Apartment buildings and other residential and multi-family housing can provide a stable income to an investor. This Financial Poise webinar discusses some of the pros and cons of being a landlord. It provides a basic overview about how to find and assess opportunities, obtain financing, negotiate a deal, and manage a multi-family investment. The accounting, tax, and legal aspects of being a landlord are part of the discussion.
To listen to this webinar on-demand, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/investing-in-residential-multi-family-real-estate-2020/
Investing in Commercial Property (Series: Real Estate Investing 101 - 2020) Financial Poise
Before taking the plunge into commercial real estate investing, one should have a clear understanding of how to select the right location, preferred type and class of property, what due diligence to do, how to secure financing, how to negotiate a deal, and how to manage the property going forward as a commercial landlord. This Financial Poise panel explains the process from looking for the investment, to contract, to closing, and beyond.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/investing-in-commercial-property-2020/
Investing in Commercial Property (Series: REAL ESTATE INVESTING MADE SIMPLE 2...Financial Poise
Before taking the plunge into commercial real estate investing, one should have a clear understanding of how to select the right location, preferred type and class of property, what due diligence to do, how to secure financing, how to negotiate a deal, and how to manage the property going forward as a commercial landlord. This Financial Poise panel explains the process from looking for the investment, to contract, to closing, and beyond.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financialpoisewebinars/on_demand_webinars/investing-in-commercial-property/
Best Known as a real estate agent, Boris Gantsevich assists clients to achieve real estate desires. He delivers important knowledge to clients about real estate market and properties. Whether you are buying or selling he guides his clients through the process.
Transitional Property Investments (TPI) is a limited liability corporation (LLC) with decades of combined business and construction experience as well as investment property ownership and management. TPI seeks to provide high value, high quality, cost effective living and working environments across the communities in which we live and work while assuring profitability and sustainability for our lenders. TPI utilizes funds from our private lender network to locate, purchase and improve residential and commercial properties. Unlike traditional “flippers”, we prefer to hold and lease these properties to qualified businesses and/or individuals. With this strategy our lenders enjoy a higher, sustained return on investment for longer periods of time.
We pay a high simple interest premium to have funds readily accessible.
Investing in Commercial Property (Series: Real Estate Investing 101 - 2020) Financial Poise
Before taking the plunge into commercial real estate investing, one should have a clear understanding of how to select the right location, preferred type and class of property, what due diligence to do, how to secure financing, how to negotiate a deal, and how to manage the property going forward as a commercial landlord. This Financial Poise panel explains the process from looking for the investment, to contract, to closing, and beyond.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/investing-in-commercial-property-2020/
Investing in Commercial Property (Series: REAL ESTATE INVESTING MADE SIMPLE 2...Financial Poise
Before taking the plunge into commercial real estate investing, one should have a clear understanding of how to select the right location, preferred type and class of property, what due diligence to do, how to secure financing, how to negotiate a deal, and how to manage the property going forward as a commercial landlord. This Financial Poise panel explains the process from looking for the investment, to contract, to closing, and beyond.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financialpoisewebinars/on_demand_webinars/investing-in-commercial-property/
Best Known as a real estate agent, Boris Gantsevich assists clients to achieve real estate desires. He delivers important knowledge to clients about real estate market and properties. Whether you are buying or selling he guides his clients through the process.
Transitional Property Investments (TPI) is a limited liability corporation (LLC) with decades of combined business and construction experience as well as investment property ownership and management. TPI seeks to provide high value, high quality, cost effective living and working environments across the communities in which we live and work while assuring profitability and sustainability for our lenders. TPI utilizes funds from our private lender network to locate, purchase and improve residential and commercial properties. Unlike traditional “flippers”, we prefer to hold and lease these properties to qualified businesses and/or individuals. With this strategy our lenders enjoy a higher, sustained return on investment for longer periods of time.
We pay a high simple interest premium to have funds readily accessible.
2017 Dean-Willcocks Advisory Presentation | Minimising exposure of profession...Ron Dean-Willcocks
Utilising over 80 years of experience, Dean-Willcocks Advisory provides expert insolvency solutions throughout Australia. In April 2017 Dean-Willcocks Advisory presented their paper on minimising exposure of professional advisors in the event of client insolvency to professionals in Bathurst and Dubbo, NSW.
ESOPs 101 (Series: Cross-Training for Business Lawyers 2020) Financial Poise
Employee stock ownership plans (ESOPs) are plans regulated by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA) and designed to allow employees to invest in the stock of their employer. The shareholder participants/employees as well as the sponsoring company generally receive tax benefits through the use of the plan. And while they are generally touted as designed to promote employees’ interest and efforts in maximizing the value of the company for the benefit of both employer and employees, ESOPs are often used as a method of corporate finance by the sponsoring company.
To listen to this webinar on-demand, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/esops-101-2020/
Crowdfunding from the Start-Up's Perspective (Series: Crowdfunding 2020) Financial Poise
How can businesses use the tools created by the JOBS Act to access capital? This webinar compares raising money online to traditional methods of capital raising. It also compares each of the different titles available under the JOBS Act. Finally, we discuss and compare the differences between security based crowdfunding and rewards based crowdfunding, exploring those instances where such a method would make sense.
To listen to this webinar on demand, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/crowdfunding-from-the-start-ups-perspective-2020/
Valuing Lost Profits for Litigation Purposes (Series: Valuation)Financial Poise
A competitor, contractor or other third party has taken actions that have damaged your client’s business in the form of lost profits. How do you measure the lost profits? Must you demonstrate lost profits with certainty? Over what period do you measure the lost profits? If your client has not recovered fully, can you include estimated future lost profits? These are all important questions in a lost profits case. This webinar addresses those questions and summarizes the different methods to measure lost profits, as well as some of the critical elements that must be considered in developing and presenting your damages theory in court.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/valuing-lost-profits-for-litigation-purposes-2021/
Part of the webinar series: Cross-Training for Business Lawyers 2021
Credit insurance, also called trade credit insurance or business credit insurance, is insurance for businesses for non-payment of commercial debt. It is generally offered by private insurance companies to businesses seeking insurance for non-payment due to a customer’s bankruptcy or other types of financial difficulties. It can be a critical information and hedging tool for businesses with income streams heavily dependent upon accounts receivable from customers with questionable credit worthiness or that may be facing an industry-based or regional-based financial downturn. The premium is generally based upon a financial review of the customers of the business. This webinar covers these and related topics.
If you need to know how to invest into cash flow investment real estate then check out this presentation. Email me at aduggal@rernj.com to request the video that further explains these slides.
Leveraging & Protecting Trade Secrets in the 21st Century (Series: Intellectu...Financial Poise
Trade secrets are a more important form of an intellectual property asset than ever.
Congress recently passed the Defend Trade Secrets Act of 2016, which created new federal laws that allow an owner of a trade secret to sue in federal court when its trade secrets have been misappropriated. And as technology continues to exponentially progress in the digital age of the 21st Century, the need for businesses to protect and limit access to valuable and confidential trade secret information continues to rise. The progress in technology and expansion of information also promotes means for monetizing and leveraging trade secrets.
