A critique of Theodore Levitt's Marketing Myopia article in the context of contemporary application and its application and relevance to managers today.
This article critique considers the global context of business, the role of social media in marketing, and its impact on business strategy.
How to make an investor pitch deck that really worksDeck Rooster
In sales, a well established principle is, before one starts pitching to a customer, one should listen to what the customer has to say. That is because if you listen carefully he will lay out his needs in front of you, letting you present your solution in a way that fits into his needs perfectly.
The principle should be equally useful while pitching to an investor while raising funds. I can’t see a reason why it won’t be. But no one seems to be suggesting “you should listen more and talk less during an investor pitch”. Probably it is assumed that we already know what investors look for in a business. Is it a rockstar team; or may be a huge market size or is it traction or a break-through technology? Or may be different investors look for different combination of those things.
Actually all of those are means towards an end. They help investors figure out something more specific and quantitative that all investors look for in a startup before investing. But what is it?
A 10x return on their investment. That is it.
That number may vary from an early stage investor to a growth stage one, but you get the point, right? Not everyone says it out loud, because it makes them look money hungry, but that is what an investor business is all about.
But, now with that knowledge, how do you tweak your pitch and your pitch deck to make an investor feel that you are offering him an investment opportunity that could deliver a 10x return? And more importantly, can your business even deliver 10x return?
The above presentation by Deck Rooster answers those questions and offers a structure (not a template) for an investor pitch deck for startups. Check it out.
A pitch deck template with sample copy to help technology startups sell their business concept to angel investors and VCs. Inspired by pitch deck words of wisdom from Dave McClure (500 Startups), AirBnb, Guy Kawasaki and Venture Hacks (the folks behind AngelList).
YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE THESE PITCH DECK EXAMPLES & TEMPLATES:
> Airbnb pitch deck @ https://pitchdeckcoach.com/airbnb-pitch-deck
> Sequoia Capital pitch deck template @ https://pitchdeckcoach.com/sequoia-capital-pitch-deck
> FREE pitch deck template download @ https://pitchdeckcoach.com/free-pitch-deck-template
> Pitch deck guide with hints, tips, and a worked example @ https://pitchdeckcoach.com/pitch-deck-template
NEED HELP WITH YOUR PITCH DECK?
See how I can help then book a free call @ https://pitchdeckcoach.com/
MORE PITCH DECK RESOURCES @ https://pitchdeckcoach.com/pitch-deck-template#resources
Stripe pitch deck designed by Zlides
Want to create a pitch deck that inspires your audience? Get your FREE presentation kit designed by Zlides: http://bit.ly/slideshare_zlides
We present an economic framework to understand and manage platform growth. This builds from a model of network complements and two sided markets. The intuitions help set prices, openness, and features to absorb into the platform. The intuitions also help shape the transition from a traditional business model to a platform strategy.
Presented at the IBM executive education summit July 27, 2011.
Social media influencer marketing a framework for success - michelle goodallMichelle Goodall
Influencer Marketing can be a minefield. Apply common sense, simple framework and an understanding of the categories of influencer to your marketing, communications and digital campaigns. This presentation covers the basics of social media influencer marketing, provides a successful planning framework and highlights examples of best practice approaches in B2C and B2B.
SWAT analysis - strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threatsacropolisinfotech
A SWOT analysis is designed to facilitate a realistic, fact-based, data-driven look at the strengths and weaknesses of an organization, its initiatives, or an industry.
How to define and position your VC brand to attract funding and dealflow.
* note: more recent updated version below:
https://www.slideshare.net/dmc500hats/branding-strategies-for-better-dealflow-and-fundraising-aka-the-helpful-vc
This is a 5-step model for creating a metrics framework for your business & customers, and how to apply it to your product & marketing efforts. The "pirate" part comes from the 5 steps: Acquisition, Activation, Retention, Referral, & Revenue (AARRR!)
