Business excellence award models


Published on

How is it beneficial to adopt Excellence models like Baldrige.

Published in: Business
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Business excellence award models

  1. 1. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot
  2. 2. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot
  3. 3. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot
  4. 4. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot ISO 14001 OHSAS 18001 ISO 9001 etc. TQM, TPS, WCM, TPM, Six Sigma etc. National Quality Awards Based on MBNQA, EFQM and Deming Award Systematic approaches includes . . .
  5. 5. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot In this highly competitive world, and in Global meltdown situation, Darwinian Principle of “ Survival of the Fittest ” will prevail. It is, therefore, imperative on organizations to be fit. Award models, being holistic and up-to-date, provide an opportunity to become fit, survive & grow.
  6. 6. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot In 1979, world renowned consultants Mckinsey & Co. commissioned a study, why some companies are successful, year after year, in Fortune 500 list. It took more than 2 years, visit to nearly 62 short listed Successful companies, hundreds of interviews, going through past 25 years of thousands of documents and records and an insightful outlook.
  7. 7. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot The study came out as a book in 1982, “ In Search of Excellence ” by Tom Peters and Robert Waterman. It has gone through 11 Editions and have sold more than 20 Million copies. It is considered as a Bible in Management circles.
  8. 8. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot It came out that these companies were successful, in good times as in well as in bad, followed some 8 Core Values, in letter and spirit, without worrying for short term gains.
  9. 9. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot In another scenario, in late 80s, Japanese gave good value for money, so much so that Americans were beaten in America itself, especially in Cars, Electronics, consumer electronics and white goods. Profits were dwindling, jobs were lost, market share was shrinking, economy was hurt. This made America pondering.
  10. 10. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot Department of Quality was established, reporting to American President himself. Competitiveness was studied much in detail. New methods and tools were rolled out to put Economy back on rails. Secretary of Commerce, Mr. Malcolm Baldrige was a driving force behind all these moves.
  11. 11. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot He lost his life in a freak car accident. To commemorate his contribution, a pinnacle National Quality Award model was designed and named after him – “ Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award”, in 1991. It has been so effective and successful, almost all 50 American states have their state awards modeled after it, as well followed world over, including India. Success of this model is because its foundation is 11 Core Values, some of which were unraveled by Peters & Waterman.( Ref. “ In Search of Excellence ” )
  12. 12. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot National Quality Awards in India ( based on MBNQA ) National Quality Awards in India ( based on EFQM ) Name Administration Open for - Tata Business Excellence Model ( TBEM ) TQMS, Tata Sons Only Tata Group Companies Ramkrishna Bajaj National Quality Award ( RBNQA ) Indian Merchants’ Chamber All over India open for all Institutions Rajiv Gandhi National Quality Award BIS , GOI All over India open for all Institutions Golden Peacock National Quality Award Institute of Directors ( IOD ) All over India open for all Institutions Name Administration Open for - CII – EXIM Bank National Q. Award CII All India, all institutions
  13. 13. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot All MBNQA model Awards in India are following same criteria, but have different rigour, hence different effectiveness. Yet, the purpose is to promote excellence and find role model organizations every year.
  14. 14. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot <ul><li>In RBNQA, there are six different Award categories – </li></ul><ul><li>Manufacturing Organizations, </li></ul><ul><li>Service Organizations, </li></ul><ul><li>Small and Medium Enterprises ( SMEs ) , </li></ul><ul><li>Educational Organizations, </li></ul><ul><li>Health Care Organizations, </li></ul><ul><li>Indian Overseas Businesses . </li></ul><ul><li>Again in each category, there are different levels </li></ul><ul><li>of recognition, like – </li></ul><ul><li>Commendation Award, </li></ul><ul><li>Certificate of Merit, ∙ Performance Excellence and </li></ul><ul><li>The Trophy </li></ul>
  15. 15. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot <ul><li>11 Core Values, which is foundation of these awards </li></ul><ul><li>are – </li></ul><ul><li>Visionary Leadership, </li></ul><ul><li>Customer driven excellence, </li></ul><ul><li>Organizational and Personal Learning, </li></ul><ul><li>Valuing Employees and Partners, </li></ul><ul><li>Agility, </li></ul><ul><li>Focus on the Future, </li></ul><ul><li>Managing for Innovation, </li></ul><ul><li>Management by Fact, </li></ul><ul><li>Social Responsibility, </li></ul><ul><li>Focus on Results and Creating Value, </li></ul><ul><li>Systems Perspective. </li></ul>
  16. 16. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot <ul><li>The criteria is very scientific, meticulous and measures the performance of the organization </li></ul><ul><li>in 7 categories. </li></ul><ul><li>Leadership, </li></ul><ul><li>Strategic Planning, </li></ul><ul><li>Customer and Market Focus, </li></ul><ul><li>Measurement, Analysis and Knowledge Mgmt., </li></ul><ul><li>Workforce Focus, </li></ul><ul><li>Process Management, </li></ul><ul><li>Business Results </li></ul><ul><li>Each category carries different Point values, </li></ul><ul><li>totaling 1000 Points. </li></ul>
  17. 17. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot The method and points distribution is as - Total = 1000 Points Cat. No. Title Assessment Dimension Point Value 1 Leadership Approach, Deployment 120 2 Strategic Planning A - D 85 3 Customer and Market Focus A - D 85 4 Measurement, Analysis & KM A - D 90 5 Workforce Focus A - D 85 6 Process Management A - D 85 77 B 7.1 Product and Service Results Results 100 7.2 Customer - focused Results Results 70 7.3 Financial and Market Results Results 70 7.4 Workforce – focused Results Results 70 7.5 Process Effectiveness Results Results 70 7.6 Leadership Results Results 70
  18. 18. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot In each category also, detailed requirements are described. E.g. in Leadership category, 1.1 : Senior Leadership Describe how Senior Leaders guide and sustain your organization. Describe how Senior Leaders communicate with your workforce and encourage high performance. 1.2 : Governance and Social Responsibility Describe your organization’s Governance system. Describe how your organization addresses its responsibilities to the public, ensures ethical behavior and practices good citizenship. These items 1.1 and 1.2 are further broken into more requirements. Like for other Categories.
  19. 19. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot Thus, Malcolm Baldrige and such other criteria are holistic in nature and offer tremendous opportunities for Business Excellence.
  20. 20. Excellence unLimited, Rajkot Thank You