erodes normal social behavior”. I agree with this as social media causes
people to stay in and be less interactive face to face.
This is evident in an article I found on the internet as it stats “by now, we are all aware that social media has had a
tremendous impact on out culture, in business, on the world-at-large. Social media websites are some of the most
popular haunts of the internet. They have revolutionized the way people communicate and socialize on the web.”
In particularly, snapchat has changed the significance of a ‘photo’. This is now because a photo used to be a memory
catcher, something you use to capture memories. Now millions of snap chats are taken a day and a lot of them are
unnecessary or ‘mug shots’.
3 positives associated with Snapchat are that you can create groups, show snapchats for up to 10 seconds and
update your story which is like a status to let people know what you are doing.
Convergence offers users “the kinds of entertainment experiences they want” (Jenkins – 2006) – this maps a new
territory where old and new media intersect, where grass roots and corporate media collide, where the power of
the media producer and the power of the consumer interact in unpredictable ways. The main examples of
convergence on Snapchat are images, videos and memes.
Even though Snapchat is one of the most popular applications in the world, it is not a secure platform to
communicate with your friends. This is because security problems are being discovered regularly and it is not as
secure as people realize when they log on every day.
Source: http://readersupportednews.org/opinion2/277-75/30011-noam-chomsky-social-media-have-not-eroded-
the-power-of-corporate-media
Noam Chomsky: Social Media Have Not
Eroded the Power of Corporate Media
Copyright
Copyright is a legal right which protects the use of
your work once your idea has been physically
expressed.
Copyright law lays out a framework of rules around
how that work can be used.
This links to Snap chat as they must ensure they are
not breaching these rules or they will be heavily
fined.
Source:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/copyrightaware/what-is
Twitter
Purpose
Twitter is a social media website where you can follow people and have other people follow you.
Once you are friends you can access each others photos, statuses, locations and other details like
birthdays. It offers a very effective and quickly accessible service. This is because you can log on to
Twitter on any device including a computer, phone or tablet. It offers a service allowing consumers to
connect with friends from across the world only using the internet. Additionally, it is the easiest site
to connect with celebrities through following them or ‘tweeting’ them.
Dorsey, Stone and Odeo co-founder Evan Williams started a new company, called Obvious, which
later evolved into Twitter. Two weeks later, Dorsey had built a simple site where users could instantly
post short messages of 140 characters or less, known in Twitter parlance as "tweets.“
Twitters slogan is ‘yours to discover’. This sounds like an invitation to find out more because the
connotations are like there saying its up to you to find out more about Twitter.
Twitters ethos consists of blue, grey and white colour and also seems to display bold writing.
Additionally, an icon in the shape of a bird is used frequently throughout the site.
Source: http://www.biography.com/people/jack-dorsey-578280
Content
The Colour scheme of twitter is blue and white. The connotations of blue are
trust, loyalty, wisdom, confidence, intelligence, faith, truth, and heaven. These
are all very positive things which reflects a strong image of the website.
The Interface of the product is very professionally made, this is because all the
features are neatly laid out and work well well together. Also the colours match
and are bold and bright.
Firstly, the navigation bar is located at the top of
the page. It is very clear as it is coloured in blue
which is very clear for the user to find. You can
use this to go to your profile, view follow
requests, search the sight and manage settings.
Next is the side bar, this is located on the left
hand side of the page. I the middle of the page is
the main content also known as news feed. This
is where you can view peoples ‘tweets’, images
and location. This usually ascends in an order.
For example the newest content appears first
and as you scroll down the content gets older.
Target User / Membership
To sign up to Twitter, you must go on the website and click on ‘sign up’. This takes you to the
page on the right where you must type in your details such as Full Name, Email, and Password
It does not cost anything to sign up.
The platform’s 313 million monthly active users send more than 500 million Tweets every day.
42 percent of online youth aged 15 to 17 use Twitter and only six percent of senior citizens use
the service. This proves the theory or ‘early adopters’ as it supports the idea that the majority
of social media users are young and they are getting younger and younger.
In adulthood, there are more men than women on twitter. This is 25 percent compared to 21
percent of women.
The target audience of Facebook would be younger people, in particularly men.
The socio – economic needs would be a D or E because they are stereotypically casual
workers, semi and unskilled workers. This is because these people so not tend to earn that
much money and therefore can afford to go on a free website such as Facebook. This is proven
as 40% of users earn under £50,000 a year.
Katz Uses & Gratification Theory would be diversion or personal relationships, this is because
the sit allows you to escape from everyday life problems and using media for emotional and
other interaction.
There are 7 parts to Hartley's Subjectivities . One main aspect includes the example that I
would give age 15 to 17. This is because its mainly younger women who work every day in the
lower classes. Additionally, these people have a UK ethnicity as white and perhaps have lots of
friends and family to connect with.
Source: https://blog.hootsuite.com/twitter-demographics/
Sources Of Revenue
The images underneath demonstrate real life examples of the share price of Twitter on the on
the 11th May 2017 and 3rd January 2014.
As you can see the value of Twitter has gone down from 69.00 to 18.54. This is because the
company is not growing and the amount of people buying shares is decreasing.
Twitter make there money through adverts. This is because a company will pay them to have
their advert featured on their site. The more advertisements, the more revenue being made.
However, a lot of users do not like to many advertisements covering up the page so it is
important that they create a good balance.
Twitter advertise through promoted tweets and promoted accounts which cost between $0.50
and $4.00 per engagement.
Source: http://www.cityam.com/263597/twitter-share-price-soars-after-beating-expectations
Ethical & Legal Issues
Ethical and Legal Issues are if there is a problem or situation which requires a person or group to choose whether the
alternatives are right (ethical) or wrong (unethical).
When producing media such as web pages, companies must follow rules so they do not offend or harm any type of
readership once being publicized.
One of them is that “particular care must be taken to avoid causing offence on the grounds of race, religion, gender,
sexuality, disability or age. Compliance will be judged on the standards”.
Some people have abused the purpose of Twitter by creating pages as a way to cyber bully people they know. However,
the victim can see this page but cannot see who has created it.
Data Protection Act (1998)
The data protection act controls how your personal information is used by organizations, businesses or the
government. Everyone responsible for using data has to follow strict rules called ‘data protection principles’.
There is stronger legal protection for more sensitive information, such as:
ethnic background
political opinions
religious beliefs
Health
sexual health
criminal records
An ethical issue which was established was that the website can be used to create cyber bullying accounts. This are
then used to follow other users, post photos, tweets and retweet tweets.
Source: https://www.gov.uk/data-protection/the-data-protection-act
Ethical & Legal Issues
The Editors’ Code of Practice sets out
the many rules that are regulated by
IPSO have agreed to follow. To the left
are three examples of the rules;
Accuracy, Discrimination and
Confidential Sources.
This relates to Twitter must follow these
rules before publishing a magazine. For
example, number 12, Discrimination.
Facebook must double check the
content they provide including images
and texts to ensure there is no
prejudice against ‘race, colour, religion,
sex, gender, sexual orientation or any
physical or mental illness or disability.
Copyright
Copyright is a legal right which protects the use of
your work once your idea has been physically
expressed.
Copyright law lays out a framework of rules around
how that work can be used.
This links to Twitter as they must ensure they are
not breaching these rules or they will be heavily
fined.
Source:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/copyrightaware/what-is
According to Noam Chomsky, social media “erodes normal social behavior”. I agree with this as social media causes
people to stay in and be less interactive face to face.
This is evident in an article I found on the internet as it states “by now, we are all aware that social media has had a
tremendous impact on out culture, in business, on the world-at-large. Social media websites are some of the most
popular haunts of the internet. They have revolutionized the way people communicate and socialize on the web.”
In particularly, Twitter has changed the way we get news. For example, sometimes serious and important news can
be turned into a meme or joke.
3 positives associated with Twitter are that you can follow and have more interaction with celebrities, share tweets
that other people have sent and write tweets.
Convergence offers users “the kinds of entertainment experiences they want” (Jenkins – 2006) – this maps a new
territory where old and new media intersect, where grass roots and corporate media collide, where the power of
the media producer and the power of the consumer interact in unpredictable ways. The main examples of
convergence on Twitter are images, videos and memes.
Noam Chomsky: Social Media Have Not
Eroded the Power of Corporate Media
Even though Twitter is one of the most popular sites in
the world, it is not a secure platform to communicate
with your friends. This is because security problems are
being discovered regularly and it is not as secure as
people realize when they log on every day.
Source:
http://readersupportednews.org/opinion2/277-
75/30011-noam-chomsky-social-media-have-not-
eroded-the-power-of-corporate-media
My first question on
survey monkey was
‘How Old Are You?’.
