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Google Adwords by Neha Nayak


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Get a complete overview of Google Adwords and its features

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Google Adwords by Neha Nayak

  1. 1. By Neha Nayak By Neha. Nayak
  2. 2. Outline of the Presentation • Why Choose Google Adwords rather why do digitally • What is Google Adwords and its features • Understanding terms involved in Google Adwords • How to Create an account in Google Adwords followed by a Campaign-Ad Group-Ad • Types of Ads • Types of Keywords • Types of Bidding Strategies and understanding when to use which • How to link adwords to google analytic and its importance • How to track conversion of your ad
  3. 3. Why Go Digitally?
  4. 4.  Google Adwords is an online advertising service or platform by google for businesses or brands who want to display ads on google and its advertising network.  Whenever someone searches anything on the search engine, this program help to grab the attention of the viewers by appearing directly on the first page of the Search Engine Results Page(SERP) based on a bidding system.  In Short, It is a system in which advertisers bid against their desired keywords in an intention to bring their ads on the search engine results page
  5. 5. Google search sites: Ads can appear above or below search results on Google Search. They can appear beside, above, or below search results on Google Play, Google Shopping, and Google Maps, including the Maps app.
  6. 6. Google Search Partners E.g: Non-Google websites, as well as Google Video, and other Google sites Google Display Network On the websites that your customer visits E.g Google Finance, Gmail, Blogger, and Youtube On Different Devices When people search on google from their mobile devices and tablets(Android devices, Iphones)Mobile Apps. It is a part of display network In selected locations or languages You can target a specific location, language to reach to your potential customers through campaigns
  7. 7. It is largely focused on keywords It helps to operate by setting a budget and pay only when clicked You yourself can choose where your ad appears It is highly flexible-You can start and stop according to your wish It can be measured and monitored Targeted Results
  8. 8. Account Campaigns Ad Groups
  9. 9.  Keywords-words or phrases users type to find something desired on a search eng. E.g, if you are entering dress in the search engine, here dress becomes your keyword.  Ad groups- A set of one or more ads which target a common keyword  Campaign-A set of ad groups(ads, keywords and bids) that share a common budget,location and a target. It used to organize categories of products or services that you offer. Your account may have more than one ad campaigns running. We Shall see Campaign and Ad groups examples in the upcoming slides
  10. 10. • URLs- We all know URL means the adress of a world wide web which we type in the browser’s address bar. Here there are two types namely Display URL and Actual URL URL Display URL It is the url that appears below your ad text when your ad is shown. It should not be longer than 35 characters and is often the same URL as a site’s homepage E.g Destination URL It is the specific location within your site where you’d like to take a user who clicks on your ad.It does not have to match the display url but should be of the same domain. E.g
  11. 11. Basic Structure of an Account
  12. 12. Campaign-Digital Marketing Ad Group-Digital Marketing Consultant(SEO) Keyword-SEO Experts in Mumbai Keyword-SEO Consultant in Mumbai Ads-Best Digital Marketing Advisor 20% discount Get the best DM Strategy
  13. 13.  Go to  Log in to google adwords account with your gmail id and password  Your account will be associated with a unique email address, password and billing information
  14. 14. First you need to choose the type of campaign you want to create
  15. 15. • An ad group is a set of similar ads and keywords(words or phrases for searching anything on the search engine) • It contains one or more ads which target a common keyword. • Each of your campaign is made up of one or more ad groups
  16. 16. Examples of Ad Types
  17. 17. Keywords Match Types
  18. 18. 1 • Select your campaign type and name it 2 • Select the location you want to target your ad 3 • Select your bidding Strategy/Type and set your budget 4 • Ignore the Ad extensions at the start.
  19. 19. 5 • Create your first Ad group and prepare your ad 6 • Insert your keyword according to the campaign 7 • Select your maximum cost per click 8 • Cross check Everything 9 • Enter your billing information
  20. 20. Definitions of the Various Bidding Strategies- Overview  Cost Per Click(CPC)/Pay Per Click(PPC)-You pay on clicks on your ads(Used in Search Network and Display Network)  Manual CPC-It is technique wherein you have a total control over your bidding  Automatic CPC-You need to set a budget in this and adwords will automically work to get you the clicks. You can even set a CPC bid limit in this according to your wish.  Enhanced CPC-It is basically for the conversion-focused advertisers. Here, Adwords automatically increases or decreases CPC bids to maximize conversions. CPC is the widely used bidding strategy
  21. 21.  Cost Per Action/Acquisition(CPA)- You pay when an action is taken on your ad(Used in Search Network and Display Network)  Target CPA-It is the average CPA you are willing to pay or simply costs deducts upon your target budget set.  Cost Per 1000 impressions(CPM)-Also referred to as viewable CPM. The cost is calculated as per the displayed ad viewed 1000 times(Used in Display Network)  Cost Per View(CPV)-You pay when your ad is clicked and viewed. Here the ad is in video form(Used in Video Campaigns)
  22. 22. Bidding Strategy is broadly classified into below mentioned two types Bidding Strategy Automated Bid Strategy Target Search Page location Target CPA Target ROAs Target Outranking Share Maximize clicks Enhanced CPC Manual Bidding Manual CPC
