Are you looking for a way to engage your donors without always asking for a donation?
Do you need strategies and tactics for doing online acquisition?
This session talks about the relationship between advocacy and fundraising, how organizations are using advocacy successfully for list growth and engagement, and shows you valuable case studies from successful organizations. We also discuss best practices in assessing ROI (return on investment) for online acquisition, so you can see how to make advocacy pay.
"Making Advocacy Pay: Understanding the Link Between Activism and Giving"
This thought-provoking session features these industry leaders:
-Vinay Bhagat, Founder & Chief Strategy Officer, Convio
-Yvonne Garrett, Partner, OMP
-Randy Paynter, Founder & CEO, Care2
About the Presenters:
Vinay Bhagat, Founder & Chief Strategy Officer, Convio: Vinay Bhagat is Founder and Chief Strategy Officer of Convio. Vinay founded Convio in April 1999 after volunteering at a public television pledge drive and seeing the opportunity to leverage Internet technology to drive better fundraising results. Today, as chief strategy officer, he oversees corporate strategy and is actively involved in research and client success strategies. A frequent speaker at conferences, Vinay has addressed events hosted by the Association of Fundraising Professionals, Direct Marketing Association Nonprofit Federation, Council for the Advancement and Support of Education, Independent Sector, Integrated Media Association, Politics Online, Public Broadcasting System and National Voluntary Healthcare Association. Vinay also is a widely published author, including a chapter in "People to People Fundraising: Social Networking and Web 2.0 for Charities" and articles that appear regularly in DM News, Journal of the Direct Marketing Association Nonprofit Federation and on OnPhilanthropy.com. Vinay holds degrees from Harvard Business School (MBA) where he graduated as a Baker Scholar, Stanford University (MS) and Cambridge University (MA) in England. He has volunteered for several Austin and international nonprofits.
Yvonne Garrett, Partner, OMP: Yvonne Garrett is a Partner at OMP, Inc., a full-service fundraising and communications agency that serves leading causes in the U.S. Yvonne has been deeply involved in political and advocacy fundraising for almost 20 years. Working with candidates and groups such as the Natural Resources Defense Council and Oxfam America, she has helped helped her clients achieve dramatic fundraising success and list growth. Today, Yvonne specializes in helping organizations develop cross-channel programs that blend advocacy and fundraising. Prior to joining OMP in 2004, Yvonne was Vice President of the Share Group.
Randy Paynter is the Founder and CEO of social action network Care2.com. With over 15 million members, Care2 is the largest online community of people making a difference for human rights, animals, the environment and o
DonorVoice Overview Deck.
How do you truly address the leaky bucket?
What is the best way to spend the next dollar?
How do build relationships with donors that tie to the bottom line?
With more communications channels out there, your supporters are getting bombarded with more messages from charities, companies, friends, and family members. So how can you make sure your organization stands out? This workshop offered background and tips on multichannel campaigns and a case study of a year-end fundraising campaign for Fountain House.
Natural philanthropy: How the natural origins of donor motivations drive powe...Russell James
Charitable giving is not a modern invention of the industrialized world. It is a natural behavior as old as humankind. In this presentation, Professor James reviews scientific research from a range of disciplines to uncover the natural origins of philanthropy and translates these scientific concepts into effective fundraising strategies. Be prepared to see how theory and science can produce powerful, practical, real-world fundraising success.
DonorVoice Overview Deck.
How do you truly address the leaky bucket?
What is the best way to spend the next dollar?
How do build relationships with donors that tie to the bottom line?
With more communications channels out there, your supporters are getting bombarded with more messages from charities, companies, friends, and family members. So how can you make sure your organization stands out? This workshop offered background and tips on multichannel campaigns and a case study of a year-end fundraising campaign for Fountain House.
Natural philanthropy: How the natural origins of donor motivations drive powe...Russell James
Charitable giving is not a modern invention of the industrialized world. It is a natural behavior as old as humankind. In this presentation, Professor James reviews scientific research from a range of disciplines to uncover the natural origins of philanthropy and translates these scientific concepts into effective fundraising strategies. Be prepared to see how theory and science can produce powerful, practical, real-world fundraising success.
