SlideShare a Scribd company logo
1 of 18
Know Your Customers
August 17 2019
Confidential. Do not distribute.
Fiona Li
Manager, Analytics
Implement a Winning Strategy Driven by Customer Lifetime Value
2
Agenda
● What is Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) and why do we care?
● How CLV is used for a business decision
● Deep dive on BG/BB probabilistic models
● Demo on an offline model: Implement BG/BB models in Python
● Select the right CLV model for your business
Imagine you are opening a boutique movie theatre...let’s say we
named it Popcorn & Soda, located in the University Village...
3
“The average life span of my potential customers is 5 years.
And on average, people visit similar theatres spend about $20 per month. ”
What is my Customer Lifetime Value?
$20/month x 12 months/year x 5 years = $1,200
How much should I spend on acquiring a customer in the first year,
if I would like to maintain a 20% profit?
$20/month x 12 months/year x 20% = $48
4
Popcorn & Soda becomes a huge hit and you have earned
enough money for a MBA at Marshall...
m: the net cash flow per period (w/20% margin)
r: the retention rate (80% in this case)
d: the discount rate (assume 10%)
T: the time horizon for the calculation
What is my Customer Lifetime Value?
How much should I spend on acquiring a customer in the first year,
if I would like to maintain a 20% profit?
CLV (t=0) = $20/month x 12 months/year x 20% = $48
m = $20/month x 12 months/year x 5 years x 20% = $240
something = 2.91
CLV = $240 x 2.91 = $700
Reference: What’s Wrong With This CLV Formula? P. Fader, B.
Hardie
At the Marketing 101 Class:
Classifying Customer Bases
5
Contractual
customer “death” can be observed and often
modeled using survival-based approach
Non-contractual
customer “death” is unobserved and
lifetime distribution often modeled via
probabilistic models
Discrete
purchases
occur at fixed
period or
frequencies
● Streaming Services: Netflix, Hulu etc
● Magazine subscriptions
● Most insurance policy
● Movie, concert attendance
● Prescription refills
● Charity fund drives
Continuous
purchases can
happen at any
time
● Credit cards transactions
● Utilities
● Continuity programs: airline frequent flyer
discount program etc
● Retail purchasing, i.e.Starbucks
● Hotel stays
● Doctor visits
Typical Purchasing Journeys
Alice:
Brian:
Charlie:
6
Past Future
?
CLV Definition and Equation
7
Future Customer Lifetime Value =
Profit Margin % x Discounted Expected Residual Transactions x Predicted Order Value
Customer Lifetime Value is
“the total profit of the entire relationship with a customer throughout the customer journey, in the past and
future.”
Reference: Customer-Base Analysis in a Discrete-Time Noncontractual Setting P. Fader, B. Hardie, J.
Shang
“By sending a second email to our weekly newsletter subscribers, we observed a
80% lift in conversions! However, we also experienced a 20% increase of
unsubscription rate.
So should we continue sending out the second email or not? Given the numbers,
can we have a 1-year projection on the net impact?”
8
Popcorn & Soda is very successful, expanded to 20+ college
towns...now we are not only have a Marketing team but also
has a Data Science team...
In a recent memo from the Head of Marketing to the Head of Data Science:
“Two Coins” of BG/BB Model
a.k.a. Buy Till You Die model
9
Purchase Coin
Make a transaction!
Yay! I’m going to see a movie!
🤘🤘
No transaction!
I hate my coin!
😞
Death Coin
You “die”! No escape!
OMG! The Death Lord’s here!
☠️
You stay “alive”!
Angel to the rescue!
😇
Assume each customer has two uneven coins
Model Development
The dying (BG) and purchasing (BB) processes
10
“Oh, End Game is on tonight 8pm at Popcorn & Soda.
Should I go see it?”
“Hmm, I just moved to Hollywood. I do like the theatre, but
should I drive 10 miles to see a movie at Popcorn & Soda?”
“Oh, I received an email from P&S and saying that there are lots of previous movies are on at P&S with lower rates. So…”
A customer makes a transaction at any given
transaction opportunity with probability p. This is
known as a binomial distribution:
A “living” customer “dies” at the beginning of a
transaction opportunity with probability θ. This is
known as a geometric distribution:
Brian:
11
● The order of given number of transactions prior to the most recent transaction doesn’t matter.But what matters
is when the customer is “dead” θ (Recency) and how many transactions p (Frequency) he/she has.
● We compute the probability of the transaction on each customer and then multiply it by the probability with
other customers’.
Brian’s transaction history - 100100
Model Development
An Example
12
Beta Geometric Beta Binomial
BGBB Model
Model Development
Heterogeneity is captured in Beta Distribution and and the log-likelihood function
Demo in Python
13
Select a CLV Model for your business model
14
Deploy a Production ModelBusiness Context Select an Offline Model
Select a CLV model - suggestions and caveats
15
● Depends on the nature of
customer base, the data
size can be huge.
● To decide if it’s a
streaming, online or AaaS
deployment.
● To deploy in a container i.e.
Docker to control package
versions.
● To write engineering
production code with
adequate test cases.
● For contractuals, we can use
survival based models, while in non-
contractual settings, we can
consider probabilistic models, i.e.
hierarchical Bayesian such as
Pareto/NBD, Pareto/GGG.
● Tools/Packages can be:
○ Python: lifetime, PyMC
○ R: BTYD, BTYDPlus
● Metrics to evaluate performance:
MAPE, tradeoff between granularity
and run-time if running MCMC.
● What are the values added if
we have CLV?
● To understand the business
context and business model.
○ Is the business model on a
contractual or non-
contractual basis?
○ Are the customer
purchases continuous or
discrete?
● How far we would like to
have CLV predicted?
16
Popcorn & Soda successfully chose, implemented CLV models...
The Head of Data Science sends out a memo to the Executives and the Marketing Team:
“The estimated incremental revenue gained from the 80% conversion is about $3M. Based on the
10% increased number of unsubscribers we projected CLV for a year is about $1M. The Net Impact
from the calculation above is about $2M per year. Based on revenue impact calculations and cost
estimations, we believe that we will be better off if launching this product feature.”
Thank you
Confidential. Do not distribute.
Why do we care about CLV?
18
From a strategic point of view:
● Company valuation based on customer equity
● Annual budgeting based on CLV
● Customer segmentation
Operationally:
● Identify most profitable customers, then
● Identify traits and features of valuable customers for engagement and growth
● Dictates allocation of marketing resources, i.e. acquisition cost, SEM spend at a visitor level
● To track sales forecasts
APPENDIX

