SlideShare a Scribd company logo
CROWDFUNDING
CUSTOMER ACQUISITION
Roy Morejon | Ashley Mizell | Danny Tarr
Roy Morejon
President & Co-Founder
Enventys Partners
● Turn-Key Product Launch Co.
● Product Dev > CF > eCommerce
● Crowdfunded over 800 Products
● Raised over $165M in past 7 years
● 35 Unique Million Dollar Projects
LinkedIn
Growth Hack
● Activate Bluetooth on your mobile device.
● In the LinkedIn mobile app, tap the My
Network tab.
● Tap Find nearby at the top of the screen.
● Tap Enable > tap OK.
● Tap Enable Bluetooth sharing > toggle to
allow LinkedIn to access Bluetooth
Sharing.
● Once you've enabled Bluetooth sharing,
you can discover others nearby while
viewing the Find Nearby screen.
● ANDROID: Tap ENABLE NEARBY > tap
ALLOW.
WHAT IS
CROWDFUNDING?
WHY
USER ACQUISITION
USING
CROWDFUNDING?
● Minimizes risk
● Proves out market for product
● Reduces need for loans or VC $
● Community of backers (Tribe)
● PR Opportunities
● No need for a website
● Easy to set up campaign page
SHARE THE STAGE
Lead Generation Strategies
How to collect high quality leads when
launching a new campaign
FACEBOOK LEAD
GENERATION
Keys to lead generation ads
● Campaign and ad setup
● A/B test
○ contest vs. discount
● Keep leads engaged
Set up a successful pre-launch campaign
● Test target audiences
○ Start with a low daily budget ($5-$10 per audience)
● Create 2 to 3 ads per audience
● Test creative
○ Copy, images, short videos, gifs, etc.
ENTER TO WIN
Column one body text. Column two body text.
DISCOUNT
KEEP YOUR LEADS ENGAGED
VIRAL-LOOPS & QUEUE
DRIVE ENGAGEMENT
Benefits of contest apps
● Viral Growth
● Incentivize with
rewards
● Email triggers
● User friendly
set-up
Queue leads are 1.6x
more valuable than FB
leads when it comes to
conversions post-launch
How we use contest apps
● Collect email leads in Facebook
● Use Zapier to add the leads to
a drip campaign
● Send them a welcome email
● Drive them to a landing page
where the contest app is
embedded
DRIP CAMPAIGNS
How a drip campaign works
● Interacts with new subscribers and customers
○ Goal: Drive new customers further down funnel
○ Goal: Get existing customers to perform repeat actions
○ Goal: Build brand awareness
● Base email content on customer actions (or non actions)
● Provide subscribers content relevant to your CTA
How a drip campaign works
HALF & HALF
BISECTED SLIDE LAYOUT
“I support automation”
- Your email marketing platform
Automated emails get
119% higher click rates
than broadcast emails
CREATING A COMPELLING
LANDING PAGE
Key to converting landing pages
● Write a compelling headline
● Use a clear CTA
● Have a mechanism to gather customer data for
remarketing
● Briefly explain the product/service
● Showcase your product through photos, graphics and,
if possible, a video
CHATBOTS
Average
email open
rates:
21.81%
Average
chatbot open
rates:
93.85%
Goal:
Get potential customers
to engage with you in
Facebook messenger
and message them
when the campaign
launches
LET’S
TEST
m.me/EnventysPartners
MEASURING SUCCESS
Conversion rate
● Proportion of people that completed a process after
starting it
● Determine clear starting and ending points
● The number varies by what actions you are tracking
● Used to measure the specific effectiveness of different
marketing initiatives
Customer acquisition cost
● The overall cost to bring in a customer
● Takes into account the total cost of marketing
● Can be used to determine the scalability of new
companies
● Optimizing ROI and ROAS can improve CAC
Rate of new customer acquisition
● How your acquisition efforts are performing in a given
time period
● Compare rate of new customers to another historical
period (goal is to increase with time)
● Measures what you are actually trying to increase:
CUSTOMER GROWTH
CASE STUDY
DUO
The story
DUO is an on-the-go dual screen
laptop monitor that was designed
to allow for efficient multitasking
when you’re on-the-go.
Created by a team of students from
MIT who received funding from MIT
Sandbox and IDEA Northeastern to
crowdfund their invention.
Pre-launch goals
● Generate targeted email leads
● Keep the leads engaged
● Test target audiences
● Test creative: ad copy, images, videos, etc.
● Our main goal is to build an email list that will convert
into backers when we launch
Duo lead gen set-up
● Lead Gen Ad Campaigns
○ Sign-up/Discount ads
○ Enter to win/Contest ads
○ Conversion optimization ads - send traffic straight to the landing page
● Lead Gen Ads
○ Start with 2 or 3 ads per audience
○ Test new ads vs. top performing ad after 72 hours
● Start with a low budget
○ $5 to $10 per audience
Enter to win | Sign up | Video
Duo pre-launch set-up
● Set up Zapier to feed your
leads into MailChimp
○ Remember AUTOMATION IS KEY
● Create a welcome email and
DRIP campaign
○ Tell your leads about the viral
contest in the welcome email
○ Drive leads to a landing page
where they can sign up for the
contest
PRE-LAUNCH
RESULTS
● Collected ~7,000 emails
● Average CPL $0.87
● 61 email conversions
within the first 48-hours
● 2.5X ROI on pre-launch
efforts
Duo campaign launch set-up
● Launch Ad Campaigns
○ Traffic Campaign
○ Offer Ads
○ Video/Gif Ads
○ Instagram Story Ads
● Audiences
○ Segmented customer lists
○ Full customer lists
○ Look-a-likes of past buyers
○ Website visitors, FB page engagement and visitors, Video views, etc.
○ Interest based audiences
Custom list conversion rates
● Segmented Customer List
converts 6x better than interest
based targeting
● Full Customer List converts 4x
better than interest based
targeting
● Look-a-likes of buyers convert 2x
better than interest based
targeting
● Customer List
○ 368 sales / $67,951
● Look-a-likes
○ 77 sales / $16,047
● Interest based
○ 20 sales / $4,601
CAMPAIGN
RESULTS
● Fully funded in the first 24 hours
● ROAS on ad spend = 4.26X
● Total ad spend = $20,725.92
● Total tracked revenue = $88,388 over a
35 day period
● Total tracked conversions = 471 over a 35
day period
● Average CPC for traffic campaign = $0.40
● Average CPC for offer campaign = $0.22
● Average CPC for Instagram campaign =
$0.31
● Average CPC for video/gif ads = $0.25
● Total raised on Kickstarter = $862,433
● Total backers on Kickstarter = 4,145
● Total raised to this point (Including
Indemand) = $1,199,737
● Total backers to this point (Including
Indemand) = 5,396
CONVERTING COLD
TRAFFIC
Cold traffic doesn’t know your brand
● Turn skeptics into believers
● Grab their attention
● Keep them engaged
● Create a seamless transition
to your website
AUDIENCE
IDENTIFICATION
What are consumers thinking?
● Put yourself in your ideal customer’s shoes
● Answer common consumer questions
○ Will this product/service work?
○ Will this product/service work for me?
○ Is the product/service worth the money?
Where do I start?
● Building customer personas
○ Age
○ Gender
○ Geolocation
● What needs does your customer have?
● How does your product or service solve them?
● Look at competitors strategies!
○ Facebook’s new info and ads section
Find customer groups
● Don’t be afraid to start out broad
● Hone in your audience over time through data analysis
● Who is your ideal customer?
● Identify lifestyle, habits, preferences, needs, dislikes, favorites
Putting this knowledge to work
● Start with your existing customer/email list
● Use Facebook’s feature to create lookalike audiences
○ Find new customers exactly like your current customers
● Tailor content/copy to your customer groups
● Reach them through as many channels as possible
CASE STUDY:
TOBACCO MOTORWEAR
The story
The Tobacco Motorwear Company
was born out of a passion for
riding. They believe that you
shouldn’t have to sacrifice style for
safety.
Tobacco Motorwear makes a
variety of kevlar-lined riding gear.
The McCoy jacket is their latest
piece of riding gear.
Live campaign goals
● Identify niche customer group
● Send steady traffic to the Kickstarter page
● Achieve a CPC <$0.30
● Maintain > 3:1 ROI
The approach
● Tested creative: ad copy,
images, videos, etc.
● Focused on niche
motorcycle audiences
● Tested Facebook news
feed, Instagram feed, and
Instagram story ads
CAMPAIGN
RESULTS
● Started at $80,000
● Ended at $241,038
● $0.19 CPC
● 535 Backers
● Avg Pledge: $451
10:1 ROAS
Why are early
adopters important?
The Diffusion of
Innovation Theory
○ Early adopters are less costly to
convince to try new technology
○ The mass market is expensive
○ Use early adopters to set the
“trend” and get the masses
interested in your product
Enterprise crowdfunding
● The more innovative the
technology, the more difficult it is
to get mass appeal
● The good news is Kickstarter and
Indiegogo have assembled millions
of innovators and early adopters
● Big brands like Segway, Gillette and
Lego have launched recent
crowdfunding campaigns
More Big Brands Will Be
Launching
Crowdfunding
Campaigns
in 2019
Questions?
m.me/EnventysPartners
Questions?
m.me/EnventysPartners

