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Assignment On
“E-Marketing in Bangladesh - Status, Potential & Constraints”




                                                      “Elegant (VI)”
Assignment
                                              On

                                         E-Marketing
                                         Course: 525

            Topic: “E-Marketing in Bangladesh - Status, Potential & Constraints”



Prepared for:

Md. Moktar Ali

Associate Professor

Department of Marketing

Faculty of Business of Studies

University of Dhaka

                                                                                Prepared by:

                                                                              “Elegant (VI)”

                                                                                   Section: A

                                                         Department of Marketing (14th) MBA

                                                                   Faculty of Business Studies

                                                                          University of Dhaka

                          Date of Submission: 29th January, 2013 eng.

                                              1
Group Profile:



                               “Elegant (VI)”



No.   Name                               BBA     MBA    Designation
                                          Roll   Roll
 1    Md. Abdur Rakib                     041    375     Member

 2    Rumana                              087    427     Member

 3    Md. Al Amin                         089    419     Member

 4    Anjuman Ara                         139    215     Member

 5    Md. Moben Ahmed                     151    526     Member

 6    Chowdhury Omor Faruque              173    377      Leader




                                     2
Table of Contents:
 No.                                  Particulars                           Page No.
  1     Introduction                                                          4-5
  2     Objective of the Study                                                  5
  3     Overview of E-Marketing                                               5-9
  4     Literature Review                                                    10-12
  5     Present Status of E-Marketing in Bangladesh                          12-16
  6     Types of E-Marketing in Bangladesh                                   17-20
  7     Business Models                                                      21-22
  8     Financial Prospects of E-Marketing                                   23-25
  9     Technological Prospects of E-Marketing                               25-28
 10     Constraints or Challenges of E-Marketing                             29-31
 11     Methodology of E-Marketing Survey                                    31-32
 12     Survey Questionnaire, Result & Analysis                              33-41
 13     Recommendations                                                      41-42
 14     Conclusion                                                           42-43
 15     References                                                             43


Table of Figures:

 No.                                  Particulars                           Page No.
 1     Various E-Marketing Domain                                               6
 2     Setup of E-marketing in BD                                               7
 3     E-Marketing Activities                                                   8
 4     Total E-marketing Strategy                                               9
 5     E-marketing Promotions                                                   9
 6     Differences among Internet Marketing, E-Marketing, E-Commerce & E-      11
       Business
 7     Internet Usages                                                         13
 8     Evolution of E-marketing in Bangladesh                                  14


Table of Tables:
 No.                                  Particulars                           Page No.
 1     Internet Usage Statistics                                               14
 2     Trend of Gross Domestic Product of Bangladesh                           23
 3     Trend of Export, Import & Remittance                                    24
 4     Ad Server Market Structure                                              24



                                                3
“E-Marketing in Bangladesh - Status, Potential & Constraints”

Introduction:

Bangladesh is a developing country. The recent technology boom has created a digital age. The
explosive growth in computer, communications, information, and other digital technology has
created new way of delivering value to customer. Now, more than ever before, we all are
connected to each other and to information anywhere in the world. Where it once took days or
weeks to receive information about national/global events, we now learn about them as they are
occurring through live satellite broadcasts and news websites. When it once took weeks to
correspond with others in distant places, they are only moment away by cell phone, email or
webcam. The digital age has provided marketers with exciting new ways to learn about and track
customers and to create product and service tailored to individual customer needs. It helping
customer to communicate with customer in large group or in one to one.

Digital technology has brought a new wave of communication, advertising, and relationship
building tools-ranging from online advertising, video sharing tools, cell phone, and video games
to web widget and online social network. The digital shift means that marketer can no longer
expect consumers to always seek them out. Nor can they always control conversation about their
brand.

The new digital world makes it easy for customer to take marketing content that once lived only
in advertising or on a brand. Website with them wherever they go and share it with friends. More
than just one to traditional marketing channels, the new digital media must be fully integrated
into the marketers’ customer relationship building efforts.” [Kotler page 27, principles of
marketing]

Digital wave has created new dimensions of marketing which is referred as e marketing, which is
the process by which companies create value for customers and build strong customer
relationships electronically in order to capture value from customers in return. Today’s
successful companies have one thing in common: they are strongly customer focused and heavily
committed t marketing. These companies share a passion for understanding and satisfying
customer needs in well defined target markets. They motivate everyone in the organization to


                                               4
help build lasting customer relationships based on creating value. P&G’s chief global market,
Jim Stergel, puts it this way: “If we are going to make one big bet on our future- right here right
now- I’d say that the smart money is on building [customer] relationships.” For marketing digital
technology is now emerged as new momentum for creating value and building customer
relationship. By observing electronic prospects in marketing, many multinationals like
bikroy.com and local company like Rokomary.com have started operation in Bangladesh on
online.




Objective of the Study:

 Broad objective:

E-marketing, understanding steps in e-marketing process, defining key elements in e-marketing.

 Specific objectives:

    Finding out current status of e-marketing in Bangladesh.

    Describing and analyzing key potential of e-marketing in Bangladesh.

    Illustrating key barrier to e-marketing.

    Differentiating the implication of e-marketing in consumer market and business market.

    Focusing product category mostly suited for e-marketing in Bangladesh.




Overview of E-Marketing:

E-marketing is the fastest –growing form of direct marketing. Recent advances have created a
digital age. Widespread use of internet is having a dramatic impact on both buyers and the
marketers who serve them. If we consider e-marketing domain we find the following figure in
Bangladeshi perspectives:




                                                5
Targeted to            Targeted to
                                      Consumer               Business




             Initiated by                B2C                    B2B
               Business            (Business to            (Business to
                                    Consumer)               Business)



                                         C2C
             Initiated by                                       C2B
                                    (Consumer
              Consumer                                      (Consumer
                                        to
                                                           to Business)
                                    Consumer)


                             Figure: 1 Various E-Marketing Domain

B2C (Business to Consumer):

In this form of marketing, businesses sell goods and services online to final consumers. Business
can sell almost anything online such as from clothing, kitchen and airline tickets to computers
and cars.

B2B (Business to Business):

B2B markets use B2B websites, email, online product catalogs, online trading network and other
online resources to reach new business customers, serve current customers more effectively and
obtain buying efficiency and better prices.

Most major B2B marketers now offer product information, customer purchasing and customer
support services online. Simply beyond selling their products and services online, they can use
the internet to build stronger relationship with business customers. For example,
www.rokomari.com not only sells online but also builds strong customer relationship with them.

                                               6
C2C (Consumer to Consumer):

C2C e-marketing and communication occurs on the web between interested parties over a wide
range of products and services. In some cases, internet provides an excellent means by which
consumer can buy or exchange goods or information directly with one another. For example,
www.bikroy.com offers popular market spaces for displaying and selling almost anything from
arts and antiques, coins and stamps to consumer electronics.

In other cases, C2C involves interchanges of information through internet forums that support to
specific special interest groups.

C2B (Consumer to Business):

The final e-marketing domain is B2B e-marketing. Thanks to the internet. Today consumers are
finding it easier to invite prospects and customers to send in suggestions and questions via
company websites. Besides, rather than waiting for an invitation, customers can search for sellers
on the web, learn about their offers, initiate purchase and give their valuable feedbacks. Using
the web, consumers can even drive transactions with business rather than the other ways around.




Set-up of E-marketing in Bangladesh:


                                                    Placing ads or
                                    Creating
                                                     promotional
                                    website
                                                     tools online


               Setting up
              online social                                           Using email
                network                    Conducting
                                               E-
                                            marketing



                               Figure: 2 Setup of E-marketing in BD

                                                7
Blueprint of E-Marketing:




                            Figure: 3 E-Marketing Activities




                                           8
Total E-Marketing Strategy:



                                                Website
                                             Effectiveness




                                                                         E-Mali
                  Search Engine
                                                                       Campaign
                    Strategy
                                                                        Strategy
                                             Total E-
                                            Marketing
                                            Strategy


                                                              Customer
                                Online                        Database
                              Advertising                    Managemen
                                                              t & Retail



                              Figure: 4 Total E-marketing Strategy



                                               Direct
                                              Marketing


                             Loyalty                            Tradeshow
                            Programs                            Promotion


                                                 E-
                                              Marketing


                              Events                            Advertising



                                                Public
                                               Relations




                                  Figure: 5 E-marketing Promotions

                                                   9
Literature Review:

“E-marketing is sometimes considered to have a broader scope since it refers to digital media
such as web, e-mail and wireless media, but also includes management of digital customer data
and electronic customer relationship management systems (E-CRM systems).”- Dave Chaffey

Electronic Marketing (E-Marketing) can be viewed as a new philosophy and a
modern business       practice involved with the marketing of goods,           services, information and
ideas via the    Internet and other electronic means. By reviewing the relevant literature it is
noticed that definitions of electronic marketing (E-Marketing) vary               according       to      each
author's point of view, background and specialization. For that, while Smith and
Chaffey    defines   it   as:   “Achieving     marketing     objectives     through    applying        digital
technologies”    (Smith     and Chaffey, 2005: 11), Strauss and Frost define it as: “The use of
electronic data and applications for planning and executing the conception, distribution and
pricing of ideas, goods and services to create exchanges that satisfy individual and organizational
goals” (Strauss and Frost, 2001: 454).

On the other hand, the review of the relevant literature revealed that one of the main obstacles in
the literature is the unclear way of dealing with the concept and definition of E-
Marketing. In this respect most of the researchers misused the term E-Marketing; the
majority of researchers         are   using    the terms:        E-Marketing / Internet-marketing /        E-
commerce / E-business as equivalents or a deferent wording for the same meaning,
which is incorrect    because     they are deferent.       For     example, E-Marketing has a broader
scope than internet- marketing         since    Internet    Marketing      (IM)   refers     only to the
Internet, World Wide Web, e-mails. While E- Marketing includes all of that plus all other
E-Marketing tools like: Intranets, Extranets and mobile phones. In contrast                with   that,    E-
commerce and E-business have a wider and broader scope than E-Marketing. These
differences can be illustrated in the following figure.




                                                   10
E-Business



                                            E-Commerce



                                            E-Marketing




                                              Internet
                                             Marketing




  Figure: 6 Differences among Internet Marketing, E-Marketing, E-Commerce & E-Business
                                  Source: El-Gohary et al (2010)

By reviewing the literature of E-Marketing; in one hand, it is noticed that the number of studies
conducted by researchers and practitioners in the field of E-Marketing from 2003 to 2010
is relatively limited. This can be justified by the relative novelty of E- Marketing.
This provides an indication that E-Marketing is relatively new for academics and practitioners
and also provides reasonable expectations about the increase in number of studies related to E-
Marketing in the near future. The total number of studies was 365 studies, 73 % of
it was empirical and 27 % of the total number of articles was not.

It is also noticed that the research activity output in E-Marketing had decreased significantly
between 2003 and 2008 within the literature period. Although the published articles
had covered the following research areas:              E-business,     E-marketplace,       Electronic
Commerce,         Electronic   platforms,      ICT     adoption,     Internet marketing, On-line trust,
B2B, Performance evaluation, The Web, Electronic marketing, E-mail Making, E- readiness, E-
relationships,   E-security,   E-service, E-supply chain       management,       Internet   adaptation,

                                                  11
Mobile marketing      and some other       research. Electronic Commerce           was the major
research     area covered by the researchers in the field followed by Electronic Business and
Internet marketing. Most of the empirical studies had been conducted in: the USA, Australia,
New Zealand and the UK which was the biggest in number of studies conduct in the literature
period.