How do you identify your trade secrets, protect them, and leverage them? These are the questions this cutting-edge webinar discusses and seeks to answer.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/leveraging-protecting-trade-secrets-in-the-21st-century-2021/
Equity Fundraising Founders Basics for Founders | Mohammed Elayan | Lunch & L...UCICove
About UCI Applied Innovation:
UCI Applied Innovation is a dynamic, innovative central platform for the UCI campus, entrepreneurs, inventors, the business community and investors to collaborate and move UCI research from lab to market.
About the Cove @ UCI:
To accelerate collaboration by better connecting innovation partners in Orange County, UCI Applied Innovation created the Cove, a physical, state-of-the-art hub for entrepreneurs to gather and navigate the resources available both on and off campus. The Cove is headquarters for UCI Applied Innovation, as well as houses several ecosystem partners including incubators, accelerators, angel investors, venture capitalists, mentors and legal experts.
Follow us on social media:
Facebook: @UCICove
Twitter: @UCICove
Instagram: @UCICove
LinkedIn: @UCIAppliedInnovation
For more information:
cove@uci.edu
http://innovation.uci.edu/
Defending Against Bankruptcy Avoidance Actions (Series: COMPLEX FINANCIAL LIT...Financial Poise
In the event of a bankruptcy, the debtor or trustee may opt to take legal action in order to recover money or property that was transferred by the debtor prior to going bankrupt. These actions, whereby such transfers are effectively reversed, are referred to as “avoidance actions.” In this webinar, the expert panel discusses the applicable provisions of the Bankruptcy Code, common avoidance actions, and key considerations when planning for and defending against these actions.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financialpoisewebinars/on_demand_webinars/defending-against-bankruptcy-avoidance-actions-2/
Crowdfunding from the Start-Up's Perspective (Series: Crowdfunding)Financial Poise
How can businesses use the tools created by the JOBS Act to access capital? This webinar compares raising money online to traditional methods of capital raising. It also compares each of the different titles available under the JOBS Act. Finally, we discuss and compare the differences between security based crowdfunding and rewards based crowdfunding, exploring those instances where such a method would make sense.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/crowdfunding-from-the-start-ups-perspective-2021/
Valuing Your Brand and Other "Soft" Assets 2021Financial Poise
Part of the webinar series: Valuation 2021.
A company’s name, logo and other intangible assets have no intrinsic value. Yet, such intellectual property (IP) rights are increasingly important. Other examples of such “soft” assets include trademarks, copyrights, and trade secrets. This webinar will help attendees understand how experts go about valuing such intangible assets.
A Menu of Products for Investors and Lawyers (Series: Commercial Litigation F...Financial Poise
Litigation funding is an increasingly-popular tool for attorneys and clients to share the risk and reward of litigation with third-party investors, and for investors to capitalize on the uncorrelated returns generated by legal-driven revenue. However, the term "litigation-" or "legal-" funding actually encompasses a handful of products, which vary based on borrower profile, stage and sector of litigation, use of proceeds, and ultimately, cost of capital and risk-reward profile. This webinar examines three funding products -- case fundings, law firm loans, and portfolio fundings -- and aims to inform attorneys on best solutions for their firms and clients, and provide an overview for institutional investors looking to allocate capital to litigations.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/a-menu-of-products-for-investors-and-lawyers-2021/
Before taking the plunge into commercial real estate investing, one should have a clear understanding of how to select the right location, preferred type and class of property, what due diligence to do, how to secure financing, how to negotiate a deal, and how to manage the property going forward as a commercial landlord. This Financial Poise panel explains the process from looking for the investment, to contract, to closing, and beyond.
Part of the webinar series: REAL ESTATE INVESTING 101 - 2022
See more at https://www.financialpoise.com/webinars/
Done-For-You Real Estate (Transactional PSA)
Done-For-You Real Estate Transactional Professional Service Agreements (PSA} are all about access. View them as the golden key that opens investment opportunities unavailable anywhere else, while minimizing your personal time, effort, and risk. MENTour through Strongbrook REIC delivers access to the ultimate real estate Power Team complete with education, application and turn-key properties in your own market or the best ones in the country.
2017 Dean-Willcocks Advisory Presentation | Minimising exposure of profession...Ron Dean-Willcocks
Utilising over 80 years of experience, Dean-Willcocks Advisory provides expert insolvency solutions throughout Australia. In April 2017 Dean-Willcocks Advisory presented their paper on minimising exposure of professional advisors in the event of client insolvency to professionals in Bathurst and Dubbo, NSW.
ESOPs 101 (Series: Cross-Training for Business Lawyers 2020) Financial Poise
Employee stock ownership plans (ESOPs) are plans regulated by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA) and designed to allow employees to invest in the stock of their employer. The shareholder participants/employees as well as the sponsoring company generally receive tax benefits through the use of the plan. And while they are generally touted as designed to promote employees’ interest and efforts in maximizing the value of the company for the benefit of both employer and employees, ESOPs are often used as a method of corporate finance by the sponsoring company.
To listen to this webinar on-demand, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/esops-101-2020/
Crowdfunding from the Start-Up's Perspective (Series: Crowdfunding 2020) Financial Poise
How can businesses use the tools created by the JOBS Act to access capital? This webinar compares raising money online to traditional methods of capital raising. It also compares each of the different titles available under the JOBS Act. Finally, we discuss and compare the differences between security based crowdfunding and rewards based crowdfunding, exploring those instances where such a method would make sense.
To listen to this webinar on demand, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/crowdfunding-from-the-start-ups-perspective-2020/
Valuing Lost Profits for Litigation Purposes (Series: Valuation)Financial Poise
A competitor, contractor or other third party has taken actions that have damaged your client’s business in the form of lost profits. How do you measure the lost profits? Must you demonstrate lost profits with certainty? Over what period do you measure the lost profits? If your client has not recovered fully, can you include estimated future lost profits? These are all important questions in a lost profits case. This webinar addresses those questions and summarizes the different methods to measure lost profits, as well as some of the critical elements that must be considered in developing and presenting your damages theory in court.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/valuing-lost-profits-for-litigation-purposes-2021/
Part of the webinar series: Cross-Training for Business Lawyers 2021
Credit insurance, also called trade credit insurance or business credit insurance, is insurance for businesses for non-payment of commercial debt. It is generally offered by private insurance companies to businesses seeking insurance for non-payment due to a customer’s bankruptcy or other types of financial difficulties. It can be a critical information and hedging tool for businesses with income streams heavily dependent upon accounts receivable from customers with questionable credit worthiness or that may be facing an industry-based or regional-based financial downturn. The premium is generally based upon a financial review of the customers of the business. This webinar covers these and related topics.
If you need to know how to invest into cash flow investment real estate then check out this presentation. Email me at aduggal@rernj.com to request the video that further explains these slides.
Leveraging & Protecting Trade Secrets in the 21st Century (Series: Intellectu...Financial Poise
Trade secrets are a more important form of an intellectual property asset than ever.
Congress recently passed the Defend Trade Secrets Act of 2016, which created new federal laws that allow an owner of a trade secret to sue in federal court when its trade secrets have been misappropriated. And as technology continues to exponentially progress in the digital age of the 21st Century, the need for businesses to protect and limit access to valuable and confidential trade secret information continues to rise. The progress in technology and expansion of information also promotes means for monetizing and leveraging trade secrets.
