2. Introduction
• Meta tags give search engines more information about a web page.
• This is implicit information, meaning that it’s not visible to visitors of
the web page itself.
• Meta tags can be found in the <head> element of a web page.
• By putting meta tags in the body, some browsers may not recognize
them and you’re essentially creating invalid markup.
• Often, meta tags will contain a name attribute, which sets a type of
metadata.
• The value of this metadata is expressed through a content attribute.
• There are all kinds of valid name-value pairs you can use within
meta tags.
3. Meta tags
Meta tags are Tags within a HTML
document that help define the contents
of a web page. Meta tags help allow
Internet search engines display web
pages more appropriately. Because the
abuse of incorrectly describing a web
page through meta tags, many search
engines are no longer utilizing meta
tags..
4. Meta tags structure
<meta name=" " content=" " />
Or
<meta http-equiv=" " content=" " />
The http-equiv attribute provides an HTTP header for the
information in the content attribute.
19. <meta name="description" content="Afree website full
web design tutorials " />
• One of the most important meta tags, this
describes what the page contains. This is one of
the many things used by search engines to help
classify and rank your page. This tag is also
displayed in search engine results so is very
important in trying to get users to click on
your links in the search engines
20. <meta name="keywords"
content="web design, website
tutorials, free tutorials " />
• Keywords separated by commas that help
describe what the page contains. Keywords
do not have to be separated by commas, this
is a personal choice.
22. Google AdWords-Campaign Types
There are five types of campaigns .They are:
Search Network with
Display Select
Search Network Only
Display Network Only
Shopping Online
Video
23. Google AdWords-
Definition
Google AdWords is Google's online advertising
program.
Google AdWords is a product that you can use to promote
your business, help sell products or services, raise
awareness, and increase traffic to your website.
24. AdWords Vs AdSense
AdWords AdSense
The Google AdWords enables
you to create advertisements
which will appear on relevant
Google search results pages
and our network of partner sites.
The Google AdSense differs in
that it delivers Google AdWords
ads to individuals' websites.
AdWords is a media buying channel. AdSense is an advertising sales
channel
AdWords ads are shown on
specific search result
AdSense enables adaption of
the ad with the page content
AdWords is on Google SERP
(search engine result page)
AdSense is shown on web pages
25. Google AdWords-
Advantages
Reach people searching for what you offer
Control your budget
Measurable, accountable, flexible
Cost Effective Maximum
Relevance
Highly Targeted
Remarketing
28. Google AdWords-Account Structure
Your account is associated with a unique email
address, password, and billing information.
Account Structure
Campaign 1 Campaign
2
Ad Group
1
Ad Group
1
Ad Group
2
Ad Group
2
Ad
s
Keyword
s
Ad
s
Keyword
s
Ads
Keyword
s
Ads
Keyword
s
29. Google AdWords-Campaign Types
Your ad campaign has its own budget and settings that
determine where your ads appear.
We can create a project based on the client
requirement for the project.
34. What is an Online
Advertising?
Online advertising is a form of marketing and advertising which uses
the Internet to deliver promotional marketing messages to consumers,
also know as Online marketing or Internet advertising,
36. CPM (Cost Per Click)
It is also known as Pay per click (PPC). Advertisers pay each time a
user clicks on their listing and is redirected to their website. They
do not actually pay for the listing, but only when the listing is
clicked on.
Purpose: Cost effectiveness and profitability of internet marketing
can be measured. Clicks are a way to measure attention and
interest. The main purpose of an ad is to generate a click.
Cost to an advertiser:
Cost to an advertiser = CPC x No. of Clicks
1) CPC
2) Number of clicks
= ₹30
= 500
= ₹30x500
Cost to an advertiser = ₹1500
37. CPV(Cost Per Visitor)
Cost Per Visitor is online advertising ad model based on where
advertisers pay for the delivery of a targeted visitor to the advertiser’s
website.
Meaning the publisher is only paid when a user goes to a website (or
blog or form, etc).
