1.




Facebook Advertising 101

Emily Knox
Social Media Strategist
2.




DOCUMENT
OUTLINE.
     1.   Facebook Advertising – Ad Units Explained
     2.   Briefing Facebook Ad Campaigns
     3.   Budget Recommendations
     4.   ROI & Measures of Success
FACEBOOK AD
SOCIAL MEDIA. UNITS          3.




                      01.
                      FACEBOOK
                      AD UNITS
FACEBOOK AD UNITS                                                                        4.




                    Premium Ad
                    Placements
                                 Premium &
                                 Marketplace Ads
                                 •   Facebook Ads can be split into two separate types
                                     depending on budget and booking mechanism.

                                 •   Premium Ads
                                 •   Appear on homepage: where users spend most time.
                                 •   Booked directly through Facebook, minimum spend
                                     (POA but expect upwards of $15k), 1-3 day campaigns.
                                 •   Best if your objectives are impressions/awareness.

                                 •   Marketplace Ads
                                 •   Appear elsewhere within the site eg. Facebook Pages,
                                     Event Pages, Profile Pages etc.
                                 •   Booked via an auction mechanic (eg. advertisers bid on
                                     CPC or CPM, hence the term ‘Marketplace’), no
                                     minimum spend, unlimited campaign duration.
                                 •   Great for maximising budget, increasing page likes and
                                     encouraging engagement.

  Marketplace                    •                                               Ads.
                                     This presentation will focus on Marketplace Ads.
  Ad Placements
FACEBOOK AD UNITS                                                                      5.




                            What Are Ads &
   Marketplace Ad Formats
                            Sponsored Stories?
                            •   Marketplace units belong to one of two categories, Ads
                                & Sponsored stories.

                            •   Ads - Voice of business
                            •   The advertiser has full control of all elements of the ad,
                                including the title of the ad, the image and the copy.

                            •   Sponsored stories - Voice of friend
                            •   Advertisers don’t create the content of the ad: they are
                                based on organic content on Facebook, created by
                                Facebook users and not advertisers.
                            •   Each time someone interacts (likes your page, comments
                                on a post) with one of your Facebook entities a story is
                                created.
                            •   You can sponsor these stories – turning them into
                                Sponsored Stories.
FACEBOOK AD UNITS                                                                                              6.




                                                    Ad & Sponsored Story
                                                    Placements
                                                    •   Different Ad & Sponsored Story units are eligible to
                                                        appear in different areas of Facebook:

                                                    •   Right-Hand Column

                                                    •   Desktop News Feed
                                      Mobile News
  Right-                              Feed          •   Mobile News Feed
  Right-Hand Ad Column

                                                    •   Search Bar




  Search Bar




                  Desktop News Feed
FACEBOOK AD UNITS                                                                          7.




   Marketplace Ad Formats


                                                               Page Like Ad
                                                               Links to a page on Facebook.
                                                               Headline text must be name of
                            Page Post Ad                       Facebook page.
                            Page posts that have been          Objective: increase page likes.
                            sponsored to increase reach.       Placement: desktop/mobile
                            Objective: engagement with         news feed, right-hand column.
                            content .
                            Placement: desktop/mobile
                            news feed, right-hand column.

                            App Ad
                            Links to an app (on a Facebook
                            page tab) rather than a page.
                            Objective: interaction with app.
                            Placement: desktop/mobile          Domain Ad
                            news feed, right-hand column.      Links to a website. Brand can
                                                               control headline text.
                            Event Ad                           Objective: website referrals.
                            Links to an native Facebook        Placement: right-hand column.
                            Event than a page.
                            Objective: Event RSVPs.
                            Placement: desktop/mobile
                            news feed, right-hand column.
FACEBOOK AD UNITS                                                                           8.




                                                                Mobile App Install Ad
   Marketplace Ad Formats                                       Clicks on the ad takes the user
                                                                directly to the Apple App Store
                                                                or Google Play, depending on
                                                                which mobile operating system
                                                                the app is for.
                                                                Objective: mobile app installs.
                                                                Placement: mobile news feed.




