Vlad Tislenko
CEO
About meAbout meAbout me
What is a startup?What is a startup?What is a startup?
Startup = Business
Business ≠ Startup
What is a startup?What is a startup?What is a startup?
Business = earning money by selling products or services
Startup = new business venture designed to effectively develop
and validate a scalable business model.
What is venture business?What is venture business?What is venture business?
time
revenue
Three circlesThree circlesThree circles
your startup
No competitors.
Good or not?
Market size and growthMarket size and growthMarket size and growth
TAM:
total demand for
your product
SAM:
based on your
current business model
SOM:
based on
practical limits of
your business
model
What is your market?What is your market?What is your market?
• New
• Resigmented
• Existing
Innovation life cycleInnovation life cycleInnovation life cycle
What is a startup?What is a startup?What is a startup?
Startup = new business venture designed to effectively
develop and validate a scalable business model.
Building startupBuilding startupBuilding startup
research concept prototype design
clarity / focusuncertainty / patterns / insights
So how should we run our venture effectively?So how should we run our venture effectively?So how should we run our venture effectively?
First, find a co-founder
Seriously, find a co-founder
ValidationValidationValidation
Or how we can find that there is
problem-solution fit without development
of the product?
PersonaPersonaPersona
Demographic & Psychographic Details
Behavior & Actions
Value PropositionValue PropositionValue Proposition
• Customer Jobs
• Pains
• Gains
InterviewInterviewInterview
Will you buy my product?
What were your thoughts when you faced a certain problem?
Now it’s time to build an MVPNow it’s time to build an MVPNow it’s time to build an MVP
Most startups don’t even get to this point :)
What is a startup?What is a startup?What is a startup?
Startup = new business venture designed to effectively
develop and validate a scalable business model.
Will it scale?Will it scale?Will it scale?
There are some metrics
you need to focus on:
• Retention
• LTV
• CAC
RetentionRetentionRetention
days
0
50
100
%
cool
normal
PIVOT
0 15 30
LTVLTVLTV
A prediction of the net profit attributed to the entire future relationship with a
customer = (Avg Monthly Revenue per Customer x Gross Margin per Customer) / Monthly Churn Rate
For example: $100 avg monthly spend * 25% margin ÷ 5% monthly churn = $500 LTV
CACCACCAC
All the costs spent on acquiring more customers by the number of customers acquired
For example: You spent $100 to get 100 customers = CAC is $1
Finally LTV to CAC RatioFinally LTV to CAC RatioFinally LTV to CAC Ratio
1:2 = Pivot
1:1 = Is there a room for improvement?
5:1 = Take my money!
InvestmentsInvestmentsInvestments
• FFF
• Grants (Horizon 2020, COSME, EBRD)
• Accelerators (Product Idea Accelerator)
• Angels
• VСs
“If you want to build a ship, don’t drum up the people to gather
wood, divide the work, and give orders. Instead, teach them
to yearn for the vast and endless sea.”
- Antoine De Saint-Exupery
Thank you!Thank you!Thank you!
Building a venture business?
Pitch me @ vlad@concepter.co

Vlad Tislenko. Building startup. From idea to the market