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14 March, 2019
Thursday, 14 March 2019
How to make Paid Search
(Google AdWords) work
for your business.
1
14 March, 2019 2
Chris Williams – Marketing Director
About Me
Tom Lilliston – PPC Account Director
Before you spend a penny
on Pay-Per-Click
• What is your Customer Lifetime value CLV?
• What are you willing to pay to land a new
customer?
• How many enquires/leads does it take to close a
sale?
• What is the max £ you have to pay for each
enquiry/lead?
14 March, 2019 314 March, 201914 March, 2019
Before you spend a penny
on Pay-Per-Click
• What is your Customer Lifetime value CLV? £500
• What are you willing to pay to land a new
customer? £100
• How many enquires/leads does it take to close a
sale? 4
• What is the max £ you have to pay for
each enquiry/lead? £100 / 4 = £25
14 March, 2019 414 March, 201914 March, 2019
What is Cost Per Acquisition?
(CPA)
CPA = Cost / Conversions
Ad spend = £500
Enquiries/Leads/Conversions = 20
CPA = £500/20 = £25
14 March, 2019 514 March, 201914 March, 2019
Formula # 1:
Set CPC bid to hit your CPA target
Now we know the CPA what the maximum is we
are willing to pay for a click?
Cost Per Click (CPC) = Target CPA x Conversion Rate
Max Cost Per Click = Average Order Value x Conversion
Rate
N.B Be careful to add costs to produce and delivery
costs etc
14 March, 2019 614 March, 201914 March, 2019
14 March, 2019 7
CPA Target Conversion Rate Max CPC
£ 10.00 2.5% £ 0.25
£ 25.00 2.5% £ 0.63
£ 50.00 2.5% £ 1.25
£ 100.00 2.5% £ 2.50
£ 250.00 2.5% £ 6.25
£ 500.00 2.5% £ 12.50
£ 1,000.00 2.5% £ 25.00
CPA Target Conversion Rate Max CPC
£ 10.00 5% £ 0.50
£ 25.00 5% £ 1.25
£ 50.00 5% £ 2.50
£ 100.00 5% £ 5.00
£ 250.00 5% £ 12.50
£ 500.00 5% £ 25.00
£ 1,000.00 5% £ 50.00
CPA Target Conversion Rate Max CPC
£ 10.00 10% £ 1.00
£ 25.00 10% £ 2.50
£ 50.00 10% £ 5.00
£ 100.00 10% £ 10.00
£ 250.00 10% £ 25.00
£ 500.00 10% £ 50.00
£ 1,000.00 10% £ 100.00
Conv2.5%Conv10%
Conv5%
Google AdWords Dashboard
14 March, 2019 8
What we will talk about today
14 March, 2019 9
1. Campaign Goals and Settings
2. Keywords
3. Campaign Structure
4. Writing Effective Ads
5. Conversion Tracking
6. Campaign Live… Now What?
What is Pay-Per-Click?
14 March, 2019 1014 March, 2019
Why Pay-Per-Click?
14 March, 2019 11
• Drives multitude of KPI’s
• Nearly instant page 1 rankings
• Reach highly motivated
• Only pay for clicks/conversions
• Geographic targeting
• Measure and Control
14 March, 201914 March, 2019
1. Campaign Settings
Choose your campaign goals?
14 March, 2019 13
Choose your campaign
Select ‘Search’ campaign
14 March, 2019 14
Campaign Name and Network
• No big tricks or secrets here
• Untick Search Network & Display Network
14 March, 2019 15
Location & Languages
14 March, 2019 16
14 March, 2019 17
Budget and Bid Setting
14 March, 2019 18
2. Keywords
Choosing your Keywords
14 March, 2019 2020
• Keywords are what you pay for
• Understand the keywords your ideal prospects are typing into
Google
• Choose keywords relevant to your products/services
• Seemingly small difference in keywords can have a huge impact
• Just starting out? Specific, high purchase intent keywords (5-10)
• Two ways to generate keywords:
(1) Google Keyword Planner
(2) Competitor Spy Tools
(1) Google Keyword Planner
• Free to use
• Keyword identification and expansion
• Search volumes
• Broad indication of top of page 1 bid
• Work out ROI using benchmark
conversion rates
14 March, 2019 2114 March, 2019
14 March 2019 22
14 March 2019 23
(2) Competitor Spy Tool
14 March, 2019 2414 March, 2019
Narrowing Down Keywords
14 March, 2019 2514 March, 2019
• Start to cull low quality/purchase intent keywords.
