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Archicamp

“A software platform for monitoring manufacturing machinery” (Original Idea)
                                      to
    “A platform to enable collaboration between architects, designers, and
                           engineers” (Current Idea)
Our Team

Guillaume     Ryan
Miara,        Jung, MBA
M.Eng.


Anirudh       Alex
Subbarao,     Bergin,
M.Eng.        M. Arch.
              (Advisor)
3D Prints Express Timeline
Digital         ID Link              3D Prints    4-sided mktplc
Manufacturing                        Express




                2-sided mktplc for   Architects   Workflow
                modeling



                                                  Pain Points



                                                  Collaboration     Ambiguity




                                                                    Wireframe



                                                                   Design Groups &
                                                                   Thought Leaders


                                                                    Tech Adoption    LH Side of Canvas    Rev Model




                                                                                     Cost Structure       Willingness to Pay



                                                                                                  Income
                                                                                                  Statement
BUSINESS CANVAS
Modeling Marketplace, Market Size
                                                                               Calculation of $10 per hour margin:
                            1$5   billion                                      Estimated Cost to Firm:
                                                                                    $3,500 annual seat license for
                                                                                    AutoCAD
                               2$3.5    billion                                     $4,000 per workstation (HP Z820
                                                                                    workstation; 2 year depreciation)
                                                                                    Average salary of $60,000
                                                                                    20% general and administrative costs
                                                                                    TOTAL ANNUAL COST: $78,600
                                         3$500                                      Divided by 2000 hours per year
                                                    million
                                                                                    TOTAL HOURLY COST: $40 per hour
                                                                               Average Hourly Rate of Freelance CAD
                                                                               Drafter:
                                                                                    $30 per hour
                                                                                    Source: Average of 5 interviews + 20
                                                                                    postings on oDesk / Craigslist

1 250,000 CAD drafters * 50 weeks * 40 hours * $10 per hour 2 70% of revenues from architecture / manufacturing   3 15% of part 2
Programming

                                  Process Flow
   Concept
                        Tools                 People                   Pain
                Google SketchUp       1 Sr. Architect         Converting sketch
  Schematic     Rhinoceros            2 Jr. Architects        into 3D model
                Revit                 ~1 Engineer

                NavisWorks            2 - 3 Sr. Architect     Integrating models
   Design
Development     Revit                 2 - 6 Jr. Architects    from each team
                                      2 - 3 Engineers         (Arch, Eng, Dsgn)

                Revit                 2 - 3 Sr. Architect     Labor intensive to
  Instruction
                                      3 - 8 Jr. Architects    add all specs
Documentation
                                      3 - 4 Engineers


 Construction
                    Sources: Perkins & Will, H.O.K. ~ 1500 employees
3D Modeling Outsourcing Platform
"You can't export
work Jr. Architects
do. That's what
makes them
architects!"

- Susan Ubbelohde,
Architect,
Consultant,
Professor
Google Doc Like Collaboration


                                                   CAD talent
                                                     *improved design

                                   Typically
                                   Conflict!

                   *Didn’t like it – Deleted Real time!
Architect                  -avoid multiple versions
                           -avoid overwriting each other

    *Approved design! Expedited!
Existing Products

SaaS 3D modeling platform         Universal file support
• Store and access files on the   • 3D model viewing,
  cloud                             measuring, sectioning
• Multi-party and remote          • File sharing and sync
  collaboration                   • Documentation of
• Documentation of                  collaboration process
  collaboration process           • Communication tools
• Secure infrastructure           • Remote collaboration

   Neither of these has been mentioned in our 50+ interviews
                        with architects!!
What We Did
• Went to UC Berkeley
  School of Architecture to
  recreate the problem
   – In process, we recruited
     our domain expert

• Built a landing page and
  used web tests to
  validate the value
  proposition
   – Team needed to build
     something even if they
     weren’t 100% sure what
     they were building
Thought Leaders




Mario Guttman    Eric Freed         Phil Read        Federico Negro   Jim Balding

Developer of     “World’s best      “THE Revit Guru” Partner, Case    ANT Group
arch+tech        green architect”                    Design
products                            Industry                          Architecture
                 Syndicated in 33   Blogger/Author   Blogger/Writer   Conference
Leading BIM      industry                                             Organizer
Expert           magazines          Global product   Prof.
                                    manager          Architecture     Prominent
30+ years        Speaks at 40+      AutoDesk         Columbia         Consultant
architect exp.   conferences/yr
(Partner P+W)
Technology Adoption
                                                    Small
                                Engineering Firms   Architecture
                                                    Firm A

