Short history of Australia


Published on

Published in: Education, News & Politics
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Short history of Australia

  1. 1. The flag of Australia is a defaced Blue Ensign: a blue field with the Union Jack in the canton(upper hoist quarter), and a large white seven-pointed star known as the Commonwealth Star in the lower hoist quarter. The fly contains a representation of theSouthern Cross constellation, made up of five white stars – one small five-pointed star and four, larger, seven-pointed stars. flag of Australia
  2. 2.  Australia’s first people were the Aborigines. They have occupied the continent for at least 40,000 years, and before the Europeans arrived in 1788 their population as probably between 300,000 and 750,000. They occupied a lot of the northern territory.
  3. 3.  Although Captain James Cook had sailed the length of the east coast in 1770 the British did not settle in Australia until 1788. The first ships arrived and brought 1,000 convicts from England. They called the area where they landed New South Wales. James Cook
  4. 4. Convicts migratory from Saint Martin De Re to Penal Colony at Cayenne in Guyana  Historians still argue today about why the British settled in Australia. Some say that Britain was trying to find new places to send convicts because British wanted to use Australia’s natural resources or that they were attempting to stop other Europeans from claiming Australia.
  6. 6. Inside the Port Arthur colony prison , Tasmania, Australia.
  7. 7. The use of convict labor on the prisoners' ranch. Port Arthur, Tasmania, Australia in
  8. 8.  Australia’s white population grew slowly after 1788. Most of the people were either convicts or former convicts who had finished their sentences.  In the 1830s, more immigrants arrived in Australia from Britain looking for a new life. Sheep farming had already developed and many people found jobs on farms. New colonies appeared called Victoria, Western Australia, Tasmania and Queensland. They later became the states of the Commonwealth of Australia.
  9. 9.  The Commonwealth of Australia is a federal constitutional monarchy under a parliamentary democracy. The Commonwealth of Australia was formed in 1901 as a result of an agreement among six-governing British colonies, which became the six states. The Commonwealth also includes two territories Northern Territory (NT) and Australian Capital Territory (ACT).  A governor-general represents the British monarch who is the designated head of state.
  10. 10.  The Queen (Head of State), Governor-general, prime Minister  The Prime Minister is a Member of Parliament  The prime Minister sometimes chooses the cabinet but this depends on the policy of the winning party. The Queen Elizabeth 2
  11. 11.  150 members  Single seat constituencies, which reflect the differing population of the state (eg NSW- 50 members, Tasmania – 6)  Elections at least every three years
  12. 12.  76 members  All states elect 12 regardless of population, plus 2 ACT and 2 NT.  Senators are elected for a six years term with half seats renewed every three years.
  13. 13. Liberal Party of Australia (centre-right) Main policies:  Economic liberalization  Business and middle class orientated National Party of Australia (conservative) Main policies: • Anti-union • Free-trade • Pro-mining • Rural and agriculture orientated
  14. 14. Australian Labor Party (social democrat) Main policies:  Strong national government  Equal opportunities  Working class/union orientated