By analyzing the articles conducted in the UK market it was noticed that these
articles had covered the following research areas: E-business, Electronic Commerce,
Electronic     marketing,    Internet    marketing,     the web,     ICT     adoption,    Business
performance and some other research areas. On the other hand, most of the articles
in the literature were published in the Journal of Small Business and Enterprise
Development (27 articles) with a percentage of 7.4 % of the total number of studies conducted in
the period of the literature. The next six top journals were: Internet research, Journal of Internet
Marketing and Advertising, Journal of Electronic Commerce Research, Journal of Internet
Marketing, Journal of Interactive Marketing and Journal of Business-to-Business Marketing.

Based on the literature there are clear research gaps in the field of E-Marketing especially in the
areas of E- Marketing performance as well as E-Marketing adoption in Small Business
enterprises (SBEs). To fill such gaps and extend previous studies there is a need for conducting
more research to investigate the relationship between implementing E-Marketing and SBEs
performance.




Present Status of E-marketing in Bangladesh

Bangladesh has undergone a long way in its development of information and technology sector,
which has paved the way of e -commerce and e -business. E-marketing has a significant impact
on business costs and productivity. E-marketing has a chance to be widely adopted due to its
simple applications. Thus it has a large economic impact. It gives the opportunity for “boundary
crossing” as new entrants, business models, and changes in technology erode the barriers that
used to separate one industry from another. These increases competition and innovation, which
are likely to boost overall economic efficiency. Now, E-marketing has emerging business
potentials in BD. The rapid expansion of the use of internet, cell phone, online banking,
                                                12
changing lifestyle of people, and migration of labor in foreign country is making E-marketing
more prospectus in the country. There is also some great restriction exist in the development of
E-marketing like security issue, low per capita income, lower access rate to internet, lack of
government support, lack of infrastructural development.

Starting a business in Bangladesh however is getting more competitive in this edge of business
flourishment, economic uncertainty and variety of options to the customer. Today’s marketing
techniques are the result of a huge technological and internal movement within this last decade.
Some multinational companies have introduced us some real exceptional marketing methods and
local companies are in competition. Now, the key to success for these businesses are choosing
the right method of marketing and providing the right message to the customer.

 Internet Usage Statistics:



                                              5,570,535
                                               Internet
                                              users as of
                                              Dec, 2011




                                              3.5% of the
                                              population,
                                               according
                                                to ITU.



                                   Figure: 7 Internet Usages




                                              13
YEAR           Users            Population     % of internet
                                                   users

2000          100,000          134,824,000        0.1 %

2007          450,000          137,493,990        0.3 %

2009          556,000          156,050,883        0.4 %

2010          617,300          158,065,841        0.4 %

2011          5,501,609        158,570,535        3.5 %




           Table: 1 Internet Usage Statistics

         Source: International Monetary Fund.




                                                Phase 3
                           Phase 2           (2010- onwards)
                        (2006-2009)
                          Isolated e-
    Phase 1               marketing
(Late 1990s-2006)
 Infrastructure
    building




   Figure: 8 Evolution of E-marketing in Bangladesh


                              14
 Types of E-Marketing Suitable for Bangladeshi Company:

By analyzing the demographics, data from reliable sources and by having a small online survey
we have selected some of the most effective- marketing services in Bangladesh. Here is a list of
these:

        Social Media Marketing

        Email Marketing to Targeted Customers

        Search Engine Optimization

        Content Marketing

        Advertising on Ads Network

        Brand and Reputation Management




 Names of E-Marketing Company in Bangladesh:

        Customize sourcing

        Innotex

        Macro media

        Email brain

        BD.jobs.com

        Bikroy.com

        Hatbazar.com

        Tolet.com




                                              15
For a new entrant in a market, marketing is a crucial, and somewhat expensive, requirement in
order to development some awareness of the new product. The private sector in Bangladesh has
made significant progress in developing a marketing push through its industry associations. The
public sector, however, can also contribute to this effort.

Globalization has brought in many changes in the business scenario with the whole world
inching towards one big market place. Communication between the buyers and sellers has
become critical as each can opt to explore a greater number of alternatives than ever before. E-
marketing through Internet, e-mails, websites, and other facilities, enables a businessman to be
linked with every corner of the world, and thus opens up greater opportunities in the world
market. Another important factor is the time required for completing a business transaction. As
markets are becoming competitive and information is more readily available, a quick, reliable

And replicable transaction implies availing of prevailing opportunities. On the contrary, delays in
processing a transaction might become synonymous to wasting an opportunity. Therefore, a fast
and alternative mechanism of communication, contract, and payment is an integral part of a
globally competitive business organization. How important or relevant is e-marketing to the
economy of Bangladesh – a developing economy – in general and to the export market in
particular? The Information Technology (IT) revolution has been too phenomenal to predict its
future growth and its use in an economy like Bangladesh’s. In the light of the recent spate of
globalization and the initiation of the World Trade Organization (WTO), assessing the
immediate and short or medium term relevance of e-marketing to Bangladesh becomes
imperative. Now -a-days personal computers and the Internet are also emerging as day-to-day
business tools in our country. These positive indicators are favoring the prospects of E-marketing
in Bangladesh.




                                                 16
Types of E-Marketing in Bangladesh:

E-marketing is broadly divided in to the following types:

 Display Advertising: the use of web banners or banner ads placed on a third-party website or
   blog to drive traffic to a company's own website and increase product awareness.
 Search Engine Marketing (SEM): a form of marketing that seeks to promote websites by
   increasing their visibility in search engine result pages (SERPs) through the use of either paid
   placement, contextual advertising, and paid inclusion, or through the use of free search
   engine optimization techniques also known as organic result.
 Search Engine Optimization (SEO): the process of improving the visibility of a website or a
   web page in search engines via the "natural" or un-paid ("organic" or "algorithmic") search
   results.
 Social Media Marketing: the process of gaining traffic or attention through social media
   websites such as Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.
 Email Marketing: directly marketing a commercial message to a group of people using
   electronic mail.
 Referral Marketing: a method of promoting products or services to new customers through
   referrals, usually word of mouth.
 Affiliate Marketing: a marketing practice in which a business rewards one or more affiliates
   for each visitor or customer brought about by the affiliate's own marketing efforts.
 Inbound Marketing: involves creating and freely sharing informative content as a means of
   converting prospects into customers and customers into repeat buyers.
 Video Marketing: This type of marketing specializes in creating videos that engage the
   viewer into a buying state by presenting information in video form and guiding them to a
   product or service. Online video is increasingly becoming more popular among internet users
   and companies are seeing it as a viable method of attracting customers.


 Online advertisement as Digital Promotions for Television:

Online advertisement can also be classified as Digital Promotions. Digital promotion in
connection to the television industry is when networks use authentic digital resources to promote
their new shows in a growing vast range of venues. Television networks development of digital
                                               17
off air promotional strategies allowed digital promotion to remain significant to the
advertisement advancement in the television.

Examples of television online digital promotions: The Sci Fi network for loaded a special recap
episode of Battlestar Galactica onto Microsoft’s Xbox online gaming service; this gave the
audience additional opportunities to sample content if they may or may not be familiar with the
show. Another example of digital promotion in television is when network CBS incorporated
new digital technologies of Bluetooth-enabled mobile devices that were able to download a
thirty-second clip of a new show on their devices; consumers standing in range of a billboard
don’t need an internet link to download the show’s content. These non-linear viewing
opportunities provided as a valuable tool for gaining audiences; and to encourage them to
intersect with the linear audience.

 Approaches:
   One-to-one approaches: In a one-to-one approach, marketers target a user browsing the
    Internet alone and so that the marketers' messages reach the user personally. This approach is
    used in search marketing, for which the advertisements are based on search engine keywords
    entered by the users. This approach usually works under the pay per click (PPC) method.[
   Appeal to specific interests: When appealing to specific interests, marketers place an
    emphasis on appealing to a specific behavior or interest, rather than reaching out to a broadly
    defined demographic. These marketers typically segment their markets according to age
    group, gender, geography, and other general factors.

    Appealing to specific users can be achieved through behavioral targeting which refers to the
    use of behavioral patterns and putting up the relevant content suitable to the viewer's interest
    obtained from the user through cookies and other tools and contextual advertising which
    refers to the publishing of advertisements and ads based on the context the user in. For
    example if the user is searching for coffee, the search engine publishes ads related to coffee.

   Niche marketing: In conventional niche marketing, clusters of consumers (the niche) are
    identified in order to more economically and efficiently target them. Similarly, niche internet
    marketing attempts to create a more direct advertising message for those who are seen as
    most likely to buy the product being advertised (see Target audience and Conversion rate).

                                                 18
Niche internet marketing focuses on marketing products and services which are, or can
    appear, tailor-made for a specific subset of consumers who are expected to buy the product or
    service with a specific motivation. The online advertising message (or product web site) can
    then be similarly tailor-made to target that assumed motivation. In combination with search
    engine optimization, the niche internet marketer can attempt to increase the likelihood that
    their product's advertisement (or site) will be seen by customers in the relevant niche.

   Geo-targeting: In Internet marketing, geo-targeting is the methods of determining the geo-
    location of a website visitor with geo-location software, and delivering different content to
    that visitor based on his or her location, such as latitude and longitude, country, region or
    state, city, metro code or zip code, organization, Internet Protocol (IP) address, ISP, and other
    criteria.
   Types of Ad: Though, as seen above, the large majority of online advertising has a cost that
    is brought about by usage or interaction of an ad, there are a few other methods of advertising
    online that only require a onetime payment. The Million Dollar Homepage is a very
    successful example of this. Visitors were able to pay $1 per pixel of advertising space and
    their advert would remain on the homepage for as long as the website exists with no extra
    costs.

         Floating Ad: An ad which moves across the user's screen or floats above the content.


         Expanding Ad: An ad which changes size and which may alter the contents of the

             webpage.

         Polite Ad: A method by which a large ad will be downloaded in smaller pieces to

             minimize the disruption of the content being viewed

         Wallpaper Ad: An ad which changes the background of the page being viewed.


         Trick Banner: A banner ad that looks like a dialog box with buttons. It simulates an

             error message or an alert.

         Pop-Up: A new window which opens in front of the current one, displaying an

             advertisement, or entire webpage.


                                                 19
 Pop-Under: Similar to a Pop-Up except that the window is loaded or sent behind the

    current window so that the user does not see it until they close one or more active
    windows.

 Video Ad: similar to a banner ad, except that instead of a static or animated image,

    actual moving video clips are displayed. This is the kind of advertising most
    prominent in television, and many advertisers will use the same clips for both
    television and online advertising.

 Map Ad: text or graphics linked from, and appearing in or over, a location on an

    electronic map such as on Google Maps.

 Mobile Ad: an SMS text or multi-media message sent to a cell phone.


 Superstitial: An animated ad on a Web page from Enliven Marketing Technologies. It

    uses video, 3D content or Flash to provide a TV-like advertisement. Used to be
    known as Unicast Transitional ads as they were originally made by Unicast
    Communications but the company was acquired by Viewpoint Corporation in 2004,
    which then changed its name to Enliven in 2008. [24]

 Interstitial ad: a full-page ad that appears before a user reaches their original

    destination.