More Related Content

What's hot

Deep-Dive: Predicting Customer Behavior with Apigee Insights
Deep-Dive: Predicting Customer Behavior with Apigee InsightsDeep-Dive: Predicting Customer Behavior with Apigee Insights
Deep-Dive: Predicting Customer Behavior with Apigee InsightsApigee | Google Cloud
 
Dat wist je nog niet over Filip
Dat wist je nog niet over FilipDat wist je nog niet over Filip
Dat wist je nog niet over FilipThierry Debels
 
Implementing Customer Loyalty Program PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Implementing Customer Loyalty Program PowerPoint Presentation SlidesImplementing Customer Loyalty Program PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Implementing Customer Loyalty Program PowerPoint Presentation SlidesSlideTeam
 
Flipkart - Project
Flipkart - ProjectFlipkart - Project
Flipkart - ProjectAnuraga Jha
 
Customer Life Time Value Analysis
Customer Life Time Value AnalysisCustomer Life Time Value Analysis
Customer Life Time Value AnalysisSOUMIT KAR
 
Michael Porter's 5 Forces in Online retail Store/Retailer Flipkart
Michael Porter's 5 Forces in Online retail Store/Retailer FlipkartMichael Porter's 5 Forces in Online retail Store/Retailer Flipkart
Michael Porter's 5 Forces in Online retail Store/Retailer FlipkartPreeti Acharya
 

What's hot (8)

Deep-Dive: Predicting Customer Behavior with Apigee Insights
Deep-Dive: Predicting Customer Behavior with Apigee InsightsDeep-Dive: Predicting Customer Behavior with Apigee Insights
Deep-Dive: Predicting Customer Behavior with Apigee Insights
 
Dat wist je nog niet over Filip
Dat wist je nog niet over FilipDat wist je nog niet over Filip
Dat wist je nog niet over Filip
 
Implementing Customer Loyalty Program PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Implementing Customer Loyalty Program PowerPoint Presentation SlidesImplementing Customer Loyalty Program PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Implementing Customer Loyalty Program PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Flipkart - Project
Flipkart - ProjectFlipkart - Project
Flipkart - Project
 
Walton company
Walton company Walton company
Walton company
 
Customer Life Time Value Analysis
Customer Life Time Value AnalysisCustomer Life Time Value Analysis
Customer Life Time Value Analysis
 
Michael Porter's 5 Forces in Online retail Store/Retailer Flipkart
Michael Porter's 5 Forces in Online retail Store/Retailer FlipkartMichael Porter's 5 Forces in Online retail Store/Retailer Flipkart
Michael Porter's 5 Forces in Online retail Store/Retailer Flipkart
 
Power of Your Dreams
Power of Your DreamsPower of Your Dreams
Power of Your Dreams
 

Similar to Data Con LA 2019 - Know Your Customer by Fiona Li

Calculating Your Customer Lifetime Value - Dawn of the Data Age Lecture Series
Calculating Your Customer Lifetime Value - Dawn of the Data Age Lecture SeriesCalculating Your Customer Lifetime Value - Dawn of the Data Age Lecture Series
Calculating Your Customer Lifetime Value - Dawn of the Data Age Lecture SeriesLuciano Pesci, PhD
 
Convincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on Advertising
Convincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on AdvertisingConvincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on Advertising
Convincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on AdvertisingKevin Dieny
 
[Webinar] How To Compete Against The Big Fish
[Webinar] How To Compete Against The Big Fish[Webinar] How To Compete Against The Big Fish
[Webinar] How To Compete Against The Big FishVWO
 