More Related Content

What's hot

4 Facebook Ad Strategies for Ecommerce
4 Facebook Ad Strategies for Ecommerce4 Facebook Ad Strategies for Ecommerce
4 Facebook Ad Strategies for Ecommerce
ROI Revolution
 
313 digital objectives strategies - march 14
313 digital   objectives strategies - march 14313 digital   objectives strategies - march 14
313 digital objectives strategies - march 14Bob Tacy
 
Pure Visibility Ppc Judo
Pure Visibility Ppc JudoPure Visibility Ppc Judo
Pure Visibility Ppc Judo
Jon Gatrell
 
Guiding the Consumer Through the Funnel: Steps for Email Acquisition and Nurt...
Guiding the Consumer Through the Funnel: Steps for Email Acquisition and Nurt...Guiding the Consumer Through the Funnel: Steps for Email Acquisition and Nurt...
Guiding the Consumer Through the Funnel: Steps for Email Acquisition and Nurt...
Taboola
 
Pay per click from emfinity India IT solutions
Pay per click from emfinity India IT solutionsPay per click from emfinity India IT solutions
Pay per click from emfinity India IT solutions
MaxwellParker1
 
Stimulate Presentation
Stimulate PresentationStimulate Presentation
Stimulate Presentation
peter Mwongi
 
Mobile Marketing in the CPA Profession
Mobile Marketing in the CPA ProfessionMobile Marketing in the CPA Profession
Mobile Marketing in the CPA Profession
Becky Livingston
 
The Amazon Marketing Flywheel
The Amazon Marketing FlywheelThe Amazon Marketing Flywheel
The Amazon Marketing Flywheel
Alec Burns
 
Content Marketing: How to make a good content and its impact
Content Marketing: How to make a good content and its impactContent Marketing: How to make a good content and its impact
Content Marketing: How to make a good content and its impact
Anubha Rastogi
 
Remaining relevant - The Three Things Marketers Need to Do Right Now
Remaining relevant - The Three Things Marketers Need to Do Right NowRemaining relevant - The Three Things Marketers Need to Do Right Now
Remaining relevant - The Three Things Marketers Need to Do Right Now
Tinuiti
 
E-Commerce Promotion 101: How to Use Non-Intrusive Popups to Generate More Sa...
E-Commerce Promotion 101: How to Use Non-Intrusive Popups to Generate More Sa...E-Commerce Promotion 101: How to Use Non-Intrusive Popups to Generate More Sa...
E-Commerce Promotion 101: How to Use Non-Intrusive Popups to Generate More Sa...
Kissmetrics on SlideShare
 
Jetstar SMMA Presentation Slides
Jetstar SMMA Presentation SlidesJetstar SMMA Presentation Slides
Jetstar SMMA Presentation SlidesNicholas Lim
 
Accomplice - Case Studies
Accomplice - Case StudiesAccomplice - Case Studies
Accomplice - Case StudiesIdan Benaim
 
Facebook Business Pages
Facebook Business Pages Facebook Business Pages
Facebook Business Pages
Custom Fit Marketing
 

What's hot (14)

4 Facebook Ad Strategies for Ecommerce
4 Facebook Ad Strategies for Ecommerce4 Facebook Ad Strategies for Ecommerce
4 Facebook Ad Strategies for Ecommerce
 
313 digital objectives strategies - march 14
313 digital   objectives strategies - march 14313 digital   objectives strategies - march 14
313 digital objectives strategies - march 14
 
Pure Visibility Ppc Judo
Pure Visibility Ppc JudoPure Visibility Ppc Judo
Pure Visibility Ppc Judo
 
Guiding the Consumer Through the Funnel: Steps for Email Acquisition and Nurt...
Guiding the Consumer Through the Funnel: Steps for Email Acquisition and Nurt...Guiding the Consumer Through the Funnel: Steps for Email Acquisition and Nurt...
Guiding the Consumer Through the Funnel: Steps for Email Acquisition and Nurt...
 
Pay per click from emfinity India IT solutions
Pay per click from emfinity India IT solutionsPay per click from emfinity India IT solutions
Pay per click from emfinity India IT solutions
 
Stimulate Presentation
Stimulate PresentationStimulate Presentation
Stimulate Presentation
 
Mobile Marketing in the CPA Profession
Mobile Marketing in the CPA ProfessionMobile Marketing in the CPA Profession
Mobile Marketing in the CPA Profession
 
The Amazon Marketing Flywheel
The Amazon Marketing FlywheelThe Amazon Marketing Flywheel
The Amazon Marketing Flywheel
 
Content Marketing: How to make a good content and its impact
Content Marketing: How to make a good content and its impactContent Marketing: How to make a good content and its impact
Content Marketing: How to make a good content and its impact
 
Remaining relevant - The Three Things Marketers Need to Do Right Now
Remaining relevant - The Three Things Marketers Need to Do Right NowRemaining relevant - The Three Things Marketers Need to Do Right Now
Remaining relevant - The Three Things Marketers Need to Do Right Now
 
E-Commerce Promotion 101: How to Use Non-Intrusive Popups to Generate More Sa...
E-Commerce Promotion 101: How to Use Non-Intrusive Popups to Generate More Sa...E-Commerce Promotion 101: How to Use Non-Intrusive Popups to Generate More Sa...
E-Commerce Promotion 101: How to Use Non-Intrusive Popups to Generate More Sa...
 