  23. 23. Sr No Type of Bid Purpose 1 Target Search Page Location Sets bids to help get your ad on the top of the page or first page of the search results 2 Target CPA Sets bids to help get most conversions according to the set CPA 3 Target ROAs Sets bids to help get most conversions while maintaining your target return on the ad spend 4 Target Outranking Share Sets bids to outrank another domain's ad 5 Maiximize Clicks Sets bids to get you more clicks according to your set budget 6 Enhanced CPC Adjusts your manual bid up or down to increase conversion 7 Manual CPC Set your own CPC for your ads
  24. 24. How to decide which Bidding Strategy to choose? • Firstly we need to decide our goal. • Goal is mainly classified into three types as mentioned below and depending on your goal, you need to choose your bidding strategy • If you want to generate traffic to your website-focusing on clicks could be ideal for you. Cost-per-click (CPC) bidding may be right for your campaign. • If you want to increase brand awareness—not drive traffic to your site—focusing on impressions may be your strategy. You can use cost per thousand viewable impressions (vCPM) bidding to put your message in front of customers. • If you want customers to take a direct action on your site and you're using conversion tracking then it may be best to focus on conversions. Cost-per-acquisition (CPA) bidding lets you do that.
  25. 25. Overview of Choosing Bidding Strategies according to goals
  26. 26. Understanding Terms related to Advertising on Google Adwords • Impression: No.of times an ad is viewed by the visitor or displayed once on the web page. • CTR Formula= Clicks Impressions If a campaign ran 50,000 impressions and generates 4765 clicks, the CTR would be .09. Publishers should be very aware of what their CTR is on each placement to determine if optimizations should be made to increase the CTR and generate more revenue • CPC Formula= Cost to Advertisers Clicks For e.g, If a campaign cost an advertiser Rs 100 and they received 32 clicks, the CPC would be Rs 3.125 (100/32 = 3.125)
  27. 27. • Quality Score: It is Google's rating of the quality and relevance of both your keywords and PPC ads. It is used to determine your cost per click(CPC) and multiplied by your maximum bid to determine your ad rank in the ad auction process. We exactly don’t know how google weighs your score but normally it is out of 10.More you score, the better it is. Your Quality Score depends on multiple factors, including:  Your Click through rate (CTR).  The relevance of each keyword to its ad group.  Landing page quality and relevance.  The relevance of your ad text.  How much responsive your ad is.  Your historical AdWords account performance.
  28. 28. • Ad rank : It is the position of your PPC ad on the Search Engine Results Page(SERP) • Actual CPC: Final amount you’re charged for a click
  29. 29. Lets quickly make a new campaign  Log in to your google adwords account by your gmail id and password  Lets take an example of a Search Network Type Campaign  There are total 4 steps involed in it. Lets go one by one.
  30. 30. Name a Campaign Select Standard Select from existing campaigns
  31. 31. Choose a location by clicking on let me choose and go to advanced search Select the desired language
  32. 32. Enter the location you are targeting You can also choose Radius Targeting for targeting your nearby locations Then finally click on done
  33. 33. Choose your bidding strategy You can choose your desired ad extension from here Select your default bid and budget here Finally click on save and continue
  34. 34. Enter the url of the landing page you want the customers to be redirected to Enter name of the Ad group. Should be relevant to the Campaign Enter the keywords relevant to your ad group You will directly get the suggestion for your keywords as per mostly searched Finally, click on continue to ads
  35. 35. Enter the final url as mentioned earlier Enter the heading 1 and 2 you want Then finally enter the path. It is a display URL not a destination URL Whatever you enter, you will get a preview here. Finally click on save ad
  36. 36. Create one more ad for the same ad group You will be redirected to this page. There should be atleast 2 ads for a Ad group as mentioned Finally, you can click on save and finish You can review your campaign here and edit if you want. After this your ad will be published and you cant make any changes (Step 4)
  37. 37. Change your bid and make it competitive according to the estimated bid
  38. 38. Go to Columns and click on modify columns
  39. 39. You will land on this page Select here whichever columns you want to select. It will then appear on the final page as we saw. Finall click on Apply to save your changes
  40. 40. You Can Simultaneously keep adding whatever you wish under your campaign by clicking on the following tabs as mentioned below, by visiting under that particular page
  41. 41. Linking of Goole Adwords to Google Analytics Advantages  Keep a track of your incoming visitors  Helps you record your results on your inputs  Helps you to link your analytics data to adwords data.  Helps you improve your ad by analysing the reports
  42. 42. Lets see how do we do it • At the top of the page on the right hand side, you will get the following options-Click on linked accounts
  43. 43. Click on the Set up link with the account you want to link, if the account is linked already, it will show edit
  44. 44. Then click on Import Site Metrics and finally click on save. That completes your procedure on Google analytics
  45. 45. Now log in to your Google Analytics account. Click on your property you linked and then adwords linking and confirm your linked account
  46. 46. You can also track your conversion of your ads on your desired website. Lets see how do we do it Click on tools and then conversion actions
  47. 47. Then select Website
  48. 48. Then enter the name of the Enquiry and put all the required details and select don’t assign value and done
  49. 49. You can choose one week time in the conversion window option
  50. 50. Click on save and continue and you will get a code
  51. 51. You need to then put this code on the <body></body> of the website you wish to track