 Frame ad: an ad that appeared within an HTML frame, usually at the top with the site

    logo. As the user browsed the site, the frame would not change.

In addition, ads containing streaming video or streaming audio are becoming very
popular with advertisers.

   E-mail advertising
   Display advertising
   Affiliate marketing
   Behavioral targeting
   Semantic advertising
   Social network advertising


                                         20
Business Models:

This section does not cite any references or sources. Please help improve this section by adding
citations to reliable sources. Unsorted material may be challenged and removed. Internet
marketing is associated with several business models given as the following:

   E-Commerce: a model whereby goods and services are sold directly to a consumer or
    business.

   Lead-Based Websites: a strategy whereby an organization generates value by acquiring sales
    leads from its website. Similar to walk-in customers in retail world. These prospects are often
    referred to as organic leads.

   Affiliate Marketing: a process wherein a product or service developed by one entity is sold
    by other active sellers for a share of profits. The entity that owns the product may provide
    some marketing material (e.g., sales letters, affiliate links, tracking facilities, etc. However,
    the vast majority of affiliate marketing relationships come from e-commerce businesses that
    offer affiliate programs.

 Revenue Models in Bangladesh:

Compensation Methods:

The three most common ways in which online advertising is purchased are CPM, CPC, and
CPA.

       CPM (Cost per Mile) or CPT (Cost per Thousand Impressions) is when advertisers pay
        for exposure of their message to a specific audience. "Per mille" means per thousand
        impressions, or loads of an advertisement. However, some impressions may not be
        counted, such as a reload or internal user action.

       CPV (Cost per Visitor) is when advertisers pay for the delivery of a Targeted Visitor to
        the advertisers website.

       CPV (Cost per View) is when advertisers pay for each unique user view of an
        advertisement or website (usually used with pop-ups, pop-unders and interstitial ads).


                                                 21
   CPC (Cost per Click) or PPC (Pay per Click) is when advertisers pay each time a user
    clicks on their listing and is redirected to their website. They do not actually pay for the
    listing, but only when the listing is clicked on. This system allows advertising specialists
    to refine searches and gain information about their market. Under the Pay per click
    pricing system, advertisers pay for the right to be listed under a series of target rich words
    that direct relevant traffic to their website, and pay only when someone clicks on their
    listing which links directly to their website. CPC differs from CPV in that each click is
    paid for regardless of whether the user makes it to the target site.

   CPA (Cost per Action or Cost per Acquisition) or PPF (Pay per Performance) advertising
    is performance based and is common in the affiliate marketing sector of the business. In
    this payment scheme, the publisher takes all the risk of running the ad, and the advertiser
    pays only for the number of users who complete a transaction, such as a purchase or sign-
    up. This model ignores any inefficiency in the seller's web site conversion funnel. The
    following are common variants of CPA:

     CPL (Cost per Lead) advertising is identical to CPA advertising and is based on the

       user completing a form, registering for a newsletter or some other action that the
       merchant feels will lead to a sale.

     CPS (Cost per Sale), PPS (Pay per Sale), or CPO (Cost per Order) advertising is

       based on each time a sale is made.[18]

   eCPM: Effective CPM or eCPM calculated through other conversion events such as Cost
    per Clicks, Cost per Downloads, Cost per Leads etc. for example when an advertiser
    getting $2 per download and for 100,000 impressions you received 10 downloads worth
    $20, in this case your effective CPM or eCPM will be 2*20*1000/100,000= $0.4

   Fixed Cost: Advertiser paying fixed cost for delivery frame by campaign flight dates
    without any relevance to performance

   Cost per conversion describes the cost of acquiring a customer, typically calculated by
    dividing the total cost of an ad campaign by the number of conversions.



                                              22
Financial Prospects of E-Marketing:

 Macro-economic trend:

This is a chart of trend of gross domestic product of Bangladesh at market prices estimated by
the International Monetary Fund with figures in millions of Bangladeshi Taka. However, this
reflects only the formal sector of the economy.

  Year Gross Domestic Product US Dollar Exchange Inflation Index Per Capita Income
                                                            (2000=100)        (as % of USA)

  1980           250,300                 16.10 Taka              20                1.79

  1985           597,318                 31.00 Taka              36                1.19

  1990          1,054,234                35.79 Taka              58                1.16

  1995          1,594,210                40.27 Taka              78                1.12

  2000          2,453,160                52.14 Taka             100                0.97

  2005          3,913,334                63.92 Taka             126                0.95

  2008          5,003,438                68.65 Taka             147




                   Table: 2 Trend of Gross Domestic Product of Bangladesh

Mean wages were $0.58 per man-hour in 2009.

The World Bank predicted economic growth of 6.5% for current year. Foreign aid has seen a
decline of 10% over the last few months but economists see this as a good sign for self-reliance.
There has been 18% growth in exports over the last 9 months and remittance inflow has
increased at a remarkable 25% rate.




                                                  23
Fiscal Year Total Export Total Import Foreign Remittance Earnings

            2007–2008        $14.11b       $25.205b                  $8.9b

            2008–2009        $15.56b       $22.00b+                $9.68b

            2009–2010         $16.7b        ~$24b                  $10.87b

            2010–2011        $22.93b        $32b                   $11.65b

            2011–2012        $24.30b       $35.92b                 $12.85b




                        Table: 3 Trend of Export, Import & Remittance

 Ad Server Market Structure:

Given below is a list of top Ad server vendors in 2008 with figures in millions of viewers
published in an Attributor survey. Since 2008 Google has controlled an estimated 69% of the
online advertising market.

                                 Vendor             Ad viewers (millions)

                                 Google                      18

                        Double Click (Google)                2

                                 Yahoo!                      3

                             MSN (Microsoft)                 1

                                  AOL                        1

                                Ad Brite                     .5

                                  Total                     25.5

                               Table: 4 Ad Server Market Structure


                                               24
Bangladesh is steadily forwarding toward digitalization which paves the way toward sound
financial growth on e-marketing. Future trends

Bangladesh’s retail market is estimated at $1 billion in 2011 and is expected to grow to $2.5
billion by 2016 and $8 billion by 2020 – estimated growth rate is 18%.




Technological Prospect of E-Marketing:

1. Facebook’s Online Marketing Platform:

The adoption of Face book’s advertising capabilities and ability to target specific segments by
smaller and mid-sized firms. While Face book has done little this year to improve the features in
its advertising portal, the business community is beginning to adopt the platform en mass. If you
haven’t heard of facebakers.com, you might want to review the international levels of adoption
of Face book as a global advertising player.

2. Privacy Showdown Becomes a Major News Topic in 2011:

Digital marketers had a lot of press coverage on their tactics in the last half of 2011. We’ll see
public debates, but I don’t think that there will be any major changes this year in the
law. However, I do believe that we’ll see some innovations coming in the way of online
reputation managers allowing both sellers and regular folks to create digital reputation
management badge that can be taken with them across all websites.

3. Smart Phones for Everyone.

No longer reserved for the traveling elite, smart phones have found their way into the hands of
soccer moms, teenagers, tweeners, and even children. The 7-12 year olds at church were asking
for the “itouch” on their holiday gift list. Digital cameras are going away, and devices that
double as cam-recorders and “The Jetsons” video telephones are coming to a hand near
you. Droid, Blackberry and Apple will fight and Blackberry will become a distant third because
they haven’t catered to the all-powerful Apps content the way Droid and Apple have. See #4 for
more on this topic.

                                                 25
4. Software as a Service:

Major software industries are being consolidated from the traditional client / server
model. Companies such as Net Suite, Sales force, Omniture, Rackspace, and others are finally
making it possible to enjoy the benefits of the internet without having to be a propeller-headed,
geek. This is our hope and Lima Consulting Group continues to position itself to help companies
benefit from these trends by integrating these software solutions for our clients. We believe
there are three “i’s” in technology Innovators (the manufacturers of software), Implementers (the
installers) and Integrators (consulting companies that implement two or more of the innovators
solutions). We’ll continue to see increased competition from new entrants who present
themselves as “cloud computing”, “Software as a Service” consulting companies.

5. Cloud Computing:

Cloud computing is an amorphous term, but I’m defining it here as data centers migrating away
from corporate or the home to the internet based data centers. Firms like Rackspace, Carbonate,
Jungle Disk and my favorite, Box.net are really growing their user base. The ability to integrate
these applications within other software packages, (for example you can integrate Box.net within
Net Suite), is a real alternative to the costly implementations for tools like Share point and
Documented. Keep an eye on the company that Computer Associates acquired, 3Tera, and
software companies that virtualized data centers and applications. This software allows data
centers to move their entire operation to the data center closest to the highest levels of traffic
within seconds. As the world rotates each day, the data centers will also rotate to wherever the
sun is shining. The data center that never sees night – interesting concept towards addressing
disaster recovery and increasing internet speeds while seeking best pricing on energy. That’s
enough to make the “green” contingency happy, the typical internet user and even the lawyers
among us.

6. Everything™ vs. Robot This:

IPad launches, iPhone 4.0 and iOS make it easy for entry level developers to develop over
300,000 which were downloaded over 7 billion times. The median revenue is less than $700
while the average cost to develop an app ranges from $15,000 to $50,000. The iPad took the
world by storm introducing a new category of computing, or at least bringing a niche category of

                                               26
tablet computing to the forefront. Today, Barnes and Noble declared the Nook as their best
selling product ever; it’s been out – what – two months? And the Kindle brings up the 3rd place
spot filling a need for a less tech-savvy crowd. But the real shift in 2011 will be back to
subscription models to pay for content such as the WSJ, NetFlix downloaded to your devices and
of course e-books, which outsold regular books in 2010 and lastly the world’s largest media
company, yep – you guessed it – Apple. They sell more media than any other company. So the
device and the content combination will engage in hand-to-hand combat with Google’s Android
more flexible and open platform. Microsoft really should be the one giving Apple the
competition here, they missed their chance. If Google gets this right, they will finally be out of
trouble in having 96% of their revenue coming from their online advertising product,
Adwords. Look for a bloody battle between these two in 2011; it’s going to get personal.

7. Here an App, there an App, Everywhere an App:

Sales force started the first large-scale App store with their App Xchange. Then Apple with their
App Store, then every company in the internet base Software as a Service model did. Net Suite
has the BOS network, Omniture has the Genesis partners, Droid has andoid.com and the list goes
on. The widespread adoption of the “crap apps” out there will be a major reason that the victor
will emerge, and I predict that Apple will continue here for several years to lead. While Droid
has flash, and an open network, I heard once that “average products well marketed will beat good
products with average marketing.” And the iPhone is no average product, they have the first
mover advantage for having created the category and they don’t appear to be letting off the
accelerator in terms of innovating both their software and their hardware associated with the
iPhone and iPad. I for one have been impressed with their advances the last three years and I am
eager to see what they launch in the summer with their next generation iPhone and iPad.

8. Net Neutrality:

Net Neutrality in 2010 allowed one standard for wireless providers and another for landlines
making, in essence 2 playing fields. This was an unfortunate ruling that would allow certain
wireless providers to block features that don’t need to be blocked for any other reason than it
would cannibalize the cell phone company’s revenue. Central to the issue is Skype’s video chat
and voice chat using the 3G network on the major carriers. Verizon allows it, AT&T does not.


