Google Technology for  Better Content Adam Howitt www.adamhowitt.com
Adam Howitt Consulting M.Eng Software Engineering Worked for Procter & Gamble Moved to US in 2000 ColdFusion Developer since 2000 Analytics Specialist since 2004
Who Are You? Marketers Executives Designers / Developers Flash?  Flex? Other
Overview Search Engine Optimization Google Analytics Goals and the Call to Action Tracking E-Commerce Tracking E-Mail /Other Campaigns Google Optimizer Google AdWords
SEO Basics Page titles  <title>Google Analytics Specialist…</title> Meta descriptions  <meta name=&quot;description&quot; content= &quot; … &quot; > Headings <h1>Google Analytics Specialist</h1> URLs
Dynamic SEO Generate titles automatically Cardinality: specific to generic SKU > Name > Category > Manufacturer Generate headings to match titles Name SKU Generate meta description from abstract
How do you improve this page?
Demonstration of Analytics Spot the Difference Poll Version 1 30,760 views 167 purchases Version 2 31,601 views 484 purchases
Results Conversion rate: 0.54% vs. 1.53%  317 x $100 = $31,000 difference in 3 days Is it worth the 3 hours / $200 of design? Is it worth the 3 hours of analytics?
Google Analytics Dashboard
Why Track pages?
Tracking Code configuration Basic, Virtual pages, PDFs, downloads Sub-domains E-Commerce Email / Campaigns http://tinyurl.com/32bga3
Tracking Flash and Flex Which videos to people watch in the movie? Which navigation device do people use?  Old way – virtual URLs urchinTracker(‘/videoUI/{category}/{title’}); New system for tracking feature usage http://code.google.com/apis/analytics/docs/eventTrackerGuide.html Tracy Spratt on tracking flex External Interface object http://www.cflex.net/showFileDetails.cfm?ObjectID=768
Pick a Goal Event Registrations – sign up Leads – register Sales – buy something Readership – subscribe Be more specific Don’t just buy something, buy this Most profitable or  Underdeveloped
Why Track Goals?
Goal Setup Tips Be as short as possible with Head Match http://www.mysite.com/thankyou.cfm?oid=123 /thankyou.cfm Aggregate different goal pages with Virtual URLS E.g. /regForms/doc and /regForms/pdf /regForms/ Third party tools warning
E-Commerce Overview
E-Commerce Features Best performing categories Best performing products Site Overlay
Why Track Campaigns?
Campaign Features Determine ROI Does email work better than snail mail? Which email generated the most leads/revenue? Is e-mail better than pay-per-click traffic? Consider tracking email signups as a goal http://tinyurl.com/2tg94n
What if you could… Produce candidate copy Run focus groups with some of your traffic Review the results Identify the best candidate Launch the winner
Google Website Optimizer Design your experiment Set a goal How much traffic to test Prepare candidate copy Identify a winner
How Optimizer Works X % of your traffic see the experiment Measures conversions of each combo How many impressions How many conversions Conversions deviation Initially distributes combos evenly As leaders emerge traffic is weighted Google declares a winner Original copy can sometimes win!
Experiment Results
Testing Notes Test one thing at a time A/B testing minimizes external influences Publicity, campaigns, seasons Only A/B testers count to experiment result
What to Test? Images – demographic, color balance Text – tone, audience, pace, length, emphasis Colors (text, buttons, backgrounds) Fonts – spacing, flow, words per line Position of page elements Navigation Promotions Pricing Limiting distractions
Overview of Google AdWords Create an account http://analytics.google.com Pick keywords and create ads You pay for each click, not impression Click-thru-rate (CTR) = clicks / impressions Add conversion page code Minimum $1 per day budget Minimum price per click $0.05
Google AdWords Traditional Create a Google AdWords account Pick 130+ keywords related to your site Create an Ad unit Consequences Low click thru rate and suspended keywords Expensive keywords $1.50 per click or more Ads that aren’t continually shown Poor conversion rates once they hit your site
Smarter Google AdWords Pick a page to promote Pick keywords found on that page Pick a 20 character title Write 2 x 30 character copy Choose your market and launch
AdWords Grouping and Matching Grouping is critical Separate keywords into like groups Separate groups into campaigns One ad unit / destination URL per group Exact match vs. phrase match vs. broad match
Consequences Cheaper ads $0.05+ vs. $1.50 E.g. 30x more impressions for $1.50 Higher click thru rate E.g. 30x more clicks for $1.50 Better targeted ads Each visitor is more likely to stay
Summary Build a site around a goal Google Analytics: Measure the results Google Website Optimizer: A/B Test Google AdWords: Drive more traffic
Use numbers to decide the fate of your website, not emotion.
References Google Analytics, Mary E. Tyler & Jerri Ledford ISBN: 0470053852  Google Analytics http://analytics.google.com Google Adwords and Optimizer http:// adwords.google.com

