@TheForefront:  Successfully  Navigating Social Media Image source: iStock Presented to:
Public Relations 1.0 Image sources: support.rmicorp.com. iStock,  www.dceb.ie
Public Relations 2.0 Image sources: support.rmicorp.com. iStock,  www.dceb.ie, opensalon.com, http://www.blackglass.com.au
Demanding clients/bosses Billable hours/not enough hours Spamming the media Shortage of media Publics ignoring the media Online crises Dodging crises Sole focus on the media Ignoring publics Publics talking/seeking information online Publics don’t see silos Some of Today’s PR Challenges Image source: iStock
New PR 2.0 Challenges PR pros continue to want to  be a controlling mouthpiece i.e. ghost blogging, ghost  comments, etc. Potential lack of blogger relations/ community understanding and skills Working with companies who are fearful to  engage online New, ever changing tools to keep up with Continued messaging push, no conversation Image source: www.strangezoo.com
PR 2.0 Opportunities Outreach to ALL publics Removal of gatekeepers (i.e. the media) Listening and analyzing  ALL conversations Natural conversations that are not coerced Communities can share your  key messages & influence others PR pros are already prepared  Image source: David Armano, Logic + Emotion
Your workload has just doubled! PR 1.0 doesn’t go away with PR 2.0 Integrated strategies & planning Listening/Analyzing Search Engine Optimization Identify & engage with influencers Manage communities  Integration of new technologies  Measurement Stay updated on trends & train constantly More conversations  Image & partial content source: John Bell, Ogilvy
Social Media Skeptics Say… Social media can’t be measured It’s just people online with nothing better to do Social media is a fad ( yep, since 1992+/- & still going ) We cannot give up control (messaging, brand, etc.) Our goal is to promote/sell our products/services,  not chit-chat online Everyone department must have a say and approve Social media is too expensive Legal won’t approve Partial content source: Shashi Bellamkonda, Network Solutions
Becoming Social One Step at a Time Image source: www.harmonichealth.net
Understand the change Monitor/Listen Analyze/Benchmark Develop a Plan Goal Objectives Strategies Tactics Get management approval Identify participants Educate internally Train all employees/Share policies Strategy & Implementation Image source: www.meditatus.co.uk
Typical Measurement & Value of PR Image sources: harperstudio.typepad.com, 4.bp.blogspot.com, publichealth.columbus.gov, bmwblog.com, conversationmarketing.com
PR & SM are not Measured the Same
SM Measurement = Engagement Image sources: digitalstrategy.govt.nz, orionwell.files.wordpress.com, itqb.unl.pt, iStock,  gognis.net
Monitor/Listen Image source: iStock. Search Marketing Gurus, AdAge
Where to Listen Image source: Brian Solis, PR 2.0.com
How to Listen Google / Yahoo Alerts  Google Blog Search Technorati  Co.mments  Serph  Addictomatic  Disqus  Radian6 Twitter Search Blogpulse Lijit Linqia  Custom Scoop Ice Rocket NetVibesMotive Quest Nielsen BuzzMetrics Cymphony Trakur SEER Techrigy CyberAlert  Umbria ChatterGuard Image source: Techrigy
Analyze: Usage ● ● ● ●  Daily Usage ● ● ●  Weekly Usage (2-3 times) ● ●  Bi-weekly Usage ●  Monthly Usage ○ Less than monthly Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ●  ● ● ● ●  ● ● ● ●  ● ●  ● ● ●  ●  Twitter ● ● ● ●  ● ● ●  ● ● ● ● ● ● ●  ● ● ● ●  ● ● ●  Flickr ● ● ●  ● ●  ● ●  ○ ● ● ● Ning  ● ●  ● N/A ● ●  ○ ● ● ● ●  YouTube ● ● ●  ● ● ●  ● ● ●  ○ ● ●  ● ● ● ●  Facebook ● ● ● ●  ● ●  ○ ○ ● ● ● ●  ● ● Yelp ● ○ ○ ○ ● ○ Forums N/A N/A ● ● ●  ● ● ●  ● ● ● ●
Analyze: Tonality & Messaging  KM = Key Message NKM = No Key Message Positive Negative Neutral None Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Monthly Monthly Monthly Monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ●  / NKM ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ● ● ●  / KM ● ●  /KM ● ● ●  /NKM ●  /NKM Twitter ● ● ● ●  / KM  ● ● ●  / NKM ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ● ●  / KM ● ● ● ●  / KM ● ● ●  / NKM Flickr ● ● ●  /NKM ● ●  /NKM ● ●  / NKM ○   /NKM ●  /KM ● ●  / KNM Ning  ● ●  / KM ●  /NKM N/A ● ●  /KM ○ ● ● ● ●  / NKM YouTube ● ● ●  /NKM ● ● ●  /NKM ● ● ●  /KM ○  /NKM ● ●  /KM ● ● ● ●  / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ●  /NKM ○  /NKM ○  /NKM ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ● / NKM Yelp ●  / NKM ○  /NKM ○  /NKM ○  /NKM ●  /KM ○  / KNM Forums N/A N/A ●  /KM ● ●  /KM ● ● ●  /KM ● ● ● ●  / NKM