Two Case Studies that Unlocked Invisible Value Where Cost Price was a Lower L...
Two Case Studies that Unlocked Invisible Value Where Cost Price was a Lower L...Two Case Studies that Unlocked Invisible Value Where Cost Price was a Lower L...
Two Case Studies that Unlocked Invisible Value Where Cost Price was a Lower L...Tejari
 
(10-15-14) Lehigh Marketing 111 Lecture Materials
(10-15-14) Lehigh Marketing 111 Lecture Materials(10-15-14) Lehigh Marketing 111 Lecture Materials
(10-15-14) Lehigh Marketing 111 Lecture MaterialsBrent Chudoba
 
1530 track 1 fader_using our laptop
1530 track 1 fader_using our laptop1530 track 1 fader_using our laptop
1530 track 1 fader_using our laptopRising Media, Inc.
 
Playing the Marketing Long Game
Playing the Marketing Long GamePlaying the Marketing Long Game
Playing the Marketing Long GameWork-Bench
 
Convincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on Advertising
Convincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on AdvertisingConvincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on Advertising
Convincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on AdvertisingHanapin Marketing
 
Target selling the breakthrough approach of today
Target selling the breakthrough approach of todayTarget selling the breakthrough approach of today
Target selling the breakthrough approach of todayDr Wilfred Monteiro
 
Sun Emea Summit Slides 9.10.2006
Sun Emea Summit Slides   9.10.2006Sun Emea Summit Slides   9.10.2006
Sun Emea Summit Slides 9.10.2006Alan Mather
 
Customer Lifetime Value: The Core Metric in Marketing
Customer Lifetime Value: The Core Metric in MarketingCustomer Lifetime Value: The Core Metric in Marketing
Customer Lifetime Value: The Core Metric in MarketingAdknowledge
 
Using Lifetime Value to Optimize Your Digital Marketing Investments
Using Lifetime Value to Optimize Your Digital Marketing InvestmentsUsing Lifetime Value to Optimize Your Digital Marketing Investments
Using Lifetime Value to Optimize Your Digital Marketing InvestmentsAdknowledge
 
StartupTalk #35 - How to Price your First SaaS Product
StartupTalk #35 - How to Price your First SaaS ProductStartupTalk #35 - How to Price your First SaaS Product
StartupTalk #35 - How to Price your First SaaS ProductPreSeed Ventures
 
Fundraising During a Pandemic with Point Nine Capital
Fundraising During a Pandemic with Point Nine CapitalFundraising During a Pandemic with Point Nine Capital
Fundraising During a Pandemic with Point Nine Capitalsaastr
 
Lifetime Value - The Only Metric That Matters (DMC September 2018)
Lifetime Value - The Only Metric That Matters (DMC September 2018)Lifetime Value - The Only Metric That Matters (DMC September 2018)
Lifetime Value - The Only Metric That Matters (DMC September 2018)Luciano Pesci, PhD
 
Lifetime Value (the only metric that matters) Utah DMC September 2018
Lifetime Value (the only metric that matters) Utah DMC September 2018Lifetime Value (the only metric that matters) Utah DMC September 2018
Lifetime Value (the only metric that matters) Utah DMC September 2018Utah Digital Marketing Collective
 
Netflix's Customer Obsession by fmr Netflix VP of Product
Netflix's Customer Obsession by fmr Netflix VP of ProductNetflix's Customer Obsession by fmr Netflix VP of Product
Netflix's Customer Obsession by fmr Netflix VP of ProductProduct School
 

Similar to Data Con LA 2019 - Know Your Customer by Fiona Li (20)

Customer lifetime value (1)
Customer lifetime value (1)Customer lifetime value (1)
Customer lifetime value (1)
 
Calculating Your Customer Lifetime Value - Dawn of the Data Age Lecture Series
Calculating Your Customer Lifetime Value - Dawn of the Data Age Lecture SeriesCalculating Your Customer Lifetime Value - Dawn of the Data Age Lecture Series
Calculating Your Customer Lifetime Value - Dawn of the Data Age Lecture Series
 
Convincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on Advertising
Convincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on AdvertisingConvincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on Advertising
Convincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on Advertising
 
[Webinar] How To Compete Against The Big Fish
[Webinar] How To Compete Against The Big Fish[Webinar] How To Compete Against The Big Fish
[Webinar] How To Compete Against The Big Fish
 
Two Case Studies that Unlocked Invisible Value Where Cost Price was a Lower L...
Two Case Studies that Unlocked Invisible Value Where Cost Price was a Lower L...Two Case Studies that Unlocked Invisible Value Where Cost Price was a Lower L...
Two Case Studies that Unlocked Invisible Value Where Cost Price was a Lower L...
 
