Display ads , classified listings, rich media ads, click
                 through, conversion
 John Wanamaker – Revolutionized
  marketing
 “New Wanamaker era” – Era of
  innovative advertising
 In the beginning, online advertising
  began with a commercial service called
  Prodigy which went live in 1990 and
  adopted advertising as a revenue source
 1994 –Internet advertising started
  gaining some foothold
 1995 – Internet Advertising Council
  decides on goals, objectives and
  membership guidelines
 Internet Advertising - ever growing
  with a revenue potential of $428 billion
Advantages
 Reaching wider audience at low cost
 Quicker results
 Easy and inexpensive to measure statistics
 Option for consumer research before buying
 Direct interaction with the advertisement
 Customizing ads according to target audience
Drawbacks

 Ethics a major issue in Internet advertising
 Consumer’s inability to feel the product
 The human factor is missing
 Excessive use may lead to spamming
 Used to match up buyers and sellers
    within a limited geographic region
   1st classified ad published in 1704 in
    Boston News Letter
   Craigslist.org - one of the first online
    classified sites, grown to become the
    largest classified source with 14
    million unique visitors a month
   Online classifieds -Tend to be longer
    than print classified ads
   Searchable, local and wider scope for
    audience
Advantages
 Most powerful tool of online advertising
  over the internet
 Gives the product a lot of exposure on the
  World wide web.
 Opens a massive global market for the
  product.
 Provides unlimited sources to gain profits
 Inexpensive but has a high rate of return
 Better and more targeted search capabilities
Shortcomings
 An ad will expire quickly which requires constant
  replacement
 Advertising on one site is not enough to produce
  great results. One must post to many classified sites
  to see big results.
DISPLAY ADVERTISING
LOGOS
      TEXT


                   PHOTO
    MAPS           GRAPHS




 Contains texts, logos, photographs
  location maps, and similar items
 Online display advertising is the use
  of the Internet as an advertising
  medium where promotional
  messages appear on other websites
  and search engine results pages.
POP UP
BANNER ADS     ADS




             TEXT ADS
 MAKE BIG WITH LITTLE
  MONEY
 PAY PER CLICK , COST PER
  IMPRESSION MEANS
  FLEXIBLITY IN INVESTMENT
 EFFECTIVE DISPLAY


  IMMEDIATE RESULTS
 BRAND AWARENESS WITHIN
  SECONDS
 TRACEABLITY AND EASY TO
  MONITOR
52 %     RESPOND TO DISPLAY ADS


31 %     RESPOND BY CLICKING THE AD


38 %     LEARN ABOUT A BRAND FOR THE FIRST
TIME

49 %     SEARCH ABOUT A PRODUCT/COMPANY
       AFTER SEEING IT IN DISPLAY AD
 competitors can click on your
  advertisement without
  purchasing anything and thus
  drive up your advertising costs
  :D :D
 Banner ads have experienced
  declining click through rate
 Segmenting has to be done
  properly
 Think well before you place it
RICH MEDIA MARKETING
 form of advertising that utilizes
  interactive digital
  media, including
  streaming, video and audio
 More interactive
 done to attract attention and to
  stand out amongst the huge
  volumes of ads and copy
 powerful creative opportunity
 In-Page Ads –show up in
  various areas of a web page
  in the form of a rectangle or
  preset banner
 Out-Of Page Ads –
  Examples include Floating
  Ads, Pop-Up Ads and
  Expandable Ads
 In-Stream Ads – These are
  ads that involve either pre or
  post roll videos
 Higher interaction rate
 Rich Media ads are measurable
    and scalable
   Higher performance levels
   Brand awareness
   User experience
   Communicate more
    information
   More clicks
   Collect more information
 MAY SLOW DOWN A WEBSITE
 MAY ANNOY
 MORE DIFFICULT TO CREATE
 MORE EXPENSIVE
 MAY BE BLOCKED
 WHERE INFORMATION
 EXCHANGE IS THE DESIRE,
 LEANER MEDIA TYPES CAN
 OFFER MORE EFFICIENCY
•Act of converting customer who browses your site
to a
 paying customer
•A marketing tactic that encourages a customer to
take a specific action
•This is measured by conversion rate.
 Conversion rate = number of goal achievements
visits
Conversion process                     10000 total
                                       customers
You sell boots online.
Everytime you sell a pair of             100% of         Total visitors
boots, u make profit.
Statistically, every 500 visitors to     visitors
your website you sell 10 pair of
boots.
Avg cost per click = 0.25 rupees          60%         Visit shopping are

