The document is a lecture on e-marketing given by Bahman Moghimi. It discusses definitions of marketing and value, log file analysis for websites, branding on the internet, domain name registration, website usability best practices, and content requirements for websites. The lecture emphasizes the importance of understanding new technologies for effective online marketing strategies and creating compelling content to attract and engage customers.
5. Marketing: is typically seen as the task of
exchanging value for creating, promoting, and
delivering goods and services to consumers
and businesses.
7. 7
What is value really?
◦ Brand value, Image value
◦ Monetary value
◦ Behavioral value
◦ Location value
When do you feel valued?
How can we create value?
What is “Brand Equity”?
Segmentation
Targeting
Differentiation
Positioning
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Product
Innovation
Conceive of attractive new
products and services and
commercialize them
Customer
Relationship
Management
Identify, attract, and build
relationships with
customers
Infrastructure
Management
Build and manage facilities
for high-volume, repetitive
operational tasks
Source: Hagel and Singer, 1999
RETHINKING THE TRADITIONAL ORGANIZATION
15. Websites log files’ analysis show most popular page, visitor’s country
of origin & computer details, route taken to your site
Track repeat visitors using cookies (store tiny piece of info – name,
purchase, preferences - back to the visitor’s computer)
Improve on basic response analysis using sophisticated geo-targeting
software (automatic feedback & info change matching a visitor’s
browsing habits)
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16. The term log file can refer to:
In computer data logging, the file to which a computer
system writes a record of its activities.
Output produced by a data logger
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17. The web is an opportunity for creating & promoting your brand
MOVE FAST because website domain names are in short supply
The Net is developing fast giving plenty of scope for creating a
powerful brand
Choose your brand carefully to have a big impact on your web
audience
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18. The web provides instant feedback, whereas with other media it is more costly,
time consuming & difficult to move from start up to recognized brand
Every website is referenced by a unique domain & every website must register
for a unique domain (even if the company has a registered name/trademark)
Professional look: register your company’s own domain name for e-mail &
website
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19. Own domain name registration is easy & inexpensive:
– Ask your ISP to do it for you
– Or, do it yourself at websites such as
www.networksolutions.com or www.netbenefit.com/
(if you’ve signed up with a free ISP - AOL, CompuServe – you might need a
2nd ISP to register & manage your domain)
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20. High rate of domain name registration (your name might be chosen
by others if you don’t move fast)
Specialist search tools enable to verify the availability of a domain
name:
– Some can suggest alternative domain names, such as
www.NetworkSolutions.com
– Others provide a list of high-profile names up for auction – at a
premium price, such as www.greatdomains.com
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22. Register all the alternative ways your name could be
spelt (to avoid confusions such as: the same name registered with ‘.com’,
‘.org’, ‘.uk’, ‘.co.nl’ endings; or derivatives of one name
www.altavista.com www.alta-vista.com www.altavista.digital.com
www.digital.altavista.com
Might take users numerous trials to track a site if they
have no recollection of the domain name
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23. Managers need to understand the capabilities of new media to
invest on implementing an effective “Marketing Plan”.
Examples of Technologies:
- HTML Forms - Java - XML
- Database - DHTML - XHTML
- Multimedia - Video clips - …
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54. shifts from "face-to-face" to "screen-to-face"
important to consider the types of interface design
available
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55. The 7Cs Framework
A virtual representation of a firm's chosen value
proposition
Compelling sites
◦ communicate the core value proposition of the company
◦ provide a compelling rationale for buying and/or visiting the
site
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56. The 7C’s of Customer Interface
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Context
-site layout
& design
Commerce
-ability to do
business
Connection
-links to
other sites
Community
-user-user
interaction
Communication
-user:user; user-
site; 1 or 2 way
Content
-what the
site contains
Customization
-ability to tailor
or personalize
58. 1. Site Load-time Is Reasonable
If a site takes forever to load, most people will just leave. Yes, many of us have broadband now, but
that makes our patience even thinner.
2. Adequate Text-to-Background Contrast
Eyes and monitors vary wildly, so keep your core copy contrast high. Good, old-fashioned black-on-
white is still best most of the time.
