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Welcome to
Know Your Numbers
Matt Deutsch, BT&Co.
PAGE HEADING HEREWho Am I?
- With BT&Co. team since
2004
- โ€œProactiveโ€ CPA
- Proud father of 4(!) children
PAGE HEADING HEREBaby Britton
Beliefs
Questions
Decisions
Activities
DataFinancial Statements
Insight
PAGE HEADING HEREThe Business Scoreboard
PAGE HEADING HERESystems
โ€ข Allow for consistent, reliable and timely
information to be gathered and analyzed
โ€ข Set up is critical
โ€ข Choose metrics that matter to YOU and your
business most
โ€ข Business owners must have a routine for
reviewing and analyzing the numbers of the
business
PAGE HEADING HEREBasic Financial Statements
โ€ข Balance Sheet
โ€ข Income Statement
โ€ข Cash Flow Statement
PAGE HEADING HEREBasis of Accounting
Accrual Basis (โ€œGAAPโ€) Cash Basis
โ€ข Revenue recognized when
cash is received
โ€ข Expenses recognized when
cash is paid
โ€ข Revenue recognized when
earned
โ€ข Expenses recognized when
incurred
โ€ข Allows organizations to
measure financial condition
PAGE HEADING HEREBalance Sheet
โ€ข What you own (assets) and
what you owe (liabilities)
โ€ข Presents the:
โ€ข financial condition,
โ€ข long-term solvency,
โ€ข short-term liquidity of an
organization at a point in
time
Assets โ€“
Liabilities
= Equity
PAGE HEADING HERESolvency
Solvency measures a
Companyโ€™s ability to meet
long-term obligations.
Sample ratios include:
โ€ข Debt to equity
โ€ข Debt to assets
โ€ข Interest coverage ratio
Debt to equity = Total debt
/ total equity
Debt to assets = Total debt
/ total assets
Interest coverage =
EBITDA / interest expense
PAGE HEADING HERELiquidity
Liquidity refers to a Companyโ€™s
ability to pay its short-term
obligations
Sample ratios include:
โ€ข Current ratio
โ€ข Days sales outstanding
โ€ข Inventory days
โ€ข Accounts payable days
Current ratio = current assets /
current liabilities
Days sales outstanding = accounts
receivable / (annual revenue/365)
Inventory days = Inventory /
(annual COGS/365)
Accounts payable days = accounts
payable / (annual COGS/ 365)
PAGE HEADING HEREIncome Statement
Shows the results of your
activities over a period of time
REMEMBER: Net income does
not equal cash flow
Key terms:
- Fixed expenses
- Variable expenses
- Gross Profit and gross
margin
Revenue
โ€“ Variable Expenses
= Gross Profit
โ€“ Fixed Expenses
= Net Profit
PAGE HEADING HEREIncome Statement Ratios
Key ratios:
- Gross profit %
- Fixed cost % of revenue
- Net income % of revenue
- Breakeven sales $ and
amount
PAGE HEADING HERECash Flow Statement
An income statement tells us
how much a company expects
to make ; the cash flow
statement tells us the actual
cash inflows and outflows for
the period
Three types of
cash flows:
- Operating
- Financing
- Investing/Capital
PAGE HEADING HEREWays to Increase Cash Flow
Ways to Increase Cash Flow
1. Increase prices
2. Increase sales volume
3. Reduce direct costs of providing services
4. Reduce overhead costs
5. Reduce A/R
6. Reduce inventory days
7. Increase A/P days
PAGE HEADING HEREMattโ€™s Top 5 Proactive Accounting
Commandments
Thou shalt:
I. Manage the cash gap
II. Know your gross margins by
product/service AND by
customer type
III. Know your breakeven
numbers ($ and units)
IV. Price strategically
V. Plan for financial success
PAGE HEADING HEREI. Manage the cash gap
Take proactive steps to shorten cycle times
within the cash conversion cycle
PAGE HEADING HEREII. Margins
Segment information into useful chunks
โ€ข By activity, customer type, etc.