Techie Architects
Domain Bloggers                                     Small          American
                       Design
Thought Leaders                       Consultants   Architecture   Institute
                       Groups
BIM Managers                                        Firm B         Architects
Sr. Architects

                                                    Small
                                      Contractors   Architecture
                                                    Firm C




            Acquire                      Activate      Keep          Grow
Collaborative Platform
Partner Diagram


                  Consultants


                  Subscription
Storage           based on
Costs             storage
          3D PE                  Customer




                                       Product
                                       Transaction
                                       Data
Conversion Funnel

From Twitter, Blogs of Thought
Leaders: 10,000


                                                                      Observed         Target
                                                                     Conversion      Conversion
                                                                    Rates with Lo-     Rates
                                                                       Fi MVP




View Landing Page                                                       17.5%           40%




Sign up for Free Trial                                                  6.5%            20%




Become Paying Customers                                             Not tested yet      20%

                                        160 paying customer firms
CAC & LTV

            Customer Acquisition Cost
CAC   =   Cost of Marketing / # Customer firms
      =   $60,000            /      160
      =   $375 / firm
      =   Gross Margin / firm* 3 months

                  Lifetime Value
LTV   =   Expected Life *Avg GM / Cust. Firm
      =   24 months * ($200 - $70) / ($200 / month)
      =   $3,120 / customer firm
      =   CAC * 8
Metrics that Matter


 Metric                                Target Value
Total Reach                            10,000 (initial)
Conversion to Landing Page             40%
Conversion to Sign Up                  20%
Conversion to Paid                     20%
Willingness to Pay                     $200
Gross Margin                           65% (determined by WTP)
CAC                                    $375
LTV                                    $3,120
Retention Rate                         80%
Breakeven Users                        420 (depends on WTP)
Is this a viable business?
  Quantitative reasons               Qualitative reasons

 Large Addressable market      Positive Initial feedback
$400+ million                  from thought leaders in industry

 Low Breakeven                 Opportunities in adjacent
420 paying customers out of    markets
60,000 architecture firms in   Structural engineering and
US                             design

 CAC quickly covered           Possible product extension
1 project                      opportunities

 High margin
LTV ~ 8*CAC
Will we pursue this after the class?

• Need a High Fidelity MVP to test:
    Reach into target market of TLs through Twitter/ blogs
    Conversion rates
    Willingness to pay

• None of us have technical skills to build the Hi Fi
  MVP
    SolutionSet offers to do it for $90,000

• At this point we have decided not to continue
  with this business
Thank You

To the Teaching Team, Mentors, and
           other teams!
APPENDIX
Final Market Sizing
                                                                             Trends supporting collaboration
                                                                                      1.      Pressure to be cost competitive to compete
                                                                                              for tenders
                                                                                                 •   59.2% of revenues are spent on wages
                1$7                                                                              •   ~10.0% of revenues is spent on equipment and software
                       billion                                                                   •   Firms are searching for ways to balance workloads,
                                                                                                     reduce labor costs, and speed up production of projects
                                                                                      2.      Increased use of technology
                                                                                                 •   Increasingly complex designs are requiring architects to
                                                                                                     use advanced 3D modeling technologies
                             2$2.1     billion                                        3.      Demand for more value-added services
                                                                                                 •   To combat declining margins, architectural firms are
                                                                                                     adding services such as pre-design planning, interior
                                                                                                     design, and engineering to become vertically integrated
                                                                                      4.      Growing demand for environmentally
                                                                                              friendly design
                                            3$420                                     5.      Growing trend towards outsourcing by firms
                                                       million                                   •   11% of firms have outsourced labor.
                                                                                                 •   Trend is more pronounced for firms with revenues >$5m
                                                                                      6.      Low concentration in architecture industry
                                                                                                 •   63% of firms in industry have less than 5 employees
                                                                                                 •   4 largest firms account for less than 5% of total industry
                                                                                                     revenues
                                                                                      7.      High unemployment of licensed architects
                                                                                                 •   Per AIA, 105,596 licensed architects in US
                                                                                                 •   Per BLS, 71,460 architectural jobs in US; mean salary of
                                                                                                     $79k

1 $9.8 billion Design Software industry (IBIS World)   2 105k licensed architects in US per           3 20% of part 2
x 70% revenues for AEC/CAD/Industrial Design           AIA, 500k construction mgmt, 262k civil
                                                       engineers per BLS
Breakeven Analysis
Assumptions
• Willingness to pay is subject to further testing to assess demand curve.
• We sensitized our breakeven analysis at various price points and used our
  40% / 20% / 20% conversion rate targets to get an idea of the necessary
  size for the “top of the funnel”
• Total licensed architects in US = 105,596 per American Institute of
  Architects