(10-15-14) Lehigh Marketing 111 Lecture Materials
(10-15-14) Lehigh Marketing 111 Lecture Materials(10-15-14) Lehigh Marketing 111 Lecture Materials
(10-15-14) Lehigh Marketing 111 Lecture Materials
 
1530 track 1 fader_using our laptop
1530 track 1 fader_using our laptop1530 track 1 fader_using our laptop
1530 track 1 fader_using our laptop
 
Playing the Marketing Long Game
Playing the Marketing Long GamePlaying the Marketing Long Game
Playing the Marketing Long Game
 
Convincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on Advertising
Convincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on AdvertisingConvincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on Advertising
Convincing Your Boss(es) to Confidently Spend (more) on Advertising
 
Target selling the breakthrough approach of today
Target selling the breakthrough approach of todayTarget selling the breakthrough approach of today
Target selling the breakthrough approach of today
 
Sun Emea Summit Slides 9.10.2006
Sun Emea Summit Slides   9.10.2006Sun Emea Summit Slides   9.10.2006
Sun Emea Summit Slides 9.10.2006
 
Customer Lifetime Value: The Core Metric in Marketing
Customer Lifetime Value: The Core Metric in MarketingCustomer Lifetime Value: The Core Metric in Marketing
Customer Lifetime Value: The Core Metric in Marketing
 
100 Days as a CEO
100 Days as a CEO100 Days as a CEO
100 Days as a CEO
 
LinkedIn for Business Development SourceIn London, James Osborne
LinkedIn for Business Development SourceIn London, James OsborneLinkedIn for Business Development SourceIn London, James Osborne
LinkedIn for Business Development SourceIn London, James Osborne
 
Using Lifetime Value to Optimize Your Digital Marketing Investments
Using Lifetime Value to Optimize Your Digital Marketing InvestmentsUsing Lifetime Value to Optimize Your Digital Marketing Investments
Using Lifetime Value to Optimize Your Digital Marketing Investments
 
StartupTalk #35 - How to Price your First SaaS Product
StartupTalk #35 - How to Price your First SaaS ProductStartupTalk #35 - How to Price your First SaaS Product
StartupTalk #35 - How to Price your First SaaS Product
 
Fundraising During a Pandemic with Point Nine Capital
Fundraising During a Pandemic with Point Nine CapitalFundraising During a Pandemic with Point Nine Capital
Fundraising During a Pandemic with Point Nine Capital
 
Lifetime Value - The Only Metric That Matters (DMC September 2018)
Lifetime Value - The Only Metric That Matters (DMC September 2018)Lifetime Value - The Only Metric That Matters (DMC September 2018)
Lifetime Value - The Only Metric That Matters (DMC September 2018)
 
Lifetime Value (the only metric that matters) Utah DMC September 2018
Lifetime Value (the only metric that matters) Utah DMC September 2018Lifetime Value (the only metric that matters) Utah DMC September 2018
Lifetime Value (the only metric that matters) Utah DMC September 2018
 
Netflix's Customer Obsession by fmr Netflix VP of Product
Netflix's Customer Obsession by fmr Netflix VP of ProductNetflix's Customer Obsession by fmr Netflix VP of Product
Netflix's Customer Obsession by fmr Netflix VP of Product
 