                            Sponsored result
                            Sponsored results are sponsored search results, and appear in the
                            type ahead at the top of the Facebook interface. The image will be
                            pulled from the Facebook entity you are promoting (Page or App),
                            and you can point the ad to any tab on your Facebook page.
                            Objective: traffic to your Facebook page or app.
                            Placement: search bar.
FACEBOOK AD UNITS                                                                           9.




                                                        Page Like Sponsored Story
   Marketplace Ad Formats                               These sponsor the Facebook action of a
                                                        page like.
                                                        Objective: increase page likes.
                                                        Placement: desktop/mobile news feed,
                                                        right-hand column.




                            Page Post Like Sponsored Story
                            These sponsor the action of liking, commenting or sharing content
                            from a Facebook page.
                            Objective: engagement with content.
                            Placement: desktop/mobile news feed, right-hand column.
FACEBOOK AD UNITS                                                                            10.




   Marketplace Ad Formats



                            Open Graph Sponsored Story
                            Facebook has a set of built-in actions and objects. Some of the most
                            common actions are like, comment and share and some of the most
                            common objects are posts, photos and links.

                            With Open Graph however, you can build an app that integrates with
                            Facebook, giving you the opportunity to define your own actions and
                            objects.

                            As users use your app, they will generate stories - and these can be
                            sponsored just like any of the built-in story types.

                            Objective: engagement with Facebook app.
                            Placement: desktop/mobile news feed, right-hand column.
BRIEFING FACEBOOK ADS
SOCIAL MEDIA.                 11.




                        02.
                        BRIEFING
                        FACEBOOK
                        ADS
BRIEFING FACEBOOK ADS                                                                      12.




                        The Facebook Ad
                        Process
                        •   A mix of Marketplace Ads & Sponsored Stories is the
                            most effective, efficient and targeted way to grow &
                            engage your Facebook fan-base.

                        • The Facebook Advertising Process
                        1. Targeting your audience based on demographic,
                        interests, location, and social connections.
                        2. Multivariate testing of multiple artwork and copy to
                        determine which messaging combinations resonate best
                        with your target.
                        3. Daily bid management, culling underperforming ads and
                        re-investing into more successful creative iterations.
                        4. Reporting on:
                               •   Effectiveness eg. fans acquired vs target
                               •   ROI eg. cost per fan
                               •   Page Activity eg. contribution to engagement levels
                               •   Fan-base demographic shifts and swings
                               •   Insights into tastes and interests of fans of your brand.
BRIEFING FACEBOOK ADS                                                                                                               13.




                                                                        Facebook Ad Briefing
                                                                        Considerations
•    Background eg:                                                     •   Timeframe eg.:
        •   Details of the NPD, promotion, activation the media spend          •   The promotional period for a Facebook competition.
            is supporting.                                                     •   The in-store activation period.
        •   Key message, single-minded proposition or benefit.
                                                                        •   Target demographic eg:
•    Objectives eg.:                                                           •   Mums of kids 5-12.
        •   Grow the fan-base.                                                 •   Women 25-34 in Australia who love snacking.
        •   Increase engagement on the page.                                   •   Busy/stressed working mums.
        •   Increase reach of an NPD product message.
        •   Encourage Facebook competition entries.                     •   KPIs eg.:
                                                                               •   10k new page likes.
•    Budget eg.:                                                               •   An Engagement Rate 50% above the Facebook average.
        •   The total amount allocated towards the Facebook Ad                 •   Reach of 1M AU F18-34.
            campaign. (Budget will needed to be allocated to creative          •   5k competition entries.
            and management (20% media spend) from this amount.)
        •   The amount of pure media spend required. (Additional
            budget will be added on for creative/management.)
FACEBOOK AD
SOCIAL MEDIA. BUDGET RECOMMENDATIONS         14.




                                       03.
                                       FACEBOOK
                                       AD
                                       BUDGETS
FACEBOOK AD BUDGET RECOMMENDATIONS                                                               15.




                                     Facebook Ad Budget
                                     Recommendations
                                     •   Campaign spend is dependent on objectives and
                                         previous Facebook Advertising results.

