Successfully reported this slideshow.
Your SlideShare is downloading. ×

Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning - Mia O'Hara & John Woodcock

Ad

LILAC 2022
March 2022
LIB262: Developing a systematic review search
strategy through online peer and active
learning
Mia O...

Ad

March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and ac...

Ad

March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and ac...

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Ad

Check these out next

1 of 24 Ad
1 of 24 Ad

Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning - Mia O'Hara & John Woodcock

Download to read offline

Presented at LILAC 2022

Presented at LILAC 2022

Advertisement
Advertisement

More Related Content

More from IL Group (CILIP Information Literacy Group) (20)

Advertisement

Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning - Mia O'Hara & John Woodcock

  1. 1. LILAC 2022 March 2022 LIB262: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock Libraries & Collections
  2. 2. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Context is everything We are: • Teaching Librarians at King’s College London • Large, multi campus, multi-disciplinary University We’re responsible for: • Developing variety of information literacy related teaching • (usually one shots) • Teaching students and researchers at King’s • Teaching clinical staff in our NHS Trust partners • Managing large group of Senior Library Assistants, who support us by providing teaching 2
  3. 3. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Where did the online course begin? Mid 2019: • One shot classes well established and evolving • Engaging with academics well • Large suite of ‘foundational’ elearning available to University The head of the team asks: • “What do you want to do next?” And I came back with Dr Randy Garrison’s Community of Inquiry (COI) model of online teaching and learning 3
  4. 4. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning What we did next We decided to design an online course to support systematic reviewers, because: We had the audience • Large community of Health PGRs at King’s: demand for Systematic Review teaching is always present • Increasing number of students studying part time, outside London, or outside the UK • Large group of students for whom an on-campus, three hour workshop isn’t suitable We had the expertise • Many, many years of teaching development for systematic reviews under our belts We had the content • We’d built a set of elearning tutorials specifically to support systematic reviewers • The ‘core’ we could build a course around 4
  5. 5. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Designing the course - The Community of Inquiry model Social constructivist model developed by Dr Randy Garrison Aim is to generate and combine three presences: • Teaching • Social • Cognitive 5
  6. 6. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Designing the course – building the Teaching presence in Moodle • Assignments will: • Introduce new concepts • Assignment will be peer:instructor, to give feedback and guidance • Require integrating new concepts into work • Assignment will be peer:peer • Clear assignment requirements and deadlines • Points awarded for each piece of work • Can “pass” or “fail” course, set out in syllabus 6
  7. 7. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Designing the course – building the Teaching presence in Moodle • Important to put faces to names • We recorded videos to sit at the head of each stage • Friendly, visible way to combine the Teaching/Social presences 7
  8. 8. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Designing the course – building the Social presence in Moodle • Strong focus on discursive assignments, using Forums • First assignment to introduce yourself and your research topic • Instructors introduce themselves • Many assignments require peer feedback, so interaction is required 8
  9. 9. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Designing the course – building the Cognitive presence in Moodle • Assignments are constructively aligned to the overall aims of the course • Clearly scaffolded, gradual structure • Each stage’s assignments build on the previous • Complexity increases through the course Stage 1’s assignments are very social and introductory Stage 2’s assignments introduce the idea of limits and filters, and then encourage the learner to apply them to their own work Stage 4’s assignment is designed to be a 'culmination' of the previous weeks' work 9
  10. 10. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Running the course • Five courses so far – no two the same! • Librarians and Senior Library Assistants as instructors • First course admitted 30 learners, rising to 80 • First stage has no groups, to encourage mixing/exposure to each other as much as possible • Also opportunity to find students with similar topics • Stage 1 is two weeks long, and completion is required to progress • Groups start at Stage 2 to provide manageable social presence 10
  11. 11. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Providing support to learners • Lots of communication before the course • Instructors’ presence in assignments from the beginning • Smaller groups from Stage 2 onwards • Regular posts in the general support forum • Balance between being responsive to learners and creating space for peer-learning 11
  12. 12. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Why did we decide to run Drop-Ins on Gather How we were using it: • Gather is a tool we have been using for social activities like our Christmas Quiz and staff discussions. How other institutions were using it: • Found 4 Case Studies of its use in HE • Potential for positive reporting-bias in student feedback • Case studies indicated Gather could be an effective tool for office hours – essentially what we wanted to introduce 12
