Universities Of The Uk


Published on

Published in: Education

Universities Of The Uk

  1. 1. Universities of the UK Yevgenia Pavlova
  2. 2. University of Cambridge  The motto: of the lat. Hinc lucem et pocula sacra, “From here, light and sacred draughts”  Founded in 1209  Type public  President: Philip, Duke of Edinburgh  Students: 18.396  Location: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, UK
  3. 3. University of Cambridge  The University one of the world's oldest universities and leading academic centres, and a self-governed community of scholars. Cambridge comprises 31 Colleges and over 150 departments, faculties, schools and other institutions. 87 affiliates of the University of Cambridge have won the Nobel Prize since 1904.
  4. 4. University of Oxford  The motto: of the lat. Dominus Illuminatio Mea, “The Lord is my Light”  Founded in 1117  Students: 18.500  Location: Oxford, Oxfordshire
  5. 5. University of Oxford  The University has 38 independent and self-governing colleges, and 6 permanent private halls.  The collegiate system is at the heart of the University’s success, giving students and academics the benefits of belonging to both a large, internationally renowned institution and to a small, interdisciplinary academic community.  Colleges bring together leading academics and students across subjects and year groups, and from different cultures and countries.
  6. 6. University College London  The motto: of the lat. Cuncti adsint meritaeque expectent praemia palmae, «Let all come who by merit deserve the most reward»  Founded in 1826  Students: 18.500  Location: London
  7. 7. University College London  UCL is a modern, outward-looking institution, committed to engaging with the major issues of our times. One of the world's leading multidisciplinary universities, UCL today is a true academic powerhouse.  UCL was ranked fourth in the world in this year's Times Higher Education-QS rankings. No fewer than 21 Nobel prizewinners have come from the UCL community.  UCL was founded in 1826 as a radically different university, opening up English higher education for the first time to people of all beliefs and social backgrounds. That radical tradition remains alive today.
  8. 8. Imperial College of London  The motto: of the lat. Scientia imperii decus et tutamen, «Knowledge is the adornment and protection of the State»  Founded in 1907  Students: 13.019  Location: London
  9. 9. Imperial College of London  Imperial was placed 5th overall in the world in the 2009 Times Higher Education-QS World University Rankings of universities worldwide, [and was placed 26th in the Shanghai Jiao Tong Academic Ranking of World Universities.  Imperial College London is a member of the Russell Group of Universities, a part of the Golden Triangle, the IDEA League, the European University Association, AMBA, and the Association of Commonwealth Universities.  Formerly a constituent college of the University of London, Imperial became independent of the university on 8 July 2007, the 100th anniversary of its founding.
  10. 10. London School of Economics  The motto: of the lat. Rerum cognoscere causa, «To understand the causes of things»  Founded in 1895  Head: Ser Howard Davies  Students: 9.000  Location: London
  11. 11. London School of Economics  LSE is a specialist university with an international intake and a global reach. Its research and teaching span the full breadth of the social sciences, from economics, politics and law to sociology, anthropology, accounting and finance.  Founded in 1895 by Beatrice and Sidney Webb, the School has an outstanding reputation for academic excellence.  LSE has 15 Nobel prize winners.
  12. 12. University of Liverpool  Founded in 1881, the University of Liverpool has an impressive history of pioneering education and research, with a particular emphasis on 'education for the professions'.  Today it is a principal centre of excellence in many disciplines, including engineering, medicine, dentistry, business and law.
  13. 13. University of Edinburgh  Founded in 1583  Rector Mark Ballard, a member of the Scottish Parliament  The head of the Duke of Edinburgh  Director Prof. Timothy O `Shea  Students 18 200
  14. 14. University of Edinburgh  The University of Edinburgh's Academic structure is based on 3 Colleges containing a total  The University is a member of a number of prestigious organisations.of 22 Schools.  The University has a range of policies, regulations and guidelines to govern its practice.
  15. 15. The Open University  The motto: Learn and Live  Founded in 1969  Rector Baroness Boothroyd  Students: 9.000  Location: Milton Keynes, UK (main campus) & regional centres
  16. 16. The Open University  The Open University (OU) is the United Kingdom's only university dedicated to distance learning.  The Open University's style of teaching is called supported open learning.  Nearly all students are studying part-time. About 70 per cent of undergraduate students are in full-time employment. More than 50,000 students are sponsored by their employers for their studies.  11,000 people are currently studying for OU Higher Degrees.