SlideShare a Scribd company logo
If it don’t make dollars,
it don’t make sense
Agenda
• My Story
• Canada Advertising Trends
• The Advertising Layer Cake
• How To: Calculate Your Digital Advertising Budget
• Q&A
My Story
A-Town
We help people
sell stuff online
Canada
Advertising
Trends
Canada’s
Internet
Population Desktop
28m
Mobile
19.9m
Total
30.5m
Mobile
only 2.3m
Source: IAB Canada, 2015
Mobile User Demographics
41%
36%
23%
18-34 35-54 55+
Age
M
, 55
%
F, 45
%
Gender
EN
, 78
%
FR,
22%
Language
Source: comScore, 2015
Advertising Spend
• Digital advertising spend up
+21% from 2014 to 2015
• Digital spend +43% more
than TV spend
• Mobile spend +79% and
now 1 in 3 ad dollars spent
on mobile
Desktop
Mobile
$3.2
$4.6
TV Digital
$ billions
Source: IAB Canada, 2015
Where Does Ad Spend Go?
Google and Facebook account for 82%+ of ad spend in Canada
Source: comScore, 2015
CA
11%
US/ROW
89%
82%
What is Digital Marketing?
A. Promoting your product online
B. Ads that show on your desktop, mobile, tablet or internet
connected device
C. Paid, organic or earned online media
D. Quantitative, trackable activity where you can measure
actual return on investment
E. All of the above
The
Advertising
Layer Cake
Awareness
Consideration
Conversion
Loyalty
The
Advertising
Layer Cake
Awareness
Awareness
Interest / Behaviour / Demographics
Brand or Generic Keywords
Lookalike or Affinity Audiences
Audience
Lookalike Audience
Lookalike Audiences are a way to reach new people who are
likely to be interested in your business because they're similar
to customers you care about. You can base your Lookalike
Audience on a variety of sources (ex: people who like your
Page, or visited your website).
Source: Facebook
Lookalike
Awareness
Awareness
Interest / Behaviour / Demographics
Brand or Generic Keywords
Look-a-like affinity
Your Brand Story
Value Proposition
Email Subscriber
Visit Website
Lead Submission
Audience
Message
Goals
Awareness
Awareness
Awareness
Awareness
• Facebook Ad
Consideration
Interests / Behaviours / Demographics
Research Keywords
Website Visitors & Subscribers
Shopping Feature & Benefits
Social Proof
View Product
Add to Cart
Audience
Message
Goals
Consideration
Consideration
• Facebook Ad
Consideration
Cookie
Cookies are small files that a web server automatically sends
to your computer’s web browser (think Firefox, Safari,
Internet Explorer) when you browse certain websites. Cookies
are stored as text files on your hard drive, and servers access
them when you return to web sites you’ve visited before.
Source: AdRoll
Consideration
Conversion
Buy Keywords
Intent to Buy (View Product, Add
to Cart)
Prices
Recommend Product
Risk Free Experience
Customer
Audience
Message
Goals
Conversion
Conversion
Conversion
Loyalty
Current	
Customers
Cross sell & Upsell
Replace product
Repeat
Purchases
Audience
Message
Goals
Loyalty
Loyalty
Loyalty
Awareness
Consideration
Conversion
Loyalty
Audience Message Goals
Broad	targeting,	
Interest/Behaviours,
Lookalike
Brand	Story,	
Value	Proposition
Newsletter	Sign	Up,
Homepage,	
Product	Catalog
Email	Subscribers,	
Homepage,	
Product	Catalog
Shopping	
Feature/Benefits,	
Customer	Reviews
View	Product,	
Add	to	Cart
Viewed	Product,	
Added	to	Cart
Dynamic Product	Ads:	
Product, Shopping	
Cart	Abandon
Customer
Current	
Customers
Replacement,	
Cross sell,
Upsell
Repeat
Purchases
How To:
Calculate Your
Advertising
Budget
Method 1:
Customer
Centric Model
Method 1
1. Revenue Target
2. Customers = Revenue Target / Customer Lifetime Value
Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)
Customer Lifetime Value is a prediction of all the value a
business will derive from their entire relationship with a
customer. Because we don't know how long each relationship
will be, we make a good estimate and state CLV as a periodic
value — that is, we usually say “this customer's 12-month (or
24-month, etc) CLV is $x”
Source: Custora
𝐂𝐋𝐕 =	
Total	Revenue
Customers
=	
$100,000
200
= $𝟓𝟎𝟎
Method 1
1. Revenue Target
2. Customers = Revenue Target / Lifetime Value
3. Budget = Customers x Customer Acquisition Cost
Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)
• The cost of customer acquisition (CAC) means the price you
pay to acquire a new customer. In its simplest form, it can be
worked out by:
• Dividing the total costs associated with acquisition by total
new customers, within a specific time period
𝐂𝐀𝐂 =	
Total	Ad	Spend
Customers
=	
$20,000
200
= $𝟏𝟎𝟎
Method 1
1. Revenue Target = $100,000
2. Customers = $100,000 / $500 = 200
3. Budget = 200 x $100 = $20,000
Method 2:
Traffic Centric
Model
Method 2
1. Revenue Target
2. Budget = Revenue x Gross Margin or % of Revenue
Gross Margin vs % of Revenue
Gross Margin
vs
% of Revenue
Method 2
1. Revenue Target
2. Budget = Revenue x Gross Margin (or % of Revenue)
3. Orders = Revenue / Average Order Value
𝐀𝐎𝐕 =	
Total	Revenue
Orders
=	
$100,000
400
= $𝟐𝟓𝟎
Method 2
1. Revenue Target
2. Budget = Revenue Target x Gross Margin
3. Orders = Revenue / Average Order Value
4. Visits = Orders / Conversion Rate
𝐂𝐕𝐑 =	
Orders
Visits
=	
400
20,000
= 𝟐%
Method 2
1. Revenue Target
2. Budget = Revenue Target x Gross Margin
3. Orders = Revenue / Average Order Value
4. Visits = Orders / Conversion Rate
5. Cost per Visit = Budget / Visit
6. Cost per Order = Budget / Orders
Method 2
1. Revenue Target = $100,000
2. Budget = $100,000 x 20% = $20,000
3. Orders = $100,000 / $250 = 400
4. Visits = 400 / 2% = 20,000
5. Cost per Visit = $20,000 / 20,000 = $1.00
6. Cost per Order = $20,000 / 400 = $50.00
Key Take Aways
• Online advertising is GROWING in Canada
• Think layer cake, not a silver bullet
• You don’t have to break the bank
• Go Advertise!
We help you sell stuff online
Growth
Strategy
Ecommerce
Platforms
Online
Advertising
Conversion
Optimization
Blair de Jong
blair@bdot.io
www.bdot.io
@blairdejong

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