The average age of
people who
answered my
survey was 26. This
demonstrates that
the range of ages
that use social
media is very
varied. Some
people were 17 and
others were in their
late 40s.
My second question
on survey monkey
was ‘What is your
gender?. 55% of
people who
answered my
survey was male
and 35% were
female. This
demonstrates that
the majority of
social media users
are male however
there is not much of
a gap between
genders.
My next question
on survey monkey
was ‘How often do
you use social
media?’. 65% of
people use social
media daily which is
the majority. This
proves that social
media plays a very
big role in our every
day life.
My first question on
survey monkey was
‘what are the
advantages of social
media and why?’.
The majority of
people like social
media because it
connects people
and you can receive
news.
My next question
was ‘what are the
disadvantages of
social media and
why?’. The majority
of people said that
it can be harmful,
disrespectful and an
easy way to commit
offences such as
cyber bullying.
My last question on
survey monkey was
‘what is your
favourite social
media
application/website
and why?’. Most
people said
snapchat because
its quick, free and
easy to use.
Therefore I have
learned that this is
an important factor
to social media.
Advertising
Online advertising rates are set according to four main features; ad
size, ad location, ad performance and market demand.
The size of the ad is a major factor in website advertisement rates
because of the amount of space each one takes up on a page.
Any adverts located above the scroll perform best. Whether they also
work best on the left, right or center depends on what else is on the
page.
CPM is cost per thousand impressions. The formula for this is total site
revenue / total site page views X 1000. For example, if a medium sized
site has £5,000 in revenue and 500,000 page views in a month. The
average page CPM for this site is £10 using the formula of £5,000/
£500,000 X 1,000
Source: https://www.clickz.com/static/cpm-calculator
Commercial Uses – Advertising
Pay – Per – Click Advertising:
This type of advertising is when companies such as Google and Yahoo allow business to
buy listings so that they will be at the top of the results which means people will clock on
the link and go to their site. However, the disadvantage of this is that you will be charged
for how many people click on the site.
Sponsored Advertising:
In the current day and age, people do not pay attention to adverts down the side of a
page. Therefore someone came up with this new idea that you write an article. You would
do this so that it is less obvious to the reader that it is an advertisement.
Personal Recommendations:
These are quite simply word of mouth from friends, family and oter people we may know.
This is the best option as it is free and trust worthy.
Source: http://www.nielsen.com/eu/en/press-room/2015/recommendations-from-
friends-remain-most-credible-form-of-advertising.html
Facebook TV Advert – Viral Marketing
I watched a TV advert for Facebook named ‘Our Friends’.
The main message of the video is about creating and
building friendships. This is significant as Facebook is all
about adding friends and connecting with them.
Additionally, it is about trying new things and challenges
which as a viewer, it is very motivating to watch.
Commercial Uses (Continued) – Viral
Marketing
I looked up a recent snapchat advert on YouTube. I found one named ‘introducing
memories’ which is a new feature on the app. The advert was 48 seconds long and didn’t
have many words. However you had to watch the advert as everything you need to know is
acted out, the connotations of the advert is that they are creating memories through an
app by saving photos and videos that they find rememberable. Many people are still
discovering the app, Snapchat which is why they are still publishing advertisements.
Additionally people to need to know about the updates that are being released so they still
want to use the application.
Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nm1RfWn0tQ8
Commercial Uses – Products
Advertised
On snapchat, there are no visible adverts anywhere on the app.
However, on Twitter and Facebook there are many
advertisements from companies and brands. There is no specific
good/service to advertise, you could see clothes, cars, holidays
or TV packages. Additionally, they will have to pay to advertise
on Facebook or Twitter. This may effect their cash flow but
shouldn’t be a problem providing their advertisements is a big
hit.
Commercial Uses – Product Reviews
User Generated Reviews
For Facebook, many people think it is a great website as you can message friends, upload
photos and view status’. However, many people think that they spend too much time on it.
This is because it is with them everywhere they go; on their phone, tablet and computer.
Also, there has been talk of privacy issues due to users not privatising their wall. For
example, if you was to post photos of you in your school, random strangers can see where
you go to school and follow you. Personally I would give Facebook 4 Stars out of 5 as it is
very good at connecting people, organising events and bringing old friends together
however it has issues such as cyber bullying.
Commercial Uses (Continued) –
Product Reviews
User Generated Reviews
For Snapchat, many people think it is an exiting, unique way to talk to friends. However,
there are many disadvantages of using snapchat. Mainly that it can be used as a way of
sexting. People can send explicit photos of themselves and feel more comfortable about
it as the image should only last up to 10 seconds. Therefore parents have no control over
what children are sending and there is always a risk that other users can screenshot what
you have sent. Personally, I think snapchat is a 4 stars out of 5 because it is a very
interesting and comical app to talk to friends on.
Commercial Uses (Continued) –
Product Reviews
User Generated Reviews
For Twitter, many people enjoy using it as there is more interaction with celebrities than
any other social media site. However, many people think that they spend too much time
on it. This is because it is with them everywhere they go; on their phone, tablet and
computer. Also, there has been talk of privacy issues due to users not privetising their
wall. For example, if you was to post photos of you in your school, random strangers can
see where you go to school and this can lead to murder, rape or bullying. Personally I
would give Twitter 4 Stars out of 5 as it is very good at connecting people, organising
events and bringing old friends together however it has issues such as cyber bullying.
Conclusion
To conclude, I have researched 3 of the most popular social medias in the world
so I can analyse the purpose, layout and how they advertise content. Also, it was
crucial I looked at both sides of the argument. Therefore I reviewed both the
advantages and disadvantages of all three. Analysing further into target
audience has given me a better understanding of whom the best target
audience is.
Social Media Mindmap
Social
Media
Who Will
The Product
Compete
With
Colour
Scheme
Name Ideas
Homepage
Features
Intended
Target
Audience
Features
within the
product
Slogan ideas
Convergence
Black and
Orange
Blue and Grey
Yellow and Grey
Uploading Photos
Writing Status’
Commenting and Liking Posts
11-30 Year Olds – youngsters use
their phones and social media sites
the most
Uploading Photos
Writing Status’
Commenting and Liking Posts
Connecting You With
Friends – this is positive as
the aim of the website is
trying to make people talk
to and share things with
friends
Facebook
Twitter
Snapchat
Phone Application –allows users to
use the social media site where ever
they are
Online Website – allows a user to use
social media site at home
Connect – this is
because it is a word
that is described to
bring people together
which is the main
objective of the site
All of these
colour schemes
work well
together and
would look
professional on
social media
page website.
Males and females would both be
targeted.
Social Media Mind Map
Social
Media
Who Will
The Product
Compete
With
Colour
Scheme
Name Ideas
Homepage
Features
Intended
Target
Audience
Features
within the
product
Slogan ideas
Convergence
Trending - be the
subject of many
posts on a social
media website or
application within
a short period of
time.
Trendsetters. –
someone who
starts a trend eg a
fashion
Facebook
Purple and white –
the colours work
well together and
are attractive.
Uploading Photos
Writing Status’
Commenting and Liking Posts
11-30 Year Olds – youngsters use
their phones and social media sites
the most
Sending messages
Playing games
Sending a trend
Males and females would both be
targeted.
Phone Application –allows users
to use the social media site
where ever they are
Online Website – allows a user to
use social media site at home
Purpose
The purpose of the social media page is so that you can connect with your
friends, share messages, images, videos and statuses. The unique selling point
of my social media website is that it is free and easy to use. This will ensure a
lot of people will want to use it.
The name I have decided to use for my social media product is ‘Connect’. This
is because it is a word that is described to bring people together which is the
main objective of the site.
The colour scheme is going to be dark blue, grey and white because these
colours look professional and work well together.
The font style of my website will be bold and attractive so it stands out and is
very easy to read. It is highly important to have a simple font as the majority
of people do not want to read off a confusing or unclear font.
Format And Style
The colors will be blue, white, grey and black because
they go together. These colors are also professional and
do not look to bright or dark.
I am going to have synergy with other social media. For
example Facebook.
The style of the pages are going to be very simple. This is
so it is easy to use and will increase the range of target
audience. For example, if the page is simple and easy to
use, It means it is more useable for older people.
Target Audience
The target audience of CONNECT would be for anyone but mainly younger people in the age bracket of 11 – 30 year olds.
Additionally, the social media site will not be predominantly for any gender as the site will be more successful if both males
and females can use it.
Katz - diversion or personal relationships, this is because the site allows you to escape from everyday life problems and
using media for emotional and other interaction.
Maslow – belongingness and love needs because it is a psychological need of intimate relationships and friends.
Hartley - One main aspect includes the example that I would give age 11-30. Additionally, these people have a UK ethnicity
as white and perhaps have lots of friends and family to connect with.
