Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Region Viii – Eastern Visayas.Karenvalencia


Published on

Published in: Technology
  • Be the first to comment

Region Viii – Eastern Visayas.Karenvalencia

  1. 1. Eastern Samar Leyte Cebu Northern Samar Region VIII Western Samar Biliran Southern Leyte
  2. 2. REGION VIII : EASTERN VISAYAS GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATION Eastern Visayas encompasses the two large islands of Leyte and Samar, the province of Biliran and several minor islands. This region is the eastern boundary of the Philippines. The San Bernardino Strait separates Eastern Visayas from Luzon in the southeast while the Surigao Strait separates the province of Leyte from the northeastern part of Mindanao. The Visayan and Camotes Seas separate the region from the rest of the Visayas. On the east, the region faces the Pacific Ocean. The San Juanico Strait separates the islands of Samar and Leyte. The terrain of the two large islands is entirely different. Leyte has a high peaked mountain mass in the interior while Samar has low rugged hills interspersed with valleys
  3. 3.  POPULATION As of 2000, the total population of the region was 3,589,000. This increased by 6.02% from its population of 3,366,917. In 1990, 52% or 1,558,826 of its total population was male. 69% lived in the rural areas.  CLIMATE The eastern portion of the region is frequently visited by storms from the Pacific Ocean. The region receives heavy rainfall throughout the year with no pronounced dry season.
  4. 4. NATURAL RESOURCES The region’s sea and inland waters are rich sources of salt and fresh water fish and other marine products. It is one of the fish exporting regions of the country. There are substantial forest reserves in the interiors of the islands. Its mineral deposits include chromite, nickel, clay, coal, limestone, pyrite and sand and gravel. It has abundant geothermal energy and water resources to support the needs of medium and heavy industries.
  5. 5.  The Regional Disaster Coordinating Council (hereinafter referred to at RDCC) shall be composed of the Regional PNP Director as Chairman, and heads of regional offices and field stations, national agencies and selected Non Government Organizations (NGOs) at the regional level as member.The Regional Governor of ARMM shall act as the Chairman and PNP Regional Director as Vice- Chairman and the OCD Regional Office shall be the Executive arm and secretariat and as such, the Regional Director shall serve as the Executive Officer. Metro Manila Disaster Coordinating Council (MMDCC)
  6. 6. Contact Ruperto Kangleon, Palo, Leyte ANGEL D. GAVIOLA Director, OCD Region VIII 053-3238453 053-3235301 PCSUPT MARIO R. SANDIEGO Regional Director Philippine National Police (053)323-3036
  7. 7. Information     Pictures   CREATED BY: KAREN IGNACIO VALENCIA for Marine Science 1 Gil Jacinto