Never Stop Optimizing The PPC Optimization Life Cycle Monday August 17th, 2009
How SEOs Spend Their Time
PPC Ad Spend is expected to increase by 20% this year 20%
Technologist Marketer Statistician SEO Analytics Consultant Social Media Marketer PPC Specialist
PPC Optimization Life Cycle
 
Finding Better Keywords What  are  better keywords? Discovering new verticals & niche markets Consistent Competitive Analysis How to Identify Commercial Intent
Let’s test the term: “ Baby Gift”
Better Keywords?
Discover New Verticals & Niche Markets
Competitive Analysis
Commercial Intent http://adlab.microsoft.com/Online-Commercial-Intention
 
Build Stronger Campaigns Campaign Setup Requirements Target  Buyers Understand Match Types (Broad, Phrase, Exact, Negative,  and Embedded )
Campaign Setup Requirements
Always run two campaigns Live (Original) Campaign Test (New) Campaign * Don’t overlap keywords
Audience Keep locations as precise as possible Separate locations need separate campaigns
Network  Keep it simple at the beginning for testing purposes Content Network keyword strategies and Ads differ greatly from Search Network.
Bidding and Budget Bidding Option should be Manual Don’t trust Google to optimize your campaign until you know how to do it yourself first. Stick with a budget that you feel comfortable Position Preference ON
Delivery Method Start with Standard Delivery * Only on “Full” Budget Switch to Accelerated  after  Testing *
Ad Delivery / Rotation Keep scheduling open until testing is over DO NOT let Google Optimize your Ad Rotation Select “Rotate” to show ads evenly
Target Buyers
Target Buyers Start with ONE keyword in your test campaign Don’t worry about volume (yet). Traffic is EASY Long Tail Keywords
Long Tail Keywords i.e.  “Polka Dot Boat Shoe” High Cost High Volume Low Profit Low Cost Low Volume High Profit
Match Types Broad  baby gifts  (i.e. sexy baby dollhouse gift) Phrase  “baby gifts” (i.e. personalized gift for baby) Exact  [baby gifts] (i.e. baby gifts) Negative  - sexy or - handmade Embedded?! DANGER!
 
What is Embedded Match? Ad Group 1:  Exact Match [baby gifts] Ad Group 2:  Phrase Match “baby gifts” -[baby gifts] Ad Group 3:  Broad Match baby gifts - “baby gifts”
 
Write Better Ads How Google Ranks Ads The Google Auction Formula Quality Score Multi-Variant Testing Making a Great Offer
From Google’s Perspective Ad #1  = 10 cents per click Ad #2  = 20 cents per click Ad #1  gets 10% CTR 100 Displays = $1.00 for Google Ad #2  gets 4% CTR 100 Displays = 80 cents for Google Ad # 1 is more PROFITABLE for Google!
The Google Auction Formula
Quality Score CTR Relevancy of Ad compared to User’s Search Query Landing Page Quality Historical Performance of Ad and Overall Campaign Google Secret Sauce
Introducing the Auction for Clicks 1. 2. 3. Max Bid Price Paid $4.00 $3.00 $2.00 Min Bid $2.00 $3.00 Advertisers
Ad Rank 1. 2. 3. Max Bid $4.00 $3.00 $2.00 Advertisers Quality 2 6 10 X = Ad Rank 8 18 20 Position 3 2 1
Determining Click Cost P Q = B Q 1 2 2 1
Example Auction 1. 2. 3. Max Bid $3.00 $3.00 $3.00 Advertisers Quality 8 6 3 Ad Rank 24 18 9 Actual CPC (18/8) = $2.25 (9/6) = $1.50 min price
Example Auction 1. 2. 3. Max Bid $3.00 $3.00 $3.00 Advertisers Quality 10 6 3 Ad Rank 24 18 9 Actual CPC (18/10) = $1.80 (9/6) = $1.50 min price
Multi-Variant Testing
Ad Testing 50% is a lot to risk for some businesses, try splitting it up. The Control gets a ranking bonus from Google (Quality Score) Test Ad Control + 3 Copies
Test Ad
Make a Great Offer
Making a Great Offer Make a Compelling Promise Solve the reader’s immediate pain (problem) Protect the Reader - With a Warning Ask for ACTION Demonstrate Ownership Experience (i.e. Put a Smile on your Baby’s face!) Avoid terms such as wholesale, free, discount, cheap, etc
Examples Search for “Dog Toys” Search for “Children’s Books” NOT OPTIMIZED NOT OPTIMIZED OPTIMIZED OPTIMIZED
Don’t drive clicks at the expense of conversion
 
No amount of brilliant PPC Management can help a BAD Landing Page
Landing Page Optimization Call to Action Minimal Navigation Keep it Above the Fold Make it Easy to Read Page Load Time Use Dynamic Headlines PPC Keyword Relevancy Shorten Contact Forms Test Results Rinse and Repeat
 
 
Analyzing Results Google Analytics is a MUST Metrics to watch How will you know you had a good test?
Metrics to Watch Setup Conversion Goals Watch Cost Per Conversion RPC (Revenue Per Click) Long Tail Keyword Performance Look for new Exact Match Keywords
Picking a Winner 1,000 Ad Impressions for each variation 20% Difference in results Example:  Ad 1 CTR = 5%,  Ad 2 CTR = 4% Not sure? Try SplitTester.com
 
“ 4 Hour Work Week” Author: Tim Ferris Title of Book? Came from Google Adwords Testing!
Thank you! Jason Prance [email_address] Questions?