How to get started with PR 2.0 Start with a plan: Goals Measurable Objectives Strategy Tactics Measure the plan Adjust the plan Image source: Brian Solis, PR 2.0.com
Goal What do you hope  to gain by engaging in social media? Does your goal  fit into the overall  executive goal? Image source: getentrepreneurial.com
The Goal of Being Social… Image source: om.netregistry.net
Measurable Objectives To be measurable, objectives  MUST   address: A specific desire communication or behavioral effect; A designated public (or publics) among whom the effect is to be achieved; The expected level of attainment; and The timeframe in which those attainments  are to occur.
To  increase positive mentions  that include key message in key  industry blogs  by  15%  within  six months . To  increase number of presentation downloads  by  online public #1  by  20%  within  3 months . To  launch Facebook fan page  and have  15%  of  online public #2 join  within  6 months . Measurable Objectives
Typical PR Objectives  Output:  Physical products (release, content, etc.) Outtake:  What publics take away Messages, perceptions, understandings Outcome:  Quantifiable changes in attitudes, behaviors, or opinions.
Social Media Objectives Output:  Total opportunities to see (OTS); share of positive OTS, total number of OTS key messages; share of positive positioning Outtake:  Percentage of change in awareness, percentage change in preference; percentage of change in talking about key messages.  Outcome:  Percentage change in downloads; percentage change in sales, percentage change in requests for information. Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
Write Objectives for each Public KM = Key Message NKM = No Key Message Positive Negative Neutral None Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Monthly Monthly Monthly Monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ●  / NKM ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ● ● ●  / KM ● ●  /KM ● ● ●  /NKM ●  /NKM Twitter ● ● ● ●  / KM  ● ● ●  / NKM ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ● ●  / KM ● ● ● ●  / KM ● ● ●  / NKM Flickr ● ● ●  /NKM ● ●  /NKM ● ●  / NKM ○   /NKM ●  /KM ● ●  / KNM Ning  ● ●  / KM ●  /NKM N/A ● ●  /KM ○ ● ● ● ●  / NKM YouTube ● ● ●  /NKM ● ● ●  /NKM ● ● ●  /KM ○  /NKM ● ●  /KM ● ● ● ●  / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ●  /NKM ○  /NKM ○  /NKM ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ● / NKM Yelp ●  / NKM ○  /NKM ○  /NKM ○  /NKM ●  /KM ○  / KNM Forums N/A N/A ●  /KM ● ●  /KM ● ● ●  /KM ● ● ● ●  / NKM
Social Media Strategies What is the approach to achieving objectives and reaching the goal? Example: Establish a Facebook Fan Page to keep publics connected. Image source: nassaulibrary.org
Social Media Tactics What activities will be conducted to carryout specific objectives? Example: Set up the Facebook account and invite publics to join via an e-mail invitation. Image source: socsci.uci.edu
SM Tools: Fish where the fish are Microblogging: Twitter Photo sharing: Flickr, Picasa Social Networking: LinkedIn, Facebook, Ning Groups Information/Review Sharing: SlideShare, Yelp Video Sharing: YouTube,  Viddler, Vimeo Blogging: WordPress, Blogger, TypePad Image source: semclubhouse.com
Achieving Management Approval Prepare data with an executive mindset Quantified and Qualified  Provide executives with benchmarked analysis Share your plan  Demonstrate how your plan will lead to online engagement, relationship building and sales  Explain it’s not just a PR initiative, but a corporate one Publics don’t differentiate silos online Promise to only fish where the fish are Be a known social media expert, build trust