Jetstar SMMA Presentation Slides
Jetstar SMMA Presentation SlidesJetstar SMMA Presentation Slides
Jetstar SMMA Presentation Slides
 
Accomplice - Case Studies
Accomplice - Case StudiesAccomplice - Case Studies
Accomplice - Case Studies
 
Facebook Business Pages
Facebook Business Pages Facebook Business Pages
Facebook Business Pages
 

Similar to Crowdfunding Customer Acquisition - Growth Marketing Conference

Don't Sleep on Microsoft's Audience Network - Sophie Logan (PPC Live UK - Feb...
Don't Sleep on Microsoft's Audience Network - Sophie Logan (PPC Live UK - Feb...Don't Sleep on Microsoft's Audience Network - Sophie Logan (PPC Live UK - Feb...
Don't Sleep on Microsoft's Audience Network - Sophie Logan (PPC Live UK - Feb...
Sophie Logan
 
Facebook & Instagram Audience Optimization Crash Course
Facebook & Instagram Audience Optimization Crash CourseFacebook & Instagram Audience Optimization Crash Course
Facebook & Instagram Audience Optimization Crash Course
Tinuiti
 
A is for Advertising - Montfort x NetSquared
A is for Advertising - Montfort x NetSquaredA is for Advertising - Montfort x NetSquared
A is for Advertising - Montfort x NetSquared
Montfort
 
Facebook Ads Manager
Facebook Ads ManagerFacebook Ads Manager
Facebook Ads Manager
Riley Seaburg
 
Lowering Customer Acquisition Costs on Facebook
Lowering Customer Acquisition Costs on FacebookLowering Customer Acquisition Costs on Facebook
Lowering Customer Acquisition Costs on Facebook
Tinuiti
 
LeadEasily - Mobile Marketing Made Easy
LeadEasily - Mobile Marketing Made EasyLeadEasily - Mobile Marketing Made Easy
LeadEasily - Mobile Marketing Made Easy
Séverine Galiano
 
Digital Marketing plan for allby chaz
Digital Marketing plan for allby chazDigital Marketing plan for allby chaz
Digital Marketing plan for allby chaz
Jason Oliver
 
Inside Look: How Top Brands Drive Revenue from Instagram
Inside Look: How Top Brands Drive Revenue from InstagramInside Look: How Top Brands Drive Revenue from Instagram
Inside Look: How Top Brands Drive Revenue from Instagram
Tinuiti
 
Advertising On Instagram
Advertising On InstagramAdvertising On Instagram
Advertising On Instagram
mKonnekt
 
From Discovery to Conversion: Creative Design that Works
From Discovery to Conversion: Creative Design that WorksFrom Discovery to Conversion: Creative Design that Works
From Discovery to Conversion: Creative Design that Works
Tinuiti
 
A Native Advertising strategy: SPEAKEASY
A Native Advertising strategy: SPEAKEASYA Native Advertising strategy: SPEAKEASY
A Native Advertising strategy: SPEAKEASY
Local Media Association
 
Capabilities (concept deck)
Capabilities (concept deck)Capabilities (concept deck)
Capabilities (concept deck)
Nick Oliver
 
Facebook & Instagram Ad Accelerator - Shopify Advanced
Facebook & Instagram Ad Accelerator - Shopify AdvancedFacebook & Instagram Ad Accelerator - Shopify Advanced
Facebook & Instagram Ad Accelerator - Shopify Advanced
TopGrowthMarketing
 
What Digital Marketing is Best For Your Business?
What Digital Marketing is Best For Your Business?What Digital Marketing is Best For Your Business?
What Digital Marketing is Best For Your Business?
Laura McDonald
 
Advertise Your Business on Google YouTube
Advertise Your Business on Google YouTubeAdvertise Your Business on Google YouTube
Advertise Your Business on Google YouTube
XakboX Digital Marketing Studio
 
Digital Marketing for DMND Program
Digital Marketing for DMND ProgramDigital Marketing for DMND Program
Digital Marketing for DMND Program
Priyam Atman
 
Fundraising for NGOs through consumer marketing ideas in Digital Marketing
Fundraising for NGOs through consumer marketing ideas in Digital MarketingFundraising for NGOs through consumer marketing ideas in Digital Marketing
Fundraising for NGOs through consumer marketing ideas in Digital Marketing
Ravi Trivedi
 
International speaker Steve Weiss' (CEO, MuteSix) presentation at Mumbrella360
International speaker Steve Weiss' (CEO, MuteSix) presentation at Mumbrella360 International speaker Steve Weiss' (CEO, MuteSix) presentation at Mumbrella360
International speaker Steve Weiss' (CEO, MuteSix) presentation at Mumbrella360
Ruperta Daher
 
Propeller Ads: Boosting Revenue with Push Notifications | Anton Merkulov | #A...
Propeller Ads: Boosting Revenue with Push Notifications | Anton Merkulov | #A...Propeller Ads: Boosting Revenue with Push Notifications | Anton Merkulov | #A...
Propeller Ads: Boosting Revenue with Push Notifications | Anton Merkulov | #A...
Arab Affiliate Summit
 

Similar to Crowdfunding Customer Acquisition - Growth Marketing Conference (20)

Don't Sleep on Microsoft's Audience Network - Sophie Logan (PPC Live UK - Feb...
Don't Sleep on Microsoft's Audience Network - Sophie Logan (PPC Live UK - Feb...Don't Sleep on Microsoft's Audience Network - Sophie Logan (PPC Live UK - Feb...
Don't Sleep on Microsoft's Audience Network - Sophie Logan (PPC Live UK - Feb...
 
Facebook & Instagram Audience Optimization Crash Course
Facebook & Instagram Audience Optimization Crash CourseFacebook & Instagram Audience Optimization Crash Course
Facebook & Instagram Audience Optimization Crash Course
 
A is for Advertising - Montfort x NetSquared
A is for Advertising - Montfort x NetSquaredA is for Advertising - Montfort x NetSquared
A is for Advertising - Montfort x NetSquared
 
Facebook Ads Manager
Facebook Ads ManagerFacebook Ads Manager
Facebook Ads Manager
 
Lowering Customer Acquisition Costs on Facebook
Lowering Customer Acquisition Costs on FacebookLowering Customer Acquisition Costs on Facebook
Lowering Customer Acquisition Costs on Facebook
 
LeadEasily - Mobile Marketing Made Easy
LeadEasily - Mobile Marketing Made EasyLeadEasily - Mobile Marketing Made Easy
LeadEasily - Mobile Marketing Made Easy
 
Digital Marketing plan for allby chaz
Digital Marketing plan for allby chazDigital Marketing plan for allby chaz
Digital Marketing plan for allby chaz
 
Inside Look: How Top Brands Drive Revenue from Instagram
Inside Look: How Top Brands Drive Revenue from InstagramInside Look: How Top Brands Drive Revenue from Instagram
Inside Look: How Top Brands Drive Revenue from Instagram
 
Advertising On Instagram
Advertising On InstagramAdvertising On Instagram
Advertising On Instagram
 
From Discovery to Conversion: Creative Design that Works
From Discovery to Conversion: Creative Design that WorksFrom Discovery to Conversion: Creative Design that Works
From Discovery to Conversion: Creative Design that Works
 
A Native Advertising strategy: SPEAKEASY
A Native Advertising strategy: SPEAKEASYA Native Advertising strategy: SPEAKEASY
A Native Advertising strategy: SPEAKEASY
 
Capabilities (concept deck)
Capabilities (concept deck)Capabilities (concept deck)
Capabilities (concept deck)
 
Facebook & Instagram Ad Accelerator - Shopify Advanced
Facebook & Instagram Ad Accelerator - Shopify AdvancedFacebook & Instagram Ad Accelerator - Shopify Advanced
Facebook & Instagram Ad Accelerator - Shopify Advanced
 
What Digital Marketing is Best For Your Business?
What Digital Marketing is Best For Your Business?What Digital Marketing is Best For Your Business?
What Digital Marketing is Best For Your Business?
 