                                               27
9. Personalized Online Experiences based on what you’ve done on the Internet:

The improvement in web analytics to allow for personalization of ads and content based on prior
site visits. Solutions such as Omniture’s Test and Target, Recommendations, Merchandising,
Survey, and Search and Promote became more widely adopted and this notion of personalizing
experiences on the web is the future of online experiences. The increased integration of your
entire totality of information available to digital marketers will allow them to develop a more
complete picture of an individual’s online behavior and interests than ever before. Armed with
the profile information collected from social networking sites such as Face book, linked in,
Twitter, you tube, and others they can present more relevant content and online experiences. The
first to adopt these technologies will be media companies and ecommerce marketplaces.

10. Hacking used as a tool by ordinary citizens as a method of protesting:

WikiLeaks renegades using social computing to propagate their Denial of Service Attacks. By
enlisting anyone who wished to support the WikiLeaks organization, thousands of novice
hackers downloaded the software and allowed their computers to attack the likes of Visa,
MasterCard, Pay pal, and other internet giants. This behavior reminds of the flash gangs that
started popping up around Philadelphia, and more recently in Rio de Janeiro. They happen when
a ring leader sets a time and place for hundreds of his hooligan friends to show up and rob
neighborhood stores and then disperse within minutes making it nearly impossible for police to
find the vandals.     This trend will continue in 2011 by less and less sophisticated
threats. Welcome to the new era, for good or for bad, of the masses having the ability to meet (a
right that in many countries is not granted) and to conduct large-scale coordinated hacking
attacks for any purpose.

11. E-Marketing is the fastest means of marketing in now a day’s economy we can sell & buy
online while you are in your home.

12. This can be used as publishing is the sale of advertising.




                                                 28
Constraints or Challenges of E-Marketing:

E-marketing has several challenges. Among them the fallowing are critical.

   1. Limited access and use of computer and telephone

   2. High internet connection cost

   3. Slow internet connection speed

   4. Unpredictable power supplies

   5. Credit card conundrum

   6. Lack of modern financial system

   7. Language barrier

   8. Lack of flat rate phone plan

   9. High illiteracy rate

   10. Legislation and regulation are not contemporary

   11. Personal computer and other computer device access rate is low

   12. Low penetration of credit card

   13. Security and privacy issues

Computer and Telephone Access:

To make successful e marketing customer must have access to computer and an internet service
provider (ISP) to use the internet. In Bangladesh numbers of internet users are not enough to
support successful e marketing.




                                              29
Internet Connection Cost:

Country like Bangladesh has higher internet related business cost- a concern because the internet
is essential for every e business. Internet connection cost is high relative to the purchase power
of people

Slow Internet Connection Speed and Website Design:

Another key issue of e marketing in BD is the relationship between connection speed and web
site design. Although most internet connection around the world is through dial up connections, a
telephone line limits the speed which data can be sent and received. The current maximum speed
for modern internet connection is 300kbps. Download speed is 300kbps.This has significant
implication for Website design, specially the extent to which graphics are used.

The web is quintessentially a visual medium and users expects to see pictures, particularly
complicated graphics and pictures that move, swirl and morph into usual shape. Yet each of
these elements slows the download rate. In BD, with slow connections speed and a user may be
paying the minute, download speed is a major consideration. Two points are important here.

First, every e-marketer needs to understand how connection speeds influence download rate.

Second, just because graphic designers can do something cutting edge on websites doesn't mean
they should. In other words, just because a website can use flash graphics and incorporate a lot of
pictures doesn't mean that it should.

Unpredictable Power Supplies:

In BD another challenge for e-marketer is sporadic electricity. Supplies of electricity and access
to it don’t bring optimum position to bring a good prospect for e-marketing.

Credit Card Conundrum:

Convenience and ease of transaction are two of the internet’s greatest benefits. Credit card and
secure online payment systems make seamless and easy web based transactions in developed
countries. So, it is not always possible for buyer to pay electronically for not having a credit card.




                                                 30
Lack of Modern Financial System:

The Bangladeshi cash based culture limits the volume of online transactions. The establishment
of payment counter, ATM booth and collection agencies is expected to lessen to severity of the
problem but will also add to overhead expense incurred by online service.

Language Barrier:

Most online service providers opt to provide bilingual interface for their sites to accommodate
local and foreign customer. This increase cost and adds some technical challenges.

High Illiteracy Rate:

High illiteracy rate limits usage of high-tech services of all kinds. Progressive governmental
strategies are centrally needed to reduce the relatively high illiteracy rate.

Legislation and Regulation:

New rules and laws are needed to address issues related to taxation, software piracy, credit card
fraud and online money laundering.



Methodology of E-Marketing Survey:

Methodology is usually a guideline system for solving a problem, with specific components such
as phases, tasks, methods, techniques and tools. It can be defined also as follows:

1. "The analysis of the principles of methods, rules, and postulates employed by a discipline".

2. "The systematic study of methods that are, can be, or have been applied within a discipline".

3. "The study or description of methods".




                                                  31
We collect our data from both primary & secondary sources.

   A. Primary sources:

   1. Personal Observation.

   2. Online Survey.

   3. Focus group Interview.

   4. Working experience of different sector of E-Marketing.

   5. Face to face conversation.

   6. Some organization who practices E-Marketing.

   7. Statistical information.

   B. Secondary sources:

   1. Websites.

   2. Some books related on E-Marketing.

   3. Some articles on E-Marketing.

   4. Some Journal about E-Marketing.

   5. Different Research Report.

Data Collection tools:

      Telephone.
      Internet.
      Mail.
      Direct Phone.




                                              32
Survey Questionnaire, Result & Analysis:
 E-Marketing Survey question (Customer Point of View):

Name:

Working Status:

Age:

Religion:

Please (√) each of the questions:

   1. Do you know about the online purchasing system?

        a) Yes

        b) No

   2. For which purpose do you use the online purchasing system?

        a) Shopping

        b) Purchasing book

        c) For ordering software

        d) Others

   3. How many times do you use online purchasing or E-Marketing?

        a) Each day

        b) One week

        c) One month

        d) In a year

        e) Never


                                            33
4. Do you enjoy using online marketing?

       a) Yes

       b) No

       c) No comment

   5. Why do you enjoy using E-Marketing?

       a) Convenient

       b) Less time

       c) Less cost

       d) others

   6. Why do you not like to use E-Marketing?

       a) Security problem

       b) Not capable to use computer

       c) Complicated system

       d) Others

 E-Marketing Survey question (Organization Point of View):

Name of your organization:

Address:

Type of Business:

Please (√) each of the questions:

   1. Do you use E-Marketing system in your organization?

       a) Yes


                                             34
b) No

2. Why are you using E-Marketing?

   a) Customer convenience

   b) Stylish system

   c) Easy to control

   d) Attract more customer

   e) Other issue

3. Why you are not like to use E-Marketing?

   a) Complicated system

   b) Customer are not interested to use it

   c) Costly

   d) Others issue

4. In your industry is E-Marketing popular?

   a) Yes

   b) No

   c) No comment

5. Do you believe E-Marketing will be popular in Bangladesh after 5 years?

   a) Yes

   b) No

   c) No comment




                                              35
 E-Marketing Survey Output and Explanation (Consumer Point of View)
   1. Do you know about the online purchasing system?


                     Do you know about online purchasing
                                  system?

                                           11%

                                                                                             Yes
                                                                                             No

                                                    89%




      Explanation:

      In our survey we find 89% of our respondent knows about E-Marketing. 11% of our
      respondent doesn’t know about it. The figure is clearly significant.

   2. For which purpose do you use the online purchasing system?


                         For which purpose do you use the
                             online purchasing system?


                                  20%
                                                                     Shopping
                                                 40%
                                                                     Purchasing book
                            10%
                                                                     For ordering software
                                                                     others
                                   30%




                                               36
Explanation:

   In our survey we found that 40% of our respondent using E-marketing for shopping
   purpose. 20% are using for purchasing book. 10% are using for ordering software.

3. How many times do you use online purchasing or E-Marketing?


                  How many times do you use online
                    purchasing or E-Marketing?
                                     4%

                               14%                                    Each day
                                          13%
                                                                     One week
                                                                     One month
                                            22%
                                                                     In a year
                            45%
                                                                     Never




   Explanation:

   In the survey we have found that 4% of our respondent each day using E-marketing. 45%
   of the respondents are never using E-Marketing.

4. Do you enjoy using E-Marketing?


                  Do you enjoy using E-Marketing?

                               12%

                                                                   Yes
                                                                   No
                         39%               59%
                                                                   No Comment




                                            37
Explanation:

   In our survey 59% of the respondent would like to use E-Marketing. 39% would not
   prefer E marketing. 12% of the respondent doesn’t respond.

5. Why do you enjoy using E-Marketing?


              Why do you enjoy using E- Marketing?

                                     11%
                                                                        convenint
                              15%
                                                  49%                   less tme
                                                                        less cost
                                                                        others
                                   25%




   Explanation:

   49% of the respondent prefer convenient. Time is important to the 25% of the respondent.
   15% prefer cost and 11% feels it other reasons.

6. Why do you not like to use E-marketing?


           Why do you not like to use E- Marketing?

                              5%
                        10%
                                                          Security problem
                                                         Not capable to use computer

                                           55%           Complicated system
                  30%
                                                         others




                                                                                       :

                                                 38
Explanation:

      Security problem is the main reason main problem the respondent belief. 55% believe
      that security problem is crucial. 30% are not habituated to use E marketing.




 E-Marketing Survey Output and Explanation (Organization Point of View)
   1. Do you use E-Marketing system in your organization?

                     Do you use E-Marketing system in your
                                 organization?


                                                     35%                               Yes

                                         65%                                           No




      Explanation:

      In our survey 65% of the organization is using E marketing. Others are not habituated
      with this system.

   2. Why are you using E-Marketing?


                          Why are you using E-Marketing?

                                  10%
                                                                   Customer convenience
                                               30%
                                                                   Stylish system
                          30%                                      Easy to control
                                                                   Attract more customer

                                           20%                     others issue
                                  10%




                                               39
Explanation:

   Most of the respondents are using E-Marketing to attract the customer and customer
   convenient.

3. Why do you not like to use E-Marketing?


                  Why do you not like to use E- Marketing?

                                                            Complicated system
                               5%

                                       30%                  Customer are not interested
                                                            to use it

                       45%                                  Costly

                                     20%                     Others issue




   Explanation:

   Most of the respondent believes that E marketing is costly to maintain and develop. 30%
   believe that the system is complicated.

4. In your industry is E-marketing popular?


                  In your industry is E-marketing popular?

                                     5%

                                                                            Yes
                                                  50%
                                                                            No
                             50%                                            No comment




                                             40
Explanation:

        Most of the respondent believes that E-marketing is popular in their industry.

   5.   Do you believe E-Marketing will be popular in Bangladesh after 5 years?


                        Do you believe E-Marketing will be
                       popular in Bangladesh after 5 years?

                                          5%


                                25%
                                                                                  Yes
                                                                                  No
                                                                                  No comment
                                                     70%




        Explanation:

        Most of the respondents believe that E-marketing will get its full speed within 5 years
        from now.




Recommendation:

Organization should take the responsibility to makes popular E Marketing in Bangladesh. Its
helps them to reduce the cost and convenient and value added service to its customer. The other
recommendations are:

1. Train the people to use the E Marketing system

2. To provide more information about the benefit of E Marketing system



                                                41
3. Organization need to have more preparation to use the system thus there are no problem
   when the user use the E Marketing system.