Cost to an Advertiser = CPV x No. of visit after ad published
1)CPV
2) Number of visitors
CPV(Cost Per Visitor)
= ₹60
= 250
= ₹60x 250
= ₹1500
38. Web banner Ads
A web banner or banner ad is a form of advertising on the World
Wide Web delivered by an ad server. Banner ads can use rich
media to incorporate video, audio, animations, buttons, forms, or
other elements.
Fastest Network Ever
39. Pop-ups/ Pop- unders
A new window which opens in front of the current one,
displaying an advertisement, or entire webpage.
A pop-under ad opens a new browser window under a website
visitor's initial browser window.
40. Trick banners
A banner ad that looks like a dialog box with buttons. It simulates
an error message or an alert.
FloatingAd
An ad which moves across the user's screen or floats above the
content.
The engine’s in the front
But its heart’s in the same
place
41. Expanding ad
An ad which changes size and which may alter the contents of
the webpage.
42. Newsfeed ad
It also called "Sponsored Stories", "Boosted Posts", typically exist
on Social Media Platforms that offer a steady stream of information
updates in regulated formats.
Those advertisements can be of any content, such as promoting a
website, a fan page, an app, or a product.
43. Pre-RollAds
Online video commercial that appears prior to an online video, it is
typically 10 - 15 seconds in length. They call it in-stream
advertising.
44. Overlay Ad
It is a graphical ad in the bottom of the video, that displays while the video plays.
46. Search Engine Optimization
It is a methodology of strategies, techniques and tactics used to
increase the amount of visitors to a website by obtaining a high-
ranking placement in the search results page of a search engine
(SERP) -- including Google, Bing, Yahoo and other search
engines.
Search engines provide sponsored results and organic (non-
sponsored) results based on a web searcher's query
48. TrueView In-Search
Video appears in a special promoted section of the video search
results pages on YouTube and Google video results.
Advertiser pay only when a viewer chooses to watch your video.
49. In-display ads
In-display ads appear as thumbnails among the list of suggested
videos and related videos from which a viewer is currently
watching.
50. MobileAdvertising
It is a form of advertising via mobile (wireless) phones or other
mobile devices
Mobile advertising may take the form of static or rich media
display ads, SMS (Short Message Service) or MMS (Multimedia
Messaging Service)
51. Benefits of OnlineAdvertising
o Coverage: Internet advertising is ideal for businesses with a
national or international target market and large-scale distribution
capabilities.
o Low Cost: The low costs of electronic communication reduce the
cost of displaying online advertisements compared to offline ads
o Multimedia: Advertisers have a wide variety of ways of
presenting their promotional messages, including the ability to
convey images, video, audio, and links.
o Targeting: Publishers can offer advertisers the ability to reach
customizable and narrow market segments for targeted
advertising.
52. Disadvantage of online advertising
o Ad-blocker: Many advertisement are seen spam and there are
blockers to protect against the ads.
o Unnoticed: Surfers may notice your ads but choose not to click.
o Avoid: Consumers can avoid clicking banner advertisements.
o Too many choices: There are so many websites out there that it
can be hard to identify the ones that will most effectively target
your audience
53. Techniques to get on Top of Google
1. Choose the right keywords.
2. Devise a local search strategy.
3. Focus on quality content.
4. Generate backlinks.
This is a tricky one. Getting people to link to your site isn't easy, but
it's essential to placing high in the rankings. In addition to creating
quality content, networking is a big part of this process.
5. Utilize social media.
57. Display Advertising
Display ads, or banner ads, are a form of advertising that allows you to target
audiences online in many ways across desktop, mobile and tablet devices
MEDIA 101
58. Display advertising is advertising
on websites or apps or social
media through banners or other ad
formats made of text, images,
flash, video, and audio.
The main purpose of display
advertising is to deliver general
advertisements and brand
messages to site visitors.
62. Targeting
Behavioral Targeting
• Targets audiences whose online activity matches your audience profile.
This includes websites they view, products they research, what they
purchase and social engagement.
Geo-targeting and Geo-fencing
• Targets specific audiences based on their location
• Can be as wide or narrow as you want (country, state, city, etc)
Contextual Targeting
• Advertisement is related to content on the site or a means to identify your
core audience based on the content they are consuming when they go
online
MEDIA 101
63. Targeting
Retargeting
• Targets audiences that have already visited your website and shown
interest in your brand
Prospecting
• Creates a new target audience using multiple tactics (behavioral,
contextual, etc.)
