SlideShare a Scribd company logo
1 of 42
Increase Your Profits With
Management Accounting
Dennis L. Thompson, CPA, CFE
206-390-9432
www.dlthompsoncpa.com
What is Financial Accounting
• Production of Financial Statements
– Income Statement
– Balance Sheet
• Bookkeeping
• Used for Tax Returns
• Designed for External Audience
– Bankers
– Tax Collectors
– Creditors and Investors
• Backword Looking
What Is Management Accounting
• Analysis of Costs - Breakeven
• Projection of Cash Flows
• Budgets
• Ratio Analysis
• Designed for Internal Audience
• Forward Looking
• The Information comes from your
Accounting System and Reports
How Can Management
Accounting Increase Profits?
• What Products/Services Most Profitable?
• Who are Best Customers?
• Are You Generating Cash on Operations?
• Are You Having Cash Flow Problems?
• Are Your Margins Shrinking?
Financial Statements-Compass
For Your Business
•Ultimate Goal of Accounting System
•Best Friend or Worst Enemy
•Tells You Where Your Company
– Has Been
– Where It Is Now
– Where It Is Going
Financial Statements-Compass
For Your Business
• Think of Your Business as a Small Plane
• Think of Your Accounting System as an
Instrument Panel
• Two Potential Problems
– Your Accounting Info is Wrong
– You Don’t Use Your Accounting Info
Categories of Financial
Statements
• Income Statement
– Where You Have Been
• Balance Sheet
– Where You Are Now
• Cash Flow Projection & Budgets
– Where You Are Going
Profit & Loss
• Measures Business Activity Over a Period
of Time
• Income & Expense Accounts Are
Temporary & Closed to Retained Earnings
• Expenses Can Be Classified As Variable or
Fixed
• Most Useful If Compared to Different
Periods
Profit & Loss – One Year
Variable Expenses
Gross Margin
Analysis of Costs - Breakeven
• Sales Price Per Unit or Service
– How much Gross Income per product or
service.
• Variable Cost Per Unit or Service
– What are the Directs Costs associated
with the product or service
• Fixed Costs (Overhead)
– Costs that need to be paid whether you
make a Sale or not, e.g. Rent, Insurance
Breakeven - Example
• Sales Price Per Unit $10
• Variable Cost Per Unit 7
• Contribution Margin Per Unit $3
• Fixed Costs $15,000
• Contribution Margin Ratio
– $3/$10 = 30%
• Sales to Breakeven = Fixed Cost/CM Ratio
• $15,000/30% = $50,000
• $50,000 - $35,000-$15,000 = $0
Breakeven Graph
Breakeven Schedule
Never Run Out of Cash
Never Run Out of Cash-
Philip Campbell
Sample Cash Flow Projection P1
Sample Cash Flow Projection P2
Statement of Cash Flows
Increase
Increase
Increase
Decrease
Decrease
Management Accounting
Reports
• Sales By Customers
• A/R – Aging Analysis
• Purchases By Vendor
• A/P – Aging Analysis
• Profit & Loss – Comparison
• Balance Sheet - Comparison
Sales By Customer Summary
Accounts Rec – Aging Analysis
Purchase By Vendor Summary
Accounts Pay – Aging Analysis
Profit & Loss - Comparison
Balance Sheet - Comparison
Balance Sheet - Comparison
Budgets
• Why Budget?
– Forces you to think strategically about
your business and goals
– Can help you anticipate problems
– Can help detect Fraud
– Sets Expectations for Employees
What is Ratio Analysis
• Comparing different line items of the
Balance Sheet and Income Statement to
each other.
• For example, Current Ratio = Current
Assets/Current Liablilities
Ratio Analysis – Why Care
• Banks use Ratio Analysis in deciding to
extend Credit
• Ratio Analysis can serve as an Early
Warning System for your company
• It is useful to compare your Ratios to
Industry Standards
Ratio Analysis - Categories
• Profitability – e.g. Return on Equity
• Activity – e.g. A/R Turnover
• Leverage – e.g. Debt to Equity
• Liquidity – e.g. Current Ratio
Nine Ratios that Measure Effect Current Assets/Current Liabilities
Current Liabilities/Net Worth
Total Liabilities/Net Worth
Inventory/Working Capital
Accounts Receivable/Working Capital
Long Term Liabilities/Working Capital
Net Profit/Net Worth
Net Sales/Fixed Assets
Net Sales/Working Capital
Six Causal Ratios Fixed Assets/Net Worth
Days Sales in Accounts Receivable
Accounts Receivable/(Credit Sales/360)
Net Sales/Inventory
Net Sales/Net Worth
Net Profit/Net Sales
Misc Assets/Net Worth
The Meaningful Interpretation of Financial Statements – Donald E. Miller
Fixed Assets/Net Worth
• Measures extent that Net Worth consists of
long term, non current assets.
• Can have negative impact on Working
Capital and Current Ratio.
• Might be increasing Fixed Costs through
borrowing.
• Might be distorted by low Net Worth
Accounts Receivable/(Credit
Sales/360)- Collection Period
• Measures efficiency of Company receivable
collections.
• Early warning system for delinquent
accounts.
• Important to measure against Industry
competitors.
• Need to subtract cash sales to arrive at net
Credit Sales.
• Low number can be indicative of restrictive
Credit Policy, thus reducing profit.
Net Sales/Inventory=Number of
Times
• Measures how quickly Inventory is turning
over.
• Low turnover indicates potential writeoffs.
• Also could indicate potential shrinkage.
• Could adversely impact Cash Flow.
• However, with Inventory management,
need to seek a balance of too much and
not enough.
Net Sales/Net Worth
• Measures extent Company’s sales are
supported by invested capital.
• High ratio can mean that Company is
supporting sales through debt, i.e., Fixed
Costs.
• Can negatively impact Break-Even point.
• Can increase chances of Company failure
because of Fixed Costs.
• Over emphasis on sales can lead to selling
to marginal customers.
Net Profit/Net Sales
• Impacts all the other ratios.
• Profits add to Net Worth
• Losses increase the need for Long Term
Borrowing, which can impact Working
Capital.
• Losses threaten Company’s ability to
survive.
Misc Assets/Net Worth
• Examples : Loans to Employees
• Prepaid Expenses
• Usually not a significant part of Balance
Sheet.
• Don’t want to tie up much Captal in these
type of assets.
Current Assets/Current Liabilities
• Standard used to be 2:1
• Working Capital = Current Assets-Current
Liabilities.
• Problem with Current Assets
– Includes Inventory
– Includes Receivables
• Understanding Cost Structure and
Breakeven Analysis can help you manage
your business better.
• Cash Flow Projections can help you avoid
running out of cash and having to shut
down your business
• Budgeting forces you to plan and anticipate
problems
Summary
Summary
• Financial Ratio Analysis can serve as an
early warning system.
• Ratio Analysis assumes that Accounting
information is accurate.
• Improve your Company’s chances for
improved Profitability or even Survival by
conducting Ratio Analysis.
• Especially important to compare your
Company to Industry Standard Ratios.