  13. 13. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning What barriers did we consider before using Gather 1. Fear of the unfamiliar Most users are now familiar with zoom-type interfaces, but this is different 2. Accessibility Concerns Currently no proximity-based video conferencing software would meet accessibility requirements....so is it okay to use it? 13
  14. 14. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning How did we overcome those barriers 1. Ensure you have a dedicated greeter 2. Keep the space simple 3. Have visual instructions built into the space 1. Introduce Gather when advertising the drop-ins 2. Be prepared to handle a little chaos 14
  15. 15. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning What does a Drop-In on Gather look like? 15
  16. 16. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Providing support to instructors Support to instructors • Wrote an Instructor Manual • Dedicated Teams space • Weekly debrief meetings to discuss previous/upcoming week, any challenges • Present in other spaces outside the course 16
  17. 17. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Course completion Iteration Signed up Completed Stage 1 Passed course April to May 2020 30 - 7 (23%) January to February 2021 30 - 8 (26%) March to April 2021 76 41 22 (54%) October to November 2021 80 45 23 (51%) February to March 2022 80 41 14 (34%) 17
  18. 18. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Reviewing and tweaking • Ideas from debriefs, or exchanges with students are recorded • Sometimes tweaks can happen in-course, sometimes after it’s finished • A review session is held with instructors in- person after each course finishes 18
  19. 19. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning The impact 19 Improved quality of research: • 30% definite immediate contribution • 70% definite long term contribution Contributed to personal or professional development: • 70% definite immediate contribution • 30% definite long term contribution More informed decision making • 80% definite immediate contribution • 20% definite long term contribution Publication of research • 20% definite immediate contribution • 50% definite long term contribution • 20% probable future contribution • 10% unsure
  20. 20. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning The impact The form is a bit small, so some choice pieces: • “I haven't started the SR yet but I feel much more confident about my search following the course and I know how to access support if needed. It was particularly helpful using my own SR to 'practice' on throughout the course.” • “This 5-week course was one of the best I participated in all my life! Definitely, the best that I have followed at KCL. My systematic review improved completely. I could find a lot of interesting papers following your tips and tricks on the search strategies.” 20
  21. 21. March 2022 Mia O’Hara, John Woodcock LILAC 2022: Developing a systematic review search strategy through online peer and active learning Successes and challenges Successes • For instructors – very different way of working and teaching • Gather • Reaching and supporting students overseas • Linking up different areas of support, like forums and workshops • Good way to get Senior Library Assistants more experienced in supporting researchers Challenges • For instructors – very different way of working and teaching • It’s still a no-charge MOOC • Extra work for learners to balance alongside other studies • Attrition always present • Difficult to forge personal connections • High motivation required • Annual leave meant some instructors found it difficult to re-join 21
  22. 22. References • Bektashi, Linda. (2018). Technology and the Curriculum: Summer 2018. Retrieved November 12, 2021, from https://techandcurriculum.pressbooks.com/chapter/coi-and-online-learning/ • D’Alessio et al. (2019). Social presence enhances student performance in an online geology course but depends on instructor facilitation. Journal of Geoscience Education. (67:3) Retrieved March 03, 2022, from https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/10899995.2019.1580179 • Gather Presence Inc. (2021). Gather. Retrieved November 07, 2021, from https://www.gather.town/ • Hartline, Jason & Vijayaraghavan, Aravindan. (2020). Remote teaching on gather.town. Retrieved November 07, 2021, from https://theory.cs.northwestern.edu/2020/12/23/remote-teaching-on-gather-town/ • Lee, Isaac. (2020). Penn students use digital platform Gather to imitate in-person office hours. Retrieved November 07, 2021, from https://www.thedp.com/article/2020/10/gather-town-penn-cis-virtual-office-hours • McClure, Colin & Williams, Paul. (2021). Gather.town: An opportunity for self-paced learning in a synchronous, distance-learning environment. Retrieved November 07, 2021, from https://pure.qub.ac.uk/en/publications/gathertown-an-opportunity-for-self- paced-learning-in-a-synchronou • Totzke, Patrick. (2021). Using Gather.town for teaching. Retrieved November 07, 2021, from https://cgi.csc.liv.ac.uk/~patrick/blog/2021/gather/ • Community of Inquiry Framework in Online Learning: Use of Technology – Technology and the Curriculum: Summer 2018 22
  23. 23. Thanks!
  24. 24. Mia O’Hara Teaching & Learning Librarian King’s College London Email: maria.ohara@kcl.ac.uk Twitter: @meaohara John Woodcock Digital Education Librarian King’s College London Email: john.1.woodcock@kcl.ac.uk Twitter: @jwoody3000

×