Lookalike Targeting
• Uses current audience data to create similar audiences to target
MEDIA 101
65. Buying Models
• CPM: Cost per 1,000 impressions
• One of the most common ways of buying digital media
• Pay every time your ad is loaded on a page or in an app
• CPC: Cost per click
• Pay every time someone clicks on your ad
• CPL: Cost per Lead
• Pay every time a lead form is completed and submitted
• CPA: Cost per action/acquisition
• Pay every time a purchase is made
MEDIA 101
66. How to buy display advertising
Buying Direct
• Buying ad space on a specific website directly from the business (ex. AZCentral.com
• You know exactly where your ads will show
• Costs are usually higher than a network buy
• More custom opportunities
Network Buy
• Buying through a 3rd Party, like Google Display Network (GDN)
• This is an easy way to purchase ad space on multiple websites through one media buy
• Scale is larger and costs are typically lower than buying direct
• Targets your audience vs. the site
Programmatic Buy
• Automates network buying process to increase efficiencies and lower costs
• Allows advertisers to hone in on the audience and can also layer in day-parting and
other parameters to focus on the most quality audience
MEDIA 101
67. Drive Tra?c
Create aHypothesis
A/B Test YourHypothesis
Get Feedback
A
B C
The Ultimate Guide
To Landing Page
Optimization
UNBOUNCE
www.unbounce.com
69. 1. What is a Landing
Page
A landing page is the web page a potential customer
arrives at after expressing interest in one of several
forms of advertising:
A banner ad
A Google AdWords or AdSense ad
A search engine result (like Google)
A link in an email
Print advertising
TV commercials
70. What Is A Landing Page?
In the purest sense, a landing page is any web page
that a visitor can arrive at or “land” on. However,
when discussing landing pages within the realm of
marketing and advertising, it’s preferable to refer
to a landing page as being a standalone web page
distinct from your main website, that has been
designed with a single focused objective in mind.
The main reason for a landing page having a single
focused objective is to limit the options available
to your visitors, helping to guide them toward your
intended conversion goal. So ditch your website’s
global navigation and take a look at the anatomy of
a well-constructed landing page:
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71. 2. Why Should I Use a Landing
Page
Landing Pages help increase visibility &
conversion!
Targeted promotion or product specific landing
pages are focused on a single objective that
matches the intent of the ad that your visitors
clicked on to reach your page.
* “Conversion” - The point at which a recipient of a marketing message performs a desired
action.
72. Landing Pages VS Homepages
*Using a standalone landing page compared to sending visitors to your homepage is considered to improve conversions rates by
approximately 25% (source Omniture).
Pros of using landing pages for online marleting
campaigns
Focuses on conversion
Removes Distractions
Fulfills the promise of your PPC ad
You can A/B test a landing page
You can create different versions for different ads
Homepages are not designed with only one unique goal in mind, and if we want to get some results from our campaigns and
maximize their
ROI we’ll need a specific page that it’s been designed with conversion in mind – a Landing Page.
73. Types of Landing Pages
There are 3 main categories of landing pages:
1.Standalone Landing Pages: These include; Click Through, Lead
Capture, Infomercial and Viral landing pages.
2.Microsites: A small multi-page website usually created as a
supplement to the main website.
3.Internal Website Landing Pages: Homepages and product detail
pages.
74. Click Trough & Lead Generation Landing Pages
Lead Generation Landing Page Click Through Landing
Page
75. Landing pages are typically
broken down into the following
7 elements:
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1. Headline
The sole purpose of your page headline is to communicate
your core value proposition. It should describe exactly what
your offering is in a sharp, to-the-point sentence. It’s usually
the first thing people will see on your page. Your headline
is also incredibly important for paid advertising quality
scores (such as Google AdWords).
If you find yourself with a headline that’s too long, then
consider adding a smallersub-header, which can add a
little more detail, and keep the headline an appropriate
length.