          Price            Paying Customers          Top of Funnel
           $200                    420                    26,250

           $175                    515                    32,188

           $150                    680                    42,500

           $120                    1,090                  68,125

           $100                    1,800                  112,500
Finance and Operations Timeline


       $250k



               -$90k

Cash                                -$30k

                                                        -$30k




Fundraise Hi-Fi MVP        Test    Beta      Test      Final         Operational
                                                       Development
                                                                                     $150k
               6 weeks   8 weeks   2 weeks   8 weeks     2 weeks                   26 weeks
Burn Rate
• At pricing of $200, breakeven users is 420.
   – We are assuming conversion rates of 40% / 20% / 20%
     which will be tested during Hi-Fi MVP and Beta stages.
   – For now, these conversion rates are hypotheses.
• At these conversion rates, we believe we can get this
  number of paying users in 3 months.
   – This takes into account our initial conversion funnel
   – Assumes a retention rate of 80%.
• Our estimated monthly OpEx is $25,000 and gross
  margins are 65%.
• Net cash burn is estimated at $10,000 through first
  three months until breakeven.
Digital Manufacturing, Inc.



                        -Develop a
                     tailored solution                               -Facilitator
                   for each customer:                                 between
                    coding, improving    -Reduce downtime          customer and      1- Fortune 1000
                      UI, developing        of machinery;         service persons
                     knowledge base      manufacturing cost      to implement app    2- Medium
Who are our Key                           savings & service                             Manufacturing
  Partners?                                 cost savings.                               Enterprises

Who are our key                           -Knowledge base;                           3- Small
  suppliers?          -IP, Software        prognostics (big       Through which
                                                                                        Manufacturing
                   Platform: Opentok      data) for real-time    Channels do our
                                                                                        Enterprises
                                            monitoring and          Customer
                     -Cloud based        signaling preventive       Segments
                                                                                     4-Small Job
                         server             maintenance.            want to be
                                                                                       Shops
                                                                    reached?
                    -Knowledge base


           -IP development

            -Webservices                              For what value are our customers really
                                                      willing to pay? How do we make money?
         -Sales & Marketing
We will provide a        A relation of trust,
                             Software           service for identity        from a service        We create value
                          development,         and info verification
 First, we will start                                                      that works at all      to every person
                        product promotion,        via electronic
 with the bars and                                                            times and is       who has forgotten
                        and ID verification.   means (i.e. mobile
  clubs in the Bay                                                         highly secured.          an important
                                                     phones).
   area, until we                                                                                 paper/ does not
  reach state and                                                                                  want to carry it
                                                We help everyone
       federal
                                                  who desperately
   governments.                                                                                  Initial customers
                                                   need a paper
                                               (Passport forgotten                                   are people
                                                                          Through an App
                                               for an international                               entering a bar,
                          Experts in data                                store, site, and via
                                               flight, driver license                                 who have
   No suppliers.         security, lawyers,                               the person who
                                                 for police control,                             forgotten their ID
                        security/encryption                                requires the ID
                                               ID card forgotten to                               or don’t want to
                          companies, ID                                 (police, bouncer…)
                                                get into a bar, etc.)                              bring it along.
                             verifiers.




Product development, marketing, investment                   People using the “verification” service pay
   in machine/software for ID verification.                   per use until a threshold for transfer to a
                                                                         subscription plan
BUSINESS CANVAS
Business Canvas Week 4
Canvas Week 5
Canvas Week 6
Canvas Week 7
Canvas Week 8
Canvas Week 9
Final Canvas Week 10