More Related Content

What's hot

Financial analysis
Financial analysisFinancial analysis
Financial analysisHumayun Khan
 
McKonly & Asbury Webinar - LEAN and the Finance and Accounting Process
McKonly & Asbury Webinar - LEAN and the Finance and Accounting ProcessMcKonly & Asbury Webinar - LEAN and the Finance and Accounting Process
McKonly & Asbury Webinar - LEAN and the Finance and Accounting ProcessMcKonly & Asbury, LLP
 
5 Keys to Profitability - Tim Mclellan
5 Keys to Profitability - Tim Mclellan5 Keys to Profitability - Tim Mclellan
5 Keys to Profitability - Tim MclellanB2B CFO
 
Lunchbox Learning: Learn How You Earn June 2013
Lunchbox Learning: Learn How You Earn June 2013Lunchbox Learning: Learn How You Earn June 2013
Lunchbox Learning: Learn How You Earn June 2013DMG
 
Cash Crisis with Covid-19 and What to do & What Not To Do - TOCICO 2020 CONFE...
Cash Crisis with Covid-19 and What to do & What Not To Do - TOCICO 2020 CONFE...Cash Crisis with Covid-19 and What to do & What Not To Do - TOCICO 2020 CONFE...
Cash Crisis with Covid-19 and What to do & What Not To Do - TOCICO 2020 CONFE...TOCTimenCash
 
Eva for performance
Eva for performanceEva for performance
Eva for performanceSandip De
 
Business modeling for startups part ii
Business modeling for startups part iiBusiness modeling for startups part ii
Business modeling for startups part iiPierre-Yves Pau
 
From Boots To Business - Economics of Small Business
From Boots To Business - Economics of Small BusinessFrom Boots To Business - Economics of Small Business
From Boots To Business - Economics of Small Businessfrombootstobusiness
 
Cash is King: How To Manage Cash Flow & Increase Working Capital to Support B...
Cash is King: How To Manage Cash Flow & Increase Working Capital to Support B...Cash is King: How To Manage Cash Flow & Increase Working Capital to Support B...
Cash is King: How To Manage Cash Flow & Increase Working Capital to Support B...Hitachi Business Finance
 
10 Common Errors in Valuation
10 Common Errors in Valuation10 Common Errors in Valuation
10 Common Errors in ValuationSkoda Minotti
 
Cambridge a level investment ratios
Cambridge a level investment ratiosCambridge a level investment ratios
Cambridge a level investment ratiosSanjaya Jayasundara
 
Presentation on factors affecting working capital decisions
Presentation on factors affecting working capital decisionsPresentation on factors affecting working capital decisions
Presentation on factors affecting working capital decisionsKomal Mahajan
 
Economic value added (eva)
Economic value added (eva)Economic value added (eva)
Economic value added (eva)riyas1160
 

What's hot (19)

Financial analysis
Financial analysisFinancial analysis
Financial analysis
 
McKonly & Asbury Webinar - LEAN and the Finance and Accounting Process
McKonly & Asbury Webinar - LEAN and the Finance and Accounting ProcessMcKonly & Asbury Webinar - LEAN and the Finance and Accounting Process
McKonly & Asbury Webinar - LEAN and the Finance and Accounting Process
 
5 Keys to Profitability - Tim Mclellan
5 Keys to Profitability - Tim Mclellan5 Keys to Profitability - Tim Mclellan
5 Keys to Profitability - Tim Mclellan
 
Reportppt
ReportpptReportppt
Reportppt
 
Cash vs. Accrual
Cash vs. AccrualCash vs. Accrual
Cash vs. Accrual
 
Lunchbox Learning: Learn How You Earn June 2013
Lunchbox Learning: Learn How You Earn June 2013Lunchbox Learning: Learn How You Earn June 2013
Lunchbox Learning: Learn How You Earn June 2013
 
Cash Crisis with Covid-19 and What to do & What Not To Do - TOCICO 2020 CONFE...
Cash Crisis with Covid-19 and What to do & What Not To Do - TOCICO 2020 CONFE...Cash Crisis with Covid-19 and What to do & What Not To Do - TOCICO 2020 CONFE...
Cash Crisis with Covid-19 and What to do & What Not To Do - TOCICO 2020 CONFE...
 