Socio-economic needs – this would be a D or E because they are stereotypically casual workers, semi and unskilled workers.
This is because they do not earn that much money and therefore can afford to go on a free website such as mine.
Hand Drawn Draft – Home Page
To the right is the an
image of my home page
hand drawn draft.
There are many
conventions such as
logo, menu and
adverts. The draft also
has a search bar with
many buttons that will
take you to new pages
such as edit profile and
games.
Hand Drawn Draft – Sign Up Page
The image to the right is
the sign up page hand
drawn drafts. There are
conventions such as the
logo at the top so it is
clear what website the
user is on. Additionally,
there is both signup and
sign in options for users
who already have an
account and others who
do not.
Graphic Layouts – Home Page
x
Search Sign OutMenuLOGOHome
Uploads Photos Trending
Content
Events
Adverts
Messages
Edit Profile
Your Posts
Messages
Games
Events
Below is an image of my home page graphic layout. There are many conventions such
as logo, menu and adverts. The draft also has a search bar with many buttons that will
take you to new pages such as edit profile and games.
Graphic Layout – Sign Up Page
Sign Up
Sign In
Email
Password
Surname
Password
Confirm Email
Email
First Name
LOGO
Submit
The image below is the sign up page graphic layout. There are conventions such as the
logo at the top so it is clear what website the user is on. Additionally, there is both
signup and sign in options for users who already have an account and others who do
not.
Conclusion
In this LO2 for Unit 35 I created a social media
idea mind map which spoke about names, colors
and convergence. Additionally, I analysed target
audience and discovered what type of people
will want to use my social media site. Finally, I
created hand drawn drafts and graphic layouts
for both home page and sign up page.
Purpose
The purpose of the social media page is so that you can connect with your
friends, share messages, images, videos and statuses. The unique selling point
of my social media website is that it is free and easy to use. This will ensure a
lot of people will want to use it.
The name I have decided to use for my social media product is ‘Connect’. This
is because it is a word that is described to bring people together which is the
main objective of the site.
The colour scheme is going to be dark blue, grey and white because these
colours look professional and work well together.
The font style of my website will be bold and attractive so it stands out and is
very easy to read. It is highly important to have a simple font as the majority
of people do not want to read off a confusing or unclear font.
Content
Once you have logged on to your account you will
automatically be redirected to the home page where you
can access your profile, view images, videos and
messages.
You can use your profile to view your personal
information, read old posts and view old images or
videos.
However, on the home page you can upload any photos
and videos that you want to share with your friends.
Additionally, you can also view trending posts which is
basically the top posts with increasing amount of views.
You can also view messages that people have sent to you.
Target Audience
The target audience of CONNECT would be for anyone but mainly younger people in the age bracket of 11 – 30 year olds.
Additionally, the social media site will not be predominantly for any gender as the site will be more successful if both males
and females can use it.
Katz - diversion or personal relationships, this is because the site allows you to escape from everyday life problems and
using media for emotional and other interaction.
Maslow – belongingness and love needs because it is a psychological need of intimate relationships and friends.
Hartley - One main aspect includes the example that I would give age 11-30. Additionally, these people have a UK ethnicity
as white and perhaps have lots of friends and family to connect with.
Socio-economic needs – this would be a D or E because they are stereotypically casual workers, semi and unskilled workers.
This is because they do not earn that much money and therefore can afford to go on a free website such as mine.
Website Functionality – Log In Page
Sign In Sign Up
Home Page New Profile Page
This is a page on how my website functions as a log in page.
If you click on sing in and enter your details, you will
automatically be taken to the home page. However if you are
a anew user and need to make an account you will be taken
to a sign up page.
Website Functionality – Home Page
Home Menu
Your
Posts
Sign
Out
Edit
Profile
EventsGamesMessages
Sign Up
Page
Profile
Page
Profile
Page
Home
Page
This is a page on how my website functions as the home
page. For example if you was to click on edit profile or your
posts, the website would take you to your private profile
page. However if you was to click on sign out, you will be
taken to the sign up page.
Website Functionality – Profile Page
Home Menu
Sign
Out
Edit Profile Messages
Sign Up
Page
Profile Page
Home
Page
This is a page on how my website functions as the profile
page. For example if you was to click on home, it would take
you to the home page. If you was to click on edit profile it
would keep you on the profile page and if you was to click on
sign out, you would be taken to the sign up page.
Graphic Layouts – Home Page
x
Search Sign OutMenuLOGOHome
Upload Photos Trending
Content
Events
Adverts
Messages
Edit Profile
Your Posts
Messages
Games
Events
Below is an image of my home page graphic layout. There are many conventions such
as logo, menu and adverts. The draft also has a search bar with many buttons that will
take you to new pages such as edit profile and games.
Graphic Layout – Sign Up Page
Sign Up
Sign In
Email
Password
Surname
Password
Confirm Email
Email
First Name
LOGO
Submit
The image below is the sign up page graphic layout. There are conventions such as the
logo at the top so it is clear what website the user is on. Additionally, there is both
signup and sign in options for users who already have an account and others who do
not.
Submit
Production Plan
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Graphic
Designers
must starting
putting
together a
webpage
following the
drafts
previously
made.
Designers to
carry on their
work.
Work on
categories
and tabs on
social media
page.
Writers must
start writing
stories and
adding
images.
All workers to
carry on with
their own,
individual
tasks.
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Editors to
work out
what's what
stories are
more popular
to add to
‘trending’.
All stories
have been
categorized in
their section.
Everything is
double
checked,
tested and
ensured that
the website is
fully
functioning.
Launch of
website.
Legal And Ethical Issue
To stop others from copying my website I am going to trade mark it to prevent them.
Copyright is the exclusive and assignable legal right, given to the organizer for a legal
right. This can be a name, logo, image or audio.
Privacy is a very important issue when it comes to social media websites. This is
because there has been many issues in the past where there are no privacy settings on
a website and therefore anyone, anywhere can see your photos, status’ and
information. Therefore it is important that my website has the substantial privacy
settings to ensure all users personal information is safe.
It is also very important to keep your profile safe from strangers so they cannot stalk
you. For example, if you post photos of your house, it can allow strangers to work out
where you live.
There is a big increase in cyber bullying over the last 10 years due to the advances and
up rise in access to social media. Cyber bullying can be people writing harsh status,
uploading photos about people or creating bullying groups on Facebook messenger.
You can also create fake accounts impersonating others which can mislead people
when viewing them on a social media site. Therefor my site will have email verification
to ensure the right person is getting the right accounts.
Potential Risks, Dangers And Hazards
Of Website
In September 2011, Facebook encountered privacy
problems in Spain which involved breaking privacy
rules. The Spain Data Protection Authority said
Facebook had been breaking privacy rules on
multiple counts over the way it uses peoples
personal data for advertising purposes. This led to
the agency fining the social network $1,440,000.
In particularly, the problem was that the AEPD
disapproves of the way Facebook collects data on
peoples ideologies and religious beliefs, sex and
personal tastes without clearly telling the users what
they will do with this information.
Therefore, and even though Facebook disagree, they
will need to change their privacy settings and fully
inform users to ensure a problem like this will not
occur again.
Source: http://fortune.com/2017/09/11/facebook-
privacy-fine-spain/
Equipment And Cost
Equipment Cost
Apple iMac Book Pro x5 £2,249 x 5 = £11,245
Microsoft Office £790 per user a month x 5 = £3,950
Sources: http://www.apple.com/uk/shop/buy-mac/macbook-pro
https://products.office.com/en-gb/business/compare-office-365-for-business-plans
This table illustrates the importance of cost within a business. This is because as a business
you need to budget and know how much you are spending so you can work out profitability.
Additionally, you can later on use the information to work our profit using the calculation
(revenue – cost).
Staff And Cost
Staff Salary
Website Designer £23,000
Writers £52,000
Editor £51,000
Journalist £55,000
Sources: https://www.payscale.com/research/UK/Job=Web_Desi
gner/Salary
http://www.glassdoor.co.uk/Salaries/social-media-
writer-salary-SRCH_KO0,19.htm?countryRedirect=true
https://www.payscale.com/research/US/Job=Social_Me
dia_Editor/Salary
http://www.journalismdegree.com/journalist-salary/
This table also demonstrates the importance of cost within a business. This is because as a
business you need to budget and know how much you are spending on staff and salaries so
you can workout potential profits. Additionally, you can later on use the information to work
our profit using the calculation (revenue – cost).
Relevant Revenue Potential
The primary way in which I am going to
be getting revenue is through
advertising. This would cost somewhere
between $3,000 and $20,000 a month.
Costs will vary depending on how big the
actual advertisement is and a predicted
audience size to the page. Additionally,
an advert can cost more if it is based on
the log in or home page as this is a more
frequently used page. Therefore the
advertising for my website will cost
different amounts depending on which
page it is on and how big the advert is.