                                     •   Objective: Boost Edgerank (Reach & Engagement)
                                     •   Facebook pages should run at least 4 Facebook Ad
                                         campaigns annually to optimise their Edgerank* (their
                                         likelihood of appearing in fans’ news feeds/reach).
                                     •   A good guide to a base budget (before any campaigns
                                         are allocated for) for Facebook Advertising is 25% of
                                         your total fan cost to date:

                                         Formula
                                         (Total Fans x Average CPA) x 0.25 = Base Annual
                                                                             Media Spend

                                         Example
                                         (66.7k x $1 = $66,700.00) x 0.25 = $16,675.00


                                     *Read more about Edgerank:
                                     http://edgerankchecker.com/blog/2012/04/what-is-edgerank/
FACEBOOK AD BUDGET RECOMMENDATIONS                                                        16.




                                     Facebook Ad Budget
                                     Recommendations
                                     •   Objective: Increase Page Likes
                                     •   Many Facebook Ad campaigns are designed to increase
                                         page likes, thereby increasing your Facebook database
                                         for all future messaging.
                                     •   Set the right budget by nominating how many fans you
                                         require eg. +10k and your average CPA (Cost Per
                                         Acquisition):

                                         Formula
                                          Goal New Page Likes x Av. CPA = Pure Media Spend

                                         Example
                                         10,000 New Page Likes x $1.00 = $10,000.00
FACEBOOK AD BUDGET RECOMMENDATIONS                                                          17.




                                     Facebook Ad Budget
                                     Recommendations
                                     •   Objective: Competition Entries
                                     •   If you’re running a Facebook promotion your Facebook
                                         Ad objective may be competition entries.
                                     •   Allocate the right budget by nominating the number of
                                         desired entries eg. 5k and use the following formula::

                                         Formula
                                         Desired Entries
                                         ------------------- x Av. CPC = Pure Media Spend
                                         Av. Conv. Rate

                                         Example
                                         5,000
                                         -------- x $0.49 = $4,016.39
                                         61%
FACEBOOK ADS:
SOCIAL MEDIA. ROI & MEASURES OF SUCCESS          18.




                                          04.
                                          ROI &
                                          SUCCESS
                                          MEASURES
FACEBOOK ADS: ROI & MEASURES OF SUCCESS                                                                     19.




                                          ROI & Measures Of
                                          Success
                                          •   Effectiveness
                                                 •   % of target fans acquired.
                                                 •   % of target competition entries.
                                                 •   CTR above 0.15% = Good.
                                                 •   Conversion Rate above 50% = Excellent.
                                          •   ROI
                                                 •   CPA (Cost Per Acquisition):
                                                        • Based on past campaigns: (eg. average $1.00);
                                                        • Facebook average: $2.00.
                                          •   Page Activity
                                                 •   ER (Socialbakers Engagement Rate) based on Page Size eg.
                                                     50k-100k fans = 0.19%.
                                          •   Demographic Shifts
                                                 •   Fan-base demographic shifts and swings eg. AU F18-34
                                                     60% -> 75%.
                                          •   Fan Insights
                                                 •   Insights into tastes and interests of fans of your brand eg.
                                                     ‘Competitive’ & Friends of Fans more likely to Like page
                                                     than Mums & ‘Positive Outlook.’
20.




THANK
YOU.    For further information, please contact
        us at the following details:


        Emily Knox
        Social Media Strategist
        Emily.Knox@deepend.com.au
        +61 2 8917 7900

