SlideShare a Scribd company logo
“How to do programmatic and not
harm your advertising sales results.
Lessons learned.”
Topic
• In programmatic world many decisions are made
by algorithms. Nothing gets unnoticed. If there is a
possibility to buy cheaper, it will be used
immediately. However, if publishers are mindful with
managing their inventories, they can generate
significant revenues and increase monthly
budgets.
RTB yield management tips
• Programmatic is a tool, if you improve the
technology - you can have immediate results.
Flexible formats
• 970x250
980x200
728x90 …
• 500x500

300x250
320x50 …
• 300x600
300x250

160x600 …
Inscreen rate can improve eCPM
• RTB lacks information about position and content
• Implement unique tags for every placement
• Do lazy load on publisher website
• Improve the auction speed of RTB
Server Side Bidding

(similar to Header Bidding)
Publisher
SSP 1
SSP 2
DSP 1
Adnetwork
DSP 2
Setupad SSB
0Eur
floor price
• Its very important that everybody has same chance to
win and competes against each other in a unified
auction
Statistics
• Which partner is better?
Requests Imp Imp sold eCPM Fillrate
Net
Revenue
Partner A 10 000 000 9 800 000 3430000 €1,20 35% €4116
Partner B 1 000 000 970 000 940900 €0,60 97% €565
rCPM
• such 0,16Eur difference can generate extra 1 600
Eur/monthly from Partner B
Requests Net Revenue rCPM
Partner A 10 000 000 €4116 €0,41
Partner B 1 000 000 €565 €0,57
Comparison is not easy
• One must make all things equal to both partners
• previous month vs this month
• 50/50 random impression allocation
• Exact placements
Cross-border traffic
• USA = 1Eur/CPM * 0,77% * 1bln = 7 700 Eur /monthly
What Setupad solves
• HeaderBidding - technically complex to develop
• server-to-server solution is limited to big players
• Many demand sources to manage daily
• Frequent troubleshooting
• Lots of optimisation work to achieve incremental
revenues
Toms Panders
Co-founder
toms@setupad.com
+371 29127951

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Toms Panders

  • 1. “How to do programmatic and not harm your advertising sales results. Lessons learned.”
  • 2. Topic • In programmatic world many decisions are made by algorithms. Nothing gets unnoticed. If there is a possibility to buy cheaper, it will be used immediately. However, if publishers are mindful with managing their inventories, they can generate significant revenues and increase monthly budgets.
  • 3. RTB yield management tips • Programmatic is a tool, if you improve the technology - you can have immediate results.
  • 4. Flexible formats • 970x250 980x200 728x90 … • 500x500
 300x250 320x50 … • 300x600 300x250
 160x600 …
  • 5. Inscreen rate can improve eCPM • RTB lacks information about position and content • Implement unique tags for every placement • Do lazy load on publisher website • Improve the auction speed of RTB
  • 6.
  • 7. Server Side Bidding
 (similar to Header Bidding) Publisher SSP 1 SSP 2 DSP 1 Adnetwork DSP 2 Setupad SSB 0Eur floor price • Its very important that everybody has same chance to win and competes against each other in a unified auction
  • 8. Statistics • Which partner is better? Requests Imp Imp sold eCPM Fillrate Net Revenue Partner A 10 000 000 9 800 000 3430000 €1,20 35% €4116 Partner B 1 000 000 970 000 940900 €0,60 97% €565
  • 9. rCPM • such 0,16Eur difference can generate extra 1 600 Eur/monthly from Partner B Requests Net Revenue rCPM Partner A 10 000 000 €4116 €0,41 Partner B 1 000 000 €565 €0,57
  • 10. Comparison is not easy • One must make all things equal to both partners • previous month vs this month • 50/50 random impression allocation • Exact placements
  • 11. Cross-border traffic • USA = 1Eur/CPM * 0,77% * 1bln = 7 700 Eur /monthly
  • 12. What Setupad solves • HeaderBidding - technically complex to develop • server-to-server solution is limited to big players • Many demand sources to manage daily • Frequent troubleshooting • Lots of optimisation work to achieve incremental revenues