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Paid Search: What You Can Do, When
You Should Hire Someone
Kevin Szypula
CEO – Driven Local
Many business owners have had negative experiences
with paid search because they couldn't manage it
efficiently. This session will explore setting up and testing
PPC campaigns so you don’t waste money. It will also
discuss what you can do and when you should really hire
someone.
Do I Need
A Haircut?
How It’s Supposed To Work….
• Pick Keywords
• Target A Geography
• Write Ads
• Set A Maximum Cost Per Click (CPC)
• Get lots of leads & sales…
When and why do you hire a
professional?
• Accountant
• Bookkeeper
• Landscaper
• Lawyer
• Dry Cleaner
• Payroll Service
• SEM Management
• Website Design
When and why do you hire a professional for
business services?
60+ Decisions When Setting Up Adwords…
Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and
how they hurt PPC results):
Mistake #1 - Only running
ads on Google AdWords
Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and
how they hurt PPC results):
Mistake #2 – Having “Computer Guy”:
• Manage Hardware & Network
• Manage Phone Systems
• Manage Email Systems
• Manage POS Systems
• Manage “Google”
• Manage “Facebook”
• Manage “Website”
Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and
how they hurt PPC results):
Mistake #3 – Using all “Broad
Match Keywords”
• Not understanding the different types of KW
Match types
• Broad Match Keywords will trigger 100’s of
different KW variations (some good, some bad).
• Exact Match you control when you show, and how
much you are willing to spend for that click (and
eventually cost per lead). Its about control
Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and
how they hurt PPC results):
Mistake #4 – Adding Too Many
Keywords Per Ad Group
• Adding any keywords possibly relevant to business.
• Adding All Keyword “Opportunities”
• Solution - Use Targeted, and specific KWs. KWS of
people that are getting ready or are ready to buy
Don’t Take The Keyword Bait
The Wrong Way…
1000’s OF KEYWORDS
Your Company Home Page
Services
Rodents
Insects
Ant Removal
Bed Bugs
1000’s OF KEYWORDS
Ant Removal
Insect
Ad Group
General
Exterminator Bed Bug
Ad Group
Rodents
Ad Group
Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and
how they hurt PPC results):
Mistake #5 – Not tracking
Phone Calls and Forms
• Aka “Conversions”
Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and
how they hurt PPC results):
Mistake #6 – Targeting Position 1 (with a limited
budget)
• Spot 1 is most expensive (burn budget)
• Target 2, 3 or 4 for highest profit & ROI.
• Yes, more volume in position 1. But only extremely
high converting KWs.
• Position 1, most clicks, and most irrelevant
clicks. People trust Google’s #1 link and just click.
• Position 1, has a lower conversion rate than lower
positions.
Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and
how they hurt PPC results):
Mistake #7 – Not Knowing Profit Margin AND
Lifetime Value
Carpet Cleaner Example:
• $200 Service Average Cost | $100 Profit
• $10 CPC | 10% Conversion
• $100 Cost Per Customer = $0 Profit
• Average Service = 1x Per Year and last 3 years
• Lifetime Value is $600 per customer. $300 Cost - $100 to Acquire = $200
Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how
they hurt PPC results):
Mistake #8 – Bad Website = Bad “PPC Results”
A Seamless User Experience
Rather than designing separate sites for desktops, tablets and
smartphones, a responsive design can target all of them and deliver
a user experience that customers will be familiar with as they
change devices.
SEO & PPC Benefits
Google recommends a responsive web design above other
approaches. The search engines are giving mobile optimized
websites priority in mobile search results.
Higher Conversion Rates
At the end of the day, what really matters is how well your website
converts. By increasing the focus on smartphone & tablet users
while still addressing desktop users, the overall conversion rate for
your site will increase.
2017 – Your Website SHOULD BE Responsive
Your MOBILE Website is MORE important than
your desktop site!!
Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how
they hurt PPC results):
Mistake #9 – Unrealistic Expectations & Goals
• Paid Search is Advertising.
• It is not a slot machine.
• Set realistic ROI goals.
Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how
they hurt PPC results):
Mistake #10 – Poor Text Ads
• Writing Poor Text Ads
Bad - Using Company name as headline (unless really
well branded i.e. Roto Rooter)
Bad - Using Slogan.
Bad - Keywords stuffed in Ad
Good - Highlight why someone should do business
with you, what sets you apart
Good - Call to Action
Good - Answer Questions people are asking in your
industry
Good - Tell People what they want to know
Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how
they hurt PPC results):
Mistake #10 + 1 Not Staying Updated
• Google AdWords Changes
• Bing Changes
• How People Search
Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how
they hurt PPC results):
Resources:
• https://www.google.com/partners/about/
• https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/6227162
• http://searchengineland.com/
Hiring An Agency:
Learn More About DIY PPC::

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  • 1. Paid Search: What You Can Do, When You Should Hire Someone Kevin Szypula CEO – Driven Local Many business owners have had negative experiences with paid search because they couldn't manage it efficiently. This session will explore setting up and testing PPC campaigns so you don’t waste money. It will also discuss what you can do and when you should really hire someone.
