SlideShare a Scribd company logo
1 of 46
Benchmarking SaaS 
Companies 
Tomasz Tunguz 
Redpoint Ventures 
tomtunguz.com
$250k - $40M in 
Seed, Series A, B, Growth 
Menlo Park, China, Brazil 
Lots of *aaS
tomtunguz.com
Environment
SaaS Benchmarks
Methodology 
• Basket of 41 publicly traded SaaS companies 
• Measure progress from years since founding 
• Segment by ACV
Revenue
Payback Period 
= 
Gross Margin 
÷ 
CAC
Revenue per 
Employee
Department Spend
Sales to Engineering Ratio 
Year Since 
Founding 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 
Median 
Revenue in $M 
3 4 11 25 55 70 98 
Sales : Eng 
Ratio 
1.5 3.5 2.0 1.7 1.9 2.4 2.1 
Sample Size 1 1 5 9 12 16 18
Capitalization
Evolution of SaaS Fund Raising 
IPO 
Cohort 
Median 
VC$ 
Raised 
Median # 
of Rounds 
Median 
Round Size 
$M 
Median IPO 
Size 
1998 42 2.5 17 97 
2002 71 3.0 24 86 
2006 66 4.0 16 122 
2010 101 4.5 22 137
Sales
Sales Efficiency in Year Five 
Ticker 
Gross Profit 
in $M 
Sales 
Efficiency 
ACV 
VEEV 72.5 3.3 780,000 
XERO 2.6 1.9 195 
WDAY 40.5 1.7 512,615 
DWRE 5.9 1.7 122,294 
ZEN 25.0 1.4 1,800
How to Construct Quota 
Deal Velocity per Month 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 
1 12 24 36 48 60 72 84 96 
5 60 120 180 240 300 360 420 480 
ACV in 
$K 
10 120 240 360 480 600 720 840 960 
20 240 480 720 960 1,200 1,440 1,680 1,920 
50 600 1,200 1,800 2,400 3,000 3,600 4,200 4,800 
100 1,200 2,400 3,600 4,800 6,000 7,200 8,400 9,600
Quotas 
Inside Sales 
250k 500k 750k 
Outside Sales 
750k 1.2M 2.0M
Lead to Close Conversion Rates 
Freemium 
2% 3% 4% 
Inside Sales 
15% 20% 30%
Customer Success 
Maximizing your negative churn
3,000,000 
2,250,000 
1,500,000 
750,000 
0 
Churn’s Impact on Revenue Growth 
4% 2% 0% -2% -4% 
1 8 15 22 
MRR in $ 
Months
Sales and Marketing Spend Required to Double 
8.5 
5.8 
Revenue 
3.8 
2.2 0.9 
4% 2% 0% -2% -4%
$ 
2-and-Out Customer 
0 15 24 36 
months in customer life 
MRR 
Cost of Customer 
Acquisition + 
Cost to Serve 
Contribution
$ 
Renewed Customer, with Customer Success Investment 
0 15 24 36 
months in customer life 
MRR 
Cost of Customer 
Acquisition + 
Cost to Serve 
CS 
Contri-bution 
Contribution 
21
$ 
Churned Customer, Despite Customer Success Efforts 
0 15 24 36 
months in customer life 
MRR 
Cost of Customer 
Acquisition + 
Cost to Serve 
CS 
Contri-bution 
21
How much? 
Expected Value = 
Save Rate x Value of Extension 
EV = 
30% * 12 months * 83 = 
$298 
About 30% of ACV 
An existing customer is much less expensive to 
retain than to acquire a new customer
Thank you 
Tomasz Tunguz 
Redpoint Ventures 
tomtunguz.com
Benchmarking SaaS Companies

More Related Content

What's hot

The State of the Cloud Report 2017
The State of the Cloud Report 2017 The State of the Cloud Report 2017
The State of the Cloud Report 2017
Anna Khan
 
Front Series D Investor Deck
Front Series D Investor DeckFront Series D Investor Deck
Front Series D Investor Deck
Front
 

What's hot (20)

Scaling to $100 Million
Scaling to $100 MillionScaling to $100 Million
Scaling to $100 Million
 
Mattermark 2nd (Final) Series A Deck
Mattermark 2nd (Final) Series A DeckMattermark 2nd (Final) Series A Deck
Mattermark 2nd (Final) Series A Deck
 
State of the Cloud 2022
State of the Cloud 2022State of the Cloud 2022
State of the Cloud 2022
 