Advertising is very important on my
website due to it being free to log on
and use. This means advertising needs to
be successful in order to make money.
Source:
https://www.contentfac.com/how-
much-does-social-media-marketing-cost/
Launch Date
The launch date of my website will be 20th
December.
This is because it is a very active time of the year
in terms of social media as many families and
friends go out, write posts and upload photos of
people and the places they visit. Therefore the
site will start up strong and be in time for
Christmas. This is realistic because it gives me
enough time to get the website ready.
Conclusion
In this Unit 35 LO3, I analyzed many things such
as purpose and target audience where I looked
deep into who will be viewing my site and why
they will be doing this. I then went on to website
functionality and creating graphic layouts for the
pages. I also created a production plan and
looked into costs with staff and equipment to
see how much money I would lose.
Home Page
The image on the right
displays my home page. It
presents many features
such as uploading
photos/videos and status’,
sending and receiving
messages and editing your
profile. Also, located at the
top of the page is a search
bar so you can search for
people, pages, games and
any other content you may
want to find.
Sign In Page
The image below presents my sign up page. This is where you can
either sign up if you’re a new user or sign in if you are an existing
user.
To sign in, you simply
have to type in your email
and password in the
relevant boxes and click
submit. However if you
are choosing to sign up,,
it is also very simple. You
must enter your first
name, surname, email,
password and then click
submit.
Improvements - Copyright
As improvements I added copyright symbols to my work as I needed to ensure
none of my work can be copied.
Colour Scheme
The colors will be blue, white, grey and black
because they go together. These colors are also
professional and do not look to bright or dark.
Also, they are very presentable colours that
males, females, elderly and youngsters are
happy to view.
Font Style
To create my logo I used two different fonts and
overlaid them to create this interlinked effect.
The ‘C’ is called Rockwell Extra Bold and I used
this as it is bold and dominant. The ‘T’ is called
Algerian and I chose this as it is interesting, has
a cool line effect around the main letter and
works well with the other font on the ‘C’.
Target Audience
The target audience of CONNECT would be for anyone but mainly younger people in the age bracket of 11 – 30 year olds.
Additionally, the social media site will not be predominantly for any gender as the site will be more successful if both males
and females can use it.
Katz - diversion or personal relationships, this is because the site allows you to escape from everyday life problems and
using media for emotional and other interaction.
Maslow – belongingness and love needs because it is a psychological need of intimate relationships and friends.
Hartley - One main aspect includes the example that I would give age 11-30. Additionally, these people have a UK ethnicity
as white and perhaps have lots of friends and family to connect with.
Socio-economic needs – this would be a D or E because they are stereotypically casual workers, semi and unskilled workers.
This is because they do not earn that much money and therefore can afford to go on a free website such as mine.

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Unit 35 final

  • 1.
  • 3. Purpose Facebook is a social media website where you can invite people to be your friends. Once you are friends you can access each others photos, statuses, locations and some details like school, birthday and work. It offers a very effective and quickly accessible service. This is because you can log on to Facebook on any device including a computer, phone or tablet. It offers a service allowing consumers to connect with friends from across the world only using the internet. Facebooks ethos consists of blue, grey and white colour and also seems to display bold writing. Additionally, icon in the shape of humans are used frequently throughout the site. The denotation of Facebooks slogan is ‘Be connected. Be Discovered. Be on Facebook’. The connotations of this are to connect with your friends and discover new things, which Facebook will encourage. Facebook is a social media website where you can invite people to be your friends. Once you are friends you can access each others photos, statuses, locations and some details like school, birthday and work. It offers a very effective and quickly accessible service. This is because you can log on to Facebook on any device including a computer, phone or tablet. It offers a service allowing consumers to connect with friends from across the world only using the internet. A 19 year old man named Mark Zuckerburg launched Facebook in February 2004. Zuckerberg launched “The Facebook”, as it was originally known; the name taken from the sheets of paper distributed to freshmen, profiling students and staff. Within 24 hours, 1200 Harvard students had signed up, and after one month, over half of the undergraduate population had a profile. His intentions were to just keep it for students and staff within the university. This means it is private and safe as everyone knows each other. Source: https://www.facebook.com/login/ http://www.businessinsider.com/how-facebook-was-founded-2010-3?IR=T
  • 4. Content The colour scheme of Facebook is predominantly blue, white and grey. I know this because there home page, logo and advertisements demonstrate these colours. I think these colours work very well together and look very professional. The image to the right demonstrates these colours. The image on the right displays the home page after logging on to your account. As you can see there are many different aspects such as the navigation bar, side bar and main content. Firstly, the navigation bar is located at the top of the page. It is very clear as it is coloured in blue which is very clear for the user to find. You can use this to go to your profile, view friend requests, search the sight and manage settings. Next is the side bar, this is located on the left hand side of the page and does not move. This is very good as it means you get constant access to things such as news feed, photos and games. Finally is the main content also known as news feed. This is where you can view peoples statuses, images and location. This usually ascends in an order. For example the newest content appears first and as you scroll down the content gets older.
  • 5. Target User / Membership To sign up to facebook, you must go on the website and click on ‘sign up’. This takes you to the page on the right where you must type in your details such as Full Name, Email, Password, Sex and Birthday. It does not cost anything to sign up to Facebook however there are purchases you can make once in the website but these are not necessary. For example on games. I used the internet to find out some information on the users of Facebook. My results are shown in the image on the right. As you can see more women use facebook than men and there is a trend in the younger generations using facebook. This is that the younger the generation, the most people using facebook. This is proven as 88% of people use Facebook between the ages of 18-29 and only 62% over the age of 65. This is also known as ‘Early Adopters’ which means people are signing up to social media younger and younger. The target audience of Facebook would be younger people, in particularly women, also people that live in urban and rural areas as shown in the graph on the right. They attain their audience by displaying current things that target the interests of these people. The socio – economic needs would be a D or E because they are stereotypically casual workers, semi and unskilled workers. This is because these people so not tend to earn that much money and therefore can afford to go on a free website such as Facebook. Katz Uses & Gratification Theory would be diversion or personal relationships, this is because the sit allows you to escape from everyday life problems and using media for emotional and other interaction. There are 7 parts to Hartley's Subjectivities . One main aspect includes the example that I would give age 18-29. This is because its mainly younger women who work every day in the lower classes. Additionally, these people have a UK ethnicity as white and perhaps have lots of friends and family to connect with. Source: http://sproutsocial.com/insights/new-social-media-demographics/#facebook
  • 6. Sources Of Revenue The top image on the right is a real life demonstration of the 30th March 2015 and the bottom image is for the 30th March 2017. As you can see the value of Facebook has risen from 24.53m to 33.24m in the last 2 years. Additionally the share price has rose by £31.50 between March 30th 2015 and 2016. This is because the company is growing and the amount of people buying shares is increasing. Facebook make there money through games. This is because you can buy in – game purchases for the games. They also make their money through advertisements. This is because the advertising company have to pay Facebook to advertise their products on their website. The more advertisements, the more revenue being made. However, a lot of users do not like to many advertisements covering up the page so it is important that they create a good balance. Facebook advertising cost can be anywhere from $0.16 to $1.00+ per click, depending on your industry, the size of your audience, and the quality of your ad. Source: http://www.nasdaq.com/symbol/fb 2015 2016
  • 7. Ethical & Legal Issues Ethical and Legal Issues are if there is a problem or situation which requires a person or group to choose whether the alternatives are right (ethical) or wrong (unethical). When producing media such as web pages, companies must follow rules so they do not offend or harm any type of readership once being publicized. One of them is that “particular care must be taken to avoid causing offence on the grounds of race, religion, gender, sexuality, disability or age. Compliance will be judged on the standards”. Some people have abused the purpose of Facebook by creating pages as a way to cyber bully people they know. However, the victim can see this page but cannot see who has created it. Data Protection Act (1998) The data protection act controls how your personal information is used by organizations, businesses or the government. Everyone responsible for using data has to follow strict rules called ‘data protection principles’. There is stronger legal protection for more sensitive information, such as: ethnic background political opinions religious beliefs Health sexual health criminal records An ethical issue which was established was that the website can be used as a form of cyber bullying. This can be done by creating pages, posting photos, posting statuses or simply talking on Facebook messenger. Source: https://www.gov.uk/data-protection/the-data-protection-act
  • 8. Ethical & Legal Issues The Editors’ Code of Practice sets out the many rules that are regulated by IPSO have agreed to follow. To the left are three examples of the rules; Accuracy, Discrimination and Confidential Sources. This relates to Facebook as they must follow these rules before publishing anything online. For example, number 12, Discrimination. Facebook must double check the content they provide including images and texts to ensure there is no prejudice against ‘race, colour, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation or any physical or mental illness or disability.