A practical guide and template to create a winning corporate venture pitch.
What is it for?
When you need to ask corporate leadership to back your venture and you want to convince them with a compelling story rooted in data.
Available in an editable PPT and Keynote template on our website: https://www.bundl.com/reports/the-proven-pitch-deck-template?utm_medium=Template platform&utm_source=Slideshare&utm_campaign=Slideshare%20-%20proven%20pitch%20
Benefits:
Unlock the funding and resources you need to move your venture forward.
Gain the support of internal stakeholders, your board of directors and/or corporate leadership.
Get real-world examples of successful corporate venture pitches.
A critique of Theodore Levitt's Marketing Myopia article in the context of contemporary application and its application and relevance to managers today.
This article critique considers the global context of business, the role of social media in marketing, and its impact on business strategy.
How to make an investor pitch deck that really worksDeck Rooster
In sales, a well established principle is, before one starts pitching to a customer, one should listen to what the customer has to say. That is because if you listen carefully he will lay out his needs in front of you, letting you present your solution in a way that fits into his needs perfectly.
The principle should be equally useful while pitching to an investor while raising funds. I can’t see a reason why it won’t be. But no one seems to be suggesting “you should listen more and talk less during an investor pitch”. Probably it is assumed that we already know what investors look for in a business. Is it a rockstar team; or may be a huge market size or is it traction or a break-through technology? Or may be different investors look for different combination of those things.
Actually all of those are means towards an end. They help investors figure out something more specific and quantitative that all investors look for in a startup before investing. But what is it?
A 10x return on their investment. That is it.
That number may vary from an early stage investor to a growth stage one, but you get the point, right? Not everyone says it out loud, because it makes them look money hungry, but that is what an investor business is all about.
But, now with that knowledge, how do you tweak your pitch and your pitch deck to make an investor feel that you are offering him an investment opportunity that could deliver a 10x return? And more importantly, can your business even deliver 10x return?
The above presentation by Deck Rooster answers those questions and offers a structure (not a template) for an investor pitch deck for startups. Check it out.
A pitch deck template with sample copy to help technology startups sell their business concept to angel investors and VCs. Inspired by pitch deck words of wisdom from Dave McClure (500 Startups), AirBnb, Guy Kawasaki and Venture Hacks (the folks behind AngelList).
YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE THESE PITCH DECK EXAMPLES & TEMPLATES:
> Airbnb pitch deck @ https://pitchdeckcoach.com/airbnb-pitch-deck
> Sequoia Capital pitch deck template @ https://pitchdeckcoach.com/sequoia-capital-pitch-deck
> FREE pitch deck template download @ https://pitchdeckcoach.com/free-pitch-deck-template
> Pitch deck guide with hints, tips, and a worked example @ https://pitchdeckcoach.com/pitch-deck-template
NEED HELP WITH YOUR PITCH DECK?
See how I can help then book a free call @ https://pitchdeckcoach.com/
MORE PITCH DECK RESOURCES @ https://pitchdeckcoach.com/pitch-deck-template#resources
Stripe pitch deck designed by Zlides
Want to create a pitch deck that inspires your audience? Get your FREE presentation kit designed by Zlides: http://bit.ly/slideshare_zlides
We present an economic framework to understand and manage platform growth. This builds from a model of network complements and two sided markets. The intuitions help set prices, openness, and features to absorb into the platform. The intuitions also help shape the transition from a traditional business model to a platform strategy.
Presented at the IBM executive education summit July 27, 2011.
Social media influencer marketing a framework for success - michelle goodallMichelle Goodall
Influencer Marketing can be a minefield. Apply common sense, simple framework and an understanding of the categories of influencer to your marketing, communications and digital campaigns. This presentation covers the basics of social media influencer marketing, provides a successful planning framework and highlights examples of best practice approaches in B2C and B2B.