• Aim to be left with 10 high purchase intent
keywords per product/service.
• Keep an eye on search volumes, don’t want 10
keywords that are super relevant but have little/to
volume
3. Campaign Structure
Campaign, Ad Group, Keywords, Ads
14 March, 2019 27
Campaign
Ad Group
Ads Ads
• Don’t just lump your keywords into a campaign and go
• Ensure keywords have the best chance of success
• Beginner structure is to organize by your website
• Group keywords by theme i.e. product type/brand
• Example shown - shoe retailer
• Help tailor your ad copy to your keyword
Keyword Match Types
• Assign a match type
• Determine search query ad
• 4 different match types
Tip - Exact and Broad Match
Modifier to begin with
14 March, 2019 28
E
Phrase
Broad Matched Modified
Broad Matched
Targeting
Exact
Match
14 March, 2019 29
MATCH TYPE SPECIAL SYMBOL
EXAMPLE
KEYWORD
ADS MAY SHOW ON
SEARCHES THAT
EXAMPLE
SEARCHES
Broad Match none women’s hats
includes misspelling,
synonyms, related searches,
and other relevant
variations
buy ladies hats
Broad Match
Modifier
+keyword
+women’s
+hat
contain the modified term
(or closer variations, but not
synonyms), in any order
hats for women
Phrase Match “keyword” “women’s hats”
are a phrase, and close
variations of that phrase
buy women’s hats
Exact Match [keyword] [women’s hat]
are an exact term and close
variations of that exact term
women’s hat
Negative keywords
• Words or phrases that you don’t want your
ads to show for
• Two ways to determine negative keywords.
• (1) Pre-live - Proactive
• (2) Post-live - Search query report
14 March, 2019 3014 March, 201914 March, 2019 30
4. PPC Ad Copy – Writing Effective Ads
Writing Effective Ads is Crucial
• Ad copy determines level of engagement.
• Best opportunity to sell your brands unique features, especially if
other companies sell the same product.
• A search ad consists of …
14 March, 2019 32
Approach to Writing PPC Ads
3333
• Users have a need/desire/problem they need
solving.
• What information is most likely to engage the
user?
- A special offer?
- A unique way to solve their problem?
- A free report or download?
- Some other benefit you can offer?
Tips for Writing Effective PPC Ads
14 March, 2019 3434
• Know your goal, and ask users to take that action
• Include your keywords in your ad copy
• Ask a question rather than make a statement
• Let users know your local – cities, towns, local landmarks
etc.
• Be timely if possible – reference events, news etc.
• Use numbers to break up text if relevant i.e. Price from…
• Focus on 1 or 2 key benefits
• Tell the truth, click bait is a waste of budget
Importance of Ad Copy Testing
• Easily test ad copy variations
• Be crystal clear what messages your prospects respond
best to
• Test, compare, roll out. Repeat for significant
improvements in results
• Create the different ad versions - Google will test them
and report back
Tip – Common ad copy test structure
(A) Product/service benefits
(B) Specification and technical info
14 March, 2019 3514 March, 2019
Vs.
What To Expect – Writing An Ad
14 March, 2019 36
Ad Extensions
• Extra information that can be shown with your ads
• More room for you, less for your competition
• Site Links, Location and Call Extension
14 March, 2019 37
Setting up a Sitelink Extension
Additional links that appear under your Ad
14 March, 2019 38
Setting up a Call Extension
• Interested in getting prospects to call?