3. Font Size/Spacing Is Easy to Read
Poor readability increases frustration, and frustration leads to site abandonment. Also, make sure your
line spacing is adequate - white-space is a designer's best friend.
4. Flash & Add-ons Are Used Sparingly
No matter how great your site looks, people won't wait 5 minutes for a plug-in to load. Use new
technology sparingly and only when it really enhances your goals. Sticking to standard HTML/CSS is
also a plus for search engines.
5. Images Have Appropriate ALT Tags
Not only do sight-impaired visitors use ALT tags, but search engines need them to understand your
images. This is especially critical when you use images for key content, such as menu items.
6. Site Has Custom Not-found/404 Page
If a page on your site doesn't exist, a white page with "404 Not Found" is a good way to lose a
customer. Create a custom 404 page, preferably one that guides your visitors to content.
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59. 7. Company Logo Is Prominently Placed
Put your logo or brand where it's easy to find, and that usually means the upper-left of the
screen.
8. Tagline Makes Company's Purpose Clear
Answer "What do you do?" concisely with a descriptive tagline. Avoid marketing jargon
and boil your unique value proposition down to a few words. This is also a plus for SEO.
9. Home-page Is Digestible In 5 Seconds
In usability, we often talk about the 5-second rule. There's some disagreement over just how
many seconds you get, but website visitors are a fickle bunch, and they need to get the basic
gist of your home-page in just a few moments.
10. Clear Path to Company Information
The good old "About Us" page may seem boring, but confidence is important on the web,
and people need an easy way to learn more about you.
11. Clear Path to Contact Information
Similarly, visitors want to know that they can get in touch with you if they need to.
Preferably, list your contact information as text (not in an image) - it'll get picked up by
search engines, including local searches.
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60. 12. Main Navigation Is Easily Identifiable
Make your main navigation easy to find, read, and use.
13. Navigation Labels Are Clear & Concise
Don't say "Communicate Online With Our Team" when "Contact Us" will do just fine.
Your main navigation should be short, to the point, and easy for mere mortals to grasp.
14. Number of Buttons/Links Is Reasonable
Psychologists like to argue about how many pieces of information we can process, but if
you start to get past 7-or-so menu items, think hard about whether you need them. If
you've got 3 layers of flyaway Javascript menus, start over.
15. Company Logo Is Linked to Home-page
This may sound minor, but people expect logos to link to home-pages, and when they
don't, confusion follows.
16. Links Are Consistent & Easy to Identify
Consider at least making your links either blue or underlined. Links should stand out, and
you should use them sparingly enough that they don't disrupt your content.
17. Site Search Is Easy to Access
Usability guidelines tend to prefer the upper-right corner of the page. Keep the button
simple and clear - "Search" still works best for most sites.
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61. 18. Major Headings Are Clear & Descriptive
Most people don't read online, they skim. Use headings (major and minor) to set content
apart and keep it organized. Headings should be clear, and for SEO benefit, using heading
tags (<H1>, <H2>, etc.).
19. Critical Content Is Above The Fold
The "fold" is that imaginary line where the bottom of your screen cuts off a page. Content
can fall below the fold, but anything critical to understanding who you are or what you do
(especially on the home-page) should fit on that first screen. Average screen resolution
these days is about 1024x768, depending on your audience.
20. Styles & Colors Are Consistent
Make sure people know they're still on your site by being consistent. - Confuse them and
you'll lose them! Layout, headings, and styles should be consistent site-wide, and colors
should usually have the same meaning. Don't use red headers on one page, red links on
another, and red text somewhere else.
21. Emphasis (bold, etc.) Is Used Sparingly
It's a fact of human cognition: try to draw attention to everything and you'll effectively
draw attention to nothing. We've all seen that site, the one with a red, blinking, underlined
"NEW!" next to everything. Don't be that guy.
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62. 22. Ads & Pop-ups Are Unobtrusive
Ads are a fact of life, but integrate them nicely into your site. Don't try to force ads and
pop-ups down peoples' throats. Also make your ads clear. If you blur the line between ads
and content too much, your content may suffer.
