Measurement & Evaluation
Presented by
Brett Atwood
Success or Failure?
• How will you determine if your strategic plan
and campaign was a success?
“The Final Step”
• The final step in your planning is to determine
how you will measure and define “success”
– This will b...
Why Evaluate?
• To document success
• To encourage future work
• To justify your expenses
• To improve your future campaig...
Things to Consider
• Was the campaign well planned?
• Did the recipients understand the message?
• What improvements can b...
Measuring Success
• There is a tendency for many PR practitioners
to measure their output, rather than the
achievement of ...
Measurement
• In order to measure success, you must first
define it
• As part of your research and strategic
planning phas...
Examples
• A defined increase in sales
• A specific number of mentions in the press
• A measured increase in public awaren...
Clients from Hell
• The worst case scenario is ambiguous, ill-
defined goals
• This invites the client to challenge your w...
Clip Counting
• A physical counting of press placements will
measure productivity
• This may not truly represent success
•...
How to Get Clips
• Do not ask a journalist to
send you a clip
• There are several services
you can use:
– Cision
– Burrell...
Message Impressions
• These services track “media impressions”
(a.k.a. “gross impressions”) to detail how
many people were...
Example
• A campaign for a new soda is mentioned in
several newspapers and magazines
• Add up the circulation of these pub...
Media Impressions
• Useful to track the penetration of a message
• However, the number can be misleading
• This number doe...
Advertising Value Equivalency
• Since story placements are “free,” there is an
equivalent dollar value for the exposure
• ...
AVE
• AVE helps to justify the expense of your PR
campaign costs
• However, it is not without controversy
– Not all media ...
Systematic Content Analysis
• Many of these software programs track the
intricacies of the media coverage
– Positive vs. n...
Other Forms of Evaluation
• Monitor the Internet
– This includes “gripe groups” (anti-client blogs)
• Toll-free numbers
– ...
Cost per Person
• It can be difficult to compare the value of
impressions across various forms of media
• The CPM (cost pe...
Calculating CPM
• Divide the total number of media impressions
by the cost of your campaign
• Example: A $10 million campa...
Monitoring Online Chatter
• There are multiple services that you can use to
monitor online chatter about your brand in soc...
Measurement of Audience Awareness
• How many people know about your message
or campaign?
• You can conduct surveys to dete...
“Audience Attitudes”
• How does the public feel about your
company, brand, product or service?
• You can measure “audience...
Audience Action
• What action does the audience take as a
result of the exposure to your message?
– Do they buy your produ...
Web Site Analytics
• Leaders in this space include:
– Google Analytics
– Omniture
– WebTrends
– Hitwise
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Measurement & Evaluation

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This slideshow discusses measurement and evaluation techniques in public relations campaigns.

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Measurement & Evaluation

  1. 1. Measurement & Evaluation Presented by Brett Atwood
  2. 2. Success or Failure? • How will you determine if your strategic plan and campaign was a success?
  3. 3. “The Final Step” • The final step in your planning is to determine how you will measure and define “success” – This will be the metric used to determine if your campaign was a success or failure • At the end of your campaign, you should evaluate based on the metric that was agreed upon at the beginning
  4. 4. Why Evaluate? • To document success • To encourage future work • To justify your expenses • To improve your future campaigns • To build credibility • To determine a basis for the next campaign • To promote the value of PR in your organization
  5. 5. Things to Consider • Was the campaign well planned? • Did the recipients understand the message? • What improvements can be made? • Did you achieve your stated goals? • Was the budget adequate? • What is replicable for future campaigns?
  6. 6. Measuring Success • There is a tendency for many PR practitioners to measure their output, rather than the achievement of their goals – For example, collecting press clippings is not enough
  7. 7. Measurement • In order to measure success, you must first define it • As part of your research and strategic planning phase, you and your client need to agree on realistic goals for accomplishment • This ensures that your work will be recognized and disagreements will be minimized
  8. 8. Examples • A defined increase in sales • A specific number of mentions in the press • A measured increase in public awareness of a brand or service • A pre-determined increase in customer direct inquiries about a product or service
  9. 9. Clients from Hell • The worst case scenario is ambiguous, ill- defined goals • This invites the client to challenge your work and effectiveness
  10. 10. Clip Counting • A physical counting of press placements will measure productivity • This may not truly represent success • There is a temptation to send out excessive releases to manipulate the perception of productivity (and add to the client’s bill)
  11. 11. How to Get Clips • Do not ask a journalist to send you a clip • There are several services you can use: – Cision – Burrelle’s/Luce Press Clippings – Hitwise • These services are now offered online
  12. 12. Message Impressions • These services track “media impressions” (a.k.a. “gross impressions”) to detail how many people were exposed to the message – This factors in the circulation and/or reach of the media outlets that carried your message
  13. 13. Example • A campaign for a new soda is mentioned in several newspapers and magazines • Add up the circulation of these publications to get the estimated “media impressions”
  14. 14. Media Impressions • Useful to track the penetration of a message • However, the number can be misleading • This number does not reflect how many people actually saw the message – only how many were exposed to it
  15. 15. Advertising Value Equivalency • Since story placements are “free,” there is an equivalent dollar value for the exposure • What would it have cost your client to get the same sort of exposure via paid placement advertising? • The AVE calculates the estimated value of the exposure (in ad dollars)
  16. 16. AVE • AVE helps to justify the expense of your PR campaign costs • However, it is not without controversy – Not all media coverage is positive – The value of the story space requires some subjective judgment and is prone to exaggeration
  17. 17. Systematic Content Analysis • Many of these software programs track the intricacies of the media coverage – Positive vs. negative coverage – Relationship of the coverage vs. your competitors – Contextualization of your coverage compared to the overall placement opportunities in the media outlet
  18. 18. Other Forms of Evaluation • Monitor the Internet – This includes “gripe groups” (anti-client blogs) • Toll-free numbers – How proactive are your customers?
  19. 19. Cost per Person • It can be difficult to compare the value of impressions across various forms of media • The CPM (cost per thousand) index helps you assign a dollar value to the expense of reaching 1,000 people in a particular media genre
  20. 20. Calculating CPM • Divide the total number of media impressions by the cost of your campaign • Example: A $10 million campaign that reaches 100 million people would have a CPM of $10. (It costs $10 to reach 1,000 people).
  21. 21. Monitoring Online Chatter • There are multiple services that you can use to monitor online chatter about your brand in social media and across the web including: – Google Alerts – Hootsuite – Tweetdeck – Icerocket – Social Mention – Topsy
  22. 22. Measurement of Audience Awareness • How many people know about your message or campaign? • You can conduct surveys to determine the “audience awareness”
  23. 23. “Audience Attitudes” • How does the public feel about your company, brand, product or service? • You can measure “audience attitudes” using benchmark studies that test attitudes both before and after exposure to the message
  24. 24. Audience Action • What action does the audience take as a result of the exposure to your message? – Do they buy your product? – Do they talk about you? – Did they request more information? – Did they enter your contest?
  25. 25. Web Site Analytics • Leaders in this space include: – Google Analytics – Omniture – WebTrends – Hitwise
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