SlideShare a Scribd company logo
Align Marketing Results to Business
Outcomes Based on User Intent
With
Hiral Jasani, Product Marketing Manager at CleverTap
Jay Magdani, Product Manager at CleverTap
RETAIN YOUR USERS FOR LIFE
An Experience Optimization
Platform
We offer a customer data platform (CDP), real-time customer
insights, a segmentation engine and powerful engagement
tools into one intelligent marketing platform.
The CleverTap Experience Optimization Platform
CUSTOMER RETENTION SUITE
Marketing
Analytics
Omnichannel
Campaigns
Marketing
Automation
Personalization
At Scale
Geolocation
Targeting
Experimentation
& Testing
Drive Long Term
User Retention and
Revenue Growth
MobileDesktop CRM POS Call CenterUnify Data Across Silos
CUSTOMER DATA PLATFORM & REAL-TIME ANALYTICS
AI/ML Powered Customer Insights
Get Actionable
Data Driven Insights
ADVANCED SEGMENTATION ENGINE
Intent Based, Automated and Psychographic Segmentation
Orchestrate
Hyper Personalized
Engagement Strategies
Our Customers
Demand & FoodTech Ecomm & more
Telco & Finance Media & OTT Travel & Ticketing
$2 Billion
Combined Revenue Delivered$
25 Million
Campaigns Sent Per Month
1 Billion
Devices Reached
8000+
Customers Globally
Proven Performance & Scale
CleverTap Architecture solves for a variety of use cases without any assumption of domain
Agenda
● How Customer Segmentation Is Changing the Game for Marketers
● Rule-based Marketing vs. Goal-based Marketing
● Why User Intent is So Powerful
● Making User Intent Actionable - Use Cases
● Case Studies
● Q&A
Let’s Get Started!
Why Customer Segmentation Matters?
Most companies spend a
significant amount in app
development
Retaining users is more
challenging than ever
The window of
opportunity is getting
smaller
Mobile apps account for
57 percent of all digital
media usage
Attention span of today’s
mobile user has dropped
from 15 seconds in 2000 to
8 seconds since 2015.
Over 51% users
download less than 1 app
a month.
How Customer Segmentation is Changing the Game for Marketers?
76% of Users 3.64 devices84% of Users
Expect brands to
anticipate their needs
and make relevant
Say being treated like a
person, not a number is
the key to winning.
Every user is going to
interact with your
brand across 4 devices
Proactive Personalized Omnichannel
Types of Data to Segment
Age
Marital Status
Gender
Income
Ethnic background
Education level
Demographics
Activities
Attitude
Opinion
Personalities
Cognitive Attributes
Values
Psychographics
Technographics
Platform
Device
Browser
Geographics
Local
National
Regional
International
Climate
Behavioral
Benefit
Pattern
Usage Rate
MARKET
SEGMENTATION
Segmentation Strategies
● User Activity
● Segmentation based on business/domain knowledge
● Usage rates/App installs
● Retention rates/CLV
● Segment to segment comparison
Average User Acquisition Costs
Source: Liftoff
Average Email Marketing Benchmarks
INDUSTRY
OP EN
R AT E
CL ICK
R AT E
U NSUBSCRI BE

RATE
RETAIL 19.36% 2.24% 0.27%
TRAVEL &

TRANSPORTATION
20.03% 2.00% 0.27%
MEDIA & 

PUBLISHING
21.92% 4.55% 0.12%
Source: Mailchimp
Rule-based Marketing vs. Goal-based Marketing
RULE-B ASED MARKETIN G GOAL-BASED MAR KETI NG
Based on hard triggers Based on probability
Driven by past behavior Driven by omni-channel customer interactions in real-time
Human bias and opinions Eliminates human bias
Scaling challenges Scales effectively
Why Use Intent?
Intent trumps loyalty, past behavior, or demographics.
Intent brings relevance, context, and immediacy.
• Run a huge discount promotion => most conversions from loyal users anyway
• Demographics, technographics, past behavior => still not a slam dunk
• Customer journeys look different every time => can’t predict what’s next?
Making User Intent Actionable
Start your Marketing Campaign with a Business Goal
• Which users are most likely to uninstall?
• Which users are most likely to upgrade their
subscription?
• How can I maximize revenue for weekend orders?
• What can I do to increase repeat purchases over
the next 30 days?
Pick a Segment: Users residing in California
Use Case: Food Tech
Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl week
Create a Goal:
Maximize the number
of pizzas ordered
during the Super Bowl
weekend.