Facebook Advertising 101

  • 1.
    1. Facebook Advertising 101 EmilyKnox Social Media Strategist
  • 2.
    2. DOCUMENT OUTLINE. 1. Facebook Advertising – Ad Units Explained 2. Briefing Facebook Ad Campaigns 3. Budget Recommendations 4. ROI & Measures of Success
  • 3.
    FACEBOOK AD SOCIAL MEDIA.UNITS 3. 01. FACEBOOK AD UNITS
  • 4.
    FACEBOOK AD UNITS 4. Premium Ad Placements Premium & Marketplace Ads • Facebook Ads can be split into two separate types depending on budget and booking mechanism. • Premium Ads • Appear on homepage: where users spend most time. • Booked directly through Facebook, minimum spend (POA but expect upwards of $15k), 1-3 day campaigns. • Best if your objectives are impressions/awareness. • Marketplace Ads • Appear elsewhere within the site eg. Facebook Pages, Event Pages, Profile Pages etc. • Booked via an auction mechanic (eg. advertisers bid on CPC or CPM, hence the term ‘Marketplace’), no minimum spend, unlimited campaign duration. • Great for maximising budget, increasing page likes and encouraging engagement. Marketplace • Ads. This presentation will focus on Marketplace Ads. Ad Placements
  • 5.
    FACEBOOK AD UNITS 5. What Are Ads & Marketplace Ad Formats Sponsored Stories? • Marketplace units belong to one of two categories, Ads & Sponsored stories. • Ads - Voice of business • The advertiser has full control of all elements of the ad, including the title of the ad, the image and the copy. • Sponsored stories - Voice of friend • Advertisers don’t create the content of the ad: they are based on organic content on Facebook, created by Facebook users and not advertisers. • Each time someone interacts (likes your page, comments on a post) with one of your Facebook entities a story is created. • You can sponsor these stories – turning them into Sponsored Stories.
  • 6.
    FACEBOOK AD UNITS 6. Ad & Sponsored Story Placements • Different Ad & Sponsored Story units are eligible to appear in different areas of Facebook: • Right-Hand Column • Desktop News Feed Mobile News Right- Feed • Mobile News Feed Right-Hand Ad Column • Search Bar Search Bar Desktop News Feed
  • 7.
    FACEBOOK AD UNITS 7. Marketplace Ad Formats Page Like Ad Links to a page on Facebook. Headline text must be name of Page Post Ad Facebook page. Page posts that have been Objective: increase page likes. sponsored to increase reach. Placement: desktop/mobile Objective: engagement with news feed, right-hand column. content . Placement: desktop/mobile news feed, right-hand column. App Ad Links to an app (on a Facebook page tab) rather than a page. Objective: interaction with app. Placement: desktop/mobile Domain Ad news feed, right-hand column. Links to a website. Brand can control headline text. Event Ad Objective: website referrals. Links to an native Facebook Placement: right-hand column. Event than a page. Objective: Event RSVPs. Placement: desktop/mobile news feed, right-hand column.
  • 8.
    FACEBOOK AD UNITS 8. Mobile App Install Ad Marketplace Ad Formats Clicks on the ad takes the user directly to the Apple App Store or Google Play, depending on which mobile operating system the app is for. Objective: mobile app installs. Placement: mobile news feed. Sponsored result Sponsored results are sponsored search results, and appear in the type ahead at the top of the Facebook interface. The image will be pulled from the Facebook entity you are promoting (Page or App), and you can point the ad to any tab on your Facebook page. Objective: traffic to your Facebook page or app. Placement: search bar.
  • 9.
    FACEBOOK AD UNITS 9. Page Like Sponsored Story Marketplace Ad Formats These sponsor the Facebook action of a page like. Objective: increase page likes. Placement: desktop/mobile news feed, right-hand column. Page Post Like Sponsored Story These sponsor the action of liking, commenting or sharing content from a Facebook page. Objective: engagement with content. Placement: desktop/mobile news feed, right-hand column.
  • 10.
    FACEBOOK AD UNITS 10. Marketplace Ad Formats Open Graph Sponsored Story Facebook has a set of built-in actions and objects. Some of the most common actions are like, comment and share and some of the most common objects are posts, photos and links. With Open Graph however, you can build an app that integrates with Facebook, giving you the opportunity to define your own actions and objects. As users use your app, they will generate stories - and these can be sponsored just like any of the built-in story types. Objective: engagement with Facebook app. Placement: desktop/mobile news feed, right-hand column.