4. The current govt. of republic of Bangladesh’s is to make a “Digital Bangladesh”, so they
   have also the responsibility to develop more E marketing related firm

5. At last public should aware to use E marketing as the system is developing only for customer
   convenience.




Conclusion:

Despite being a poor country, selected segments of the Bangladeshi business community has
embraced technology with reasonable success. The Facsimile in the 1980’s and mobile
telephones in the 1990’s popularized modern technology in the mass market. Personal computers
and the Internet are also emerging as day-to-day business tools. These positive indicators are
favoring the prospects of e-commerce in Bangladesh. Synergy between telecommunications and
information technology has the proven capability of monitoring and administering the real-time
transactions. Therefore, liberalizing the telecom and IT sectors as well as reforming the country’s
financial and commercial procedures is the preconditions of successfully implementing
ecommerce in Bangladesh. In the case of marketing, simply having a website in the vast sea of
the Internet is not sufficient. Uniformity is an important factor in the commencing of contracts
through the Internet. Therefore, to take advantage of the newer opportunities that IT
development presents, the Bangladeshi companies have to attain internationally accepted
certification on quality control, competitive price and timely delivery. Creating awareness among
the Bangladeshi exporters regarding e-commerce is essential. They have to be knowledgeable to
appreciate and to utilize the benefits of IT. Business associations can play a major part at this
juncture by highlighting the benefits of IT to its members, and encouraging them to use
customized software for their day-to-day operations. The overview of the legal and regulatory
statutes suggests that Bangladesh has made significant progress in facing the challenge of
globalization and concurrently, embracing e-commerce in due course. Technological and
infrastructural constraints to e-commerce can be overcome if existing laws and regulations are


                                                42
implemented. A better understanding of the potential benefits of e-commerce by the policy
makers and bureaucrats is essential for speedy implementation and further reforms.




References:

 Bangladesh Bank, Foreign Exchange Guidelines

 Bangladesh Bureau of Statistics

 Bangladesh economic forum

 IMF information & technology review on BD

 www.wikipedia.org

 Ministry of Commerce, Government of Bangladesh

 The World Bank Group




                                              43

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E-Marketing in Bangladesh - Status, Potential &amp; Constraints [Elegant (VI)]

