DIGITAL
ADVERTISING
Sergio Pinzon
PINZON & CO
PINZON & CO
DIGITAL ADVERTISEMENT
Digital advertising is a form of paid media whereby a brand pays to
leverage exposure on a digital channel. Digital advertising is
evolving at a rapid rate and increasingly reliant on data mining
techniques to finetune targeting and increase returns on digital ad
spend.
DIGITAL ADVERTISEMENT TYPES
Search advertising also referred
to as search engine marketing
(SEM) or Pay per click (PPC)
Display Advertising Social Media Advertising
KEY ISSUES OF DIGITAL
ADVERTISING
Over saturation of advertising (information overload)ad-blockers.
Misleading advertisements (error) messages.
Malware. spawn pop-ups, and insert advertisements into non-affiliated web
pages.
Privacy issues.
CAMPAIGN
PLANNING
Goal setting and tracking
Campaign insight
Segmentation and targeting
Offer and message development.
Budgeting and selecting the digital
media mix
Integration into overall media
schedule or plan
SETTING OBJECTIVES
Customer
acquisition.
Customer
nurturing.
Customer
loyalty.
Branding.
TARGET AUDIENCE
ü Men between 18 and 35 who live in Sydney and are browsing on
an iPad between the hours of 5:00pm and 7:00pm.
ü Doctors in Sydney who make over $100,000 a year.
ü Mothers between 25 and 50 with a household income over
$100,000 who are currently in the market for a new car.
TYPE OF ADS
EFFECTIVE
AD
DESIGN
Technical requirements
Text / image balance
Quality images
Consistency with brand identity
DMC linked to other IMC activities
Suitable design for channel.
Effective landing pages.
COOKIES
A small message given to a web
browser by a web server to identify a
user and create customized web
experiences.
RETARGETING
It is a form of online advertising that
can help keep your brand in front of
bounced traffic after they leave your
website.
DISPLAY SEARCH VIDEO MOBILE
DISPLAY
ADVERTISEMENT
Google adwords
Display advertisement campaigns
Ad
manager
Bing ads
Media.net
Propeller
ads
Nanigans Baidu
DISPLAY BANNER
DISPLAY BANNER
VIDEO
DISPLAY ADVideo embedded in the display ad with a call to action
usually to watch the video
RICH MEDIA ADDS
In-banner video ad.
Pop-up (opens in front of current window). Also known as
superstitials and require the user to close.
Pop-under (underneath) or while the page is loading also known
as interstituals.
TEXT LINK ADVERTISING
A hyperlink placed in specific text in a blog post or other owned media content
CONTEXTUAL ADVERTISEMENT
Occurs when an ad system scans a Web
page for content and serves an appropriate
ad.
Google’s AdSense
MOBILE ADVERTISING
Admob by google
Media.net
Search ads (apple)
Unity ads
Inmobi
Text magic
MOBILE
ADVERTISEMENT
SMS
QR
Whatssapp
GAMIFICATION
VIDEO GAMES
world of warcraft, grand theft auto
NATIVE ADVERTISING
It is a new term in digital marketing that extends the contextual
advertising term. This type of advertising is designed to look and
feel like the content that exists on the page. Native ads are often
seen on social media and will be discussed in the next topic in more
details
INTEGRATED
ADVERTISING
CAMPAIGNS
EVALUATING DIGITAL
ADVERTISING
Impressions. number of times the ad is displayed
Reach. number of people who received impressions of an ad (NB this may be less than
impressions because one person may see the ad multiple times)
Clicks. number of times the ad is clicked.
Click through rate (CTR) is a measure of efficiency of an ad. It is the percentage of clicks to
impressions. • Eg., if your ad was seen 100, 000 times (impressions) and 100 users clicked it,
your CTR is 100/100000 = 0.01 or 1% •
Conversions. how many actions or acquisitions /sales that were completed based on an ad.
ROI. return on investment ie., how much your ad campaign generates compared to the cost of
running the campaign.
INSTAGRAM
WHY INSTAGRAM FOR BUSINESS
Businesses are using the platform
Businesses are spending money on Instagram
Consumer are purchasing through Instagram
Consumer trust brands more because they saw them on Instagram
REASON FOR BEING
What do you
love?
What are you
good at?