Working capital
Working capitalWorking capital
Working capital
 
Eva for performance
Eva for performanceEva for performance
Eva for performance
 
Business modeling for startups part ii
Business modeling for startups part iiBusiness modeling for startups part ii
Business modeling for startups part ii
 
From Boots To Business - Economics of Small Business
From Boots To Business - Economics of Small BusinessFrom Boots To Business - Economics of Small Business
From Boots To Business - Economics of Small Business
 
Cash is King: How To Manage Cash Flow & Increase Working Capital to Support B...
Cash is King: How To Manage Cash Flow & Increase Working Capital to Support B...Cash is King: How To Manage Cash Flow & Increase Working Capital to Support B...
Cash is King: How To Manage Cash Flow & Increase Working Capital to Support B...
 
10 Common Errors in Valuation
10 Common Errors in Valuation10 Common Errors in Valuation
10 Common Errors in Valuation
 
Cambridge a level investment ratios
Cambridge a level investment ratiosCambridge a level investment ratios
Cambridge a level investment ratios
 
Presentation on factors affecting working capital decisions
Presentation on factors affecting working capital decisionsPresentation on factors affecting working capital decisions
Presentation on factors affecting working capital decisions
 
Economic value added (eva)
Economic value added (eva)Economic value added (eva)
Economic value added (eva)
 
Scenario 5
Scenario 5Scenario 5
Scenario 5
 
Value versus momentum
Value versus momentumValue versus momentum
Value versus momentum
 
Ratio analysis of Retail Stores
Ratio analysis of Retail StoresRatio analysis of Retail Stores
Ratio analysis of Retail Stores
 

Similar to Management accounting

Profit is an opinion, but cash of lack thereof, is cold hard reality
Profit is an opinion, but cash of lack thereof, is cold hard realityProfit is an opinion, but cash of lack thereof, is cold hard reality
Profit is an opinion, but cash of lack thereof, is cold hard realityDennis L. Thompson, CPA, CFE
 
Ratios and financial statement analysis
Ratios and financial statement analysis Ratios and financial statement analysis
Ratios and financial statement analysis Muhammed hamed albuissa
 
Financial Statements are telling you a story
Financial Statements are telling you a storyFinancial Statements are telling you a story
Financial Statements are telling you a storyBrent McClure, CPA, CGMA
 
My Business is Growing, Now What? Financial Management Skills for the Entrepr...
My Business is Growing, Now What? Financial Management Skills for the Entrepr...My Business is Growing, Now What? Financial Management Skills for the Entrepr...
My Business is Growing, Now What? Financial Management Skills for the Entrepr...McKonly & Asbury, LLP
 
Financial statement analysis
Financial statement analysisFinancial statement analysis
Financial statement analysisAnuj Bhatia
 
Principles of Effective Small Business Financial Management
Principles of Effective Small Business Financial ManagementPrinciples of Effective Small Business Financial Management
Principles of Effective Small Business Financial ManagementVITAL Financial Services
 
Meeting 7- Financial Planning (Financial Management)
Meeting 7- Financial Planning (Financial Management)Meeting 7- Financial Planning (Financial Management)
Meeting 7- Financial Planning (Financial Management)Albina Gaisina
 
financialstatementanalysis-121109105608-phpapp01.pdf
financialstatementanalysis-121109105608-phpapp01.pdffinancialstatementanalysis-121109105608-phpapp01.pdf
financialstatementanalysis-121109105608-phpapp01.pdfJennyThanushaw
 
Financialstatementanalysis 121109105608-phpapp01
Financialstatementanalysis 121109105608-phpapp01Financialstatementanalysis 121109105608-phpapp01
Financialstatementanalysis 121109105608-phpapp01Anuj Bhatia
 
Financial statement analysis
Financial statement analysisFinancial statement analysis
Financial statement analysisKapil Chhabra
 
EIA2017Italy - Marco Cantamessa - Startup Financials KPIs
EIA2017Italy - Marco Cantamessa - Startup Financials KPIsEIA2017Italy - Marco Cantamessa - Startup Financials KPIs
EIA2017Italy - Marco Cantamessa - Startup Financials KPIsEuropean Innovation Academy
 
SaaS Metrics - Bulletproof your SaaS Growth
SaaS Metrics - Bulletproof your SaaS GrowthSaaS Metrics - Bulletproof your SaaS Growth
SaaS Metrics - Bulletproof your SaaS GrowthAnadi Raj Tiwari
 
Working capital management SIIB,PUNE
Working capital management SIIB,PUNEWorking capital management SIIB,PUNE
Working capital management SIIB,PUNENilesh Dayalapwar
 
