Creative Collaboration - Alison Coward

877 views

Published on

Creative Collaboration - Alison Coward
Part of Enterprise Week 2010

Published in: Business, Technology
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
877
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
36
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Creative Collaboration - Alison Coward

  1. 1. Enterprise Week 2010 Creative Collaboration Alison Coward Bracket www.bracketprojects.co.uk www.bracketcreative.co.uk Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk
  2. 2. Field (pop-up shop) Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk
  3. 3. INCUBE8 Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk http://www.richiemanu.co.uk/INCUBE8
  4. 4. BracketLab Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk
  5. 5. BracketLab Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk
  6. 6. New ways of working? Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk image by CarbonNYC on Flickr image by Rob Pearce on Flickr
  7. 7. Why collaborate Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk 1 + 1 = 2
  8. 8. Why collaborate Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk 1 + 1 = 2 1 + 1 = 11
  9. 9. Join a network to share skills and knowledge Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk image by gluglondon on Flickr
  10. 10. Join a network to share skills and knowledge Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk • Glug London - www.gluglondon.com • ECCA - www.ecca-london.org/directory • Creative Capital - www.creative-capital.org.uk • Creative Boom – www.creativeboom.co.uk • Meetup.com
  11. 11. Start a company together Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk
  12. 12. Collaborate on a project-by-project basis Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk
  13. 13. Collaborate on a project-by-project basis Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk The ‘virtual’ creative agency • Playground Creatives - www.playgroundcreatives.com • MillCo – www.millco.co.uk • Universal Everything – www.universaleverything.com • Bracket Creative – www.bracketcreative.co.uk
  14. 14. Co-working Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk • THECUBE – www.thecubelondon.com • The Hub – www.the-hub.net • The Trampery – www.thetrampery.com • TechHub – www.techhub.com • Jelly - http://jelly.eventbrite.com/ Co-working is about working spaces which foster new networks, communities and collaborations. Unlike serviced offices or shared offices they mix together creative freelancers and small businesses in the same space, with part- time and drop-in members as well as permanent residents. The Trampery
  15. 15. Collaborative consumption: what’s mine is yours Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk Rachel Botsman & Roo Rogers e.g. • Crowdfunding (www.sponsume.com) • P2P Rental (www.ecomodo.com)
  16. 16. Legal structures Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk • Sole trader (www.hmrc.gov.uk/startingup) • Limited Company (www.companieshouse.gov.uk) • Partnerships • Co-operatives (www.creatives.uk.coop) • Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV)
  17. 17. Tips Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk COLLABORATION Sharing Trust No ego Openness Balance of skills Good communication Shared values and goals
  18. 18. Tips Alison Coward, Bracket, www.bracketcreative.co.uk • Use social media to develop your networks and support collaborations • Don’t just collaborate with people like you – identify your strengths and weaknesses • Good planning – set out aims and objectives at the beginning • Think about HOW you’re going to collaborate • Project management

×