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3 dpe final 2013 berkeley

  • 1. Archicamp “A software platform for monitoring manufacturing machinery” (Original Idea) to “A platform to enable collaboration between architects, designers, and engineers” (Current Idea)
  • 2. Our Team Guillaume Ryan Miara, Jung, MBA M.Eng. Anirudh Alex Subbarao, Bergin, M.Eng. M. Arch. (Advisor)
  • 3. 3D Prints Express Timeline Digital ID Link 3D Prints 4-sided mktplc Manufacturing Express 2-sided mktplc for Architects Workflow modeling Pain Points Collaboration Ambiguity Wireframe Design Groups & Thought Leaders Tech Adoption LH Side of Canvas Rev Model Cost Structure Willingness to Pay Income Statement
  • 5.
  • 6. Modeling Marketplace, Market Size Calculation of $10 per hour margin: 1$5 billion Estimated Cost to Firm: $3,500 annual seat license for AutoCAD 2$3.5 billion $4,000 per workstation (HP Z820 workstation; 2 year depreciation) Average salary of $60,000 20% general and administrative costs TOTAL ANNUAL COST: $78,600 3$500 Divided by 2000 hours per year million TOTAL HOURLY COST: $40 per hour Average Hourly Rate of Freelance CAD Drafter: $30 per hour Source: Average of 5 interviews + 20 postings on oDesk / Craigslist 1 250,000 CAD drafters * 50 weeks * 40 hours * $10 per hour 2 70% of revenues from architecture / manufacturing 3 15% of part 2
  • 7. Programming Process Flow Concept Tools People Pain Google SketchUp 1 Sr. Architect Converting sketch Schematic Rhinoceros 2 Jr. Architects into 3D model Revit ~1 Engineer NavisWorks 2 - 3 Sr. Architect Integrating models Design Development Revit 2 - 6 Jr. Architects from each team 2 - 3 Engineers (Arch, Eng, Dsgn) Revit 2 - 3 Sr. Architect Labor intensive to Instruction 3 - 8 Jr. Architects add all specs Documentation 3 - 4 Engineers Construction Sources: Perkins & Will, H.O.K. ~ 1500 employees
  • 9. "You can't export work Jr. Architects do. That's what makes them architects!" - Susan Ubbelohde, Architect, Consultant, Professor
  • 10. Google Doc Like Collaboration CAD talent *improved design Typically Conflict! *Didn’t like it – Deleted Real time! Architect -avoid multiple versions -avoid overwriting each other *Approved design! Expedited!
  • 11. Existing Products SaaS 3D modeling platform Universal file support • Store and access files on the • 3D model viewing, cloud measuring, sectioning • Multi-party and remote • File sharing and sync collaboration • Documentation of • Documentation of collaboration process collaboration process • Communication tools • Secure infrastructure • Remote collaboration Neither of these has been mentioned in our 50+ interviews with architects!!
  • 12. What We Did • Went to UC Berkeley School of Architecture to recreate the problem – In process, we recruited our domain expert • Built a landing page and used web tests to validate the value proposition – Team needed to build something even if they weren’t 100% sure what they were building
  • 13. Thought Leaders Mario Guttman Eric Freed Phil Read Federico Negro Jim Balding Developer of “World’s best “THE Revit Guru” Partner, Case ANT Group arch+tech green architect” Design products Industry Architecture Syndicated in 33 Blogger/Author Blogger/Writer Conference Leading BIM industry Organizer Expert magazines Global product Prof. manager Architecture Prominent 30+ years Speaks at 40+ AutoDesk Columbia Consultant architect exp. conferences/yr (Partner P+W)
  • 14. Technology Adoption Small Engineering Firms Architecture Firm A Techie Architects Domain Bloggers Small American Design Thought Leaders Consultants Architecture Institute Groups BIM Managers Firm B Architects Sr. Architects Small Contractors Architecture Firm C Acquire Activate Keep Grow
  • 16. Partner Diagram Consultants Subscription Storage based on Costs storage 3D PE Customer Product Transaction Data
  • 17. Conversion Funnel From Twitter, Blogs of Thought Leaders: 10,000 Observed Target Conversion Conversion Rates with Lo- Rates Fi MVP View Landing Page 17.5% 40% Sign up for Free Trial 6.5% 20% Become Paying Customers Not tested yet 20% 160 paying customer firms
  • 18. CAC & LTV Customer Acquisition Cost CAC = Cost of Marketing / # Customer firms = $60,000 / 160 = $375 / firm = Gross Margin / firm* 3 months Lifetime Value LTV = Expected Life *Avg GM / Cust. Firm = 24 months * ($200 - $70) / ($200 / month) = $3,120 / customer firm = CAC * 8
  • 19. Metrics that Matter Metric Target Value Total Reach 10,000 (initial) Conversion to Landing Page 40% Conversion to Sign Up 20% Conversion to Paid 20% Willingness to Pay $200 Gross Margin 65% (determined by WTP) CAC $375 LTV $3,120 Retention Rate 80% Breakeven Users 420 (depends on WTP)
  • 20. Is this a viable business? Quantitative reasons Qualitative reasons  Large Addressable market  Positive Initial feedback $400+ million from thought leaders in industry  Low Breakeven  Opportunities in adjacent 420 paying customers out of markets 60,000 architecture firms in Structural engineering and US design  CAC quickly covered  Possible product extension 1 project opportunities  High margin LTV ~ 8*CAC