More from Data Con LA

Data Con LA 2022 Keynotes
Data Con LA 2022 KeynotesData Con LA 2022 Keynotes
Data Con LA 2022 KeynotesData Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 Keynotes
Data Con LA 2022 KeynotesData Con LA 2022 Keynotes
Data Con LA 2022 KeynotesData Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 Keynote
Data Con LA 2022 KeynoteData Con LA 2022 Keynote
Data Con LA 2022 KeynoteData Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Startup Showcase
Data Con LA 2022 - Startup ShowcaseData Con LA 2022 - Startup Showcase
Data Con LA 2022 - Startup ShowcaseData Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 Keynote
Data Con LA 2022 KeynoteData Con LA 2022 Keynote
Data Con LA 2022 KeynoteData Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Using Google trends data to build product recommendations
Data Con LA 2022 - Using Google trends data to build product recommendationsData Con LA 2022 - Using Google trends data to build product recommendations
Data Con LA 2022 - Using Google trends data to build product recommendationsData Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 - AI Ethics
Data Con LA 2022 - AI EthicsData Con LA 2022 - AI Ethics
Data Con LA 2022 - AI EthicsData Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Improving disaster response with machine learning
Data Con LA 2022 - Improving disaster response with machine learningData Con LA 2022 - Improving disaster response with machine learning
Data Con LA 2022 - Improving disaster response with machine learningData Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 - What's new with MongoDB 6.0 and Atlas
Data Con LA 2022 - What's new with MongoDB 6.0 and AtlasData Con LA 2022 - What's new with MongoDB 6.0 and Atlas
Data Con LA 2022 - What's new with MongoDB 6.0 and AtlasData Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Real world consumer segmentation
Data Con LA 2022 - Real world consumer segmentationData Con LA 2022 - Real world consumer segmentation
Data Con LA 2022 - Real world consumer segmentationData Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Modernizing Analytics & AI for today's needs: Intuit Turbo...
Data Con LA 2022 - Modernizing Analytics & AI for today's needs: Intuit Turbo...Data Con LA 2022 - Modernizing Analytics & AI for today's needs: Intuit Turbo...
Data Con LA 2022 - Modernizing Analytics & AI for today's needs: Intuit Turbo...Data Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Moving Data at Scale to AWS
Data Con LA 2022 - Moving Data at Scale to AWSData Con LA 2022 - Moving Data at Scale to AWS
Data Con LA 2022 - Moving Data at Scale to AWSData Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Collaborative Data Exploration using Conversational AI
Data Con LA 2022 - Collaborative Data Exploration using Conversational AIData Con LA 2022 - Collaborative Data Exploration using Conversational AI
Data Con LA 2022 - Collaborative Data Exploration using Conversational AIData Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Why Database Modernization Makes Your Data Decisions More ...
Data Con LA 2022 - Why Database Modernization Makes Your Data Decisions More ...Data Con LA 2022 - Why Database Modernization Makes Your Data Decisions More ...
Data Con LA 2022 - Why Database Modernization Makes Your Data Decisions More ...Data Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Intro to Data Science
Data Con LA 2022 - Intro to Data ScienceData Con LA 2022 - Intro to Data Science
Data Con LA 2022 - Intro to Data ScienceData Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 - How are NFTs and DeFi Changing Entertainment
Data Con LA 2022 - How are NFTs and DeFi Changing EntertainmentData Con LA 2022 - How are NFTs and DeFi Changing Entertainment
Data Con LA 2022 - How are NFTs and DeFi Changing EntertainmentData Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Why Data Quality vigilance requires an End-to-End, Automat...
Data Con LA 2022 - Why Data Quality vigilance requires an End-to-End, Automat...Data Con LA 2022 - Why Data Quality vigilance requires an End-to-End, Automat...
Data Con LA 2022 - Why Data Quality vigilance requires an End-to-End, Automat...Data Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022-Perfect Viral Ad prediction of Superbowl 2022 using Tease, T...
Data Con LA 2022-Perfect Viral Ad prediction of Superbowl 2022 using Tease, T...Data Con LA 2022-Perfect Viral Ad prediction of Superbowl 2022 using Tease, T...
Data Con LA 2022-Perfect Viral Ad prediction of Superbowl 2022 using Tease, T...Data Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022- Embedding medical journeys with machine learning to improve...
Data Con LA 2022- Embedding medical journeys with machine learning to improve...Data Con LA 2022- Embedding medical journeys with machine learning to improve...
Data Con LA 2022- Embedding medical journeys with machine learning to improve...Data Con LA
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Data Streaming with Kafka
Data Con LA 2022 - Data Streaming with KafkaData Con LA 2022 - Data Streaming with Kafka
Data Con LA 2022 - Data Streaming with KafkaData Con LA
 

More from Data Con LA (20)

Data Con LA 2022 Keynotes
Data Con LA 2022 KeynotesData Con LA 2022 Keynotes
Data Con LA 2022 Keynotes
 
Data Con LA 2022 Keynotes
Data Con LA 2022 KeynotesData Con LA 2022 Keynotes
Data Con LA 2022 Keynotes
 
Data Con LA 2022 Keynote
Data Con LA 2022 KeynoteData Con LA 2022 Keynote
Data Con LA 2022 Keynote
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Startup Showcase
Data Con LA 2022 - Startup ShowcaseData Con LA 2022 - Startup Showcase
Data Con LA 2022 - Startup Showcase
 
Data Con LA 2022 Keynote
Data Con LA 2022 KeynoteData Con LA 2022 Keynote
Data Con LA 2022 Keynote
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Using Google trends data to build product recommendations
Data Con LA 2022 - Using Google trends data to build product recommendationsData Con LA 2022 - Using Google trends data to build product recommendations
Data Con LA 2022 - Using Google trends data to build product recommendations
 
Data Con LA 2022 - AI Ethics
Data Con LA 2022 - AI EthicsData Con LA 2022 - AI Ethics
Data Con LA 2022 - AI Ethics
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Improving disaster response with machine learning
Data Con LA 2022 - Improving disaster response with machine learningData Con LA 2022 - Improving disaster response with machine learning
Data Con LA 2022 - Improving disaster response with machine learning
 
Data Con LA 2022 - What's new with MongoDB 6.0 and Atlas
Data Con LA 2022 - What's new with MongoDB 6.0 and AtlasData Con LA 2022 - What's new with MongoDB 6.0 and Atlas
Data Con LA 2022 - What's new with MongoDB 6.0 and Atlas
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Real world consumer segmentation
Data Con LA 2022 - Real world consumer segmentationData Con LA 2022 - Real world consumer segmentation
Data Con LA 2022 - Real world consumer segmentation
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Modernizing Analytics & AI for today's needs: Intuit Turbo...
Data Con LA 2022 - Modernizing Analytics & AI for today's needs: Intuit Turbo...Data Con LA 2022 - Modernizing Analytics & AI for today's needs: Intuit Turbo...
Data Con LA 2022 - Modernizing Analytics & AI for today's needs: Intuit Turbo...
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Moving Data at Scale to AWS
Data Con LA 2022 - Moving Data at Scale to AWSData Con LA 2022 - Moving Data at Scale to AWS
Data Con LA 2022 - Moving Data at Scale to AWS
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Collaborative Data Exploration using Conversational AI
Data Con LA 2022 - Collaborative Data Exploration using Conversational AIData Con LA 2022 - Collaborative Data Exploration using Conversational AI
Data Con LA 2022 - Collaborative Data Exploration using Conversational AI
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Why Database Modernization Makes Your Data Decisions More ...
Data Con LA 2022 - Why Database Modernization Makes Your Data Decisions More ...Data Con LA 2022 - Why Database Modernization Makes Your Data Decisions More ...
Data Con LA 2022 - Why Database Modernization Makes Your Data Decisions More ...
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Intro to Data Science
Data Con LA 2022 - Intro to Data ScienceData Con LA 2022 - Intro to Data Science
Data Con LA 2022 - Intro to Data Science
 
