Chronology of Experimental Psychology in Oxford


Published on

Published in: Education, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Chronology of Experimental Psychology in Oxford

  1. 1. 114 Years of Experimental Psychology in Oxford Donation from Mrs Hugh Watts William Brown to the University for 3rd Wilde Reader the foundation of an Institute Establishment of the Wilde Readership in Mental Philosophy EstablishmentHenry Wilde of a Diploma course1890 1898 1900 1904 1910 1920 1921 1930 1935 1936 1940 G.F. Stout First Institute 1st Wilde W. McDougall 34 Banbury Road Reader 2nd Wilde with W. Brown Reader The first as Director laboratories
  2. 2. The Institute of Experimental Psychology 1 South Parks Road Larry Weiskrantz appointed Head Establishment of the of the Institute Final Honour School of Carolus Oldfield Psychology Physiology Head of the Richard Dennet Philosophy Institute & of the Professor George first Psycholinguistics Administrator Humphrey Unit first holder of the appointed Chair of Psychology1947 1948 1950 1952 1957 1960 1964 1967 1968 Appointment of 3 lecturers Jeffrey The Institute Gray acquired its appointed first computer LecturerBrian Farrell BernardWilde Reader Babington- Smith Brian Oliver appointed Foss Zangwill Lecturer Michael Argyle Anne Treisman appointed Lecturer & Patrick Rabbitt in Social Psychology David Vowles joined the Institute as Lecturers
  3. 3. Establishment of a new Chair The Institute moved to 9 South Parks Road the Watts & becomes the Department of Professorship Experimental Psychology of Psychology Peter Bryant Start of the Final Honour 2nd Watts Professor School of Experimental Jerome Bruner Psychology 1st Watts Professor1969 1970 1974 1980 1986 1990 Completion of laboratories 50th anniversary & seminar room. of the founding of B. F. Skinner and the Institute Noam Chomsky are among the first speakers in the new Professor seminar room Donald Between 1967 and 1986, the Department expanded with appointments of new Broadbent teaching and research staff including: Gordon Claridge, Alan Cowey, Ruben joins the Conrad, Dick Passingham, Nancy Waugh, Kim Plunkett, Maryanne Martin, Edmund Rolls, Department Nick Rawlins, Peter Mcleod+, Michel Triesman+, Bruce Henning+, Jos Jaspers+, Alan Allport+, Paul Harris+, Brian Rogers+, Ruth Campbell+, Nick Emler+, Jane Mellanby+, Lynden Eaves+, Burt Rosner+, Susanna Millar+, Kathy Parks+ [+not illustrated]
  4. 4. Alan Cowey appointed Director of the MRC IRC in Brain & Behaviour Sue Iversen is Establishment of the Centre for appointed Professor Functional Magnetic Resonance of Psychology & Imaging of the Brain Establishment of the (FMRIB) established by Alan McDonnell-Pew Cognitive Head of Department Cowey, John Newsom-Davies, & Neuroscience & MRC Brain George Radda, with state-of-the- & Behaviour Centres art MRI facilities1991 1993 1995 1997 Establishment of the Oxford BabyLab First TMS lab established by Alan Cowey & Vincent Walsh MSc in Neuroscience introduced with the Wellcome Trust 4-year K. Plunkett graduate programme, a joint Founder and Director of programme between this new research facility Experimental Psychology and other Departments
  5. 5. Oliver Braddick appointed Professor of Psychology & Head of Department Opening of the Centre for Developmental Science Visual Development Research Assessment Unit established in Exercise 2008, with Oxford 80% of work considered ‘world leading’ and ‘internationally Department excellent’ joins the new Medical Sciences Division1998 2001 2002 2005 2008 2010 MSc in Establishment of the Psychological Oxford Centre for Research Human Brain established Activity (OHBA), with new MEG Kia Nobre facility Director Nick RawlinsDorothy Bishop Miles Hewstone joins 3rd Watts Professorjoins as a the Department andWellcome Trust establishes the CentrePrincipal for the Study ofResearch Fellow Intergroup Conflict
  6. 6. Glyn Humphreys appointed 4th Watts Professor & Head of Department Masud Husain, Wellcome Trust Establishment of the Principal Research by Oxford Cognitive by Fellow Neuropsychology Centre (Oxford CNC)2011 2012 Establishment of the Oxford Centre for Anxiety Disorders and Trauma (OXCADAT) by by Opening of the Bio- Medical Services Building New Biomedical Sciences degree David Clark Anke Ehlers, incoming Wellcome Trust Professor of Principal Research Psychology Fellow