3. Financial Statement Analysis Interpretation- AC570 AMcM.pptx
3. Financial Statement Analysis  Interpretation- AC570 AMcM.pptx3. Financial Statement Analysis  Interpretation- AC570 AMcM.pptx
3. Financial Statement Analysis Interpretation- AC570 AMcM.pptxsawantac2
 
Bootstrap Business Seminars: Making Sense of the Numbers
Bootstrap Business Seminars: Making Sense of the NumbersBootstrap Business Seminars: Making Sense of the Numbers
Bootstrap Business Seminars: Making Sense of the NumbersCityStarters
 
Ecorl oer al-understanding-accounting-and-financial-statements-deepening
Ecorl oer al-understanding-accounting-and-financial-statements-deepeningEcorl oer al-understanding-accounting-and-financial-statements-deepening
Ecorl oer al-understanding-accounting-and-financial-statements-deepeningUniversità Popolare di Firenze
 
2. financial statement analysis
2. financial statement analysis2. financial statement analysis
2. financial statement analysisJudy Ricamara
 

Similar to Management accounting (20)

Profit is an opinion, but cash of lack thereof, is cold hard reality
Profit is an opinion, but cash of lack thereof, is cold hard realityProfit is an opinion, but cash of lack thereof, is cold hard reality
Profit is an opinion, but cash of lack thereof, is cold hard reality
 
Ratios and financial statement analysis
Ratios and financial statement analysis Ratios and financial statement analysis
Ratios and financial statement analysis
 
Financial Statements are telling you a story
Financial Statements are telling you a storyFinancial Statements are telling you a story
Financial Statements are telling you a story
 
Ratio Analysis
Ratio Analysis Ratio Analysis
Ratio Analysis
 
My Business is Growing, Now What? Financial Management Skills for the Entrepr...
My Business is Growing, Now What? Financial Management Skills for the Entrepr...My Business is Growing, Now What? Financial Management Skills for the Entrepr...
My Business is Growing, Now What? Financial Management Skills for the Entrepr...
 
Financial statement analysis
Financial statement analysisFinancial statement analysis
Financial statement analysis
 
Principles of Effective Small Business Financial Management
Principles of Effective Small Business Financial ManagementPrinciples of Effective Small Business Financial Management
Principles of Effective Small Business Financial Management
 
Meeting 7- Financial Planning (Financial Management)
Meeting 7- Financial Planning (Financial Management)Meeting 7- Financial Planning (Financial Management)
Meeting 7- Financial Planning (Financial Management)
 
financialstatementanalysis-121109105608-phpapp01.pdf
financialstatementanalysis-121109105608-phpapp01.pdffinancialstatementanalysis-121109105608-phpapp01.pdf
financialstatementanalysis-121109105608-phpapp01.pdf
 
Financialstatementanalysis 121109105608-phpapp01
Financialstatementanalysis 121109105608-phpapp01Financialstatementanalysis 121109105608-phpapp01
Financialstatementanalysis 121109105608-phpapp01
 
Financial statement analysis
Financial statement analysisFinancial statement analysis
Financial statement analysis
 
FS_Analysis.pptx
FS_Analysis.pptxFS_Analysis.pptx
FS_Analysis.pptx
 
EIA2017Italy - Marco Cantamessa - Startup Financials KPIs
EIA2017Italy - Marco Cantamessa - Startup Financials KPIsEIA2017Italy - Marco Cantamessa - Startup Financials KPIs
EIA2017Italy - Marco Cantamessa - Startup Financials KPIs
 
Budgeting and Building Cash Reserves
Budgeting and Building Cash ReservesBudgeting and Building Cash Reserves
Budgeting and Building Cash Reserves
 
SaaS Metrics - Bulletproof your SaaS Growth
SaaS Metrics - Bulletproof your SaaS GrowthSaaS Metrics - Bulletproof your SaaS Growth
SaaS Metrics - Bulletproof your SaaS Growth
 
Working capital management SIIB,PUNE
Working capital management SIIB,PUNEWorking capital management SIIB,PUNE
Working capital management SIIB,PUNE
 
3. Financial Statement Analysis Interpretation- AC570 AMcM.pptx
3. Financial Statement Analysis  Interpretation- AC570 AMcM.pptx3. Financial Statement Analysis  Interpretation- AC570 AMcM.pptx
3. Financial Statement Analysis Interpretation- AC570 AMcM.pptx
 
Bootstrap Business Seminars: Making Sense of the Numbers
Bootstrap Business Seminars: Making Sense of the NumbersBootstrap Business Seminars: Making Sense of the Numbers
Bootstrap Business Seminars: Making Sense of the Numbers
 
Ecorl oer al-understanding-accounting-and-financial-statements-deepening
Ecorl oer al-understanding-accounting-and-financial-statements-deepeningEcorl oer al-understanding-accounting-and-financial-statements-deepening
Ecorl oer al-understanding-accounting-and-financial-statements-deepening
 
2. financial statement analysis
2. financial statement analysis2. financial statement analysis
2. financial statement analysis
 

More from Dennis L. Thompson, CPA, CFE

More from Dennis L. Thompson, CPA, CFE (7)

Small business fraud presentation
Small business fraud presentationSmall business fraud presentation
Small business fraud presentation
 
Five smart secrets for building your new business
Five smart secrets for building your new businessFive smart secrets for building your new business
Five smart secrets for building your new business
 
Understanding your financial statements
Understanding your financial statementsUnderstanding your financial statements
Understanding your financial statements
 
Obamacare - Solution or Dumpster Fire?
Obamacare - Solution or Dumpster Fire?Obamacare - Solution or Dumpster Fire?
Obamacare - Solution or Dumpster Fire?
 
