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Digital Marketing
Presented by
John Daniels
Lean Marketing Consultant
Agenda
• 9-30 Intro’s, welcome and context
• 10:00 What is digital Marketing
• Digital Marketing Fundamentals
– The Funnel
– Lean Canvas
• 12:30-1:30 – Lunch
Tools of Digital Marketing
– Facebook and
– Google Ads
– Analytics
– SEO (Moz)
– Mailchimp
• 3:00-4:00 Practical Demos and live Q&A
Intro’s and Welcome
What are your marketing
challenges?
What do you want from today?
Where are you from?
What is your role?
John Daniels
Who am I?
• Founder of The Lean Marketer UK
• Run Marketing Strategy Courses at the
Edinburgh Chamber of Commerce
• Managed more that £2 million of Ad Spend for
more that 300 businesses over the last 15
years
• Consulting, training and implementation
We Make Websites Make Money
• Created digital marketing strategies for more
than 350 businesses across 4 continents over
the last 20 years
Some principles for today
• Training vs Consulting
• Principles over tactics
• Direct Experience over 3rd party
• If anyone is a “guru” it’s you 
25 Digital Marketing News Sources You NEED to Be Reading
...
19 Headline Writing Tips for Viral Blog
Posts
55% of Visitors Read Your
Articles For 15 Seconds or
Less
Marketing in a "big bowl
of wrong"...
6 On-Page techniques to
avoid content
cannibalization
Discover the top 5
lessons at The Digital
Garage
Are you using Social
Selling to grow sales?
So we have 45 more
characters in AdWords
text ads… Now what?
A must read if you have
Adwords as your main source
of traffic.
Is your PPC account bleeding?
Are Conversion Tracking Errors
Manipulating Your Sales
Numbers?
Is your PPC account bleeding?
Importance of SEO in
Digital Marketing
Discovering Content Marketing
Trends Using Big Data
Get Social in
September!
LinkedIn HashTags Are Active Again.
Will You Be Using Hashtags?
Creating a landing page for your
marketing campaign that will get
you more customers!
You’re just a few steps
away from post-
conversion nirvana
What is Digital Marketing?
Customer Segments
4
3
2
1
Segment Description
4. Crowd People the have the problem but
are not yet looking
3. Solution People looking for a solution to
the problem your product solves
2. Product People looking for your product
1. Brand People looking for you by name
Channels
Direct
Google
Facebook
SEO
Conversions
• Website forms
• Social media comments and messages
• Landing pages
• Inbound phone calls
• Website purchases
• Referrals
Sales Process
• How many leads?
• Where did they come
from?
• How many were
usable?
• How many got an
appointment?
• How many got sent a
quote/proposal
• How many deals did
you close?
• How man e-commerce
sales happened?
Customers
Enquiries
Subscribers
Business
• Products
• Price
• Margin
• Frequency
• Lifetime customer
value
• What % can you
spend on customer
acquisition?
• How much can you
buy a customer for?
Goals
£
• Customers
• Turnover
• Profit
Customer
Segments
Channels
Conversions
Sales Process
Business
Customer Flow
Planning and Building
Example Calculations: Wedding Photography
• Purchase price: £1000
• Margin : 80%
(sales less cost of sales like transport and consumables)
• Referral rate: 1 in 4 clients refer a client
• Repurchase Rate: 0 (we hope)
• LTV=£1000x 0.8 x 1.25 : £1000
• Target % spend on customer acquisition: 20%
• How much can I buy a customer for? £200
Example: Business Hotel Traveller
• Room Night: £100
• Margin : 10%
(sales less cost of sales like transport and
consumables)
• Referral rate: 1 in 5 clients refer a client
• Repurchase Rate: 3 nights per stay, 4 times a year
for 5 years
• LTV=£100x 3 x 4 x 5x 1.2 : £7200
• Target % spend on customer acquisition: 20%
• How much can I buy a customer for? £1440
Exercise: Work out your Target CPA
• Cost of product/service
• Repeat purchase rate
• Margin
• Factor in Referrals
Agenda
• 9-30 Intro’s, welcome and context
• 10:00 What is digital Marketing
• Digital Marketing Fundamentals
– The Funnel
– Lean Canvas
• 12:30-1:30 – Lunch
Tools of Digital Marketing
– Facebook and
– Google Ads
– Analytics
– SEO (Moz)
– Mailchimp
• 3:00-4:00 Practical Demos and live Q&A
What’s your Secret
Elon Musk?