  • 9. Copyright Copyright is a legal right which protects the use of your work once your idea has been physically expressed. Copyright law lays out a framework of rules around how that work can be used. This links to Facebook as they must ensure they are not breaching these rules or they will be heavily fined. Source: http://www.bbc.co.uk/copyrightaware/what-is
  • 10. According to Noam Chomsky, social media “erodes normal social behavior”. I agree with this as social media causes people to stay in and be less interactive face to face. This is evident in an article I found on the internet as it stats “by now, we are all aware that social media has had a tremendous impact on out culture, in business, on the world-at-large. Social media websites are some of the most popular haunts of the internet. They have revolutionized the way people communicate and socialize on the web.” In particularly, Facebook has changed the definition of a ‘friend’. This is now a verb and unlike real life when ending a friendship can be deeply traumatic, it is easy to ‘de-friend’, a word invented to describe ditching a casual acquaintance when that no longer enhancing your Facebook newsfeed. 3 positives associated with Facebook are that you can create groups and events to organize occasions, connect with new and old friends and update your status to let others know what your doing. Convergence offers users “the kinds of entertainment experiences they want” (Jenkins – 2006) – this maps a new territory where old and new media intersect, where grass roots and corporate media collide, where the power of the media producer and the power of the consumer interact in unpredictable ways. The main examples of convergence on Facebook are images, videos and memes. An example of a page that shares a humerous kind of content is ‘The LadBible’. They have 25,081,008 likes. Even though Facebook is one of the most popular sites in the world, it is not a secure platform to communicate with your friends. This is because security problems are being discovered regularly and it is not as secure as people realize when they log on every day. Source: http://readersupportednews.org/opinion2/277-75/30011-noam-chomsky-social-media-have-not-eroded- the-power-of-corporate-media Noam Chomsky: Social Media Have Not Eroded the Power of Corporate Media
  • 12. Purpose Snapchat is a social media app where you can invite people to be your friends. Once you are friends you can send each other photos, messages and upload stories top show what you are up to to all your friends. It offers a very effective and quickly accessible service. This is because you can log on to Snapchat on a phone or tablet. It offers a service allowing consumers to connect with friends from across the world only using the internet. There were three original creators of Snapchat who launched the app in 2011; Evan Spiegel, Bobby Murphy and Reggie Brown. They invented Snapchat for the main purpose which was so you could send someone a picture that would disappear after a certain amount of time (up to 10 seconds). The slogan for Snapchat is ‘Life’s more fun when you live in the moment’. The connotations of this are that taking pictures is like capturing a moment, then sending it is like the other person can live those memories with you. Snapchat's ethos consists of yellow and white colour and also seems to display an image of a white ghost. This ghost is well known for and associated with Snapchat. Source: https://techcrunch.com/gallery/a-brief-history-of-snapchat/slide/73/
  • 13. Content The colour scheme of Snapchat is predominantly yellow. I know this because the app on the phone is yellow. Also the main house style of the app is yellow. There are many positive connotations of the colour yellow. Yellow is the color of sunshine. It's associated with joy, happiness, intellect, and energy. The app has three main features. Spiegel says "It's three screens: Snap, Chat, and Watch," he said about the app, four years after it launched. You can send our friends videos and pictures of you and your friends. This is has a light hearted, humorous element to it as these images usually have a funny element to it. Source: http://www.businessinsider.com/snapchat- company-mission-ipo-2016-10?IR=T
  • 14. Target User / Membership To sign up to snap chat you must download the app and click on ‘sign up’. This will then take you to a new page which allows you to create a username and password that is personal to you. There are no costs involved which is good as this will attract a wide range of users. More than 100 million people use snap chat every day. These people spend an average of 30 minutes on the app every day. In total, there are 200 million active users worldwide. Demographics 60% of users are under the age of 25. This is also known as ‘Early Adopters’ which means people are signing up to social media younger and younger. There are not many older people that use snap chat. This is evident as only 2% of users are over the age of 55. snap chat have not officially released this statistic but a rough estimate has been made that 70% of snap chat users are female. This may be because taking photos and especially selfies can be seen and recognized as more of a girly thing to do. Therefore the main target audience for snap chat would be younger girls under the age of 24. The socio – economic needs would be a D or E because they are stereotypically casual workers, semi and unskilled workers. This is because these people so not tend to earn that much money and therefore can afford to go on a free applications such as Snapchat. Katz Uses & Gratification Theory would be diversion or personal relationships, this is because the sit allows you to escape from everyday life problems and using media for emotional and other interaction. There are 7 parts to Hartley's Subjectivities . One main aspect includes the example that I would give age of under 24. This is because its mainly younger women who work every day in the lower classes. Additionally, these people have a UK ethnicity as white and perhaps have lots of friends and family to connect with through the app. Source: https://blog.hootsuite.com/snapchat-demographics/
  • 15. Sources Of Revenue There are a few main ways snapchat make their money. Firstly, you can get sponsored ads on the screen when you take a photo which will then be sent to your friend. Secondly, there is a news page where companies, channels and newspapers get promoted. They will have had to pay snapchat to feature their news on the app. Last but not least, Snapchat also allows users to purchase sponsored filters covering smaller geographic areas. For example, you can create a filter and pay a certain amount of money for that filter to be used on any photo taken within that area. Buying ads through Snapchat's Ads application programming interface (API) is now rumoured to cost at a minimum of $100,000 per ad, down from the $500,000 asking price that Snapchat asked of advertisers when it first opened the platform to brands in late 2014. Snapchat are now worth £26bn. Source: https://www.fool.com/investing/2016/06/03/how-does-snapchat-make- money.aspx
  • 16. Ethical & Legal Issues Ethical and Legal Issues are if there is a problem or situation which requires a person or group to choose whether the alternatives are right (ethical) or wrong (unethical). When producing media such as apps, companies must follow rules so they do not offend or harm any type of readership once being publicized. One of them is that “particular care must be taken to avoid causing offence on the grounds of race, religion, gender, sexuality, disability or age. Compliance will be judged on the standards”. Some people have abused the main purpose of snapchat. This is because you can create accounts that send explicit images to others. Also you can use this technique as a form of cyber bullying. Data Protection Act (1998) The data protection act controls how your personal information is used by organizations, businesses or the government. Everyone responsible for using data has to follow strict rules called ‘data protection principles’. There is stronger legal protection for more sensitive information, such as: ethnic background political opinions religious beliefs Health sexual health criminal records An ethical issue which was established was that the app can be used to send photos to others as a way of cyber bullying. Alternatively, the app can be used to send explicit photos which people can screenshot. Source: https://www.gov.uk/data-protection/the-data-protection-act
  • 17. Ethical & Legal Issues The Editors’ Code of Practice sets out the many rules that are regulated by IPSO have agreed to follow. To the left are three examples of the rules; Accuracy, Discrimination and Confidential Sources. This relates to Snapchat must follow these rules before publishing anything on their app. For example, number 12, Discrimination. Snapchat must double check the content they provide including images and texts to ensure there is no prejudice against ‘race, colour, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation or any physical or mental illness or disability.
