The document provides an analysis of potential solutions to help monetize Foursquare's 10 million users and 500,000 registered businesses. It outlines 9 proposed solutions including check-in features, friend suggestions, a crowdsourced badge store, a software development kit, charging merchants for publishing specials or redeeming offers, analytics services, banner ads, and prioritizing nearby specials. Each solution is scored on feasibility of growth, revenue potential, user experience impact to determine the highest priority options of improving friend suggestions, developing a badge store, and prioritizing nearby specials. The analysis recommends user testing the top solutions before deployment with contingencies to reprioritize or roll back if needed.
11. PRODUCT
• “Users can check-in a venue without
having to go inside”
No check-in control
• GPS Restrictions (+/- 500m error)
• No point redemption if too far
• “Users have unlocked most of the badges”
• Small/Intl cities have even less badges
Low Badge Variety • Loose engagement
• Competitor offers a large variety of
stamps
• “Doesn’t leverage on user’s historical
Low profile-targeting activity to create customized offerings per
user and suggest what they might like”
• “foursquare does not acknowledge
Faux-Locations physical space to check-in to except
for venues”
12. API
• Not enough documentation and
No support for developers support for the API users
• No software development kit
• Want to control the user
Strategy? experience completely? Release
an API?
13. MONETIZATION Now
# users 10 million
# employees 120
Funding $50 million
Valuation $600 million
Generate revenue stream
With 10 million users in their community, and 500,000 registered businesses, how can
foursquare develop a sustainable business model to monetize what it has created?
Predictions
Expected
Revenue Revenue:
Multiple:
$20 million
30x
18. 4 SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT KIT
SharpSquare
FourSquare SDK for .NET
19. 5 CHARGE PER SPECIAL PUBLISHED
Data
Assumption:
Merchant Assumption:
500,000 publishes 4 Drop-out
merchants specials per Rate: 60%
month
(average)
Price: $0.20 CPM
Revenue: $1.9 million
Revenue = 500,000 x 4 (specials published per month) x 12(months) x (1 – drop-out rate) x $0.20
20. 6 CHARGE PER REDEMPTION
Price: $1 per
Data redemption. CPA
Assumptions: Revenue:
500,000 merchants
Churn Rate: 70%
Offers redeemed
per day: $32.8 million
Closing Ratio: 5% 150,000 x (1-drop-out rate) x 365
10 million users (days)x $1 = $32.8 million
Dropout Rate: 40% 150,000
21. 7 CHARGE PER ANALYTICS
99.999%
reliabilty
robustness
Bugs Rate
Service 2 Business
Opportunities: Customization, Freemium Pricing, SaaS
22. 8 BANNER ADS
Easy to implement
Would attract a high number of
advertisers!!
Is this affecting your experience as a user?
23. 9 PRIORITIZATION OF SPECIALS NEARBY
Ad Rank U
1 A
Distance
2
Ad Rank = Quality
x
Score
Historical User
Behavior Profile