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MEDIA BUYING
TV, Digital, Out-of-Home
TV Buying
β€’ Step 1: Request Avails
  β€’ Provide stations with a request for β€œavails” or available inventory
    and pricing.
  β€’ Include timing, target audience, desired dayparts
  β€’ Set a deadline
β€’ Example:
  β€’ Client: Whole Foods
  β€’ Campaign: Summer Grill Out
  β€’ Length: :30
  β€’ Timing: May 20 – June 30, 2013 (6 weeks)
  β€’ Target: Women 35 - 54
  β€’ Dayparts: EM, EN, PA, PT, LN
Dayparts
β€’ Early Morning (EM) – 5am to 9am
β€’ Daytime (DT) – 9am to 4:30pm
β€’ Early Fringe (EF) – 4:30pm to 7pm
β€’ Evening News (EN) – 5pm to 7pm
β€’ Prime Access (PA) – 7pm to 8pm
β€’ Primetime (PT) – 8pm to 11pm
  β€’ On Sundays, Primetime is 7pm to 11pm
β€’ Late News (LN) – 11pm to 11:30pm
β€’ Late Fringe (LF) – 11:30pm to 1am
β€’ Overnight – 1am to 5am
Dayparts
β€’ Early Morning (EM) – 5am to 9am
β€’ Daytime (DT) – 9am to 4:30pm
β€’ Early Fringe (EF) – 4:30pm to 7pm
                                           Overlap
β€’ Evening News (EN) – 5pm to 7pm
β€’ Prime Access (PA) – 7pm to 8pm
β€’ Primetime (PT) – 8pm to 11pm
  β€’ On Sundays, Primetime is 7pm to 11pm
β€’ Late News (LN) – 11pm to 11:30pm
β€’ Late Fringe (LF) – 11:30pm to 1am
β€’ Overnight – 1am to 5am
TV Buying
β€’ Step 2: Draft plan
  β€’ Set daypart GRP and budget goals
    β€’ Use overall budget range and estimated total GRPS
    β€’ $65,000 budget, 4 weeks, 600 GRPs
    β€’ EM – 20%, PA – 10%, EN – 20%, PT – 40%, LN – 10%
    β€’ EM Goal – $13,000 budget, 120 GRPs
    β€’ PA Goal - $6,500 budget, 60 GRPs


  β€’ Get plan as close to ideal
    β€’ Try to hit GRP goal first – cost can be negotiated


  β€’ Call back reps to negotiate
TV Buying
β€’ Step 3: Negotiate
  β€’ Using CPP as comparison
    β€’ β€œI’m buying prime access around $50-$60 CPP. You are currently at $75
      CPP. I need you to bring in the rate to be considered on the buy.”
    β€’ Ex. Access Hollywood, 4.5 rating, $340 cost
       β€’ $75.55 CPP – need to be under $60 CPP
       β€’ Adjust rate to $275 gets it to $61 CPP (cut $65 off rate or about 19%)
  β€’ Rate that will β€œclear”
    β€’ Get a rate that will not get kicked out by another advertiser



β€’ Step 4: Contract / Reserve spots
Radio Buying
β€’ Same as TV
  β€’ Request Avails
  β€’ Set Budget / GRP Goals
  β€’ Negotiate
  β€’ Place Buy
β€’ Dayparts slightly different
  β€’ AM – Morning Drive 6am – 10am
  β€’ MD – Midday 10am – 3pm
  β€’ PM – Afternoon Drive 3pm – 6pm
  β€’ Evening – 7pm – 12mid
  β€’ Overnights – 12mid – 6am
  β€’ Rotators – all day, 6am-6pm
Radio Buying
β€’ Same as TV
  β€’ Request Avails
  β€’ Set Budget / GRP Goals
  β€’ Negotiate
  β€’ Place Buy
β€’ Dayparts slightly different
  β€’ AM – Morning Drive 6am – 10am    Majority of buys
  β€’ MD – Midday 10am – 3pm           purchased in
  β€’ PM – Afternoon Drive 3pm – 6pm   these dayparts