How do you identify your trade secrets, protect them, and leverage them? These are the questions this cutting-edge webinar discusses and seeks to answer.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/leveraging-protecting-trade-secrets-in-the-21st-century-2021/
Equity Fundraising Founders Basics for Founders | Mohammed Elayan | Lunch & L...UCICove
About UCI Applied Innovation:
UCI Applied Innovation is a dynamic, innovative central platform for the UCI campus, entrepreneurs, inventors, the business community and investors to collaborate and move UCI research from lab to market.
About the Cove @ UCI:
To accelerate collaboration by better connecting innovation partners in Orange County, UCI Applied Innovation created the Cove, a physical, state-of-the-art hub for entrepreneurs to gather and navigate the resources available both on and off campus. The Cove is headquarters for UCI Applied Innovation, as well as houses several ecosystem partners including incubators, accelerators, angel investors, venture capitalists, mentors and legal experts.
Follow us on social media:
Facebook: @UCICove
Twitter: @UCICove
Instagram: @UCICove
LinkedIn: @UCIAppliedInnovation
For more information:
cove@uci.edu
http://innovation.uci.edu/
Defending Against Bankruptcy Avoidance Actions (Series: COMPLEX FINANCIAL LIT...Financial Poise
In the event of a bankruptcy, the debtor or trustee may opt to take legal action in order to recover money or property that was transferred by the debtor prior to going bankrupt. These actions, whereby such transfers are effectively reversed, are referred to as “avoidance actions.” In this webinar, the expert panel discusses the applicable provisions of the Bankruptcy Code, common avoidance actions, and key considerations when planning for and defending against these actions.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financialpoisewebinars/on_demand_webinars/defending-against-bankruptcy-avoidance-actions-2/
Crowdfunding from the Start-Up's Perspective (Series: Crowdfunding)Financial Poise
How can businesses use the tools created by the JOBS Act to access capital? This webinar compares raising money online to traditional methods of capital raising. It also compares each of the different titles available under the JOBS Act. Finally, we discuss and compare the differences between security based crowdfunding and rewards based crowdfunding, exploring those instances where such a method would make sense.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/crowdfunding-from-the-start-ups-perspective-2021/
Valuing Your Brand and Other "Soft" Assets 2021Financial Poise
Part of the webinar series: Valuation 2021.
A company’s name, logo and other intangible assets have no intrinsic value. Yet, such intellectual property (IP) rights are increasingly important. Other examples of such “soft” assets include trademarks, copyrights, and trade secrets. This webinar will help attendees understand how experts go about valuing such intangible assets.
A Menu of Products for Investors and Lawyers (Series: Commercial Litigation F...Financial Poise
Litigation funding is an increasingly-popular tool for attorneys and clients to share the risk and reward of litigation with third-party investors, and for investors to capitalize on the uncorrelated returns generated by legal-driven revenue. However, the term "litigation-" or "legal-" funding actually encompasses a handful of products, which vary based on borrower profile, stage and sector of litigation, use of proceeds, and ultimately, cost of capital and risk-reward profile. This webinar examines three funding products -- case fundings, law firm loans, and portfolio fundings -- and aims to inform attorneys on best solutions for their firms and clients, and provide an overview for institutional investors looking to allocate capital to litigations.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/a-menu-of-products-for-investors-and-lawyers-2021/
Before taking the plunge into commercial real estate investing, one should have a clear understanding of how to select the right location, preferred type and class of property, what due diligence to do, how to secure financing, how to negotiate a deal, and how to manage the property going forward as a commercial landlord. This Financial Poise panel explains the process from looking for the investment, to contract, to closing, and beyond.
Part of the webinar series: REAL ESTATE INVESTING 101 - 2022
See more at https://www.financialpoise.com/webinars/
Done-For-You Real Estate (Transactional PSA)
Done-For-You Real Estate Transactional Professional Service Agreements (PSA} are all about access. View them as the golden key that opens investment opportunities unavailable anywhere else, while minimizing your personal time, effort, and risk. MENTour through Strongbrook REIC delivers access to the ultimate real estate Power Team complete with education, application and turn-key properties in your own market or the best ones in the country.
REAL ESTATE LAW DUMBED DOWN 2022 - Representing the Commercial TenantFinancial Poise
A commercial tenant views a lease negotiation quite differently than does the landlord. As most leases tend to be drafted by the landlord, a tenant must begin an uphill battle to gain as many concessions as possible. This is an arduous task made easier by a full understanding of what are the most important issues for a tenant in a commercial lease transaction.
How does the financial profile of the tenant enter into the picture? Where can a tenant get hurt the most by hidden costs or unforeseen expenses? Why is “leverage” the most important concept to consider in this process? This webinar will help one understand how the tenant, generally the underdog in lease transactions, can turn the tables and become the most powerful player in the leasing game.
Part of the webinar series: REAL ESTATE LAW DUMBED DOWN 2022
See more at https://www.financialpoise.com/webinars/
Strongbrook Buy & Hold-Turnkey StrategyWilliam Moore
Generational Wealth Zone presents Strongbrook; A client based National Real Estate Investment Company that uses a turn-key approach to investing in Real Estate & Strongbrook Direct; A client acquisition referral network
Loanseeker is Australia's Leading Online Mortgage Broker. With a fully stocked Resource Centre to help everyone become a property investing guru. visit http://Loanseeker.com.au for more info.
There is an old carpenters’ expression, “measure twice, cut once.” M&A work is just one of many areas in business and law where this expression resonates. Buyers and sellers, like chess players anticipating many moves in advance, should envision and plan the route to get a deal done, including anticipated detours, at the onset of the transaction.
This webinar discusses the similarities and differences between basic M&A transaction structures; purchase price payment concerns; the most common issues that arise in the early stages of M&A transactions of all kinds; the relationship between ostensibly unrelated sections of an M&A agreement; and transaction timeline. One focus of this episode is a threshold question in many deals: whether the buyer will buy equity or assets. This episode will, in summary form, cover many of the issues discussed in greater depth in subsequent episodes.
Part of the webinar series: M&A BOOT CAMP - 2022
See more at https://www.financialpoise.com/webinars/
A deposit is a pre-agreed instalment towards the purchase price in a sale contract.
The Courts have held that the 2 functions of a deposit are to be:
- an earnest commitment to bind the bargain, which means a deposit acts as an indication the Buyer is serious in carrying out the bargain; and
- a guarantee of due performance, that is security of the performance.
A deposit is usually paid at or upon shortly upon the buyer’s signing of the contract.
Usually, a deposit should be no more than 10% of the total purchase price, and commonly may be less. Note: there is no specific laws on that deposit percentage amount per se*.
The other practical, commercial and financial reasons for why a deposit is useful:
> Often the seller will incur not-insignificant fees and expenses (e.g. sale preparatory work and undergoing due diligence, applying to lessor for consent to assignment of lease etc), independent of whether the actual contract proceeds to settlement or completion. So may be also used to partially-compensate for some of those costs incurred If the buyer ultimately walks away”.
> Loss of potential, other sale opportunities during the express or implied exclusivity period during the conditions precedent of sale contract. This could be months or longer
> It's good to have the buyer show it has “skin in the game” by having such "hurt money" put upfront on & the table.
Tip: Even with the best of Confidentiality Deeds/NDAs , the deposit helps reinforce the value and proprietary nature of the seller’s business or entity.
> Not uncommonly, the Buyer entity may be newly-established . Therefore, if there is default or repudiation, even if they are subsequently pursued by the seller, the Buyer may not have any actual capitalisation to be realised against!