23. Main Copy Is Concise & Explanatory
This isn't a lesson in copywriting, but look at your home-page - can you say the same thing
in half as many words? Try to be concrete and descriptive and avoid jargon - nobody cares
if you can "leverage your synergies".
24. URLs Are Meaningful & User-friendly
This is a point of some debate, but meaningful keyword-based URLs are generally good
for both visitors and search engines. You don't have to re-engineer an entire site just to get
new URLs, but do what you can to make them descriptive and friendly.
25. HTML Page Titles Are Explanatory
More importantly, your page titles (in the <TITLE> tag) should be descriptive, unique, and
not jammed full of keywords. Page titles are the first thing search-engine visitors see, and
if those titles don't make sense or look spammy, they'll move on to the next result.
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http://www.usereffect.com/download/checklist.pdf
66. All digital information included on the site
Four dimensions to content are
◦ a) offering mix
◦ b) appeal mix
◦ c) multimedia mix
◦ d) content type
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68. Company Mission and Vision
Home Page
About Page
Services
Blog Posts
Contact Page
Others to Consider
◦ 404 pages
◦ Testimonials
◦ Terms
◦ Privacy Policy
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http://www.howto.gov/web-content/requirements-and-best-practices/checklist
Government web best practices.
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Superstore
A big-box store (also supercenter, superstore, or megastore) is a large retail
establishment, usually part of a chain. The term sometimes also refers, by extension, to
the company that operates the store. The store may sell general dry goods in which
case it is a department store, or may be limited to a particular specialty (such
establishments are often called "category killers") or may also sell groceries, in which
case some countries use the term hypermarket.
71. Category Killer
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Large companies that put less efficient and highly specialized merchants out of
business. Category killers can attain this status by being cheaper, easier, bigger,
or more popular than the competition.
One of the best examples of a category killer is Wal-Mart, their chain has put
smaller stores in a wide range of specialized categories out of business.
78. Page access: If a search engine can’t reach a page, it’s impossible to have it indexed.
Make sure that the robots.txt file or robots meta tag isn’t accidentally blocking
important pages.
Inappropriate pages: On the other hand: some pages should not be indexed, for
example incomplete pages or confidential pages. Block them via the robots.txt file or
robots meta tag.
Pagination: help search engines handle pagination by implementing the rel=”next” and
rel=”prev” tag.
Redirects: use 301-redirects instead of 302. 301-redirects pass more PageRank.
404 errors: try to reduce the amount of 404 errors to a minimum.
Site speed: site speed has become a ranking factor. Faster is better. Use Google Page
Speed to check the loading time of your pages.
Mobile accessibility: is your site accessible for mobile devices? Google recommends a
responsive design.
Duplicate content: check for duplicate content in Google Webmaster tools,
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79. www or non-www: Choose one and make sure the internal and inbound links use
the same format. Use Google Webmaster Tools to set the preferred version.
Automatic URL rewriting is also possible.
Domain extension: Local businesses might want to consider choosing a country-
specific domain extension for better ranking.
Sub-domain or subfolder: Sub-domains are often seen by Google as separate
domains, so it’s best to use subfolders. If you have several, non-related products
you can still opt for a sub-domain though
Descriptive URLs: use a descriptive page name instead of a random number of
words and letters. The same goes for subfolders.
Hyphens: use hyphens to split words in a URL.
URL parameters: you can help Google handle URL parameters via Google
Webmaster tools.
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80. HTML sitemap: a HTML sitemap is not only useful for visitors, but also for
search engines. It helps them understand your site architecture.
XML sitemap: this sitemap is only visible for search engines. XML sitemaps
allow you to add metadata which can be used to provide additional information
about the content of each page. An XML sitemap can contain a maximum of
50,000 links.
Image sitemap: The Image Sitemap can help your images show up in Google
Image Search results and get you some extra visitors.
Video sitemap: a video sitemap can help with the creation of rich snippets for
your page.
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81. Single keyword per page: Make sure every page targets a single keyword.
Keyword research: ranking for the correct keywords is very important. Do
some research and see which keyword has the highest traffic potential and the
least amount of competition. Balance these two factors.