1
Use Case: Food Tech
Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl
Let the Coeus Data
Science Engine Predict
the Outcome
2
Use Case: Food Tech
Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl
Identify Intent Based
Segments
3
Use Case: Food Tech
Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl
Create a campaign
using intent segments
4
Use Case: Food Tech
Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl
Maximize Your Goal
with a Deeper
Understanding of User
Intent
5
Use Case: Food Tech
Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl
Use Case: Food Tech
Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl
• Number of campaigns = 3
• Actual number of orders increased by 4K
• Average Order Value (AOV) = $20
• => Additional revenue of $20*4K = $70K
Target Segment Size Orders Orders (%) Result Real Impact *
Before 1,26,53,285 54,841 0.43%
Increased
orders by 7%
43% boost in orders
with user engagement
(as opposed to Control
Group)
After 1,26,53,285 58,230 0.46%
IBS Size (in %)
Converting
Users (in %)
Most Likely 0.05 10
Moderately
Likely
0.1 15
Least Likely 93 75
With IBS, identify segments that convert substantially higher than your base conversion rate(1.5-4%).
As a marketer, you can concentrate your efforts on moderately likely or least likely.
0.15% of users = 25% conversions
Use Case: Food Tech
Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl
Use Case: Food Tech
Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl
RESULTS
Improve bottom line by reducing promotional spend
- Fewer special offer codes (50% off) to the moderately likely segment, (0.1% )
- Higher order value for each purchase
Optimize user experience with thoughtful engagement
- Moderate and low intent users typically comprise a majority (>95%)
- Spend less time on users already on the path to purchase
- Craft highly targeted messages to a smaller segment of users with variable
pricing and promotions.
Create a Goal:
Minimise App
Uninstalls
1
Use Case: General
Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
Let the Coeus Data
Science Engine Predict
the Outcome
2
Use Case: General
Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
Use Case: General
Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
Identify Intent Based
Segments
3
Create a campaign
using intent segments
4
Use Case: General
Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
Maximize Your Goal
with a Deeper
Understanding of User
Intent
5
Use Case: General
Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
• Number of campaigns = 5
• Actual number of uninstalls decreased to 37K
Target Segment
Size
Orders Orders (%) Result Real Impact *
Predicted 5,02,627 65,780 13.09%
Decreased
Uninstalls by
43%
32% drop in uninstalls
with user engagement
(as opposed to Control
Group)
Actual 5,02,627 37,326 7.43%
Use Case: General
Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
IBS Size (in %)
Converting
Users (in %)
Most Likely 92 84
Moderately
Likely
3 12
Least Likely 0.7 4
Base conversion rate = 2%
With IBS, identify segments that convert substantially higher than your base conversion rate.
As a marketer, you can concentrate your efforts on moderately likely or least likely.
3.7% of users = 16% uninstalls
Use Case: General
Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
RESULTS
Improve retention based on likelihood to drop off
- Win back valuable users with timely content
- Attribute results directly to your marketing campaign — giving credit where it’s
due.
Optimize media spend on high value users before they lapse
- Recognize high value users before they uninstall to optimize your media
strategy
- Use the right channel to win back users in real-time
Use Case: General
Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
Opportunity For Marketers
Predict results for any time-bound business goal and take the necessary steps to win.
Create tailored engagement strategies with highly relevant messaging, creatives, offers, and pricing options.
Save time and money on promotions and discounts to customers who would have purchased anyway.
Identify user micro-segments that you can actually influence, instead of spamming a broad database of users.
More accurately predict marketing campaign ROI and transform your marketing team from a cost center to a revenue
center.
Quantify the real value of your marketing team’s efforts so that you can give credit where it’s due.
Case Studies
Top Ecommerce Company In South America
Problem Statement
• Low NPS score
• Low conversion rates
• Marketing team always scrambling for the right one-size-fits-all content
Top Ecommerce Company In South America
For 4,091,068 users in the segment, ‘All Users’ as of Oct 29, 2018 who will do purchase by Nov 05, 2018
Customer Purchases
Conversion rate in Most Likely: 75%
Conversion rate in Moderately Likely: 30%
Conversion rate in Least Likely: <1%
This led to:-
- Improved NPS by 10 points
- Exactly 5 campaigns in the calendar
- Improved conversion rate by ~9%
Predicted Conversion: 45000
Number of campaigns: 5
Actual conversions: ~49000
Top Online Ticketing Company In Europe
Problem Statement
• High uninstall rates
• Low LTV due to high acquisition cost coupled with low retention rates
• Retention campaigns are hard as they require specific content and cannot be sent to all users
• Unsure of the expected uninstalls in the future
Top Online Ticketing Company In Europe
For 21,681,948 users in the segment, ‘All Users, Nov 1, 2018 who will uninstall by Nov 30, 2018
App Uninstalled
=> 25% avoidable uninstalls
This led to:-
- Know exactly what they are up against
- Already seeing improved November LTV
- Ran highly targeted uninstall campaigns
- Reduced uninstalls rate by ~13%
Predicted Churn: 8000
Number of campaigns: 2
Actual Churn: ~6900
Thank You!
clevertap.com/live-product-demo/
Questions?