  β€’ Evening – 7pm – 12mid
  β€’ Overnights – 12mid – 6am
  β€’ Rotators – all day, 6am-6pm
Digital Buying
β€’ Typically based on impressions, although can be purchased on
  a monthly basis.
β€’ CPM rates – can be negotiated
  β€’ $10 CPM
  β€’ 50,000 impressions = $500     ($10 x 50 = $500)
  β€’ Rates vary based on ad type
β€’ Share of Voice – SOV
  β€’ Based on site inventory, historical impression levels
  β€’ Ex. WRAL has an average 108 million monthly impressions
  β€’ 10% SOV is 10.8M impressions
β€’ Focus on a page and try to have a good presence there
   β€’ Home Page
   β€’ News
   β€’ Weather
Digital ad placements

                        Leaderboard



                                Med Rectangle
Digital ad placements
                               Interactive Advertising Bureau
160x600      300x600           IAB.net – Rising Stars
Skyscraper   Wide Skyscraper   β€’ Billboard
                               β€’ Filmstrip
                               β€’ Slider
                               β€’ Pushdown
Digital Buying
β€’ Ad networks
β€’ Geo-, Demo-, Contextual Targeting
Digital Buying
β€’ Pay Per Click
  β€’ Search advertising
    β€’ Set daily budgets
    β€’ Set cost per click



β€’ Reporting
  β€’ CTR (click through ratio) – Used to measure engagement of the ad
  β€’ Impressions – Measurement of opportunity to see the ad / served
    by ad server
  β€’ Analytics
    β€’ Specialize in analytics / tracking of digital advertising
Out-of-Home Buying
β€’ Billboards
  β€’ Traditional (Static)
  β€’ Mobile
  β€’ Digital
  β€’ Tri-vision
β€’ Transit (subway, bus, taxi)
β€’ Guerilla outdoor


Based on availability
Long term contracts (3 month minimum)
Frequency medium
Out-of-Home Buying
β€’ Request board availability
β€’ Can be purchased individually or in terms of β€œshowing”
  β€’ 50 showing = 50% reach of the market
  β€’ 25 showing = 25% reach of the market
β€’ Production/Printing extra
β€’ Measurements
  β€’ DEC – Daily Effective Circulation
    β€’ Used to compare boards for traffic numbers
  β€’ EOI – Eyes On Impressions
    β€’ Adopted in 2011, revised ratings system. Adjusts for different types of
      outdoor.
Out-of-Home Buying
β€’ Choosing boards
  β€’ Traffic patterns
  β€’ Visibility
  β€’ Cost
β€’ Reporting
  β€’ Proof of performance (picture of board)
  β€’ Attribute direct URL to outdoor
β€’ Creative
  β€’ Large impact
  β€’ Short messaging
  β€’ Some of the more creative advertising executions