2022 Accel Euroscape
2022 Accel Euroscape2022 Accel Euroscape
2022 Accel Euroscape
 
Bliss deck v1
Bliss deck v1Bliss deck v1
Bliss deck v1
 
Square Pitch Deck
Square Pitch DeckSquare Pitch Deck
Square Pitch Deck
 
Pipedrive - NOAH16 Berlin
Pipedrive - NOAH16 BerlinPipedrive - NOAH16 Berlin
Pipedrive - NOAH16 Berlin
 
The Rise of SaaS in India
The Rise of SaaS in IndiaThe Rise of SaaS in India
The Rise of SaaS in India
 
Front series A deck
Front series A deckFront series A deck
Front series A deck
 
Bessemer's State of the Cloud 2021
Bessemer's State of the Cloud 2021Bessemer's State of the Cloud 2021
Bessemer's State of the Cloud 2021
 
WeWork Pitch Deck 2014
WeWork Pitch Deck 2014WeWork Pitch Deck 2014
WeWork Pitch Deck 2014
 
Airbyte - Seed deck
Airbyte  - Seed deckAirbyte  - Seed deck
Airbyte - Seed deck
 
BlueOS Company Presentation: Pitch Deck
BlueOS Company Presentation: Pitch DeckBlueOS Company Presentation: Pitch Deck
BlueOS Company Presentation: Pitch Deck
 
Sequoia Capital on startups and the economic downturn
Sequoia Capital on startups and the economic downturnSequoia Capital on startups and the economic downturn
Sequoia Capital on startups and the economic downturn
 
Stripe Pitch Deck designed by Zlides
Stripe Pitch Deck designed by ZlidesStripe Pitch Deck designed by Zlides
Stripe Pitch Deck designed by Zlides
 
The investor presentation we used to raise 2 million dollars
The investor presentation we used to raise 2 million dollarsThe investor presentation we used to raise 2 million dollars
The investor presentation we used to raise 2 million dollars
 
The State of the Cloud Report 2017
The State of the Cloud Report 2017 The State of the Cloud Report 2017
The State of the Cloud Report 2017
 
MapMe Pitch Deck
MapMe Pitch DeckMapMe Pitch Deck
MapMe Pitch Deck
 
Hive - Investor Deck
Hive - Investor DeckHive - Investor Deck
Hive - Investor Deck
 
Front Series D Investor Deck
Front Series D Investor DeckFront Series D Investor Deck
Front Series D Investor Deck
 

Viewers also liked

Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad TécnicaDocumentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
Proyecto Red Eureka
 
Getting paid to go to Harvard
Getting paid to go to HarvardGetting paid to go to Harvard
Getting paid to go to Harvard
meducationdotnet
 
The Effects of Artificial Lighting
The Effects of Artificial LightingThe Effects of Artificial Lighting
The Effects of Artificial Lighting
Emma-Louise Spicer
 

Viewers also liked (19)

Benchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS Companies
Benchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS CompaniesBenchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS Companies
Benchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS Companies
 
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom TunguzGainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
 
Tom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San Francisco
Tom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San FranciscoTom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San Francisco
Tom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San Francisco
 
IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00)
IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00) IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00)
IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00)
 
Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017
Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017
Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017
 
Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star
Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star
Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star
 
Upfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup Industry
Upfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup IndustryUpfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup Industry
Upfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup Industry
 
12 Key Levers of SaaS Success
12 Key Levers of SaaS Success12 Key Levers of SaaS Success
12 Key Levers of SaaS Success
 
Diseño instruccional
Diseño instruccionalDiseño instruccional
Diseño instruccional
 
Alemanha
AlemanhaAlemanha
Alemanha
 
5.guia amplificacion y reduccion
5.guia amplificacion y reduccion5.guia amplificacion y reduccion
5.guia amplificacion y reduccion
 
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad TécnicaDocumentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
 
Getting paid to go to Harvard
Getting paid to go to HarvardGetting paid to go to Harvard
Getting paid to go to Harvard
 
rp
rprp
rp
 
Its good to talk process
Its good to talk processIts good to talk process
Its good to talk process
 
The Effects of Artificial Lighting
The Effects of Artificial LightingThe Effects of Artificial Lighting
The Effects of Artificial Lighting
 
Presentación1 (1)
Presentación1 (1)Presentación1 (1)
Presentación1 (1)
 
Mapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargas
Mapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargasMapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargas
Mapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargas
 