SWAT analysis - strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threatsacropolisinfotech
A SWOT analysis is designed to facilitate a realistic, fact-based, data-driven look at the strengths and weaknesses of an organization, its initiatives, or an industry.
How to define and position your VC brand to attract funding and dealflow.
* note: more recent updated version below:
https://www.slideshare.net/dmc500hats/branding-strategies-for-better-dealflow-and-fundraising-aka-the-helpful-vc
This is a 5-step model for creating a metrics framework for your business & customers, and how to apply it to your product & marketing efforts. The "pirate" part comes from the 5 steps: Acquisition, Activation, Retention, Referral, & Revenue (AARRR!)
A practical guide and template to create a winning corporate venture pitch.
What is it for?
When you need to ask corporate leadership to back your venture and you want to convince them with a compelling story rooted in data.
Available in an editable PPT and Keynote template on our website: https://www.bundl.com/reports/the-proven-pitch-deck-template?utm_medium=Template platform&utm_source=Slideshare&utm_campaign=Slideshare%20-%20proven%20pitch%20
Benefits:
Unlock the funding and resources you need to move your venture forward.
Gain the support of internal stakeholders, your board of directors and/or corporate leadership.
Get real-world examples of successful corporate venture pitches.
To understand how I came up with the idea of "Strava" for basketball (Level Up - Basketball Training Platform), you need to dive deeper into my background and understand how I understand product strategy.
Here's my first growth strategy deck (54 slides 🙈), which I created myself (I still do create all decks myself) at the beginning of 2019 when I was CEO of MAPS.ME - #1 Travel Maps
In 2019 I planned to perform a management buyout deal ($20M M&A), get $10M cash-in investments, get my 10% shares in the new company, boost revenue up to $30M ARR by 2022 and sell the company to Booking.com for $500M 😁
I had no experience in fundraising at that time and expected that our strategic partner Booking.com would acquire us just because we were building that greater product 😁 I was wrong and learned about fundraising.
Please, take a look at this product strategy deck. I spent over 1000 hours in 2016-2018 developing this vision in my head. And talked to over 500 travel business representatives at the biggest travel conference (WTM in London).
The idea is pretty simple - social travel maps with millions of digital travel guides created by the community and some premium features available in a freemium subscription. 3 years have passed, but the idea still seems very promising now. In Q4 2020, we had a 5x boost in travel guides subscription revenue.
I decided to leave MAPS.ME in 2020 to start my own business and use all my experience to bring a beautiful new product to the global market 😊
I hope this deck will help you understand my approach to the product strategy I use in Level Up - Basketball Training Platform.
Level Up Basketball 🏀 pitch deck: https://docsend.com/view/h5ugys7jmggsrqxh
Product strategy is essential for any successful startup. It can often be the difference between an idea that flops and one that takes off. By understanding user acquisition and paying attention to product-market fit, startups are in a prime position to leverage the growth opportunity of a product's network effect. Crafting standout product offerings and creating an outstanding customer experience can be your best long-term marketing tool, driving organic growth through word of mouth. Building exactly what users want and providing value beyond their expectations is the key to product strategy success.
In this presentation, Atlas Advertising CEO Ben Wright gives detailed information about the eight components of world class websites, including online brands, website navigation, search engine marketing, gis systems, and more. This webinar can help you enhance your website in very specific and valuable ways.
Tripea enhances current industry processes to imporve the passenger experience and make travel more responsive and focused around traveler needs, preferences and budget.
GigaOM Research presentation on European app ecosystem. EC-funded project to understand the opportunities and challenges facing European apps developers. Mobile apps. Social apps. Smart TV.
Shape the Future App Economy of Europe Workshop / Brussels, Belgium / 14th June 2013
David Card is Vice President for Research at GigaOM Research. His expertise is as an industry analyst (and manager) covering the intersection of media, technology, and consumer behavior. His specialities include customer segmentation, competitive analysis, go-to-market strategies, market forecasting. Previously, David has held lead roles in Jupiter Research, International Data Corporation and Electronic Business magazine.