B2B Lead Generation - Driving Sales from Marketing - Anet (de Kock) van Stade...
B2B Lead Generation - Driving Sales from Marketing - Anet (de Kock) van Stade...B2B Lead Generation - Driving Sales from Marketing - Anet (de Kock) van Stade...
B2B Lead Generation - Driving Sales from Marketing - Anet (de Kock) van Stade...
 
Advertise Your Business on Google YouTube
Advertise Your Business on Google YouTubeAdvertise Your Business on Google YouTube
Advertise Your Business on Google YouTube
 
Digital Marketing for DMND Program
Digital Marketing for DMND ProgramDigital Marketing for DMND Program
Digital Marketing for DMND Program
 
Fundraising for NGOs through consumer marketing ideas in Digital Marketing
Fundraising for NGOs through consumer marketing ideas in Digital MarketingFundraising for NGOs through consumer marketing ideas in Digital Marketing
Fundraising for NGOs through consumer marketing ideas in Digital Marketing
 
International speaker Steve Weiss' (CEO, MuteSix) presentation at Mumbrella360
International speaker Steve Weiss' (CEO, MuteSix) presentation at Mumbrella360 International speaker Steve Weiss' (CEO, MuteSix) presentation at Mumbrella360
International speaker Steve Weiss' (CEO, MuteSix) presentation at Mumbrella360
 
Propeller Ads: Boosting Revenue with Push Notifications | Anton Merkulov | #A...
Propeller Ads: Boosting Revenue with Push Notifications | Anton Merkulov | #A...Propeller Ads: Boosting Revenue with Push Notifications | Anton Merkulov | #A...
Propeller Ads: Boosting Revenue with Push Notifications | Anton Merkulov | #A...
 

Recently uploaded

Marketing as a Primary Revenue Driver - Lee Levitt
Marketing as a Primary Revenue Driver - Lee LevittMarketing as a Primary Revenue Driver - Lee Levitt
5 Big Bets for 2024 - Jamie A. Lee, Stripes Co
5 Big Bets for 2024 - Jamie A. Lee, Stripes Co5 Big Bets for 2024 - Jamie A. Lee, Stripes Co
Core Web Vitals SEO Workshop - improve your performance [pdf]
Core Web Vitals SEO Workshop - improve your performance [pdf]Core Web Vitals SEO Workshop - improve your performance [pdf]
Core Web Vitals SEO Workshop - improve your performance [pdf]
Peter Mead
 
AI-Powered Personalization: Principles, Use Cases, and Its Impact on CRO
AI-Powered Personalization: Principles, Use Cases, and Its Impact on CROAI-Powered Personalization: Principles, Use Cases, and Its Impact on CRO
AI-Powered Personalization: Principles, Use Cases, and Its Impact on CRO
VWO
 
De-risk Your Digital Evolution - Hannah Grap
De-risk Your Digital Evolution - Hannah GrapDe-risk Your Digital Evolution - Hannah Grap
Generative AI - Unleash Creative Opportunity - Peter Weltman
Generative AI - Unleash Creative Opportunity - Peter WeltmanGenerative AI - Unleash Creative Opportunity - Peter Weltman
Generative AI - Unleash Creative Opportunity - Peter Weltman
DigiMarCon - Digital Marketing, Media and Advertising Conferences & Exhibitions
 
BLOOM_May2024 (r). Balmer Lawrie Online Monthly Bulletin
BLOOM_May2024 (r). Balmer Lawrie Online Monthly BulletinBLOOM_May2024 (r). Balmer Lawrie Online Monthly Bulletin
BLOOM_May2024 (r). Balmer Lawrie Online Monthly Bulletin
BalmerLawrie
 
Monthly Social Media News Update May 2024
Monthly Social Media News Update May 2024Monthly Social Media News Update May 2024
Monthly Social Media News Update May 2024
Andy Lambert
 
Digital Marketing Training In Bangalore
Digital Marketing Training In BangaloreDigital Marketing Training In Bangalore
Digital Marketing Training In Bangalore
syedasifsyed46
 
Consumer Journey Mapping & Personalization Master Class - Sabrina Killgo
Consumer Journey Mapping & Personalization Master Class - Sabrina KillgoConsumer Journey Mapping & Personalization Master Class - Sabrina Killgo
Consumer Journey Mapping & Personalization Master Class - Sabrina Killgo
DigiMarCon - Digital Marketing, Media and Advertising Conferences & Exhibitions
 
Turn Digital Reputation Threats into Offense Tactics - Daniel Lemin
Turn Digital Reputation Threats into Offense Tactics - Daniel LeminTurn Digital Reputation Threats into Offense Tactics - Daniel Lemin
Turn Digital Reputation Threats into Offense Tactics - Daniel Lemin
DigiMarCon - Digital Marketing, Media and Advertising Conferences & Exhibitions
 
How to use Short Form Video To Grow Your Brand and Business - Keenya Kelly
How to use Short Form Video To Grow Your Brand and Business - Keenya KellyHow to use Short Form Video To Grow Your Brand and Business - Keenya Kelly
How to use Short Form Video To Grow Your Brand and Business - Keenya Kelly
DigiMarCon - Digital Marketing, Media and Advertising Conferences & Exhibitions
 
DMF Portfolio Piece Smart Goals - Artist Management.docx
DMF Portfolio Piece Smart Goals - Artist Management.docxDMF Portfolio Piece Smart Goals - Artist Management.docx
DMF Portfolio Piece Smart Goals - Artist Management.docx
TravisMalana
 
The What, Why & How of 3D and AR in Digital Commerce
The What, Why & How of 3D and AR in Digital CommerceThe What, Why & How of 3D and AR in Digital Commerce
The What, Why & How of 3D and AR in Digital Commerce
PushON Ltd
 
ThinkNow 2024 Consumer Financial Wellness Report
ThinkNow 2024 Consumer Financial Wellness ReportThinkNow 2024 Consumer Financial Wellness Report
ThinkNow 2024 Consumer Financial Wellness Report
ThinkNow
 
Coca Cola Branding Strategy and strategic marketing plan
Coca Cola Branding Strategy and strategic marketing planCoca Cola Branding Strategy and strategic marketing plan
Coca Cola Branding Strategy and strategic marketing plan
Maswer Ali
 