• Displays a phone number along with
your ad
14 March, 2019 39
Setting up a Location Extension
Useful if you want to highlight your
location
14 March, 2019 40
Importance of Quality Score
14 March, 2019 41
10 Discount by 50.00%
9 Discount by 44.20%
8 Discount by 37.50%
7 Discount by 28.60%
6 Discount by 16.70%
5 Google Benchmark
4 Discount by 25.00%
3 Discount by 67.30%
2 Discount by 150.00%
1 Discount by 400.00%
{
}
Relevance
Landing
Page
Experience
Click Thru
Rate
Quality Score
• Include your keyword/s in both your ad copy and landing page as much as possible
• Set-up at least two ad extensions to improve your ads expected click through rate
• Ensure your landing page user experience is optimised on both mobile and desktop
You
Save
You
Pay
Landing Page Considerations
14 March, 2019 42
PPC Landing Page Tips
• Limit the number of actions on the landing
page i.e. Top navigation
• Match the expectation and need of the
visitor based on your keyword and ad copy
• Establish credibility and trust, quick
• Decrease page load times
• Experiment with offers/CTA’s and designs
14 March, 2019 4343
5. Conversion Tracking
What can you track
• Lots of clicks and high click rates are great, but
it’s really about conversions
• Optimising based on conversions will improve
efficiency and the effectiveness of your PPC
account
• A conversion is a defined action, examples
include:
- Sale - Download
- Phone call - Store visit
- Form fill
14 March, 2019 454514 March, 2019
Install Tracking Code
• The easiest way to track conversions in
AdWords – Conversion tracking code.
• Can track a variety of actions such as a sale,
form fill, sign up etc.
• Here's how to set up conversion tracking in
your account:
14 March, 2019 4614 March, 2019
14 March, 2019 47
6. Your campaign is Live… Now What?
Check Impressions and Clicks
• Wait a few hours before checking, to ensure your
campaigns ads are running.
• If no impressions/clicks, check your campaign, ad
groups, ads are live and approved.
• Low numbers? Look at increasing your cost per click or
budget.
• Be realistic about how many clicks needed for a
conversion.
• Realtime dashboards
14 March, 2019 4914 March, 201914 March, 2019
Final Words
14 March, 2019 50
Any
Questions?
14 March 2019 51

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How to make paid search (google ad words) work for your business

  • 1. 14 March, 2019 Thursday, 14 March 2019 How to make Paid Search (Google AdWords) work for your business. 1
  • 2. 14 March, 2019 2 Chris Williams – Marketing Director About Me Tom Lilliston – PPC Account Director
  • 3. Before you spend a penny on Pay-Per-Click • What is your Customer Lifetime value CLV? • What are you willing to pay to land a new customer? • How many enquires/leads does it take to close a sale? • What is the max £ you have to pay for each enquiry/lead? 14 March, 2019 314 March, 201914 March, 2019
  • 4. Before you spend a penny on Pay-Per-Click • What is your Customer Lifetime value CLV? £500 • What are you willing to pay to land a new customer? £100 • How many enquires/leads does it take to close a sale? 4 • What is the max £ you have to pay for each enquiry/lead? £100 / 4 = £25 14 March, 2019 414 March, 201914 March, 2019
  • 5. What is Cost Per Acquisition? (CPA) CPA = Cost / Conversions Ad spend = £500 Enquiries/Leads/Conversions = 20 CPA = £500/20 = £25 14 March, 2019 514 March, 201914 March, 2019
  • 6. Formula # 1: Set CPC bid to hit your CPA target Now we know the CPA what the maximum is we are willing to pay for a click? Cost Per Click (CPC) = Target CPA x Conversion Rate Max Cost Per Click = Average Order Value x Conversion Rate N.B Be careful to add costs to produce and delivery costs etc 14 March, 2019 614 March, 201914 March, 2019
  • 7. 14 March, 2019 7 CPA Target Conversion Rate Max CPC £ 10.00 2.5% £ 0.25 £ 25.00 2.5% £ 0.63 £ 50.00 2.5% £ 1.25 £ 100.00 2.5% £ 2.50 £ 250.00 2.5% £ 6.25 £ 500.00 2.5% £ 12.50 £ 1,000.00 2.5% £ 25.00 CPA Target Conversion Rate Max CPC £ 10.00 5% £ 0.50 £ 25.00 5% £ 1.25 £ 50.00 5% £ 2.50 £ 100.00 5% £ 5.00 £ 250.00 5% £ 12.50 £ 500.00 5% £ 25.00 £ 1,000.00 5% £ 50.00 CPA Target Conversion Rate Max CPC £ 10.00 10% £ 1.00 £ 25.00 10% £ 2.50 £ 50.00 10% £ 5.00 £ 100.00 10% £ 10.00 £ 250.00 10% £ 25.00 £ 500.00 10% £ 50.00 £ 1,000.00 10% £ 100.00 Conv2.5%Conv10% Conv5%
  • 9. What we will talk about today 14 March, 2019 9 1. Campaign Goals and Settings 2. Keywords 3. Campaign Structure 4. Writing Effective Ads 5. Conversion Tracking 6. Campaign Live… Now What?