Selling SM Internally: Be the Expert Be strategic―social media is about business Understand social media and know the tools Engage in social media  On your own time if necessary Share industry case studies (positive & negative) with all departments Develop relationships with content providers Socialize your findings (Are they complaining about customer service or product reliability?) Work with legal Get buy-in from other managers already engaged  in social media (Those with LinkedIn & Facebook accounts) Invite online influencers to come & speak to  your company Partial content source: Shashi Bellamkonda, Network Solutions
Who should be involved? Traits to consider: Enjoys communicating (and does it clearly, professionally, and with a human touch) Is comfortable with the media Likes to write and has deep industry knowledge Enjoys sharing Can handle confrontation in a calm and non-defensive manner Is passionate about the brand Departments to consider: PR/Marketing/Communications Customer Service/Client Relations Engineering/Technical Folks Sales Business Development Administration/Boards Deans, Dept. Heads Human Resources Investor Relations
Developing a Social Media Policy Should you have one? YES! And train employees on it. Some basics for employees : Be transparent, truthful and honest Have a filter: Provide value, be respectful, be professional, stick to the area of expertise, don’t violate company privacy/confidentiality/legal guidelines Don’t do or say anything to tarnish the brand Be a leader Apologize when necessary Be human Find sample guidelines at:  http://123socialmedia.com/2009/01/23/social-media-policy-examples/
Social Media is a Journey Implement the plan Have a publishing schedule  for blogs Monitor employees’ usage and content Continue coaching  & evangelizing Prepare for any potential crises Course correct if necessary Image source: Flickr: reflectivesport
Implement the Plan
Benchmark & Measure Changes Before: After: Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ●  / NKM ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ● ● ●  / KM ● ●  /KM ● ● ●  /NKM ●  /NKM Twitter ● ● ● ●  / KM  ● ● ●  / NKM ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ● ●  / KM ● ● ● ●  / KM ● ● ●  / NKM Flickr ● ● ●  /NKM ● ●  /NKM ● ●  / NKM ○   /NKM ●  /KM ● ●  / KNM Ning  ● ●  / KM ●  /NKM N/A ● ●  /KM ○ ● ● ● ●  / NKM YouTube ● ● ●  /NKM ● ● ●  /NKM ● ● ●  /KM ○  /NKM ● ●  /KM ● ● ● ●  / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ●  /NKM ○  /NKM ○  /NKM ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ● / NKM Yelp ●  / NKM ○  /NKM ○  /NKM ○  /NKM ●  /KM ○  / KNM Forums N/A N/A ●  /KM ● ●  /KM ● ● ●  /KM ● ● ● ●  / NKM Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ●  / NKM ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ● ● ●  / KM ● ●  /KM ● ● ●  /KM ●  /KM Twitter ● ● ● ●  / KM  ● ● ●  / KM ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ● ●  / KM ● ● ● ●  / KM ● ● ●  / NKM Flickr ● ● ●  /NKM ● ●  /NKM ● ●  / NKM ○   /NKM ●  /KM ● ●  / KNM Ning  ● ●  / KM ●  /NKM N/A ● ●  /KM ○ ● ● ● ●  / NKM YouTube ● ● ●  /NKM ● ● ●  /KM ● ● ●  /KM ○  /NKM ● ●  /KM ● ● ● ●  / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ●  /NKM ○  /NKM ○  /KM ● ● ● ●  /KM ● ● / KM Yelp ●  / NKM ○  /NKM ○  /KM ○  /NKM ●  /KM ○  / KNM Forums N/A N/A ●  /KM ● ●  /KM ● ● ●  /KM ● ● ● ●  / NKM
Other measurement items RSS Feeds Comments Favorites Bookmarks New vs. returning traffic Pings/Trackbacks (inbound links) Shared / Retweeted (track with Twurl, etc.) Google Page Ranking Net Promoter Score Conversation Index
Measuring Your Blog: Outcomes First and foremost, companies don’t blog… people do. How can a company blog be measured to  prove value? How does the blog affect behavior  & relationships? What’s the intended outcome?  Financial Relationship  Transactional Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Content Source: Image source: topankblog.com
Financial Outcomes To raise money or sell something The metrics and math are simple Cost per click-through (CPC) Cost per sale Cost per lead Cost per dollar raised How to measure Specific URLs for each blog post Use web analytic software Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations Example: $120/year for the blog Salary is $50/hr. Employee spends 10 hours a week on the blog $26,000/year The blog generates 50 click-throughs a day 18,250 click-throughs/year Cost per click: $26,120/(365x56) = $1.43