  • 2. Do I Need A Haircut?
  • 3.
  • 4. How It’s Supposed To Work…. • Pick Keywords • Target A Geography • Write Ads • Set A Maximum Cost Per Click (CPC) • Get lots of leads & sales…
  • 5. When and why do you hire a professional?
  • 6. • Accountant • Bookkeeper • Landscaper • Lawyer • Dry Cleaner • Payroll Service • SEM Management • Website Design When and why do you hire a professional for business services?
  • 7. 60+ Decisions When Setting Up Adwords…
  • 8. Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how they hurt PPC results): Mistake #1 - Only running ads on Google AdWords
  • 9. Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how they hurt PPC results): Mistake #2 – Having “Computer Guy”: • Manage Hardware & Network • Manage Phone Systems • Manage Email Systems • Manage POS Systems • Manage “Google” • Manage “Facebook” • Manage “Website”
  • 10. Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how they hurt PPC results): Mistake #3 – Using all “Broad Match Keywords” • Not understanding the different types of KW Match types • Broad Match Keywords will trigger 100’s of different KW variations (some good, some bad). • Exact Match you control when you show, and how much you are willing to spend for that click (and eventually cost per lead). Its about control
  • 11. Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how they hurt PPC results): Mistake #4 – Adding Too Many Keywords Per Ad Group • Adding any keywords possibly relevant to business. • Adding All Keyword “Opportunities” • Solution - Use Targeted, and specific KWs. KWS of people that are getting ready or are ready to buy Don’t Take The Keyword Bait
  • 12. The Wrong Way… 1000’s OF KEYWORDS Your Company Home Page Services Rodents Insects Ant Removal Bed Bugs
  • 13. 1000’s OF KEYWORDS Ant Removal Insect Ad Group General Exterminator Bed Bug Ad Group Rodents Ad Group
  • 14. Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how they hurt PPC results): Mistake #5 – Not tracking Phone Calls and Forms • Aka “Conversions”
  • 15. Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how they hurt PPC results): Mistake #6 – Targeting Position 1 (with a limited budget) • Spot 1 is most expensive (burn budget) • Target 2, 3 or 4 for highest profit & ROI. • Yes, more volume in position 1. But only extremely high converting KWs. • Position 1, most clicks, and most irrelevant clicks. People trust Google’s #1 link and just click. • Position 1, has a lower conversion rate than lower positions.
  • 16. Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how they hurt PPC results): Mistake #7 – Not Knowing Profit Margin AND Lifetime Value Carpet Cleaner Example: • $200 Service Average Cost | $100 Profit • $10 CPC | 10% Conversion • $100 Cost Per Customer = $0 Profit • Average Service = 1x Per Year and last 3 years • Lifetime Value is $600 per customer. $300 Cost - $100 to Acquire = $200
  • 17. Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how they hurt PPC results): Mistake #8 – Bad Website = Bad “PPC Results” A Seamless User Experience Rather than designing separate sites for desktops, tablets and smartphones, a responsive design can target all of them and deliver a user experience that customers will be familiar with as they change devices. SEO & PPC Benefits Google recommends a responsive web design above other approaches. The search engines are giving mobile optimized websites priority in mobile search results. Higher Conversion Rates At the end of the day, what really matters is how well your website converts. By increasing the focus on smartphone & tablet users while still addressing desktop users, the overall conversion rate for your site will increase. 2017 – Your Website SHOULD BE Responsive Your MOBILE Website is MORE important than your desktop site!!
  • 18. Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how they hurt PPC results): Mistake #9 – Unrealistic Expectations & Goals • Paid Search is Advertising. • It is not a slot machine. • Set realistic ROI goals.
  • 19. Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how they hurt PPC results): Mistake #10 – Poor Text Ads • Writing Poor Text Ads Bad - Using Company name as headline (unless really well branded i.e. Roto Rooter) Bad - Using Slogan. Bad - Keywords stuffed in Ad Good - Highlight why someone should do business with you, what sets you apart Good - Call to Action Good - Answer Questions people are asking in your industry Good - Tell People what they want to know
  • 20. Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how they hurt PPC results): Mistake #10 + 1 Not Staying Updated • Google AdWords Changes • Bing Changes • How People Search
  • 21. Common mistakes we see SMB DIY’s (and how they hurt PPC results): Resources: • https://www.google.com/partners/about/ • https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/6227162 • http://searchengineland.com/ Hiring An Agency: Learn More About DIY PPC::