Keyword in URL: use the keyword in the URL (page name)
Keyword in title: use the keyword in the title of the page, preferably in the
beginning. This is an important indicator for search engines to categorise a
page.
Keyword in headings: use the keyword in one or more headings (h1, h2,
h3…). The h1 tag should only be used once on a page and should be used for
the title.
Keyword in content: it’s impossible to write about a topic without using the
keyword. Use it, including variations and synonyms, throughout the text. Try
to use it in the first paragraph too.
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82. Title: max. 70 characters long
Unique value: does your content provide unique value to the visitor? Great
content attracts links naturally.
Content type: choosing a different content type, e.g. infographic, comic,
quiz… can help you attract links.
Crawl-ability: Search engines have difficulties crawling certain content types,
for example images or flash content. A combination of HTML, CSS and web
fonts can be used to solve certain crawl-ability problems
Language targeting: inform search engines about a translated page by using
the rel=”alternate” hreflang=”x” annotation.
Freshness: search engines like new content. Regularly posting or updating
pages is recommended.
Content length: content length is correlated with rankings. Longer articles
usually score better. Try to aim for at least 300 words.
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83. File name: choose a descriptive file name instead of random words and
numbers.
Alt-tag: don’t forget to add an alt-tag with a short description of the image.
Size: keep your images as small as possible to improve page load times
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84. Meta description: change the description of a page in the SERPs by adding a
meta-description tag. A good description convinces surfers to click on the link.
Don’t forget to use keywords because they appear in bold.
Structured data: add structured data to your page that can be used to generate
rich snippets. Rich snippets can vastly improve the CTR of your pages.
Structured data can be added via microdata, RFDa or microformats.
Authorship information: add authorship information to your pages.
AuthorRank is a relatively new ranking factor.
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A Search Engine Results Page (SERP) is the listing of results returned
by a search engine in response to a keyword query.
85. Thumbnail: choose an eye-catching thumbnail that’s at least 200 x 200 pixels.
Title: the title acts as an anchor text for your social snippet.
URL: the URL of the underlying page. Don’t forget to tag your URL using
Google’s URL builder for additional information in Google Analytics.
Description: a short description of the content. You can use the meta-
description for this.
Twitter: Twitter Cards use the Open Graph tags, supplemented with several
Twitter-specific tags.
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86. Local optimization: optimize your page as you would do for any other
keyword. Use the location (for example Palo Alto) in the page title, URL and
content.
Structured data: location information can also be added via structured data.
Multiple locations: if you have a chain of businesses, create a unique page
with a separate URL for each location.
Google+: create a Google+ Local page for your business.
Local listing: get links from local listings (YellowPages, Foursquare, Yelp…)
to improve your visibility for local search queries.
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87. Inbound links: check the number of inbound links.
Authority: links from sites with a high domain authority are more valuable
Anchor text: the anchor text is the text that is used to link to your site.
Keywords in an anchor text are very useful, but don’t overdo this. Make sure
your link profile looks natural.
Diversity: try to gain links from multiple, relevant domains instead of only a
handful of sites.
Nofollow: inbound links that use the rel=”nofollow” tag pass no Page-Rank
Bad links: links from spammy, suspicious websites can hurt your rankings.
Contact the webmaster to remove them or use the Disavow Tool.
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88. Community: Includes a feeling of membership in a
group along with a strong sense of involvement and
shared common interests with that group
Based on user-to-user communication, which can be
one-to-one or one-to-many
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94. A site's ability to tailor itself to each user or be tailored
by each user
Can be initiated by the user, a process termed
"personalization," or by the organization, a process
termed "tailoring."
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95. To attract users and to keep them returning, the site provides a
variety of features that include
◦ personalized e-mail accounts
◦ virtual hard-disk storage
◦ software agents to perform simple tasks
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THE INCREASED USE OF MASS-CUSTOMIZATION
• Personal Computers (Dell)
• Designer Jeans (Levi’s)
• Music CDs (CD Now)
• Greeting cards (Hallmark)
• Bicycles (National Bicycle)
• Cars (Toyota and Nissan)
• Refrigerators (Samsung)
• Watch (Swatch)
98. The ability through software to dynamically publish
unique versions of the site to address a specific user's
interests, habits, and needs more appropriately.
