Research Project:  Medieval Life<br />You may use books in the library and the following websites to complete this project...
Medieval life research project
Medieval life research project
Medieval life research project
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in …5
×

Medieval life research project

1,021 views

Published on

Published in: Education
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
1,021
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
73
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
4
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Medieval life research project

  1. 1. Research Project: Medieval Life<br />You may use books in the library and the following websites to complete this project. Choose a topic about Medieval life that you find interesting and research it. <br />You must turn in:<br />5 completed note cards<br />3 sources from both books and websites (must include at least one book and one website)<br />With a partner, you will create a presentation from your research notes and present it to the class using the iPad. The presentation must include 5 slides (Title slide, 3 content slides, 1 source slide).<br />Medieval England<br />http://www.historylearningsite.co.uk/england_medieval.htm<br />An archeological quest for the real King Arthur<br />http://www.uidaho.edu/student_orgs/arthurian_legend/england/arch/<br />The Legend of King Arthur<br />http://www.castles.me.uk/king-arthur.htm<br />A current article from USA Today on King Arthur and Tintagel<br />http://www.usatoday.com/travel/destinations/2007-04-09-tintagel-castle-cornwall-england_N.htm<br />History for kids<br />http://www.historyforkids.org/learn/medieval/index.htm<br />Life in a castle<br />http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/lostempires/trebuchet/castle.html<br />Castles of Britain<br />http://www.castles-of-britain.com/castlelearningcenter.htm<br />Life in a Medieval Castle<br />http://www.castlewales.com/life.html#Part%20II<br />Food and Drink in Medieval England<br />http://www.historylearningsite.co.uk/food_and_drink_in_medieval_engla.htm<br />Medieval Food and Drink<br />http://www.castles.me.uk/medieval-food-drink.htm<br />Medieval Food and Drink - Gode cookery<br />http://www.godecookery.com/mtales/mtales14.htm<br />Medieval Clothing<br />http://www.castles.me.uk/medieval-clothing.htm<br />Medieval Entertainment<br />http://www.castles.me.uk/medieval-entertainment.htm<br />Medieval Games<br />http://www.tarahill.com/instruct.html#solitaire<br />Medieval Musical Instruments<br />http://www.castles.me.uk/medieval-musical-instruments.htm<br />Medieval Kings and Queens<br />http://www.castles.me.uk/medieval-kings-queens.htm<br />Medieval Knights<br />http://www.britainexpress.com/History/Knights_and_Fights.htm<br />The Knight's Daily Life<br />http://history.boisestate.edu/westciv/medsoc/14.shtml<br />Medieval Peasants<br />http://www.historylearningsite.co.uk/medieval_peasants.htm<br />Medieval Occupations<br />http://www.castles.me.uk/medieval-occupations.htm<br />Medieval Guilds<br />http://www.castles.me.uk/medieval-guilds.htm<br />Medieval Women<br />http://www.castles.me.uk/medieval-women.htm<br />Medieval Names<br />http://www.castles.me.uk/medieval-names.htm<br />Medieval Education<br />http://www.britainexpress.com/History/Medieval_Schools_and_Universities.htm<br />Medieval Education<br />http://www.historylearningsite.co.uk/medieval_education.htm<br />Feudalism and Medieval Life<br />http://www.britainexpress.com/History/Feudalism_and_Medieval_life.htm<br />Town Life<br />http://www.britainexpress.com/History/Townlife.htm<br />Medieval Life<br />http://www.historyonthenet.com/Medieval_Life/medievallifemain.htm<br />Feudal System<br />http://www.castles.me.uk/medieval-feudal-system.htm<br />Medieval Churches and Monasteries<br />http://www.britainexpress.com/History/TheMedievalChurch.htm<br />Castles for Kids<br />http://www.castles.org/Kids_Section/Castle_Story/index.htm<br />National Geographic Castle Photo Gallery<br />http://travel.nationalgeographic.com/travel/countries/castles-photos/<br />Kids Castle interactive site<br />http://www.kidsonthenet.org.uk/castle/<br />Build a Medieval Castle<br />http://www.yourchildlearns.com/castle.htm<br />Online jousting game<br />http://www.tudorbritain.org/joust/<br />Online heraldry game<br />http://www.yourchildlearns.com/heraldrygame/index.html<br />On your next vacation visit Medieval Times<br />http://www.medievaltimes.com/<br />California Standards<br />Language Arts 7th Grade<br />Writing<br />Organization and Focus<br />1.1 Create an organizational structure that balances all aspects of the <br />composition and uses effective transitions between sentences to unify <br />important ideas.<br />1.2 Support all statements and claims with anecdotes, descriptions, facts <br />and statistics, and specific examples.<br />1.3 Use strategies of note taking, outlining, and summarizing to impose <br />structure on composition drafts. <br />Research and Technology<br />1.4 Identify topics; ask and evaluate questions; and develop ideas leading <br />to inquiry, investigation, and research.<br />1.5 Give credit for both quoted and paraphrased information in a <br />bibliography by using a consistent and sanctioned format and methodology for <br />citations.<br />1.6 Create documents by using word-processing skills and publishing <br />programs; develop simple databases and spreadsheets to manage information <br />and prepare reports. <br />Evaluation and Revision<br />1.7 Revise writing to improve organization and word choice after checking <br />the logic of the ideas and the precision of the vocabulary.<br />2.0 Writing Applications (Genres and Their Characteristics) <br />Students write narrative, expository, persuasive, and descriptive texts of <br />at least 500 to 700 words in each genre. The writing demonstrates a command <br />of standard American English and the research, organizational, and drafting <br />strategies outlined in Writing Standard 1.0. <br />2.3 Write research reports:<br />a. Pose relevant and tightly drawn questions about the topic.<br />b. Convey clear and accurate perspectives on the subject.<br />c. Include evidence compiled through the formal research process (e.g., use <br />of a card catalog, Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, a computer <br />catalog, magazines, newspapers, dictionaries).<br />d. Document reference sources by means of footnotes and a bibliography.<br />2.3 Deliver research presentations:<br />Pose relevant and concise questions about the topic.<br />Convey clear and accurate perspectives on the subject.<br />Include evidence generated through the formal research process (e.g., use of a card catalog, Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, computer databases, magazines, newspapers, dictionaries).<br />Cite reference sources appropriately.<br />

×