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Intent Based Segmentation by CleverTap

  • 1. Align Marketing Results to Business Outcomes Based on User Intent With Hiral Jasani, Product Marketing Manager at CleverTap Jay Magdani, Product Manager at CleverTap RETAIN YOUR USERS FOR LIFE
  • 2. An Experience Optimization Platform We offer a customer data platform (CDP), real-time customer insights, a segmentation engine and powerful engagement tools into one intelligent marketing platform.
  • 3. The CleverTap Experience Optimization Platform CUSTOMER RETENTION SUITE Marketing Analytics Omnichannel Campaigns Marketing Automation Personalization At Scale Geolocation Targeting Experimentation & Testing Drive Long Term User Retention and Revenue Growth MobileDesktop CRM POS Call CenterUnify Data Across Silos CUSTOMER DATA PLATFORM & REAL-TIME ANALYTICS AI/ML Powered Customer Insights Get Actionable Data Driven Insights ADVANCED SEGMENTATION ENGINE Intent Based, Automated and Psychographic Segmentation Orchestrate Hyper Personalized Engagement Strategies
  • 4. Our Customers Demand & FoodTech Ecomm & more Telco & Finance Media & OTT Travel & Ticketing
  • 5. $2 Billion Combined Revenue Delivered$ 25 Million Campaigns Sent Per Month 1 Billion Devices Reached 8000+ Customers Globally Proven Performance & Scale CleverTap Architecture solves for a variety of use cases without any assumption of domain
  • 6. Agenda ● How Customer Segmentation Is Changing the Game for Marketers ● Rule-based Marketing vs. Goal-based Marketing ● Why User Intent is So Powerful ● Making User Intent Actionable - Use Cases ● Case Studies ● Q&A
  • 8. Why Customer Segmentation Matters? Most companies spend a significant amount in app development Retaining users is more challenging than ever The window of opportunity is getting smaller Mobile apps account for 57 percent of all digital media usage Attention span of today’s mobile user has dropped from 15 seconds in 2000 to 8 seconds since 2015. Over 51% users download less than 1 app a month.
  • 9. How Customer Segmentation is Changing the Game for Marketers? 76% of Users 3.64 devices84% of Users Expect brands to anticipate their needs and make relevant Say being treated like a person, not a number is the key to winning. Every user is going to interact with your brand across 4 devices Proactive Personalized Omnichannel
  • 10. Types of Data to Segment Age Marital Status Gender Income Ethnic background Education level Demographics Activities Attitude Opinion Personalities Cognitive Attributes Values Psychographics Technographics Platform Device Browser Geographics Local National Regional International Climate Behavioral Benefit Pattern Usage Rate MARKET SEGMENTATION
  • 11. Segmentation Strategies ● User Activity ● Segmentation based on business/domain knowledge ● Usage rates/App installs ● Retention rates/CLV ● Segment to segment comparison
  • 12. Average User Acquisition Costs Source: Liftoff
  • 13. Average Email Marketing Benchmarks INDUSTRY OP EN R AT E CL ICK R AT E U NSUBSCRI BE
 RATE RETAIL 19.36% 2.24% 0.27% TRAVEL &
 TRANSPORTATION 20.03% 2.00% 0.27% MEDIA & 
 PUBLISHING 21.92% 4.55% 0.12% Source: Mailchimp
  • 14. Rule-based Marketing vs. Goal-based Marketing RULE-B ASED MARKETIN G GOAL-BASED MAR KETI NG Based on hard triggers Based on probability Driven by past behavior Driven by omni-channel customer interactions in real-time Human bias and opinions Eliminates human bias Scaling challenges Scales effectively
  • 15. Why Use Intent? Intent trumps loyalty, past behavior, or demographics. Intent brings relevance, context, and immediacy. • Run a huge discount promotion => most conversions from loyal users anyway • Demographics, technographics, past behavior => still not a slam dunk • Customer journeys look different every time => can’t predict what’s next?
  • 16. Making User Intent Actionable Start your Marketing Campaign with a Business Goal • Which users are most likely to uninstall? • Which users are most likely to upgrade their subscription? • How can I maximize revenue for weekend orders? • What can I do to increase repeat purchases over the next 30 days?