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99. Dialogue that is initiated by the organization.
◦ one-way from the organization to the user (broadcast)
◦ or more interactive
Broadcast communication
Mass mailings
FAQ
E-mail newsletters
Content-update reminders
Broadcast events
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102. Degree to which a given site is able to link to other
sites through a hypertext jump or hyperlink from one
web page to another
Links that take the user completely outside the home site and
into a third-party site
home site background
Pathway-in approaches
Affiliate programs
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103. Those features of the customer interface that support the various
aspects of trading transactions
Registration
Shopping cart
Security
Credit-card approval
One-click shopping
Orders through affiliates
Configuration technology
Order tracking
Delivery options
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104. Crypto Technology
Crypto Currency
E-Wallet
Digital Currency
PayPal and other Electronic Money
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Offer a large number of standard components that can be mixed and matched in many ways
Give the customer illusion of infinite choice whilst keeping manufacturing and supply chain
complexity to a minimum
108. Display advertising: the use of web banners or banner ads placed on a third-party
website or blog to drive traffic to a company's own website and increase product
awareness.
Search engine marketing (SEM): a form of marketing that seeks to promote websites
by increasing their visibility in search engine result pages (SERPs) through the use of
either paid placement, contextual advertising, and paid inclusion, or through the use of
free search engine optimization techniques also known as organic result.
Search engine optimization (SEO): the process of improving the visibility of a website
or a web page in search engines via the "natural" or un-paid ("organic" or "algorithmic")
search results.
Social media marketing: the process of gaining traffic or attention through social media
websites such as Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.
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109. Email marketing: directly marketing a commercial message to a group of people
using electronic mail.
Referral marketing: a method of promoting products or services to new customers
through referrals, usually word of mouth.
Affiliate marketing: a marketing practice in which a business rewards one or more
affiliates for each visitor or customer brought about by the affiliate's own marketing
efforts.
Content marketing: the process of creating specialized content such as info-graphics,
blog articles and e-books to attract more customers.
Inbound marketing: involves creating and freely sharing informative content as a
means of converting prospects into customers and customers into repeat buyers.
Video marketing: This type of marketing specializes in creating videos that engage
the viewer into a buying state by presenting information in video form and guiding
them to a product or service.
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110. CPM (Cost Per Mille) or CPT (Cost Per Thousand Impressions) is when
advertisers pay for exposure of their message to a specific audience. "Per mille"
means per thousand impressions, or loads of an advertisement. However, some
impressions may not be counted, such as a reload or internal user action.
CPC (Cost Per Click) or PPC (Pay per click) is when advertisers pay each time a
user clicks on their listing and is redirected to their website. They do not actually pay
for the listing, but only when the listing is clicked on.
CPA (Cost Per Action or Cost Per Acquisition) or PPF (Pay Per
Performance)advertising is performance based and is common in the affiliate
marketing sector of the business. In this payment scheme, the publisher takes all the
risk of running the ad, and the advertiser pays only for the number of users who
complete a transaction, such as a purchase or sign-up.
◦ CPL (Cost Per Lead) advertising is identical to CPA advertising and is based on the user
completing a form, registering for a newsletter or some other action that the merchant
feels will lead to a sale.
◦ CPS (Cost Per Sale), PPS (Pay Per Sale), or CPO (Cost Per Order) advertising is based on
each time a sale is made.
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111. CPV (Cost Per Visitor) is when advertisers pay for the delivery of a Targeted Visitor
to the advertisers website.
CPV (Cost Per View) is when advertisers pay for each unique user view of an
advertisement or website (usually used with pop-ups, pop-unders and interstitial ads).
eCPM: Effective CPM or eCPM calculated through other conversion events such as
Cost per Clicks, Cost per Downloads, Cost per Leads etc. for example when an
advertiser getting $2 per download and for 100,000 impressions you received 10
downloads worth $20, in this case your effective CPM or eCPM will be
2*20*1000/100,000= $0.4
Fixed Cost: Advertiser paying fixed cost for delivery frame by campaign flight dates
without any relevance to performance
Cost per conversion Describes the cost of acquiring a customer, typically calculated
by dividing the total cost of an ad campaign by the number of conversions. The
definition of "Conversion" varies depending on the situation: it is sometimes
considered to be a lead, a sale, or a purchase.
