The document provides an example of calculating the required audience size for a Facebook advertising campaign based on the desired total sales, average sale amount, and estimated conversion rates at each step of the marketing funnel. It walks through an example where the desired total sales are $10,000, with an average sale of $22. To achieve this, it is calculated that 454 sales are needed, requiring 22,700 website visits at a 2% conversion rate, and an overall audience of 2,270,000 people at a 1% click-through rate from Facebook ads to the website. A similar calculation is shown for a campaign with a $120,000 sales goal.