The New Era Of SEO - How AI Has Changed SEO Forever - Danny Leibrandt
The New Era Of SEO - How AI Has Changed SEO Forever - Danny LeibrandtThe New Era Of SEO - How AI Has Changed SEO Forever - Danny Leibrandt
The New Era Of SEO - How AI Has Changed SEO Forever - Danny Leibrandt
DigiMarCon - Digital Marketing, Media and Advertising Conferences & Exhibitions
 
34-Rahul-Mande.pdf PROJECT REPORT MBA 4TH SEMESTER
34-Rahul-Mande.pdf PROJECT REPORT MBA 4TH SEMESTER34-Rahul-Mande.pdf PROJECT REPORT MBA 4TH SEMESTER
34-Rahul-Mande.pdf PROJECT REPORT MBA 4TH SEMESTER
DeepakTripathi733493
 
Digital Marketing Trends - Experts Insights on How
Digital Marketing Trends - Experts Insights on HowDigital Marketing Trends - Experts Insights on How
Your Path to Profits - The Game-Changing Power of a Marketing OS for Your Bus...
Your Path to Profits - The Game-Changing Power of a Marketing OS for Your Bus...Your Path to Profits - The Game-Changing Power of a Marketing OS for Your Bus...
Your Path to Profits - The Game-Changing Power of a Marketing OS for Your Bus...
DigiMarCon - Digital Marketing, Media and Advertising Conferences & Exhibitions
 

Recently uploaded (20)

Marketing as a Primary Revenue Driver - Lee Levitt
Marketing as a Primary Revenue Driver - Lee LevittMarketing as a Primary Revenue Driver - Lee Levitt
Marketing as a Primary Revenue Driver - Lee Levitt
 
5 Big Bets for 2024 - Jamie A. Lee, Stripes Co
5 Big Bets for 2024 - Jamie A. Lee, Stripes Co5 Big Bets for 2024 - Jamie A. Lee, Stripes Co
5 Big Bets for 2024 - Jamie A. Lee, Stripes Co
 
Core Web Vitals SEO Workshop - improve your performance [pdf]
Core Web Vitals SEO Workshop - improve your performance [pdf]Core Web Vitals SEO Workshop - improve your performance [pdf]
Core Web Vitals SEO Workshop - improve your performance [pdf]
 
AI-Powered Personalization: Principles, Use Cases, and Its Impact on CRO
AI-Powered Personalization: Principles, Use Cases, and Its Impact on CROAI-Powered Personalization: Principles, Use Cases, and Its Impact on CRO
AI-Powered Personalization: Principles, Use Cases, and Its Impact on CRO
 
De-risk Your Digital Evolution - Hannah Grap
De-risk Your Digital Evolution - Hannah GrapDe-risk Your Digital Evolution - Hannah Grap
De-risk Your Digital Evolution - Hannah Grap
 
Generative AI - Unleash Creative Opportunity - Peter Weltman
Generative AI - Unleash Creative Opportunity - Peter WeltmanGenerative AI - Unleash Creative Opportunity - Peter Weltman
Generative AI - Unleash Creative Opportunity - Peter Weltman
 
BLOOM_May2024 (r). Balmer Lawrie Online Monthly Bulletin
BLOOM_May2024 (r). Balmer Lawrie Online Monthly BulletinBLOOM_May2024 (r). Balmer Lawrie Online Monthly Bulletin
BLOOM_May2024 (r). Balmer Lawrie Online Monthly Bulletin
 
Monthly Social Media News Update May 2024
Monthly Social Media News Update May 2024Monthly Social Media News Update May 2024
Monthly Social Media News Update May 2024
 
Digital Marketing Training In Bangalore
Digital Marketing Training In BangaloreDigital Marketing Training In Bangalore
Digital Marketing Training In Bangalore
 
Consumer Journey Mapping & Personalization Master Class - Sabrina Killgo
Consumer Journey Mapping & Personalization Master Class - Sabrina KillgoConsumer Journey Mapping & Personalization Master Class - Sabrina Killgo
Consumer Journey Mapping & Personalization Master Class - Sabrina Killgo
 
Turn Digital Reputation Threats into Offense Tactics - Daniel Lemin
Turn Digital Reputation Threats into Offense Tactics - Daniel LeminTurn Digital Reputation Threats into Offense Tactics - Daniel Lemin
Turn Digital Reputation Threats into Offense Tactics - Daniel Lemin
 
How to use Short Form Video To Grow Your Brand and Business - Keenya Kelly
How to use Short Form Video To Grow Your Brand and Business - Keenya KellyHow to use Short Form Video To Grow Your Brand and Business - Keenya Kelly
How to use Short Form Video To Grow Your Brand and Business - Keenya Kelly
 
DMF Portfolio Piece Smart Goals - Artist Management.docx
DMF Portfolio Piece Smart Goals - Artist Management.docxDMF Portfolio Piece Smart Goals - Artist Management.docx
DMF Portfolio Piece Smart Goals - Artist Management.docx
 
The What, Why & How of 3D and AR in Digital Commerce
The What, Why & How of 3D and AR in Digital CommerceThe What, Why & How of 3D and AR in Digital Commerce
The What, Why & How of 3D and AR in Digital Commerce
 
ThinkNow 2024 Consumer Financial Wellness Report
ThinkNow 2024 Consumer Financial Wellness ReportThinkNow 2024 Consumer Financial Wellness Report
ThinkNow 2024 Consumer Financial Wellness Report
 
Coca Cola Branding Strategy and strategic marketing plan
Coca Cola Branding Strategy and strategic marketing planCoca Cola Branding Strategy and strategic marketing plan
Coca Cola Branding Strategy and strategic marketing plan
 
The New Era Of SEO - How AI Has Changed SEO Forever - Danny Leibrandt
The New Era Of SEO - How AI Has Changed SEO Forever - Danny LeibrandtThe New Era Of SEO - How AI Has Changed SEO Forever - Danny Leibrandt
The New Era Of SEO - How AI Has Changed SEO Forever - Danny Leibrandt
 
34-Rahul-Mande.pdf PROJECT REPORT MBA 4TH SEMESTER
34-Rahul-Mande.pdf PROJECT REPORT MBA 4TH SEMESTER34-Rahul-Mande.pdf PROJECT REPORT MBA 4TH SEMESTER
34-Rahul-Mande.pdf PROJECT REPORT MBA 4TH SEMESTER
 
Digital Marketing Trends - Experts Insights on How
Digital Marketing Trends - Experts Insights on HowDigital Marketing Trends - Experts Insights on How
Digital Marketing Trends - Experts Insights on How
 
Your Path to Profits - The Game-Changing Power of a Marketing OS for Your Bus...
Your Path to Profits - The Game-Changing Power of a Marketing OS for Your Bus...Your Path to Profits - The Game-Changing Power of a Marketing OS for Your Bus...
Your Path to Profits - The Game-Changing Power of a Marketing OS for Your Bus...
 