The Likeways navigation App, get to your destination, discover interesting places along the way while easily altering your route. Share liked locations.
Best Practices in Economic Development Websites for Better Results Atlas Integrated
Ben Wright, Atlas CEO & Guillermo Mazier, Atlas’ Director of Strategic Accounts, will cover the latest theory, website examples from around the country and 2014's best practices of the biggest game changer economic development marketing has ever seen. Takeaway real tools and techniques to review and revamp your most important marketing asset – your website.
Team Networks - 2022 Technology, Innovation & Great Power CompetitionStanford University
Technology Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, networks
Team LiOn Batteries - 2022 Technology, Innovation & Great Power CompetitionStanford University
Technology Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, LiOn Batteries
Team Quantum - 2022 Technology, Innovation & Great Power CompetitionStanford University
Technology Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, Quantum
Team Disinformation - 2022 Technology, Innovation & Great Power CompetitionStanford University
Technology Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, Disinformation
Team Wargames - 2022 Technology, Innovation & Great Power CompetitionStanford University
Technology Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, Wargames
Team Acquistion - 2022 Technology, Innovation & Great Power Competition Stanford University
Technology Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, Acquistion
Team Climate Change - 2022 Technology, Innovation & Great Power Competition Stanford University
Technology Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, climate
Team Army venture capital - 2021 Technology, Innovation & Great Power Competi...Stanford University
Technology, Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, unmanned, autonomy, Army venture capital
Team Army venture capital - 2021 Technology, Innovation & Great Power Competi...Stanford University
Technology, Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve Blank, Army Venture capital
Team Catena - 2021 Technology, Innovation & Great Power CompetitionStanford University
Technology, Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, unmanned, autonomy, economic coercion,
Team Apollo - 2021 Technology, Innovation & Great Power CompetitionStanford University
Technology, Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, unmanned, autonomy, space force
Team Drone - 2021 Technology, Innovation & Great Power CompetitionStanford University
Technology, Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, unmanned, autonomy, c3i, command and control
Team Short Circuit - 2021 Technology, Innovation & Great Power CompetitionStanford University
Technology, Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, unmanned, autonomy, semiconductors
Team Aurora - 2021 Technology, Innovation & Great Power CompetitionStanford University
Technology, Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, unmanned, autonomy, Army venture capital
Team Conflicted Capital Team - 2021 Technology, Innovation & Great Power Comp...Stanford University
Technology, Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, unmanned, autonomy, venture capital
Lecture 8 - Technology, Innovation and Great Power Competition - CyberStanford University
Technology, Innovation and Great Power Competition,TIGPC, Gordian knot Center, DIME-FIL, department of defense, dod, hacking for defense, intlpol 340, joe felter, ms&e296, raj shah, stanford, Steve blank, AI, ML, AI/ML, china, unmanned, autonomy, Michael Sulmeyer, cybercom,USCYBERCOM
Francesca Gottschalk - How can education support child empowerment.pptxEduSkills OECD
Francesca Gottschalk from the OECD’s Centre for Educational Research and Innovation presents at the Ask an Expert Webinar: How can education support child empowerment?
Exploiting Artificial Intelligence for Empowering Researchers and Faculty, In...Dr. Vinod Kumar Kanvaria
Exploiting Artificial Intelligence for Empowering Researchers and Faculty,
International FDP on Fundamentals of Research in Social Sciences
at Integral University, Lucknow, 06.06.2024
By Dr. Vinod Kumar Kanvaria
June 3, 2024 Anti-Semitism Letter Sent to MIT President Kornbluth and MIT Cor...Levi Shapiro
Letter from the Congress of the United States regarding Anti-Semitism sent June 3rd to MIT President Sally Kornbluth, MIT Corp Chair, Mark Gorenberg
Dear Dr. Kornbluth and Mr. Gorenberg,
The US House of Representatives is deeply concerned by ongoing and pervasive acts of antisemitic
harassment and intimidation at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Failing to act decisively to ensure a safe learning environment for all students would be a grave dereliction of your responsibilities as President of MIT and Chair of the MIT Corporation.