Unpack line items to get down to the underlying driver
Example โ€“ sales revenue
โ€ข (current customers + new customers โ€“ lost customers) =
total customers
โ€ข Total customers x average $ sale = revenue
Each component has specific strategies to improve that
component
New customers = # of leads x conversion rate
PAGE HEADING HEREIII. Breakeven sales dollars
Breakeven Sales $ = Fixed costs / Gross Profit %
BE $ = 966,618 / 30%
BE = 3,222,060
BE + Desired Profit Sales $= (Fixed Costs + Desired
Profit) / Gross Profit %
BE + Profit Sales $ = (966,618 + 250,000) / 30%
BE + Profit Sales $ = 4,055,393
PAGE HEADING HEREIII. Breakeven sales units
Breakeven Sales units = Fixed costs / Gross Profit $
BE $ = 966,618 / ($10,000 sale - $7,000 COGS)
BE = 322 units annually (27 per month)
BE units + Desired Profit Sales = (Fixed Costs +
Desired Profit) / Gross Profit $
BE + Profit Sales $ = (966,618 + 250,000) / $3,000
BE units + Profit Sales $ = 406 units (34 per month)
PAGE HEADING HEREIV. Price Strategically
PAGE HEADING HEREIV. Price Strategically
PAGE HEADING HEREV. Have a financial plan for your
business
โ€ข Sketch of the future
โ€œThe fundamental job of a leader is predictionโ€
- W. Edwards Deming
โ€ข Provides in-depth insight into your business model
โ€ข What is and isnโ€™t working
โ€ข What are our highest priorities
โ€ข Increased confidence in decision-making
โ€ข Exploit opportunities, avoid catastrophes
โ€ข Provides a goal to shoot for and something against which progress can
be evaluated
โ€ข Be brutally honest and truthful
โ€ข If you donโ€™t like what the future looks like, you have a chance to
do something about it!
โ€ข Donโ€™t wait and hope! Plan your success in advance!
PAGE HEADING HEREThank You!
Matt Deutsch
mdeutsch@btandcocpa.com
(785) 234-3427
www.btandcocpa.com

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Business bootcamp "know your numbers" presentation

  • 2. Know Your Numbers Matt Deutsch, BT&Co.
  • 3. PAGE HEADING HEREWho Am I? - With BT&Co. team since 2004 - โ€œProactiveโ€ CPA - Proud father of 4(!) children
  • 6. PAGE HEADING HEREThe Business Scoreboard
  • 7. PAGE HEADING HERESystems โ€ข Allow for consistent, reliable and timely information to be gathered and analyzed โ€ข Set up is critical โ€ข Choose metrics that matter to YOU and your business most โ€ข Business owners must have a routine for reviewing and analyzing the numbers of the business
  • 8. PAGE HEADING HEREBasic Financial Statements โ€ข Balance Sheet โ€ข Income Statement โ€ข Cash Flow Statement
  • 9. PAGE HEADING HEREBasis of Accounting Accrual Basis (โ€œGAAPโ€) Cash Basis โ€ข Revenue recognized when cash is received โ€ข Expenses recognized when cash is paid โ€ข Revenue recognized when earned โ€ข Expenses recognized when incurred โ€ข Allows organizations to measure financial condition
  • 10. PAGE HEADING HEREBalance Sheet โ€ข What you own (assets) and what you owe (liabilities) โ€ข Presents the: โ€ข financial condition, โ€ข long-term solvency, โ€ข short-term liquidity of an organization at a point in time Assets โ€“ Liabilities = Equity
  • 11. PAGE HEADING HERESolvency Solvency measures a Companyโ€™s ability to meet long-term obligations. Sample ratios include: โ€ข Debt to equity โ€ข Debt to assets โ€ข Interest coverage ratio Debt to equity = Total debt / total equity Debt to assets = Total debt / total assets Interest coverage = EBITDA / interest expense
  • 12. PAGE HEADING HERELiquidity Liquidity refers to a Companyโ€™s ability to pay its short-term obligations Sample ratios include: โ€ข Current ratio โ€ข Days sales outstanding โ€ข Inventory days โ€ข Accounts payable days Current ratio = current assets / current liabilities Days sales outstanding = accounts receivable / (annual revenue/365) Inventory days = Inventory / (annual COGS/365) Accounts payable days = accounts payable / (annual COGS/ 365)
  • 13. PAGE HEADING HEREIncome Statement Shows the results of your activities over a period of time REMEMBER: Net income does not equal cash flow Key terms: - Fixed expenses - Variable expenses - Gross Profit and gross margin Revenue โ€“ Variable Expenses = Gross Profit โ€“ Fixed Expenses = Net Profit
  • 14. PAGE HEADING HEREIncome Statement Ratios Key ratios: - Gross profit % - Fixed cost % of revenue - Net income % of revenue - Breakeven sales $ and amount