What does the
world (your
tribe need?
What can you
get paid for?
THREE WAYS TO PUBLISH
Feed Stories IGTV
EXPLORE TAB
The number of likes you get from
your followers within the first 10 to
20 minutes of posting the image.
Each image is competing against
other images in real time
Likes you receive from your followers
CREATE YOUR CONTENT BLUEPRINT
THEMES VISUAL STYLE PUBLISHING METHOD
THEMES: PERSONAL HEALTH
QUOTES RECIPES FITNESS ATTITUDE FRIENDSHIP
EPHEMERAL CONTENT
Content that last for only a limited time (24 hours)
In 2018 IG announced that stories had over 400 million daily
active users.
USING YOUR STORY
Boomerang
Focus
Superzoom
Filters
MASTER HIGHLIGHTS AND
HASHTAGS
A hashtags is a communication tool
Craft focused hashtags
Your brand resides in the mind of the consumer
HOW INSTAGRAM USES HASHTAGS
Related hashtags
Top views
Recent views
HOW YOU USE HASHTAGS
YOU CAN INCLUDE
UP TO 30
CREATE YOUR OWN
HASHTAGS
RESEARCH
POPULAR TRENDS.
NEW PROSPECTS
R U N C O N T E S T S A N D F R E E B I E S
S E T T I N G
G E T 6 4 M O R E C O M M E N T S
EFFECTIVE CONTEST
Name it to win it Comment contest
Like to win Repost to win
FREE DIGITAL
PRODUCTS
BUSINESS SETTING
Creating ads Shoppable post
function
Managing branded
content
Call to action
Call you
Text you
Get directions
Email you
Shoppable tags
Business profile
Shop catalog on Facebook
Shopify and big commerce users to enable
Start working with influencers
The new influencer paradigm is much
simpler than mass media influencer
Three reasons marketers like
influencerLess financially risky
Lowers the risk of
celebrity- induced scandal
Lower the barrier to entry
FIVE TIERS OF INFLUENCE
•From 10 to 1000 followersNano influencers
•From 1000 to 10000 followersMicro influencers
•From 10000 to 100000 followersMacro influencers
•From 100000to 10000000 followersMega influencers
•More than1000000 followersCelebrity influencer
WHAT
CAN
INFLUEN
CERS DO
FOR YOU
Discount codes Affiliate codes
Influencer taker
over
Guest post on
your profile
A social mention Sponsored post
Long-term
ambassador role Giveaway
HOW TO FIND INFLUENCERS
Search on IG Hire a researcher
Fiverr
Upwork
Use a market place
MARKET PLACES
ü Tomoson
ü Tapinfluence
ü Aspire IQ
ü Neoreach
ü Mavrck
ü Upfluence
ü Izea
ü HYPR brands
ü Julius work
ü True north
social
ü Viral nation
ü Lumanu
ü Popular chips
ü Traackr
HOW MUCH TO PAY FOR
INFLUENCER MARKETING
Less than 10000 get $75 a post on Independent UK.
Instagram influencer with 1000000 followers can command
$5000 a post .
A influencer with a reach of 5000000 to a million can charge
between $5000 and $10000 per post.
Between $5 and $10 per 1000 followers.
FACEBOOK
CLEVER WAYS TO GET MORE FACEBOOK LIKES
Develop a smart Facebook
marketing strategy
•Define your target audience
•Research the competition
•Set goals
1
Craft a great Page
•Use all elements of the about section
•Choose compelling cover and profile
photos
•Pin a top-performing post
2
Clever ways to get more Facebook likes
• Choose an easy-to-discover Page name and username.
• Cross-promote your Facebook page on your website, blog and other social
channels.
• Invite existing contacts and employees to like your Facebook page.
• Promote your Facebook Page in real life.
CLEVER WAYS TO GET MORE FACEBOOK LIKES
Engage consistently and at the right times
Post consistently
Post at the right time
Be responsive and human.
Post relevant, high-quality content
Include compelling visuals (free stock photo
sites)
Write great headlines
Don’t be too promotional.
Give followers what they want.
Invest in video
HOST A FACEBOOK
CONTEST
• We're giving away an exclusive Black
Chrome Batman Pop. To enter:
1)Like this post.