Ofirmarc
OfirmarcOfirmarc
Ofirmarc
 

Similar to Benchmarking SaaS Companies

Final Presentation Insight-2
Final Presentation Insight-2Final Presentation Insight-2
Final Presentation Insight-2
Carl Schiro
 
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
Software & Information Industry Association
 

Similar to Benchmarking SaaS Companies (20)

Journey to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a Backlog
Journey to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a BacklogJourney to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a Backlog
Journey to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a Backlog
 
Yess pitch startup
Yess pitch   startupYess pitch   startup
Yess pitch startup
 
KPI Dashboard Presentation.pptx
KPI Dashboard Presentation.pptxKPI Dashboard Presentation.pptx
KPI Dashboard Presentation.pptx
 
IP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRM
IP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRMIP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRM
IP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRM
 
Investor presentation
Investor presentationInvestor presentation
Investor presentation
 
BackLive Pitch Deck
BackLive Pitch DeckBackLive Pitch Deck
BackLive Pitch Deck
 
SEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALE
SEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALESEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALE
SEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALE
 
Final Presentation Insight-2
Final Presentation Insight-2Final Presentation Insight-2
Final Presentation Insight-2
 
Business Pitch PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch PowerPoint Presentation SlidesBusiness Pitch PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Business Pitch Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch Powerpoint Presentation SlidesBusiness Pitch Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch Powerpoint Presentation Slides
 
Revenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's Effectiveness
Revenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's EffectivenessRevenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's Effectiveness
Revenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's Effectiveness
 
Equity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Equity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation SlidesEquity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Equity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
The Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription Economy
The Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription EconomyThe Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription Economy
The Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription Economy
 
Investment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Investment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation SlidesInvestment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Investment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy
Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy
Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy
 
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
 
Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Investor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Investor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation SlidesInvestor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Investor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation Slides
 
Sept 2018 acxiom live-ramp_investor roadshow deck
Sept 2018 acxiom live-ramp_investor roadshow deckSept 2018 acxiom live-ramp_investor roadshow deck
Sept 2018 acxiom live-ramp_investor roadshow deck
 

Recently uploaded

Artificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and MythsArtificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Joaquim Jorge
 
CNv6 Instructor Chapter 6 Quality of Service
CNv6 Instructor Chapter 6 Quality of ServiceCNv6 Instructor Chapter 6 Quality of Service
CNv6 Instructor Chapter 6 Quality of Service
giselly40
 

Recently uploaded (20)

The 7 Things I Know About Cyber Security After 25 Years | April 2024
The 7 Things I Know About Cyber Security After 25 Years | April 2024The 7 Things I Know About Cyber Security After 25 Years | April 2024
The 7 Things I Know About Cyber Security After 25 Years | April 2024
 
Driving Behavioral Change for Information Management through Data-Driven Gree...
Driving Behavioral Change for Information Management through Data-Driven Gree...Driving Behavioral Change for Information Management through Data-Driven Gree...
Driving Behavioral Change for Information Management through Data-Driven Gree...
 
Powerful Google developer tools for immediate impact! (2023-24 C)
Powerful Google developer tools for immediate impact! (2023-24 C)Powerful Google developer tools for immediate impact! (2023-24 C)
Powerful Google developer tools for immediate impact! (2023-24 C)
 
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and MythsArtificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
 
GenCyber Cyber Security Day Presentation
GenCyber Cyber Security Day PresentationGenCyber Cyber Security Day Presentation
GenCyber Cyber Security Day Presentation
 
Finology Group – Insurtech Innovation Award 2024
Finology Group – Insurtech Innovation Award 2024Finology Group – Insurtech Innovation Award 2024
Finology Group – Insurtech Innovation Award 2024
 
Presentation on how to chat with PDF using ChatGPT code interpreter
Presentation on how to chat with PDF using ChatGPT code interpreterPresentation on how to chat with PDF using ChatGPT code interpreter
Presentation on how to chat with PDF using ChatGPT code interpreter
 
Strategize a Smooth Tenant-to-tenant Migration and Copilot Takeoff
Strategize a Smooth Tenant-to-tenant Migration and Copilot TakeoffStrategize a Smooth Tenant-to-tenant Migration and Copilot Takeoff
Strategize a Smooth Tenant-to-tenant Migration and Copilot Takeoff
 
Boost PC performance: How more available memory can improve productivity
Boost PC performance: How more available memory can improve productivityBoost PC performance: How more available memory can improve productivity
Boost PC performance: How more available memory can improve productivity
 
What Are The Drone Anti-jamming Systems Technology?
What Are The Drone Anti-jamming Systems Technology?What Are The Drone Anti-jamming Systems Technology?
What Are The Drone Anti-jamming Systems Technology?
 