Relationship Outcomes The typical desired effect of a blog is to develop relationships with publics Relationships are tougher to tie to ROI Do a survey prior to implementing your social media  plan to determine: Trust, satisfaction, commitment, and control mutuality Implement tactics within your social media plan that allow for the ability to potentially collect email addresses for additional surveys. Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
Traffic Outcomes The basic way to see if your blog is successful… Are people visiting?  How long are they staying? What are they reading? Where are they coming from? Tools: Google Analytics ClickTracks Compete WebTrends WebSideStory Omniture etc. Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
Measuring Your Blog: Outtakes Social Capital & Social Networking Information flows more easily Innovation and efficiency increase Legal costs  go down Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Image source: natewhitehill.com
Measuring Your Blog: Outputs How many people are paying attention to your blog? Higher ranks can lead to speaking engagements and more influence Keep track of and measure the blog’s influence over time Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Image Source: David Armano, Logic + Emotion
Measuring Other Blogs: Outtakes One big focus group of customers, prospects, investors, employees, potential employees, etc. Look for messages, themes, & perceptions  of your brand. How does the blogosphere position  your brand? Content source: Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Image source: ecshome.com
Measuring Other Blogs: Outputs Quality of the Discussion  Depth of coverage (number of times & mentions) Dominance (is it 100% about your brand?) Subject (primary topic) Tonality (will the reader be more or less likely to do business with you?) Positioning of key messages Nature of the posting Who is being discussed? Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
Measuring other Blogs: Outcomes Quality of the discussion: There are three things that get measured: Links  (do you have more inbound links?) Technorati, BlogPulse, Alexa, etc. Visitors  (is there an increase in traffic being driven to you?) comScore, Compete, Alexa, Nielsen, etc. Sentiment  (are bloggers helping change sentiment?) Market Sentinel, Biz360 Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
SM Measurement Recap Identify audiences and publics Define objectives for each  audience/public Define measurement criteria Define the benchmark Select measurement tools Analyze data, draw actionable  conclusions, and make recommendations Make changes measure again Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
Resources: PR 2.0 by Deirdre Breakenridge Putting the Public back in Public Relations by Brian Solis and Deirdre Breakenridge Measuring Public Relationships by Katie Delahaye Paine KDPaine’s PR Measurement Blog: http://kdpaine.blogs.com/ Naked Conversations, by Robert Scoble & Shel Israel
Questions? Image source: sixminutes.dlugan.com

@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media

  • 1.
    @TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media Image source: iStock Presented to:
  • 2.
    Public Relations 1.0Image sources: support.rmicorp.com. iStock, www.dceb.ie
  • 3.
    Public Relations 2.0Image sources: support.rmicorp.com. iStock, www.dceb.ie, opensalon.com, http://www.blackglass.com.au
  • 4.
    Demanding clients/bosses Billablehours/not enough hours Spamming the media Shortage of media Publics ignoring the media Online crises Dodging crises Sole focus on the media Ignoring publics Publics talking/seeking information online Publics don’t see silos Some of Today’s PR Challenges Image source: iStock
  • 5.
    New PR 2.0Challenges PR pros continue to want to be a controlling mouthpiece i.e. ghost blogging, ghost comments, etc. Potential lack of blogger relations/ community understanding and skills Working with companies who are fearful to engage online New, ever changing tools to keep up with Continued messaging push, no conversation Image source: www.strangezoo.com
  • 6.