> Lastly, if a buyer or won’t (or can’t!?) put up even the deposit, then you should have serious concerns about their financial capacity to commit all the way through the transaction.
VCs are exposed to unique challenges and risks when selling portfolio companies, and what is acceptable from a company's perspective may not be optimal for the investor base. An understanding of what goes wrong after companies are sold helps investors focus on effective planning strategies to protect returns and minimize exposure of their funds after closing.
Webinar: Managing your property manager to maximise financial resultsReal Estate Investar
Whether you are new to property investment, have an existing property portfolio or are a full time property investor, this webinar will help you maximise the financial performance of your portfolio and improve profits.
This interactive masterclass covers:
> 9 tips that will ensure you have tenants queuing up to rent your vacant property.
> How to find an A-grade property manager in an industry of full of average people.
> How to get 5-10 property managers competing for your business on every rental property.
> How to easily compare the costs and services of each property manager.
> 11 things you can do to boost your rental income by $1,000 to $10,000 per year.
> How to select and retain the best possible tenants and achieve 0% vacancy rates.
> How to figure out the best tenancy rental strategy for each property.
> The pros and cons of residential tenancy types: long term residential, boarding houses, short stay and holiday homes.
There is an old carpenters’ expression, “measure twice, cut once.” M&A work is just one of many areas in business and law where this expression resonates. Buyers and sellers, like chess players anticipating many moves in advance, should envision and plan the route to get a deal done, including anticipated detours, at the onset of the transaction.
This webinar discusses the similarities and differences between basic M&A transaction structures; purchase price payment concerns; the most common issues that arise in the early stages of M&A transactions of all kinds; the relationship between ostensibly unrelated sections of an M&A agreement; and transaction timeline. One focus of this episode is a threshold question in many deals: whether the buyer will buy equity or assets. This episode will, in summary form, cover many of the issues discussed in greater depth in subsequent episodes.
Part of the webinar series: M&A Boot Camp 2021
See more at https://www.financialpoise.com/webinars/
Structuring and Planning the M&A Transaction (Series: Private Company M&A Boo...Financial Poise
There is an old carpenters’ expression, “measure twice, cut once.” M&A work is just one of many areas in business and law where this expression resonates. Buyers and sellers, like chess players anticipating many moves in advance, should envision and plan the route to get a deal done, including anticipated detours, at the onset of the transaction.
This webinar discusses the similarities and differences between basic M&A transaction structures; purchase price payment concerns; the most common issues that arise in the early stages of M&A transactions of all kinds; the relationship between ostensibly unrelated sections of an M&A agreement; and transaction timeline. One focus of this episode is a threshold question in many deals: whether the buyer will buy equity or assets. This episode will, in summary form, cover many of the issues discussed in greater depth in subsequent episodes.
To view the accompanying webinar, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financial-poise-webinars/structuring-and-planning-the-ma-transaction-2020/
REAL ESTATE LAW DUMBED DOWN 2022 - Representing the Commercial LandlordFinancial Poise
The process of representing a commercial landlord in a lease transaction is multi-faceted. While generation of cash flow is the ultimate goal, there are other very important goals. These include minimizing risk, preserving the asset, enhancing the property and about a multitude of other issues.
This webinar provides powerful ammunition for both landlord reps and tenant reps to have in their arsenal. It focuses on the major concerns of real estate professionals in advising a landlord. When should the landlord insist on the language in the lease, and when should the landlord consider a concession or compromise? What is the role of the local real estate market in this analysis and why is it so important? After participating in this webinar, one will have a solid grasp of what commercial landlords need and why.
Part of the webinar series:
REAL ESTATE LAW DUMBED DOWN 2022
See more at https://www.financialpoise.com/webinars/
Collateral value is the foundation of all lending transactions, but even the most traditional valuation techniques require a blend of art science and require debtors and practitioners to incorporate their judgment. Where is the line between reasonable judgment and gaming the system to arrive at a valuation that skews the fact pattern to one party’s favor? This webinar presents practice pointers on how to use the ABA Model Rules as a guide to navigating ethical issues in real estate valuation. Model Rules addressed may include those that govern the client-lawyer relationship (Rule 1.1 through 1.3); those that speak to the need for candor toward the tribunal and fairness to an opposing party and counsel (Rule 3.3 through 3.4); and the necessity for truthfulness in statements to others and issues surrounding unrepresented persons (i.e. Rule 4.1 through 4.3).
Part of the webinar series: Ethical Issues in Real Estate-Based Bankruptcies 2022
See more at https://www.financialpoise.com/webinars/
Call 912-303-5065 to learn how to earn passive double digit rates of return by investing in short term deeds of trust (mortgages) secured by undervalued real estate assets with a trusted partner with a strong track record of success
Similar to Investing in Residential & Multi-Family Real Estate (Series: Real Estate Investing 101 - 2020) (20)
IP-301 POST-GRANT REVIEW TRIALS 2022 - Things to Consider Before You FileFinancial Poise
This segment will delve into considerations that come into play when filing or responding to post-grant review proceedings. These considerations include issues of real party in interest, timing, and substantive arguments.
Part of the webinar series: IP-301 POST-GRANT REVIEW TRIALS 2022
See more at https://www.financialpoise.com/webinars/
This segment will discuss the statutory and procedural background of post-grant review proceedings. It will discuss the types of proceedings available and provide a high-level discussion of how the proceedings are conducted.
Part of the webinar series:
IP-301 POST-GRANT REVIEW TRIALS 2022
See more at https://www.financialpoise.com/webinars/
THE NUTS & BOLTS OF BANKRUPTCY LAW 2022: The Nuts & Bolts of a First Day HearingFinancial Poise
Even when a bankruptcy petition is the result of a soft-landing rather than a freefall, filing a chapter 11 petition is a disruptive event. To facilitate the debtor’s entry into chapter 11 with as little disruption as possible, first day motions are filed to ensure that a debtor-in-possession can minimize interruptions and continue operating its business in order to achieve its goals in chapter 11. This webinar provides an overview of the administrative and operational first day motions typically filed by chapter 11 debtors and the process for requesting a first day hearing, providing notice of the hearing, and ensuring that the hearing runs smoothly.
Part of the webinar series: THE NUTS & BOLTS OF BANKRUPTCY LAW 2022
See more at https://www.financialpoise.com/webinars/
RESTRUCTURING, INSOLVENCY & TROUBLED COMPANIES 2022: Bad Debtor Owes Me Money!Financial Poise
Sometimes it begins when a client, tenant, or customer starts to slow-pay, with the result that your accounts receivable start to accrue gradually. Other times the issue presents itself more suddenly. Either way, you find your company owed a great deal of money that looks like it may not be collected because your client/tenant/customer has filed bankruptcy, has commenced an assignment for the benefit of creditors, has been put into receivership, or is otherwise just plain insolvent. What do you do? What should you not do? The topics discussed in this webinar include the pros and cons of putting a counterparty into involuntary bankruptcy; when and how you may be able to pursue third parties (like guarantors, directors, or officers) for the amount owed; risks related to preference attack; pros and cons of sitting on a “creditors’ committee” in a Chapter 11; how to negotiate for “critical vendor” protection in Chapter 11; and practical guidance for continuing to provide goods or services to an insolvent counterparty.