  • 21. Will we pursue this after the class? • Need a High Fidelity MVP to test:  Reach into target market of TLs through Twitter/ blogs  Conversion rates  Willingness to pay • None of us have technical skills to build the Hi Fi MVP  SolutionSet offers to do it for $90,000 • At this point we have decided not to continue with this business
  • 22. Thank You To the Teaching Team, Mentors, and other teams!
  • 24. Final Market Sizing Trends supporting collaboration 1. Pressure to be cost competitive to compete for tenders • 59.2% of revenues are spent on wages 1$7 • ~10.0% of revenues is spent on equipment and software billion • Firms are searching for ways to balance workloads, reduce labor costs, and speed up production of projects 2. Increased use of technology • Increasingly complex designs are requiring architects to use advanced 3D modeling technologies 2$2.1 billion 3. Demand for more value-added services • To combat declining margins, architectural firms are adding services such as pre-design planning, interior design, and engineering to become vertically integrated 4. Growing demand for environmentally friendly design 3$420 5. Growing trend towards outsourcing by firms million • 11% of firms have outsourced labor. • Trend is more pronounced for firms with revenues >$5m 6. Low concentration in architecture industry • 63% of firms in industry have less than 5 employees • 4 largest firms account for less than 5% of total industry revenues 7. High unemployment of licensed architects • Per AIA, 105,596 licensed architects in US • Per BLS, 71,460 architectural jobs in US; mean salary of $79k 1 $9.8 billion Design Software industry (IBIS World) 2 105k licensed architects in US per 3 20% of part 2 x 70% revenues for AEC/CAD/Industrial Design AIA, 500k construction mgmt, 262k civil engineers per BLS
  • 25. Breakeven Analysis Assumptions • Willingness to pay is subject to further testing to assess demand curve. • We sensitized our breakeven analysis at various price points and used our 40% / 20% / 20% conversion rate targets to get an idea of the necessary size for the “top of the funnel” • Total licensed architects in US = 105,596 per American Institute of Architects Price Paying Customers Top of Funnel $200 420 26,250 $175 515 32,188 $150 680 42,500 $120 1,090 68,125 $100 1,800 112,500
  • 26. Finance and Operations Timeline $250k -$90k Cash -$30k -$30k Fundraise Hi-Fi MVP Test Beta Test Final Operational Development $150k 6 weeks 8 weeks 2 weeks 8 weeks 2 weeks 26 weeks
  • 27. Burn Rate • At pricing of $200, breakeven users is 420. – We are assuming conversion rates of 40% / 20% / 20% which will be tested during Hi-Fi MVP and Beta stages. – For now, these conversion rates are hypotheses. • At these conversion rates, we believe we can get this number of paying users in 3 months. – This takes into account our initial conversion funnel – Assumes a retention rate of 80%. • Our estimated monthly OpEx is $25,000 and gross margins are 65%. • Net cash burn is estimated at $10,000 through first three months until breakeven.
  • 28. Digital Manufacturing, Inc. -Develop a tailored solution -Facilitator for each customer: between coding, improving -Reduce downtime customer and 1- Fortune 1000 UI, developing of machinery; service persons knowledge base manufacturing cost to implement app 2- Medium Who are our Key savings & service Manufacturing Partners? cost savings. Enterprises Who are our key -Knowledge base; 3- Small suppliers? -IP, Software prognostics (big Through which Manufacturing Platform: Opentok data) for real-time Channels do our Enterprises monitoring and Customer -Cloud based signaling preventive Segments 4-Small Job server maintenance. want to be Shops reached? -Knowledge base -IP development -Webservices For what value are our customers really willing to pay? How do we make money? -Sales & Marketing
  • 29. We will provide a A relation of trust, Software service for identity from a service We create value development, and info verification First, we will start that works at all to every person product promotion, via electronic with the bars and times and is who has forgotten and ID verification. means (i.e. mobile clubs in the Bay highly secured. an important phones). area, until we paper/ does not reach state and want to carry it We help everyone federal who desperately governments. Initial customers need a paper (Passport forgotten are people Through an App for an international entering a bar, Experts in data store, site, and via flight, driver license who have No suppliers. security, lawyers, the person who for police control, forgotten their ID security/encryption requires the ID ID card forgotten to or don’t want to companies, ID (police, bouncer…) get into a bar, etc.) bring it along. verifiers. Product development, marketing, investment People using the “verification” service pay in machine/software for ID verification. per use until a threshold for transfer to a subscription plan
  • 30.