2. Hero Shot
We’ve all heard the phrase “a picture is worth a
thousand words.” Well to have an effective landing
page, you need to add some powerful imagery or video
that shows off your product/ service.
Do: Create an original photo or video demo
Do: Show your product being used - to show context
of use
Do: Consider getting a professional service to produce a
video for you to increase conversions Don’t: Use stock
imagery as you’ll diminish the trust in your page and look
unoriginal
3. Benefit Statement(s)
The style with which you write to your page visitors
about your product or service should be in the form of
how it will benefit them or their business, not simply a
list of features. Benefits should be in the form of bullet
points to make them easy to read. Consider the
difference between these two statements:
Bad (feature based)
Our powerful new battery
Better (benefit based)
Our new battery means you’ll need to charge your
phone lessoften
76. The second resonates with a target user’s needs
by tackling a real pain point, in this case, phone
batteries that lose their charge too quickly.
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Limit the number of benefits to between 3 and 7
for easy scanability.
4. Form
This only appears on lead capture type pages (as
we’ll discuss below). Visually you want to make
it as clear as possible. You can do this by using
encapsulation (surround it with a colored box),
and contrast to isolate it from the rest of the
page. To entice someone to complete your form
you need to match the perceived effort involved
in completing it (the length and personal nature
of the form and it’s questions), with the ‘size of
the prize’ (the item you offer in return, such as a
discount, an ebook ora webinar registration).
5. Call-To-Action (CTA)
Your call-to-action is the intended conversion
goal of your page. As such, your CTA should be
the only thing to do on your landing page. Don’t
add extra links that cause leaks away from your
conversion event. When writing yourCTA, finish
the sentence “I want to…”. For example if the
goal is to download an ebook, you would write,
“I want to download the ebook” – and as such,
your CTA would be “Download the ebook”.
You also want to draw attention to the button
using design principles such as contrast,
whitespace, and the oft-debated choice of color.
6. Trust Indicators
People need to trust you in order to buy your
wares. A trust indicator shows that someone
else has benefited from using your product and
is vouching for its quality. Examples are client
testimonials, social widgets, press appearance
logos, customer logos or a stream of positive
tweets about you.
77. Imagine walking by a restaurant that had only
one couple eating in it, and next door there was
a line-up outside. Which would you choose?
It’s the same with landing pages. The more you
can convince people that you are worth sticking
around for, the more conversions you’ll get.
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B2B Tip
If your goal is to get people to register for a
webinar, show the registration count as a form
of social proof. This will play on peoples’ herd
mentality, making them want to sign up too.
7. Post-Conversion Page
Strike while the iron is hot. You’ll want to take
advantage of your newly happy lead or customer
and get them to do something else after the
conversion. Now is a great time to ask them to
sign up for your newsletter, or buying something
else at a discount.
Use your confirmation pages (the page that
shows after your visitor downloads your eBook,
or the page after a purchase in an ecommerce
flow), to house the extra bits and bobs that you
otherwise might be tempted to include on your
landing page.
78. Why Should You Use Landing Pages?
The short answer is because they help increase your conversion rates.
Targeted promotion or product specific landing pages are focused on a single objective, and are designed to match the
intent of the ad or marketing collateral your visitors clicked to reach your page.
Consider what happens when you send traffic to your homepage
Most homepages are designed with a general purpose in mind - to speak to your overall brand, product and corporate
values, and are typically loaded with links and navigation to other areas of your site.
Every link on your page that doesn’t represent your businesses’
conversion goal is a distraction that will dilute your message and
reduce your conversionrate.
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79. In Fact, from now on, each link that doesn’t lead to your conversion goal should be considered a conversion leak.
Homepage vs. landing page
Observe a comparison of a Campaign Monitor homepage versus a landing page.The difference in the number of links is
41 (homepage) to 1(landing page).
That’s WHY you should use landing pages.
Not everyone is a believer though. I’ve heard way too often that stakeholder’s, such as senior management, your boss
or clients, either don’t get the concept or think it will be too costly to incorporate into their marketing budget. If you’ve
ever experienced this, jump down to Appendix A - Convincing Stakeholders on the Value of LPO where there are 5
techniques to convince even the most skeptical people.