Motivate your Fundraisers to Higher Goals with Incentive Marketing ProgramsFirstGiving
Motivate Your Fundraisers to Higher Goals with Incentive Marketing Programs
Are you struggling to motivate your fundraisers to reach their goals? Or, to raise their goals once they’ve reached them? Is your traditional email marketing ineffective or non-existent? Are you looking for a simple way to reward your fundraisers for all their hard work?
In this webinar, we will show you how incentive marketing can boost your fundraisers level by integrating an online fundraising platform, a robust pre-event communications plan, and a motivating incentive program into your fundraising campaign this year.
After The Gift: How To Build A Satisfied, Loyal Donor Base4Good.org
Everything you do after someone makes their first donation will determine if they will give that all-important second gift. 50-80% never do. And this is costing you money. Why? Because it’s much more expensive to find a new donor than it is for you to keep a current donor. This webinar will explain the reasons donors often stop giving to your organization and what you can do to change that.
What makes regular giving (monthly giving) programs flourish.
*long range plans & budgets
*beck end, ongoing and channel management
* proposition development
* and more
Get ready to have a great online campaign. During this presentation by Care2 and Company K Media, nonprofit communications expert Kerri Karvetski dissects the marketing and communications tactics of a multi-channel online fundraising campaign from thought to finish, revealing each step, in order, that leads to success. And you'll see real fundraising examples that even small nonprofits can emulate.
Motivate your Fundraisers to Higher Goals with Incentive Marketing ProgramsFirstGiving
Motivate Your Fundraisers to Higher Goals with Incentive Marketing Programs
Are you struggling to motivate your fundraisers to reach their goals? Or, to raise their goals once they’ve reached them? Is your traditional email marketing ineffective or non-existent? Are you looking for a simple way to reward your fundraisers for all their hard work?
In this webinar, we will show you how incentive marketing can boost your fundraisers level by integrating an online fundraising platform, a robust pre-event communications plan, and a motivating incentive program into your fundraising campaign this year.
After The Gift: How To Build A Satisfied, Loyal Donor Base4Good.org
Everything you do after someone makes their first donation will determine if they will give that all-important second gift. 50-80% never do. And this is costing you money. Why? Because it’s much more expensive to find a new donor than it is for you to keep a current donor. This webinar will explain the reasons donors often stop giving to your organization and what you can do to change that.
What makes regular giving (monthly giving) programs flourish.
*long range plans & budgets
*beck end, ongoing and channel management
* proposition development
* and more
Get ready to have a great online campaign. During this presentation by Care2 and Company K Media, nonprofit communications expert Kerri Karvetski dissects the marketing and communications tactics of a multi-channel online fundraising campaign from thought to finish, revealing each step, in order, that leads to success. And you'll see real fundraising examples that even small nonprofits can emulate.
Astek's Rachel Yeomans walks through the process of creating an effective social media strategy for attendees at the Specialized Information Publishers Association conference in Miami Beach.
Understanding Key Metrics Of Direct Mail, Online, & Multi-Channel FundraisingSanky Inc.
Presentation of metrics and how to use them for fundraising, by Bryan Terpstra and Paul Habig (@paulhabig).
Covering direct mail metrics, email analysis, website analytics and how multi-channel fundraising increases results.
Presented at DMA Fresh Tracks in Washington, DC, March 2, 2012
Donors are supporting nonprofits through multiple channels – mail, phone, email, website, events, social media, and more – but how do you create a truly integrated campaign? To be successful today, nonprofits must augment their offline programs with technology to connect with donors and prospects. These are slides from three experts who shared their successes for creative, effective integration at FundRaising Day NY on June 10, 2011.
A presentation Chip Grizzard and I gave at the 2016 annual Missions Getaway conference. The topic of the presentation was reconnecting with donors and constituents and optimizing communications for effectiveness.
DMANF Digital Day Chicago - Data and AnalyticsHeather Marsh
A practical guide of how to analyze the success of your fundraising program, key metrics to consider and overall excellent advice from Kevin Moran of Integral
Learn how other non-profit organizations have created a closed loop system that tracks response, captures donor motivations, and helps increase participation and revenues. Leave with a clear picture of how to develop your own communication plan that will connect, engage, and convert more donors.