Financial Ratio Analysis
Financial Ratio AnalysisFinancial Ratio Analysis
Financial Ratio Analysis
 
Tips for Recognizing Fraud
Tips for Recognizing FraudTips for Recognizing Fraud
Tips for Recognizing Fraud
 
Five Smart Secrets For Building Your New Business
Five Smart Secrets For Building Your New BusinessFive Smart Secrets For Building Your New Business
Five Smart Secrets For Building Your New Business
 

Recently uploaded

Intro to BCG's Carbon Emissions Benchmark_vF.pdf
Intro to BCG's Carbon Emissions Benchmark_vF.pdfIntro to BCG's Carbon Emissions Benchmark_vF.pdf
Intro to BCG's Carbon Emissions Benchmark_vF.pdfpollardmorgan
 
rishikeshgirls.in- Rishikesh call girl.pdf
rishikeshgirls.in- Rishikesh call girl.pdfrishikeshgirls.in- Rishikesh call girl.pdf
rishikeshgirls.in- Rishikesh call girl.pdfmuskan1121w
 
Lucknow 💋 Escorts in Lucknow - 450+ Call Girl Cash Payment 8923113531 Neha Th...
Lucknow 💋 Escorts in Lucknow - 450+ Call Girl Cash Payment 8923113531 Neha Th...Lucknow 💋 Escorts in Lucknow - 450+ Call Girl Cash Payment 8923113531 Neha Th...
Lucknow 💋 Escorts in Lucknow - 450+ Call Girl Cash Payment 8923113531 Neha Th...anilsa9823
 
2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis Usage
2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis Usage2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis Usage
2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis UsageNeil Kimberley
 
Non Text Magic Studio Magic Design for Presentations L&P.pptx
Non Text Magic Studio Magic Design for Presentations L&P.pptxNon Text Magic Studio Magic Design for Presentations L&P.pptx
Non Text Magic Studio Magic Design for Presentations L&P.pptxAbhayThakur200703
 
Call Girls Pune Just Call 9907093804 Top Class Call Girl Service Available
Call Girls Pune Just Call 9907093804 Top Class Call Girl Service AvailableCall Girls Pune Just Call 9907093804 Top Class Call Girl Service Available
Call Girls Pune Just Call 9907093804 Top Class Call Girl Service AvailableDipal Arora
 
Insurers' journeys to build a mastery in the IoT usage
Insurers' journeys to build a mastery in the IoT usageInsurers' journeys to build a mastery in the IoT usage
Insurers' journeys to build a mastery in the IoT usageMatteo Carbone
 
Lowrate Call Girls In Laxmi Nagar Delhi ❤️8860477959 Escorts 100% Genuine Ser...
Lowrate Call Girls In Laxmi Nagar Delhi ❤️8860477959 Escorts 100% Genuine Ser...Lowrate Call Girls In Laxmi Nagar Delhi ❤️8860477959 Escorts 100% Genuine Ser...
Lowrate Call Girls In Laxmi Nagar Delhi ❤️8860477959 Escorts 100% Genuine Ser...lizamodels9
 
Vip Dewas Call Girls #9907093804 Contact Number Escorts Service Dewas
Vip Dewas Call Girls #9907093804 Contact Number Escorts Service DewasVip Dewas Call Girls #9907093804 Contact Number Escorts Service Dewas
Vip Dewas Call Girls #9907093804 Contact Number Escorts Service Dewasmakika9823
 
Enhancing and Restoring Safety & Quality Cultures - Dave Litwiller - May 2024...
Enhancing and Restoring Safety & Quality Cultures - Dave Litwiller - May 2024...Enhancing and Restoring Safety & Quality Cultures - Dave Litwiller - May 2024...
Enhancing and Restoring Safety & Quality Cultures - Dave Litwiller - May 2024...Dave Litwiller
 
Call Girls in Gomti Nagar - 7388211116 - With room Service
Call Girls in Gomti Nagar - 7388211116  - With room ServiceCall Girls in Gomti Nagar - 7388211116  - With room Service
Call Girls in Gomti Nagar - 7388211116 - With room Servicediscovermytutordmt
 
BEST Call Girls In Greater Noida ✨ 9773824855 ✨ Escorts Service In Delhi Ncr,
BEST Call Girls In Greater Noida ✨ 9773824855 ✨ Escorts Service In Delhi Ncr,BEST Call Girls In Greater Noida ✨ 9773824855 ✨ Escorts Service In Delhi Ncr,
BEST Call Girls In Greater Noida ✨ 9773824855 ✨ Escorts Service In Delhi Ncr,noida100girls
 
Cash Payment 9602870969 Escort Service in Udaipur Call Girls
Cash Payment 9602870969 Escort Service in Udaipur Call GirlsCash Payment 9602870969 Escort Service in Udaipur Call Girls
Cash Payment 9602870969 Escort Service in Udaipur Call GirlsApsara Of India
 