  • 1. Assignment On “E-Marketing in Bangladesh - Status, Potential & Constraints” “Elegant (VI)”
  • 2. Assignment On E-Marketing Course: 525 Topic: “E-Marketing in Bangladesh - Status, Potential & Constraints” Prepared for: Md. Moktar Ali Associate Professor Department of Marketing Faculty of Business of Studies University of Dhaka Prepared by: “Elegant (VI)” Section: A Department of Marketing (14th) MBA Faculty of Business Studies University of Dhaka Date of Submission: 29th January, 2013 eng. 1
  • 3. Group Profile: “Elegant (VI)” No. Name BBA MBA Designation Roll Roll 1 Md. Abdur Rakib 041 375 Member 2 Rumana 087 427 Member 3 Md. Al Amin 089 419 Member 4 Anjuman Ara 139 215 Member 5 Md. Moben Ahmed 151 526 Member 6 Chowdhury Omor Faruque 173 377 Leader 2
  • 4. Table of Contents: No. Particulars Page No. 1 Introduction 4-5 2 Objective of the Study 5 3 Overview of E-Marketing 5-9 4 Literature Review 10-12 5 Present Status of E-Marketing in Bangladesh 12-16 6 Types of E-Marketing in Bangladesh 17-20 7 Business Models 21-22 8 Financial Prospects of E-Marketing 23-25 9 Technological Prospects of E-Marketing 25-28 10 Constraints or Challenges of E-Marketing 29-31 11 Methodology of E-Marketing Survey 31-32 12 Survey Questionnaire, Result & Analysis 33-41 13 Recommendations 41-42 14 Conclusion 42-43 15 References 43 Table of Figures: No. Particulars Page No. 1 Various E-Marketing Domain 6 2 Setup of E-marketing in BD 7 3 E-Marketing Activities 8 4 Total E-marketing Strategy 9 5 E-marketing Promotions 9 6 Differences among Internet Marketing, E-Marketing, E-Commerce & E- 11 Business 7 Internet Usages 13 8 Evolution of E-marketing in Bangladesh 14 Table of Tables: No. Particulars Page No. 1 Internet Usage Statistics 14 2 Trend of Gross Domestic Product of Bangladesh 23 3 Trend of Export, Import & Remittance 24 4 Ad Server Market Structure 24 3
  • 5. “E-Marketing in Bangladesh - Status, Potential & Constraints” Introduction: Bangladesh is a developing country. The recent technology boom has created a digital age. The explosive growth in computer, communications, information, and other digital technology has created new way of delivering value to customer. Now, more than ever before, we all are connected to each other and to information anywhere in the world. Where it once took days or weeks to receive information about national/global events, we now learn about them as they are occurring through live satellite broadcasts and news websites. When it once took weeks to correspond with others in distant places, they are only moment away by cell phone, email or webcam. The digital age has provided marketers with exciting new ways to learn about and track customers and to create product and service tailored to individual customer needs. It helping customer to communicate with customer in large group or in one to one. Digital technology has brought a new wave of communication, advertising, and relationship building tools-ranging from online advertising, video sharing tools, cell phone, and video games to web widget and online social network. The digital shift means that marketer can no longer expect consumers to always seek them out. Nor can they always control conversation about their brand. The new digital world makes it easy for customer to take marketing content that once lived only in advertising or on a brand. Website with them wherever they go and share it with friends. More than just one to traditional marketing channels, the new digital media must be fully integrated into the marketers’ customer relationship building efforts.” [Kotler page 27, principles of marketing] Digital wave has created new dimensions of marketing which is referred as e marketing, which is the process by which companies create value for customers and build strong customer relationships electronically in order to capture value from customers in return. Today’s successful companies have one thing in common: they are strongly customer focused and heavily committed t marketing. These companies share a passion for understanding and satisfying customer needs in well defined target markets. They motivate everyone in the organization to 4
  • 6. help build lasting customer relationships based on creating value. P&G’s chief global market, Jim Stergel, puts it this way: “If we are going to make one big bet on our future- right here right now- I’d say that the smart money is on building [customer] relationships.” For marketing digital technology is now emerged as new momentum for creating value and building customer relationship. By observing electronic prospects in marketing, many multinationals like bikroy.com and local company like Rokomary.com have started operation in Bangladesh on online. Objective of the Study:  Broad objective: E-marketing, understanding steps in e-marketing process, defining key elements in e-marketing.  Specific objectives:  Finding out current status of e-marketing in Bangladesh.  Describing and analyzing key potential of e-marketing in Bangladesh.  Illustrating key barrier to e-marketing.  Differentiating the implication of e-marketing in consumer market and business market.  Focusing product category mostly suited for e-marketing in Bangladesh. Overview of E-Marketing: E-marketing is the fastest –growing form of direct marketing. Recent advances have created a digital age. Widespread use of internet is having a dramatic impact on both buyers and the marketers who serve them. If we consider e-marketing domain we find the following figure in Bangladeshi perspectives: 5
  • 7. Targeted to Targeted to Consumer Business Initiated by B2C B2B Business (Business to (Business to Consumer) Business) C2C Initiated by C2B (Consumer Consumer (Consumer to to Business) Consumer) Figure: 1 Various E-Marketing Domain B2C (Business to Consumer): In this form of marketing, businesses sell goods and services online to final consumers. Business can sell almost anything online such as from clothing, kitchen and airline tickets to computers and cars. B2B (Business to Business): B2B markets use B2B websites, email, online product catalogs, online trading network and other online resources to reach new business customers, serve current customers more effectively and obtain buying efficiency and better prices. Most major B2B marketers now offer product information, customer purchasing and customer support services online. Simply beyond selling their products and services online, they can use the internet to build stronger relationship with business customers. For example, www.rokomari.com not only sells online but also builds strong customer relationship with them. 6
  • 8. C2C (Consumer to Consumer): C2C e-marketing and communication occurs on the web between interested parties over a wide range of products and services. In some cases, internet provides an excellent means by which consumer can buy or exchange goods or information directly with one another. For example, www.bikroy.com offers popular market spaces for displaying and selling almost anything from arts and antiques, coins and stamps to consumer electronics. In other cases, C2C involves interchanges of information through internet forums that support to specific special interest groups. C2B (Consumer to Business): The final e-marketing domain is B2B e-marketing. Thanks to the internet. Today consumers are finding it easier to invite prospects and customers to send in suggestions and questions via company websites. Besides, rather than waiting for an invitation, customers can search for sellers on the web, learn about their offers, initiate purchase and give their valuable feedbacks. Using the web, consumers can even drive transactions with business rather than the other ways around. Set-up of E-marketing in Bangladesh: Placing ads or Creating promotional website tools online Setting up online social Using email network Conducting E- marketing Figure: 2 Setup of E-marketing in BD 7
  • 9. Blueprint of E-Marketing: Figure: 3 E-Marketing Activities 8
  • 10. Total E-Marketing Strategy: Website Effectiveness E-Mali Search Engine Campaign Strategy Strategy Total E- Marketing Strategy Customer Online Database Advertising Managemen t & Retail Figure: 4 Total E-marketing Strategy Direct Marketing Loyalty Tradeshow Programs Promotion E- Marketing Events Advertising Public Relations Figure: 5 E-marketing Promotions 9
  • 11. Literature Review: “E-marketing is sometimes considered to have a broader scope since it refers to digital media such as web, e-mail and wireless media, but also includes management of digital customer data and electronic customer relationship management systems (E-CRM systems).”- Dave Chaffey Electronic Marketing (E-Marketing) can be viewed as a new philosophy and a modern business practice involved with the marketing of goods, services, information and ideas via the Internet and other electronic means. By reviewing the relevant literature it is noticed that definitions of electronic marketing (E-Marketing) vary according to each author's point of view, background and specialization. For that, while Smith and Chaffey defines it as: “Achieving marketing objectives through applying digital technologies” (Smith and Chaffey, 2005: 11), Strauss and Frost define it as: “The use of electronic data and applications for planning and executing the conception, distribution and pricing of ideas, goods and services to create exchanges that satisfy individual and organizational goals” (Strauss and Frost, 2001: 454). On the other hand, the review of the relevant literature revealed that one of the main obstacles in the literature is the unclear way of dealing with the concept and definition of E- Marketing. In this respect most of the researchers misused the term E-Marketing; the majority of researchers are using the terms: E-Marketing / Internet-marketing / E- commerce / E-business as equivalents or a deferent wording for the same meaning, which is incorrect because they are deferent. For example, E-Marketing has a broader scope than internet- marketing since Internet Marketing (IM) refers only to the Internet, World Wide Web, e-mails. While E- Marketing includes all of that plus all other E-Marketing tools like: Intranets, Extranets and mobile phones. In contrast with that, E- commerce and E-business have a wider and broader scope than E-Marketing. These differences can be illustrated in the following figure. 10
  • 12. E-Business E-Commerce E-Marketing Internet Marketing Figure: 6 Differences among Internet Marketing, E-Marketing, E-Commerce & E-Business Source: El-Gohary et al (2010) By reviewing the literature of E-Marketing; in one hand, it is noticed that the number of studies conducted by researchers and practitioners in the field of E-Marketing from 2003 to 2010 is relatively limited. This can be justified by the relative novelty of E- Marketing. This provides an indication that E-Marketing is relatively new for academics and practitioners and also provides reasonable expectations about the increase in number of studies related to E- Marketing in the near future. The total number of studies was 365 studies, 73 % of it was empirical and 27 % of the total number of articles was not. It is also noticed that the research activity output in E-Marketing had decreased significantly between 2003 and 2008 within the literature period. Although the published articles had covered the following research areas: E-business, E-marketplace, Electronic Commerce, Electronic platforms, ICT adoption, Internet marketing, On-line trust, B2B, Performance evaluation, The Web, Electronic marketing, E-mail Making, E- readiness, E- relationships, E-security, E-service, E-supply chain management, Internet adaptation, 11
  • 13. Mobile marketing and some other research. Electronic Commerce was the major research area covered by the researchers in the field followed by Electronic Business and Internet marketing. Most of the empirical studies had been conducted in: the USA, Australia, New Zealand and the UK which was the biggest in number of studies conduct in the literature period. By analyzing the articles conducted in the UK market it was noticed that these articles had covered the following research areas: E-business, Electronic Commerce, Electronic marketing, Internet marketing, the web, ICT adoption, Business performance and some other research areas. On the other hand, most of the articles in the literature were published in the Journal of Small Business and Enterprise Development (27 articles) with a percentage of 7.4 % of the total number of studies conducted in the period of the literature. The next six top journals were: Internet research, Journal of Internet Marketing and Advertising, Journal of Electronic Commerce Research, Journal of Internet Marketing, Journal of Interactive Marketing and Journal of Business-to-Business Marketing. Based on the literature there are clear research gaps in the field of E-Marketing especially in the areas of E- Marketing performance as well as E-Marketing adoption in Small Business enterprises (SBEs). To fill such gaps and extend previous studies there is a need for conducting more research to investigate the relationship between implementing E-Marketing and SBEs performance. Present Status of E-marketing in Bangladesh Bangladesh has undergone a long way in its development of information and technology sector, which has paved the way of e -commerce and e -business. E-marketing has a significant impact on business costs and productivity. E-marketing has a chance to be widely adopted due to its simple applications. Thus it has a large economic impact. It gives the opportunity for “boundary crossing” as new entrants, business models, and changes in technology erode the barriers that used to separate one industry from another. These increases competition and innovation, which are likely to boost overall economic efficiency. Now, E-marketing has emerging business potentials in BD. The rapid expansion of the use of internet, cell phone, online banking, 12
  • 14. changing lifestyle of people, and migration of labor in foreign country is making E-marketing more prospectus in the country. There is also some great restriction exist in the development of E-marketing like security issue, low per capita income, lower access rate to internet, lack of government support, lack of infrastructural development. Starting a business in Bangladesh however is getting more competitive in this edge of business flourishment, economic uncertainty and variety of options to the customer. Today’s marketing techniques are the result of a huge technological and internal movement within this last decade. Some multinational companies have introduced us some real exceptional marketing methods and local companies are in competition. Now, the key to success for these businesses are choosing the right method of marketing and providing the right message to the customer.  Internet Usage Statistics: 5,570,535 Internet users as of Dec, 2011 3.5% of the population, according to ITU. Figure: 7 Internet Usages 13
  • 15. YEAR Users Population % of internet users 2000 100,000 134,824,000 0.1 % 2007 450,000 137,493,990 0.3 % 2009 556,000 156,050,883 0.4 % 2010 617,300 158,065,841 0.4 % 2011 5,501,609 158,570,535 3.5 % Table: 1 Internet Usage Statistics Source: International Monetary Fund. Phase 3 Phase 2 (2010- onwards) (2006-2009) Isolated e- Phase 1 marketing (Late 1990s-2006) Infrastructure building Figure: 8 Evolution of E-marketing in Bangladesh 14
  • 16.  Types of E-Marketing Suitable for Bangladeshi Company: By analyzing the demographics, data from reliable sources and by having a small online survey we have selected some of the most effective- marketing services in Bangladesh. Here is a list of these:  Social Media Marketing  Email Marketing to Targeted Customers  Search Engine Optimization  Content Marketing  Advertising on Ads Network  Brand and Reputation Management  Names of E-Marketing Company in Bangladesh:  Customize sourcing  Innotex  Macro media  Email brain  BD.jobs.com  Bikroy.com  Hatbazar.com  Tolet.com 15
  • 17. For a new entrant in a market, marketing is a crucial, and somewhat expensive, requirement in order to development some awareness of the new product. The private sector in Bangladesh has made significant progress in developing a marketing push through its industry associations. The public sector, however, can also contribute to this effort. Globalization has brought in many changes in the business scenario with the whole world inching towards one big market place. Communication between the buyers and sellers has become critical as each can opt to explore a greater number of alternatives than ever before. E- marketing through Internet, e-mails, websites, and other facilities, enables a businessman to be linked with every corner of the world, and thus opens up greater opportunities in the world market. Another important factor is the time required for completing a business transaction. As markets are becoming competitive and information is more readily available, a quick, reliable And replicable transaction implies availing of prevailing opportunities. On the contrary, delays in processing a transaction might become synonymous to wasting an opportunity. Therefore, a fast and alternative mechanism of communication, contract, and payment is an integral part of a globally competitive business organization. How important or relevant is e-marketing to the economy of Bangladesh – a developing economy – in general and to the export market in particular? The Information Technology (IT) revolution has been too phenomenal to predict its future growth and its use in an economy like Bangladesh’s. In the light of the recent spate of globalization and the initiation of the World Trade Organization (WTO), assessing the immediate and short or medium term relevance of e-marketing to Bangladesh becomes imperative. Now -a-days personal computers and the Internet are also emerging as day-to-day business tools in our country. These positive indicators are favoring the prospects of E-marketing in Bangladesh. 16