Data Con LA 2022 - How are NFTs and DeFi Changing Entertainment
Data Con LA 2022 - How are NFTs and DeFi Changing EntertainmentData Con LA 2022 - How are NFTs and DeFi Changing Entertainment
Data Con LA 2022 - How are NFTs and DeFi Changing Entertainment
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Why Data Quality vigilance requires an End-to-End, Automat...
Data Con LA 2022 - Why Data Quality vigilance requires an End-to-End, Automat...Data Con LA 2022 - Why Data Quality vigilance requires an End-to-End, Automat...
Data Con LA 2022 - Why Data Quality vigilance requires an End-to-End, Automat...
 
Data Con LA 2022-Perfect Viral Ad prediction of Superbowl 2022 using Tease, T...
Data Con LA 2022-Perfect Viral Ad prediction of Superbowl 2022 using Tease, T...Data Con LA 2022-Perfect Viral Ad prediction of Superbowl 2022 using Tease, T...
Data Con LA 2022-Perfect Viral Ad prediction of Superbowl 2022 using Tease, T...
 
Data Con LA 2022- Embedding medical journeys with machine learning to improve...
Data Con LA 2022- Embedding medical journeys with machine learning to improve...Data Con LA 2022- Embedding medical journeys with machine learning to improve...
Data Con LA 2022- Embedding medical journeys with machine learning to improve...
 
Data Con LA 2022 - Data Streaming with Kafka
Data Con LA 2022 - Data Streaming with KafkaData Con LA 2022 - Data Streaming with Kafka
Data Con LA 2022 - Data Streaming with Kafka
 

Recently uploaded

Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...
Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...
Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...Patryk Bandurski
 
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii SoldatenkoFwdays
 
Story boards and shot lists for my a level piece
Story boards and shot lists for my a level pieceStory boards and shot lists for my a level piece
Story boards and shot lists for my a level piececharlottematthew16
 
WordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your Brand
WordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your BrandWordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your Brand
WordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your Brandgvaughan
 
Kotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmatics
Kotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmaticsKotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmatics
Kotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmaticscarlostorres15106
 
My INSURER PTE LTD - Insurtech Innovation Award 2024
My INSURER PTE LTD - Insurtech Innovation Award 2024My INSURER PTE LTD - Insurtech Innovation Award 2024
My INSURER PTE LTD - Insurtech Innovation Award 2024The Digital Insurer
 
Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?
Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?
Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?Mattias Andersson
 
CloudStudio User manual (basic edition):
CloudStudio User manual (basic edition):CloudStudio User manual (basic edition):
CloudStudio User manual (basic edition):comworks
 
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024Lorenzo Miniero
 
Beyond Boundaries: Leveraging No-Code Solutions for Industry Innovation
Beyond Boundaries: Leveraging No-Code Solutions for Industry InnovationBeyond Boundaries: Leveraging No-Code Solutions for Industry Innovation
Beyond Boundaries: Leveraging No-Code Solutions for Industry InnovationSafe Software
 
Search Engine Optimization SEO PDF for 2024.pdf
Search Engine Optimization SEO PDF for 2024.pdfSearch Engine Optimization SEO PDF for 2024.pdf
Search Engine Optimization SEO PDF for 2024.pdfRankYa
 
Leverage Zilliz Serverless - Up to 50X Saving for Your Vector Storage Cost
Leverage Zilliz Serverless - Up to 50X Saving for Your Vector Storage CostLeverage Zilliz Serverless - Up to 50X Saving for Your Vector Storage Cost
Leverage Zilliz Serverless - Up to 50X Saving for Your Vector Storage CostZilliz
 
What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024
What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024
What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024Stephanie Beckett
 
Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!
Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!
Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!Manik S Magar
 
"ML in Production",Oleksandr Bagan
"ML in Production",Oleksandr Bagan"ML in Production",Oleksandr Bagan
"ML in Production",Oleksandr BaganFwdays
 
My Hashitalk Indonesia April 2024 Presentation
My Hashitalk Indonesia April 2024 PresentationMy Hashitalk Indonesia April 2024 Presentation
My Hashitalk Indonesia April 2024 PresentationRidwan Fadjar
 
Gen AI in Business - Global Trends Report 2024.pdf
Gen AI in Business - Global Trends Report 2024.pdfGen AI in Business - Global Trends Report 2024.pdf
Gen AI in Business - Global Trends Report 2024.pdfAddepto
 
Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!
Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!
Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!Commit University
 
Developer Data Modeling Mistakes: From Postgres to NoSQL
Developer Data Modeling Mistakes: From Postgres to NoSQLDeveloper Data Modeling Mistakes: From Postgres to NoSQL
Developer Data Modeling Mistakes: From Postgres to NoSQLScyllaDB
 

Recently uploaded (20)

Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...
Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...
Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...
 