2) Comment below
CLEVER WAYS TO GET MORE FACEBOOK LIKES
Engage with other
brands and
communities on
Facebook
8
Run Facebook ads to
expand your reach.
•Boost a post
•Run a campaign.
9
Learn from Facebook
Insights
10
WHAT PLATFORMS DO
MARKETERS USE TO
ADVERTISE?
SOCIAL MEDIA ADVERTISING
GROWTH
If your account remains static,
the brands around you will
overtake and you are at risk of
becoming irrelevant.
GAINING
TRACTION
The rise in reach and influence
that a post or account generates
at any given time.
REASONS BRANDS DON’T BUILD
TRACTION
Your content isn’t
compelling
enough.
There’s no demand
for your product or
services.
Your audience
need educating
first.
Your message is
not resonating.
There are too
many competitors
in the market.
LEVERAGE
THE
ALGORITHM
Relationship
Interest.
Timeliness
EVOLVE YOUR ACCOUNT AS
NECESSARY
ü Content.
ü Stories.
ü Bio and links.
It is all about trying,
experimenting and doing what
works best for you
5 BENEFITS OF USING AGENCY
HELP
Subject matter
expertise.
Cost saving. Access to
expert tools.
Creative
talent.
Discipline.
TYPE OF AGENCY WORK
ACCOUNT
MANAGEMENT.
ADVERTISING. INFLUENCE
MARKETING DEALS.
COURTING YOUR INSTAGRAM
FOLLOWERS INTO BUYERS
üAttract
üEngage
üSell
üUpsell
üRetain
üEvaluation
FROM FOLLOWER TO
CUSTOMERS FOR LIFE
Offer value in your Instagram bio.
Fill your post with value.
Make your post and ads about your target audience.
Talk to them.
Be willing to be controversial.
Be authentic.
Focus on transformation (sales), not information
HOW INSTAGRAM WORKS
FOCUS ON WHAT
SPECIFIC THING
MEN WITH COFFEE
THE USE OF HASHTAGS #
Be very specific about
the hashtags you are
using
Increases post
engagement by 12.6
percent.
Popular hashtags don’t
dive engagement.
Keep it between 5 and
10.
THE USE OF EMOJIS
To bring attention to your CTA To bring visual attention to your
photo description
CONTEST INSPIRATION FROM BIG BRANDS
Pepsi
Pepsi selfie contest
Starbucks
Red cup contest
APPS YOU CAN USE TO RUN YOUR
INSTAGRAM CONTEST
Votigo Piqora Wishpond Woobox
Shortstack Binkd Iconosquare
EXAMPLE OF IG ADVERTISING
Follower software Shout outs
Shoutcarts
TYPES OF AD CAMPAIGNS
SINGLE IMAGE
ADS
VIDEO ADS CAROUSEL/
SLIDESHOW
STORY ADS.
SELECT WHERE TO SEND
PEOPLE
PROFILE WEBSITE DIRECT MESSAGES
AUDIENCE SELECTION OPTIONS
üLocation
üInterest
üAge and gender
ADVANCED STRATEGIES OF
ADVERTISEMENT
Apply small boosts to multiple
posts with a daily budget.
Leverage geographical arbitrage
to gain inexpensive likes.
Test multiple post, iterate
campaigns
TYPES OF CALL TO ACTION
Get more
messages.
Get more website
visitors.
Promote your
business locally.
Promote your
page.
Boost a post Get more
bookings.
Get more leads.
YOUR LEAD MAGNET
To provide something so valuable that the prospect would pay for it if it wasn’t free.
Free guide
Ebook
Report
Coupon/ certificate
Video series
Mind map
Checklist
Ticket to an event
CREATING YOUR LEAD MAGNET
Guide to direct response
social media marketing
113 social media posts plus
bonus images.
60-day trial of my marketing
insiders elite club.
FREE VS ONE
DOLLAR OFFER
The dollar offers wins every time
A QUICK START LEAD
MAGNET BLUEPRINT
üResearch the top questions asked
about your industry.
üRecord answering those questions.
üTranscribe or write your recording.
üGenerate a report
üDesign a cover
RESEARCH.