Crowdfunding Customer Acquisition - Growth Marketing Conference

  • 1. CROWDFUNDING CUSTOMER ACQUISITION Roy Morejon | Ashley Mizell | Danny Tarr
  • 2. Roy Morejon President & Co-Founder Enventys Partners ● Turn-Key Product Launch Co. ● Product Dev > CF > eCommerce ● Crowdfunded over 800 Products ● Raised over $165M in past 7 years ● 35 Unique Million Dollar Projects
  • 3. LinkedIn Growth Hack ● Activate Bluetooth on your mobile device. ● In the LinkedIn mobile app, tap the My Network tab. ● Tap Find nearby at the top of the screen. ● Tap Enable > tap OK. ● Tap Enable Bluetooth sharing > toggle to allow LinkedIn to access Bluetooth Sharing. ● Once you've enabled Bluetooth sharing, you can discover others nearby while viewing the Find Nearby screen. ● ANDROID: Tap ENABLE NEARBY > tap ALLOW.
  • 5. WHY USER ACQUISITION USING CROWDFUNDING? ● Minimizes risk ● Proves out market for product ● Reduces need for loans or VC $ ● Community of backers (Tribe) ● PR Opportunities ● No need for a website ● Easy to set up campaign page
  • 7. Lead Generation Strategies How to collect high quality leads when launching a new campaign
  • 9. Keys to lead generation ads ● Campaign and ad setup ● A/B test ○ contest vs. discount ● Keep leads engaged
  • 10. Set up a successful pre-launch campaign ● Test target audiences ○ Start with a low daily budget ($5-$10 per audience) ● Create 2 to 3 ads per audience ● Test creative ○ Copy, images, short videos, gifs, etc.
  • 11.
  • 12. ENTER TO WIN Column one body text. Column two body text. DISCOUNT
  • 13. KEEP YOUR LEADS ENGAGED
  • 15. Benefits of contest apps ● Viral Growth ● Incentivize with rewards ● Email triggers ● User friendly set-up
  • 16. Queue leads are 1.6x more valuable than FB leads when it comes to conversions post-launch
  • 17. How we use contest apps ● Collect email leads in Facebook ● Use Zapier to add the leads to a drip campaign ● Send them a welcome email ● Drive them to a landing page where the contest app is embedded
  • 19. How a drip campaign works ● Interacts with new subscribers and customers ○ Goal: Drive new customers further down funnel ○ Goal: Get existing customers to perform repeat actions ○ Goal: Build brand awareness ● Base email content on customer actions (or non actions) ● Provide subscribers content relevant to your CTA
  • 20. How a drip campaign works
  • 21. HALF & HALF BISECTED SLIDE LAYOUT “I support automation” - Your email marketing platform
  • 22. Automated emails get 119% higher click rates than broadcast emails
  • 24. Key to converting landing pages ● Write a compelling headline ● Use a clear CTA ● Have a mechanism to gather customer data for remarketing ● Briefly explain the product/service ● Showcase your product through photos, graphics and, if possible, a video
  • 25.
  • 26.
  • 28.
  • 29.
  • 30.
  • 31.
  • 33. Goal: Get potential customers to engage with you in Facebook messenger and message them when the campaign launches
  • 34.
  • 37. Conversion rate ● Proportion of people that completed a process after starting it ● Determine clear starting and ending points ● The number varies by what actions you are tracking ● Used to measure the specific effectiveness of different marketing initiatives
  • 38. Customer acquisition cost ● The overall cost to bring in a customer ● Takes into account the total cost of marketing ● Can be used to determine the scalability of new companies ● Optimizing ROI and ROAS can improve CAC
  • 39. Rate of new customer acquisition ● How your acquisition efforts are performing in a given time period ● Compare rate of new customers to another historical period (goal is to increase with time) ● Measures what you are actually trying to increase: CUSTOMER GROWTH
  • 41. The story DUO is an on-the-go dual screen laptop monitor that was designed to allow for efficient multitasking when you’re on-the-go. Created by a team of students from MIT who received funding from MIT Sandbox and IDEA Northeastern to crowdfund their invention.
  • 42. Pre-launch goals ● Generate targeted email leads ● Keep the leads engaged ● Test target audiences ● Test creative: ad copy, images, videos, etc. ● Our main goal is to build an email list that will convert into backers when we launch
  • 43. Duo lead gen set-up ● Lead Gen Ad Campaigns ○ Sign-up/Discount ads ○ Enter to win/Contest ads ○ Conversion optimization ads - send traffic straight to the landing page ● Lead Gen Ads ○ Start with 2 or 3 ads per audience ○ Test new ads vs. top performing ad after 72 hours ● Start with a low budget ○ $5 to $10 per audience
  • 44. Enter to win | Sign up | Video
  • 45. Duo pre-launch set-up ● Set up Zapier to feed your leads into MailChimp ○ Remember AUTOMATION IS KEY ● Create a welcome email and DRIP campaign ○ Tell your leads about the viral contest in the welcome email ○ Drive leads to a landing page where they can sign up for the contest
  • 46. PRE-LAUNCH RESULTS ● Collected ~7,000 emails ● Average CPL $0.87 ● 61 email conversions within the first 48-hours ● 2.5X ROI on pre-launch efforts
  • 47. Duo campaign launch set-up ● Launch Ad Campaigns ○ Traffic Campaign ○ Offer Ads ○ Video/Gif Ads ○ Instagram Story Ads ● Audiences ○ Segmented customer lists ○ Full customer lists ○ Look-a-likes of past buyers ○ Website visitors, FB page engagement and visitors, Video views, etc. ○ Interest based audiences
  • 48. Custom list conversion rates ● Segmented Customer List converts 6x better than interest based targeting ● Full Customer List converts 4x better than interest based targeting ● Look-a-likes of buyers convert 2x better than interest based targeting ● Customer List ○ 368 sales / $67,951 ● Look-a-likes ○ 77 sales / $16,047 ● Interest based ○ 20 sales / $4,601
  • 49. CAMPAIGN RESULTS ● Fully funded in the first 24 hours ● ROAS on ad spend = 4.26X ● Total ad spend = $20,725.92 ● Total tracked revenue = $88,388 over a 35 day period ● Total tracked conversions = 471 over a 35 day period ● Average CPC for traffic campaign = $0.40 ● Average CPC for offer campaign = $0.22 ● Average CPC for Instagram campaign = $0.31 ● Average CPC for video/gif ads = $0.25 ● Total raised on Kickstarter = $862,433 ● Total backers on Kickstarter = 4,145 ● Total raised to this point (Including Indemand) = $1,199,737 ● Total backers to this point (Including Indemand) = 5,396
  • 51. Cold traffic doesn’t know your brand ● Turn skeptics into believers ● Grab their attention ● Keep them engaged ● Create a seamless transition to your website
  • 53. What are consumers thinking? ● Put yourself in your ideal customer’s shoes ● Answer common consumer questions ○ Will this product/service work? ○ Will this product/service work for me? ○ Is the product/service worth the money?
  • 54. Where do I start? ● Building customer personas ○ Age ○ Gender ○ Geolocation ● What needs does your customer have? ● How does your product or service solve them? ● Look at competitors strategies! ○ Facebook’s new info and ads section
  • 55. Find customer groups ● Don’t be afraid to start out broad ● Hone in your audience over time through data analysis ● Who is your ideal customer? ● Identify lifestyle, habits, preferences, needs, dislikes, favorites
  • 56. Putting this knowledge to work ● Start with your existing customer/email list ● Use Facebook’s feature to create lookalike audiences ○ Find new customers exactly like your current customers ● Tailor content/copy to your customer groups ● Reach them through as many channels as possible
  • 58. The story The Tobacco Motorwear Company was born out of a passion for riding. They believe that you shouldn’t have to sacrifice style for safety. Tobacco Motorwear makes a variety of kevlar-lined riding gear. The McCoy jacket is their latest piece of riding gear.
  • 59. Live campaign goals ● Identify niche customer group ● Send steady traffic to the Kickstarter page ● Achieve a CPC <$0.30 ● Maintain > 3:1 ROI
  • 60. The approach ● Tested creative: ad copy, images, videos, etc. ● Focused on niche motorcycle audiences ● Tested Facebook news feed, Instagram feed, and Instagram story ads
  • 61. CAMPAIGN RESULTS ● Started at $80,000 ● Ended at $241,038 ● $0.19 CPC ● 535 Backers ● Avg Pledge: $451
  • 63. Why are early adopters important? The Diffusion of Innovation Theory ○ Early adopters are less costly to convince to try new technology ○ The mass market is expensive ○ Use early adopters to set the “trend” and get the masses interested in your product
  • 64. Enterprise crowdfunding ● The more innovative the technology, the more difficult it is to get mass appeal ● The good news is Kickstarter and Indiegogo have assembled millions of innovators and early adopters ● Big brands like Segway, Gillette and Lego have launched recent crowdfunding campaigns
  • 65. More Big Brands Will Be Launching Crowdfunding Campaigns in 2019