  • 17. Pick a Segment: Users residing in California Use Case: Food Tech Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl week
  • 18. Create a Goal: Maximize the number of pizzas ordered during the Super Bowl weekend. 1 Use Case: Food Tech Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl
  • 19. Let the Coeus Data Science Engine Predict the Outcome 2 Use Case: Food Tech Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl
  • 20. Identify Intent Based Segments 3 Use Case: Food Tech Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl
  • 21. Create a campaign using intent segments 4 Use Case: Food Tech Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl
  • 22. Maximize Your Goal with a Deeper Understanding of User Intent 5 Use Case: Food Tech Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl
  • 23. Use Case: Food Tech Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl • Number of campaigns = 3 • Actual number of orders increased by 4K • Average Order Value (AOV) = $20 • => Additional revenue of $20*4K = $70K Target Segment Size Orders Orders (%) Result Real Impact * Before 1,26,53,285 54,841 0.43% Increased orders by 7% 43% boost in orders with user engagement (as opposed to Control Group) After 1,26,53,285 58,230 0.46%
  • 24. IBS Size (in %) Converting Users (in %) Most Likely 0.05 10 Moderately Likely 0.1 15 Least Likely 93 75 With IBS, identify segments that convert substantially higher than your base conversion rate(1.5-4%). As a marketer, you can concentrate your efforts on moderately likely or least likely. 0.15% of users = 25% conversions Use Case: Food Tech Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl
  • 25. Use Case: Food Tech Increase Revenue Per Customer During the Super Bowl RESULTS Improve bottom line by reducing promotional spend - Fewer special offer codes (50% off) to the moderately likely segment, (0.1% ) - Higher order value for each purchase Optimize user experience with thoughtful engagement - Moderate and low intent users typically comprise a majority (>95%) - Spend less time on users already on the path to purchase - Craft highly targeted messages to a smaller segment of users with variable pricing and promotions.
  • 26. Create a Goal: Minimise App Uninstalls 1 Use Case: General Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
  • 27. Let the Coeus Data Science Engine Predict the Outcome 2 Use Case: General Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
  • 28. Use Case: General Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls Identify Intent Based Segments 3
  • 29. Create a campaign using intent segments 4 Use Case: General Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
  • 30. Maximize Your Goal with a Deeper Understanding of User Intent 5 Use Case: General Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
  • 31. • Number of campaigns = 5 • Actual number of uninstalls decreased to 37K Target Segment Size Orders Orders (%) Result Real Impact * Predicted 5,02,627 65,780 13.09% Decreased Uninstalls by 43% 32% drop in uninstalls with user engagement (as opposed to Control Group) Actual 5,02,627 37,326 7.43% Use Case: General Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
  • 32. IBS Size (in %) Converting Users (in %) Most Likely 92 84 Moderately Likely 3 12 Least Likely 0.7 4 Base conversion rate = 2% With IBS, identify segments that convert substantially higher than your base conversion rate. As a marketer, you can concentrate your efforts on moderately likely or least likely. 3.7% of users = 16% uninstalls Use Case: General Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
  • 33. RESULTS Improve retention based on likelihood to drop off - Win back valuable users with timely content - Attribute results directly to your marketing campaign — giving credit where it’s due. Optimize media spend on high value users before they lapse - Recognize high value users before they uninstall to optimize your media strategy - Use the right channel to win back users in real-time Use Case: General Solving the Leaky Bucket Problem of App Uninstalls
  • 34. Opportunity For Marketers Predict results for any time-bound business goal and take the necessary steps to win. Create tailored engagement strategies with highly relevant messaging, creatives, offers, and pricing options. Save time and money on promotions and discounts to customers who would have purchased anyway. Identify user micro-segments that you can actually influence, instead of spamming a broad database of users. More accurately predict marketing campaign ROI and transform your marketing team from a cost center to a revenue center. Quantify the real value of your marketing team’s efforts so that you can give credit where it’s due.
  • 36. Top Ecommerce Company In South America Problem Statement • Low NPS score • Low conversion rates • Marketing team always scrambling for the right one-size-fits-all content
  • 37. Top Ecommerce Company In South America For 4,091,068 users in the segment, ‘All Users’ as of Oct 29, 2018 who will do purchase by Nov 05, 2018 Customer Purchases Conversion rate in Most Likely: 75% Conversion rate in Moderately Likely: 30% Conversion rate in Least Likely: <1% This led to:- - Improved NPS by 10 points - Exactly 5 campaigns in the calendar - Improved conversion rate by ~9% Predicted Conversion: 45000 Number of campaigns: 5 Actual conversions: ~49000
  • 38. Top Online Ticketing Company In Europe Problem Statement • High uninstall rates • Low LTV due to high acquisition cost coupled with low retention rates • Retention campaigns are hard as they require specific content and cannot be sent to all users • Unsure of the expected uninstalls in the future
  • 39. Top Online Ticketing Company In Europe For 21,681,948 users in the segment, ‘All Users, Nov 1, 2018 who will uninstall by Nov 30, 2018 App Uninstalled => 25% avoidable uninstalls This led to:- - Know exactly what they are up against - Already seeing improved November LTV - Ran highly targeted uninstall campaigns - Reduced uninstalls rate by ~13% Predicted Churn: 8000 Number of campaigns: 2 Actual Churn: ~6900