I tend to approach things from a physics
framework and physics teaches you to reason from
first principles rather than by analogy.
Exercise
• Complete your Lean Canvas
Lunch
Agenda
• 9-30 Intro’s, welcome and context
• 9:30-10:30 – The Funnel
• Break
• 10:45-12:30pm – Lean Canvas
• 12:30-1:30 – Lunch
• 1:30-2:45 – Facebook and AdWords
• Break
• 3:00-4:00 Google Analytics
• 4:00-4:30 Q and A
• 4:30 Course Ends
The Tools of Digital
Marketing
CRM
Accounting System
Google Analytics
AdWords
Facebook
How to set up Google
Analytics
Google Analytics
• Who is coming to your website
• Where did the come from
• What are they doing on my website?
• Are they doing the right things?
Who?
Where
from?
What are
they
doing?
Create and
Account
http://analytics.google.com
Settings
Get the tracking Code
Insert Tracking Code
Create Thank-you page
Configure your form to re-
direct to the thank-you page
Configure Goal in GA 1
How to set up Google
Adwords
http://adwords.google.com
AdWords Planning Example
Link Adwords to Google
Analytics
1.Link Adwords to Analytics
2.Link Analytics to Adwords
3.Configure Conversions
Further Resources
How to be successful with AdWords
https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/6080949?utm_source=AWF
E&utm_medium=Notifications&utm_campaign=Sep16Alert&authuser=0
Google Best Practices
https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/6154846?utm_source=AWF
E&utm_medium=Notifications&utm_campaign=Sep16Alert&authuser=0
How to Set Up Facebook
Ads
Facebook Audiences
Audiences
Google Analytics URL
Builder Tool
https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/1033867?hl=en
Additional Content
• Additional Info from your pre-course
Feedback
• Live Q and A
• Demos
Google Trends
MailChimp
Realtimeboard.com
Answerthepublic.com
Buzzsumo.com
Followerwonk.com
Canva.com
Clickfunnels.com
Leanstack.com
Recommended reading
Follow-up Call
If you feel like you would like a bit more help
getting your AdWords account
implemented, you are entitled to a no-
obligation consultation with me.
Just mail john@theleanmarketer.co.uk and
we will set it up!
Thanks!

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Fundamentals of Digital Marketing

  • 1. Digital Marketing Presented by John Daniels Lean Marketing Consultant
  • 2. Agenda • 9-30 Intro’s, welcome and context • 10:00 What is digital Marketing • Digital Marketing Fundamentals – The Funnel – Lean Canvas • 12:30-1:30 – Lunch Tools of Digital Marketing – Facebook and – Google Ads – Analytics – SEO (Moz) – Mailchimp • 3:00-4:00 Practical Demos and live Q&A
  • 3. Intro’s and Welcome What are your marketing challenges? What do you want from today? Where are you from? What is your role?
  • 4. John Daniels Who am I? • Founder of The Lean Marketer UK • Run Marketing Strategy Courses at the Edinburgh Chamber of Commerce • Managed more that £2 million of Ad Spend for more that 300 businesses over the last 15 years • Consulting, training and implementation We Make Websites Make Money • Created digital marketing strategies for more than 350 businesses across 4 continents over the last 20 years
  • 5. Some principles for today • Training vs Consulting • Principles over tactics • Direct Experience over 3rd party • If anyone is a “guru” it’s you 
  • 6. 25 Digital Marketing News Sources You NEED to Be Reading ... 19 Headline Writing Tips for Viral Blog Posts 55% of Visitors Read Your Articles For 15 Seconds or Less Marketing in a "big bowl of wrong"... 6 On-Page techniques to avoid content cannibalization Discover the top 5 lessons at The Digital Garage Are you using Social Selling to grow sales? So we have 45 more characters in AdWords text ads… Now what? A must read if you have Adwords as your main source of traffic. Is your PPC account bleeding? Are Conversion Tracking Errors Manipulating Your Sales Numbers? Is your PPC account bleeding? Importance of SEO in Digital Marketing Discovering Content Marketing Trends Using Big Data Get Social in September! LinkedIn HashTags Are Active Again. Will You Be Using Hashtags? Creating a landing page for your marketing campaign that will get you more customers! You’re just a few steps away from post- conversion nirvana What is Digital Marketing?