  • 18. Types of E-Marketing in Bangladesh: E-marketing is broadly divided in to the following types:  Display Advertising: the use of web banners or banner ads placed on a third-party website or blog to drive traffic to a company's own website and increase product awareness.  Search Engine Marketing (SEM): a form of marketing that seeks to promote websites by increasing their visibility in search engine result pages (SERPs) through the use of either paid placement, contextual advertising, and paid inclusion, or through the use of free search engine optimization techniques also known as organic result.  Search Engine Optimization (SEO): the process of improving the visibility of a website or a web page in search engines via the "natural" or un-paid ("organic" or "algorithmic") search results.  Social Media Marketing: the process of gaining traffic or attention through social media websites such as Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.  Email Marketing: directly marketing a commercial message to a group of people using electronic mail.  Referral Marketing: a method of promoting products or services to new customers through referrals, usually word of mouth.  Affiliate Marketing: a marketing practice in which a business rewards one or more affiliates for each visitor or customer brought about by the affiliate's own marketing efforts.  Inbound Marketing: involves creating and freely sharing informative content as a means of converting prospects into customers and customers into repeat buyers.  Video Marketing: This type of marketing specializes in creating videos that engage the viewer into a buying state by presenting information in video form and guiding them to a product or service. Online video is increasingly becoming more popular among internet users and companies are seeing it as a viable method of attracting customers.  Online advertisement as Digital Promotions for Television: Online advertisement can also be classified as Digital Promotions. Digital promotion in connection to the television industry is when networks use authentic digital resources to promote their new shows in a growing vast range of venues. Television networks development of digital 17
  • 19. off air promotional strategies allowed digital promotion to remain significant to the advertisement advancement in the television. Examples of television online digital promotions: The Sci Fi network for loaded a special recap episode of Battlestar Galactica onto Microsoft’s Xbox online gaming service; this gave the audience additional opportunities to sample content if they may or may not be familiar with the show. Another example of digital promotion in television is when network CBS incorporated new digital technologies of Bluetooth-enabled mobile devices that were able to download a thirty-second clip of a new show on their devices; consumers standing in range of a billboard don’t need an internet link to download the show’s content. These non-linear viewing opportunities provided as a valuable tool for gaining audiences; and to encourage them to intersect with the linear audience.  Approaches:  One-to-one approaches: In a one-to-one approach, marketers target a user browsing the Internet alone and so that the marketers' messages reach the user personally. This approach is used in search marketing, for which the advertisements are based on search engine keywords entered by the users. This approach usually works under the pay per click (PPC) method.[  Appeal to specific interests: When appealing to specific interests, marketers place an emphasis on appealing to a specific behavior or interest, rather than reaching out to a broadly defined demographic. These marketers typically segment their markets according to age group, gender, geography, and other general factors. Appealing to specific users can be achieved through behavioral targeting which refers to the use of behavioral patterns and putting up the relevant content suitable to the viewer's interest obtained from the user through cookies and other tools and contextual advertising which refers to the publishing of advertisements and ads based on the context the user in. For example if the user is searching for coffee, the search engine publishes ads related to coffee.  Niche marketing: In conventional niche marketing, clusters of consumers (the niche) are identified in order to more economically and efficiently target them. Similarly, niche internet marketing attempts to create a more direct advertising message for those who are seen as most likely to buy the product being advertised (see Target audience and Conversion rate). 18
  • 20. Niche internet marketing focuses on marketing products and services which are, or can appear, tailor-made for a specific subset of consumers who are expected to buy the product or service with a specific motivation. The online advertising message (or product web site) can then be similarly tailor-made to target that assumed motivation. In combination with search engine optimization, the niche internet marketer can attempt to increase the likelihood that their product's advertisement (or site) will be seen by customers in the relevant niche.  Geo-targeting: In Internet marketing, geo-targeting is the methods of determining the geo- location of a website visitor with geo-location software, and delivering different content to that visitor based on his or her location, such as latitude and longitude, country, region or state, city, metro code or zip code, organization, Internet Protocol (IP) address, ISP, and other criteria.  Types of Ad: Though, as seen above, the large majority of online advertising has a cost that is brought about by usage or interaction of an ad, there are a few other methods of advertising online that only require a onetime payment. The Million Dollar Homepage is a very successful example of this. Visitors were able to pay $1 per pixel of advertising space and their advert would remain on the homepage for as long as the website exists with no extra costs.  Floating Ad: An ad which moves across the user's screen or floats above the content.  Expanding Ad: An ad which changes size and which may alter the contents of the webpage.  Polite Ad: A method by which a large ad will be downloaded in smaller pieces to minimize the disruption of the content being viewed  Wallpaper Ad: An ad which changes the background of the page being viewed.  Trick Banner: A banner ad that looks like a dialog box with buttons. It simulates an error message or an alert.  Pop-Up: A new window which opens in front of the current one, displaying an advertisement, or entire webpage. 19
  • 21.  Pop-Under: Similar to a Pop-Up except that the window is loaded or sent behind the current window so that the user does not see it until they close one or more active windows.  Video Ad: similar to a banner ad, except that instead of a static or animated image, actual moving video clips are displayed. This is the kind of advertising most prominent in television, and many advertisers will use the same clips for both television and online advertising.  Map Ad: text or graphics linked from, and appearing in or over, a location on an electronic map such as on Google Maps.  Mobile Ad: an SMS text or multi-media message sent to a cell phone.  Superstitial: An animated ad on a Web page from Enliven Marketing Technologies. It uses video, 3D content or Flash to provide a TV-like advertisement. Used to be known as Unicast Transitional ads as they were originally made by Unicast Communications but the company was acquired by Viewpoint Corporation in 2004, which then changed its name to Enliven in 2008. [24]  Interstitial ad: a full-page ad that appears before a user reaches their original destination.  Frame ad: an ad that appeared within an HTML frame, usually at the top with the site logo. As the user browsed the site, the frame would not change. In addition, ads containing streaming video or streaming audio are becoming very popular with advertisers.  E-mail advertising  Display advertising  Affiliate marketing  Behavioral targeting  Semantic advertising  Social network advertising 20
  • 22. Business Models: This section does not cite any references or sources. Please help improve this section by adding citations to reliable sources. Unsorted material may be challenged and removed. Internet marketing is associated with several business models given as the following:  E-Commerce: a model whereby goods and services are sold directly to a consumer or business.  Lead-Based Websites: a strategy whereby an organization generates value by acquiring sales leads from its website. Similar to walk-in customers in retail world. These prospects are often referred to as organic leads.  Affiliate Marketing: a process wherein a product or service developed by one entity is sold by other active sellers for a share of profits. The entity that owns the product may provide some marketing material (e.g., sales letters, affiliate links, tracking facilities, etc. However, the vast majority of affiliate marketing relationships come from e-commerce businesses that offer affiliate programs.  Revenue Models in Bangladesh: Compensation Methods: The three most common ways in which online advertising is purchased are CPM, CPC, and CPA.  CPM (Cost per Mile) or CPT (Cost per Thousand Impressions) is when advertisers pay for exposure of their message to a specific audience. "Per mille" means per thousand impressions, or loads of an advertisement. However, some impressions may not be counted, such as a reload or internal user action.  CPV (Cost per Visitor) is when advertisers pay for the delivery of a Targeted Visitor to the advertisers website.  CPV (Cost per View) is when advertisers pay for each unique user view of an advertisement or website (usually used with pop-ups, pop-unders and interstitial ads). 21
  • 23. CPC (Cost per Click) or PPC (Pay per Click) is when advertisers pay each time a user clicks on their listing and is redirected to their website. They do not actually pay for the listing, but only when the listing is clicked on. This system allows advertising specialists to refine searches and gain information about their market. Under the Pay per click pricing system, advertisers pay for the right to be listed under a series of target rich words that direct relevant traffic to their website, and pay only when someone clicks on their listing which links directly to their website. CPC differs from CPV in that each click is paid for regardless of whether the user makes it to the target site.  CPA (Cost per Action or Cost per Acquisition) or PPF (Pay per Performance) advertising is performance based and is common in the affiliate marketing sector of the business. In this payment scheme, the publisher takes all the risk of running the ad, and the advertiser pays only for the number of users who complete a transaction, such as a purchase or sign- up. This model ignores any inefficiency in the seller's web site conversion funnel. The following are common variants of CPA:  CPL (Cost per Lead) advertising is identical to CPA advertising and is based on the user completing a form, registering for a newsletter or some other action that the merchant feels will lead to a sale.  CPS (Cost per Sale), PPS (Pay per Sale), or CPO (Cost per Order) advertising is based on each time a sale is made.[18]  eCPM: Effective CPM or eCPM calculated through other conversion events such as Cost per Clicks, Cost per Downloads, Cost per Leads etc. for example when an advertiser getting $2 per download and for 100,000 impressions you received 10 downloads worth $20, in this case your effective CPM or eCPM will be 2*20*1000/100,000= $0.4  Fixed Cost: Advertiser paying fixed cost for delivery frame by campaign flight dates without any relevance to performance  Cost per conversion describes the cost of acquiring a customer, typically calculated by dividing the total cost of an ad campaign by the number of conversions. 22
  • 24. Financial Prospects of E-Marketing:  Macro-economic trend: This is a chart of trend of gross domestic product of Bangladesh at market prices estimated by the International Monetary Fund with figures in millions of Bangladeshi Taka. However, this reflects only the formal sector of the economy. Year Gross Domestic Product US Dollar Exchange Inflation Index Per Capita Income (2000=100) (as % of USA) 1980 250,300 16.10 Taka 20 1.79 1985 597,318 31.00 Taka 36 1.19 1990 1,054,234 35.79 Taka 58 1.16 1995 1,594,210 40.27 Taka 78 1.12 2000 2,453,160 52.14 Taka 100 0.97 2005 3,913,334 63.92 Taka 126 0.95 2008 5,003,438 68.65 Taka 147 Table: 2 Trend of Gross Domestic Product of Bangladesh Mean wages were $0.58 per man-hour in 2009. The World Bank predicted economic growth of 6.5% for current year. Foreign aid has seen a decline of 10% over the last few months but economists see this as a good sign for self-reliance. There has been 18% growth in exports over the last 9 months and remittance inflow has increased at a remarkable 25% rate. 23
  • 25. Fiscal Year Total Export Total Import Foreign Remittance Earnings 2007–2008 $14.11b $25.205b $8.9b 2008–2009 $15.56b $22.00b+ $9.68b 2009–2010 $16.7b ~$24b $10.87b 2010–2011 $22.93b $32b $11.65b 2011–2012 $24.30b $35.92b $12.85b Table: 3 Trend of Export, Import & Remittance  Ad Server Market Structure: Given below is a list of top Ad server vendors in 2008 with figures in millions of viewers published in an Attributor survey. Since 2008 Google has controlled an estimated 69% of the online advertising market. Vendor Ad viewers (millions) Google 18 Double Click (Google) 2 Yahoo! 3 MSN (Microsoft) 1 AOL 1 Ad Brite .5 Total 25.5 Table: 4 Ad Server Market Structure 24
  • 26. Bangladesh is steadily forwarding toward digitalization which paves the way toward sound financial growth on e-marketing. Future trends Bangladesh’s retail market is estimated at $1 billion in 2011 and is expected to grow to $2.5 billion by 2016 and $8 billion by 2020 – estimated growth rate is 18%. Technological Prospect of E-Marketing: 1. Facebook’s Online Marketing Platform: The adoption of Face book’s advertising capabilities and ability to target specific segments by smaller and mid-sized firms. While Face book has done little this year to improve the features in its advertising portal, the business community is beginning to adopt the platform en mass. If you haven’t heard of facebakers.com, you might want to review the international levels of adoption of Face book as a global advertising player. 2. Privacy Showdown Becomes a Major News Topic in 2011: Digital marketers had a lot of press coverage on their tactics in the last half of 2011. We’ll see public debates, but I don’t think that there will be any major changes this year in the law. However, I do believe that we’ll see some innovations coming in the way of online reputation managers allowing both sellers and regular folks to create digital reputation management badge that can be taken with them across all websites. 3. Smart Phones for Everyone. No longer reserved for the traveling elite, smart phones have found their way into the hands of soccer moms, teenagers, tweeners, and even children. The 7-12 year olds at church were asking for the “itouch” on their holiday gift list. Digital cameras are going away, and devices that double as cam-recorders and “The Jetsons” video telephones are coming to a hand near you. Droid, Blackberry and Apple will fight and Blackberry will become a distant third because they haven’t catered to the all-powerful Apps content the way Droid and Apple have. See #4 for more on this topic. 25
  • 27. 4. Software as a Service: Major software industries are being consolidated from the traditional client / server model. Companies such as Net Suite, Sales force, Omniture, Rackspace, and others are finally making it possible to enjoy the benefits of the internet without having to be a propeller-headed, geek. This is our hope and Lima Consulting Group continues to position itself to help companies benefit from these trends by integrating these software solutions for our clients. We believe there are three “i’s” in technology Innovators (the manufacturers of software), Implementers (the installers) and Integrators (consulting companies that implement two or more of the innovators solutions). We’ll continue to see increased competition from new entrants who present themselves as “cloud computing”, “Software as a Service” consulting companies. 5. Cloud Computing: Cloud computing is an amorphous term, but I’m defining it here as data centers migrating away from corporate or the home to the internet based data centers. Firms like Rackspace, Carbonate, Jungle Disk and my favorite, Box.net are really growing their user base. The ability to integrate these applications within other software packages, (for example you can integrate Box.net within Net Suite), is a real alternative to the costly implementations for tools like Share point and Documented. Keep an eye on the company that Computer Associates acquired, 3Tera, and software companies that virtualized data centers and applications. This software allows data centers to move their entire operation to the data center closest to the highest levels of traffic within seconds. As the world rotates each day, the data centers will also rotate to wherever the sun is shining. The data center that never sees night – interesting concept towards addressing disaster recovery and increasing internet speeds while seeking best pricing on energy. That’s enough to make the “green” contingency happy, the typical internet user and even the lawyers among us. 6. Everything™ vs. Robot This: IPad launches, iPhone 4.0 and iOS make it easy for entry level developers to develop over 300,000 which were downloaded over 7 billion times. The median revenue is less than $700 while the average cost to develop an app ranges from $15,000 to $50,000. The iPad took the world by storm introducing a new category of computing, or at least bringing a niche category of 26