  • 11.
    BRIEFING FACEBOOK ADS SOCIALMEDIA. 11. 02. BRIEFING FACEBOOK ADS
  • 12.
    BRIEFING FACEBOOK ADS 12. The Facebook Ad Process • A mix of Marketplace Ads & Sponsored Stories is the most effective, efficient and targeted way to grow & engage your Facebook fan-base. • The Facebook Advertising Process 1. Targeting your audience based on demographic, interests, location, and social connections. 2. Multivariate testing of multiple artwork and copy to determine which messaging combinations resonate best with your target. 3. Daily bid management, culling underperforming ads and re-investing into more successful creative iterations. 4. Reporting on: • Effectiveness eg. fans acquired vs target • ROI eg. cost per fan • Page Activity eg. contribution to engagement levels • Fan-base demographic shifts and swings • Insights into tastes and interests of fans of your brand.
  • 13.
    BRIEFING FACEBOOK ADS 13. Facebook Ad Briefing Considerations • Background eg: • Timeframe eg.: • Details of the NPD, promotion, activation the media spend • The promotional period for a Facebook competition. is supporting. • The in-store activation period. • Key message, single-minded proposition or benefit. • Target demographic eg: • Objectives eg.: • Mums of kids 5-12. • Grow the fan-base. • Women 25-34 in Australia who love snacking. • Increase engagement on the page. • Busy/stressed working mums. • Increase reach of an NPD product message. • Encourage Facebook competition entries. • KPIs eg.: • 10k new page likes. • Budget eg.: • An Engagement Rate 50% above the Facebook average. • The total amount allocated towards the Facebook Ad • Reach of 1M AU F18-34. campaign. (Budget will needed to be allocated to creative • 5k competition entries. and management (20% media spend) from this amount.) • The amount of pure media spend required. (Additional budget will be added on for creative/management.)
  • 14.
    FACEBOOK AD SOCIAL MEDIA.BUDGET RECOMMENDATIONS 14. 03. FACEBOOK AD BUDGETS
  • 15.
    FACEBOOK AD BUDGETRECOMMENDATIONS 15. Facebook Ad Budget Recommendations • Campaign spend is dependent on objectives and previous Facebook Advertising results. • Objective: Boost Edgerank (Reach & Engagement) • Facebook pages should run at least 4 Facebook Ad campaigns annually to optimise their Edgerank* (their likelihood of appearing in fans’ news feeds/reach). • A good guide to a base budget (before any campaigns are allocated for) for Facebook Advertising is 25% of your total fan cost to date: Formula (Total Fans x Average CPA) x 0.25 = Base Annual Media Spend Example (66.7k x $1 = $66,700.00) x 0.25 = $16,675.00 *Read more about Edgerank: http://edgerankchecker.com/blog/2012/04/what-is-edgerank/
  • 16.
    FACEBOOK AD BUDGETRECOMMENDATIONS 16. Facebook Ad Budget Recommendations • Objective: Increase Page Likes • Many Facebook Ad campaigns are designed to increase page likes, thereby increasing your Facebook database for all future messaging. • Set the right budget by nominating how many fans you require eg. +10k and your average CPA (Cost Per Acquisition): Formula Goal New Page Likes x Av. CPA = Pure Media Spend Example 10,000 New Page Likes x $1.00 = $10,000.00
  • 17.
    FACEBOOK AD BUDGETRECOMMENDATIONS 17. Facebook Ad Budget Recommendations • Objective: Competition Entries • If you’re running a Facebook promotion your Facebook Ad objective may be competition entries. • Allocate the right budget by nominating the number of desired entries eg. 5k and use the following formula:: Formula Desired Entries ------------------- x Av. CPC = Pure Media Spend Av. Conv. Rate Example 5,000 -------- x $0.49 = $4,016.39 61%
  • 18.
    FACEBOOK ADS: SOCIAL MEDIA.ROI & MEASURES OF SUCCESS 18. 04. ROI & SUCCESS MEASURES
  • 19.
    FACEBOOK ADS: ROI& MEASURES OF SUCCESS 19. ROI & Measures Of Success • Effectiveness • % of target fans acquired. • % of target competition entries. • CTR above 0.15% = Good. • Conversion Rate above 50% = Excellent. • ROI • CPA (Cost Per Acquisition): • Based on past campaigns: (eg. average $1.00); • Facebook average: $2.00. • Page Activity • ER (Socialbakers Engagement Rate) based on Page Size eg. 50k-100k fans = 0.19%. • Demographic Shifts • Fan-base demographic shifts and swings eg. AU F18-34 60% -> 75%. • Fan Insights • Insights into tastes and interests of fans of your brand eg. ‘Competitive’ & Friends of Fans more likely to Like page than Mums & ‘Positive Outlook.’
  • 20.
    20. THANK YOU. For further information, please contact us at the following details: Emily Knox Social Media Strategist Emily.Knox@deepend.com.au +61 2 8917 7900