Part of the webinar series: RESTRUCTURING, INSOLVENCY & TROUBLED COMPANIES 2022
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We’ve all long heard about writing practices to avoid, including run-on sentences, excessive passive voice, and nominalization. This webinar not only discusses how those habits can damage briefs, but also explores a key habit brief-writers should embrace: using strong, precise verbs, which are the engine of a persuasive sentence. Panelists also exchange views about finding the most persuasive voice and tone, as well as the right temperature for rhetoric.
Part of the webinar series: PERSUASIVE BRIEF WRITING 2022
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CYBER SECURITY and DATA PRIVACY 2022: Data Breach Response - Before and After...Financial Poise
You’ve received the dreaded call that your company has just suffered a data breach – what do you do next? Who do you call for help? What notification obligations do you have?
With proper preparation, you can mitigate the damage caused by this unfortunate event and put your business in a position to recover. Your company may have already implemented its information security program and identified the responsible parties, including applicable outside experts, to be contacted in the event of a breach. However, now you must call up your incident response team to investigate the extent of the breach, evaluate the possible damage to your company, and determine whether you must notify your clients, customers, or the public of the breach. This webinar will help prepare you to take action when the worst happens.
Part of the webinar series:
CYBER SECURITY and DATA PRIVACY 2022
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CYBER SECURITY and DATA PRIVACY 2022_How to Build and Implement your Company'...Financial Poise
Data is one of your business’s most valuable assets and requires protection like any other asset. How can you protect your data from unauthorized access or inadvertent disclosure?
An information security program is designed to protect the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of your company’s data and information technology assets. Federal, state, or international law may also require your business to have an information security program in place.
This webinar will provide the basics of how to create and implement an information security program, beginning with identifying your incident response team, putting applicable insurance policies into place, and closing any gaps in the security of your data.
Part of the webinar series:
CYBERSECURITY & DATA PRIVACY 2022
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NEWBIE LITIGATOR SCHOOL - 101 Part 3 2022 - Enforcement: Post-Judgment Procee...Financial Poise
Obtaining a final and enforceable judgment is often just the first phase of the civil litigation process; without effective enforcement and collection, a judgment is merely a piece of paper (or electronic docket entry). This webinar provides an overview of the technical, procedural and strategic considerations necessary to monetize judgments and make litigation worthwhile.
Part of the webinar series: NEWBIE LITIGATOR SCHOOL - 101 Part 3 2022
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NEWBIE LITIGATOR SCHOOL - 101 Part 3 2022 -Appellate Practice- 101 Financial Poise
When is an appeal permitted and when should you take one? What rules and procedures govern appellate practice and how can you best avoid technical and procedural mistakes. How are appellate briefs different from those filed with the trial court and what are some keys to making them successful? And how can you best prepare for appellate oral argument? This webinar explores these questions and more with a panel of experienced appellate litigators.
Part of the webinar series: NEWBIE LITIGATOR SCHOOL - 101 Part 3 2022
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MARKETING TIPS FOR THE NEW (OR OLD!) BUSINESS OWNER 2022: Learn How to Do Con...Financial Poise
There's creating content; then there's creating great content; and then there's creating great content that actually gets seen by the ideal audience. Each of those layers has its own unique challenges. In this webinar episode, we share insights from a variety of highly experienced content creators. Each panelist member provides their own unique spin on how to create great content that gets seen by the intended audience. By the completion of this episode, the audience member will have a clear and actionable plan on how to create outstanding content that meets their unique marketing needs.
Part of the webinar series: MARKETING TIPS FOR THE NEW (OR OLD!) BUSINESS OWNER 2022
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CHAPTER 11 - INDUSTRY FOCUS 2022 - Focus on Oil and Gas Financial Poise
Although issues in oil and gas chapter 11 cases vary from case to case, there are, nonetheless, certain issues that tend to arise in most oil and gas cases. Among them: treatment of oil and gas leases, the payment of royalties, hedging agreements, and valuation. This webinar addresses such issues.
Part of the webinar series: CHAPTER 11 - INDUSTRY FOCUS 2022
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BUSINESS LAW REVIEW- 2022: Selling a Business Financial Poise
A Startup is the Founders’ baby - they dream it, created it and worked tirelessly to make it successful. Deciding it may be time to sell all or part is the easy part - acknowledging and addressing the financial and emotional issues can be challenging.
Negotiating with potential buyers or investors is time intensive, to say the least. Positioning a business for a value maximizing transaction requires planning. What professionals need to be engaged? How do the parties come to a valuation? What is the profile of the likely investor or buyer? These are just some of the questions this webinar addresses.
Part of the webinar series: BUSINESS LAW REVIEW- 2022
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BUSINESS LAW REVIEW- 2022: Immigration Law for Business-101Financial Poise
A basic understanding of immigration law is critical to a vast array of businesses operating in today’s economy. Foreign employees and their sponsoring companies will navigate a complex maze in the attempt to achieve the desired goals of the employee maximizing their ability to provide services and value to the company. One of various determining factors as to which pathway to attempt is whether the goal is an immigrant visa (also known as a “green card”) which may ultimately allow lawful permanent residence in the United States or a non-immigrant visa. The need for foreign labor affects various industries and applies to large segments of skilled, unskilled and semi-skilled workers in jobs ranging from farm to seasonal to high-tech. This webinar explains what businesses need to know in the current environment as well as how political and globalization issues will affect immigration laws going forward.
Part of the webinar series:
BUSINESS LAW REVIEW- 2022
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NEWBIE LITIGATOR SCHOOL - Part I 2022: Working With Experts Financial Poise
Expert witnesses are an integral part of modern commercial litigation. They can be used for everything from calculating damages to explaining software workflows to establishing industry standards. This webinar begins with an exploration of the common types of cases that call for use of expert testimony. From there, we discuss the rules governing experts, including expert disclosures, discovery, and expert depositions. We also discuss the Daubert standard for excluding expert testimony, and discuss how a successful Daubert motion may be brought. This hour will help you figure out when and how to hire your own expert, and will give you some ideas on how to challenge your opponent’s expert when the time comes.
Part of the webinar series:
NEWBIE LITIGATOR SCHOOL - Part I 2022
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Executive compensation continues its movement towards performance pay as the standard. Compensation structures and proxy disclosures are more and more complex. Investors and proxy advisors continue to increase influence on compensation issues. This webinar examines executive compensation, including equity-based compensation plans and executive employment and severance agreements. The importance of disclosure, alignment of risk, and metrics is also examined. Practical guidance on pay-for-performance and supplemental pay definitions is provided. The panelists discuss the effect of the Dodd-Frank Act on executive compensation, including SEC regulations. Exchange rules are compared to applicable federal law. Best practices regarding executive compensation committees and regulatory requirements for those committees are examined. Shareholder advisory groups promulgate executive compensation related advisory policies for their institutional shareholder clients annually and these policies are also discussed. Issues regarding board composition and leadership structure issues are discussed in relation to executive compensation.