Atlanta SEO Meetup - PPC Optimization Lifecycle

  • 1.
    Never Stop OptimizingThe PPC Optimization Life Cycle Monday August 17th, 2009
  • 2.
    How SEOs SpendTheir Time
  • 3.
    PPC Ad Spendis expected to increase by 20% this year 20%
  • 4.
    Technologist Marketer StatisticianSEO Analytics Consultant Social Media Marketer PPC Specialist
  • 5.
  • 6.
  • 7.
    Finding Better KeywordsWhat are better keywords? Discovering new verticals & niche markets Consistent Competitive Analysis How to Identify Commercial Intent
  • 8.
    Let’s test theterm: “ Baby Gift”
  • 9.
  • 10.
    Discover New Verticals& Niche Markets
  • 11.
  • 12.
  • 13.
  • 14.
    Build Stronger CampaignsCampaign Setup Requirements Target Buyers Understand Match Types (Broad, Phrase, Exact, Negative, and Embedded )
  • 15.
  • 16.
    Always run twocampaigns Live (Original) Campaign Test (New) Campaign * Don’t overlap keywords
  • 17.
    Audience Keep locationsas precise as possible Separate locations need separate campaigns
  • 18.
    Network Keepit simple at the beginning for testing purposes Content Network keyword strategies and Ads differ greatly from Search Network.
  • 19.
    Bidding and BudgetBidding Option should be Manual Don’t trust Google to optimize your campaign until you know how to do it yourself first. Stick with a budget that you feel comfortable Position Preference ON
  • 20.
    Delivery Method Startwith Standard Delivery * Only on “Full” Budget Switch to Accelerated after Testing *
  • 21.
    Ad Delivery /Rotation Keep scheduling open until testing is over DO NOT let Google Optimize your Ad Rotation Select “Rotate” to show ads evenly
  • 22.
  • 23.
    Target Buyers Startwith ONE keyword in your test campaign Don’t worry about volume (yet). Traffic is EASY Long Tail Keywords
  • 24.
    Long Tail Keywordsi.e. “Polka Dot Boat Shoe” High Cost High Volume Low Profit Low Cost Low Volume High Profit
  • 25.
    Match Types Broad baby gifts (i.e. sexy baby dollhouse gift) Phrase “baby gifts” (i.e. personalized gift for baby) Exact [baby gifts] (i.e. baby gifts) Negative - sexy or - handmade Embedded?! DANGER!
  • 26.
  • 27.
    What is EmbeddedMatch? Ad Group 1: Exact Match [baby gifts] Ad Group 2: Phrase Match “baby gifts” -[baby gifts] Ad Group 3: Broad Match baby gifts - “baby gifts”
  • 28.
  • 29.
    Write Better AdsHow Google Ranks Ads The Google Auction Formula Quality Score Multi-Variant Testing Making a Great Offer
  • 30.
    From Google’s PerspectiveAd #1 = 10 cents per click Ad #2 = 20 cents per click Ad #1 gets 10% CTR 100 Displays = $1.00 for Google Ad #2 gets 4% CTR 100 Displays = 80 cents for Google Ad # 1 is more PROFITABLE for Google!
  • 31.
  • 32.
    Quality Score CTRRelevancy of Ad compared to User’s Search Query Landing Page Quality Historical Performance of Ad and Overall Campaign Google Secret Sauce
  • 33.
    Introducing the Auctionfor Clicks 1. 2. 3. Max Bid Price Paid $4.00 $3.00 $2.00 Min Bid $2.00 $3.00 Advertisers
  • 34.
    Ad Rank 1.2. 3. Max Bid $4.00 $3.00 $2.00 Advertisers Quality 2 6 10 X = Ad Rank 8 18 20 Position 3 2 1
  • 35.
    Determining Click CostP Q = B Q 1 2 2 1
  • 36.
    Example Auction 1.2. 3. Max Bid $3.00 $3.00 $3.00 Advertisers Quality 8 6 3 Ad Rank 24 18 9 Actual CPC (18/8) = $2.25 (9/6) = $1.50 min price
  • 37.
    Example Auction 1.2. 3. Max Bid $3.00 $3.00 $3.00 Advertisers Quality 10 6 3 Ad Rank 24 18 9 Actual CPC (18/10) = $1.80 (9/6) = $1.50 min price
  • 38.
  • 39.
    Ad Testing 50%is a lot to risk for some businesses, try splitting it up. The Control gets a ranking bonus from Google (Quality Score) Test Ad Control + 3 Copies
  • 40.
  • 41.
  • 42.
    Making a GreatOffer Make a Compelling Promise Solve the reader’s immediate pain (problem) Protect the Reader - With a Warning Ask for ACTION Demonstrate Ownership Experience (i.e. Put a Smile on your Baby’s face!) Avoid terms such as wholesale, free, discount, cheap, etc
  • 43.
    Examples Search for“Dog Toys” Search for “Children’s Books” NOT OPTIMIZED NOT OPTIMIZED OPTIMIZED OPTIMIZED
  • 44.
    Don’t drive clicksat the expense of conversion
  • 45.
  • 46.
    No amount ofbrilliant PPC Management can help a BAD Landing Page
  • 47.
    Landing Page OptimizationCall to Action Minimal Navigation Keep it Above the Fold Make it Easy to Read Page Load Time Use Dynamic Headlines PPC Keyword Relevancy Shorten Contact Forms Test Results Rinse and Repeat
  • 48.
  • 49.
  • 50.
    Analyzing Results GoogleAnalytics is a MUST Metrics to watch How will you know you had a good test?
  • 51.
    Metrics to WatchSetup Conversion Goals Watch Cost Per Conversion RPC (Revenue Per Click) Long Tail Keyword Performance Look for new Exact Match Keywords
  • 52.
    Picking a Winner1,000 Ad Impressions for each variation 20% Difference in results Example: Ad 1 CTR = 5%, Ad 2 CTR = 4% Not sure? Try SplitTester.com
  • 53.
  • 54.
    “ 4 HourWork Week” Author: Tim Ferris Title of Book? Came from Google Adwords Testing!
  • 55.
    Thank you! JasonPrance [email_address] Questions?