The Role of Taxonomy and Ontology in Semantic Layers - Heather Hedden.pdf
The Role of Taxonomy and Ontology in Semantic Layers - Heather Hedden.pdfThe Role of Taxonomy and Ontology in Semantic Layers - Heather Hedden.pdf
The Role of Taxonomy and Ontology in Semantic Layers - Heather Hedden.pdf
 
Handwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed texts
Handwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed textsHandwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed texts
Handwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed texts
 
How to Troubleshoot Apps for the Modern Connected Worker
How to Troubleshoot Apps for the Modern Connected WorkerHow to Troubleshoot Apps for the Modern Connected Worker
How to Troubleshoot Apps for the Modern Connected Worker
 
CNv6 Instructor Chapter 6 Quality of Service
CNv6 Instructor Chapter 6 Quality of ServiceCNv6 Instructor Chapter 6 Quality of Service
CNv6 Instructor Chapter 6 Quality of Service
 
Raspberry Pi 5: Challenges and Solutions in Bringing up an OpenGL/Vulkan Driv...
Raspberry Pi 5: Challenges and Solutions in Bringing up an OpenGL/Vulkan Driv...Raspberry Pi 5: Challenges and Solutions in Bringing up an OpenGL/Vulkan Driv...
Raspberry Pi 5: Challenges and Solutions in Bringing up an OpenGL/Vulkan Driv...
 
Scaling API-first – The story of a global engineering organization
Scaling API-first – The story of a global engineering organizationScaling API-first – The story of a global engineering organization
Scaling API-first – The story of a global engineering organization
 
[2024]Digital Global Overview Report 2024 Meltwater.pdf
[2024]Digital Global Overview Report 2024 Meltwater.pdf[2024]Digital Global Overview Report 2024 Meltwater.pdf
[2024]Digital Global Overview Report 2024 Meltwater.pdf
 
ProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemke
ProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemkeProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemke
ProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemke
 
How to Troubleshoot Apps for the Modern Connected Worker
How to Troubleshoot Apps for the Modern Connected WorkerHow to Troubleshoot Apps for the Modern Connected Worker
How to Troubleshoot Apps for the Modern Connected Worker
 
04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx
04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx
04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx
 

Benchmarking SaaS Companies

  • 1. Benchmarking SaaS Companies Tomasz Tunguz Redpoint Ventures tomtunguz.com
  • 2. $250k - $40M in Seed, Series A, B, Growth Menlo Park, China, Brazil Lots of *aaS
  • 5.
  • 6.
  • 7.
  • 8.
  • 9.
  • 10.
  • 12. Methodology • Basket of 41 publicly traded SaaS companies • Measure progress from years since founding • Segment by ACV
  • 14.
  • 15.
  • 16.
  • 17.
  • 18. Payback Period = Gross Margin ÷ CAC
  • 19.
  • 21.
  • 22.
  • 24.
  • 25. Sales to Engineering Ratio Year Since Founding 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Median Revenue in $M 3 4 11 25 55 70 98 Sales : Eng Ratio 1.5 3.5 2.0 1.7 1.9 2.4 2.1 Sample Size 1 1 5 9 12 16 18
  • 27.
  • 28. Evolution of SaaS Fund Raising IPO Cohort Median VC$ Raised Median # of Rounds Median Round Size $M Median IPO Size 1998 42 2.5 17 97 2002 71 3.0 24 86 2006 66 4.0 16 122 2010 101 4.5 22 137
  • 29. Sales
  • 30.
  • 31. Sales Efficiency in Year Five Ticker Gross Profit in $M Sales Efficiency ACV VEEV 72.5 3.3 780,000 XERO 2.6 1.9 195 WDAY 40.5 1.7 512,615 DWRE 5.9 1.7 122,294 ZEN 25.0 1.4 1,800
  • 32.
  • 33. How to Construct Quota Deal Velocity per Month 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 1 12 24 36 48 60 72 84 96 5 60 120 180 240 300 360 420 480 ACV in $K 10 120 240 360 480 600 720 840 960 20 240 480 720 960 1,200 1,440 1,680 1,920 50 600 1,200 1,800 2,400 3,000 3,600 4,200 4,800 100 1,200 2,400 3,600 4,800 6,000 7,200 8,400 9,600
  • 34. Quotas Inside Sales 250k 500k 750k Outside Sales 750k 1.2M 2.0M
  • 35. Lead to Close Conversion Rates Freemium 2% 3% 4% Inside Sales 15% 20% 30%
  • 36. Customer Success Maximizing your negative churn
  • 37.
  • 38.
  • 39. 3,000,000 2,250,000 1,500,000 750,000 0 Churn’s Impact on Revenue Growth 4% 2% 0% -2% -4% 1 8 15 22 MRR in $ Months
  • 40. Sales and Marketing Spend Required to Double 8.5 5.8 Revenue 3.8 2.2 0.9 4% 2% 0% -2% -4%
  • 41. $ 2-and-Out Customer 0 15 24 36 months in customer life MRR Cost of Customer Acquisition + Cost to Serve Contribution
  • 42. $ Renewed Customer, with Customer Success Investment 0 15 24 36 months in customer life MRR Cost of Customer Acquisition + Cost to Serve CS Contri-bution Contribution 21
  • 43. $ Churned Customer, Despite Customer Success Efforts 0 15 24 36 months in customer life MRR Cost of Customer Acquisition + Cost to Serve CS Contri-bution 21
  • 44. How much? Expected Value = Save Rate x Value of Extension EV = 30% * 12 months * 83 = $298 About 30% of ACV An existing customer is much less expensive to retain than to acquire a new customer
  • 45. Thank you Tomasz Tunguz Redpoint Ventures tomtunguz.com

