Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

How My Drive and File Sync work in Connections

153 views

Published on

Local syncing and editing are features supported in (IBM/HCL) Connections that often cause questions. This presentation tries to explain how it works and what happens to the versioning when used.

Published in: Technology
  • Be the first to comment

How My Drive and File Sync work in Connections

  1. 1. My Drive & File Syncing How it works and why versioning is different! @FemkeGoedhart
  2. 2. My Drive • On the Files tab of Connections there is the possibility to place files from your personal files or files shared with you by others into the “My Drive” folder. • Files in this folder are synced to your local desktop so that you can also work on them when your laptop is not connected to a network connection (for instance when you want to work on a file while traveling). • However this also means that certain features on those files work differently. Most importantly: Versioning. • In this slide deck we explain how it works and what to keep in mind when using My Drive. Recommendation: • If you don’t need a document offline and versioning is important then consider not putting it in My Drive… • Or use the My Drive folder temporarily on selected documents (for instance during a trip) and remove documents from My Drive after the necessity of offline work disappears. @FemkeGoedhart
  3. 3. Connections Synced File Connections File File saved directly on Connections server File saved in local My Drive folder File opened from local My Drive folder File opened from Connections server Local My Drive folder synced with server @FemkeGoedhart
  4. 4. Connections File File saved in local My Drive folder As this action is immediate, the Connections server can prompt for versioning & comments Syncing is automatic and independent from the user or the moment the user saves the file. This means that it makes no sense for the system to ask for versioning and comments here as there might have been multiple edits of the file locally before sync was even activated. Local file storage does not allow for versioning and comments so the system doesn’t ask for this type of information… Local My Drive folder synced with server File opened from local My Drive folder Connections Synced File File opened from Connections server File saved directly on Connections server @FemkeGoedhart
  5. 5. @FemkeGoedhart Versioning on regular Connections file (not in My Drive) Edited by: Anne on 22-10-2019 09:55 Version: 2 Edited by: Anne on 22-10-2019 10:03 Version: 3 Version: 4 Edited by: Jan on 24-10-2019 11:03 Edited by: Anne on 24-10-2019 11:55 Version: 5 Created by Jan on 21-10-2019 14:12 @FemkeGoedhart
  6. 6. A file not synced in My Drive… • Is always opened directly from the server • On saving, triggers an upload event to the Connections server • The server notices a new upload and prompts for versioning and comments • Never overwrites the previous version @FemkeGoedhart
  7. 7. @FemkeGoedhart Versioning on synced Connections file (file is in My Drive) Created by Jan on 21-10-2019 14:12 Edited by: Anne on 22-10-2019 09:55 Version: 2 Edited by: Anne on 22-10-2019 10:03 Version: 2 Version: 3 Edited by: Jan on 24-10-2019 11:03 Edited by: Anne on 24-10-2019 11:55 Version: 4 Previous version overwritten because the last version on the server was made by Anne too! @FemkeGoedhart
  8. 8. A file stored in My Drive… • Is always opened directly from the locally synced file in the My Drive folder • Is saved as a regular file in the local My Drive folder • Regular local files do not have versioning or comments, so the system doesn’t prompt for these either. • Overwrites the previously existing local copy of the file in the My Drive folder (My drive will never have more then one version of the file) • Is synced back to the server at regular intervals when a network connections is detected • In case of travel it is therefore possible that the file is updated and overwritten in the My Drive folder multiple times before it is synced back to the server. There are no versions locally. • If the last editor of the file on the server was the same person as the person who edited the version locally, the existing version on the server is overwritten and gets a new edit date but keeps the same version number • When the editor of the last version on the server is different from the person who edited it locally, a new version is created on the server from the local version. • If someone else edited the file on the server simultaneously, the change will be uploaded to the server but a sync issue will appear. @FemkeGoedhart
  9. 9. @FemkeGoedhart What when two people edit at the same time? Edited by: Anne on 22-10-2019 09:55 Version: 2 Edited by: Anne on 22-10-2019 10:03 Version: 3 Edited by: Jan on 24-10-2019 11:03 Edited by: Anne on 24-10-2019 11:55 Version: 4 Sync conflict! Because Jan uploaded a new version to the server before Anne’s latest changes were synced, the system throws a sync error on Anne’s file. After all, Anne’s changes (and therefore version 4) will not include the changes Jan made in Version 3 by Jan as she was working off version 2! Created by Jan on 21-10-2019 14:12 Anne is traveling and doesn’t have connection with the server so her version is not synced back to the server but stored locally in her My Drive...
  10. 10. Sync Issues: • Syncing issues are recognizable in your My Drive folder by the icon. If an error occurs the a yellow triangle symbol will be visible on top of the file icon with an exclamation mark to indicate there is a problem with the file. • In the Desktop Sync Issues viewer you will see the error too: @FemkeGoedhart
  11. 11. Solve Sync Issue: • Download the previous server version by using the download option in the browser and compare it to the local version • Merge the two version into one new version • Store the new version in your My Drive folder (overwrite the current one) • Go To the Sync Issues window • Click on the [Remove Issue] button • The revised file will be synced back to the server @FemkeGoedhart

×