Part of the webinar series:
CORPORATE REGULATORY COMPLIANCE BOOT CAMP 2022 - PART 2
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CORPORATE REGULATORY COMPLIANCE BOOT CAMP 2022 - PART 2: Securities Law Comp...Financial Poise
The Securities and Exchange Commission has been entrusted with a significant corporate compliance regulatory function, which has been expanded by seminal legislation in the recent past such as the Sarbanes-Oxley (“SOX”) and Dodd-Frank Acts. This webinar discusses board fiduciary duties and the tension between state corporate law standards and federal law. Board composition, independence, structure and processes (including best practices in regard to committees) are analyzed. Specifically, director independence is discussed as is audit committees and related requirements, regulations and exemptions. NASDAQ and the NYSE also have similar requirements for director independence and those are also discussed. The webinar also covers disclosure matters related to SOX compliance, including timing and content of an issuer's periodic disclosures. Both the legal requirements and best practices related to disclosure procedures and internal controls under SOX are examined. Means of controlling the costs of SOX, especially for smaller public companies, are also discussed, including trends in the industry related to high regulatory compliance costs. Finally, the applicability and best practices for privately held companies and SOX are considered.
Part of the webinar series: CORPORATE REGULATORY COMPLIANCE BOOT CAMP 2022 - PART 2
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The deal is complete, and the parties have finished the hard work. Or have they? Integration planning turns to execution as people, process, and technology are combined once the deal is legally closed. The buyer will need to consider the purchased business or assets from the standpoint of employees, IT, customers, suppliers, and a multitude of other areas. In addition, numerous post-closing legal issues may arise, including purchase price adjustments, breaches of representations and warranties, enforcement of key negative employment-related covenants and restrictive covenants, collection of pre-closing accounts receivable, and true-ups of final financials. This episode guides listeners through the process, timing, and issues which most commonly arise after the closing of deals.
Part of the webinar series:
M&A BOOT CAMP - 2022
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Although every deal is different, understanding any purchase/sale agreement will help you understand other purchase sale agreements. Stated another way, most M&A documents include a similar set of sections and use a similar vocabulary. This episode explains specific, common provisions and discusses how buyers and sellers approach these provisions differently, particularly in light of situational differences (e.g. whether the assets being bought and sold are equity of a company or the assets of a company; whether the seller is going to cease to exists or not). Topics covered will include tax issues; corporate governance; closing conditions; representations and warranties; indemnification provisions; earn-outs; restrictive covenants; antitrust; intellectual property; and employment issues.
Part of the webinar series:
M&A BOOT CAMP - 2022
See more at https://www.financialpoise.com/webinars/
Buying, selling, or merging a company typically follows a similar set of steps from deal to deal. The amount of time each step takes varies but the order of the steps is fairly uniform because the steps follow a certain logic: before the parties share meaningful information, they should sign a confidentiality agreement (a/k/a “non-disclosure agreement,” or “NDA”); once a baseline amount of information is known by the would-be buyer, it commonly presents a letter of intent or term sheet to the target or its owner, which serves as an outline for a deal but does not necessarily bind the parties to consummate the transaction; additional due diligence and the negotiation, drafting and signing of definitive documents comes next. The parties then obtain any needed regulatory and/or contractual third party approvals; followed by closing; and finally by post-closing tasks. This webinar will discuss all these steps from a macro perspective so that you can see the forest for the trees, but does not do a deep dive into any single topic. Think of this webinar as a road map or timeline for a typical deal.
Part of the webinar series:
M&A BOOT CAMP - 2022
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CROWDFUNDING 2022 - Crowdfunding from the Investor's PerspectiveFinancial Poise
This webinar focuses on the opportunities that crowdfunding makes available to the investor, and how the investor should go about navigating this new world. We begin with a basic overview of the new regulatory regime, the requirements to invest, and the on-boarding process one should expect. We then dive deeper into the market opportunity, including how to access and select investments, and expectations investors should set for themselves and the projects they select. This is not intended to support any specific deal selection, but instead sheds a light upon the basic selection criteria available, the method to go about investing and what to avoid.
Part of the webinar series: Crowdfunding 2022
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We all have good and bad thoughts from time to time and situation to situation. We are bombarded daily with spiraling thoughts(both negative and positive) creating all-consuming feel , making us difficult to manage with associated suffering. Good thoughts are like our Mob Signal (Positive thought) amidst noise(negative thought) in the atmosphere. Negative thoughts like noise outweigh positive thoughts. These thoughts often create unwanted confusion, trouble, stress and frustration in our mind as well as chaos in our physical world. Negative thoughts are also known as “distorted thinking”.
Operation “Blue Star” is the only event in the history of Independent India where the state went into war with its own people. Even after about 40 years it is not clear if it was culmination of states anger over people of the region, a political game of power or start of dictatorial chapter in the democratic setup.
The people of Punjab felt alienated from main stream due to denial of their just demands during a long democratic struggle since independence. As it happen all over the word, it led to militant struggle with great loss of lives of military, police and civilian personnel. Killing of Indira Gandhi and massacre of innocent Sikhs in Delhi and other India cities was also associated with this movement.
This is a presentation by Dada Robert in a Your Skill Boost masterclass organised by the Excellence Foundation for South Sudan (EFSS) on Saturday, the 25th and Sunday, the 26th of May 2024.
He discussed the concept of quality improvement, emphasizing its applicability to various aspects of life, including personal, project, and program improvements. He defined quality as doing the right thing at the right time in the right way to achieve the best possible results and discussed the concept of the "gap" between what we know and what we do, and how this gap represents the areas we need to improve. He explained the scientific approach to quality improvement, which involves systematic performance analysis, testing and learning, and implementing change ideas. He also highlighted the importance of client focus and a team approach to quality improvement.
2024.06.01 Introducing a competency framework for languag learning materials ...Sandy Millin
http://sandymillin.wordpress.com/iateflwebinar2024
Published classroom materials form the basis of syllabuses, drive teacher professional development, and have a potentially huge influence on learners, teachers and education systems. All teachers also create their own materials, whether a few sentences on a blackboard, a highly-structured fully-realised online course, or anything in between. Despite this, the knowledge and skills needed to create effective language learning materials are rarely part of teacher training, and are mostly learnt by trial and error.
Knowledge and skills frameworks, generally called competency frameworks, for ELT teachers, trainers and managers have existed for a few years now. However, until I created one for my MA dissertation, there wasn’t one drawing together what we need to know and do to be able to effectively produce language learning materials.
This webinar will introduce you to my framework, highlighting the key competencies I identified from my research. It will also show how anybody involved in language teaching (any language, not just English!), teacher training, managing schools or developing language learning materials can benefit from using the framework.
Read| The latest issue of The Challenger is here! We are thrilled to announce that our school paper has qualified for the NATIONAL SCHOOLS PRESS CONFERENCE (NSPC) 2024. Thank you for your unwavering support and trust. Dive into the stories that made us stand out!
The French Revolution, which began in 1789, was a period of radical social and political upheaval in France. It marked the decline of absolute monarchies, the rise of secular and democratic republics, and the eventual rise of Napoleon Bonaparte. This revolutionary period is crucial in understanding the transition from feudalism to modernity in Europe.
For more information, visit-www.vavaclasses.com
Unit 8 - Information and Communication Technology (Paper I).pdfThiyagu K
This slides describes the basic concepts of ICT, basics of Email, Emerging Technology and Digital Initiatives in Education. This presentations aligns with the UGC Paper I syllabus.
5. Disclaimer
The material in this webinar is for informational purposes only. It should not be considered
legal, financial or other professional advice. You should consult with an attorney or other
appropriate professional to determine what may be best for your individual needs. While
Financial Poise™ takes reasonable steps to ensure that information it publishes is accurate,
Financial Poise™ makes no guaranty in this regard.