  • 18. According to Noam Chomsky, social media “erodes normal social behavior”. I agree with this as social media causes people to stay in and be less interactive face to face. This is evident in an article I found on the internet as it stats “by now, we are all aware that social media has had a tremendous impact on out culture, in business, on the world-at-large. Social media websites are some of the most popular haunts of the internet. They have revolutionized the way people communicate and socialize on the web.” In particularly, snapchat has changed the significance of a ‘photo’. This is now because a photo used to be a memory catcher, something you use to capture memories. Now millions of snap chats are taken a day and a lot of them are unnecessary or ‘mug shots’. 3 positives associated with Snapchat are that you can create groups, show snapchats for up to 10 seconds and update your story which is like a status to let people know what you are doing. Convergence offers users “the kinds of entertainment experiences they want” (Jenkins – 2006) – this maps a new territory where old and new media intersect, where grass roots and corporate media collide, where the power of the media producer and the power of the consumer interact in unpredictable ways. The main examples of convergence on Snapchat are images, videos and memes. Even though Snapchat is one of the most popular applications in the world, it is not a secure platform to communicate with your friends. This is because security problems are being discovered regularly and it is not as secure as people realize when they log on every day. Source: http://readersupportednews.org/opinion2/277-75/30011-noam-chomsky-social-media-have-not-eroded- the-power-of-corporate-media Noam Chomsky: Social Media Have Not Eroded the Power of Corporate Media
  • 19. Copyright Copyright is a legal right which protects the use of your work once your idea has been physically expressed. Copyright law lays out a framework of rules around how that work can be used. This links to Snap chat as they must ensure they are not breaching these rules or they will be heavily fined. Source: http://www.bbc.co.uk/copyrightaware/what-is
  • 21. Purpose Twitter is a social media website where you can follow people and have other people follow you. Once you are friends you can access each others photos, statuses, locations and other details like birthdays. It offers a very effective and quickly accessible service. This is because you can log on to Twitter on any device including a computer, phone or tablet. It offers a service allowing consumers to connect with friends from across the world only using the internet. Additionally, it is the easiest site to connect with celebrities through following them or ‘tweeting’ them. Dorsey, Stone and Odeo co-founder Evan Williams started a new company, called Obvious, which later evolved into Twitter. Two weeks later, Dorsey had built a simple site where users could instantly post short messages of 140 characters or less, known in Twitter parlance as "tweets.“ Twitters slogan is ‘yours to discover’. This sounds like an invitation to find out more because the connotations are like there saying its up to you to find out more about Twitter. Twitters ethos consists of blue, grey and white colour and also seems to display bold writing. Additionally, an icon in the shape of a bird is used frequently throughout the site. Source: http://www.biography.com/people/jack-dorsey-578280
  • 22. Content The Colour scheme of twitter is blue and white. The connotations of blue are trust, loyalty, wisdom, confidence, intelligence, faith, truth, and heaven. These are all very positive things which reflects a strong image of the website. The Interface of the product is very professionally made, this is because all the features are neatly laid out and work well well together. Also the colours match and are bold and bright. Firstly, the navigation bar is located at the top of the page. It is very clear as it is coloured in blue which is very clear for the user to find. You can use this to go to your profile, view follow requests, search the sight and manage settings. Next is the side bar, this is located on the left hand side of the page. I the middle of the page is the main content also known as news feed. This is where you can view peoples ‘tweets’, images and location. This usually ascends in an order. For example the newest content appears first and as you scroll down the content gets older.
  • 23. Target User / Membership To sign up to Twitter, you must go on the website and click on ‘sign up’. This takes you to the page on the right where you must type in your details such as Full Name, Email, and Password It does not cost anything to sign up. The platform’s 313 million monthly active users send more than 500 million Tweets every day. 42 percent of online youth aged 15 to 17 use Twitter and only six percent of senior citizens use the service. This proves the theory or ‘early adopters’ as it supports the idea that the majority of social media users are young and they are getting younger and younger. In adulthood, there are more men than women on twitter. This is 25 percent compared to 21 percent of women. The target audience of Facebook would be younger people, in particularly men. The socio – economic needs would be a D or E because they are stereotypically casual workers, semi and unskilled workers. This is because these people so not tend to earn that much money and therefore can afford to go on a free website such as Facebook. This is proven as 40% of users earn under £50,000 a year. Katz Uses & Gratification Theory would be diversion or personal relationships, this is because the sit allows you to escape from everyday life problems and using media for emotional and other interaction. There are 7 parts to Hartley's Subjectivities . One main aspect includes the example that I would give age 15 to 17. This is because its mainly younger women who work every day in the lower classes. Additionally, these people have a UK ethnicity as white and perhaps have lots of friends and family to connect with. Source: https://blog.hootsuite.com/twitter-demographics/
  • 24. Sources Of Revenue The images underneath demonstrate real life examples of the share price of Twitter on the on the 11th May 2017 and 3rd January 2014. As you can see the value of Twitter has gone down from 69.00 to 18.54. This is because the company is not growing and the amount of people buying shares is decreasing. Twitter make there money through adverts. This is because a company will pay them to have their advert featured on their site. The more advertisements, the more revenue being made. However, a lot of users do not like to many advertisements covering up the page so it is important that they create a good balance. Twitter advertise through promoted tweets and promoted accounts which cost between $0.50 and $4.00 per engagement. Source: http://www.cityam.com/263597/twitter-share-price-soars-after-beating-expectations
  • 25. Ethical & Legal Issues Ethical and Legal Issues are if there is a problem or situation which requires a person or group to choose whether the alternatives are right (ethical) or wrong (unethical). When producing media such as web pages, companies must follow rules so they do not offend or harm any type of readership once being publicized. One of them is that “particular care must be taken to avoid causing offence on the grounds of race, religion, gender, sexuality, disability or age. Compliance will be judged on the standards”. Some people have abused the purpose of Twitter by creating pages as a way to cyber bully people they know. However, the victim can see this page but cannot see who has created it. Data Protection Act (1998) The data protection act controls how your personal information is used by organizations, businesses or the government. Everyone responsible for using data has to follow strict rules called ‘data protection principles’. There is stronger legal protection for more sensitive information, such as: ethnic background political opinions religious beliefs Health sexual health criminal records An ethical issue which was established was that the website can be used to create cyber bullying accounts. This are then used to follow other users, post photos, tweets and retweet tweets. Source: https://www.gov.uk/data-protection/the-data-protection-act
  • 26. Ethical & Legal Issues The Editors’ Code of Practice sets out the many rules that are regulated by IPSO have agreed to follow. To the left are three examples of the rules; Accuracy, Discrimination and Confidential Sources. This relates to Twitter must follow these rules before publishing a magazine. For example, number 12, Discrimination. Facebook must double check the content they provide including images and texts to ensure there is no prejudice against ‘race, colour, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation or any physical or mental illness or disability.
  • 27. Copyright Copyright is a legal right which protects the use of your work once your idea has been physically expressed. Copyright law lays out a framework of rules around how that work can be used. This links to Twitter as they must ensure they are not breaching these rules or they will be heavily fined. Source: http://www.bbc.co.uk/copyrightaware/what-is
  • 28. According to Noam Chomsky, social media “erodes normal social behavior”. I agree with this as social media causes people to stay in and be less interactive face to face. This is evident in an article I found on the internet as it states “by now, we are all aware that social media has had a tremendous impact on out culture, in business, on the world-at-large. Social media websites are some of the most popular haunts of the internet. They have revolutionized the way people communicate and socialize on the web.” In particularly, Twitter has changed the way we get news. For example, sometimes serious and important news can be turned into a meme or joke. 3 positives associated with Twitter are that you can follow and have more interaction with celebrities, share tweets that other people have sent and write tweets. Convergence offers users “the kinds of entertainment experiences they want” (Jenkins – 2006) – this maps a new territory where old and new media intersect, where grass roots and corporate media collide, where the power of the media producer and the power of the consumer interact in unpredictable ways. The main examples of convergence on Twitter are images, videos and memes. Noam Chomsky: Social Media Have Not Eroded the Power of Corporate Media Even though Twitter is one of the most popular sites in the world, it is not a secure platform to communicate with your friends. This is because security problems are being discovered regularly and it is not as secure as people realize when they log on every day. Source: http://readersupportednews.org/opinion2/277- 75/30011-noam-chomsky-social-media-have-not- eroded-the-power-of-corporate-media
  • 29. My first question on survey monkey was ‘How Old Are You?’. The average age of people who answered my survey was 26. This demonstrates that the range of ages that use social media is very varied. Some people were 17 and others were in their late 40s.
  • 30. My second question on survey monkey was ‘What is your gender?. 55% of people who answered my survey was male and 35% were female. This demonstrates that the majority of social media users are male however there is not much of a gap between genders.
  • 31. My next question on survey monkey was ‘How often do you use social media?’. 65% of people use social media daily which is the majority. This proves that social media plays a very big role in our every day life.
  • 32. My first question on survey monkey was ‘what are the advantages of social media and why?’. The majority of people like social media because it connects people and you can receive news.
  • 33. My next question was ‘what are the disadvantages of social media and why?’. The majority of people said that it can be harmful, disrespectful and an easy way to commit offences such as cyber bullying.
  • 34. My last question on survey monkey was ‘what is your favourite social media application/website and why?’. Most people said snapchat because its quick, free and easy to use. Therefore I have learned that this is an important factor to social media.
  • 35. Advertising Online advertising rates are set according to four main features; ad size, ad location, ad performance and market demand. The size of the ad is a major factor in website advertisement rates because of the amount of space each one takes up on a page. Any adverts located above the scroll perform best. Whether they also work best on the left, right or center depends on what else is on the page. CPM is cost per thousand impressions. The formula for this is total site revenue / total site page views X 1000. For example, if a medium sized site has £5,000 in revenue and 500,000 page views in a month. The average page CPM for this site is £10 using the formula of £5,000/ £500,000 X 1,000 Source: https://www.clickz.com/static/cpm-calculator
  • 36. Commercial Uses – Advertising Pay – Per – Click Advertising: This type of advertising is when companies such as Google and Yahoo allow business to buy listings so that they will be at the top of the results which means people will clock on the link and go to their site. However, the disadvantage of this is that you will be charged for how many people click on the site. Sponsored Advertising: In the current day and age, people do not pay attention to adverts down the side of a page. Therefore someone came up with this new idea that you write an article. You would do this so that it is less obvious to the reader that it is an advertisement. Personal Recommendations: These are quite simply word of mouth from friends, family and oter people we may know. This is the best option as it is free and trust worthy. Source: http://www.nielsen.com/eu/en/press-room/2015/recommendations-from- friends-remain-most-credible-form-of-advertising.html
  • 37. Facebook TV Advert – Viral Marketing I watched a TV advert for Facebook named ‘Our Friends’. The main message of the video is about creating and building friendships. This is significant as Facebook is all about adding friends and connecting with them. Additionally, it is about trying new things and challenges which as a viewer, it is very motivating to watch.