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80. CHAPTER 2
The Landing Page Optimization Process
A
B C
2 Build Your FirstPage
1 Define Goals
3 Drive Tra?c
To YourPage
4 Get Feedback
Create a Hypothesis 5
A/B Test Your Hypothesis 6
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81. Online market segmentation
8
1
Juho Pesonen 10.1.2014
• Marketing Mix: Product, Price, Placeand
Promotion (4Ps, McCarthy, 1960)
• Internet has changed the way 4Ps are used in
marketing strategy.
– Product is more and more technology enhanced.
– Price is more flexible than ever.
– Place is online and everywhere.
• Internet consists of a wide variety of different places.
– Promotion is not company dependant any more.
83. Segmentation, targeting and
positioning (STP)
• Internet has also changed the STP process
– New segmentation bases (e.g. Internet use) and
means (Google Analytics).
– New targeting possibilities (e.g. onlineadvertising,
social media, pay-per-click, online travelagencies).
– New possibilities for positioning products and
services (e.g. utilized social media channels,
YouTube videos, differentiation of Marketing Mix
elements)
– STP process is not static but changes continuously.
10.1.2014
Juho Pesonen 9
85. - What are the keywords members of a particular
segment use when searching for travel
products?
- What kind of picture to use in Facebook /
banner advertising?
- It is about collecting and utilizing data!
85
Juho Pesonen 10.1.2014
Internet has changed and will change market
segmentation
86. - Internet enables unbelievable efficient targeting
strategies for companies that know who to
target and where -> finding market segments
best suitable for thebusiness strategy.
- Understanding what customer segment want
and value makes it possible for companies to
advertise efficiently on Facebook, Google
AdWords and even design websites.
86
Juho Pesonen 10.1.2014
Role of market segmentation in online
marketing strategy
87. - Traditionally marketsegmentation has been
often survey based with relatively little
behavior based segmentation.
- ICTs make it possible to collect and store more
behavioral data than ever before -> surveys will
become obsolete or very seldom used.
- Mobile site customization based on location.
87
Juho Pesonen 10.1.2014
Market segmentation in practice
89. Marketing analytics involves the
discovery and communication of
meaningful patterns in data from metrics
like traffic, leads, sales, advertising,
promotions, web activity, social media,
and any other relevant marketing
activity or financial data.
Common Language in Marketing Project, 2016. Accessed October 12, 2018. http://marketing-dictionary.org/m/marketing-
analytics/
90. Source: Hartman, Kevin. n.d. "Digital Analytics for Marketing Professionals: Marketing Analytics in Practice." Accessed September 2018. https://www.coursera.org/learn/digital-
analytics/home/info.
91. Build
Awareness
Do consumers recall and
recognize my brand?
Influence
Consideration
Do my products satisfy
consumers’needs?
Improve
Sales
Process
Do my brands win
at places of
purchase?
Improve
Brand
Performance
Do the experiences I
deliver fulfill customer
expectations?
Grow Loyalty
Do consumers
advocate for my
brand?
Source: Hartman, Kevin. n.d. "Digital Analytics for Marketing Professionals: Marketing Analytics in Practice." Accessed September 2018. https://www.coursera.org/learn/digital-
analytics/home/info.
