See full presentation here: https://youtu.be/N8OHzIcGt1s
This webinar outlines key email marketing strategies every recruiting professional should know. Talemetry's experts break down the components of winning recruiting email campaigns from list to offer to response to metrics.
Creative Director vs. Design Director: Key Differences for Recruiters
Email Marketing Strategies for Modern Recruiting and Sourcing
1. Email Strategies for Modern Recruiting
and Sourcing
Stephen Schwander & Ian Alexander
2. Agenda
• Anatomy of an Email Campaign
• Key Success Criteria
• Lists and Segmentation
• Offer
• Creative
• Conversion
• Sourcing vs. Nurturing
• Metrics
• Client Examples
• Q&A
3. Anatomy of an Email Campaign
Types of Emails
• Individual Outreach
• Auto-responders
• Sourcing Campaigns
• Nurture Campaigns
4. Anatomy of an Email Campaign
Types of Emails
• Sourcing Campaigns
• Nurture Campaigns
5. Anatomy of an Email Campaign
Components
• Target list
• Offer
• Creative (subject/body/CTA)
• Conversion pages (job descriptions/landing pages)
• Analytics
6. CreativeOffer
Success Criteria
40/40/20 Rule
• Response rate is determined by:
• 40% target lists
• 40% offer
• 20% creative
Spend most of your effort getting the right offer (job) to
the most responsive/interested target, THEN, focus on
subject lines, CTA’s, email content
List
7. Target List
• Home grown is always best
• ATS
• CRM Talent Pool
• Talent Network
• Recruiter emails
• 3rd party
• Rent from reputable list brokers
• Beware of “bought” lists
• Deliverability issues
• Spam traps
9. Offer
Go beyond the description. Think more completely
about what you are offering:
• Chance at a job
• Comp
• Benefits
• Career ladder
• Community
• Lifestyle
• Self worth / purpose
Craft a compelling offer of one or two sentences that will form the
foundation of your creative. Make them time-bound if you can.
Offers will be different for different campaigns.
10. Offer
Which would get you to respond?
• Option 1: Data Analyst II with great pay
and benefits
• Option 2: A limited-time chance to work
with some of the top data scientists for a
cutting edge company in North Carolina’s
beautiful and vibrant Research Triangle.
• Option 1: CEO for the #2 computer
hardware and software manufacturer
• Option 2: “Do you want to sell sugared
water for the rest of your life? Or do you
want to come with me and change the
world?”
11. Creative
Subject lines
• 28-39 characters optimal (no more than 50)
• You’re competing with hundreds of other emails
• Be creative
• Personalization boosts response
• Remember your brand
• Avoid spam triggers
• Don’t forget “From” name – important tool to get email opened
• Test multiple options
12. Creative
Body
• It’s a personal medium so be personable
• Short text
• Keep it simple for sourcing - Too flashy can suppress
response
• Focus your email around your singular objective:
• Invite to apply
• Join talent network
• Start a conversation
• Get a referral*
• Keep in touch/inform
• Gather more info
13. Creative
Hi Mary,
I am looking for someone who is interested in a
data scientist role working on some very
exciting projects. This person would be a key
member of the team and would be
compensated accordingly.
Do you know anyone who might be interested?
Click here to learn more about the role and to
apply.
Regards,
Renny Recruiter
Short, focused, personal sourcing approach
14. Conversion
Rules of thumb
• Be highly specific with CTA
• Create CTA-specific landing pages
• Career site home page – Meh
• Targeted career site subpage – Not bad
• Landing page that mirrors email CTA and
allows you to track conversion rate – Bingo
15. Sourcing vs. Nurturing
• Sourcing campaigns
• Typically ad hoc
• Invite to apply / Incite to reply
• Drive qualified candidates to jobs
• Nurturing campaigns
• Long term, often sequenced
• Designed to keep candidates engaged
• Half awareness/half engagement
• Reinforce brand
• “Keep warm”
16. Nurture Campaigns
• Must provide value or candidates will
unsubscribe. Be creative
• Discounts
• Incentives for referrals
• Free / low cost training resources
• “How to Get a Job at this Company” eBook (teach
them what you’re looking for)
• Relevant content to their interests
• Surveys or links to candidate profiles where they can
update info/experience/qualifications
• Employee profiles/accomplishments (targeted)
• Company news
• No more than monthly to any one segment
17. A Word About Spam
Not a spam clinic, but:
• Do not send mass emails unless you:
• Use an opt-in list
• Clearly state the purpose of the email
• Show the company name, address and phone
• Have an easy opt out of future emails (unsubscribe)
• In Canada (CASL) you must have a positive opt-in to send the
email, even the first one!
• Use a system to retain the opt-in information – you have to be able to
prove you have it.
• Use common sense
• Would you have an issue getting the email?
• Don’t flood people’s inboxes
• Stop sending emails when someone asks you to stop
18. Metrics
Start macro and then get micro
• Open rate
• Measures interest in your offer/subject line
• Average for recruitment/staffing 7.9% (increased from 3.9% in 2012)
• Click rate
• How successful was your overall list/offer/creative at inciting action
• Average click rate 1.7%
• Conversion rate
• How many “clickers” turned into applicants, downloaders, etc.
19. Metrics
• Percent hired
• Measure which campaigns result in the most hires
• Deliverability
• How many emails bounced. Shows age and health of your list
• Email addresses churn at a rate of 25%-ish per year
• % of unsubscribes (should decrease over time)
• Regular email campaigns clean your list of unreachable,
uninterested members and increases overall response rates
20. Metrics
Use your metrics to plan campaigns
• Need to hire 250 store personnel fast?
• (n) X (Click through) X (Conversion) = Expected Applicants
• 50,000 X .17 X .03 = 255 applicants
Determine cost per applicant for ROI on list rentals
• List = $250/M
• 50k = $12,500
• CPA = $12,500 / 255 = $49/applicant
21. Case Study
• Veteran Campaign – National wireless
company
• Emails Sent: 347,178 (100%)
• Emails Delivered: 330,825 (95%)
• Opened Email: 160,412 (48%)
• Clicked Link to Landing;19,052 (6%)
• Bounced back: 2,494 (.8%)
• Spam reported: 344 (.1%)
• Unsubscribe: 5,644 (1.7%)
• Signed Up Via Talent Network
(Jan 5th-Mar 26th):
• 8,590 clicked “Join Talent Network” 2,502
completed (.75%)
22. Case Study
• Specialized Recruiting – Nursing (Large Hospital System)
• Sourced list and previous applicants
• 300,000 emails sent
• Landing pages created and managed
• Campaign executed in 3 weeks over holidays
• 1700 Nursing applicants ( .56%)
23. Questions and Wrap-up
Learn about Talemetry CRM and Sourcing Solutions
and Recruitment Marketing Platform
Talemetry.com
ialexander@talemetry.com
Editor's Notes
Stephen
stephen
Stephen
Stephen
Stephen
Ian
Ian
Proper targeting requires mapping desired candidate interests, qualifications, experience, etc to target lists.
Ian
Ian
Ian
Ian
Ian
Just because you’re mailing to thousands of people, doesn’t mean you have to be flashy!
Ian
Stephen
Give something of value
Stephen
Ian.
Ian
Ian
Ian
For UPMC... they had 4 hospitals that were not able to staff nurses fast enough. Created quality of care issues, internal noise, reputational challenges all while launching a new ATS. We stepped in and helped, services and solutions together.