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Media buying 2.13.13

  • 2. TV Buying β€’ Step 1: Request Avails β€’ Provide stations with a request for β€œavails” or available inventory and pricing. β€’ Include timing, target audience, desired dayparts β€’ Set a deadline β€’ Example: β€’ Client: Whole Foods β€’ Campaign: Summer Grill Out β€’ Length: :30 β€’ Timing: May 20 – June 30, 2013 (6 weeks) β€’ Target: Women 35 - 54 β€’ Dayparts: EM, EN, PA, PT, LN
  • 3. Dayparts β€’ Early Morning (EM) – 5am to 9am β€’ Daytime (DT) – 9am to 4:30pm β€’ Early Fringe (EF) – 4:30pm to 7pm β€’ Evening News (EN) – 5pm to 7pm β€’ Prime Access (PA) – 7pm to 8pm β€’ Primetime (PT) – 8pm to 11pm β€’ On Sundays, Primetime is 7pm to 11pm β€’ Late News (LN) – 11pm to 11:30pm β€’ Late Fringe (LF) – 11:30pm to 1am β€’ Overnight – 1am to 5am
  • 4. Dayparts β€’ Early Morning (EM) – 5am to 9am β€’ Daytime (DT) – 9am to 4:30pm β€’ Early Fringe (EF) – 4:30pm to 7pm Overlap β€’ Evening News (EN) – 5pm to 7pm β€’ Prime Access (PA) – 7pm to 8pm β€’ Primetime (PT) – 8pm to 11pm β€’ On Sundays, Primetime is 7pm to 11pm β€’ Late News (LN) – 11pm to 11:30pm β€’ Late Fringe (LF) – 11:30pm to 1am β€’ Overnight – 1am to 5am
  • 5. TV Buying β€’ Step 2: Draft plan β€’ Set daypart GRP and budget goals β€’ Use overall budget range and estimated total GRPS β€’ $65,000 budget, 4 weeks, 600 GRPs β€’ EM – 20%, PA – 10%, EN – 20%, PT – 40%, LN – 10% β€’ EM Goal – $13,000 budget, 120 GRPs β€’ PA Goal - $6,500 budget, 60 GRPs β€’ Get plan as close to ideal β€’ Try to hit GRP goal first – cost can be negotiated β€’ Call back reps to negotiate
  • 6. TV Buying β€’ Step 3: Negotiate β€’ Using CPP as comparison β€’ β€œI’m buying prime access around $50-$60 CPP. You are currently at $75 CPP. I need you to bring in the rate to be considered on the buy.” β€’ Ex. Access Hollywood, 4.5 rating, $340 cost β€’ $75.55 CPP – need to be under $60 CPP β€’ Adjust rate to $275 gets it to $61 CPP (cut $65 off rate or about 19%) β€’ Rate that will β€œclear” β€’ Get a rate that will not get kicked out by another advertiser β€’ Step 4: Contract / Reserve spots
  • 7. Radio Buying β€’ Same as TV β€’ Request Avails β€’ Set Budget / GRP Goals β€’ Negotiate β€’ Place Buy β€’ Dayparts slightly different β€’ AM – Morning Drive 6am – 10am β€’ MD – Midday 10am – 3pm β€’ PM – Afternoon Drive 3pm – 6pm β€’ Evening – 7pm – 12mid β€’ Overnights – 12mid – 6am β€’ Rotators – all day, 6am-6pm
  • 8. Radio Buying β€’ Same as TV β€’ Request Avails β€’ Set Budget / GRP Goals β€’ Negotiate β€’ Place Buy β€’ Dayparts slightly different β€’ AM – Morning Drive 6am – 10am Majority of buys β€’ MD – Midday 10am – 3pm purchased in β€’ PM – Afternoon Drive 3pm – 6pm these dayparts β€’ Evening – 7pm – 12mid β€’ Overnights – 12mid – 6am β€’ Rotators – all day, 6am-6pm
  • 9. Digital Buying β€’ Typically based on impressions, although can be purchased on a monthly basis. β€’ CPM rates – can be negotiated β€’ $10 CPM β€’ 50,000 impressions = $500 ($10 x 50 = $500) β€’ Rates vary based on ad type β€’ Share of Voice – SOV β€’ Based on site inventory, historical impression levels β€’ Ex. WRAL has an average 108 million monthly impressions β€’ 10% SOV is 10.8M impressions β€’ Focus on a page and try to have a good presence there β€’ Home Page β€’ News β€’ Weather
  • 10. Digital ad placements Leaderboard Med Rectangle
  • 11. Digital ad placements Interactive Advertising Bureau 160x600 300x600 IAB.net – Rising Stars Skyscraper Wide Skyscraper β€’ Billboard β€’ Filmstrip β€’ Slider β€’ Pushdown
  • 12. Digital Buying β€’ Ad networks β€’ Geo-, Demo-, Contextual Targeting
  • 13. Digital Buying β€’ Pay Per Click β€’ Search advertising β€’ Set daily budgets β€’ Set cost per click β€’ Reporting β€’ CTR (click through ratio) – Used to measure engagement of the ad β€’ Impressions – Measurement of opportunity to see the ad / served by ad server β€’ Analytics β€’ Specialize in analytics / tracking of digital advertising
  • 14. Out-of-Home Buying β€’ Billboards β€’ Traditional (Static) β€’ Mobile β€’ Digital β€’ Tri-vision β€’ Transit (subway, bus, taxi) β€’ Guerilla outdoor Based on availability Long term contracts (3 month minimum) Frequency medium
  • 15. Out-of-Home Buying β€’ Request board availability β€’ Can be purchased individually or in terms of β€œshowing” β€’ 50 showing = 50% reach of the market β€’ 25 showing = 25% reach of the market β€’ Production/Printing extra β€’ Measurements β€’ DEC – Daily Effective Circulation β€’ Used to compare boards for traffic numbers β€’ EOI – Eyes On Impressions β€’ Adopted in 2011, revised ratings system. Adjusts for different types of outdoor.
  • 16. Out-of-Home Buying β€’ Choosing boards β€’ Traffic patterns β€’ Visibility β€’ Cost β€’ Reporting β€’ Proof of performance (picture of board) β€’ Attribute direct URL to outdoor β€’ Creative β€’ Large impact β€’ Short messaging β€’ Some of the more creative advertising executions