 500 clicks * 0.25 = 125 rupees
 10 boot sales * 25 = 250 rupees
  profit = 125 rupees.
                                          30%      Place item in cart

In other case, when you sell only
4 pair of boots,
Boot sales = 4 * 25 = 100 rupees.          3%   Make a purchase
Loss = 25 rupees
Methods to increase conversion
rate:

• Generate user reviews for the product which
can accelerate conversion

• Show credibility signs like third-party
trusted logos and good site design to increase
trust level of visitor

• Good site navigation structure to help users
find and browse without thinking too much
about where to click

• Better content of the website

• Increase usability to reduce the barriers
towards the conversion
  goal.
CLICK THROUGH
  ADVERTISING
CLICK THROUGH MARKETING
•The process of a visitor clicking on a
web advertisement and going to the
advertiser's Web site.
•The click-through rate of an
advertisement is defined as the number
of clicks on an ad divided by the number
of times the ad is shown
•Pay per click (PPC) companies all over
the world are providing clients the
results they are looking for, launching
them to the top 10 or five results
•PPC management companies are
waging a constant bid war through
popular search engines like
Google, MSN and Bing
ADVANTAGES

•very beneficial to website owners and online
business owners when it is performed the right
way
•you don’t have to make any changes in your web
pages just to rank high on the search engines
•you can opt not to tweak your website’s pages in
pay per click
•process you will have to go through is so simple
•click is still a common resort for website
promotion and it can generate immediate results
DISADVANTAGES

•pay per click is the bidding war
•may be so expensive to maintain
•you need to be very targeted in
your choice of keywords and ads
creation
Internet advertising