92. Search
metrics
measure
paid
campaign
efficiency
• Click-
Through
Rate
• Macro
Conversion
Rate
• Cost Per
Acquisitio
n
Display
metrics
measure
the
channel’s
effectiveness
• Click-
Through
Rate
• Macro
Conversion
Rate
• Cost Per
Acquisitio
n
• Events / Visit
Video
metrics
must
align
with
business
objectives
• Video Views
• Play Through
Rate
• Engageme
nt Rate
Hartman, Kevin. n.d. “Digital Analytics for Marketing Professionals: Marketing Analytics in Theory.” AccessedSeptember2018.https://www.coursera.org/learn/marketing-analytics/home/info
Icons made by Freepik from
93. Social
metrics
measure
the
program’s
effectiveness
• Audience
Growth
• Amplificatio
n Rate
• Applause Rate
• Micro
Conversion
Rate
Email
metrics
measure
the
channel’s
effectiveness
• Delivery Rate
• Open Rate
• Click Rate
• Unsubscrib
e Rate
• Spam
Complaint
Rate
Hartman, Kevin. n.d. “Digital Analytics for Marketing Professionals: Marketing Analytics in Theory.” AccessedSeptember2018. https://www.coursera.org/learn/marketing-analytics/home/info and Wilson
(2017)
Icons made by Freepik from
94. Channels Metrics Definition
Search
Click-Through Rate
The average number of click-throughs per hundred ad
impressions, expressed as a percentage
Macro Conversion Rate Simply number of sales divided by the number of visitor sessions
Cost Per Acquisition The cost associated with acquiring a new customer
Display
Click-Through Rate
The average number of click-throughs per hundred ad
impressions, expressed as a percentage
Macro Conversion Rate Simply number of sales divided by the number of visitor sessions
Cost Per Acquisition The cost associated with acquiring a new customer
Events / Visit Average number of pre-defined actions completed during a session
Hartman, Kevin. n.d. “Digital Analytics for Marketing Professionals: Marketing Analytics in Theory.” AccessedSeptember2018.https://www.coursera.org/learn/marketing-analytics/home/info
95. Channels Metrics Definition
Video
Video Views
Full-length (“complete”) and partial (“incomplete”) views of theposted
video
Play Through Rate
The number of viewers who watch the video to completion,
expressed as a percentage
Engagement Rate
The number of viewers who participate with the video by taking
some defined action (e.g., shared video, left a comment, “liked” or
favorited, etc.), expressed as a percentage
Social
Audience Growth
Increase in the number of people following or liking digital content
over time
Amplification Rate
Rate at which your followers take your content and share it
through their network
Applause Rate
Rate at which your followers attach special recognition to your post
(e.g., Likes,+1’s,Favorites, etc.)
Micro Conversion Rate
Number of predefined goals achieved divided by the number of
visitor
sessions
Hartman, Kevin. n.d. “Digital Analytics for Marketing Professionals: Marketing Analytics in Theory.” AccessedSeptember2018.https://www.coursera.org/learn/marketing-analytics/home/info
96. Channels Metrics Definition
Email
Delivery Rate
The percentage of people who actually received your email
divided by the total emails sent
Open Rate
The percentage of people who opened the email you sent
divided by the number of people who were delivered
Click Rate
The percentage of people who clicked on something in your email
divided by the number of people who were delivered
Unsubscribe Rate
The percentage of people in your subscriber list who unsubscribed
from your email list divided by the number of people in your list
SPAM Complaint Rate
The percentage of people in your subscriber list who clicked the
SPAM button on their email service provider divided by the
number of people in your list
Wilson
(2017)
98. DEFINITION OF INTERACTIVE
ADVERTISEMENT
Interactive advertisement refers to promotional
techniques that include an element of feedback
from those to whom the advertisement are
directed.
Interactive advertising is usually used to refer to
online advertising, but can also be applied to
offline advertisement methods such as consumer
survey.
99. OBJECTIVES OF INTERACTIVE
ADVERTISEMENT
1. The goal of interactive advertisement are usually same
as traditional objectives i.e. to sell product.
2. improve advertisement effectiveness and also has the
potential to decrease the losses associated with poorly
coordinated advertising to reduce the difficulties
commonly encountered in clearly communicating an
advertising message and help to overcome new product
hurdle.
101. MULTIMEDIA
Multimedia uses a combination of
different content forms such as text, audio,
images, animations, video
and interactive content. Multimedia
contrasts with media that use only
rudimentary computer displays such as
text-only or traditional forms of printed or
hand-produced material.
Many applications do not require
sophisticated computer literacy.
114. FACEBOOK INSIGHTS
1.5 Billion Active
Users
5 Million Active Sri
Lankans
300 Million
Users Photo
sharing
800 Million
Users
WhatsApp
Stories
700 Million
Users
115. WHAT ARE THE OPTIONS
Facebook Ads
Awareness Consideration Conversion