This Congress will not stand idly by and allow an environment hostile to Jewish students to persist. The House believes that your institution is in violation of Title VI of the Civil Rights Act, and the inability or
unwillingness to rectify this violation through action requires accountability.
Postsecondary education is a unique opportunity for students to learn and have their ideas and beliefs challenged. However, universities receiving hundreds of millions of federal funds annually have denied
students that opportunity and have been hijacked to become venues for the promotion of terrorism, antisemitic harassment and intimidation, unlawful encampments, and in some cases, assaults and riots.
The House of Representatives will not countenance the use of federal funds to indoctrinate students into hateful, antisemitic, anti-American supporters of terrorism. Investigations into campus antisemitism by the Committee on Education and the Workforce and the Committee on Ways and Means have been expanded into a Congress-wide probe across all relevant jurisdictions to address this national crisis. The undersigned Committees will conduct oversight into the use of federal funds at MIT and its learning environment under authorities granted to each Committee.
• The Committee on Education and the Workforce has been investigating your institution since December 7, 2023. The Committee has broad jurisdiction over postsecondary education, including its compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act, campus safety concerns over disruptions to the learning environment, and the awarding of federal student aid under the Higher Education Act.
• The Committee on Oversight and Accountability is investigating the sources of funding and other support flowing to groups espousing pro-Hamas propaganda and engaged in antisemitic harassment and intimidation of students. The Committee on Oversight and Accountability is the principal oversight committee of the US House of Representatives and has broad authority to investigate “any matter” at “any time” under House Rule X.
• The Committee on Ways and Means has been investigating several universities since November 15, 2023, when the Committee held a hearing entitled From Ivory Towers to Dark Corners: Investigating the Nexus Between Antisemitism, Tax-Exempt Universities, and Terror Financing. The Committee followed the hearing with letters to those institutions on January 10, 202
Macroeconomics- Movie Location
This will be used as part of your Personal Professional Portfolio once graded.
Objective:
Prepare a presentation or a paper using research, basic comparative analysis, data organization and application of economic information. You will make an informed assessment of an economic climate outside of the United States to accomplish an entertainment industry objective.
2024.06.01 Introducing a competency framework for languag learning materials ...Sandy Millin
http://sandymillin.wordpress.com/iateflwebinar2024
Published classroom materials form the basis of syllabuses, drive teacher professional development, and have a potentially huge influence on learners, teachers and education systems. All teachers also create their own materials, whether a few sentences on a blackboard, a highly-structured fully-realised online course, or anything in between. Despite this, the knowledge and skills needed to create effective language learning materials are rarely part of teacher training, and are mostly learnt by trial and error.
Knowledge and skills frameworks, generally called competency frameworks, for ELT teachers, trainers and managers have existed for a few years now. However, until I created one for my MA dissertation, there wasn’t one drawing together what we need to know and do to be able to effectively produce language learning materials.
This webinar will introduce you to my framework, highlighting the key competencies I identified from my research. It will also show how anybody involved in language teaching (any language, not just English!), teacher training, managing schools or developing language learning materials can benefit from using the framework.
3. PlandIt
Organizations3
Advertisers1
Individuals 2
$7.7B
$62M
$9.9M
77M
31M
27M
28M
10M
4M
TAM: 20-39 year-olds
who travel
SAM: All
potential users
Target market:
People with mobile
internet access
TAM: All
businesses
in the US
SAM: # of businesses
regularly organizing
travel
Target market:
addressable
market
Key insights
- Total addressable revenue: $72 million
- Advertising revenue upside: tentative
- Growth rate for digital travel advertising: 11%
Market Sizing
1. Total ad spend related to travel
2. Total potential ad revenue from users of individual group travel apps
3. Total potential revenue from subscriptions by companies and universities in the group travel
4. Business Model Canvas - Day 1
# of interviews conducted: 0 (# of online surveys: 30)
PlandIt
•Blogs
•Social media /
advertising
•The application
•Age group: 20 - 39
•Lifestyle: frequent
traveler
•Location: urban
metropolitan
Millennials living in
metropolitan areas
with sufficient
disposable income that
travel in groups
frequently.