/:Call Girls In Jaypee Siddharth - 5 Star Hotel New Delhi ➥9990211544 Top Esc...
/:Call Girls In Jaypee Siddharth - 5 Star Hotel New Delhi ➥9990211544 Top Esc.../:Call Girls In Jaypee Siddharth - 5 Star Hotel New Delhi ➥9990211544 Top Esc...
/:Call Girls In Jaypee Siddharth - 5 Star Hotel New Delhi ➥9990211544 Top Esc...lizamodels9
 
Vip Female Escorts Noida 9711199171 Greater Noida Escorts Service
Vip Female Escorts Noida 9711199171 Greater Noida Escorts ServiceVip Female Escorts Noida 9711199171 Greater Noida Escorts Service
Vip Female Escorts Noida 9711199171 Greater Noida Escorts Serviceankitnayak356677
 
Regression analysis: Simple Linear Regression Multiple Linear Regression
Regression analysis:  Simple Linear Regression Multiple Linear RegressionRegression analysis:  Simple Linear Regression Multiple Linear Regression
Regression analysis: Simple Linear Regression Multiple Linear RegressionRavindra Nath Shukla
 
Russian Faridabad Call Girls(Badarpur) : ☎ 8168257667, @4999
Russian Faridabad Call Girls(Badarpur) : ☎ 8168257667, @4999Russian Faridabad Call Girls(Badarpur) : ☎ 8168257667, @4999
Russian Faridabad Call Girls(Badarpur) : ☎ 8168257667, @4999Tina Ji
 
Call Girls In Radisson Blu Hotel New Delhi Paschim Vihar ❤️8860477959 Escorts...
Call Girls In Radisson Blu Hotel New Delhi Paschim Vihar ❤️8860477959 Escorts...Call Girls In Radisson Blu Hotel New Delhi Paschim Vihar ❤️8860477959 Escorts...
Call Girls In Radisson Blu Hotel New Delhi Paschim Vihar ❤️8860477959 Escorts...lizamodels9
 
VIP Call Girls Pune Kirti 8617697112 Independent Escort Service Pune
VIP Call Girls Pune Kirti 8617697112 Independent Escort Service PuneVIP Call Girls Pune Kirti 8617697112 Independent Escort Service Pune
VIP Call Girls Pune Kirti 8617697112 Independent Escort Service PuneCall girls in Ahmedabad High profile
 

Recently uploaded (20)

Intro to BCG's Carbon Emissions Benchmark_vF.pdf
Intro to BCG's Carbon Emissions Benchmark_vF.pdfIntro to BCG's Carbon Emissions Benchmark_vF.pdf
Intro to BCG's Carbon Emissions Benchmark_vF.pdf
 
rishikeshgirls.in- Rishikesh call girl.pdf
rishikeshgirls.in- Rishikesh call girl.pdfrishikeshgirls.in- Rishikesh call girl.pdf
rishikeshgirls.in- Rishikesh call girl.pdf
 
Lucknow 💋 Escorts in Lucknow - 450+ Call Girl Cash Payment 8923113531 Neha Th...
Lucknow 💋 Escorts in Lucknow - 450+ Call Girl Cash Payment 8923113531 Neha Th...Lucknow 💋 Escorts in Lucknow - 450+ Call Girl Cash Payment 8923113531 Neha Th...
Lucknow 💋 Escorts in Lucknow - 450+ Call Girl Cash Payment 8923113531 Neha Th...
 
2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis Usage
2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis Usage2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis Usage
2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis Usage
 
Non Text Magic Studio Magic Design for Presentations L&P.pptx
Non Text Magic Studio Magic Design for Presentations L&P.pptxNon Text Magic Studio Magic Design for Presentations L&P.pptx
Non Text Magic Studio Magic Design for Presentations L&P.pptx
 
Forklift Operations: Safety through Cartoons
Forklift Operations: Safety through CartoonsForklift Operations: Safety through Cartoons
Forklift Operations: Safety through Cartoons
 
Call Girls Pune Just Call 9907093804 Top Class Call Girl Service Available
Call Girls Pune Just Call 9907093804 Top Class Call Girl Service AvailableCall Girls Pune Just Call 9907093804 Top Class Call Girl Service Available
Call Girls Pune Just Call 9907093804 Top Class Call Girl Service Available
 
Insurers' journeys to build a mastery in the IoT usage
Insurers' journeys to build a mastery in the IoT usageInsurers' journeys to build a mastery in the IoT usage
Insurers' journeys to build a mastery in the IoT usage
 
Lowrate Call Girls In Laxmi Nagar Delhi ❤️8860477959 Escorts 100% Genuine Ser...
Lowrate Call Girls In Laxmi Nagar Delhi ❤️8860477959 Escorts 100% Genuine Ser...Lowrate Call Girls In Laxmi Nagar Delhi ❤️8860477959 Escorts 100% Genuine Ser...
Lowrate Call Girls In Laxmi Nagar Delhi ❤️8860477959 Escorts 100% Genuine Ser...
 