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112. Though, as seen above, the large majority of online advertising has a cost that is brought
about by usage or interaction of an ad, there are a few other methods of advertising
online that only require a one time payment. The Million Dollar Homepage is a very
successful example of this. Visitors were able to pay $1 per pixel of advertising space
and their advert would remain on the homepage for as long as the website exists with no
extra costs.
Floating ad: An ad which moves across the user's screen or floats above the content.
Expanding ad: An ad which changes size and which may alter the contents of the
webpage.
Polite ad: A method by which a large ad will be downloaded in smaller pieces to
minimize the disruption of the content being viewed
Wallpaper ad: An ad which changes the background of the page being viewed.
Trick banner: A banner ad that looks like a dialog box with buttons. It simulates an
error message or an alert.
Pop-up: A new window which opens in front of the current one, displaying an
advertisement, or entire webpage.
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114. Pop-under: Similar to a Pop-Up except that the window is loaded or sent behind the
current window so that the user does not see it until they close one or more active
windows.
Video ad: similar to a banner ad, except that instead of a static or animated image, actual
moving video clips are displayed.
Map ad: text or graphics linked from, and appearing in or over, a location on an
electronic map such as on Google Maps.
Mobile ad: an SMS text or multi-media message sent to a cell phone.
Superstitial: An animated ad on a Web page from Enliven Marketing Technologies. It
uses video, 3D content or Flash to provide a TV-like advertisement.
Interstitial ad: a full-page ad that appears before a user reaches their original destination.
Frame ad: an ad that appeared within an HTML frame, usually at the top with the site
logo. As the user browsed the site, the frame would not change.
In addition, ads containing streaming video or streaming audio are becoming very popular
with advertisers
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115. Legitimate Email advertising or E-mail marketing is often known as "opt-in e-mail
advertising" or permission marketing to distinguish it from spam
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117. Display advertising appears on web pages in many forms, including web
banners. These banners can consist of static or animated images, as well as
interactive media that may include audio and video elements. Display
advertising on the Internet is widely used for branding. This is why metrics
like interaction time are becoming more relevant.
Display advertisers use cookie and browser history to determine
demographics and interests of users and target appropriate ads to those
browsers.
Banner ads can be targeted to internet users in many different ways in order
to reach the advertiser's most relevant audience. Behavioral retargeting,
demographic targeting, geographic targeting, and site based targeting are
all common ways in which advertisers choose to target their banner ads.
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118. Affiliate marketing is a form of online advertising where advertisers place
campaigns with a potentially large number of small (and large) publishers,
who are only paid media fees when traffic to the advertiser is garnered, and
usually upon a specific measurable campaign result (a form, a sale, a sign-
up, etc.).
Today, this is usually accomplished through contracting with an affiliate
network.
Affiliate marketing was an invention by CDNow.com in 1994 and was
excelled by Amazon.com when it launched its Affiliate Program,
called Associate Program in 1996. The online retailer used its
program to generate low cost brand exposure and provided at the
same time small websites a way to earn some supplemental income.
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119. In addition to contextual targeting, online advertising can be targeted based
on a user's online behavior. This practice is known as behavioral targeting.
For example, if a user is known to have recently visited a number of
automotive shopping / comparison sites based on click-stream-analysis
enabled by cookies stored on the user's computer, that user can then be
served auto-related ads when they visit other, non-automotive sites.
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120. Semantic advertising applies semantic analysis techniques
to web pages. The process is meant to accurately interpret
and classify the meaning and/or main subject of the page
and then populate it with targeted advertising spots. By
closely linking content to advertising, it is assumed that
the viewer will be more likely to show an interest (i.e.,
through engagement) in the advertised product or service
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121. Social network advertising is a form of Online advertising that focuses on
social networking sites. Advertising on social media networks can take the
form of direct display ad buys at the social networks, self-serve advertising
through internal ad networks, and ad serving on social network applications
through special social network application advertising networks.
B.Moghimi@yahoo.co.uk 121