  • 15. PAGE HEADING HERECash Flow Statement An income statement tells us how much a company expects to make ; the cash flow statement tells us the actual cash inflows and outflows for the period Three types of cash flows: - Operating - Financing - Investing/Capital
  • 16. PAGE HEADING HEREWays to Increase Cash Flow Ways to Increase Cash Flow 1. Increase prices 2. Increase sales volume 3. Reduce direct costs of providing services 4. Reduce overhead costs 5. Reduce A/R 6. Reduce inventory days 7. Increase A/P days
  • 17. PAGE HEADING HEREMattโ€™s Top 5 Proactive Accounting Commandments Thou shalt: I. Manage the cash gap II. Know your gross margins by product/service AND by customer type III. Know your breakeven numbers ($ and units) IV. Price strategically V. Plan for financial success
  • 18. PAGE HEADING HEREI. Manage the cash gap Take proactive steps to shorten cycle times within the cash conversion cycle
  • 19. PAGE HEADING HEREII. Margins Segment information into useful chunks โ€ข By activity, customer type, etc. Unpack line items to get down to the underlying driver Example โ€“ sales revenue โ€ข (current customers + new customers โ€“ lost customers) = total customers โ€ข Total customers x average $ sale = revenue Each component has specific strategies to improve that component New customers = # of leads x conversion rate
  • 20. PAGE HEADING HEREIII. Breakeven sales dollars Breakeven Sales $ = Fixed costs / Gross Profit % BE $ = 966,618 / 30% BE = 3,222,060 BE + Desired Profit Sales $= (Fixed Costs + Desired Profit) / Gross Profit % BE + Profit Sales $ = (966,618 + 250,000) / 30% BE + Profit Sales $ = 4,055,393
  • 21. PAGE HEADING HEREIII. Breakeven sales units Breakeven Sales units = Fixed costs / Gross Profit $ BE $ = 966,618 / ($10,000 sale - $7,000 COGS) BE = 322 units annually (27 per month) BE units + Desired Profit Sales = (Fixed Costs + Desired Profit) / Gross Profit $ BE + Profit Sales $ = (966,618 + 250,000) / $3,000 BE units + Profit Sales $ = 406 units (34 per month)
  • 22. PAGE HEADING HEREIV. Price Strategically
  • 23. PAGE HEADING HEREIV. Price Strategically
  • 24. PAGE HEADING HEREV. Have a financial plan for your business โ€ข Sketch of the future โ€œThe fundamental job of a leader is predictionโ€ - W. Edwards Deming โ€ข Provides in-depth insight into your business model โ€ข What is and isnโ€™t working โ€ข What are our highest priorities โ€ข Increased confidence in decision-making โ€ข Exploit opportunities, avoid catastrophes โ€ข Provides a goal to shoot for and something against which progress can be evaluated โ€ข Be brutally honest and truthful โ€ข If you donโ€™t like what the future looks like, you have a chance to do something about it! โ€ข Donโ€™t wait and hope! Plan your success in advance!
  • 25. PAGE HEADING HEREThank You! Matt Deutsch mdeutsch@btandcocpa.com (785) 234-3427 www.btandcocpa.com

Editor's Notes

  1. the financial reporting flow. Purpose of today is provide some tools that can be used so that finances are not just a cost center for your company, but a strategic asset that helps you make critical decisions with confidence and ultimately help make your organization more effective
  2. Executing activities that create data โ€“ now we need to aggregate and make sense of the data. Michael Gerber (E-Myth) story about lack of monitoring
  3. Creditors are concerned about solvency because they want their debt to be paid Designed to answer the question โ€“ is the Organization too deeply in debt
  4. Measures of liquidity help to identify problems with cash flow so that an organization can take corrective action to prevent a cash crisis All measures of liquidity should be monitored for trends and against historical experience
  5. Operating (what you make out of running your operations) Investment (how much money youโ€™re investing into assets) Financing (how much of other peopleโ€™s money are you using to run your business).
  6. EMI story Sales cycle โ€“ Goldman Sachs from months to days Production โ€“ processes, equipment, training Billing โ€“ rapport with customers, timeliness โ€“ always specify a due date Payment โ€“ donโ€™t pay early if there is no incentive to do so
  7. Exhibit E and F
  8. What if GP % increased to 35% instead of 30% (answer 2,761,766)
  9. What if GP % increased to 35% instead of 30% (answer 2,761,766)