Vip Dewas Call Girls #9907093804 Contact Number Escorts Service Dewas
Vip Dewas Call Girls #9907093804 Contact Number Escorts Service DewasVip Dewas Call Girls #9907093804 Contact Number Escorts Service Dewas
Vip Dewas Call Girls #9907093804 Contact Number Escorts Service Dewas
 
Enhancing and Restoring Safety & Quality Cultures - Dave Litwiller - May 2024...
Enhancing and Restoring Safety & Quality Cultures - Dave Litwiller - May 2024...Enhancing and Restoring Safety & Quality Cultures - Dave Litwiller - May 2024...
Enhancing and Restoring Safety & Quality Cultures - Dave Litwiller - May 2024...
 
Call Girls in Gomti Nagar - 7388211116 - With room Service
Call Girls in Gomti Nagar - 7388211116  - With room ServiceCall Girls in Gomti Nagar - 7388211116  - With room Service
Call Girls in Gomti Nagar - 7388211116 - With room Service
 
BEST Call Girls In Greater Noida ✨ 9773824855 ✨ Escorts Service In Delhi Ncr,
BEST Call Girls In Greater Noida ✨ 9773824855 ✨ Escorts Service In Delhi Ncr,BEST Call Girls In Greater Noida ✨ 9773824855 ✨ Escorts Service In Delhi Ncr,
BEST Call Girls In Greater Noida ✨ 9773824855 ✨ Escorts Service In Delhi Ncr,
 
Cash Payment 9602870969 Escort Service in Udaipur Call Girls
Cash Payment 9602870969 Escort Service in Udaipur Call GirlsCash Payment 9602870969 Escort Service in Udaipur Call Girls
Cash Payment 9602870969 Escort Service in Udaipur Call Girls
 
/:Call Girls In Jaypee Siddharth - 5 Star Hotel New Delhi ➥9990211544 Top Esc...
/:Call Girls In Jaypee Siddharth - 5 Star Hotel New Delhi ➥9990211544 Top Esc.../:Call Girls In Jaypee Siddharth - 5 Star Hotel New Delhi ➥9990211544 Top Esc...
/:Call Girls In Jaypee Siddharth - 5 Star Hotel New Delhi ➥9990211544 Top Esc...
 
Vip Female Escorts Noida 9711199171 Greater Noida Escorts Service
Vip Female Escorts Noida 9711199171 Greater Noida Escorts ServiceVip Female Escorts Noida 9711199171 Greater Noida Escorts Service
Vip Female Escorts Noida 9711199171 Greater Noida Escorts Service
 
Regression analysis: Simple Linear Regression Multiple Linear Regression
Regression analysis:  Simple Linear Regression Multiple Linear RegressionRegression analysis:  Simple Linear Regression Multiple Linear Regression
Regression analysis: Simple Linear Regression Multiple Linear Regression
 
Russian Faridabad Call Girls(Badarpur) : ☎ 8168257667, @4999
Russian Faridabad Call Girls(Badarpur) : ☎ 8168257667, @4999Russian Faridabad Call Girls(Badarpur) : ☎ 8168257667, @4999
Russian Faridabad Call Girls(Badarpur) : ☎ 8168257667, @4999
 
Call Girls In Radisson Blu Hotel New Delhi Paschim Vihar ❤️8860477959 Escorts...
Call Girls In Radisson Blu Hotel New Delhi Paschim Vihar ❤️8860477959 Escorts...Call Girls In Radisson Blu Hotel New Delhi Paschim Vihar ❤️8860477959 Escorts...
Call Girls In Radisson Blu Hotel New Delhi Paschim Vihar ❤️8860477959 Escorts...
 
VIP Call Girls Pune Kirti 8617697112 Independent Escort Service Pune
VIP Call Girls Pune Kirti 8617697112 Independent Escort Service PuneVIP Call Girls Pune Kirti 8617697112 Independent Escort Service Pune
VIP Call Girls Pune Kirti 8617697112 Independent Escort Service Pune
 