•Advertising
•Subscription fee - commercial only
•Partnerships
•Customer data
•Influencers
Bloggers
•Payment
providers
Venmo, Stripe
•Travel sites
Tripadvisor
Yelp
•Booking sites
AirBnB
•Other apps
Google maps
•Initial development and maintenance
•User/customer acquisition/adoption
•Marketing
•General & Administrative costs - rent, equipment
•Software
development
User interface
•Marketing
•User services
● Self-service
● Community
● Co-creation
•The application
•Application
developers
•Cloud server
•Customer data
•Centralized planning
and coordination tool
● Simple way to
plan
● Track and settle
expenses
•Trip-centric
Two or more people
•Coordinate
Receive and send
notifications
6. “coordination and collaborative
decision-making for each task across all
participants”
Ideas, hotel and itinerary suggestions
and feedback, budget feedback, ...
PlandIt
“finding establishments that fall within
everyone’s budget”
“Conversations tend to shift towards other
topics in WhatsApp or by email”
“I need to ensure everyone is happy, but I
sometimes need to make hard choices”
“Non-responsiveness in group messages”
Moderator Liz • 26 years old
• Youngest; 2 siblings
• Columbia MSc Applied
Physics
• Single, but is seeing
classmate Ryan
• Organizes the annual
college friends trip
• Loves to make others
happy
Moderator Liz and Her Biggest Problems
7. • Mobile app
• Websites
- Social media
- Travel sites
- Blogs
• Individual: Free
• Advertisers: Ads & Customer data
Individuals
•Frequent group
traveler
•20-39 years old
•Urban area
•College educated
•Group with moderating
leader who plans in a
democratic way
Advertisers
•Hotels, airlines, towns,
attractions
•Mobile ad platforms
•Influencers
•Payment providers
•Cloud services
provider
•Other supporting
apps
- Google Maps
- TripAdvisor
- Yelp
•Travel-focused
blogs/forums
• Initial development and maintenance
• User/customer acquisition/adoption
- Marketing campaigns, both paid and organic
• General & Administrative costs
- Rent, equipment
PlandIt
•User interface
•Software
development (new
features)
•Marketing
•Mobile app
developers
•Customer data
Simplify Group
Trip Planning
Individuals
• Collect inputs from
participants (polling)
• Share itineraries and
create events in trips
• “Get everyone in the
same room” to plan and
make decisions quickly
Advertisers
• Access to frequent
travelers
Business Model Canvas - Day 4
# of interviews conducted: 51
Get
• SEO
• SEM: AdWords
• Marketing campaigns
• Collaboration with
popular travel websites
Keep,Grow: TBD
8. $135 p.n.| Pool | Casino
Updated Wireframe addresses Top Pains
Liz proposes Embassy
Suites in San Juan.
Do you want to stay here?