  • 38. Commercial Uses (Continued) – Viral Marketing I looked up a recent snapchat advert on YouTube. I found one named ‘introducing memories’ which is a new feature on the app. The advert was 48 seconds long and didn’t have many words. However you had to watch the advert as everything you need to know is acted out, the connotations of the advert is that they are creating memories through an app by saving photos and videos that they find rememberable. Many people are still discovering the app, Snapchat which is why they are still publishing advertisements. Additionally people to need to know about the updates that are being released so they still want to use the application. Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nm1RfWn0tQ8
  • 39. Commercial Uses – Products Advertised On snapchat, there are no visible adverts anywhere on the app. However, on Twitter and Facebook there are many advertisements from companies and brands. There is no specific good/service to advertise, you could see clothes, cars, holidays or TV packages. Additionally, they will have to pay to advertise on Facebook or Twitter. This may effect their cash flow but shouldn’t be a problem providing their advertisements is a big hit.
  • 40. Commercial Uses – Product Reviews User Generated Reviews For Facebook, many people think it is a great website as you can message friends, upload photos and view status’. However, many people think that they spend too much time on it. This is because it is with them everywhere they go; on their phone, tablet and computer. Also, there has been talk of privacy issues due to users not privatising their wall. For example, if you was to post photos of you in your school, random strangers can see where you go to school and follow you. Personally I would give Facebook 4 Stars out of 5 as it is very good at connecting people, organising events and bringing old friends together however it has issues such as cyber bullying.
  • 41. Commercial Uses (Continued) – Product Reviews User Generated Reviews For Snapchat, many people think it is an exiting, unique way to talk to friends. However, there are many disadvantages of using snapchat. Mainly that it can be used as a way of sexting. People can send explicit photos of themselves and feel more comfortable about it as the image should only last up to 10 seconds. Therefore parents have no control over what children are sending and there is always a risk that other users can screenshot what you have sent. Personally, I think snapchat is a 4 stars out of 5 because it is a very interesting and comical app to talk to friends on.
  • 42. Commercial Uses (Continued) – Product Reviews User Generated Reviews For Twitter, many people enjoy using it as there is more interaction with celebrities than any other social media site. However, many people think that they spend too much time on it. This is because it is with them everywhere they go; on their phone, tablet and computer. Also, there has been talk of privacy issues due to users not privetising their wall. For example, if you was to post photos of you in your school, random strangers can see where you go to school and this can lead to murder, rape or bullying. Personally I would give Twitter 4 Stars out of 5 as it is very good at connecting people, organising events and bringing old friends together however it has issues such as cyber bullying.
  • 43. Conclusion To conclude, I have researched 3 of the most popular social medias in the world so I can analyse the purpose, layout and how they advertise content. Also, it was crucial I looked at both sides of the argument. Therefore I reviewed both the advantages and disadvantages of all three. Analysing further into target audience has given me a better understanding of whom the best target audience is.
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  • 45. Social Media Mindmap Social Media Who Will The Product Compete With Colour Scheme Name Ideas Homepage Features Intended Target Audience Features within the product Slogan ideas Convergence Black and Orange Blue and Grey Yellow and Grey Uploading Photos Writing Status’ Commenting and Liking Posts 11-30 Year Olds – youngsters use their phones and social media sites the most Uploading Photos Writing Status’ Commenting and Liking Posts Connecting You With Friends – this is positive as the aim of the website is trying to make people talk to and share things with friends Facebook Twitter Snapchat Phone Application –allows users to use the social media site where ever they are Online Website – allows a user to use social media site at home Connect – this is because it is a word that is described to bring people together which is the main objective of the site All of these colour schemes work well together and would look professional on social media page website. Males and females would both be targeted.
  • 46. Social Media Mind Map Social Media Who Will The Product Compete With Colour Scheme Name Ideas Homepage Features Intended Target Audience Features within the product Slogan ideas Convergence Trending - be the subject of many posts on a social media website or application within a short period of time. Trendsetters. – someone who starts a trend eg a fashion Facebook Purple and white – the colours work well together and are attractive. Uploading Photos Writing Status’ Commenting and Liking Posts 11-30 Year Olds – youngsters use their phones and social media sites the most Sending messages Playing games Sending a trend Males and females would both be targeted. Phone Application –allows users to use the social media site where ever they are Online Website – allows a user to use social media site at home
  • 47. Purpose The purpose of the social media page is so that you can connect with your friends, share messages, images, videos and statuses. The unique selling point of my social media website is that it is free and easy to use. This will ensure a lot of people will want to use it. The name I have decided to use for my social media product is ‘Connect’. This is because it is a word that is described to bring people together which is the main objective of the site. The colour scheme is going to be dark blue, grey and white because these colours look professional and work well together. The font style of my website will be bold and attractive so it stands out and is very easy to read. It is highly important to have a simple font as the majority of people do not want to read off a confusing or unclear font.
  • 48. Format And Style The colors will be blue, white, grey and black because they go together. These colors are also professional and do not look to bright or dark. I am going to have synergy with other social media. For example Facebook. The style of the pages are going to be very simple. This is so it is easy to use and will increase the range of target audience. For example, if the page is simple and easy to use, It means it is more useable for older people.
  • 49. Target Audience The target audience of CONNECT would be for anyone but mainly younger people in the age bracket of 11 – 30 year olds. Additionally, the social media site will not be predominantly for any gender as the site will be more successful if both males and females can use it. Katz - diversion or personal relationships, this is because the site allows you to escape from everyday life problems and using media for emotional and other interaction. Maslow – belongingness and love needs because it is a psychological need of intimate relationships and friends. Hartley - One main aspect includes the example that I would give age 11-30. Additionally, these people have a UK ethnicity as white and perhaps have lots of friends and family to connect with. Socio-economic needs – this would be a D or E because they are stereotypically casual workers, semi and unskilled workers. This is because they do not earn that much money and therefore can afford to go on a free website such as mine.
  • 50. Hand Drawn Draft – Home Page To the right is the an image of my home page hand drawn draft. There are many conventions such as logo, menu and adverts. The draft also has a search bar with many buttons that will take you to new pages such as edit profile and games.
  • 51. Hand Drawn Draft – Sign Up Page The image to the right is the sign up page hand drawn drafts. There are conventions such as the logo at the top so it is clear what website the user is on. Additionally, there is both signup and sign in options for users who already have an account and others who do not.
  • 52. Graphic Layouts – Home Page x Search Sign OutMenuLOGOHome Uploads Photos Trending Content Events Adverts Messages Edit Profile Your Posts Messages Games Events Below is an image of my home page graphic layout. There are many conventions such as logo, menu and adverts. The draft also has a search bar with many buttons that will take you to new pages such as edit profile and games.
  • 53. Graphic Layout – Sign Up Page Sign Up Sign In Email Password Surname Password Confirm Email Email First Name LOGO Submit The image below is the sign up page graphic layout. There are conventions such as the logo at the top so it is clear what website the user is on. Additionally, there is both signup and sign in options for users who already have an account and others who do not.
  • 54. Conclusion In this LO2 for Unit 35 I created a social media idea mind map which spoke about names, colors and convergence. Additionally, I analysed target audience and discovered what type of people will want to use my social media site. Finally, I created hand drawn drafts and graphic layouts for both home page and sign up page.
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  • 56. Purpose The purpose of the social media page is so that you can connect with your friends, share messages, images, videos and statuses. The unique selling point of my social media website is that it is free and easy to use. This will ensure a lot of people will want to use it. The name I have decided to use for my social media product is ‘Connect’. This is because it is a word that is described to bring people together which is the main objective of the site. The colour scheme is going to be dark blue, grey and white because these colours look professional and work well together. The font style of my website will be bold and attractive so it stands out and is very easy to read. It is highly important to have a simple font as the majority of people do not want to read off a confusing or unclear font.