    PR 2.0 OpportunitiesOutreach to ALL publics Removal of gatekeepers (i.e. the media) Listening and analyzing ALL conversations Natural conversations that are not coerced Communities can share your key messages & influence others PR pros are already prepared Image source: David Armano, Logic + Emotion
  • 7.
    Your workload hasjust doubled! PR 1.0 doesn’t go away with PR 2.0 Integrated strategies & planning Listening/Analyzing Search Engine Optimization Identify & engage with influencers Manage communities Integration of new technologies Measurement Stay updated on trends & train constantly More conversations Image & partial content source: John Bell, Ogilvy
  • 8.
    Social Media SkepticsSay… Social media can’t be measured It’s just people online with nothing better to do Social media is a fad ( yep, since 1992+/- & still going ) We cannot give up control (messaging, brand, etc.) Our goal is to promote/sell our products/services, not chit-chat online Everyone department must have a say and approve Social media is too expensive Legal won’t approve Partial content source: Shashi Bellamkonda, Network Solutions
  • 9.
    Becoming Social OneStep at a Time Image source: www.harmonichealth.net
  • 10.
    Understand the changeMonitor/Listen Analyze/Benchmark Develop a Plan Goal Objectives Strategies Tactics Get management approval Identify participants Educate internally Train all employees/Share policies Strategy & Implementation Image source: www.meditatus.co.uk
  • 11.
    Typical Measurement &Value of PR Image sources: harperstudio.typepad.com, 4.bp.blogspot.com, publichealth.columbus.gov, bmwblog.com, conversationmarketing.com
  • 12.
    PR & SMare not Measured the Same
  • 13.
    SM Measurement =Engagement Image sources: digitalstrategy.govt.nz, orionwell.files.wordpress.com, itqb.unl.pt, iStock, gognis.net
  • 14.
    Monitor/Listen Image source:iStock. Search Marketing Gurus, AdAge
  • 15.
    Where to ListenImage source: Brian Solis, PR 2.0.com
  • 16.
    How to ListenGoogle / Yahoo Alerts Google Blog Search Technorati Co.mments Serph Addictomatic Disqus Radian6 Twitter Search Blogpulse Lijit Linqia Custom Scoop Ice Rocket NetVibesMotive Quest Nielsen BuzzMetrics Cymphony Trakur SEER Techrigy CyberAlert Umbria ChatterGuard Image source: Techrigy
  • 17.
    Analyze: Usage ●● ● ● Daily Usage ● ● ● Weekly Usage (2-3 times) ● ● Bi-weekly Usage ● Monthly Usage ○ Less than monthly Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● Twitter ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● Flickr ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ○ ● ● ● Ning ● ● ● N/A ● ● ○ ● ● ● ● YouTube ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ○ ● ● ● ● ● ● Facebook ● ● ● ● ● ● ○ ○ ● ● ● ● ● ● Yelp ● ○ ○ ○ ● ○ Forums N/A N/A ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ●
  • 18.
    Analyze: Tonality &Messaging KM = Key Message NKM = No Key Message Positive Negative Neutral None Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Monthly Monthly Monthly Monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /NKM ● /NKM Twitter ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM Flickr ● ● ● /NKM ● ● /NKM ● ● / NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ● ● / KNM Ning ● ● / KM ● /NKM N/A ● ● /KM ○ ● ● ● ● / NKM YouTube ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /KM ○ /NKM ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● / NKM Yelp ● / NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ○ / KNM Forums N/A N/A ● /KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM
  • 19.
    How to getstarted with PR 2.0 Start with a plan: Goals Measurable Objectives Strategy Tactics Measure the plan Adjust the plan Image source: Brian Solis, PR 2.0.com
  • 20.
    Goal What doyou hope to gain by engaging in social media? Does your goal fit into the overall executive goal? Image source: getentrepreneurial.com
  • 21.
    The Goal ofBeing Social… Image source: om.netregistry.net
  • 22.
    Measurable Objectives Tobe measurable, objectives MUST address: A specific desire communication or behavioral effect; A designated public (or publics) among whom the effect is to be achieved; The expected level of attainment; and The timeframe in which those attainments are to occur.
  • 23.