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
 
Story boards and shot lists for my a level piece
Story boards and shot lists for my a level pieceStory boards and shot lists for my a level piece
Story boards and shot lists for my a level piece
 
WordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your Brand
WordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your BrandWordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your Brand
WordPress Websites for Engineers: Elevate Your Brand
 
E-Vehicle_Hacking_by_Parul Sharma_null_owasp.pptx
E-Vehicle_Hacking_by_Parul Sharma_null_owasp.pptxE-Vehicle_Hacking_by_Parul Sharma_null_owasp.pptx
E-Vehicle_Hacking_by_Parul Sharma_null_owasp.pptx
 
Kotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmatics
Kotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmaticsKotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmatics
Kotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmatics
 
My INSURER PTE LTD - Insurtech Innovation Award 2024
My INSURER PTE LTD - Insurtech Innovation Award 2024My INSURER PTE LTD - Insurtech Innovation Award 2024
My INSURER PTE LTD - Insurtech Innovation Award 2024
 
Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?
Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?
Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?
 
CloudStudio User manual (basic edition):
CloudStudio User manual (basic edition):CloudStudio User manual (basic edition):
CloudStudio User manual (basic edition):
 
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
 
Beyond Boundaries: Leveraging No-Code Solutions for Industry Innovation
Beyond Boundaries: Leveraging No-Code Solutions for Industry InnovationBeyond Boundaries: Leveraging No-Code Solutions for Industry Innovation
Beyond Boundaries: Leveraging No-Code Solutions for Industry Innovation
 
Search Engine Optimization SEO PDF for 2024.pdf
Search Engine Optimization SEO PDF for 2024.pdfSearch Engine Optimization SEO PDF for 2024.pdf
Search Engine Optimization SEO PDF for 2024.pdf
 
Leverage Zilliz Serverless - Up to 50X Saving for Your Vector Storage Cost
Leverage Zilliz Serverless - Up to 50X Saving for Your Vector Storage CostLeverage Zilliz Serverless - Up to 50X Saving for Your Vector Storage Cost
Leverage Zilliz Serverless - Up to 50X Saving for Your Vector Storage Cost
 
What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024
What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024
What's New in Teams Calling, Meetings and Devices March 2024
 
Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!
Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!
Anypoint Exchange: It’s Not Just a Repo!
 
"ML in Production",Oleksandr Bagan
"ML in Production",Oleksandr Bagan"ML in Production",Oleksandr Bagan
"ML in Production",Oleksandr Bagan
 
My Hashitalk Indonesia April 2024 Presentation
My Hashitalk Indonesia April 2024 PresentationMy Hashitalk Indonesia April 2024 Presentation
My Hashitalk Indonesia April 2024 Presentation
 
Gen AI in Business - Global Trends Report 2024.pdf
Gen AI in Business - Global Trends Report 2024.pdfGen AI in Business - Global Trends Report 2024.pdf
Gen AI in Business - Global Trends Report 2024.pdf
 
Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!
Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!
Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!
 
Developer Data Modeling Mistakes: From Postgres to NoSQL
Developer Data Modeling Mistakes: From Postgres to NoSQLDeveloper Data Modeling Mistakes: From Postgres to NoSQL
Developer Data Modeling Mistakes: From Postgres to NoSQL
 

