Building a Marketing Budget
Ellen Fruchtman, Angie Ash, Shane O’Neill
https://bit.ly/2BYPmDx
Once you access the document, go to File and select
Download as Excel. Then save to your laptop desktop.
Building a Marketing Budget
Shareable Link to Budget Template:
Every great budget begins with a few simple rules.
RULE #1: Define your marketing goals
On paper or on your laptop, right now, write down
your top 4-5 marketing goals.
Building a Marketing Budget
RULE #2: Determine your annual budget
General rule of thumb: 5% - 8% of gross sales
Building a Marketing Budget
RULE #3: Review your monthly sales numbers
Building a Marketing Budget
Building a Marketing Budget
Take the :30 Budget Test
4-6 points: 5%
7-9 points: 6%
10+ points: 7-8%
Building a Marketing Budget
What Should Your Budget Be?
RULE #4: Consider your marketing channel options
Building a Marketing Budget
Facebook
Digital Display
Retargeting
Google
Adwords
Cable
Network TV
Satellite Radio
Terrestrial Radio
Billboards
Print
Publications
Billboards
Direct
Mail
YouTube
RULE #5: Consider what you’ve been doing
Building a Marketing Budget
RULE #6: Acquisition and Retention
Building a Marketing Budget
Acquisition Items:
Diversify. See your customers out where you may not have
previously looked.
TV Paid Search/Google Adwords
Billboard
Radio Facebook/Social Advertising Print
Events Digital (display/geofencing, etc) Word-of-
mouth
Sponsorships
Building a Marketing Budget
Retention Items:
Diversify. See your customers out where you may not have
previously looked.
TV Paid Search/Google Adwords Billboard Direct Mail
Radio Facebook/Social Advertising Print Loyalty Program
Events Digital (display/geofencing, etc) Word-of-mouth
Sponsorships Email Marketing
Building a Marketing Budget
ALLOCATE THE DOLLARS
Building a Marketing Budget
RULE #7: Measure. Measure. Measure.
Customer Aquisition Costs
Cost of Marketing : # New Customers
Example: Spend $5,000 on an event that attracted 500 customers.
Your CAC is $10*
*Have to account for everything that went into that event such as overhead. This is merely
your acquisition cost.
You have to measure all marketing as it relates to sales and GP!
Building a Marketing Budget
RULE #8: Remember, marketing is not an exact science.
It requires:
Patience
Consistency of Message
Trial and Error
Planning
Building a Marketing Budget
Thank you!
suits@fruchtman.com
Building a Marketing Budget
Q & A

AJS budget presentation

  • 1.
    Building a MarketingBudget Ellen Fruchtman, Angie Ash, Shane O’Neill
  • 2.
    https://bit.ly/2BYPmDx Once you accessthe document, go to File and select Download as Excel. Then save to your laptop desktop. Building a Marketing Budget Shareable Link to Budget Template:
  • 3.
    Every great budgetbegins with a few simple rules. RULE #1: Define your marketing goals On paper or on your laptop, right now, write down your top 4-5 marketing goals. Building a Marketing Budget
  • 4.
    RULE #2: Determineyour annual budget General rule of thumb: 5% - 8% of gross sales Building a Marketing Budget
  • 5.
    RULE #3: Reviewyour monthly sales numbers Building a Marketing Budget
  • 6.
    Building a MarketingBudget Take the :30 Budget Test
  • 7.
    4-6 points: 5% 7-9points: 6% 10+ points: 7-8% Building a Marketing Budget What Should Your Budget Be?
  • 8.
    RULE #4: Consideryour marketing channel options Building a Marketing Budget Facebook Digital Display Retargeting Google Adwords Cable Network TV Satellite Radio Terrestrial Radio Billboards Print Publications Billboards Direct Mail YouTube
  • 9.
    RULE #5: Considerwhat you’ve been doing Building a Marketing Budget
  • 10.
    RULE #6: Acquisitionand Retention Building a Marketing Budget
  • 11.
    Acquisition Items: Diversify. Seeyour customers out where you may not have previously looked. TV Paid Search/Google Adwords Billboard Radio Facebook/Social Advertising Print Events Digital (display/geofencing, etc) Word-of- mouth Sponsorships Building a Marketing Budget
  • 12.
    Retention Items: Diversify. Seeyour customers out where you may not have previously looked. TV Paid Search/Google Adwords Billboard Direct Mail Radio Facebook/Social Advertising Print Loyalty Program Events Digital (display/geofencing, etc) Word-of-mouth Sponsorships Email Marketing Building a Marketing Budget
  • 13.
  • 14.
    RULE #7: Measure.Measure. Measure. Customer Aquisition Costs Cost of Marketing : # New Customers Example: Spend $5,000 on an event that attracted 500 customers. Your CAC is $10* *Have to account for everything that went into that event such as overhead. This is merely your acquisition cost. You have to measure all marketing as it relates to sales and GP! Building a Marketing Budget
  • 15.
    RULE #8: Remember,marketing is not an exact science. It requires: Patience Consistency of Message Trial and Error Planning Building a Marketing Budget
  • 16.

Editor's Notes

  • #4 (talk about their business…do they want to build bridal as an example; do they have an issue with aging inventory? Do they want to increase frequency of visit? Etc.
  • #5 Schonfeld & Associates develops and markets business information products. The company was started in 1977 by a former professor at Northwestern University.
  • #10 Hand Out Recap Form Talk about branding messages versus call to action marketing. How you can measure some digital vs traditional. But, the same can be true for both. How a click-through doesn’t necessarily mean someone will take action. The same is true for a TV ad.
  • #11 Discuss the difference; the importance of having both. 80/20 rule and driving new as the lifeblood of any retail business. Knowing what you need to do for your own business.
  • #12 Discuss the difference; the importance of having both. 80/20 rule and driving new as the lifeblood of any retail business. Knowing what you need to do for your own business.
  • #14 Review Budget Link - Discuss the organizational elements to it; discuss how to use it