Quora
Buzzsumo
Google keyword planner tool
Facebook insights
Fancy hands
WRITE TO CREATE YOUR TOOL
Upwork Fiverr
Hire
my
mom
Text
broker
PUBLISH YOUR RESOURCES
Lead pages
WordPress
Squarespace
Unbounce
Create space
Digital advertisement

Digital advertisement

  • 1.
  • 2.
  • 3.
    DIGITAL ADVERTISEMENT Digital advertisingis a form of paid media whereby a brand pays to leverage exposure on a digital channel. Digital advertising is evolving at a rapid rate and increasingly reliant on data mining techniques to finetune targeting and increase returns on digital ad spend.
  • 4.
    DIGITAL ADVERTISEMENT TYPES Searchadvertising also referred to as search engine marketing (SEM) or Pay per click (PPC) Display Advertising Social Media Advertising
  • 5.
    KEY ISSUES OFDIGITAL ADVERTISING Over saturation of advertising (information overload)ad-blockers. Misleading advertisements (error) messages. Malware. spawn pop-ups, and insert advertisements into non-affiliated web pages. Privacy issues.
  • 6.
    CAMPAIGN PLANNING Goal setting andtracking Campaign insight Segmentation and targeting Offer and message development. Budgeting and selecting the digital media mix Integration into overall media schedule or plan
  • 7.
  • 8.
    TARGET AUDIENCE ü Menbetween 18 and 35 who live in Sydney and are browsing on an iPad between the hours of 5:00pm and 7:00pm. ü Doctors in Sydney who make over $100,000 a year. ü Mothers between 25 and 50 with a household income over $100,000 who are currently in the market for a new car.
  • 9.
  • 10.
    EFFECTIVE AD DESIGN Technical requirements Text /image balance Quality images Consistency with brand identity DMC linked to other IMC activities Suitable design for channel. Effective landing pages.
  • 11.
    COOKIES A small messagegiven to a web browser by a web server to identify a user and create customized web experiences.
  • 12.
    RETARGETING It is aform of online advertising that can help keep your brand in front of bounced traffic after they leave your website.
  • 13.
  • 14.
  • 15.
    Display advertisement campaigns Ad manager Bingads Media.net Propeller ads Nanigans Baidu
  • 16.
  • 17.
  • 18.
    VIDEO DISPLAY ADVideo embeddedin the display ad with a call to action usually to watch the video
  • 19.
    RICH MEDIA ADDS In-bannervideo ad. Pop-up (opens in front of current window). Also known as superstitials and require the user to close. Pop-under (underneath) or while the page is loading also known as interstituals.
  • 20.
    TEXT LINK ADVERTISING Ahyperlink placed in specific text in a blog post or other owned media content
  • 21.
    CONTEXTUAL ADVERTISEMENT Occurs whenan ad system scans a Web page for content and serves an appropriate ad. Google’s AdSense
  • 22.
  • 23.
    Admob by google Media.net Searchads (apple) Unity ads Inmobi Text magic
  • 24.
  • 25.
  • 26.
    VIDEO GAMES world ofwarcraft, grand theft auto
  • 27.
    NATIVE ADVERTISING It isa new term in digital marketing that extends the contextual advertising term. This type of advertising is designed to look and feel like the content that exists on the page. Native ads are often seen on social media and will be discussed in the next topic in more details
  • 28.
  • 29.
    EVALUATING DIGITAL ADVERTISING Impressions. numberof times the ad is displayed Reach. number of people who received impressions of an ad (NB this may be less than impressions because one person may see the ad multiple times) Clicks. number of times the ad is clicked. Click through rate (CTR) is a measure of efficiency of an ad. It is the percentage of clicks to impressions. • Eg., if your ad was seen 100, 000 times (impressions) and 100 users clicked it, your CTR is 100/100000 = 0.01 or 1% • Conversions. how many actions or acquisitions /sales that were completed based on an ad. ROI. return on investment ie., how much your ad campaign generates compared to the cost of running the campaign.
  • 30.
  • 31.
    WHY INSTAGRAM FORBUSINESS Businesses are using the platform Businesses are spending money on Instagram Consumer are purchasing through Instagram Consumer trust brands more because they saw them on Instagram
  • 32.
    REASON FOR BEING Whatdo you love? What are you good at? What does the world (your tribe need? What can you get paid for?
  • 33.
    THREE WAYS TOPUBLISH Feed Stories IGTV
  • 34.