Data Con LA 2019 - Know Your Customer by Fiona Li

  • 1. Know Your Customers August 17 2019 Confidential. Do not distribute. Fiona Li Manager, Analytics Implement a Winning Strategy Driven by Customer Lifetime Value
  • 2. 2 Agenda ● What is Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) and why do we care? ● How CLV is used for a business decision ● Deep dive on BG/BB probabilistic models ● Demo on an offline model: Implement BG/BB models in Python ● Select the right CLV model for your business
  • 3. Imagine you are opening a boutique movie theatre...let’s say we named it Popcorn & Soda, located in the University Village... 3 “The average life span of my potential customers is 5 years. And on average, people visit similar theatres spend about $20 per month. ” What is my Customer Lifetime Value? $20/month x 12 months/year x 5 years = $1,200 How much should I spend on acquiring a customer in the first year, if I would like to maintain a 20% profit? $20/month x 12 months/year x 20% = $48
  • 4. 4 Popcorn & Soda becomes a huge hit and you have earned enough money for a MBA at Marshall... m: the net cash flow per period (w/20% margin) r: the retention rate (80% in this case) d: the discount rate (assume 10%) T: the time horizon for the calculation What is my Customer Lifetime Value? How much should I spend on acquiring a customer in the first year, if I would like to maintain a 20% profit? CLV (t=0) = $20/month x 12 months/year x 20% = $48 m = $20/month x 12 months/year x 5 years x 20% = $240 something = 2.91 CLV = $240 x 2.91 = $700 Reference: What’s Wrong With This CLV Formula? P. Fader, B. Hardie At the Marketing 101 Class:
  • 5. Classifying Customer Bases 5 Contractual customer “death” can be observed and often modeled using survival-based approach Non-contractual customer “death” is unobserved and lifetime distribution often modeled via probabilistic models Discrete purchases occur at fixed period or frequencies ● Streaming Services: Netflix, Hulu etc ● Magazine subscriptions ● Most insurance policy ● Movie, concert attendance ● Prescription refills ● Charity fund drives Continuous purchases can happen at any time ● Credit cards transactions ● Utilities ● Continuity programs: airline frequent flyer discount program etc ● Retail purchasing, i.e.Starbucks ● Hotel stays ● Doctor visits
  • 7. CLV Definition and Equation 7 Future Customer Lifetime Value = Profit Margin % x Discounted Expected Residual Transactions x Predicted Order Value Customer Lifetime Value is “the total profit of the entire relationship with a customer throughout the customer journey, in the past and future.” Reference: Customer-Base Analysis in a Discrete-Time Noncontractual Setting P. Fader, B. Hardie, J. Shang
  • 8. “By sending a second email to our weekly newsletter subscribers, we observed a 80% lift in conversions! However, we also experienced a 20% increase of unsubscription rate. So should we continue sending out the second email or not? Given the numbers, can we have a 1-year projection on the net impact?” 8 Popcorn & Soda is very successful, expanded to 20+ college towns...now we are not only have a Marketing team but also has a Data Science team... In a recent memo from the Head of Marketing to the Head of Data Science:
  • 9. “Two Coins” of BG/BB Model a.k.a. Buy Till You Die model 9 Purchase Coin Make a transaction! Yay! I’m going to see a movie! 🤘🤘 No transaction! I hate my coin! 😞 Death Coin You “die”! No escape! OMG! The Death Lord’s here! ☠️ You stay “alive”! Angel to the rescue! 😇 Assume each customer has two uneven coins
  • 10. Model Development The dying (BG) and purchasing (BB) processes 10 “Oh, End Game is on tonight 8pm at Popcorn & Soda. Should I go see it?” “Hmm, I just moved to Hollywood. I do like the theatre, but should I drive 10 miles to see a movie at Popcorn & Soda?” “Oh, I received an email from P&S and saying that there are lots of previous movies are on at P&S with lower rates. So…” A customer makes a transaction at any given transaction opportunity with probability p. This is known as a binomial distribution: A “living” customer “dies” at the beginning of a transaction opportunity with probability θ. This is known as a geometric distribution:
  • 11. Brian: 11 ● The order of given number of transactions prior to the most recent transaction doesn’t matter.But what matters is when the customer is “dead” θ (Recency) and how many transactions p (Frequency) he/she has. ● We compute the probability of the transaction on each customer and then multiply it by the probability with other customers’. Brian’s transaction history - 100100 Model Development An Example
  • 12. 12 Beta Geometric Beta Binomial BGBB Model Model Development Heterogeneity is captured in Beta Distribution and and the log-likelihood function
  • 14. Select a CLV Model for your business model 14
  • 15. Deploy a Production ModelBusiness Context Select an Offline Model Select a CLV model - suggestions and caveats 15 ● Depends on the nature of customer base, the data size can be huge. ● To decide if it’s a streaming, online or AaaS deployment. ● To deploy in a container i.e. Docker to control package versions. ● To write engineering production code with adequate test cases. ● For contractuals, we can use survival based models, while in non- contractual settings, we can consider probabilistic models, i.e. hierarchical Bayesian such as Pareto/NBD, Pareto/GGG. ● Tools/Packages can be: ○ Python: lifetime, PyMC ○ R: BTYD, BTYDPlus ● Metrics to evaluate performance: MAPE, tradeoff between granularity and run-time if running MCMC. ● What are the values added if we have CLV? ● To understand the business context and business model. ○ Is the business model on a contractual or non- contractual basis? ○ Are the customer purchases continuous or discrete? ● How far we would like to have CLV predicted?
  • 16. 16 Popcorn & Soda successfully chose, implemented CLV models... The Head of Data Science sends out a memo to the Executives and the Marketing Team: “The estimated incremental revenue gained from the 80% conversion is about $3M. Based on the 10% increased number of unsubscribers we projected CLV for a year is about $1M. The Net Impact from the calculation above is about $2M per year. Based on revenue impact calculations and cost estimations, we believe that we will be better off if launching this product feature.”
  • 17. Thank you Confidential. Do not distribute.
  • 18. Why do we care about CLV? 18 From a strategic point of view: ● Company valuation based on customer equity ● Annual budgeting based on CLV ● Customer segmentation Operationally: ● Identify most profitable customers, then ● Identify traits and features of valuable customers for engagement and growth ● Dictates allocation of marketing resources, i.e. acquisition cost, SEM spend at a visitor level ● To track sales forecasts APPENDIX