Management accounting

  • 1. Increase Your Profits With Management Accounting Dennis L. Thompson, CPA, CFE 206-390-9432 www.dlthompsoncpa.com
  • 2. What is Financial Accounting • Production of Financial Statements – Income Statement – Balance Sheet • Bookkeeping • Used for Tax Returns • Designed for External Audience – Bankers – Tax Collectors – Creditors and Investors • Backword Looking
  • 3. What Is Management Accounting • Analysis of Costs - Breakeven • Projection of Cash Flows • Budgets • Ratio Analysis • Designed for Internal Audience • Forward Looking • The Information comes from your Accounting System and Reports
  • 4. How Can Management Accounting Increase Profits? • What Products/Services Most Profitable? • Who are Best Customers? • Are You Generating Cash on Operations? • Are You Having Cash Flow Problems? • Are Your Margins Shrinking?
  • 5. Financial Statements-Compass For Your Business •Ultimate Goal of Accounting System •Best Friend or Worst Enemy •Tells You Where Your Company – Has Been – Where It Is Now – Where It Is Going
  • 6. Financial Statements-Compass For Your Business • Think of Your Business as a Small Plane • Think of Your Accounting System as an Instrument Panel • Two Potential Problems – Your Accounting Info is Wrong – You Don’t Use Your Accounting Info
  • 7. Categories of Financial Statements • Income Statement – Where You Have Been • Balance Sheet – Where You Are Now • Cash Flow Projection & Budgets – Where You Are Going
  • 8. Profit & Loss • Measures Business Activity Over a Period of Time • Income & Expense Accounts Are Temporary & Closed to Retained Earnings • Expenses Can Be Classified As Variable or Fixed • Most Useful If Compared to Different Periods
  • 9. Profit & Loss – One Year Variable Expenses Gross Margin
  • 10. Analysis of Costs - Breakeven • Sales Price Per Unit or Service – How much Gross Income per product or service. • Variable Cost Per Unit or Service – What are the Directs Costs associated with the product or service • Fixed Costs (Overhead) – Costs that need to be paid whether you make a Sale or not, e.g. Rent, Insurance
  • 11. Breakeven - Example • Sales Price Per Unit $10 • Variable Cost Per Unit 7 • Contribution Margin Per Unit $3 • Fixed Costs $15,000 • Contribution Margin Ratio – $3/$10 = 30% • Sales to Breakeven = Fixed Cost/CM Ratio • $15,000/30% = $50,000 • $50,000 - $35,000-$15,000 = $0
  • 14. Never Run Out of Cash
  • 15. Never Run Out of Cash- Philip Campbell
  • 16. Sample Cash Flow Projection P1
  • 17. Sample Cash Flow Projection P2
  • 18. Statement of Cash Flows Increase Increase Increase Decrease Decrease
  • 19. Management Accounting Reports • Sales By Customers • A/R – Aging Analysis • Purchases By Vendor • A/P – Aging Analysis • Profit & Loss – Comparison • Balance Sheet - Comparison
  • 20. Sales By Customer Summary
  • 21. Accounts Rec – Aging Analysis
  • 23. Accounts Pay – Aging Analysis
  • 24. Profit & Loss - Comparison
  • 25. Balance Sheet - Comparison
  • 26. Balance Sheet - Comparison
  • 27. Budgets • Why Budget? – Forces you to think strategically about your business and goals – Can help you anticipate problems – Can help detect Fraud – Sets Expectations for Employees
  • 28.
  • 29. What is Ratio Analysis • Comparing different line items of the Balance Sheet and Income Statement to each other. • For example, Current Ratio = Current Assets/Current Liablilities
  • 30. Ratio Analysis – Why Care • Banks use Ratio Analysis in deciding to extend Credit • Ratio Analysis can serve as an Early Warning System for your company • It is useful to compare your Ratios to Industry Standards
  • 31. Ratio Analysis - Categories • Profitability – e.g. Return on Equity • Activity – e.g. A/R Turnover • Leverage – e.g. Debt to Equity • Liquidity – e.g. Current Ratio
  • 32.
  • 33. Nine Ratios that Measure Effect Current Assets/Current Liabilities Current Liabilities/Net Worth Total Liabilities/Net Worth Inventory/Working Capital Accounts Receivable/Working Capital Long Term Liabilities/Working Capital Net Profit/Net Worth Net Sales/Fixed Assets Net Sales/Working Capital Six Causal Ratios Fixed Assets/Net Worth Days Sales in Accounts Receivable Accounts Receivable/(Credit Sales/360) Net Sales/Inventory Net Sales/Net Worth Net Profit/Net Sales Misc Assets/Net Worth The Meaningful Interpretation of Financial Statements – Donald E. Miller
  • 34. Fixed Assets/Net Worth • Measures extent that Net Worth consists of long term, non current assets. • Can have negative impact on Working Capital and Current Ratio. • Might be increasing Fixed Costs through borrowing. • Might be distorted by low Net Worth
  • 35. Accounts Receivable/(Credit Sales/360)- Collection Period • Measures efficiency of Company receivable collections. • Early warning system for delinquent accounts. • Important to measure against Industry competitors. • Need to subtract cash sales to arrive at net Credit Sales. • Low number can be indicative of restrictive Credit Policy, thus reducing profit.
  • 36. Net Sales/Inventory=Number of Times • Measures how quickly Inventory is turning over. • Low turnover indicates potential writeoffs. • Also could indicate potential shrinkage. • Could adversely impact Cash Flow. • However, with Inventory management, need to seek a balance of too much and not enough.
  • 37. Net Sales/Net Worth • Measures extent Company’s sales are supported by invested capital. • High ratio can mean that Company is supporting sales through debt, i.e., Fixed Costs. • Can negatively impact Break-Even point. • Can increase chances of Company failure because of Fixed Costs. • Over emphasis on sales can lead to selling to marginal customers.
  • 38. Net Profit/Net Sales • Impacts all the other ratios. • Profits add to Net Worth • Losses increase the need for Long Term Borrowing, which can impact Working Capital. • Losses threaten Company’s ability to survive.
  • 39. Misc Assets/Net Worth • Examples : Loans to Employees • Prepaid Expenses • Usually not a significant part of Balance Sheet. • Don’t want to tie up much Captal in these type of assets.
  • 40. Current Assets/Current Liabilities • Standard used to be 2:1 • Working Capital = Current Assets-Current Liabilities. • Problem with Current Assets – Includes Inventory – Includes Receivables
  • 41. • Understanding Cost Structure and Breakeven Analysis can help you manage your business better. • Cash Flow Projections can help you avoid running out of cash and having to shut down your business • Budgeting forces you to plan and anticipate problems Summary
  • 42. Summary • Financial Ratio Analysis can serve as an early warning system. • Ratio Analysis assumes that Accounting information is accurate. • Improve your Company’s chances for improved Profitability or even Survival by conducting Ratio Analysis. • Especially important to compare your Company to Industry Standard Ratios.