Published on

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this


  1. 1. TheConstitutionCh. 3, Section 1
  2. 2. Six Main Principles- p. 70-71
  3. 3. Popular Sovereignty Rule by the people Consent of the governed  Citizens (aka “the governed”) must give their consent, or “OK”, for the government to function
  4. 4. Federalism- diagram on p. 74 Power divided between state and national governments Why federal and not unitary?  Articles of Confederation had failed so no one wanted the states to have all the power  BUT people we’re still scared to give all the power to the national government National government acts for country as a whole State governments control more local issues
  5. 5. Separation of Powers  3 branches (legislative, executive, judicial)  Each branch has its own responsibilities  Keeps any one branch from gaining too much power
  6. 6. Checks and Balances (see chart on p. 73) Each branch has some control over the other  President can check Congress by vetoing the laws it passes  Congress can check the president by overriding that veto (2/3 of each house has to agree)  Courts can check Congress by ruling their laws as unconstitutional  President can check courts by appointing judges, but the senate must approve
  7. 7. Judicial Review Ability of courts to declare laws unconstitutional Supreme court has final say Constitution does not directly give the courts this power, but it does say “judicial power shall extend to all cases arising under the Constitution” Marbury vs. Madison- court case giving federal courts the power to rule on the actions of the government
  8. 8. Limited Government Constitution lists the powers the government has and the powers it does not have First 10 amendments (bill of rights) are examples of these limits Protects the country from the abuse of power