  • 57. Content Once you have logged on to your account you will automatically be redirected to the home page where you can access your profile, view images, videos and messages. You can use your profile to view your personal information, read old posts and view old images or videos. However, on the home page you can upload any photos and videos that you want to share with your friends. Additionally, you can also view trending posts which is basically the top posts with increasing amount of views. You can also view messages that people have sent to you.
  • 58. Target Audience The target audience of CONNECT would be for anyone but mainly younger people in the age bracket of 11 – 30 year olds. Additionally, the social media site will not be predominantly for any gender as the site will be more successful if both males and females can use it. Katz - diversion or personal relationships, this is because the site allows you to escape from everyday life problems and using media for emotional and other interaction. Maslow – belongingness and love needs because it is a psychological need of intimate relationships and friends. Hartley - One main aspect includes the example that I would give age 11-30. Additionally, these people have a UK ethnicity as white and perhaps have lots of friends and family to connect with. Socio-economic needs – this would be a D or E because they are stereotypically casual workers, semi and unskilled workers. This is because they do not earn that much money and therefore can afford to go on a free website such as mine.
  • 59. Website Functionality – Log In Page Sign In Sign Up Home Page New Profile Page This is a page on how my website functions as a log in page. If you click on sing in and enter your details, you will automatically be taken to the home page. However if you are a anew user and need to make an account you will be taken to a sign up page.
  • 60. Website Functionality – Home Page Home Menu Your Posts Sign Out Edit Profile EventsGamesMessages Sign Up Page Profile Page Profile Page Home Page This is a page on how my website functions as the home page. For example if you was to click on edit profile or your posts, the website would take you to your private profile page. However if you was to click on sign out, you will be taken to the sign up page.
  • 61. Website Functionality – Profile Page Home Menu Sign Out Edit Profile Messages Sign Up Page Profile Page Home Page This is a page on how my website functions as the profile page. For example if you was to click on home, it would take you to the home page. If you was to click on edit profile it would keep you on the profile page and if you was to click on sign out, you would be taken to the sign up page.
  • 62. Graphic Layouts – Home Page x Search Sign OutMenuLOGOHome Upload Photos Trending Content Events Adverts Messages Edit Profile Your Posts Messages Games Events Below is an image of my home page graphic layout. There are many conventions such as logo, menu and adverts. The draft also has a search bar with many buttons that will take you to new pages such as edit profile and games.
  • 63. Graphic Layout – Sign Up Page Sign Up Sign In Email Password Surname Password Confirm Email Email First Name LOGO Submit The image below is the sign up page graphic layout. There are conventions such as the logo at the top so it is clear what website the user is on. Additionally, there is both signup and sign in options for users who already have an account and others who do not. Submit
  • 64. Production Plan Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday Graphic Designers must starting putting together a webpage following the drafts previously made. Designers to carry on their work. Work on categories and tabs on social media page. Writers must start writing stories and adding images. All workers to carry on with their own, individual tasks. Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday Editors to work out what's what stories are more popular to add to ‘trending’. All stories have been categorized in their section. Everything is double checked, tested and ensured that the website is fully functioning. Launch of website.
  • 65. Legal And Ethical Issue To stop others from copying my website I am going to trade mark it to prevent them. Copyright is the exclusive and assignable legal right, given to the organizer for a legal right. This can be a name, logo, image or audio. Privacy is a very important issue when it comes to social media websites. This is because there has been many issues in the past where there are no privacy settings on a website and therefore anyone, anywhere can see your photos, status’ and information. Therefore it is important that my website has the substantial privacy settings to ensure all users personal information is safe. It is also very important to keep your profile safe from strangers so they cannot stalk you. For example, if you post photos of your house, it can allow strangers to work out where you live. There is a big increase in cyber bullying over the last 10 years due to the advances and up rise in access to social media. Cyber bullying can be people writing harsh status, uploading photos about people or creating bullying groups on Facebook messenger. You can also create fake accounts impersonating others which can mislead people when viewing them on a social media site. Therefor my site will have email verification to ensure the right person is getting the right accounts.
  • 66. Potential Risks, Dangers And Hazards Of Website In September 2011, Facebook encountered privacy problems in Spain which involved breaking privacy rules. The Spain Data Protection Authority said Facebook had been breaking privacy rules on multiple counts over the way it uses peoples personal data for advertising purposes. This led to the agency fining the social network $1,440,000. In particularly, the problem was that the AEPD disapproves of the way Facebook collects data on peoples ideologies and religious beliefs, sex and personal tastes without clearly telling the users what they will do with this information. Therefore, and even though Facebook disagree, they will need to change their privacy settings and fully inform users to ensure a problem like this will not occur again. Source: http://fortune.com/2017/09/11/facebook- privacy-fine-spain/
  • 67. Equipment And Cost Equipment Cost Apple iMac Book Pro x5 £2,249 x 5 = £11,245 Microsoft Office £790 per user a month x 5 = £3,950 Sources: http://www.apple.com/uk/shop/buy-mac/macbook-pro https://products.office.com/en-gb/business/compare-office-365-for-business-plans This table illustrates the importance of cost within a business. This is because as a business you need to budget and know how much you are spending so you can work out profitability. Additionally, you can later on use the information to work our profit using the calculation (revenue – cost).
  • 68. Staff And Cost Staff Salary Website Designer £23,000 Writers £52,000 Editor £51,000 Journalist £55,000 Sources: https://www.payscale.com/research/UK/Job=Web_Desi gner/Salary http://www.glassdoor.co.uk/Salaries/social-media- writer-salary-SRCH_KO0,19.htm?countryRedirect=true https://www.payscale.com/research/US/Job=Social_Me dia_Editor/Salary http://www.journalismdegree.com/journalist-salary/ This table also demonstrates the importance of cost within a business. This is because as a business you need to budget and know how much you are spending on staff and salaries so you can workout potential profits. Additionally, you can later on use the information to work our profit using the calculation (revenue – cost).
  • 69. Relevant Revenue Potential The primary way in which I am going to be getting revenue is through advertising. This would cost somewhere between $3,000 and $20,000 a month. Costs will vary depending on how big the actual advertisement is and a predicted audience size to the page. Additionally, an advert can cost more if it is based on the log in or home page as this is a more frequently used page. Therefore the advertising for my website will cost different amounts depending on which page it is on and how big the advert is. Advertising is very important on my website due to it being free to log on and use. This means advertising needs to be successful in order to make money. Source: https://www.contentfac.com/how- much-does-social-media-marketing-cost/
  • 70. Launch Date The launch date of my website will be 20th December. This is because it is a very active time of the year in terms of social media as many families and friends go out, write posts and upload photos of people and the places they visit. Therefore the site will start up strong and be in time for Christmas. This is realistic because it gives me enough time to get the website ready.
  • 71. Conclusion In this Unit 35 LO3, I analyzed many things such as purpose and target audience where I looked deep into who will be viewing my site and why they will be doing this. I then went on to website functionality and creating graphic layouts for the pages. I also created a production plan and looked into costs with staff and equipment to see how much money I would lose.
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  • 73. Home Page The image on the right displays my home page. It presents many features such as uploading photos/videos and status’, sending and receiving messages and editing your profile. Also, located at the top of the page is a search bar so you can search for people, pages, games and any other content you may want to find.
  • 74. Sign In Page The image below presents my sign up page. This is where you can either sign up if you’re a new user or sign in if you are an existing user. To sign in, you simply have to type in your email and password in the relevant boxes and click submit. However if you are choosing to sign up,, it is also very simple. You must enter your first name, surname, email, password and then click submit.
  • 75. Improvements - Copyright As improvements I added copyright symbols to my work as I needed to ensure none of my work can be copied.
  • 76. Colour Scheme The colors will be blue, white, grey and black because they go together. These colors are also professional and do not look to bright or dark. Also, they are very presentable colours that males, females, elderly and youngsters are happy to view.
  • 77. Font Style To create my logo I used two different fonts and overlaid them to create this interlinked effect. The ‘C’ is called Rockwell Extra Bold and I used this as it is bold and dominant. The ‘T’ is called Algerian and I chose this as it is interesting, has a cool line effect around the main letter and works well with the other font on the ‘C’.
  • 78. Target Audience The target audience of CONNECT would be for anyone but mainly younger people in the age bracket of 11 – 30 year olds. Additionally, the social media site will not be predominantly for any gender as the site will be more successful if both males and females can use it. Katz - diversion or personal relationships, this is because the site allows you to escape from everyday life problems and using media for emotional and other interaction. Maslow – belongingness and love needs because it is a psychological need of intimate relationships and friends. Hartley - One main aspect includes the example that I would give age 11-30. Additionally, these people have a UK ethnicity as white and perhaps have lots of friends and family to connect with. Socio-economic needs – this would be a D or E because they are stereotypically casual workers, semi and unskilled workers. This is because they do not earn that much money and therefore can afford to go on a free website such as mine.