Artez Interactive - Top five reasons for nonprofits to still use direct mailArtez Interactive
The cost and technical barriers for online fundraising have dropped dramactically enabling any development professional to be more creative and raise more money online. The webinar will offer five practical ways for universities, colleges and schools to raise more money via online fundraising. The webinar will talk about segmenting your student and alumni base, engaging students and alumni as fundraisers and will discuss ideas for using social media in fundraising.
The webinar will feature several case studies presented by the webinar's guest host, Jeff Wright, Associate Director of Annual Giving at the University of Alberta.
This is a brief company introduction of Radica and product feature highlight, along with some key idea of how email brings hotel more customer and sales revenue.
Fundraising Today and Tomorrow: The Next Generation of Giving - The Constitue...hjc
Ken Kuhler, Interactive Strategy Manager, Blackbaud, discussed how to apply next generation trend data to your multi-channel, multi-generational fundraising and engagement efforts including practical tools and techniques, and real-world case studies.
Organizations are doing great advocacy and fundraising work in a variety of channels -- online, offline, and everywhere in between. With an integrated approach, all that work can add up to more than the sum of its parts, but figuring out where to focus can be frustrating.
Join Avalon Consulting and Change.org to learn the five critical strategies that will help integrate your efforts and drive the most value from your direct marketing work across all your channels, including:
* Welcoming new supporters and capitalizing on first-time donors
* Cross-channel integration best practices
* Testing and tracking multichannel efforts
Everything You Need to Know About Measuring Online Results But Were Afraid to...Steve MacLaughlin
This was presented at the 47th AFP International Conference on Fundraising. This session covers web, email, social media and multi-channel metrics and explain the whats, hows, and ways for measuring them successfully.
Similar to Making Advocacy Pay: Understanding the Link Between Activism & Giving (20)
You had me at Hello: 7 mostly not crazy ideas to make sure you’re making the most of new supporter relationships
So you've got a bunch of new names from somewhere...Facebook, a contest, a progressive social action network, (ahem) Care2. Now what?
Well, you could start with "hello." Or, actually, anything. Kinda nuts, but sometimes it can take organizations too long to make any sort of proper introduction. And then your new joins are all like "who are these people?" when you finally send that renewal or call to action. But never fear! We have all kinds of smart, easy, and even automated tactics and techniques to let your newest list members know how glad you are to meet them.
Watch this AWESOME webinar with Madeline Stanionis (principal at M+R) and Justin Perkins (Senior Director Brand Engagement and Business Development at Care2) to learn about the best way to handle all of that acquisition you're bound to do in 2015. You'll learn about various case studies and walk away with cold-hard-tactics to make sure your ROI is astronomical (or at least, you know, positive).
After compiling detailed data from 27 organizations and experts, Sea Change Strategies presents its findings on how to leverage those mid-level donors and keep them involved in your fundraising plan.
In this webinar you'll learn:
How to jumpstart your fundraising success with Mid-Level Donors
How Rainforest Alliance successfully implemented a Mid-Level Donor Program
The habits of highly effective Mid-Level Donor Plans
Empower Your Supporters on #GivingTuesdayCare2Team
#GivingTuesday, the national day of giving on Tuesday, Dec. 3, 2013, inspires people to take collaborative action to improve their local communities by giving back to the charities and causes they support following Thanksgiving, Black Friday and Cyber Monday.
Join Razoo, UN Foundation and Care2 to get into the true spirit of the holidays and engage your supporters through a national day of giving.
View this presentation by Xtraordinary, Blackbaud and Care2 to find out how your organization can tap into the next generation of giving. Using groundbreaking data from a study of over 1,500 UK donors, and riveting examples, we'll talk you through the new dos and don'ts of fundraising.
Engaging Baby Boomers & Seniors through Social MediaCare2Team
*Watch or download the full webinar (with audio and slides) at: http://bit.ly/engagingboomers
The boomer generation was long the darling of marketers and advertisers, then they grew up.