Google Tech For Better Content

  • 1.
    Google Technology for Better Content Adam Howitt www.adamhowitt.com
  • 2.
    Adam Howitt ConsultingM.Eng Software Engineering Worked for Procter & Gamble Moved to US in 2000 ColdFusion Developer since 2000 Analytics Specialist since 2004
  • 3.
    Who Are You?Marketers Executives Designers / Developers Flash? Flex? Other
  • 4.
    Overview Search EngineOptimization Google Analytics Goals and the Call to Action Tracking E-Commerce Tracking E-Mail /Other Campaigns Google Optimizer Google AdWords
  • 5.
    SEO Basics Pagetitles <title>Google Analytics Specialist…</title> Meta descriptions <meta name=&quot;description&quot; content= &quot; … &quot; > Headings <h1>Google Analytics Specialist</h1> URLs
  • 6.
    Dynamic SEO Generatetitles automatically Cardinality: specific to generic SKU > Name > Category > Manufacturer Generate headings to match titles Name SKU Generate meta description from abstract
  • 7.
    How do youimprove this page?
  • 8.
    Demonstration of AnalyticsSpot the Difference Poll Version 1 30,760 views 167 purchases Version 2 31,601 views 484 purchases
  • 9.
    Results Conversion rate:0.54% vs. 1.53% 317 x $100 = $31,000 difference in 3 days Is it worth the 3 hours / $200 of design? Is it worth the 3 hours of analytics?
  • 10.
  • 11.
  • 12.
    Tracking Code configurationBasic, Virtual pages, PDFs, downloads Sub-domains E-Commerce Email / Campaigns http://tinyurl.com/32bga3
  • 13.
    Tracking Flash andFlex Which videos to people watch in the movie? Which navigation device do people use? Old way – virtual URLs urchinTracker(‘/videoUI/{category}/{title’}); New system for tracking feature usage http://code.google.com/apis/analytics/docs/eventTrackerGuide.html Tracy Spratt on tracking flex External Interface object http://www.cflex.net/showFileDetails.cfm?ObjectID=768
  • 14.
    Pick a GoalEvent Registrations – sign up Leads – register Sales – buy something Readership – subscribe Be more specific Don’t just buy something, buy this Most profitable or Underdeveloped
  • 15.
  • 16.
    Goal Setup TipsBe as short as possible with Head Match http://www.mysite.com/thankyou.cfm?oid=123 /thankyou.cfm Aggregate different goal pages with Virtual URLS E.g. /regForms/doc and /regForms/pdf /regForms/ Third party tools warning
  • 17.
  • 18.
    E-Commerce Features Bestperforming categories Best performing products Site Overlay
  • 19.
  • 20.
    Campaign Features DetermineROI Does email work better than snail mail? Which email generated the most leads/revenue? Is e-mail better than pay-per-click traffic? Consider tracking email signups as a goal http://tinyurl.com/2tg94n
  • 21.
    What if youcould… Produce candidate copy Run focus groups with some of your traffic Review the results Identify the best candidate Launch the winner
  • 22.
    Google Website OptimizerDesign your experiment Set a goal How much traffic to test Prepare candidate copy Identify a winner
  • 23.
    How Optimizer WorksX % of your traffic see the experiment Measures conversions of each combo How many impressions How many conversions Conversions deviation Initially distributes combos evenly As leaders emerge traffic is weighted Google declares a winner Original copy can sometimes win!
  • 24.
  • 25.
    Testing Notes Testone thing at a time A/B testing minimizes external influences Publicity, campaigns, seasons Only A/B testers count to experiment result
  • 26.
    What to Test?Images – demographic, color balance Text – tone, audience, pace, length, emphasis Colors (text, buttons, backgrounds) Fonts – spacing, flow, words per line Position of page elements Navigation Promotions Pricing Limiting distractions
  • 27.
    Overview of GoogleAdWords Create an account http://analytics.google.com Pick keywords and create ads You pay for each click, not impression Click-thru-rate (CTR) = clicks / impressions Add conversion page code Minimum $1 per day budget Minimum price per click $0.05
  • 28.
    Google AdWords TraditionalCreate a Google AdWords account Pick 130+ keywords related to your site Create an Ad unit Consequences Low click thru rate and suspended keywords Expensive keywords $1.50 per click or more Ads that aren’t continually shown Poor conversion rates once they hit your site
  • 29.
    Smarter Google AdWordsPick a page to promote Pick keywords found on that page Pick a 20 character title Write 2 x 30 character copy Choose your market and launch
  • 30.
    AdWords Grouping andMatching Grouping is critical Separate keywords into like groups Separate groups into campaigns One ad unit / destination URL per group Exact match vs. phrase match vs. broad match
  • 31.
    Consequences Cheaper ads$0.05+ vs. $1.50 E.g. 30x more impressions for $1.50 Higher click thru rate E.g. 30x more clicks for $1.50 Better targeted ads Each visitor is more likely to stay
  • 32.
    Summary Build asite around a goal Google Analytics: Measure the results Google Website Optimizer: A/B Test Google AdWords: Drive more traffic
  • 33.
    Use numbers todecide the fate of your website, not emotion.
  • 34.
    References Google Analytics,Mary E. Tyler & Jerri Ledford ISBN: 0470053852 Google Analytics http://analytics.google.com Google Adwords and Optimizer http:// adwords.google.com

Editor's Notes

  • #11 Date Sparklines Edward Tufte
  • #15 Whether you are selling conference registrations, looking for new leads, selling a product or interested in increasing readership: Work out the goal for your web site and even your web pages Be specific – no vague goals: Think about driving business to the most profitable item you sell or the new or underdeveloped area of your business
  • #25 This term in your reports refers to the range of conversion rates for each combination that we expect you&apos;d observe if that combination were adopted and shown to all users. The range is an estimate based on the observed conversion rate measured during the experiment. The range can also be expressed as a value with a &amp;quot;plus or minus&amp;quot; component; for example, a conversion rate range of 32 to 36 percent translates to a conversion rate of 34% +/- 2.