  • 28. tablet computing to the forefront. Today, Barnes and Noble declared the Nook as their best selling product ever; it’s been out – what – two months? And the Kindle brings up the 3rd place spot filling a need for a less tech-savvy crowd. But the real shift in 2011 will be back to subscription models to pay for content such as the WSJ, NetFlix downloaded to your devices and of course e-books, which outsold regular books in 2010 and lastly the world’s largest media company, yep – you guessed it – Apple. They sell more media than any other company. So the device and the content combination will engage in hand-to-hand combat with Google’s Android more flexible and open platform. Microsoft really should be the one giving Apple the competition here, they missed their chance. If Google gets this right, they will finally be out of trouble in having 96% of their revenue coming from their online advertising product, Adwords. Look for a bloody battle between these two in 2011; it’s going to get personal. 7. Here an App, there an App, Everywhere an App: Sales force started the first large-scale App store with their App Xchange. Then Apple with their App Store, then every company in the internet base Software as a Service model did. Net Suite has the BOS network, Omniture has the Genesis partners, Droid has andoid.com and the list goes on. The widespread adoption of the “crap apps” out there will be a major reason that the victor will emerge, and I predict that Apple will continue here for several years to lead. While Droid has flash, and an open network, I heard once that “average products well marketed will beat good products with average marketing.” And the iPhone is no average product, they have the first mover advantage for having created the category and they don’t appear to be letting off the accelerator in terms of innovating both their software and their hardware associated with the iPhone and iPad. I for one have been impressed with their advances the last three years and I am eager to see what they launch in the summer with their next generation iPhone and iPad. 8. Net Neutrality: Net Neutrality in 2010 allowed one standard for wireless providers and another for landlines making, in essence 2 playing fields. This was an unfortunate ruling that would allow certain wireless providers to block features that don’t need to be blocked for any other reason than it would cannibalize the cell phone company’s revenue. Central to the issue is Skype’s video chat and voice chat using the 3G network on the major carriers. Verizon allows it, AT&T does not. 27
  • 29. 9. Personalized Online Experiences based on what you’ve done on the Internet: The improvement in web analytics to allow for personalization of ads and content based on prior site visits. Solutions such as Omniture’s Test and Target, Recommendations, Merchandising, Survey, and Search and Promote became more widely adopted and this notion of personalizing experiences on the web is the future of online experiences. The increased integration of your entire totality of information available to digital marketers will allow them to develop a more complete picture of an individual’s online behavior and interests than ever before. Armed with the profile information collected from social networking sites such as Face book, linked in, Twitter, you tube, and others they can present more relevant content and online experiences. The first to adopt these technologies will be media companies and ecommerce marketplaces. 10. Hacking used as a tool by ordinary citizens as a method of protesting: WikiLeaks renegades using social computing to propagate their Denial of Service Attacks. By enlisting anyone who wished to support the WikiLeaks organization, thousands of novice hackers downloaded the software and allowed their computers to attack the likes of Visa, MasterCard, Pay pal, and other internet giants. This behavior reminds of the flash gangs that started popping up around Philadelphia, and more recently in Rio de Janeiro. They happen when a ring leader sets a time and place for hundreds of his hooligan friends to show up and rob neighborhood stores and then disperse within minutes making it nearly impossible for police to find the vandals. This trend will continue in 2011 by less and less sophisticated threats. Welcome to the new era, for good or for bad, of the masses having the ability to meet (a right that in many countries is not granted) and to conduct large-scale coordinated hacking attacks for any purpose. 11. E-Marketing is the fastest means of marketing in now a day’s economy we can sell & buy online while you are in your home. 12. This can be used as publishing is the sale of advertising. 28
  • 30. Constraints or Challenges of E-Marketing: E-marketing has several challenges. Among them the fallowing are critical. 1. Limited access and use of computer and telephone 2. High internet connection cost 3. Slow internet connection speed 4. Unpredictable power supplies 5. Credit card conundrum 6. Lack of modern financial system 7. Language barrier 8. Lack of flat rate phone plan 9. High illiteracy rate 10. Legislation and regulation are not contemporary 11. Personal computer and other computer device access rate is low 12. Low penetration of credit card 13. Security and privacy issues Computer and Telephone Access: To make successful e marketing customer must have access to computer and an internet service provider (ISP) to use the internet. In Bangladesh numbers of internet users are not enough to support successful e marketing. 29
  • 31. Internet Connection Cost: Country like Bangladesh has higher internet related business cost- a concern because the internet is essential for every e business. Internet connection cost is high relative to the purchase power of people Slow Internet Connection Speed and Website Design: Another key issue of e marketing in BD is the relationship between connection speed and web site design. Although most internet connection around the world is through dial up connections, a telephone line limits the speed which data can be sent and received. The current maximum speed for modern internet connection is 300kbps. Download speed is 300kbps.This has significant implication for Website design, specially the extent to which graphics are used. The web is quintessentially a visual medium and users expects to see pictures, particularly complicated graphics and pictures that move, swirl and morph into usual shape. Yet each of these elements slows the download rate. In BD, with slow connections speed and a user may be paying the minute, download speed is a major consideration. Two points are important here. First, every e-marketer needs to understand how connection speeds influence download rate. Second, just because graphic designers can do something cutting edge on websites doesn't mean they should. In other words, just because a website can use flash graphics and incorporate a lot of pictures doesn't mean that it should. Unpredictable Power Supplies: In BD another challenge for e-marketer is sporadic electricity. Supplies of electricity and access to it don’t bring optimum position to bring a good prospect for e-marketing. Credit Card Conundrum: Convenience and ease of transaction are two of the internet’s greatest benefits. Credit card and secure online payment systems make seamless and easy web based transactions in developed countries. So, it is not always possible for buyer to pay electronically for not having a credit card. 30
  • 32. Lack of Modern Financial System: The Bangladeshi cash based culture limits the volume of online transactions. The establishment of payment counter, ATM booth and collection agencies is expected to lessen to severity of the problem but will also add to overhead expense incurred by online service. Language Barrier: Most online service providers opt to provide bilingual interface for their sites to accommodate local and foreign customer. This increase cost and adds some technical challenges. High Illiteracy Rate: High illiteracy rate limits usage of high-tech services of all kinds. Progressive governmental strategies are centrally needed to reduce the relatively high illiteracy rate. Legislation and Regulation: New rules and laws are needed to address issues related to taxation, software piracy, credit card fraud and online money laundering. Methodology of E-Marketing Survey: Methodology is usually a guideline system for solving a problem, with specific components such as phases, tasks, methods, techniques and tools. It can be defined also as follows: 1. "The analysis of the principles of methods, rules, and postulates employed by a discipline". 2. "The systematic study of methods that are, can be, or have been applied within a discipline". 3. "The study or description of methods". 31
  • 33. We collect our data from both primary & secondary sources. A. Primary sources: 1. Personal Observation. 2. Online Survey. 3. Focus group Interview. 4. Working experience of different sector of E-Marketing. 5. Face to face conversation. 6. Some organization who practices E-Marketing. 7. Statistical information. B. Secondary sources: 1. Websites. 2. Some books related on E-Marketing. 3. Some articles on E-Marketing. 4. Some Journal about E-Marketing. 5. Different Research Report. Data Collection tools:  Telephone.  Internet.  Mail.  Direct Phone. 32
  • 34. Survey Questionnaire, Result & Analysis:  E-Marketing Survey question (Customer Point of View): Name: Working Status: Age: Religion: Please (√) each of the questions: 1. Do you know about the online purchasing system? a) Yes b) No 2. For which purpose do you use the online purchasing system? a) Shopping b) Purchasing book c) For ordering software d) Others 3. How many times do you use online purchasing or E-Marketing? a) Each day b) One week c) One month d) In a year e) Never 33
  • 35. 4. Do you enjoy using online marketing? a) Yes b) No c) No comment 5. Why do you enjoy using E-Marketing? a) Convenient b) Less time c) Less cost d) others 6. Why do you not like to use E-Marketing? a) Security problem b) Not capable to use computer c) Complicated system d) Others  E-Marketing Survey question (Organization Point of View): Name of your organization: Address: Type of Business: Please (√) each of the questions: 1. Do you use E-Marketing system in your organization? a) Yes 34
  • 36. b) No 2. Why are you using E-Marketing? a) Customer convenience b) Stylish system c) Easy to control d) Attract more customer e) Other issue 3. Why you are not like to use E-Marketing? a) Complicated system b) Customer are not interested to use it c) Costly d) Others issue 4. In your industry is E-Marketing popular? a) Yes b) No c) No comment 5. Do you believe E-Marketing will be popular in Bangladesh after 5 years? a) Yes b) No c) No comment 35
  • 37.  E-Marketing Survey Output and Explanation (Consumer Point of View) 1. Do you know about the online purchasing system? Do you know about online purchasing system? 11% Yes No 89% Explanation: In our survey we find 89% of our respondent knows about E-Marketing. 11% of our respondent doesn’t know about it. The figure is clearly significant. 2. For which purpose do you use the online purchasing system? For which purpose do you use the online purchasing system? 20% Shopping 40% Purchasing book 10% For ordering software others 30% 36
  • 38. Explanation: In our survey we found that 40% of our respondent using E-marketing for shopping purpose. 20% are using for purchasing book. 10% are using for ordering software. 3. How many times do you use online purchasing or E-Marketing? How many times do you use online purchasing or E-Marketing? 4% 14% Each day 13% One week One month 22% In a year 45% Never Explanation: In the survey we have found that 4% of our respondent each day using E-marketing. 45% of the respondents are never using E-Marketing. 4. Do you enjoy using E-Marketing? Do you enjoy using E-Marketing? 12% Yes No 39% 59% No Comment 37
  • 39. Explanation: In our survey 59% of the respondent would like to use E-Marketing. 39% would not prefer E marketing. 12% of the respondent doesn’t respond. 5. Why do you enjoy using E-Marketing? Why do you enjoy using E- Marketing? 11% convenint 15% 49% less tme less cost others 25% Explanation: 49% of the respondent prefer convenient. Time is important to the 25% of the respondent. 15% prefer cost and 11% feels it other reasons. 6. Why do you not like to use E-marketing? Why do you not like to use E- Marketing? 5% 10% Security problem Not capable to use computer 55% Complicated system 30% others : 38
  • 40. Explanation: Security problem is the main reason main problem the respondent belief. 55% believe that security problem is crucial. 30% are not habituated to use E marketing.  E-Marketing Survey Output and Explanation (Organization Point of View) 1. Do you use E-Marketing system in your organization? Do you use E-Marketing system in your organization? 35% Yes 65% No Explanation: In our survey 65% of the organization is using E marketing. Others are not habituated with this system. 2. Why are you using E-Marketing? Why are you using E-Marketing? 10% Customer convenience 30% Stylish system 30% Easy to control Attract more customer 20% others issue 10% 39
  • 41. Explanation: Most of the respondents are using E-Marketing to attract the customer and customer convenient. 3. Why do you not like to use E-Marketing? Why do you not like to use E- Marketing? Complicated system 5% 30% Customer are not interested to use it 45% Costly 20% Others issue Explanation: Most of the respondent believes that E marketing is costly to maintain and develop. 30% believe that the system is complicated. 4. In your industry is E-marketing popular? In your industry is E-marketing popular? 5% Yes 50% No 50% No comment 40
  • 42. Explanation: Most of the respondent believes that E-marketing is popular in their industry. 5. Do you believe E-Marketing will be popular in Bangladesh after 5 years? Do you believe E-Marketing will be popular in Bangladesh after 5 years? 5% 25% Yes No No comment 70% Explanation: Most of the respondents believe that E-marketing will get its full speed within 5 years from now. Recommendation: Organization should take the responsibility to makes popular E Marketing in Bangladesh. Its helps them to reduce the cost and convenient and value added service to its customer. The other recommendations are: 1. Train the people to use the E Marketing system 2. To provide more information about the benefit of E Marketing system 41
  • 43. 3. Organization need to have more preparation to use the system thus there are no problem when the user use the E Marketing system. 4. The current govt. of republic of Bangladesh’s is to make a “Digital Bangladesh”, so they have also the responsibility to develop more E marketing related firm 5. At last public should aware to use E marketing as the system is developing only for customer convenience. Conclusion: Despite being a poor country, selected segments of the Bangladeshi business community has embraced technology with reasonable success. The Facsimile in the 1980’s and mobile telephones in the 1990’s popularized modern technology in the mass market. Personal computers and the Internet are also emerging as day-to-day business tools. These positive indicators are favoring the prospects of e-commerce in Bangladesh. Synergy between telecommunications and information technology has the proven capability of monitoring and administering the real-time transactions. Therefore, liberalizing the telecom and IT sectors as well as reforming the country’s financial and commercial procedures is the preconditions of successfully implementing ecommerce in Bangladesh. In the case of marketing, simply having a website in the vast sea of the Internet is not sufficient. Uniformity is an important factor in the commencing of contracts through the Internet. Therefore, to take advantage of the newer opportunities that IT development presents, the Bangladeshi companies have to attain internationally accepted certification on quality control, competitive price and timely delivery. Creating awareness among the Bangladeshi exporters regarding e-commerce is essential. They have to be knowledgeable to appreciate and to utilize the benefits of IT. Business associations can play a major part at this juncture by highlighting the benefits of IT to its members, and encouraging them to use customized software for their day-to-day operations. The overview of the legal and regulatory statutes suggests that Bangladesh has made significant progress in facing the challenge of globalization and concurrently, embracing e-commerce in due course. Technological and infrastructural constraints to e-commerce can be overcome if existing laws and regulations are 42
  • 44. implemented. A better understanding of the potential benefits of e-commerce by the policy makers and bureaucrats is essential for speedy implementation and further reforms. References:  Bangladesh Bank, Foreign Exchange Guidelines  Bangladesh Bureau of Statistics  Bangladesh economic forum  IMF information & technology review on BD  www.wikipedia.org  Ministry of Commerce, Government of Bangladesh  The World Bank Group 43