5
6. Meet the Faculty
MODERATOR:
William McGuinn - Sugar Felsenthal Grais & Helsinger LLP
PANELISTS:
Tracy Treger - Syndicated Equities
Tammy Kelly - Redwood Capital Group LLC
Scott Weinstein - Field and Goldberg, LLC
6
7. About This Webinar
Investing in Residential & Multi-Family Real Estate
Apartment buildings and other residential and multi-family housing can provide a stable
income to an investor. This Financial Poise webinar discusses some of the pros and cons of
being a landlord. It provides a basic overview about how to find and assess opportunities,
obtain financing, negotiate a deal, and manage a multi-family investment. The accounting,
tax, and legal aspects of being a landlord are part of the discussion.
7
8. About This Series
Real Estate Investing 101
Real estate has always been a popular asset class for investment. After all, as the adage
says, “they’re not making more of it.” More and more investors are turning to real estate as an
investment class.
Investors considering making an investment in real estate have a variety of choices: retail,
office buildings, industrial, raw land, and, of course residential. This Financial Poise webinar
series covers several types of real estate classes that one may choose to invest in, explaining
where to look for opportunities; how to diligence them; possible funding solutions; and best
practice for execution.
Each Financial Poise Webinar is delivered in Plain English, understandable to investors, business owners, and
executives without much background in these areas, yet is of primary value to attorneys, accountants, and other
seasoned professionals. Each episode brings you into engaging, sometimes humorous, conversations designed to
entertain as it teaches. Each episode in the series is designed to be viewed independently of the other episodes so that
participants will enhance their knowledge of this area whether they attend one, some, or all episodes.
8
9. Episodes in this Series
#1: Investing in Residential & Multi-Family Real Estate
Premiere date: 2/18/20
#2: Investing in Commercial Property
Premiere date: 3/17/20
#3: Investing in Real Estate through Equity Crowdfunding
Premiere date: 4/14/20
9
11. Types of Investment Residential Property
• Single family home/condominium
• Full time rental or partial use/partial rental
• Multifamily
11
12. Potential Advantages of Multi-Family as Compared
to Single-Unit Investing
• Cash flow
• Rental diversification
• Economies of scale/ affordability of professional management
• Use of more leverage
• Less competition (not competing against owner-occupiers)
12
13. Factors to Consider in Selecting a Multi-Family
Building
• Location – proximity to public transit, schools, shopping
• Amenities of property
• Condition of property
13
14. Economic Due Diligence Tips
• Determine market rates for similar properties in same are
• Determine vacancy rates in area
• Determine costs for repairs/painting when typical tenant vacates
• Estimate operating costs
Fixed expenses – obtain copy of seller’s insurance policy, property tax bill, utilities
bills, management company bills
Variable expenses – obtain property’s financial statements & compare to actual
invoices. Consider cost to eventually replace roofs, HVAC, etc.
14
15. Other Expenses to Consider
• Advertising
• Cleaning and maintenance
• Commissions paid to rental agents
• Home owner association/condo dues
• Insurance premiums
• Legal fees
• Mortgage interest
• Taxes
• Utilities
• Management Fees
15
16. Acquisition/Disposition Costs
• Transfer taxes
• Title insurance
• Loan fees (tax and insurance escrows)
• Move in- move out fees
• Legal fees
• Due diligence costs (inspection, environmental, etc.)
• Survey
• Broker’s commission
16
17. Contract Considerations
• Earnest Money and how it’s held
• Contingencies
Due diligence
Financing
Other (permits, licenses, approvals, etc)
• Representations
17
18. Contract Considerations
• Closing costs
Who pays for what
Prorations/reprorations of taxes, rents, income and expense
• Representations and how long they survive
• Title survey requirements
• Closing mechanics and deliverables
18
19. Key Consideration
• Tenant turnover
• Collections
• Maintenance
Rule of thumb – any building with 20+ units will support cost of professional
management and a live-in manager; 10-20 units will usually only support a live-in
manager; < 10 unites usually require owner to manage
Potential for appreciation
o Discounted price
o Fixer upper
o Rezoning potential
19
20. Financing
• Commonly based on property’s ability to generate income as opposed to buyer’s credit
• Sometimes such investing is encouraged through favorable financing regulations
• Leverage – pros and cons
Average down payment = approximately 30% of purchase price
Amount of equity invested can change risk profile
20
21. What is Equity?
• In real estate, the financial value of someone's property over and above the amount the
person owes in debt.
• For example, assume you buy a home worth $100,000. If your mortgage is for $80,000,
then your loan to value ratio is 80% (because your loan of $80,000 is 80% of the home's total
value).
Calculate the LTV ratio by dividing the loan value into the property value:
80,000/100,000 = 0.8.
21
22. Generating an Operating Proforma
• Revenue: Rent and other income (parking, utility reimbursement, etc.)
• Expenses: Property Taxes, Insurance, Repairs & Maint., Turnover Costs (leasing & make
ready), Landscaping, Utilities, Contract Work, Legal, etc.
• Net Operating Income: Revenue less Expenses (NOI: Purchase price creates a cap
rate value)
• Financing Expenses: Interest, Principal, Reserves
• Capital Expenses (roof, windows, appliance replacement, major repair, etc.)
• Cash Flow: NOI less financing costs and Capital Items – when created for a predicted
investment hold period, a DCR analysis can be completed.
22
23. Cap Rates
• If you collect $1,000,000 in rents and other income (i.e. vending machines) and pay
$600,000 in expenses (excluding major capital expenditures), your “Net Operating Income” is
$400,000.
• Once you have the NOI, divide the price or value of the property into it. For example, if
you have $400,000 in NOI, and you paid $4.8 million for the property, the Cap Rate is =
8.33%.
23
24. Cash On Cash Return
• If you have a mortgage, your return isn't the money you collect in your NOI. It's what you
have left after making your mortgage payments
• To calculate your after-debt return, called a cash-on-cash return, you divide that net cash
flow by your down payment. If you put $700,000 down on that $2.4 million property, you
would owe $1.7 million
• If your annual debt service was $130,000, and you took it out of the $200,000 NOI, you
would end up with a $70,000 annual cash-on-cash return
• When you relate the $70,000 to your $700,000 down payment, you would end up with a
10 percent cash on cash return
24
25. Alternative to Cap Rate
• A Discounted Cash Flow analysis assumes an investment for a period of time, and
discounts it back at an investment rate. This can be analyzed as an IRR or Net Present
Value. Ignoring the NPV for now, the IRR allows one to determine the return of an
investment over a period of time. The calculation includes the initial investment, a projected
end value for the investment and all of the distributions in between. While it has some faults,
it can be a more accurate tool than a cap rate.
25
26. How Do You Calculate NOI?
Net Operating Income Formula
Potential Rental Income
- Vacancy and Credit Losses
Effective Rental Income
+ Other Income
Gross Operating Income
- Operating Expenses
Net Operating Income
26
27. Key Contract Provisions
• Contingencies – inspections and attorney review
• Tax proration – make sure you understand local taxes, payment and reassessment dates
• Seller reps and warranties
• Required condition of title
• Default and remedies
• Amount of Earnest Money required and who holds
• Proration of Rents and assignment of Security Deposits
• Assignment of leases and collection of rents following closing
27
28. Title and Survey Considerations
• Boundary line issues – (Insured over by title?)