    To increasepositive mentions that include key message in key industry blogs by 15% within six months . To increase number of presentation downloads by online public #1 by 20% within 3 months . To launch Facebook fan page and have 15% of online public #2 join within 6 months . Measurable Objectives
  • 24.
    Typical PR Objectives Output: Physical products (release, content, etc.) Outtake: What publics take away Messages, perceptions, understandings Outcome: Quantifiable changes in attitudes, behaviors, or opinions.
  • 25.
    Social Media ObjectivesOutput: Total opportunities to see (OTS); share of positive OTS, total number of OTS key messages; share of positive positioning Outtake: Percentage of change in awareness, percentage change in preference; percentage of change in talking about key messages. Outcome: Percentage change in downloads; percentage change in sales, percentage change in requests for information. Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  • 26.
    Write Objectives foreach Public KM = Key Message NKM = No Key Message Positive Negative Neutral None Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Monthly Monthly Monthly Monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /NKM ● /NKM Twitter ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM Flickr ● ● ● /NKM ● ● /NKM ● ● / NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ● ● / KNM Ning ● ● / KM ● /NKM N/A ● ● /KM ○ ● ● ● ● / NKM YouTube ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /KM ○ /NKM ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● / NKM Yelp ● / NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ○ / KNM Forums N/A N/A ● /KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM
  • 27.
    Social Media StrategiesWhat is the approach to achieving objectives and reaching the goal? Example: Establish a Facebook Fan Page to keep publics connected. Image source: nassaulibrary.org
  • 28.
    Social Media TacticsWhat activities will be conducted to carryout specific objectives? Example: Set up the Facebook account and invite publics to join via an e-mail invitation. Image source: socsci.uci.edu
  • 29.
    SM Tools: Fishwhere the fish are Microblogging: Twitter Photo sharing: Flickr, Picasa Social Networking: LinkedIn, Facebook, Ning Groups Information/Review Sharing: SlideShare, Yelp Video Sharing: YouTube, Viddler, Vimeo Blogging: WordPress, Blogger, TypePad Image source: semclubhouse.com
  • 30.
    Achieving Management ApprovalPrepare data with an executive mindset Quantified and Qualified Provide executives with benchmarked analysis Share your plan Demonstrate how your plan will lead to online engagement, relationship building and sales Explain it’s not just a PR initiative, but a corporate one Publics don’t differentiate silos online Promise to only fish where the fish are Be a known social media expert, build trust
  • 31.
    Selling SM Internally:Be the Expert Be strategic―social media is about business Understand social media and know the tools Engage in social media On your own time if necessary Share industry case studies (positive & negative) with all departments Develop relationships with content providers Socialize your findings (Are they complaining about customer service or product reliability?) Work with legal Get buy-in from other managers already engaged in social media (Those with LinkedIn & Facebook accounts) Invite online influencers to come & speak to your company Partial content source: Shashi Bellamkonda, Network Solutions
  • 32.
    Who should beinvolved? Traits to consider: Enjoys communicating (and does it clearly, professionally, and with a human touch) Is comfortable with the media Likes to write and has deep industry knowledge Enjoys sharing Can handle confrontation in a calm and non-defensive manner Is passionate about the brand Departments to consider: PR/Marketing/Communications Customer Service/Client Relations Engineering/Technical Folks Sales Business Development Administration/Boards Deans, Dept. Heads Human Resources Investor Relations
  • 33.
    Developing a SocialMedia Policy Should you have one? YES! And train employees on it. Some basics for employees : Be transparent, truthful and honest Have a filter: Provide value, be respectful, be professional, stick to the area of expertise, don’t violate company privacy/confidentiality/legal guidelines Don’t do or say anything to tarnish the brand Be a leader Apologize when necessary Be human Find sample guidelines at: http://123socialmedia.com/2009/01/23/social-media-policy-examples/
  • 34.
    Social Media isa Journey Implement the plan Have a publishing schedule for blogs Monitor employees’ usage and content Continue coaching & evangelizing Prepare for any potential crises Course correct if necessary Image source: Flickr: reflectivesport
  • 35.
  • 36.