Editor's Notes

  • #2 If you leave your campaigns alone, they will slowly decline. It’s a mathematical equation.
  • #3 - What I find funny about my work as an SEO is... - Especially considering that..
  • #4 - Even in this economy, PPC is going up - It’s not new $, it’s existing $ being shifted - Good news to talk the boss into doing it - Bad news for you (competition) - Even better news is there’s so much room for improvement
  • #5 - Maybe you are asking yourself if you should even be doing this? - Professions at the intersection of Technology, Marketing, and Statistics - How many ppl have managed at least one PPC campaign? How Long? - Used Google Adwords?
  • #10 - Start with a seed (or hero) keyword - Not going into too much detail - Identify new keyword phrases which will allow for a more targeted ad group within a campaign
  • #11 - Bonus. Wordtracker and Google is telling you what your next product line or website should be about based on search demand. - Now, other people know how to do this stuff too (You’d be surprised how few) so how do you keep track of them?
  • #12 - No need to reinvent the wheel. - Identify who’s growing, and find out how their doing it
  • #13 - Microsoft did something right - Find the keywords used by the people with their wallets in their hands
  • #15 - By stronger I mean profitable - Let the big competitors spend a fortune on PPC - Let’s go into the basics of setting up a Test Campaign in Adwords
  • #17 - Pause one, Activate the other or... - Don’t mess with a running campaign that your business depends on daily - Could trigger human review by Google
  • #19 - Typically higher CTR and Conversion from Google search only, great for testing and less prone to errors
  • #22 - This last section is the most important - Won’t be enabled until you first ad at least one ad group to campaign
  • #24 - In PPC, volume doesn’t matter, Conversion does. As every click has a value that changes dynamically.
  • #26 - You SHOULD NOT be using broad match unless a) you consider yourself can expert or b) have money to waste - Most Adwords experts haven’t even heard of Embedded Match, why?
  • #28 - If you are ready to start working on Phrase Match and Broad Match Terms, setup separate Ad Groups and USE EMBEDDED MATCHING - This ensures that your keywords, bidding, and ad text are able to optimized to their fullest potential AND you get good data out.
  • #30 - In order to write better ads, make sure everyone understands exactly how ads are ranked and how they are paid for.
  • #31 - (next) Enter the Google Auction
  • #33 This score ensures the ads that Google shows are true and relevant matches for what users are querying and if they aren’t, Google makes less money. But you will spend more!
  • #34 - Every time a query is made on Google, an auction is run. - Only have to pay the bid for the advertiser below them
  • #35 - Bid of the Advertiser X the Quality of the Ad
  • #36 - Solve that equation!
  • #48 1. Tell people what you want them to do on the landing page 2. Keep the user from getting too distracted 3. Make sure important offers/info is above the fold 4. People don’t read, they scan 7. 4 scoring components, Bid keyword, actual search query, Ad copy, and Landing Page
  • #54 By the way, this life cycle is also good for beginning ANY online of offline marketing effort.