• Easements (must be reviewed and understood)
• Liens - should be released at closing
• CCR – covenants, conditions and restrictions of record – should be reviewed and
understood
• Condo or homeowner’s association documents – any restrictions on leases/sales
• Tax status
28
29. How to Take Title
• Personally?
• LLC, Partnership or corporation
Advantage is limitation of liability to assets of the entity
Holding title personally is never recommended
Lender issues with holding in an entity
29
30. Considerations if Self-Managing
• Leasing strategy – How will building be kept occupied? Cost of leasing. Understanding
Landlord-Tenant laws.
• Repairs and maintenance – Do you have time? How will tenant issues be handled?
• Property tax assessment monitoring and appeals.
• Capital Improvements/Construction: Who will monitor and assist when larger items need
to be addressed?
30
31. Multiple Properties
• With multiple properties – several issues should be considered:
Should all be titled in the same entity or should new entities be formed for each –
isolating liability for each property in each entity
Location – Ideally they are close to aid with ease of management
What insurance coverage is available across properties – even if held in different
entities
31
32. Sustainable Growth
• Steady economic growth and key drivers will keep the multifamily market moving forward
in 2016.
Multifamily rental demand kept pace with the large wave of new supply in 2015 and
will remain strong into the foreseeable future.
o Favorable demographic trends, strength in the job market and reduced
affordability of owning a home will continue to fuel strong demand for multifamily
rental units.
o As more supply enters the markets, the national vacancy rate will increase
slightly, but it will remain less than the historical average through 2016. As a
result, rent growth will remain strong until new supply can catch up with demand.
32
33. Sustainable Growth
In 2015, 306,000 multifamily units were completed and entered the market – the most
in a single year since 1989. The level of new multifamily supply is expected to remain
elevated over the next few years, given that the number of new construction permits
rose again in 2015.
The labor market added 2.7 million jobs and is near full employment as the
unemployment rate finished 2015 at 5 percent. The strengthening labor market will
put upward pressure on wage growth in 2016.
Despite the Federal Reserve’s decision to increase interest rates in December 2015,
multifamily property price growth will remain strong and capitalization rates will not be
significantly affected in the short-term.
Multifamily origination hit record volume in 2015.
33
37. About The Faculty
William McGuinn - wmcguinn@sfgh.com
Bill’s real estate practice extends to the acquisition, development, sale, leasing and financing of
commercial, office, residential and retail properties. In his affordable housing practice, Bill has
represented owners and developers of thousands of housing units in numerous states with multi-
layered financing including taxable and tax exempt bonds, low income housing tax credits, HOPE
VI, Community Development Block Grants, Neighborhood Stabilization Program funds, Tax Credit
Assistance Program and Tax Credit Exchange Program. Bill has also represented developers of
conventionally financed projects, both residential and commercial. He also guides buyers and
sellers, landlords and tenants through all aspects of their respective transactions. Aside from real
estate matters, Bill has worked with numerous closely held businesses on a variety of matters
including representing business in obtaining credit facilities, structuring start-up organizations and
the purchase and sale of a number of business entities. Bill is an avid sailor and participates
annually in the Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac. Bill has also competed in the Transpac,
racing from Long Beach, California to Honolulu, Hawaii.
37
38. About The Faculty
Tracy Treger - ttreger@syneq.com
Tracy Treger is Principal at Syndicated Equities. Tracy helps high net worth individuals and family
offices to profitably invest in real estate. She also assists investors in identifying appropriate
replacement property to complete tax-deferred exchanges under Section 1031 of the Internal
Revenue Code. Drawing upon her 20 years of legal experience in the areas of real estate,
bankruptcy and corporate restructuring, finance, and commercial law, Tracy seeks out
opportunities to improve the relationship between Syndicated Equities and its investors, to cultivate
new investors, and to identify new investment opportunities and align them with investors’ goals.
Tracy joined the Syndicated Equities team in 2013 after serving as vice president and assistant
general counsel for a private REIT, where she handled all legal aspects of the company’s daily
operations and its joint venture relationships in the U.S. and Mexico. Prior to working with the
REIT, she was a partner in two large Chicago-based law firms with national and international
practices. Tracy holds a B.A. in Psychology and an M.S. in Psychological Services from the
University of Pennsylvania, and a J.D. from Chicago Kent College of Law. She is a committee chair
for CREW Chicago, and actively serves on the Global Advisory Committee, Foundation board, and
regional board of the Anti-Defamation League (ADL).
38
39. About The Faculty
Tammy Kelly - Kelly@RedwoodCapGroup.com
Tammy is a Senior Vice President of Asset Management at Redwood Capital Group. Ms. Kelly, CCIM, CPM is
responsible for oversight of all asset management, including budgeting and capital expenditure requirements, as
well as all strategic dispositions. She also assists with sourcing and underwriting the firm’s investments. Ms.
Kelly optimizes value by managing with strategic oversight and by identifying and seizing market opportunities
thereby maximizing asset values. Prior to joining the Firm, Ms. Kelly was Senior Vice President at Blue Vista
Capital Management from 2006-2014 where she oversaw a multi-million dollar commercial real estate portfolio
consisting of various asset classes. Ms. Kelly’s asset management responsibilities at Blue Vista included
executing on strategy and monitoring asset performance, as well as serving as the liaison with the Firm’s
operating partners. Prior to her tenure at Blue Vista Ms. Kelly spent a year at Equity Investment Group where
she was responsible for overseeing, coordinating and evaluating the company’s property acquisitions, which
consisted of closing over 2 million square feet of retail shopping centers. From 1999 to 2005, she worked as a
senior property manager for both Equity Investment Group and New Plan Excel Realty Trust where she
managed retail shopping center portfolios in excess of 1.4 million square feet, respectively.
To read more, go to: https://www.financialpoise.com/financialpoisewebinars/faculty/tammy-kelly/
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40. About The Faculty
Scott Weinstein - SWeinstein@fieldandgoldberg.com
Scott A. Weinstein comes to the Field and Goldberg, LLC having developed a broad-based
background in commercial real estate. Mr. Weinstein’s experience includes working with a fortune
500 company where he handled transaction financing and deal structures. Having served as
president, counsel and co-owner of a successful real estate title company, Mr. Weinstein brings a
unique perspective and understanding of the daily and ongoing business issues clients face and is
able to provide practical and proactive counsel. Mr. Weinstein regularly represents commercial real
estate clients in all aspects of commercial transactions including lease negotiations for landlords
and tenants (including franchisees) nationwide on retail, office and industrial leases; acquisitions
and sales of office, industrial and multi-family apartment buildings, and shopping centers;
financing; and condominium deconversions. Admitted to practice in the State of Illinois and the
U.S. District, Northern District of Illinois, Florida and New York, Mr. Weinstein received his Juris
Doctor degree from Temple University Beasley School of Law and his Bachelor’s degree from the
University of Maryland at College Park.
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41. Questions or Comments?
If you have any questions about this webinar that you did not get to ask during the live
premiere, or if you are watching this webinar On Demand, please do not hesitate to email us
at info@financialpoise.com with any questions or comments you may have. Please include
the name of the webinar in your email and we will do our best to provide a timely response.
IMPORTANT NOTE: The material in this presentation is for general educational purposes
only. It has been prepared primarily for attorneys and accountants for use in the pursuit of
their continuing legal education and continuing professional education.
41
42. About Financial Poise
42
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