While boomers are the consumer majority and tend to be the segment with the highest dollar donations to nonprofits, they're often dismissed as not being part of the social media wave.
Join Immersion Active and AARP in this Care2 Expert Webinar that focuses on new ways of showing some love to the influential seniors segment through social media tactics that engage and cultivate supporters and potential donors.
About the Presenters:
Gina Pagliaro -- Account Strategist, Immersion Active
Jen Martin -- Manager of Social Communications, AARP
Molly Connors -- Director of Nonprofit Services, Care2
Converting Online Campaigners into DonorsCare2Team
*Watch or download the full webinar (with audio and slides) at: http://bit.ly/convert2donors
Online campaigners are an increasingly important source of new donors for many organisations.
How can your organisation rapidly grow its base of online campaigners, and effectively convert them into donors?
Watch this free webinar to learn how Greenpeace UK, leveraging tools provided by Engaging Networks, and multichannel donor outreach, has excelled in turning campaigners into campaigning donors:
"Converting Online Campaigners into Donors"
In this webinar you will learn:
-Keys for bringing people into the fold through powerful email messaging
-Ways to deepen campaigner engagement and commitment
-Tactics for converting donors online and offline
-Listen to what people are saying online, remarket to them, and improve your campaign results
Multichannel Fundraising Workshop - Care2, Big Duck, NWFCare2Team
With more communications channels out there, your supporters are getting bombarded with more messages from charities, companies, friends, and family members. So how can you make sure your organization stands out?
In this workshop, Farra Trompeter from Big Duck, Dane Grams from Care2, and Danielle Brigida from National Wildlife Federation, share ways you can build stronger campaigns through multichannel communications, leveraging online communities, embracing social media, and sharing some successful case studies.
Participants will take away:
*Ideas and lessons learned from nonprofit campaign case studies
*Tactics to build your list and use social media
*Ways to integrate best practices into your communications
*Tips to make your campaigns stronger
A Recipe For $uccess: Tracking & Converting Supporters for Maximum ResultsCare2Team
*Watch or download the full webinar (with audio and slides) at: http://bit.ly/c2recipe
"So you've acquired them. Now what?!"
Converting new subscribers to donors of course depends on the RIGHT communication strategy; but maximizing the return on your online constituency growth investment depends on the RIGHT data and the RIGHT interpretation.
Do you have a plan? Do you know what to look for? ...and what it all means?
Join Janna Chan of the Center for Reproductive Rights (formerly of Lambda Legal and M+R Strategic Services) and two Grams (Jaime Grams of Integral and Dane Grams of Care2, formerly of GLSEN and HRC) for our latest Expert Webinar:
"A Recipe for $uccess: Tracking & Converting to Maximize Returns" on Tuesday 5/22 at 2PM ET
Learn from this real-life example how to manage and track new online subscribers and how it can help guide you on your communications and fundraising, as well as pinpoint the real value of your nonprofit's supporters.
In this webinar you will learn:
Why it is important to recruit new supporters
How to keep online subscribers engaged, involved and converting to donors
What are the right metrics for measuring success, short term and long term
How to compare your online investment to other direct response and marketing channels
The Holy Grail of Monthly Giving: Finding, Keeping and Loving SustainersCare2Team
*Watch or download the full webinar (with audio and slides) at: http://bit.ly/c2grail
Want to find a new, stable source of income that also works as a loyalty booster to existing donors?
Three words: SUSTAINED GIVING PROGRAM
This webinar covers everything you want -- and need -- to know about monthly giving.
Starting with the basics, Harvey McKinnon, renowned expert on monthly giving, discusses why to have a monthly giving program and what it means for donor loyalty, along with the fundamental elements of all good monthly programs.
Next, Teva Harrison of the Nature Conservancy of Canada -- which has made a strategic decision to invest in a monthly program -- tells what works for her organization while sharing secrets, tips and best practices on how to find, keep and love these valuable donors.
