Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Lower School Summer Reading 2017

359 views

Published on

by Natalie, Lower School Librarian at Carolina Friends School

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Lower School Summer Reading 2017

  1. 1. curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2017 Check out some of these 2016-17 books at your local public library or bookstore this summer! I created this list with a variety of readers in mind, thinking about our school community, and including a few of our favorites from the year. Happy reading! -Natalie, Lower School Librarian Picture Books Packed with humor from beloved authors and illustrators, these picture books are meant to be read and enjoyed by the whole family! The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors by Drew Daywalt, illustrated by Adam Rex (2017) One Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree by Daniel Bernstrom, illustrated by Brendan Wenzel (2016) Nanette’s Baguette by Mo Willems (2016) Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG
  2. 2. curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2017 Picture Books Travel to a new land (Teacup) and curiously explore the world (Du Iz Tak and Everywhere), cherish your family (Hat and Almost) and each other (We’re All), and embrace your growing edges (Mistakes) -- some of the themes in these quiet, thoughtful picture books. Du Iz Tak? by Carson Ellis (2016) Teacup by Rebecca Young, illustrated by Matt Ottley (2016) Everywhere, Wonder by Matthew Swanson, illustrated by Robbi Behr (2017) A Hat for Mrs. Goldman: A Story About Knitting and Love by Michelle Edwards, illustrated by G. Brian Karas (2016) Almost a Full Moon by Hawksley Workman, illustrated by Jensine Eckwall (2016) The Book of Mistakes by Corinna Luyken (2017) We’re All Wonders by R. J. Palacio (2017) Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG
  3. 3. curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2017 Beginning Readers Fans of Elephant & Piggie or Fly Guy will enjoy these new books and series meant to entertain and inspire young readers to read, read, read! Fly Guy Presents nonfiction series by Tedd Arnold Ballet Cat series by Bob Shea Charlie & Mouse by Laurel Snyder, illustrated by Robbi Emily Hughes (2017) Rabbit & Robot series by Cece Bell Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! series by various authors The Cookie Fiasco by Dan Santat (2016) We Are Growing! by Laurie Keller (2016) The Good for Nothing Button! by Charise Mericle Harper (2017) Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG
  4. 4. curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2017 Chapter Books Blending illustrations and text, readers transitioning to chapter books should check out some of these interesting pet stories (Boy, Lucy, Juana, and Calpurnia), humorous mysteries (Inspector) and fractured fairy tales (Hamster). A Boy Called BAT by Elana K. Arnold, illustrated by Charles Santoso (2017) Inspector Flytrap series by Tom Angleberger, illustrated by Cece Bell Lucy by Randy Cecil (2017) Juana & Lucas by Juana Medina (2016) Hamster Princess series by Ursula Vernon Calpurnia Tate, Girl Vet series by Jacqueline Kelly, illustrated by Jennifer L. Meyer Local author! Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG
  5. 5. curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2017 Graphic Novels With a mix of genres and moods, these books rely on both the words and pictures to create complex, cohesive stories -- whether they’re silly, funny, adventurous, thoughtful, or mysterious. Star Wars Jedi Academy series by various authors Narwhal and Jelly series by Ben Clanton Fish Girl by Donna Jo Napoli, illustrated by David Wiesner (2017) Dog Man series by Dav Pilkey Real Friends by Shannon Hale, illustrated by LeUyen Pham (2017) Invisible Emmie by Terri Libenson (2017) Hippopotamister by John Patrick Green (2016) Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG
  6. 6. curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2017 Novels Realistic fiction novels (top) develop empathy and caring in older readers, fantasy and science fiction (middle) prompt curiosity and questioning, while the animal mystery (bottom) takes readers on a wild ride! Amina’s Voice by Hena Khan (2017) Two Naomis by Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich (2016) Ms. Bixby’s Last Day by John David Anderson (2017) The Best Man by Richard Peck (2017) Wish by Barbara O’Connor (2016) The Last Day on Mars by Kevin Emerson (2017) The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill (2016) The Wild Robot by Peter Brown (2016) The Mysterious Abductions by Tracey Hecht, illustrated by Kate Liebman (2016) Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG
  7. 7. curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2017 Poetry Novels in verse (Moo and Last Fifth Grade), biographical poems (Bravo! and Out of Wonder), an old Irish poem with Quaker connections (White Cat), and a collection of shape poems (Wet Cement) make up this eclectic mix of poetry with a little bit of something for everyone. Bravo! by Margarita Engle, illustrated by Rafael Lopez (2017) Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets by Kwame Alexander, illustrated by Ekua Holmes (2017) The White Cat and the Monk by Jo Ellen Bogart, illustrated by Sydney Smith (2016) Moo by Sharon Creech (2016) Wet Cement: A Mix of Concrete Poems by Bob Raczka (2016) The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary by Laura Shovan (2016) Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG
  8. 8. curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2017 Biographies These true stories of notable people celebrate creativity, bravery, and problem- solving. Great for reading as a family! I Dissent: Ruth Bader Ginsburg Makes Her Mark by Debbie Levy, illustrated by Elizabeth Baddeley (2016) Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat by Javaka Steptoe (2016) Six Dots: A Story of Young Louis Braille by Jennifer Bryant, illustrated by Boris Kulikov (2016) Anything But Ordinary Addie: The True Story of Adelaide Herrmann, Queen of Magic by Mara Rockliff, illustrated by Iacopo Bruno (2016) Esquivel! Space-Age Sound Artist by Susan Wood, illustrated by Duncan Tonatiuh (2016) Some Writer! The Story of E. B. White by Melissa Sweet (2016) Cloth Lullaby: The Woven Life of Louise Bourgeois by Amy Novesky, illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault (2016) Preaching to the Chickens: The Story of Young John Lewis by Jabari Asim, illustrated by E. B. Lewis (2016) Elizabeth Started All the Trouble by Doreen Rappaport, illustrated by Matt Faulkner (2016) Solving the Puzzle Under the Sea: Marie Tharp Maps the Ocean Floor by Robert Burleigh, illustrated by Raul Colon (2016) Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG

×