    Benchmark & MeasureChanges Before: After: Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /NKM ● /NKM Twitter ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM Flickr ● ● ● /NKM ● ● /NKM ● ● / NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ● ● / KNM Ning ● ● / KM ● /NKM N/A ● ● /KM ○ ● ● ● ● / NKM YouTube ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /KM ○ /NKM ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● / NKM Yelp ● / NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ○ / KNM Forums N/A N/A ● /KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● /KM Twitter ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM Flickr ● ● ● /NKM ● ● /NKM ● ● / NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ● ● / KNM Ning ● ● / KM ● /NKM N/A ● ● /KM ○ ● ● ● ● / NKM YouTube ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ○ /NKM ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /KM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● / KM Yelp ● / NKM ○ /NKM ○ /KM ○ /NKM ● /KM ○ / KNM Forums N/A N/A ● /KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM
  • 37.
    Other measurement itemsRSS Feeds Comments Favorites Bookmarks New vs. returning traffic Pings/Trackbacks (inbound links) Shared / Retweeted (track with Twurl, etc.) Google Page Ranking Net Promoter Score Conversation Index
  • 38.
    Measuring Your Blog:Outcomes First and foremost, companies don’t blog… people do. How can a company blog be measured to prove value? How does the blog affect behavior & relationships? What’s the intended outcome? Financial Relationship Transactional Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Content Source: Image source: topankblog.com
  • 39.
    Financial Outcomes Toraise money or sell something The metrics and math are simple Cost per click-through (CPC) Cost per sale Cost per lead Cost per dollar raised How to measure Specific URLs for each blog post Use web analytic software Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations Example: $120/year for the blog Salary is $50/hr. Employee spends 10 hours a week on the blog $26,000/year The blog generates 50 click-throughs a day 18,250 click-throughs/year Cost per click: $26,120/(365x56) = $1.43
  • 40.
    Relationship Outcomes Thetypical desired effect of a blog is to develop relationships with publics Relationships are tougher to tie to ROI Do a survey prior to implementing your social media plan to determine: Trust, satisfaction, commitment, and control mutuality Implement tactics within your social media plan that allow for the ability to potentially collect email addresses for additional surveys. Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  • 41.
    Traffic Outcomes Thebasic way to see if your blog is successful… Are people visiting? How long are they staying? What are they reading? Where are they coming from? Tools: Google Analytics ClickTracks Compete WebTrends WebSideStory Omniture etc. Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  • 42.
    Measuring Your Blog:Outtakes Social Capital & Social Networking Information flows more easily Innovation and efficiency increase Legal costs go down Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Image source: natewhitehill.com
  • 43.
    Measuring Your Blog:Outputs How many people are paying attention to your blog? Higher ranks can lead to speaking engagements and more influence Keep track of and measure the blog’s influence over time Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Image Source: David Armano, Logic + Emotion
  • 44.
    Measuring Other Blogs:Outtakes One big focus group of customers, prospects, investors, employees, potential employees, etc. Look for messages, themes, & perceptions of your brand. How does the blogosphere position your brand? Content source: Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Image source: ecshome.com
  • 45.
    Measuring Other Blogs:Outputs Quality of the Discussion Depth of coverage (number of times & mentions) Dominance (is it 100% about your brand?) Subject (primary topic) Tonality (will the reader be more or less likely to do business with you?) Positioning of key messages Nature of the posting Who is being discussed? Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  • 46.
    Measuring other Blogs:Outcomes Quality of the discussion: There are three things that get measured: Links (do you have more inbound links?) Technorati, BlogPulse, Alexa, etc. Visitors (is there an increase in traffic being driven to you?) comScore, Compete, Alexa, Nielsen, etc. Sentiment (are bloggers helping change sentiment?) Market Sentinel, Biz360 Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  • 47.
    SM Measurement RecapIdentify audiences and publics Define objectives for each audience/public Define measurement criteria Define the benchmark Select measurement tools Analyze data, draw actionable conclusions, and make recommendations Make changes measure again Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  • 48.
    Resources: PR 2.0by Deirdre Breakenridge Putting the Public back in Public Relations by Brian Solis and Deirdre Breakenridge Measuring Public Relationships by Katie Delahaye Paine KDPaine’s PR Measurement Blog: http://kdpaine.blogs.com/ Naked Conversations, by Robert Scoble & Shel Israel
  • 49.
    Questions? Image source:sixminutes.dlugan.com