In this webinar you'll learn:
-What metrics to look for in a monthly program (eg. typical conversion rates, retention rates)
-How to invite them, what to say, how often to say it
-When to use direct mail and when to use the phone to convert and upgrade
-Great examples from an organization with years of expertise in cultivating these valuable donors
Presenters:
-Harvey McKinnon (President, Harvey McKinnon Associates)
-Teva Harrison (Manager of Supporter Development, Nature Conservancy of Canada)
-Ryann Miller (Director of Nonprofit Services, Care2)
Read| The latest issue of The Challenger is here! We are thrilled to announce that our school paper has qualified for the NATIONAL SCHOOLS PRESS CONFERENCE (NSPC) 2024. Thank you for your unwavering support and trust. Dive into the stories that made us stand out!
Introduction to AI for Nonprofits with Tapp NetworkTechSoup
Dive into the world of AI! Experts Jon Hill and Tareq Monaur will guide you through AI's role in enhancing nonprofit websites and basic marketing strategies, making it easy to understand and apply.
2024.06.01 Introducing a competency framework for languag learning materials ...Sandy Millin
http://sandymillin.wordpress.com/iateflwebinar2024
Published classroom materials form the basis of syllabuses, drive teacher professional development, and have a potentially huge influence on learners, teachers and education systems. All teachers also create their own materials, whether a few sentences on a blackboard, a highly-structured fully-realised online course, or anything in between. Despite this, the knowledge and skills needed to create effective language learning materials are rarely part of teacher training, and are mostly learnt by trial and error.
Knowledge and skills frameworks, generally called competency frameworks, for ELT teachers, trainers and managers have existed for a few years now. However, until I created one for my MA dissertation, there wasn’t one drawing together what we need to know and do to be able to effectively produce language learning materials.
This webinar will introduce you to my framework, highlighting the key competencies I identified from my research. It will also show how anybody involved in language teaching (any language, not just English!), teacher training, managing schools or developing language learning materials can benefit from using the framework.
Operation “Blue Star” is the only event in the history of Independent India where the state went into war with its own people. Even after about 40 years it is not clear if it was culmination of states anger over people of the region, a political game of power or start of dictatorial chapter in the democratic setup.
The people of Punjab felt alienated from main stream due to denial of their just demands during a long democratic struggle since independence. As it happen all over the word, it led to militant struggle with great loss of lives of military, police and civilian personnel. Killing of Indira Gandhi and massacre of innocent Sikhs in Delhi and other India cities was also associated with this movement.
June 3, 2024 Anti-Semitism Letter Sent to MIT President Kornbluth and MIT Cor...Levi Shapiro
Letter from the Congress of the United States regarding Anti-Semitism sent June 3rd to MIT President Sally Kornbluth, MIT Corp Chair, Mark Gorenberg
Dear Dr. Kornbluth and Mr. Gorenberg,
The US House of Representatives is deeply concerned by ongoing and pervasive acts of antisemitic
harassment and intimidation at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Failing to act decisively to ensure a safe learning environment for all students would be a grave dereliction of your responsibilities as President of MIT and Chair of the MIT Corporation.
This Congress will not stand idly by and allow an environment hostile to Jewish students to persist. The House believes that your institution is in violation of Title VI of the Civil Rights Act, and the inability or
unwillingness to rectify this violation through action requires accountability.
Postsecondary education is a unique opportunity for students to learn and have their ideas and beliefs challenged. However, universities receiving hundreds of millions of federal funds annually have denied
students that opportunity and have been hijacked to become venues for the promotion of terrorism, antisemitic harassment and intimidation, unlawful encampments, and in some cases, assaults and riots.
The House of Representatives will not countenance the use of federal funds to indoctrinate students into hateful, antisemitic, anti-American supporters of terrorism. Investigations into campus antisemitism by the Committee on Education and the Workforce and the Committee on Ways and Means have been expanded into a Congress-wide probe across all relevant jurisdictions to address this national crisis. The undersigned Committees will conduct oversight into the use of federal funds at MIT and its learning environment under authorities granted to each Committee.
• The Committee on Education and the Workforce has been investigating your institution since December 7, 2023. The Committee has broad jurisdiction over postsecondary education, including its compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act, campus safety concerns over disruptions to the learning environment, and the awarding of federal student aid under the Higher Education Act.
