4. Digital Marketing
DIRECTIONS
‣ From the moment you arrived at this building’s front door, how did you
get to this classroom?
‣ What was your objective when entering the building?
‣ How did you know you successfully achieved your objective?
List at least 10 steps!
5. Digital Marketing
DIRECTIONS
‣ Download this Photoshelter ebook (The Photographer’s Guide to
Instagram Hashtags) starting from this Facebook post: link.
‣ What’s the objective? What stage of the funnel is best for this piece of
content?
‣ Make note of every step you take:
‣ How many pages?
‣ What action do you need to take on each page?
‣ How do you know you’ve successfully achieved the objective?
10. Digital Marketing Bootcamp
How did you hear about General Assembly?
What was the last communication you received from
GA before you purchased this course?
What communications did you receive between the
first and last communications?
11. Digital Marketing Bootcamp
SOCIAL MEDIA
YourSite.com
MEDIA
RETARGETING
SEARCH
Purchase
INFLUENCERS
AWARENESS INTERESTED CONSIDERATION
EMAIL
14. Digital Marketing Bootcamp
THINK OF THE LAST TIME YOU SIGNED UP
FOR A PRODUCT OR SERVICE.
What made it great?
What made it terrible?
What would’ve made it better?
16. Digital Marketing Bootcamp
WHAT IS ACTIVATION?
GETTING NEW USERS TO USE THE PRODUCT
OR SERVICE.
NOTE: IF THIS FEELS HIGHLY SPECIFIC TO
YOUR UNIQUE BUSINESS SITUATION, YOU’RE
DOING IT RIGHT.
17. Digital Marketing Bootcamp
WHAT IS RETENTION?
GETTING USERS TO CONTINUE USING THE
PRODUCT OR SERVICE.
ALSO KNOWN AS:
ENGAGEMENT
REPEAT CUSTOMERS/PURCHASES
18. Digital Marketing Bootcamp
WHAT IS REFERRAL?
GETTING USERS TO RECOMMEND YOUR
PRODUCT OR SERVICE TO OTHERS AND
ACTUALLY GENERATE NEW LEADS/SALES
21. Digital Marketing
DIRECTIONS
‣Find a partner
‣Choose 1 product, then write 1 objective for each stage of
the funnel.
‣Uber Pool
‣Amazon Echo
‣Huffington Post video content
‣Salesforce CRM (customer relationship management)
26. Digital Marketing
DEFINE KPIS
Key Performance Indicators
Metrics are a number that gives you information about an aspect of your
business and they typically look at scale (or volume) and efficiency.
41. Digital Marketing
EXECUTE CAMPAIGN
How are you going to execute your campaign on the
platforms you have selected in Tactics?
Will you do it yourself or use an Agency?
How are you going to manage the campaign process?
42. It is vital that you track your campaigns and analyze
the data to find where opportunities are.
Digital Marketing
MEASURE OUTCOMES
43. Digital Marketing
OPTIMIZE RESULTS
Once you have analyzed your data, refine or stop your
campaigns based on results. For example if a paid
advert is not sending traffic or converting, stop and
adjust budget to a campaign that is working well for
you.
44. Digital Marketing
IF YOU DO THIS, THE NEXT STEP IS OBVIOUS.
SPECIFIC MEASUREABLE ACTIONABLE REALISTIC TIME BOUND
45. Digital Marketing
S.M.A.R.T OBJECTIVE MADLIB
Our goal this year/quarter/month is to <INCREASE OR
DECREASE> <X> by/to <PLUG IN A SPECIFIC %/PLUG IN
A SPECIFIC NUMBER OR COUNT> in order to <BLANK -
SHOULD BE SPECIFIC & TIED TO BUSINESS MODEL>.
46. Digital Marketing
S.M.A.R.T OBJECTIVE MADLIB
Zara’s Goal is to increase their email subscriptions by 15%
year over year in order to drive more sales via their email
marketing
48. Digital Marketing
SMART Objective:
Our goal this quarter is to sell 50,000 pairs of the new Levi’s Athletic
Fit style in order to meet quarter revenue goals.