Editor's Notes

  1. Crowdfunding is a way for start-ups, small and large businesses and really anyone to raise money using the power of the crowd. Benefits of crowdfunding for business owners and project creators include: Access to capital reducing the need for loans or investors Access to a network of early adopters interested in the success of your venture Simplicity compared to other methods of raising capital No need for a website Easy to set up campaign page Concept pre-sales Minimizes risk Proves out market for product
  2. Talk about FB user acquisition, botvertising and case studies
  3. Strategies we use in crowdfunding to launch a new campaign, from lead generation to the campaign launch, and how to maximize potential.
  4. Facebook Lead generation is one of the main types of ad campaigns we use to build an email list for every campaign.
  5. [EXAMPLE OF A LEAD GEN CAMPAIGN SET UP] Explain how we set up the campaign and why (number of audiences, spend, types of audiences, etc.) [EXAMPLE OF A LEAN GEN AD] Explain how we set up ads in each campaign (number of ads, sign up vs. enter to win, types of ads (video, gif, image)) [LEAD FORM] Explain how we set up our lead forms. Lead into Zapier and the drip campaign/welcome email (briefly). Then quickly mention the LP and contest?
  6. A/B testing sign up and enter to win - if it costs more than half for a discount.... It’s important to always be testing During pre-launch we test discount vs contest ads We’ve found leads from discount CTA convert into buyers 2.5x better than Enter to Win! If we are able to keep your CPL for discount ads around $1.20 we focus on these ads during pre-launch Average cost per lead Average CPL for contest ads is $0.68 and the average CPL for discount ads is $1.20
  7. We’ll talk about this more later on, but you also want to find a way to keep these leads engaged. You don’t want to just collect them and leave them in Facebook because that can hurt you later on when you need those leads to convert into paying customers.
  8. One of the most important, if not the most important parts of generating targeted email leads is keeping them engaged. Contest apps like these are referral-marketing platforms that help you capture new customers and grow your business. Viral-Loops and Queue are just two types of contest apps. There are several others like Woobox and Gleam that are great options as well.
  9. Viral Growth Social sharing (Facebook, Twitter, Email, etc.) Incentivize with rewards Offer tired prizes to your list. Their chances of winning a prize/reward increase the more they share Offer a grand prize and several lower level prizes Automatic email triggers to remind your list to continue sharing Notified if someone “steals” their spot Notified if they move up on the leaderboard User friendly set-up Most of these apps are easy to set-up so there is no need for a developer.
  10. WHY ARE CONTESTS LIKE THESE SO IMPORTANT WHEN COLLECTING EMAIL LEADS? We have found people who sign up within Facebook AND then sign up for the contest are XX times more likely to convert than someone who just signs up within Facebook. [SHOW STATS] - Show the sign up numbers from each source for a campaign (FB, Queue, FB 2 Queue)? For example in the DUO case study we’re going to go over soon, we had 61 conversions from our Queue list for $12,307.00 in revenue only 14 conversions from Facebook sign ups for $2,647 in revenue.
  11. HOW DO WE USE VIRAL APPS? Promote the contest and getting them to the landing page (where they can get more information on the product and sign up for the contest).
  12. DRIP CAMPAIGNS So you’re gathering all of these email addresses with the wonderful FB lead generation platform. But now what? You can’t forget about these people One solution is setting up a drip campaign I’m sure most of you are familiar with automated email flows
  13. How a drip campaign works Just to recap… 3 main goals: Get new customers to take further action Get existing customers to repeat an action Build brand awareness and trust The key here is engagement, not SPAM or harassment Welcome emails should be sent out right away All copy and content should support your CTA
  14. Your current email marketing platform Chances are your current email marketing platform fully supports automation Some of these are more intuitive than others We are an Agency Partner with MailChimp
  15. BIG TEXT SLIDE Automated emails get 119% higher click rates than broadcast emails With email automation, it is all about catching people in the right moment Remember timing is everything!!
  16. While you don’t necessarily need to have a landing page to build an email list it can be very beneficial. It will help create higher quality leads that have a better chance of converting into paying customers.
  17. Write a good headline - You want to gain their attention right away. Make sure it’s simple, compelling and descriptive. Having a clear CTA Gathering leads is a critical part of your landing page. In fact, it’s typically the most important part of the pre-launch phase of a crowdfunding campaign. Position your sign-up box carefully; usually toward the top of the page, above the fold. Make the CTA button a bright color or a color that stands out on your landing page. Have a mechanism to gather customer data for remarketing - Queue or Viral-Loops Briefly explain the product/service - You want readers to know exactly what your product is and how it solves a problem they have in order to make them want to learn more about it. Write concise supporting information - Why should the reader be interested in your product? Describe exactly what your product is and the benefits it offers, using bullet points where possible. Don’t over-explain; your goal at this point is to make your readers intrigued enough to sign up. Showcase your project through photos, graphics and, if possible, video. Be sure your pictures are clear and high-quality. If you use video, ensure it is crisp, easy-to-follow and to the point.
  18. We actually just launched the Magnet Drive campaign. They’ve only been live for a week and we already have over 500 new customers during the busiest time of year.
  19. Utilizing a chatbot is another great way to generate high quality leads. If you can get your customers or potential customers into a chatbot you can easily keep them engaged by asking them questions, giving them more information or having them take a survey.
  20. Facebook Messaging Survey earlier this year
  21. WHY MESSENGER ADS? While we have found email marketing to be very effective we’re always trying to find ways to improve our strategy. According to MailChimp the average open rate for emails is 21.81% and the average CTR is around 4%. That leaves a huge portion of your list that didn’t even open your email. The reasons may be different, but one of the main reasons is due to the high number of unwanted emails users receive on a daily basis. We’re also seeing a huge shift from desktop to mobile. Many people are reading their emails on-the-go. Chatbots provide a clear, concise and short message with a clear CTA. They’re easier to read through and they’re interactive, providing a more personalized user experience. From our tests, we obtained an average open rate of 93.85% and and average click-through rate of 28.47%.
  22. TYPE OF MESSENGER AD With messenger ads, our main goal is to get potential future customers to engage with us in Facebook messenger because we want to be able to message them when the campaign launches. [SHOW MESSENGER AD] We set up a traffic campaign and set the destination to “messenger”. Then we use ManyChat’s JSON Growth Tool to send a welcome message and collect leads within ManyChat.
  23. Open messenger - click on people (on android you have to click +people, in top right of screen) - scan code