• The Committee on Oversight and Accountability is investigating the sources of funding and other support flowing to groups espousing pro-Hamas propaganda and engaged in antisemitic harassment and intimidation of students. The Committee on Oversight and Accountability is the principal oversight committee of the US House of Representatives and has broad authority to investigate “any matter” at “any time” under House Rule X.
• The Committee on Ways and Means has been investigating several universities since November 15, 2023, when the Committee held a hearing entitled From Ivory Towers to Dark Corners: Investigating the Nexus Between Antisemitism, Tax-Exempt Universities, and Terror Financing. The Committee followed the hearing with letters to those institutions on January 10, 202
How to Make a Field invisible in Odoo 17Celine George
It is possible to hide or invisible some fields in odoo. Commonly using “invisible” attribute in the field definition to invisible the fields. This slide will show how to make a field invisible in odoo 17.
Embracing GenAI - A Strategic ImperativePeter Windle
Artificial Intelligence (AI) technologies such as Generative AI, Image Generators and Large Language Models have had a dramatic impact on teaching, learning and assessment over the past 18 months. The most immediate threat AI posed was to Academic Integrity with Higher Education Institutes (HEIs) focusing their efforts on combating the use of GenAI in assessment. Guidelines were developed for staff and students, policies put in place too. Innovative educators have forged paths in the use of Generative AI for teaching, learning and assessments leading to pockets of transformation springing up across HEIs, often with little or no top-down guidance, support or direction.
This Gasta posits a strategic approach to integrating AI into HEIs to prepare staff, students and the curriculum for an evolving world and workplace. We will highlight the advantages of working with these technologies beyond the realm of teaching, learning and assessment by considering prompt engineering skills, industry impact, curriculum changes, and the need for staff upskilling. In contrast, not engaging strategically with Generative AI poses risks, including falling behind peers, missed opportunities and failing to ensure our graduates remain employable. The rapid evolution of AI technologies necessitates a proactive and strategic approach if we are to remain relevant.
The French Revolution, which began in 1789, was a period of radical social and political upheaval in France. It marked the decline of absolute monarchies, the rise of secular and democratic republics, and the eventual rise of Napoleon Bonaparte. This revolutionary period is crucial in understanding the transition from feudalism to modernity in Europe.
For more information, visit-www.vavaclasses.com
Making Advocacy Pay: Understanding the Link Between Activism & Giving
1. Making Advocacy Pay
Understanding the Link Between
Activism and Giving
Presented by:
Vinay Bhagat, Convio
Yvonne Garrett, OMP
Randy Paynter, Care2.com
Ryann Miller, Care2.com
March 24, 2011
For Audio Call: 1-408-792-6300
Meeting Number: 668 671 770
2. Using
• Chat & Raise hand
• If you are having internet audio problems, you
can dial-in using a landline: 1-408-792-6300,
Meeting Number: 668 671 770
• If you lose your internet connection, reconnect
using the link emailed to you
• WebEx Support: 1-866-229-3239
For Audio Call: 1-408-792-6300
Meeting Number: 668 671 770
3. • This webinar is being recorded.
• The webinar recording will be available on
Frogloop blog at http://www.frogloop.com
• You will receive a link to this presentation
following the webinar.
• Tweeting the webinar?
Use Twitter hashtag: #Care2
For Audio Call: 1-408-792-6300
Meeting Number: 668 671 770
4. Agenda
• What is online advocacy?
• What does advocacy have to do with
fundraising?
• How does it work?
• Making the economic case.
5. What is online advocacy?
6.
7.
8.
