Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

ILG Who are we? Meet the Committee - McManamon


Published on

Presented at LILAC 2017

Published in: Education
  • Hello! I have searched hard to find a reliable and best research paper writing service and finally i got a good option for my needs as ⇒ ⇐
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • Be the first to like this

ILG Who are we? Meet the Committee - McManamon

  1. 1. MEET THE COMMITTEE CILIP INFORMATION LITERACY GROUP ILG is a special interest group of CILIP which encourages debate and the exchange of knowledge in all aspects of Information Literacy. We bring you LILAC, the Journal of Information Literacy and much more. Find out who we are and what we do! Jane Secker Chair Rowena Macrae-Gibson Deputy Chair Elaine Sykes Treasurer Laura Woods Secretary Colin Sawers Membership Secretary Andrew Walsh Training Officer Catherine McManamon Training Officer Lisa Jeskins LILAC Conference Rosie Jones Co-Chair of LILAC Emma Coonan Editor of JIL Dan Pullinger Website Manager Kate Grigsby Marketing & Communications Officer Rebecca Jones Schools Representative Jacqueline Geekie Public Library Representative Anne-Lise Harding FE Representative Geoff Walton LIS Representative Stephane Goldstein Advocacy & Outreach Officer Alan Carbery International (US) Representative One of the many, many hats worn by Dr Jane Secker is that of Chair of ILG! Jane has been on the committee since 2004 and is a LILAC co-founder. The Journal of Information Literacy, published twice a year, is a peer-reviewed, Gold Open Access Journal with Dr Emma Coonan as Editor-in-Chief. Our sector reps Jacqueline Geekie, Anne-Lise Harding, Rebecca Jones and Alan Carbery report on sector developments in relation to IL and bring their specialist perspectives and experience to discussions. Rebecca is also the lead of our Teen Tech sub group. Teen Tech is a science, technology and innovation initiative open to all UK schools. ILG sponsor a TeenTech award to recognise Research and Information Literacy skills. Rowena Macrae-Gibson writes the Group’s Annual Business Plan and Action Plan, & helps coordinate the committee’s response to consultations from CILIP, Government and other bodies involved in IL. Here there is much crossover with Stéphane Goldstein who helps ILG to work with organisations outside of the library sector to raise awareness and understanding of Information and related literacies. ILG maintain the LIS-Infoliteracy JISCmail list which provides a forum of discussion for practitioners. This along with the ILG member newsletter, is managed by Colin Sawers. Laura Woods is responsible for the smooth running of the committee— meetings, minutes, actions and more! As treasurer Elaine Sykes is responsible for managing all the finances of the group & the conference. Dr Geoff Walton, ILG’s Library & Information Schools Representative also chairs ILG’s Research Bursary panel. This links to our Research Bursaries scheme which funds research proposals with the potential for high impact beyond HE and librarianship. The ILG website supports IL practitioners and researchers by providing news, case studies, examples of best practice and freely available toolkits. The web team is managed by Dan Pullinger and he is joined by web editors Jade Kelsall, Roisin Cassidy, Emily Selvidge, and Emma Burnett. ILG’s training & events strategy aims to aid good IL practice and sharing of experience across sectors. This is coordinated by Catherine McManamon & Andy Walsh who are joined by Heather Lincoln & Allison Jones. The training team are also involved in reviewing & supporting sponsorship applications for IL events. Kate Grigsby manages the social media and wider CILIP communications for the group. Follow the group on Twitter: @infolitgroup And finally! Lisa Jeskins and Rosie Jones liaise with ILG in their support of the LILAC committee’s organisation of LILAC, our inspiring annual conference.