Stages of grief


Published on According to Dr Kübler-Ross, there are five well-defined stages in the grief process, all of which are important parts of the way that we react to the inevitable loss that life brings. If we are unable to express grief during any stage of the process, the grief can become blocked or bottled up, and will need to be released later.

Published in: Health & Medicine
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Stages of grief

  1. 1. Stages Of Grief
  2. 2. In this world, grief and loss areinevitable. This is an unfortunatetruth and is part of being onlyhuman and a mere mortal.
  3. 3. It doesn’t matter how positive anoutlook you have on life – badthings will happen to goodpeople, and when these thingshappen, we need to let ourselvesgo through the grief process.
  4. 4. It often helps to know that there is aknown process involved in copingwith loss and grief. You know thatyou’re not alone and that you arenormal.
  5. 5. This helps you permit yourself togrieve. And it is important to gothrough the process.
  6. 6. If you block yourself off and don’t letyourself walk the journey, this cancause problems further down thetrack – we deal with a number ofpeople using hypnotherapy whohave bottled up grief from an oldloss and have never fully releasedit.
  7. 7. The process of grief was firstinvestigated formally in the 1960sby Dr Elizabeth Kübler-Ross.
  8. 8. Of course, the grief process hadbeen informally explored by writersthroughout history, who had turnedtheir feelings into art.
  9. 9. Some of the more striking examplesof these works are “In Memoriam”by Tennyson (written after a closefriend was drowned in a shipwreck)and “A Grief Observed” by CSLewis (of Narnia fame), which waswritten after the death of his wifefrom cancer.
  10. 10. Dr Kübler-Ross looked at theprocess of grief in the context ofdeath and dying. In fact, the book inwhich she outlined the process wascalled “On Death and Dying.”
  11. 11. She was mostly interested in peoplewho were suffering from terminalillnesses as well as their familymembers.
  12. 12. However, the process is similar nomatter why you have to go throughthe process.
  13. 13. People have similar reactionswhen faced with the othertragedies of life:
  14. 14. divorce, redundancy, losing a homethrough fire or some other naturaldisaster, being diagnosed with along-term medical condition thatwon’t go away, and even someseemingly happy and successfulevents, like having a child growingup and moving out of the familyhome.
  15. 15. All of the five stages are necessaryparts of the process.
  16. 16. In the case of severe loss, such asdeath or divorce, the process canbecome a cycle, repeating over andover, although it becomes lesssevere over time.
  17. 17. If you do not give yourselfpermission to go through all thestages, or if circumstances preventyou from going through themproperly, some of the grief may beblocked and bottled up.
  18. 18. For example, people going througha natural disaster may feel that theyhave to stay strong and calm sothey can help other people cope, orso they can help with the rescueeffort.
  19. 19. This reaction is admirable and, inmany ways, helpful for others, butthe grief will still need to bereleased – we’ve seen a lot ofpeople come for help from hypnosiswho have been through this.
  20. 20. Hypnotherapy can help you getover grief.More information