9. Advocacy – The active support of an idea
or cause etc.; especially the act of
pleading or arguing for something
Defini'on from: wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn
20. Activists:
2+ actions Sept – Nov = 4x more
likely to give at year end
Online Offline
Emails Action Takers Conversion Conversion Unsubs
Moved into 2+, Highly Responsive: 6,172 9.0% 1.0% 0.2% 1.9%
Stayed in L: 88,293 0.7% 0.2% 0.1% 2.0%
Prior 2+ Action Takers: 66,239 12.2% 1.0% 0.3% 1.9%
Moved into L: 30,817 2.3% 0.4% 0.1% 3.7%
21. Donors:
2+ actions Sept – Nov = 26% more
income at year end
Online Offline
Emails Action Takers Conversion Conversion Unsubs
Moved into 2+, Highly Responsive: 6,172 9.0% 1.0% 0.2% 1.9%
Stayed in L: 88,293 0.7% 0.2% 0.1% 2.0%
Prior 2+ Action Takers: 66,239 12.2% 1.0% 0.3% 1.9%
Moved into L: 30,817 2.3% 0.4% 0.1% 3.7%
24. Recruit
• Be thoughtful about form of ask
– Pledge vs. contact your legislator
– Constituent relevance
• Multiple venues in addition to your website
– Paid online (e.g. Care2)
– Social media
– In the field
• Strong user experience
• Viral marketing including social media
25.
26. Engage
• Acknowledge returning Web visitors
• Send tailored updates/ stories
• Related appeals
• Multi-channel appeals - email, text, social
• Rewards/ incentives
27. Convert
• Campaign specific donation forms
• Email welcome/ conversion series
• Follow up in timely fashion with mail, TM
• Apply filters to prioritize investment
• Select appeals based on advocacy actions
29. Food for Thought
• Major donors frequently active
• It’s increasingly critical to track
messaging intensity/congruency
across programs and channels
30.
Making the Economic Case
31. Online Advocacy Increases Dona2ons
.47%
.07%
No Online Ac2on Took Ac2on Online
Source: : Charitable Memberships, Volunteering and Discounts: Evidence from a Large‐Scale Online Field Experiment.
May 2009, Na2onal Bureau of Economic Research, A. Lange, A. Stocking. Sample size = > 700,000 subjects.
32. How do you measure
economic value?
• Time to pay back investment
• Cost per donor
• Cost per dollar raised
• Return on Investment
34. Value of an Email Address
Human & Environ-
Annual Public Animal
Social ment & ALL
Donations Affairs Welfare
Services Wildlife
Year 1* $17.18 $4.81 $3.36 $15.91 $11.68
Year 2 $8.59 $2.41 $1.68 $7.96 $5.84
Year 3 $4.30 $1.20 $0.84 $3.98 $2.92
Year 4 $2.15 $0.60 $0.42 $1.99 $1.46
Year 5 $1.07 $0.30 $0.21 $0.99 $0.73
Avg Lifetime
Value Per Email $33.29 $9.32 $6.51 $30.83 $22.63
* * Source: 2010 Convio Online Benchmark Study of roughly 300 nonprofits. Email addresses are usable only (approx
50% of total addresses) Years 2 through 5 assume 50% per year drop off in donations.
36. Fully Load Your Expenses
• Direct Expenses
– Campaign costs (fixed and variable)
– Search Engine Marketing (SEM)
– Email appends
– etc.
• Indirect Expenses
– Consultants (fixed and variable)
– Social Media Outreach (Facebook, Twitter, etc.)
– etc.
37. The True Cost per Lead
If I spent $1,000 to acquire 1,000 new leads, I spent $1.00 per lead. Great price!
But what if…
• 100 leads have bad addresses; and 200 leads unsubscribe within first 3 mo.
• Now I’ve only got 700 leads, so the real cost per lead rises to 1,000/700 = $1.42
And what if…
• Only 30% are opening my message.
• Now I’ve got only 210 active leads, and the real cost per lead is 1,000/210 = $4.76
And what if…
• Only 10% of these people click through and only 10% of those donate?
• Then I paid $1,000 to buy two (2) donors, and my true cost ( Investment ) was $500
per donor.
Quality Matters!
38. List Growth: Speed vs. Value
10
High 9
Quality Collecting Opt-ins Viral Campaigns
on your site
8 Niche site
e.g. Democrats.com Paid Acquisition from
Google Adwords targeted audiences
7
6
Targeted List Swaps
5
4 Social Name Acquisition Large,
Networks Canvassing General Audience
3
Low Banner Advertising
Quality 2 List Append
1
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Slow Growth Rapid Growth
(<1k/month) (>10k/month)