    EXPLORE TAB The numberof likes you get from your followers within the first 10 to 20 minutes of posting the image. Each image is competing against other images in real time Likes you receive from your followers
  • 35.
    CREATE YOUR CONTENTBLUEPRINT THEMES VISUAL STYLE PUBLISHING METHOD
  • 36.
    THEMES: PERSONAL HEALTH QUOTESRECIPES FITNESS ATTITUDE FRIENDSHIP
  • 37.
    EPHEMERAL CONTENT Content thatlast for only a limited time (24 hours) In 2018 IG announced that stories had over 400 million daily active users.
  • 38.
  • 39.
    MASTER HIGHLIGHTS AND HASHTAGS Ahashtags is a communication tool Craft focused hashtags Your brand resides in the mind of the consumer
  • 40.
    HOW INSTAGRAM USESHASHTAGS Related hashtags Top views Recent views
  • 41.
    HOW YOU USEHASHTAGS YOU CAN INCLUDE UP TO 30 CREATE YOUR OWN HASHTAGS RESEARCH POPULAR TRENDS. NEW PROSPECTS
  • 42.
    R U NC O N T E S T S A N D F R E E B I E S S E T T I N G G E T 6 4 M O R E C O M M E N T S
  • 43.
    EFFECTIVE CONTEST Name itto win it Comment contest Like to win Repost to win
  • 44.
  • 45.
    BUSINESS SETTING Creating adsShoppable post function Managing branded content Call to action Call you Text you Get directions Email you
  • 46.
    Shoppable tags Business profile Shopcatalog on Facebook Shopify and big commerce users to enable
  • 47.
    Start working withinfluencers The new influencer paradigm is much simpler than mass media influencer
  • 48.
    Three reasons marketerslike influencerLess financially risky Lowers the risk of celebrity- induced scandal Lower the barrier to entry
  • 49.
    FIVE TIERS OFINFLUENCE •From 10 to 1000 followersNano influencers •From 1000 to 10000 followersMicro influencers •From 10000 to 100000 followersMacro influencers •From 100000to 10000000 followersMega influencers •More than1000000 followersCelebrity influencer
  • 50.
    WHAT CAN INFLUEN CERS DO FOR YOU Discountcodes Affiliate codes Influencer taker over Guest post on your profile A social mention Sponsored post Long-term ambassador role Giveaway
  • 51.
    HOW TO FINDINFLUENCERS Search on IG Hire a researcher Fiverr Upwork Use a market place
  • 52.
    MARKET PLACES ü Tomoson üTapinfluence ü Aspire IQ ü Neoreach ü Mavrck ü Upfluence ü Izea ü HYPR brands ü Julius work ü True north social ü Viral nation ü Lumanu ü Popular chips ü Traackr
  • 53.
    HOW MUCH TOPAY FOR INFLUENCER MARKETING Less than 10000 get $75 a post on Independent UK. Instagram influencer with 1000000 followers can command $5000 a post . A influencer with a reach of 5000000 to a million can charge between $5000 and $10000 per post. Between $5 and $10 per 1000 followers.
  • 54.
  • 55.
    CLEVER WAYS TOGET MORE FACEBOOK LIKES Develop a smart Facebook marketing strategy •Define your target audience •Research the competition •Set goals 1 Craft a great Page •Use all elements of the about section •Choose compelling cover and profile photos •Pin a top-performing post 2
  • 56.
    Clever ways toget more Facebook likes • Choose an easy-to-discover Page name and username. • Cross-promote your Facebook page on your website, blog and other social channels. • Invite existing contacts and employees to like your Facebook page. • Promote your Facebook Page in real life.
  • 57.
    CLEVER WAYS TOGET MORE FACEBOOK LIKES Engage consistently and at the right times Post consistently Post at the right time Be responsive and human. Post relevant, high-quality content Include compelling visuals (free stock photo sites) Write great headlines Don’t be too promotional. Give followers what they want. Invest in video
  • 58.
    HOST A FACEBOOK CONTEST •We're giving away an exclusive Black Chrome Batman Pop. To enter: 1)Like this post. 2) Comment below
  • 59.