Editor's Notes

  1. Let me give you a little bit of background on red point. We invest in every part of technology stack, from consumer applications like secret to enterprise software like zuora and mapr, to developer services like stripe and twilio, and infrastructure companies like pure storage We have 11 partners and most of them are based in California. We have a team in China that is invested in some of the largest companies there. And we have a team in the fund in Brazil who cover South America for us. We also have the notable distinction of being the only venture capital firm in the world with two former ATMs on staff, Jamie Davidson (YouTube and I)
  2. Blog extensively at tomtunguz.com Data driven analysis
  3. Let’s first set some context about the environment It’s a bull market
  4. B of USD entering the venture market black line is the post dot com median 2014 will be the fourth largest in 14 years
  5. In terms of dollars deployed, invested into companies, 2014 is on track to exceed $40B, making it the second largest year since the dot com era
  6. This dollars have been raised by many new firms, particularly institutional seed stage
  7. All that capital is increasing the amount of capital deployed per investment in the US. Median across A, B, C.
  8. Meanwhile in the publlic markets, there’s a bit of a different story. NTM revenue to market 2.2B market cap - 3x in 2004 and 6X in 2005
  9. Split it by high growth WorkDay, Splunk, ZenDesk, DemandWare, LinkedIn tale of two markets relative stability of the standard markets, much greater variance in the high growth companies, still trading at 12x, which is similar to private market multiples, particularly in the growth stage.
  10. Median publicly traded SaaS company achieves $11M by third year, reaching about $64M in year six, the year before IPO. After that, growth tends to slow.
  11. Looking at the data at a bit more granular level. Each point represents a year for a SaaS company. At the beginning, SaaS companies are growing close to 200% per year, and that number begins to taper reaching about 100% by year five and then 50% by year seven.
  12. Let’s break this out by segment: SMB is < $10k acv; mid market is < $100k ACV; http://tomtunguz.com/segmenting-saas-growth/
  13. http://tomtunguz.com/fundraising-history-saas-publics/ Median is 70M The number of rounds of financing each company raises before IPO has nearly doubled from 2.5 to 4.5, i.e. Series B/C to Series D/E. These figures exclude seeds, which I’ve defined as rounds less than $1.5M.
  14. Inflation adjusted in 2014 dollars $32M on the balance sheet at IPO time, spent $69 during the seven years
  15. This is list of publicly traded saaS companies by acv at time of IPO Huge range Median is $30k
  16. Amazingly, sales efficiency isn't actually tied to ACV. These are the top five most efficient sales organizations. Huge variance in sales efficiency
  17. Here’s the data broken down by segment and shown over time. Monotonically decreasing No statistically significant difference among the companies Early on, sales efficiency should be close to one and then ideally plateau to 0.8, which is the median The median SaaS company selling a $1M product declines from a sales efficiency of 1.7 to 0.9 in about 6 years, a 47% drop. In contrast, the $50k ACV median falls 9%.
  18. Quotas What sizes of quotas do we typically see Function of acv and deal velocity; we’ll get into that in a second