  • 10. What is Pay-Per-Click? 14 March, 2019 1014 March, 2019
  • 11. Why Pay-Per-Click? 14 March, 2019 11 • Drives multitude of KPI’s • Nearly instant page 1 rankings • Reach highly motivated • Only pay for clicks/conversions • Geographic targeting • Measure and Control 14 March, 201914 March, 2019
  • 13. Choose your campaign goals? 14 March, 2019 13
  • 14. Choose your campaign Select ‘Search’ campaign 14 March, 2019 14
  • 15. Campaign Name and Network • No big tricks or secrets here • Untick Search Network & Display Network 14 March, 2019 15
  • 16. Location & Languages 14 March, 2019 16
  • 18. Budget and Bid Setting 14 March, 2019 18
  • 20. Choosing your Keywords 14 March, 2019 2020 • Keywords are what you pay for • Understand the keywords your ideal prospects are typing into Google • Choose keywords relevant to your products/services • Seemingly small difference in keywords can have a huge impact • Just starting out? Specific, high purchase intent keywords (5-10) • Two ways to generate keywords: (1) Google Keyword Planner (2) Competitor Spy Tools
  • 21. (1) Google Keyword Planner • Free to use • Keyword identification and expansion • Search volumes • Broad indication of top of page 1 bid • Work out ROI using benchmark conversion rates 14 March, 2019 2114 March, 2019
  • 24. (2) Competitor Spy Tool 14 March, 2019 2414 March, 2019
  • 25. Narrowing Down Keywords 14 March, 2019 2514 March, 2019 • Start to cull low quality/purchase intent keywords. • Aim to be left with 10 high purchase intent keywords per product/service. • Keep an eye on search volumes, don’t want 10 keywords that are super relevant but have little/to volume
  • 27. Campaign, Ad Group, Keywords, Ads 14 March, 2019 27 Campaign Ad Group Ads Ads • Don’t just lump your keywords into a campaign and go • Ensure keywords have the best chance of success • Beginner structure is to organize by your website • Group keywords by theme i.e. product type/brand • Example shown - shoe retailer • Help tailor your ad copy to your keyword
  • 28. Keyword Match Types • Assign a match type • Determine search query ad • 4 different match types Tip - Exact and Broad Match Modifier to begin with 14 March, 2019 28 E Phrase Broad Matched Modified Broad Matched Targeting Exact Match
  • 29. 14 March, 2019 29 MATCH TYPE SPECIAL SYMBOL EXAMPLE KEYWORD ADS MAY SHOW ON SEARCHES THAT EXAMPLE SEARCHES Broad Match none women’s hats includes misspelling, synonyms, related searches, and other relevant variations buy ladies hats Broad Match Modifier +keyword +women’s +hat contain the modified term (or closer variations, but not synonyms), in any order hats for women Phrase Match “keyword” “women’s hats” are a phrase, and close variations of that phrase buy women’s hats Exact Match [keyword] [women’s hat] are an exact term and close variations of that exact term women’s hat
  • 30. Negative keywords • Words or phrases that you don’t want your ads to show for • Two ways to determine negative keywords. • (1) Pre-live - Proactive • (2) Post-live - Search query report 14 March, 2019 3014 March, 201914 March, 2019 30
  • 31. 4. PPC Ad Copy – Writing Effective Ads
  • 32. Writing Effective Ads is Crucial • Ad copy determines level of engagement. • Best opportunity to sell your brands unique features, especially if other companies sell the same product. • A search ad consists of … 14 March, 2019 32
  • 33. Approach to Writing PPC Ads 3333 • Users have a need/desire/problem they need solving. • What information is most likely to engage the user? - A special offer? - A unique way to solve their problem? - A free report or download? - Some other benefit you can offer?