PlandIt
Book
Hotel
$180
3/4
votes
In
process
Pick
Destination
N/A
4/4
votes
Comple
ted
Book
Flights
$450
0/4
votes
Waiting
Pick
Dates
N/A 4/4
votes
Comple
ted
Activity Price Vote Status
1. Checklist 2. Polls
1:32 left to reply
Day 1 Day 5
# of MVP feedback interviews: 6
9. PlandIt
LTV CAC
Unit economics are insufficient
< $9 $10 - $20
Trip days per year 4*7 = 28
App mins per day 10
Total mins on app 10*28 = 280
# of impressions 2*280 =560
Annual value $1.7
Lifetime value 5*$1.7 = $8.4 → < $9
# of downloads p.m. 50k - 200k
SEM cost per click $0.50
Conversion to user 30%
Sales & Marketing p.m.1
$33K - $70K
Monthly cost $1.3 - $1.7
Acquisition cost ~$10 - ~$20
- Infrequent usage
- Low click rate on in-app advertising
- Smaller market than originally anticipated
Unit Economics
1. Year 1 Sales & Marketing costs
Based on 2 interviews:
Travefy founder, founder
successful travel website
10. Lack of financial viability
PlandIt
How do we tip the scales?
Time for a Pivot
Potentially interesting segments
based on our interviews:
1. Group travel for corporations
2. Group travel for universities
3. Location discovery for young
families
12. Business Model Canvas - Day 2
# of interviews conducted: 29
•App/word of mouth
•Google Ads
•Blogs
•Social media
•Conferences
Individuals
•Frequent group
traveler
•20-39 years old
•Urban area
•College educated
•Female (focus)
Organizations
•Universities
•Companies
•Charities
•Clubs
Individuals
Free
Organizations
Subscription fee
Get - social media, SEA,
SEO, blog posts, rewards
Keep - monthly emails,
updates
Grow - incentivize
individuals to sell to
organizations
Other
Ads
Customer data sales
Influencers
Payment providers
Cloud services
provider
Other supporting
apps
- Google Maps
- TripAdvisor
- Yelp
•Initial development and maintenance
•User/customer acquisition/adoption
•Marketing
•General & Administrative costs - rent, equipment
PlandIt
Simplify group trip
planning
• Share trip ideas and
make group decisions
• Track and settle
expenses
• Track against
budget/goals
Organizations:
“engagement”
•Involve participants in
travel planning
•Simplify expense
reimbursement
MVP: app for individuals to
like trip suggestions
Cust. dev. focus
Software
development
Marketing
User support
Smartphone
application developer
Customer data
Black = unchanged
Blue = new
13. •App/word of mouth
•Google Ads
•Blogs
•Social media
•Conferences
•Travel sites
•Partner sites (AirBnB, SPG)
Individuals
•Frequent group traveler
•20-39 years old
•Urban area
•College educated
•Female (focus)
Organizations
•Individuals who lead large treks
•Individuals who organize for their
friends
•Individuals who take a democratic
approach to planning with friends
•Companies
•Charities
•Clubs
Advertisers
•Hotel groups, airlines,
governments, sights
Individuals
Free
Organizations Groups
Subscription fee
Other Advertisers
Ads
Customer data sales
Influencers
Payment providers
Cloud services provider
Other supporting apps
- Google Maps
- TripAdvisor
- Yelp
•Initial development and maintenance
•User/customer acquisition/adoption
•Marketing
•General & Administrative costs - rent, equipment
PlandIt
Software development
Marketing
User support
Feature additions and
enhancements
Get - social media, SEA, SEO,
blog posts, rewards word of
mouth and social media
Keep - monthly emails, updates
notifications, travel deals,
curated content, feed
Grow - incentivize individuals to
sell to organizations incentivize
word of mouth, build a brand
around group travel
Smartphone application
developer
Customer data
Relationships
Business Model Canvas - Day 3
# of interviews conducted: 40 (+11 since Day 2)
⇒ Simplify group trip planning
Individuals
• Share trip ideas and make group
decisions with polling capability
• Track and settle finances
expenses• Track against budget/goal
Organizations: “engagement”
•Involve participants in travel
planning•Simplify expense
reimbursement MVP: app for
individuals to like trip suggestions
• Collect inputs from participants
• Track itinerary, expenses & updates
Groups
• Share itineraries and create
events within trips
Advertisers
• Access to frequent travelers with
particular focus on millennials
Black = unchanged
Blue = new
Red = deleted