  24. Metrics that make sense depend on your business and your goals for growth Here are some commonly used metrics that serve as a solid starting point for growth efforts The better you understand these metrics, the more strategic you can become when making marketing decisions
  25. Measuring Success: Conversion Rate Proportion of users who complete a process after starting it Some common examples: Saw an online ad and purchased a product Saw a CTA and successfully finished a registration process Questions I hear a lot: what is a good conversion rate? Different actions are going to have different numbers Online advertisements may be in the single digits whereas registration/opt in conversion rates may be much higher With some quick research, you can find some industry averages and the goals you are trying to achieve
  26. Customer Acquisition Cost Simple, the overall cost to bring in a customer High-level metric that takes into account all marketing efforts working together Example: For the month of June, say your company spends $50 Facebook Ads driving traffic to your website. In addition, you also spend $50 on Google Ads for retargeting, and acquires 10 new customers, the CAC is $10 per customer.
  27. Rate of Customer Acquisition In other words, customer growth Basically, in any given time period, how your acquisition efforts are performing Important to look at your company’s growth over time, as we always want this to be increasing
  28. THE STORY: DUO is an on-the-go dual screen laptop monitor that was designed to allow for efficient multitasking when you’re on-the-go. It was created by a team of students from MIT. They received funding from MIT Sandbox, which promotes student entrepreneurship and IDEA Northeastern, which is a venture accelerator to crowdfund their invention.
  29. PRE-LAUNCH: Our goal for this pre-launch was to generate targeted email leads, keep the email leads engaged throughout pre-launch, test target audiences, and test creative: copy & images. A small percentage of total budget was spent during the pre-launch phase.
  30. Lead Gen Ad Campaigns Sign-up/Discount ads Enter to win/Contest ads Conversion optimization ads - send traffic straight to the landing page If you’re able to get a CPL for your discount ads that is close to your CPL for enter to win ads Leads from Discount CTA convert into buyers 2.5x better than Enter to Win! Lead Gen Ads Start with 2 or 3 ads per audience Create 1 baseline ad across all ad sets, and two ads with relevant copy for the specific target audiences. FB Feed ads, Instagram ads, video ads, gif ads Test new ads vs. top performing ad after 72 hours Start with a low budget $5 to $10 per audience
  31. SHOW DIFFERENT ADS
  32. Pre-launch ad campaign set-up Set up Zapier to get the leads a welcome email, add them to a drip campaign and drive traffic to the landing page. Remember AUTOMATION IS KEY Ran a Queue contest embedded on the landing page [SHOW ZAPIER SET-UP AND WELCOME EMAIL]
  33. Pre-launch results: Collected almost 7,000 emails For an average of $0.87 per email 61 email conversions within the first 48-hours of the campaign being live 2.5X ROI on pre-launch efforts
  34. LAUNCH: We started the campaign by running four different types of ads: offer ads, traffic ads, video/GIF ads and Instagram story ads. Just like pre-launch we start with 2 or 3 ads per audience with a baseline ad across all ad sets, and one to two additional ads with relevant copy for the specific target audiences. Different messages based on Past Customer, Recent Web Visit, or Interest. Test new ads vs. top performing ad after 72 hours. Launch with mix of custom audiences, look-a-likes, & interest based ad sets with $5 - $10/day budgets. Scale up the best performing ad sets 50% per day. Custom Lists, Lookalikes, interest Segmented Customer List converts 6x better than interest based targeting Full Customer List converts 4x better than interest based targeting Look-a-likes of buyers convert 2x better than interest based targeting Customer Lists [Emails] Website Visitors Facebook Page Engagers Facebook Video Views
  35. Segmented Customer List converts 6x better than interest based targeting Full Customer List converts 4x better than interest based targeting Look-a-likes of buyers convert 2x better than interest based targeting
  36. RESULTS: Mobile Pixel’s Duo crowdfunding campaign was an instant success, fully-funding in 24 hours, gathering huge press hits and eventually raising over $1 million. More specifically, the Kickstarter campaign closed after raising $862,433, which is 2,464% of the initial funding goal, from 4,145 backers. Effective Facebook Ads and a high-quality list of leads prior to launch were key to this project’s success. After the first day, the Facebook Ads team had a 17x ROI on ads, which translated into a 4.26x ROI for the entire campaign.
  37. Converting Cold Traffic What is cold traffic? People who know nothing about your product or brand Think of them as strangers on the street We deal with a lot of cold traffic with Crowdfunding just because the majority of these products and companies have never been seen before So how do we overcome this?
  38. Cold Traffic Doesn’t Know Your Brand The main goal here is to turn skeptics into believers For online advertising, people don’t know who you are or what your product does for them Copywriting and creatives need to get their attention, keep their attention, and create a bridge from FB/Google to your website/LP
  39. What Are Consumers Thinking? It’s a good start to look at 3 common questions consumers often ask themselves Will this product work? Will this product work for me? Is the product worth the money, they are asking?
  40. Where Do I start? Custom personas Think about age, gender, location, etc. What needs does your customer base have? How does your product/service solve them? If you get stuck, a good starting place is looking at competitor's strategies
  41. Find Customer Groups Find commonalities and form target segment groups Don’t be afraid to start out broad Test, test, test Hone in your audience over time through strategic analysis Tailor your copy/ads to your audience Identify your ideal customer and reach them through as many channels as possible their lifestyle, habits, preferences, needs, dislikes, favorites, and more Get you closer to better growth and cheaper acquisition
  42. Putting this knowledge to work Ok, that’s great… but how do I put this into action Start with your existing customer/email list (if you have one) Use Facebook’s feature to create lookalike audiences (great starting place) Find new customers exactly like your current customers Look-a-likes of buyers convert 2x better than interest based targeting
  43. Case Study: Tobacco Motorwear Startup out of CA A bunch of motorcycle riders, cool bikes Don’t sacrifice style for safety Line of Kevlar-lined riding gear The McCoy Jacket is their latest piece of riding gear Client came to us with a stagnant campaign with 20 days left Needed to get at least $200k to deliver the product
  44. Live Campaign Goals: Identify niche customer group Send steady traffic to the Kickstarter page Achieve a CPC <$0.30 Maintain > 3:1 ROI
  45. The Approach Focused mainly on FB advertising with some tests with Instagram feed and story Test Results: Audience responded well to lifestyle photos of riding vs. product shots This is the best performing ad Speaking directly to them Highlights functionality of the product Generic, but eye-catching headline
  46. Campaign Results Raised an additional $160K they may have been left on the table. The key is the number of backers 535 of excited early adopters Since this they were able to build a successful ecom business
  47. Why are early adopters important? Early adopters are excited about your product/service They are so much cheaper than the mass market They set trends and get the mass market interested in your product
  48. Enterprise Crowdfunding Mass appeal is tough to get KS and IGG have assembled a large community of early adopters Big companies are catching on