  • 34. Tips for Writing Effective PPC Ads 14 March, 2019 3434 • Know your goal, and ask users to take that action • Include your keywords in your ad copy • Ask a question rather than make a statement • Let users know your local – cities, towns, local landmarks etc. • Be timely if possible – reference events, news etc. • Use numbers to break up text if relevant i.e. Price from… • Focus on 1 or 2 key benefits • Tell the truth, click bait is a waste of budget
  • 35. Importance of Ad Copy Testing • Easily test ad copy variations • Be crystal clear what messages your prospects respond best to • Test, compare, roll out. Repeat for significant improvements in results • Create the different ad versions - Google will test them and report back Tip – Common ad copy test structure (A) Product/service benefits (B) Specification and technical info 14 March, 2019 3514 March, 2019 Vs.
  • 36. What To Expect – Writing An Ad 14 March, 2019 36
  • 37. Ad Extensions • Extra information that can be shown with your ads • More room for you, less for your competition • Site Links, Location and Call Extension 14 March, 2019 37
  • 38. Setting up a Sitelink Extension Additional links that appear under your Ad 14 March, 2019 38
  • 39. Setting up a Call Extension • Interested in getting prospects to call? • Displays a phone number along with your ad 14 March, 2019 39
  • 40. Setting up a Location Extension Useful if you want to highlight your location 14 March, 2019 40
  • 41. Importance of Quality Score 14 March, 2019 41 10 Discount by 50.00% 9 Discount by 44.20% 8 Discount by 37.50% 7 Discount by 28.60% 6 Discount by 16.70% 5 Google Benchmark 4 Discount by 25.00% 3 Discount by 67.30% 2 Discount by 150.00% 1 Discount by 400.00% { } Relevance Landing Page Experience Click Thru Rate Quality Score • Include your keyword/s in both your ad copy and landing page as much as possible • Set-up at least two ad extensions to improve your ads expected click through rate • Ensure your landing page user experience is optimised on both mobile and desktop You Save You Pay
  • 43. PPC Landing Page Tips • Limit the number of actions on the landing page i.e. Top navigation • Match the expectation and need of the visitor based on your keyword and ad copy • Establish credibility and trust, quick • Decrease page load times • Experiment with offers/CTA’s and designs 14 March, 2019 4343
  • 45. What can you track • Lots of clicks and high click rates are great, but it’s really about conversions • Optimising based on conversions will improve efficiency and the effectiveness of your PPC account • A conversion is a defined action, examples include: - Sale - Download - Phone call - Store visit - Form fill 14 March, 2019 454514 March, 2019
  • 46. Install Tracking Code • The easiest way to track conversions in AdWords – Conversion tracking code. • Can track a variety of actions such as a sale, form fill, sign up etc. • Here's how to set up conversion tracking in your account: 14 March, 2019 4614 March, 2019
  • 48. 6. Your campaign is Live… Now What?
  • 49. Check Impressions and Clicks • Wait a few hours before checking, to ensure your campaigns ads are running. • If no impressions/clicks, check your campaign, ad groups, ads are live and approved. • Low numbers? Look at increasing your cost per click or budget. • Be realistic about how many clicks needed for a conversion. • Realtime dashboards 14 March, 2019 4914 March, 201914 March, 2019