    CLEVER WAYS TOGET MORE FACEBOOK LIKES Engage with other brands and communities on Facebook 8 Run Facebook ads to expand your reach. •Boost a post •Run a campaign. 9 Learn from Facebook Insights 10
  • 60.
    WHAT PLATFORMS DO MARKETERSUSE TO ADVERTISE?
  • 61.
  • 62.
    GROWTH If your accountremains static, the brands around you will overtake and you are at risk of becoming irrelevant.
  • 63.
    GAINING TRACTION The rise inreach and influence that a post or account generates at any given time.
  • 64.
    REASONS BRANDS DON’TBUILD TRACTION Your content isn’t compelling enough. There’s no demand for your product or services. Your audience need educating first. Your message is not resonating. There are too many competitors in the market.
  • 65.
  • 66.
    EVOLVE YOUR ACCOUNTAS NECESSARY ü Content. ü Stories. ü Bio and links.
  • 67.
    It is allabout trying, experimenting and doing what works best for you
  • 68.
    5 BENEFITS OFUSING AGENCY HELP Subject matter expertise. Cost saving. Access to expert tools. Creative talent. Discipline.
  • 69.
    TYPE OF AGENCYWORK ACCOUNT MANAGEMENT. ADVERTISING. INFLUENCE MARKETING DEALS.
  • 70.
    COURTING YOUR INSTAGRAM FOLLOWERSINTO BUYERS üAttract üEngage üSell üUpsell üRetain üEvaluation
  • 71.
    FROM FOLLOWER TO CUSTOMERSFOR LIFE Offer value in your Instagram bio. Fill your post with value. Make your post and ads about your target audience. Talk to them. Be willing to be controversial. Be authentic. Focus on transformation (sales), not information
  • 72.
    HOW INSTAGRAM WORKS FOCUSON WHAT SPECIFIC THING MEN WITH COFFEE
  • 73.
    THE USE OFHASHTAGS # Be very specific about the hashtags you are using Increases post engagement by 12.6 percent. Popular hashtags don’t dive engagement. Keep it between 5 and 10.
  • 74.
    THE USE OFEMOJIS To bring attention to your CTA To bring visual attention to your photo description
  • 75.
    CONTEST INSPIRATION FROMBIG BRANDS Pepsi Pepsi selfie contest Starbucks Red cup contest
  • 76.
    APPS YOU CANUSE TO RUN YOUR INSTAGRAM CONTEST Votigo Piqora Wishpond Woobox Shortstack Binkd Iconosquare
  • 77.
    EXAMPLE OF IGADVERTISING Follower software Shout outs Shoutcarts
  • 78.
    TYPES OF ADCAMPAIGNS SINGLE IMAGE ADS VIDEO ADS CAROUSEL/ SLIDESHOW STORY ADS.
  • 79.
    SELECT WHERE TOSEND PEOPLE PROFILE WEBSITE DIRECT MESSAGES
  • 80.
  • 81.
    ADVANCED STRATEGIES OF ADVERTISEMENT Applysmall boosts to multiple posts with a daily budget. Leverage geographical arbitrage to gain inexpensive likes. Test multiple post, iterate campaigns
  • 82.
    TYPES OF CALLTO ACTION Get more messages. Get more website visitors. Promote your business locally. Promote your page. Boost a post Get more bookings. Get more leads.
  • 83.
    YOUR LEAD MAGNET Toprovide something so valuable that the prospect would pay for it if it wasn’t free. Free guide Ebook Report Coupon/ certificate Video series Mind map Checklist Ticket to an event
  • 84.
    CREATING YOUR LEADMAGNET Guide to direct response social media marketing 113 social media posts plus bonus images. 60-day trial of my marketing insiders elite club.
  • 85.
    FREE VS ONE DOLLAROFFER The dollar offers wins every time
  • 86.
    A QUICK STARTLEAD MAGNET BLUEPRINT üResearch the top questions asked about your industry. üRecord answering those questions. üTranscribe or write your recording. üGenerate a report üDesign a cover
  • 87.
    RESEARCH. Quora Buzzsumo Google keyword plannertool Facebook insights Fancy hands
  • 88.
    WRITE TO CREATEYOUR TOOL Upwork Fiverr Hire my mom Text broker
  • 89.
    PUBLISH YOUR RESOURCES Leadpages WordPress Squarespace Unbounce Create space