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  • 9. Customer Segments 4 3 2 1 Segment Description 4. Crowd People the have the problem but are not yet looking 3. Solution People looking for a solution to the problem your product solves 2. Product People looking for your product 1. Brand People looking for you by name
  • 11. Conversions • Website forms • Social media comments and messages • Landing pages • Inbound phone calls • Website purchases • Referrals
  • 12. Sales Process • How many leads? • Where did they come from? • How many were usable? • How many got an appointment? • How many got sent a quote/proposal • How many deals did you close? • How man e-commerce sales happened? Customers Enquiries Subscribers
  • 13. Business • Products • Price • Margin • Frequency • Lifetime customer value • What % can you spend on customer acquisition? • How much can you buy a customer for?
  • 16. Example Calculations: Wedding Photography • Purchase price: £1000 • Margin : 80% (sales less cost of sales like transport and consumables) • Referral rate: 1 in 4 clients refer a client • Repurchase Rate: 0 (we hope) • LTV=£1000x 0.8 x 1.25 : £1000 • Target % spend on customer acquisition: 20% • How much can I buy a customer for? £200
  • 17. Example: Business Hotel Traveller • Room Night: £100 • Margin : 10% (sales less cost of sales like transport and consumables) • Referral rate: 1 in 5 clients refer a client • Repurchase Rate: 3 nights per stay, 4 times a year for 5 years • LTV=£100x 3 x 4 x 5x 1.2 : £7200 • Target % spend on customer acquisition: 20% • How much can I buy a customer for? £1440
  • 18. Exercise: Work out your Target CPA • Cost of product/service • Repeat purchase rate • Margin • Factor in Referrals
  • 19. Agenda • 9-30 Intro’s, welcome and context • 10:00 What is digital Marketing • Digital Marketing Fundamentals – The Funnel – Lean Canvas • 12:30-1:30 – Lunch Tools of Digital Marketing – Facebook and – Google Ads – Analytics – SEO (Moz) – Mailchimp • 3:00-4:00 Practical Demos and live Q&A
  • 20. What’s your Secret Elon Musk? I tend to approach things from a physics framework and physics teaches you to reason from first principles rather than by analogy.
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  • 29. Lunch
  • 30. Agenda • 9-30 Intro’s, welcome and context • 9:30-10:30 – The Funnel • Break • 10:45-12:30pm – Lean Canvas • 12:30-1:30 – Lunch • 1:30-2:45 – Facebook and AdWords • Break • 3:00-4:00 Google Analytics • 4:00-4:30 Q and A • 4:30 Course Ends
  • 31. The Tools of Digital Marketing
  • 33. How to set up Google Analytics
  • 34. Google Analytics • Who is coming to your website • Where did the come from • What are they doing on my website? • Are they doing the right things?
  • 35. Who?
  • 42. Create Thank-you page Configure your form to re- direct to the thank-you page
  • 44. How to set up Google Adwords
  • 47. Link Adwords to Google Analytics 1.Link Adwords to Analytics 2.Link Analytics to Adwords 3.Configure Conversions
  • 48. Further Resources How to be successful with AdWords https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/6080949?utm_source=AWF E&utm_medium=Notifications&utm_campaign=Sep16Alert&authuser=0 Google Best Practices https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/6154846?utm_source=AWF E&utm_medium=Notifications&utm_campaign=Sep16Alert&authuser=0
  • 49. How to Set Up Facebook Ads
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  • 56. Google Analytics URL Builder Tool https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/1033867?hl=en
  • 57. Additional Content • Additional Info from your pre-course Feedback • Live Q and A • Demos
  • 68. Follow-up Call If you feel like you would like a bit more help getting your AdWords account implemented, you are entitled to a no- obligation consultation with me. Just mail john@theleanmarketer.co.uk and we will set it up!