THE OBJECTIVE-FIRST FRAMEWORK
OBJECTIVES
Primary Objective: Our goal this quarter is to sell 50,000 pairs of the new Levi’s Athletic Fit
style.
49. Digital Marketing
Levi’s Facebook Advertising KPIs:
‣Clickthrough Rate (CTR)
‣Cost Per Click (CPC)
‣Conversion Rate (CR)
‣Cost Per Acquisition (CPA)
‣Revenue
50. Digital Marketing
Our goal this quarter is to sell 50,000 pairs of the new Levi’s Athletic
Fit style.
Ad Budget: $500,000
Cost per Acquisition (CPA) = Ad Cost/Acquisitions (orders)
Target Cost per Acquisition???
$500,000 / 50,000 = $10 Target CPA
51. Digital Marketing
Campaign Execution
‣Facebook Advertising platforms:
‣Facebook, Instagram, Audience Network
‣Duration: How long are your campaigns and/or ads live?
‣Management: Agency, Internal, mix
55. Digital Marketing
DIRECTIONS
‣Write 1 SMART Objective for each stage of the funnel. Use
the same company that you chose during our previous class.
*Use this worksheet! TAB 1
58. Digital Marketing
‣ Bark & Co. — parent company of BarkBox, a popular subscription-
based dog merchandise service — is quickly becoming a hotspot for all
aspects of dog ownership due to its exceptional execution in every
stage of the digital marketing funnel.
60. Digital Marketing
Bark & Co. does an excellent job familiarizing new
consumers with its products by providing a wealth of contact
points where dog owners and lovers can be introduced to its
brand.
Rather than a standard blog, which focuses purely on its
products and business, Bark & Co. created a compelling and
entertaining “Buzzfeed-style” site called BarkPost that
creates original stories and videos for dog lovers.
66. Digital Marketing
While Bark & Co.’s wide social media outreach is
wonderful for awareness, it also takes several
effective steps to draw consumers specifically for
the purpose of selling its products.
72. Digital Marketing
All of the aforementioned social media and ad campaigns eventually direct consumers to
barkbox.com, Bark & Co.’s dog merchandise subscription service.
82. Digital Marketing
All Bark & Co. customers have the option to get free
BarkBoxes by recommending the service to a friend. This
is promoted heavily online and in BarkBox's email
marketing.
The incentive of free boxes is a great way to encourage
users to spread awareness and invite friends to try
BarkBox.
84. Digital Marketing
DIRECTIONS
‣Create a 1st draft of the Channel Matrix. This does not need to be
perfect! You’ll edit this regularly throughout the course.
*Use this worksheet! TAB 2
86. Digital Marketing
‣ Homework
‣ Document in this week’s lesson homework folder!
‣ Save the Dates
‣ Optional class outing: 9/6/17 right after class
‣ Optional career day: 10/21/17, 11am - 2pm
87. Digital Marketing WAYS TO BE AWESOME
TELL PEOPLE YOU ARE WHO YOU WANT TO BE
BE FUN, LIKABLE, HUMBLE & EASY GOING
WORK ON YOURSELF AS MUCH AS WORK
BE READY FOR LUCK
THINK ABOUT HOW YOU WORK
GET NERDY
DON’T GIVE UP
Body copy
WAYS TO BE AWESOME
TELL PEOPLE YOU ARE WHO YOU WANT TO BE
BE FUN, LIKABLE, HUMBLE & EASY GOING
WORK ON YOURSELF AS MUCH AS WORK
BE READY FOR LUCK
THINK ABOUT HOW YOU WORK
GET NERDY
DON’T GIVE UP
88. Digital Marketing
WHAT YOU LEARNED - WEEK 1, DAY 1
‣ Got to know your classmates
‣ Equipped with all course information
‣ Basic understanding of the Digital Marketing Landscape
‣ Introduction to objectives
EXIT TICKET