Internet advertising

  • 1.
    Display ads ,classified listings, rich media ads, click through, conversion
  • 2.
     John Wanamaker– Revolutionized marketing  “New Wanamaker era” – Era of innovative advertising  In the beginning, online advertising began with a commercial service called Prodigy which went live in 1990 and adopted advertising as a revenue source  1994 –Internet advertising started gaining some foothold  1995 – Internet Advertising Council decides on goals, objectives and membership guidelines  Internet Advertising - ever growing with a revenue potential of $428 billion
  • 3.
    Advantages  Reaching wideraudience at low cost  Quicker results  Easy and inexpensive to measure statistics  Option for consumer research before buying  Direct interaction with the advertisement  Customizing ads according to target audience
  • 4.
    Drawbacks  Ethics amajor issue in Internet advertising  Consumer’s inability to feel the product  The human factor is missing  Excessive use may lead to spamming
  • 5.
     Used tomatch up buyers and sellers within a limited geographic region  1st classified ad published in 1704 in Boston News Letter  Craigslist.org - one of the first online classified sites, grown to become the largest classified source with 14 million unique visitors a month  Online classifieds -Tend to be longer than print classified ads  Searchable, local and wider scope for audience
  • 6.
    Advantages  Most powerfultool of online advertising over the internet  Gives the product a lot of exposure on the World wide web.  Opens a massive global market for the product.  Provides unlimited sources to gain profits  Inexpensive but has a high rate of return  Better and more targeted search capabilities
  • 7.
    Shortcomings  An adwill expire quickly which requires constant replacement  Advertising on one site is not enough to produce great results. One must post to many classified sites to see big results.
  • 8.
  • 9.
    LOGOS TEXT PHOTO MAPS GRAPHS  Contains texts, logos, photographs location maps, and similar items  Online display advertising is the use of the Internet as an advertising medium where promotional messages appear on other websites and search engine results pages.
  • 10.
    POP UP BANNER ADS ADS TEXT ADS
  • 11.
     MAKE BIGWITH LITTLE MONEY  PAY PER CLICK , COST PER IMPRESSION MEANS FLEXIBLITY IN INVESTMENT  EFFECTIVE DISPLAY IMMEDIATE RESULTS  BRAND AWARENESS WITHIN SECONDS  TRACEABLITY AND EASY TO MONITOR
  • 12.
    52 % RESPOND TO DISPLAY ADS 31 % RESPOND BY CLICKING THE AD 38 % LEARN ABOUT A BRAND FOR THE FIRST TIME 49 % SEARCH ABOUT A PRODUCT/COMPANY AFTER SEEING IT IN DISPLAY AD
  • 13.
     competitors canclick on your advertisement without purchasing anything and thus drive up your advertising costs :D :D  Banner ads have experienced declining click through rate  Segmenting has to be done properly  Think well before you place it
  • 14.
  • 15.
     form ofadvertising that utilizes interactive digital media, including streaming, video and audio  More interactive  done to attract attention and to stand out amongst the huge volumes of ads and copy  powerful creative opportunity
  • 16.
     In-Page Ads–show up in various areas of a web page in the form of a rectangle or preset banner  Out-Of Page Ads – Examples include Floating Ads, Pop-Up Ads and Expandable Ads  In-Stream Ads – These are ads that involve either pre or post roll videos
  • 17.
     Higher interactionrate  Rich Media ads are measurable and scalable  Higher performance levels  Brand awareness  User experience  Communicate more information  More clicks  Collect more information
  • 18.
     MAY SLOWDOWN A WEBSITE  MAY ANNOY  MORE DIFFICULT TO CREATE  MORE EXPENSIVE  MAY BE BLOCKED  WHERE INFORMATION EXCHANGE IS THE DESIRE, LEANER MEDIA TYPES CAN OFFER MORE EFFICIENCY
  • 19.
    •Act of convertingcustomer who browses your site to a paying customer •A marketing tactic that encourages a customer to take a specific action •This is measured by conversion rate. Conversion rate = number of goal achievements visits
  • 20.
    Conversion process 10000 total customers You sell boots online. Everytime you sell a pair of 100% of Total visitors boots, u make profit. Statistically, every 500 visitors to visitors your website you sell 10 pair of boots. Avg cost per click = 0.25 rupees 60% Visit shopping are 500 clicks * 0.25 = 125 rupees 10 boot sales * 25 = 250 rupees profit = 125 rupees. 30% Place item in cart In other case, when you sell only 4 pair of boots, Boot sales = 4 * 25 = 100 rupees. 3% Make a purchase Loss = 25 rupees
  • 21.
    Methods to increaseconversion rate: • Generate user reviews for the product which can accelerate conversion • Show credibility signs like third-party trusted logos and good site design to increase trust level of visitor • Good site navigation structure to help users find and browse without thinking too much about where to click • Better content of the website • Increase usability to reduce the barriers towards the conversion goal.
  • 22.
    CLICK THROUGH ADVERTISING
  • 23.
    CLICK THROUGH MARKETING •Theprocess of a visitor clicking on a web advertisement and going to the advertiser's Web site. •The click-through rate of an advertisement is defined as the number of clicks on an ad divided by the number of times the ad is shown •Pay per click (PPC) companies all over the world are providing clients the results they are looking for, launching them to the top 10 or five results •PPC management companies are waging a constant bid war through popular search engines like Google, MSN and Bing
  • 24.
    ADVANTAGES •very beneficial towebsite owners and online business owners when it is performed the right way •you don’t have to make any changes in your web pages just to rank high on the search engines •you can opt not to tweak your website’s pages in pay per click •process you will have to go through is so simple •click is still a common resort for website promotion and it can generate immediate results
  • 25.
    DISADVANTAGES •pay per clickis the bidding war •may be so expensive to maintain •you need to be very targeted in your choice of keywords and ads creation